User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(11)

11

4 stars

(5)

5

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Sweet Home 3D Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -33 of 17 results

December 2017

User Profile Picture

Denise from Hideaway Bay Beach Club Owners

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Sweet Home 3D is an excellent program to use in my spare time and easy to use

Pros

I love the split screen feature, the ease of use, and the variety of objects available. Sweet Home 3D allows me to be creative in my sample plans without stressing about figuring out how to use it.

March 2019

Jon from self employed

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Brilliant and its free !

As an ex pro software developer I am a hard critic to impress but really I love this product, it is absolutely ideal for my project. I would encourage serious users to also upload the furniture library software which enables you to create your own custom furniture library to share across projects very easily. Furniture in this context does not just mean chairs, it can mean shelves, mirrors, toilets, freezers, kitchens and outdoor plants and even windows and doors. Following online tutorials you can custom build windows which was important for my project, I am using some very large windows - simply scaling a small window creates a disproportionately large frame -better to design your own and this software offers that. You can even specify that your newly created window will auto-cut its profile when inserted into a wall. The software is free but happy users can donate. I donated $15 within a few days and decided to follow it up with perhaps ten times that amount once my project lifts off the launch pad. I really hope other users do likewise - free software as good as this does not grow on trees and the author really deserves every inch of gratitude.

Pros

I am designing three buildings, modern Scandanavian design before asking architect to shape it up, one main house and two lodges for tourist guests. I am using linux - Sweethome works great on linux. I am an ex CADCAM software engineer and I am blown away how one developer has grown such a reliable sophisticated product yet kept it simple, it does exactly what I need, its reliable, well written and intuitive - someone has put a lot of care and attention into this. My construction will be steel frame with insulated panels but I do not want to handle that level of detail in my design - I just want to say - thats a wall and its X thick etc. This is exactly the level this software is pitched at - I will leave the architect and structural engineer to the detail of the inner construction of the walls I intend throughout the build to keep my local model on Sweethome in step with the models that my architect will create on his/her own software. Whenever they propose a change I will wish to update my model so that I can spend the countless hours reviewing changes on my time not my architects time - it costs me to stand in the architects office!!! Every additional feature I found myself wanting in the first couple of weeks of very intensive use ( ten hours a day ) turned out to be already there. Its wonderful when you think "I need something to do XYZ" and you dig around a little and find out that its already there. And to top it all its free - seriously 11 out of 10 !!

Cons

Absolutely nothing. I can think of some enhancements but its really not fair to list those here because they are not CONS - all software evolves and by definition there are always items on the wish list.

December 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2021

Its a free home design tool.

It was the coolest thing to use to make designs of the 2D diagrams for the house. It was free and easy to get started with the simple features and loom at the 3D modal of the house without any performance issue on my old pc too.

Pros

I liked how the 3D model was being generated the moment i made the 2D diagrams. There is also a cool feature where you can roam the 3D modal, look around your designs to see how it will look if yoh were actually there. And it has a free version.

Cons

It can take some time to know to use all the features it provided. Although I am not a designing professional the UI didnt feel very intuitive. It is usefull for small projects but not suitable for professionals.

November 2018

Kumar from mindman

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Writing and Editing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2018

Sweet home 3d is easy for new user

It is good for common people but for the experts it has to develop it's features.

Pros

It is easy to use. No more objection in using it. New users can also work on this software. It's help options are also very good or it also supports all type Windows. It's menus are very helpful to use this software.

Cons

It's home tool's option are not much well. It has to make it more good.

January 2022

Scott from PM2 Strategies

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2022

Great for planning remodeling projects

After you create a space and populate it with furniture and paint the walls, you can rotate the space or move the camera to help you visualize the plan. When I was doing a "tear it down to the studs" remodel of my kitchen, dining room, and living room all at once, Sweet Home allowed me to try lots of layouts and show them to remodelers to help them understand what I wanted.

Pros

Sweet Home comes with an intuitive interface for creating a layout of a room or floor in your house according to actual dimensions, and then populating the space with a good library of objects (such as furniture, doors, walls). You can make all objects any color you want.

Cons

The free version comes with a good library of objects, but not everything you might want. You can buy additional libraries online if you want them.

July 2021

Thiyagu from Chegg India

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Good to use check it out

Pros

The software has easy controls, so you can use it without any hesitation. The interface looks great.

Cons

2D drawing settings are minimum in the software, they need to improve on that.

April 2018

YURY from No

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

A simple program that will allow you to make the layout of the future house or apartment.

A lot of interesting things in this program, it is easy and easy to learn and work. The program will be useful, first of all, to all people who are planning repairs. The program is a good tool in the self-design of the future look of your apartment, your home or room , without resorting to the help of professional designers, you can own. The program will also be interesting to furniture designers.

Pros

Sweet Home 3D is one of the best free and easy programs for creating interior design, with the ability to view in 3D. With the application, you can easily create detailed plans for both a separate room and the whole house, and then place furniture and various objects (doors, Windows, stairs, fences, etc.) at your discretion. With each change in the 2D plan, the 3D view is also updated . Creates nice photo visualizations and even videos of your interior, the ability to print your project and 3D viewing. Easy program development and ease of use are achieved thanks to the modern, intuitive interface, excellent language localization interface and the presence of detailed interactive prompts during the work on the project. The program contains a catalog of furniture samples, ordered by category. Interior models are constantly updated and can be downloaded for free from the official website of the developer. The value of this application lies in the fact that the program has a simple interface, which will be able to understand even a person who does not know 3D-modeling and room design. Depending on your needs on the website of the program you can also download a library of textures and furniture, as well as installation recommendations. There is a portable version for using Sweet home 3D on another computer, without losing software configuration. On the developer's website there are detailed user manual, video tutorials, tips, links to Sweet Home 3D channel on YouTube.

Cons

Some suggestions to software developers: 1. Make the function of scrolling the mouse roller-zoom in and out (as it is on the 3D view), and when you click on it-move the plan. 2. Make the function of group change of objects of the same name in the selection, not each separately. 3. Possibility of a separate selection on the plan below the objects located-under the above (because when you click the mouse, only the upper object is selected). 4. Increase the selection of objects in the catalog (paintings, dressing rooms, different models and types of wardrobes, as well as - kitchen furniture). 5. Make a separate tool - "roulette". 6. Make it possible to install walls at any angle (such as furniture - scroll icon in the corner) and the ability to install objects in addition to the vertical - in the horizontal plane. 7. Make the function "sticking" of objects when their installation does not need to manually connect to each other with angles and straight planes, and the ability to disable this function. 8. Add many more basic shapes, such as: cylinder, cone, sphere, rectangle, parallelepiped, etc., as well as variations of these geometric bodies/shapes and the ability to change their parameters. And finally, create a more advanced paid version of the program, including the best solutions used in similar programs of other developers.

Response from eTeks

Replied May 2018

Thanks for your review. About the cons you reported: 1. You can zoom in and out with mouse wheel while pressing Ctrl key (or cmd key under macOS). 2. You can change a group of objects by selecting them, and choosing the appropriate "Modify" menu item. 3. The "Select object" menu (or "Toggle selection" when you press Shift key) in the contextual menu let you select the object under the mouse pointer. 4 & 8. As you noticed you may download many more free models if needed, and they can be resized as you wish 5. Give more details about the "roulette" tool, I have no idea what it could be. 6. I think walls will always be vertical, see sweethome3d.com for workarounds. 7. Objects are magnetized on their border with a few pixels margin. Check you didn't disable magnetism in preferences.

August 2019

Damir from BroadStream Solutions

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Everything you need for floor planning

Coming from a professional 3D CAD software like 3Ds Max, Maya and Blender, it was refreshing how much could be done with this software, and how clutter free user interface can help me work faster. Naturally, keep in mind that, depending on your need, you can quickly outgrow Sweet Home 3D, but hey, it is free.

Pros

For an free and open source software, this is a very advanced application. There are a lot of furniture and construction elements in the default library, plus you can download new libraries for free and also buy libraries with specialized items. I used this for creating home apartment layouts as well as office and media studio layouts while working in the TV production industry. Lots of rendering options mean you can present your work quickly and make detailed changes according to the feedback.

Cons

I've had some issues with rendering high quality pictures with realistic shading where there would be some srtefacts that were not present in the 3D view, and could only resolve this by removing element by element and placing them back from sratch. But for a free software, I do not find this very annoying, and it will probably be resolved in future releases.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Sweet home 3D review

I am using this software when I want to relax. I have a lot of plans for the future and building a house is one of them. So now, I am creating houses that I would like to have.

Pros

About this software, I like the most that you can use this software when you want to construct your ideal house. It can help you to make your own house. When you make your own house then you can try a lot of colors (if you want to paint walls in some other color), you can remove your furniture, or make an idea how do you want to create your own house in future.

Cons

If you are a beginner you will need a lot of time to learn how to rise flats, and how to find more furniture and shapes in the app. But, once when you learn, you can really enjoy it.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

It is very friendly to use

There are many pages where you can download this program for free and if you are starting the career of interior design is a very good tool to practice the designs

Pros

The design quality is excellent, comfortable to work with, friendly to use, Design interiors quickly, if they work on it or if they just want to redesign their house. Numerous visual guides help you to draw the plan of your house and the design of furniture. You can draw the walls of your rooms from the image of an existing plane, and then drag and drop the furniture on the plane from a catalog organized by categories. Each change in the 2D plane is simultaneously updated in the 3D view, to show a realistic representation in its design.

Cons

according to the equipment that is being used it is very heavy to start or load, Each window of Sweet Home 3D edits the interior design of the house and is divided into four adjustable panels in size, with a toolbar in its upper part which makes the work uncomfortable since you have to keep many windows open

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Highly recommended!

Pros

This software has amazing innovative features for such a small price. It's worth every penny! It was very easy to learn how to use and it is excellent for planning. The program's library has a vast majority of items to choose from which can be imported to sample floor plans. The drag and drop features make the software easy to use and the 2D/3D options are exquisite.

Cons

I have been able to use every feature on this software and it features everything I was looking for in the program, no complaints!

July 2021

William from Level Architecture + Interiors

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Good for Realtors or quick presentations.

Pros

Shows some great 3D presentations to wow the client in a quick pinch.

Cons

A bit clunky and not as quite beefy as other 3D rendering programs.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Best way to model your dreamed house

Pros

I can easilly draw and make walls and just need very small space to run

Cons

I was unable to create verticle curved walls to and hard to create roofs

August 2021

Natasha from Natasha’s In Home Child Care

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

Decent program if you can afford it!

I’ve been able to solve all of my business needs with remodeling my home for it to be transitional from a in home day care to my actual home! This software has made it extremely possible to see what I want and make changes before actually completing the project so that way I can add or remove any item before actually doing it! This makes it so much easier to imagine your finished product and know exactly what you are wanting done and how you would like the finished product to be, before actually doing it physically!

Pros

I absolutely love being able to have all of my 2D drawings and my 3D rooms in one app, it makes things so much easier to see the plan before actually building or moving things!

Cons

My least favorite feature would have to be the pricing. I don’t think just anyone can use this software and would take a professional to be able to do everything needed the proper way!

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

A best interior designing tool

Using for visualising floor plans and to arrande interior

Pros

Sweet home is a cloude based software which is freely available tool for designing. Easy of use is tge best afvantage

Cons

Overall quality of the product campaired tobits size is good but it takes lot of time to render images and videos

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Best layout planner..

Sweet home 3D is usefully to make 3D modeling layouts

Pros

Sweet home 3D is a free software which facilitates for layout planning with 3D rendering. Easy to learn..

Cons

Overall quality is adequate related to its price. Video rendering takes more time and performance to run

December 2018

User Profile Picture

Nichole from Residential Home Funding Corp.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Great

Pros

What is like about Sweet Home 3D is that is very easy.

Cons

What i like least about this software is that it isn't for everyone.