All Microsoft Visual Studio Reviews

1-25 of 2,885 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Stefano

2 - 10 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed October 2021

Very effective

User Profile

Abdul Wahab

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

The best Integrated Development Environment (IDE)

I enjoyed software development like a game throughout my experience of using Visual Studio for development of .Net applications for local and cloud environments.

PROS

It is the most featured Integrated Development Environment (IDE) with bulk of features. It is best choice for .Net developers for building powerful applications for local and cloud environments. Its functionality can also be further extended using plugins. It is also good for mobile application development. Its intellisense is the best among all.

CONS

It is heavy to operate. It occupies huge part of my disk space. It hangs sometime during operations. Lack of support to opensource languages.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Visual Studio

For better and powerful development environment

User Profile

Robert

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Visual Studio Great for All Developers

It allows me to fix errors and rebuild so that I can complete projects. It is easy to use so that I can focus purely on projects. I have experienced the following benefits: 1. Increased UI enhancement through Razor Pages, and Web Applications, 2. Comes standard with Bootstrap 3 and can be increased to 4. 3. Several languages and frameworks are added when updates occur. Note: user must download update via tools within visual studio.

PROS

Visual studio allows me to create dynamic web applications and websites for my clients and projects. It allows for database creation, code development and UI development. I would highly recommend it for anyone who wants to develop websites and web applications.

CONS

Slow Boot up time, slow build times, memory hog, increased CPU use. Recommended: Core i7 CPU processor or greater with at least 8GB RAM or higher.

Reason for choosing Microsoft Visual Studio

Visual Studio is Microsoft based and is the easiest to use with C#, HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, ASP.NET, MVC and other front-end and web application based projects.

Moses F

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2024

Best Coding Software Ever

My overall experience with Microsoft Visual Studio is amazing, awesome, and mind blowing.

PROS

The prompt out of codes when a user is writing a code. It makes work easier.

CONS

I haven't yet come across anything about this software that i don't like.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Visual Studio

For a better and easier coding experience.

User Profile

Jamie

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Visual Studio - a necessary evil in MS-land

I have had a love/hate relationship with Visual Studio for nearly 25 years. I've used it since it first came out as "Visual InterDev" back in the late 90s. Over the years I've learned that anything that Visual Studio automates for you will likely come back to haunt you. Couple that with the Visual Studio development team's inability to properly support legacy projects and it's a recipe for heartbreak, frustration, and thousands of lost work hours. Now that I use JetBrains Rider for the majority of my .NET coding, I see that most of my suffering over the years was unnecessary.

PROS

For developing Microsoft-based software, Visual Studio is sometimes the only tool that really gets the job done. It can, on occasion and in very specific development scenarios, be very helpful and intuitive to use. In recent years, its performance and usability in those narrow scenarios has improved significantly.

CONS

Visual Studio is an outright pig when it comes to performance and memory handling. It is unreliable as an application, crashing often and typically freezing up several times during a development session. This can often be due to the fact that you aren't doing things in the "Microsoft way" but that way is usually not realistic when it comes to getting actual projects done.

Charalabos

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Visual Studio Review

PROS

I like most the fact that Visual Studio has plenty of customization, plugins and features.

CONS

Haven't found anything negative so far. Visual Studio is in my opinion one of the best IDE's out there.

Muhammad Abid

Animation, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Review of Microsoft visual studio

PROS

What I always loved about Visual Studio is it had an IDE for so many different languages and projects like Win32, WPF, Xamarin, Unity, Cordoba plus so much more in one product. In my opinion, Visual Studio is the best coding software ever due to it's ease of use, and it is affordable to everyone.

CONS

It can be sometimes unresponsive or crash, and font rendering could be better. But I guess these are both problems that come with it being an Electron-based app. Beginners will definitely be intimidated by how hard learning everything is.

Edgar

Research, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Great tool for programmer

Visual Studio is designed with a user-friendly interface that makes it easy for developers to navigate, organize, and manage their projects. The IDE's layout and customization options enable developers to tailor their workspace to suit their workflow preferences.

PROS

Visual Studio supports multiple programming languages, including C#, C++, Visual Basic .NET, F#, JavaScript, Python, and more. This versatility allows developers to work on a wide range of projects using their preferred languages.

CONS

Sometime i may find that it consumes significant system resources, leading to slower performance or longer load times.

Enrico

E-Learning, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

Best IDE out there

PROS

It has so many functionalities, and you can visualize many different scripts of different languages at the same time which makes it so easy to compare everything.

CONS

It weights a lot on the computer’s performance, sometimes it blocks and I don’t understand why, maybe because my computer is not able to run some of the stuff

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2024

Microsoft Visual Studio is the best powerfull code editor

with the lightweight editor, it makes development team work easier, and a wide range of programming languages is provided.

PROS

the version we use is 64-bit natively which means more performance, and fewer out-of-memory exceptions. AI feature makes every character more on point. debugging feature that no need to stop to be able to see the change in the application we write.

CONS

Can be overwhelming for beginners, and can be slow on large projects especially when using large extensions.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

MY EXCELLENT REVEIW OF MICROSOFT VISUAL STUDIO

PROS

I love its versatility, you can code free of charge from anywhere and the software is user-friendly as even a beginner can navigate through it easily.

CONS

i liked everything about the software and will recommend it.

Rodrigo

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

It was great, now I just think it's enough

We use it daily to maintain systems in windows, web, uwp and apps. But the tools make easy tasks difficult. For example, you have a Xamarin that never really looks finished, with a third-rate xaml design, uwp that seems to repeatedly disconnect the IDE so that you need to recompile the project to make simple changes, and a total abandonment of Visual Basic. Microsoft doesn't seem to understand that if you like the productivity of VB you will NEVER WANT the complexity of C#. VS seems to be moving in the direction of being harder rather than easier. VS is it good? YES. VS is it productive? No more. Solve the task? YES. Do you have fun with him? Not here.

PROS

In an environment that becomes familiar with use, you have access to several built-in functions, plus a bunch of solutions (some paid or third-party) that deliver advanced design, development, source code protection, and publishing capabilities. Microsoft's initiative to maintain the community version is very good.

CONS

With each new version the tool becomes more complex, rather than cleaner. The developer expects little cognitive overhead, expects to be able to hide repetitive boiler plate tasks when they don't need to be seen, expects it to be easy to internationalize the application. There are more and more features that the smaller company will never use, such as live share, the translation of uwp apps is VERY confusing, the windows forms design is terrible and doesn't fit right to HIDPI. Lots and lots of things you don't care about and things that you really miss never come. It's a contradiction to create AI helpers that copy your code to "make it easy", while you want it to be an easy-to-use tool that displays complexity ONLY if you need to.

Reason for choosing Microsoft Visual Studio

Honestly it was chosen mainly because there were legacy applications to maintain and convert to new platforms. Also due to UWP, for which there are no other tools. But in parallel we use JetBrains tools, as they are easier for some tasks. If XOJO were cheaper, it would have become our main development tool. Do not misunderstand me. Do I like Visual Studio? YES. Do I like the way the project has progressed over the last decade? SURELY NOT. Everything you get used to and like about Microsoft seems to be murdered by themselves in the next lap of the race. There seems to be paranoia around C# and F# and XAML (F# people also complain about abandonment), and an absolute meaninglessness in the future of these technologies: everything gets more and more complicated, more and more confused, you struggle to learn and evolve and when it starts to make money the technology is "mature" and is abandoned. Then Visual Studio once an essential productivity tool, today it's another useful tool that you like and dislike.

Cengiz Barkın

Computer Games, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Outstanding Software Development Platform

Overall, Microsoft Visual Studio is an excellent software development platform that offers a wide variety of features and customization options. It is an ideal choice for both novice and experienced developers alike.

PROS

Microsoft Visual Studio is an incredibly powerful and feature-rich software development platform. It has a highly intuitive user interface, an extensive library of code snippets, and a wide array of debugging options that make it an ideal choice for both novice and experienced developers.

CONS

Microsoft Visual Studio can be a bit overwhelming for new users, as there are a lot of features and customization options. Additionally, it can be a bit slow when running on older machines.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Visual Studio

Microsoft Visual Studio offers superior performance and features when compared to other software development platforms. It has a highly intuitive user interface, an extensive library of code snippets, and a wide array of debugging options. Additionally, it is backed by a large and active community of developers who are ready to help out with any issues that may arise.

Dvock

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

A Versatile and Powerful IDE for Efficient Software Development

Overall, Microsoft Visual Studio is a powerful and feature-rich IDE for its comprehensive toolset, ease of use, and robust integration capabilities. I recommend it as the best choice for software development projects.I give high regards to the software for its robustness, versatility, and the comprehensive development environment it offers. However, individual experiences may vary depending on specific needs, preferences, and the complexity of the projects being worked on.For me as a user, through its comprehensive set of tools and features, it has guided me in providing a seamless development experience for building my applications especially the web applications.

PROS

I like Microsoft Visual Studio since it stands out due to its extensive range of desired features that cater to different development needs. Its user-friendly interface and intuitive design make it easy to use and navigate. Furthermore, its seamless integration with external apps and services enhances productivity and simplifies various aspects of the development process.

CONS

With numerous features and settings available, it can take time for users to explore and understand all the functionalities. Additionally, occasional performance issues or delays in startup time, especially when working with large projects or solutions, can impact the overall ease of use and user experience.Lastly, the level of integration and support for specific tools or services may vary, and developers may need to spend extra time configuring and troubleshooting integrations with certain external tools.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Visual Studio

I made the switch because of familiarity with Microsoft Ecosystem: Since I was already using other Microsoft tools or services in my development workflow, such as .NET framework or Azure cloud services, I switched to Visual Studio since it provided better integration and synergy with the Microsoft ecosystem. The seamless integration and compatibility between different Microsoft tools streamlined the development process and enhanced the productivity.

Lenon

Telecommunications, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Program practically alone!

In our organization the use of VS Code is essential, we have developed several codes and scripts, it has countless plugins that enable incredible use and unusual use of the tool!

PROS

We program in different languages with the software, plugins facilitate this. It is light, simple, intuitive and for our use it is a hand on the wheel, because we adapt easily, it is incredible!

CONS

We found nothing wrong with the software, it was easily adapted to our routine, and it works above expectations!

Reason for choosing Microsoft Visual Studio

Because it is free and the whole team has adapted to its use and found it simpler and better to use compared to another tool!

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Visual Studio

We exchanged the VS code for free, and it fits our demands for using GitHub better!

Nikhil

Investment Banking, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Visual Studio - Developer's paradise

Overall Visual studio is one of the best IDE and one stop solution for developers to code .As it provides various features ,plugins , extensions along with support to various programming languages and debugging it is very much popular. If you are JavaScript developer it is the best IDE available in the market.

PROS

Visual Studio provides support to various programming languages . It has own plugins for debugging as well as supports other plugins and extensions . We can easily integrate it with Git which makes it more helpful .Also debugging is very easy and convenient in Visual studio along with coding

CONS

It takes high CPU usage is one of concerning reason ,but as it offers so many one stop features to developer that can be neglected .Few UI improvements can be done

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Visual Studio

The UI of sublime text was not that user friendly and very less features as compared to visual studio made me switch to Visual studio

User Profile

Samridh

Verified reviewer

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

12 years of Visual Studio and Still love it

A powerful tool from Microsoft. It's foothold on the code development market is strong and will probably stay strong for a very long time. There are lot of forums and discussion sites dedicated to Visual Studio so learning VS means you have access to lots of resources. People have built their career on this tool so I would highly recommend it to anyone.

PROS

I have been using Microsoft visual Studio for past 10 years plus and it just keeps getting better. It is one of the most advanced product from Microsoft and it is very well known throughout the Engineering industry, - Code writing and storage I use it on a daily basis for development of code in C, C++ and C#. The IDE is extremely strong and full of useful libraries. It has lot of features that aids in the proper design and development of the code. - Code comparison One thing that is really powerful about Visual studio is that you can extend the software capability to many other areas. Using Team foundation Server (TFS) from visual studio one can store code and perform revision control with different change-sets. It is a very strong tool to also compare codes between different change-sets or with the directory on the desktop. - Allowing Extensions Microsoft Visual studio allows third party extension which makes this already powerful tool even more powerful by being able to expand the platform. - Replication with Application With the powerful IDE platform, debugging is like a piece of cake. Development of Graphical user Interface (GUI) can also be done through studio and release it as applications that can be installed in many computers.

CONS

I don't see many cons of Visual Studio except, - Price It is a powerful tool so of course getting multiple licenses will be pricey. - Error codes it could do a lot better in analyzing the source code and explaining what the error is. The error are pretty vague and one would need some learning curve to understand what is wrong - High load on the system Visual studio is big, massive and will require some powerful machine in order to not feel like the computer is lagging. Usually I shut off all my applications if I am working on VS.

User Profile

Radoslav

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Visual Studio Review

I have been mostly using this program for student purposes. I study Computer Technologies and I needed a software where to code my programs and one lecturer show me VS when I was for the second year, and since then I do not want to use another program for developing software. I just enjoy the work with VS - it brings me happiness and comfort when I work with it. I pretty recommend it, because it is worth program, it has free versions, which are perfect for juniors, and it is very powerful though, also it is with very pretty and intuitive design and the programs makes you feel comfortable when working with it.

PROS

1. It is very easy to install. 2. It supports a variety of programming languages you can use in your projects - from desktop Applications, to Web Applications, C based programes and much more. 3. I like how tabs and panels are organized - everything is grouped and you can easily find what you want. 4. There is an entire search engine, which searches all the functionalities of Visual Studio, in case you cannot find something. 5. It works pretty well, even on slow performance PC's. 6. You can build very powerful projects with this program. 7. There are different versions - for the purposes of students, of junior developers, through small bussiness and for the big bussiness. 8. Very Good intellisense. 9. In every latest version of VS, you write fewer code - it becomes easier to do it - just with some combinations, or snippets, or embeded hints. 10. Very pleasurable to write and read code in the editor. 11. You can even capture the resources your program uses. 12. There is a debugger, which is very cool and good working. 13. There is a dark mode - even you can download different themes, which can protect your eyes when working for long hours with the program - they almost reduce the white spaces, and make the colors look greater, with better contrast and with care for your eyes.

CONS

For my purposes I haven't experience any difficulties or problems with the program, in order to have any negative oppinion for the program.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

The Gold Standard for IDEs

Started using visual studio because it was the only IDE a particular vendor had support for. Quickly tried to find more excuses to use it. The intellisense, code-folding and beautification defaults are much better and work much more consistently than any other IDE we've used. We use quite a number of different IDEs, but VS intellisense has been one of if not the biggest productivity enhancement we've had from a single feature. It's amazing how much better done intellisense is in VS than most other products. It particularly makes a big difference for people who do not have extensive backgrounds writing on particular projects, because it saves a lot of documentation lookups if the design is done well and api documentation is included (we require this to maximize benefits here). More than from a utility perspective, vs intellisense is so responsive it's FUN... which we think accounts for more benefits (again esp for people who are less familiar w/a codebase, cause it shortens the learning curve). Visual studio is also very good at staying up-to-date with latest apis and techniques. Obviously you probably want to be a user of microsoft's API stack in some way (.net), but you can code in most major languages with it. The primary drawback is that it does not presently play well with linux OS. There are some efforts to improve this-most noticeably visual studio community. Community is cross platform but not full ide (and doesn't use same VS intellisense).

PROS

Intellisense is off-the-charts fast. So quick, it can make coding feel like a video game. The most-widely-integrated IDE- plugins for everything. Compatibility between express and full visual studio makes it easy for full-fledged developers to work on same project/product with entry devs, interns, and even open-source.

CONS

While they have made some improvements here (w/regard to visual studio community edition), the full visual studio IDE doesn't run on linux (at least not without VM, wine or jumping through a lot of hoops).

Reason for choosing Microsoft Visual Studio

We have and continue to use many IDEs (including monodevelop, unity, vs community, various vs express editions, and other commercial ides including customized ides bundled with particular products or platforms). However VS is our favorite and if it ran equally well all on all OSes we probably would standardize on it.

User Profile

Luis Daniel

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE