All Fons Reviews

1-25 of 95 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Rob

Verified reviewer

Music, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

I no longer dread billing my students.

I love teaching guitar, but I hate the tedious administrivia part of running your own business, and until recently the worst part was scheduling and billing my students. I tracked their lessons with pencil and paper, and used email to schedule and bill. Looking back on it, the whole process was incredibly inefficient and prone to miscommunication and mistakes. Now my calendar is synced with my students, and the billing happens behind the scenes. When I first signed up with Fons I think it had just opened for business, and I'd occasionally encounter bugs. Their customer service is AMAZING. Like, "how do you stay in business with this level of service?" amazing. Not only did they genuinely care if I had a problem, often things I reported got fixed within a few days. The app now feels solid and I recommend it without reservation.

PROS

Not spending six hours at the start of every month calculating and emailing invoices to each of my students.

CONS

A minor gripe: I'd like to have access to a record of each email Fons sends on my behalf.

Vendor Response

Thank you Rob! This is awesome! We are so happy you are with us at Fons and we appreciate you! :)

Replied March 2022

Jeff

Education Management, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

Great support, just not a great fit for my business

Very good experience and I wish the features (enhancements) I needed could have been worked in to their 'roadmap', but unfortunately it wasn't to be.

PROS

The team behind Fons is exceptional. My experience was that they did more than any other SAAS platform to get to know me, my work flow, and connect on a personal level. Extremely helpful and responsive.

CONS

There were features I needed (down-time "padding" before and after appointments, keeping count of the number of appointments used in a billing cycle to name a couple) that I really needed and did not seem to be forthcoming.There were a couple of incidents of clients getting double-billed which, to their credit, Fons made good on right away ... but I just can't have that happening to my clients.

Reason for choosing Fons

Fons was far more affordable and "to the point" of what I needed.

Reasons for switching to Fons

Previous software did not perform well.

Samantha

Music, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2018

Fons customer service feedback

I like the quick customer service feedback, but I have two pieces of advice to make the customer service experience better. Sometimes it feels like the team is defensive about bugs, despite this being a new software and therefore understandably prone to bugs. For Fons, it doesn’t seem like the customer is always right. I had a rather negative experience when the CEO responded to my anxiety in an email badly, accusing me of not reading it thoroughly getting impatient when I didn’t understand. I think this is unfair, since I am not a tech person and operating this level of technology for my business has been daunting and stressful, especially since adopting it correctly affects how and when I’ll be paid. As a disability rights activist who is married to someone with a reading disability, the accusation of not reading it correctly came across as rather ableist and condescending. I’d rather keep things professional, which for the customer service side I think means dealing with understandably nervous and anxious clients with grace and kindness. Or not taking their money. Which unfortunately I had already paid for the entire year just before this distressing exchange.

PROS

It’s pretty easy to use, but has a learning curve that can be overwhelming, especially since it’s a new software and there are still bugs being worked out as features are added.

CONS

The high learning curve and how that affected how quickly I’d be paid.

Vendor Response

Hey Samantha. I am so sorry that any of my correspondences came across as anything other than supportive. My aim was to be as succinct and explanatory as possible. Our team was "all hands on deck" to try to get you up and running as smoothly as possible. That was our intention, and why I jumped in to try and help. I teach and and have worked within the developmentally disabled community, & I feel quite saddened that I represented myself in a way that offended you. We appreciate your willingness to use the platform and we value your feedback. If you decide that you don't want to use Fons for your studio, we'll refund your money and wish you well.

Replied March 2022

Esther

Fine Art, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Amazing customer service

Basically this platform has been life-changing for my business! I love the internal messaging feature. It allows any communications for scheduling or payment processing to be done through the software. This frees up my email and really brought my anxiety down by having everything organized in one place. I also love being able to charge a client’s credit card anytime I need to. The client doesn’t have to do anything. There is absolutely no friction on their end. This was of the utmost importance for my business.

PROS

The best thing about Fons is that they keep making it better. They are interested in their clients needs. This was crucial for me as I think it is the most important thing when it comes to your business. No platform is perfect, but I am confident this is going to be the best one out there, given the drive and dedication of the Fons team

CONS

When I am editing appointments there are no batch actions and it always takes me back to the home calendar page… So it can be a bit clunky and time consuming when doing things like this. I’m sure they will fix it!

Reason for choosing Fons

The customer service.

Vendor Response

Hey there! Thank you so much for your review, and the excellent idea to improve navigation for editing appointments. We will send this over to our design team right away and see how we can better that flow. Grateful that you're enjoying the platform, and thank you again for your note.

Replied May 2022

Andy

Music, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

So helpful for my business

PROS

I've used Fons for my studio of around 40 guitar students since spring of 2019. It's helped smooth out the day to day running of the business in numerous ways, from enabling me to automate payments, to giving students an easy way to reschedule missed lessons. Fons' CEO, Eric, is one of the nicest people out there, and makes himself remarkably available for someone who's surely very busy. Their support staff is simply the best I've ever seen. They reply often within minutes of me contacting them. The platform is easy and intuitive to use. I learned my way around it quickly, and have had almost no issues with clients' ability to use it.

CONS

Fons is still a little ahead of it's time. It, and other services like it, are still not widely used by music teachers. Thus, music teachers can sometimes encounter resistance to using the service from clients. On the other hand, there are clients out there who really like it, and see it as something that positively sets me apart from other teachers in my area.

Vendor Response

Hey there Andy. Thank you so much for your kind words, and especially for your note about students resisting digitization. That really resonates and is one of our core objectives right now... make digital payments & scheduling more simple & less obtrusive for the clients. We want to get friction for customers as close to zero as possible. Thank you so much for being part of our community. We so appreciate you.

Replied May 2020

Brittney

Music, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Fons Is Life Changing

Awesome.. can’t say that enough.

PROS

As a vocal Coach I struggled for YEARS with working out a convenient way to bill people, especially in the event of having to hold students accountable for my 24 hour notice cancellation policy without just losing the student altogether or having an awkward conversation with them. (I am very non-confrontational) Fons has COMPLETELY fixed that for me! I have never heard a complaint for my policy since using Fons and never missed receiving a payment because Fons retrieves it for me. Also never lost students over it. I honestly make $300-$400 from cancellations a month that I would not have been paid prior to using it. Fons is the middle man for me and it makes everything so easy!

CONS

I honestly have no real complaints. Customer service is always asking how to improve the product and they have actually taken and worked with multiple suggestions I’ve given!

Vendor Response

Hey Brittney, While we do have a ton of great easy to use features, everyone does love the automated cancellation policy. Whoa, $300-$400 a month from cancellations, you are now able to capture, that's amazing! We've had others tell us the same thing, but until you really start adding it up it's hard to imagine it would ever be that much. Great job & glad we could help! Also, thanks for the great review! :) Mica ~ Customer Success Team

Replied March 2022

Laura

Music, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

No more chasing payments!

Overall I am very satisfied and have had great help from customer service when needed.

PROS

Being able to auto-schedule and bill my clients all in the same place has been life changing and saved me so much time and energy chasing payments/sending reminders.

CONS

Literally my only complaint is that the price jumped so significantly from <$100/year to >$300/year. I still appreciate the value in the software and now depend on it heavily - I just wish there was a more affordable option for people like me who have zero employees and are the sole administrator.

Vendor Response

Hey there Laura. Thank you so much for sharing your review, your kind words, and your concern about cost. We hear you, and are very mindful about how Fons is priced. The cost reflects our commitment to providing in real-life customer support for you and your customers, a platform built by top-notch engineers here in the United States, and for us to create a truly professional solution. We're always working on ways to keep the cost down, and appreciate your sharing your thoughts here. Thank you so much for being a part of this community.

Replied May 2022

User Profile

Xavier

Verified reviewer

Music, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Appointment based business automated

Every time something has been wrong or I have had a question the team is always there to answer and they are real people, which is really cool. It is just smooth to see my money come into my bank account without having to deposit a bunch of checks.

PROS

I like how people can pay me through it via a couple of ways. Monthly subscription, a package or by appointment. Fons keeps track of how many appointments you have had with that client and leaves the guessing game of how long was each one and how many in the past, because they keep track of all of that. Just a way to just focus on what you want rather than keeping track of payments.

CONS

I think I would like to be able to enter more of my clients information, specially if they have more than one kid, I would like to enter that information myself because parents are a little lazy doing this.

Reason for choosing Fons

I chose Fons because I heard it on a piano/music teaching podcast and decided that the owner understands music teacher, because he is one and then decided to try it and I love it. I still need to work out how I am charging but that is just a growing pain of my business.

Vendor Response

Hey there Xavier. Thank you so much for this review! We are so happy to hear that you're enjoying Fons. More importantly, we appreciate your feedback on what you'd like to see. We're working on a way for you to add more client information yourself, it's a great idea. Thanks again!

Replied October 2019

User Profile

Ruth

Verified reviewer

Music, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Life... simplified

I've invested time into getting my Fons account set up and running... but now, it's ready to run. Less time at the bank, less awkward money talks with clients. More of doing what I love. That's what Fons is for me, and the peace of mind and professional front it gives my business is worth 5 times what they're charging.

PROS

What I love most about fons is that my clients love it. It's easy and straightforward for them, and looks super professional. For me, Fons has given me so much more peace of mind. Happier clients=happier me.

CONS

I have run into a few bumps, but there's a great support team that will stick with you and help you figure everything out. Most of my minor problems come from me not being able to see what my clients see. When they run into problems, it's more difficult to resolve the issue.

Vendor Response

Ruth, thanks for the review! So glad to have you as a part of our Fons family! Since, reading your review we have added some videos to our help center, so you can at least see what their signup and appointment scheduling & confirmation looks like. We are always looking to improve, so if you have anything in-particular you would like to see for your clients just let us know :) Also, have them reach out to us because they have the benefit of the same great support as you and if it something we think may be helpful to you from your clients we will pass it along to you as well.

Replied March 2022

User Profile

Caleb

Verified reviewer

Fine Art, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Best business decision I have ever made

10/10 - amazing community, great customer service that will help you even when you just need to read something correctly (Thanks [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and [SENSITIVE CONTENT]!). It has boosted my SEO here locally and helped get my website in front of many more prospective students and parents. This is the best thing you can do for your teaching business hands down.

PROS

The online portal is great, the ability to put a booking link on my website increases my professionalism greatly. I love that once my clients are set up, Fons takes care of reminders, invoicing, and keeps an up to date calendar of my availability. The biggest part was the SEO boost

CONS

I wish there was a "client view button" right now I have a dummy account in my own name to see things as a client. Totally not a big deal at all.

Reasons for switching to Fons

Functionality

Vendor Response

Wow! This makes us all so happy to hear, and thank you so much for sharing your experience. We appreciate you, and are absolutely grateful to have you as a member of the Fons fam!

Replied March 2022

Rachel

Music, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

5 stars!!

Fons has been invaluable to my business. I appreciate how the customer service team really listens and implements suggestions. It's very collaborative which is a unique experience for me as a business owner using software!

PROS

Fons is an amazing tool for scheduling & keeping my business organized. I love how easy it is to collect payments and give refunds.

CONS

Some of the features are not very advanced, such as the emailing. But they are constantly making improvements!

Reasons for switching to Fons

I needed a more simplistic way to bill my clients.

Vendor Response

We are so happy Fons is helping you run your business and keeping it easy for you! We are so glad you are part of the Fons family and love collaborating with you and learning from you. Cheers!

Replied May 2022

Krisfie

Music, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Indispensable

This has made my business a lot easier to run.

PROS

It streamlines my business and makes it very clear to my clients how much their payments are and when they will occur.

CONS

I am happy with it. There are occasionally bugs, but these are fixed.

Reason for choosing Fons

It’s a lot more straightforward.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Kristie! We are so glad you are part of the Fons family and happy your business has been streamlined and your clients know exactly what to expect. So great!

Replied May 2022

Joellyn

E-Learning, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Game Changer

Fons really zeros in on the core of business admin: the transaction. It really gets it right. This pivotal change, updated everything for my admin. It’s like I have a brand-new business that’s already running.

PROS

The biggest impact is the auto-pay feature. It eliminated a huge monthly task. All but 2 of my clients were happy to jump on board. Fons gave me a form letter to customize and send to my clients. The letter was positive and respectful, not pushy. No salesman speech, just a frictionless transition. This is the vibe of all my dealings with Fons. Integration was a breeze. I spent a weekend entering client info, and sent them the form letter. Then just waited for clients to roll in.

CONS

The transition also meant a significant policy change for my clients, and a raise for me. So I’ve been very alert to potential glitches bc i don’t want to bother them at all. So far it’s been good, but a few minor things have needed to be re-entered. However, it’s hard to tell if that is a user error or a glitch.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Joellyn! We are so glad Fons is helping you and we are so glad you are here!

Replied April 2022

Jessica

Music, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

Game-changer

Fons has the best customer service of any company that I have worked with before. If I have had any question, they have helped me out within 10 minutes or less. There are other companies that have more "bells and whistles" but I chose Fons because they skip the hassle of invoicing and help me to run my business more efficiently. My Fons subscription is worth every penny.

PROS

The ease of billing and tracking my customers payments is so valuable. I never have to have the awkward conversations about missed payments or bounced payments, the software handles the issue for me and my clients don't get embarrassed or upset. Also, the scheduling side of this software is so simple and clutter-free, and I don't miss appointments any more.

CONS

At first the various billing options were a little hard to figure out, but customer service helped me to figure out just what I needed.

Reason for choosing Fons

There were too many options, too much clutter, too many invoices to manage

Vendor Response

Jessica, thank you so much for this review. We absolutely appreciate it, and are so glad you're enjoying Fons!

Replied August 2020

Katie

Music, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Fons Review

Fons allows me to invest my full energy into teaching my students when we have our lessons, rather that spending time and energy discussing policy and payment. My relationships with families of my students have been greatly improved because of Fons!

PROS

I am a piano teacher, and I love that Fons has eliminated all of the awkward conversations about money and payment with clients. Fons automatically bills clients on a per lesson or monthly subscription basis, it has been really great to not have to keep track of forgetful clients and chase payment. Fon’s customer service is very helpful, friendly and quick.

CONS

While the monthly fee is very low, the processing fees are slightly higher then other comparable services for music teachers. The processing fees are more than worth it for the time I save, and the ease of use of this program!

Vendor Response

Hey Katie, Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy Fons is working out for you! We are so thankful for your feedback and don't hesitate to reach out whenever you need anything!

Replied March 2022

Steve

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Love Fons!

PROS

Automates my scheduling and billing and allows me to focus on teaching. I save tons of time--way less email and accounting, and I don't have to play debt collector. Students in my studio love the flexibility. Support is super fast and responsive. Price is a bargain.

CONS

Some of my clients (mostly with older phones) have trouble with the app. The desktop version is no problem.

Vendor Response

Hey Steve, thanks for the review, as you know we released our new faster app, which works great with old phones now:) We have an article in our help center on downloading. Thanks for being a valuable member of the Fons family! We love having you!

Replied March 2022

Daphne

Music, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT