All ContructEX Reviews

1-25 of 25 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Stephen Olawale

Verified reviewer

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2019

TOOL FOR INFORMATION SHARING,COLLABORATION AND PROJECT MANAGEMENT

it is very good has an information gathering center, our consultant uses it to send drawings that can be viewed in either 2D or 3D view

PROS

what I did like about the product is that it help save emails and create links to the emails from different professionals working on the same project, making job cost , machinery tracking, creating material schedules easy, it helps project managers to manage submitted files so he can create a good and effective work schedules.

CONS

the user interface is not user friendly and not easy to navigate, and also the product pricing structure.

Brian

Civil Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2020

Great for project collaboration

PROS

Newforma is great for keeping track and sharing project documents including contracts, drawings, emails, and photos. The Cloud connector is essential for working remotely. New connectors for Bluebeam, Procore and now Teams make this an essential tool to tie in all the tools used with your clients.

CONS

Licensing is fairly expensive. Updates are infrequent, though the past couple updates have been better. I think the company might've had a rough patch, and hopefully coming out of it.

Reason for choosing ContructEX

Newforma was FAR easier to set up and maintain compared to Sharepoint. With Deltek, we'd have to move our data into their database. Newforma just scans the existing data you have on your existing file servers. Nothing is "locked in" to Newforma. It also had excellent integration with outlook for filing emails, or sharing files.

Cody

Verified reviewer

Architecture & Planning, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2019

Newforma - Outdated Project Management

There are plenty other project management programs with more features that are helpful for both designers or constructors. Newforma does well enough as a project management program but offers nothing new that other providers are.

PROS

Newforma works appropriately as a database and a structure for filing multiple projects and managing their information. Its basic use as a project management program and file transfer tool does work well enough.

CONS

Newforma looks and feels outdated right off the bat and it can be difficult to find what you're looking for as its buttons and options are not always intuitive. It files information in an outdated way as just a data dumping ground and the search functions are not thorough and sorting interrelated information is not easy.

Cheikh

Computer Hardware, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

Good software for project collaboration

Project Center has helped me a lot in collaboration with my team.

PROS

Project Center is the basic use as a project management and file transfer tool. Project Center allows you to save e-mails and to create links to different areas managing the same study project. Thus very easy to use especially when it comes to sending files and generating reports.

CONS

Slow operating system plus the search functions are not deepened. The cost of the licence is a little expensive so it is worth reviewing it in comparison with other software.

Reason for choosing ContructEX

Because it’s expensive and i think it’s better

Reasons for switching to ContructEX

Why did you make the switch?(Optional)

User Profile

April

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2018

Newforma

PROS

This is a great tool to use for all phases of a project. Document Control is one of the most used and desired tool within my company

CONS

There are so many different ways to do so many different things. Also there is a double log-in that is confusing and cumbersome for all users.Too many apps available.

Brian

Architecture & Planning, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2017

Good product

So far it's been great, relatively easy to use. Has a lot of good features. Newforma had great integration with my email and project files.

Rachel

Architecture & Planning, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2018

Good for tracking

PROS

I gained a new appreciation for Newforma after spending a week trying to track submittals and RFIs without it. I like the meticulousness that it enforces.

CONS

In general, I find the interface to be extremely clunky and unintuitive to use.

Sam

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Great Project Management tool for Architects and Engineers Has come a long way throughout the years

PROS

Newforma has a number of nice tools. From Email management, to be able to view drawings (3D or 2D), and they also have a Construction solution called Newforma Project Center that gives you ability to management your submittals, RFI, etc.

CONS

The Cons for this is probably it's pricing structure. It also could give itself a new interface update, sometimes it is a little difficult to navigate through everything.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

Share Mass Quantities of Information with Ease

PROS

Being able to share mass quantities of information all in one place and with an unlimited number of people. Access to project information is all in one place.

CONS

The interface is a bit boring and cumbersome. It could be more visually appealing and user friendly.

Gulshan

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Project workflow tool

PROS

We can easily handle project workflow. Every phase can be managed in desired manner. Happy customers till now.

CONS

After using free trial organisation purchased this but i think its costly than other.

Mark

Architecture & Planning, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2018

Ran Construction Administration for multiple projects over multiple years with this.

The construction administration and project management tools were amazing. I've since moved to a firm that doesn't use Newforma, I desperately miss all the features that made my life easier, and I try to get them to move up to it daily.

PROS

Being able to instantly track just about anything in the CA process of a project at the touch of a button, being able to find any email (and attachment) that was ever written by anyone in your organization about a project, and being able to print out tailored reports easily and quickly.

CONS

There was a bit of a learning curve while initially adopting the program, and we did a lot of ASI's. The nature of ASI's are fluid, their topics, numbering and scope sometimes change, some are written up then not needed, Newforma didn't have a lot of flexibility to handle these types of changes.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Best collaboration tools for Project Analysts a

On average, the software is a very useful and accurate tool and must be upgraded to boost it's speed.

PROS

This software is very efficient in helping me garther daily information. I love it because of the accuracy that come with its use. It is very flexible in terms of usage. This software helps me send files to my project team , generate reports and other project documents with ease.

CONS

The difficulty attached to navigating through the software is sometimes a headache. System runs slow and I and my team would have to perform some tasks manually at times.

Reasons for switching to ContructEX

Efficiency and data integration

Anonymous

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2018

Very powerful organization and collaboration tool

Project team (internal and external) Collaboration

PROS

All modules add efficiency to my daily work. I'd highly recommend it for any project-based work or delivery. Easily file emails (which are visible to other project team members/managers), track RFIs, submittal, reports, other project documents from one interface.

CONS

Can be a resource (memory) hog sometimes, slow to open sometimes. Newforma Viewer is slower than other PDF softwares, so I don't use it.

Michael

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2017

It's a wonderful document management software

There is a clear path for all of the documents for any given project.

PROS

Ease of use, intuitive UI and comprehensive customer support. As long as the software is managed, it is pretty bulletproof.

CONS

When users do not utilize all of the functionality. There are so many functions that make the flow of documents so seamless.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2018

An extremely valuable program with potential to be great with an update to fix current problems.

PROS

This program is extremely valuable in the Architecture industry. In an age where everything needs to be documented for legal purposes Newforma makes it painless.

CONS

Newforma however is often buggy and slow to fix problems if ever, especially involving their Microsoft Outlook integration.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Project managment and distribution center

Excellent for storage and organization, has room for improvements on day to day file usage and markups

PROS

Single source for all project information including contacts, emails, file transfers, and continuing project management from design through construction

CONS

Viewer and loading times can be tedious, especially when used to other viewers. Email searches can be difficult

User Profile

Elthon

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Great Tool for Organization and Project Management

The application helped me a lot in project management with my partners and for a better return to our clients.

PROS

It is an easy-to-use tool that can manage multiple projects efficiently and can create links to other professionals that are within the same project.

CONS

It should have better updates to improve performance and speed in navigating the interface.

Comfort

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Newforma

It helped a great deal in the administration and management of clients data. The storage was great experience and easy.

PROS

It is great for storage and supportive of link creations.

CONS

Its not fast and its a bit shallow. An upgrade is needed for this product, to make it efficient.

Yassin

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT