All Artsystems Reviews

1-25 of 25 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Ben

Verified reviewer

Fine Art, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Using Artsystems Pro and Artsystem5 art focused databases

Overall, Artsystems provides a system with functionality that is extremely well suited to recording, tracking and reporting on everything to do with artworks.

PROS

Having used Artsystems Pro (with Cloud Sync) for a number of years, I was impressed by its wealth of features and attentive support team. Being able to quickly generate custom reports on a searched-for selection of artworks has been invaluable. Our database, which contains a considerable amount of content, including many images and some custom data fields, was then migrated seamlessly from Artsystems Pro to Artsystem5. With Artsystem5, all of the functionality and more has been very successfully moved to a powerful and convenient web-based system.

CONS

Although Artsystems Pro worked very well and was equally well supported, it did require a supervised (video call and remote machine access) update every time Mac OS received a major update. With the migration to the fully web-based Artsystem5 this inconvenience was removed.

Vendor Response

Ben, thank you for you review! Always a pleasure working with you and an honor to serve the Estate of Francis Bacon. So glad that you appreciate the convenience and functionality of our new upgraded web-based system, A5, and the seamlessness of the migration. Best, Doug

Replied October 2020

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

The best database management system for galleries and collections

PROS

The absolute best part about Artsystems are the people who work there. The training and tech support are amazing - second to none. Most of the staff have been there for a long time, so they have great continuity and deep knowledge of (and passion for) the system. It also helps that Artsystems has been around for several decades, and the program has evolved with the technology. The staff are super responsive and willing to provide as much training and assistance as needed - and answer any question we might have. They've also been excellent about creating customizations for us, such as bespoke invoicing forms, or tailoring other system features to accommodate our workflow. In fact, I've spent so much time with Artsystems staff on the phone, I now consider them friends as well as business partners. There's a lot more to learn still as we've only been using the system for a few months, so maybe later I can update this review with a more detailed discussion of the functionality. But so far, so good.

CONS

The Artsystems integration with Artsy isn't great, and isn't complete. It's something they need to work on, and I think they will, so that should improve soon. Also, unlike Artlogic, which has a relational database that feeds into a front end website that Artlogic powers, Artsystems is just the database, and doesn't have a website option.

Reason for choosing Artsystems

When I began researching which relational database service to use, I narrowed it down to two: Artsystems and Artlogic. I then asked my tech-savvy assistant to look at the demo videos and conduct additional research, and then report to me which one she thought would be best for us. After doing that, she came back and said she preferred Artsystems; it might not be as glamorous as Artlogic seemed, but the database is a real workhorse with superior features. I then found a gallery that happens to use both the Artlogic website and the Artsystems database and I cold called them to ask about their experience. They told me that they love the Artlogic website, but Artlogic support was much slower and less thorough, whereas Artsystems support is superb, so they were actually happy with their set up. (Artlogic is based in the UK, and though they have some support stateside, the main tech designers are in the UK.) Also, Artsystems provides end users with direct access to their technical staff, rather than having to go through an intermediary. I knew I couldn't deal with that, so we ended up going wtth the Artsystems database - and it was absolutely the right decision. (The fact that Artsystems only has hundreds of users, whereas Artlogic has thousands is actually an advantage because they are able to provide much more personalized service.)

Edward

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Ever Evolving Products and Support

I can rely on Artsytems for timely service when needed and for innovating its integrated product lines to support and grow my business over time. This has allowed me to remain focused on my business and serving my clients and artists.

PROS

My gallery has been served by Artsystems since its establishment in 2006. Over the years, we have migrated our database easily to newer and ever improving Artsystems client and data management tools, which connects to and serves the website that Artsystems designed and hosts for us.

CONS

Like all software, it requires updates and adjustments to keep pace with every advancing computer operating systems.

Frederick

Fine Art, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Excellent Software for the Fine Arts Industry

As a fine art landscape photographer with a growing portfolio and numerous gallery relationships, I found that managing my print inventory with Excel was no longer adequate to my needs. I have adopted Artsystems Pro, and with its flexibility and robust data management capabilities, I know where all of my prints are, and my consignment, invoicing,reporting and contact management workflow is vastly simplified. Software support has been excellent. The savings I have realized from being on top of otherwise-misplaced inventory is well worth the investment cost of Artsystems Pro alone!

PROS

Functionality allows me to eliminate the redundancy of data input and output in different business processes (inventory, consignment, invoicing, reporting, etc.). Easy to learn. Excellent customer support program. Better control of inventory pays for itself.

CONS

No cons in my view. I am very satisfied with my purchase.

Reasons for switching to Artsystems

Needed to get full functionality of a data base dedicated to the fine arts industry.

Jill

Fine Art, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Vital software with great support

We have been using Art Systems for over 20 years. It has been vital as a print publisher to keep track our extensive inventory with their EDITIONS module. It is quite easy to enter new editions considering how complex the software is. It has also been a time saver that they have integrated Quickbooks into their software. We don’t have to double enter invoices into our accounting software. Art Systems new program A5 has been invaluable during the pandemic. Since our database is now cloud based, our entire team was seamlessly able to work from home making invoices, tracking previous sales and having our clients contact information on hand.

PROS

Support is super quick to respond and resolved lightening fast. Since switching to the cloud based system, all support is efficiently handled by emailing a description of the problem. Along the sidelines, the Quality Assurance team fixes it! It’s so simple. Gone are the days of having someone remotely jump on my computer to see what’s going on and taking the time to work with them to resolve. It’s fixed from a distance and they simply let us know all is set. It could not be easier.

CONS

Since they upgraded to their cloud based system, A5 has many more features. We are most certainly not using the new program to it’s full potential but plan to learn and integrate all of its latest features.

Vendor Response

Wow! thanks so much, Jill, for your kind and thoughtful review. It's been a pleasure working with you and Larissa for so many years and we are so proud that you have been able to take full advantage of many of the powerful features with our software, including the integration with QuickBooks, the dedicated Editions module, and the <2-hour response and expertise of our experienced support team. Best, Doug

Replied October 2020

Tom

Arts and Crafts, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Couldn't image running my business without Art Systems

PROS

I run my art gallery business with Art Systems because it helps me keep my business efficient and effective. I chose Art Systems because Pro Database Software allows me to manage our inventory, our mailing list and our transactions efficiently by connecting all of the data. I post all my financial data to QuickBooks which removes any repeated data entry and provides me with the means to double check my accounting or find mistakes quickly. I also use Art Systems for my website from which I continually get positive feedback on the design and functionality of the site. Pro allows me to easily manage the site. Each Art Systems tool saves me time and money. With Art Systems, tasks get accomplished faster and more efficiently thus making my business more effective. Art Systems is a business that continues to be vested in the success of its customers. They continually provide prompt and excellent support in a generous manner. They are always finding ways to respond to the changing art market by providing updates to their products and create new one to better serve their customers. I have worked with Art Systems for 25 years and couldn't image running my business without them.

CONS

There isn't another gallery management software that comes close to what Art Systems provides.

Vendor Response

Tom, thank you so much for your review and for helping to improve our products as a true power user. Your support has been critically important to us over the years.

Replied November 2020

Cristin

Fine Art, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Web Based is the Best!

PROS

We have been Artsystems Gallery Pro users for many years, and the web based aspect of A5 was important to us because it made the database accessible from any location with an internet connection. I know this has made our IT manager’s life much easier, and it has been essential considering that our staff is primarily working remotely during the pandemic. The ProFile app has also improved the way we communicate with clients, and it allows us to work efficiently while in the gallery and at fairs.

CONS

Moving from one version of the database to another can be a challenge simply because of the learning curve. However, the support team does an excellent job with training sessions and they respond to questions quickly.

Rosina

Fine Art, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

I Don't Know What I'd Do Without ArtSystems

When I started my project, I was working with a 35mm camera and keeping hard copies in plastic sheets in binders. The process of categorizing, sorting, sending out information has changed exponentially over the years and ArtSystems has been a huge part of that for me. (See comments in "Pros" section.)

PROS

I began using ArtSystems in the late 1990’s to catalogue the work of my late aunt, painter [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], who created more than two thousand works on canvas and paper during her lifetime. From the earliest version to the current cloud-based program, ArtSystems has evolved to meet my growing needs and proved to be a key organizational tool as I recreated exhibition history and curated new exhibitions, built a website, and gathered material for the Walinska papers at the Smithsonian Archives of American Art. The people behind this software understand the needs of artist estates and are a joy to work with. Their hands-on support and training, and their openness to comments and suggestions, have made learning and utilizing this program painless and productive.

CONS

There is nothing negative to say. The software just keeps getting better, as the creators are constantly seeking feedback and making updates.

Reason for choosing Artsystems

I didn't look at other options at the time, as ArtSystems came highly recommended and looked perfect for me. Over the years, I have seen other things offered, but nothing that would prompt me to consider switching.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for your review and your support over the years, Rosina. It's always been a pleasure working with you. -Doug

Replied October 2020

Joseph

Fine Art, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Brief Testimonial

PROS

I was first introduced to Artsystems over ten years ago. When I needed to create a new collection database, there was little question in my mind of who to reach out to. The cumulative experience of the team at Artsystems is unmatched. Their database provides all of the necessary tools to manage and run an art based business. Creating such a customized database tailored to the artworld is hard earned. When you use ArtSystems you are immediately aware that the team has worked very closely with gallerists and dealers to offer the tools, templates and organizational ability needed to get the job done. The introduction of A5 has been a welcome addition. All of your business data is available, at all times anywhere in the world with an internet connection.

CONS

I don't use the direct email feature, I find it easier to create documents and export them, as opposed to directly sending info out of Artsystems.

Margit

Arts and Crafts, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Artsystems helps make our collection accessible

The licensing cost for Artsystems is well worth it for large collections of art. Also, I recommend paying extra per year for support access. The staff is quick to respond and give excellent friendly instruction. They have often come to my rescue when I had an urgent task to accomplish.

PROS

An archive is only as good as it is accessible, and Artsystems makes it very easy for us to present our collection to clients, galleries, book publishers, and curators worldwide. The works, contacts, and transactions fields coordinate beautifully, and reports and worksheets are smart looking and quick to put together. Just as important, the AS staff knows the product inside and out and is always there to help. There are very few art databases that are comparable to Artsystems.

CONS

Artsystems is a sophisticated database that takes a while to learn.

Vendor Response

Thank you, Margit, for your great review. We're so proud of being able to serve the Saul Leiter Foundation and it has always been a pleasure working with you.

Replied November 2020

Gaines

Fine Art, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Efficient System

PROS

We have been working with Artsystems for 23 years and in that time they have constantly pushed to upgrade their database software in ways that makes our business run more efficiently. They have refined their product and met our needs every step of the way. And their support team is diligent and responsive . The at team Artsystems collaborated with us to create a custom website that perfectly suits our needs. We have two locations so needed to basically double the site. Also we wanted a way to have prices appear with a password. They figured out how to do both of these things and lots of other small modifications that we dreamed up. They understood our needs and found creative ways to meet them. We are extremely happy!

CONS

We are very happy with the services provided by Artsystems.

Julie

Fine Art, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

An indispensable product for our business

PROS

Artsystems software allows us to effectively manage our extensive inventory of more than 50,000 works of art. Artsystems is not only intuitively designed and straightforward to use, it also allows us to integrate our inventory, contacts, and transactions, efficiently cross-linking all of the data. Customizable reports, including invoices, consignment agreements, and client presentations are also particularly appreciated and help to streamline the gallery’s workflow. I have always found the Artsystems support team to be responsive and personable, continually providing prompt and knowledgeable assistance. In short, Artsystems has proved to be an indispensable tool for managing our business for more than 20 years.

CONS

Since our inventory is so large, the data can occasionally take a while to load.

Tracy

Arts and Crafts, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

Over 20 year relationship...

We joined Artsystems in 1999, first with R.B. Kitaj's studio, and now as an integral part of my work with the R.B. Kitaj Estate. The database is used daily, as we track inventory, gather information for rights and reproduction requests, or review historical notes on the work for scholars. Artsystems support has been invaluable over the last twenty plus years! We are grateful to have them as part of our support system.

PROS

The ease of use; the ability to include a variety of images; and the Customer Service is FABULOUS

CONS

The annual cost - but it is worth it! We take advantage of the services provided. Money well spent.

Vendor Response

Thanks, Tracy, for your wonderful review! It's been an honor and pleasure to work with you and the Kitaj Studio and Estate over the last 21 years.

Replied November 2020

Jan

Banking, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Artsystem5 Provides a Total Solution

PROS

We converted our art collection management system from a home grown Access Database to Artsystem5 and I have been extremely pleased with the entire solution. The conversion went smoothly, the functionality of the system is everything they promised it would be and more. On top of that, the support staff has been great to help me learn just all what the system can do. Artsystem5 allows me to be more productive every day.

CONS

Only wish the dimensions were in decimals not fractions. But this is a very minor point.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for your review, Jan! We're glad you like A5 and we appreciate the support. Glad we can provide Emprise Bank a good solution for their corporate collection. Please note that A5 displays cm in decimals, and while it has been standard art management practice to display inches in fractions, we have had some requests to have the option to display inches in decimals as well, and are looking to implement that feature in the future.

Replied December 2020

Howard

Fine Art, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Great prodcut!

For approximately 30 years, Artsystems has helped streamline our gallery operations, manage client contact information, and maintain the records of all artworks that we handle. We especially appreciate the ability to create customized reports, including invoices, consignment agreements, and documents for internal use. Artsystems software has changed the way we keep records for our business and has only been improving over the years.

PROS

We especially appreciate the ability to create customized reports, including invoices, consignment agreements, and documents for internal use.

CONS

Aesthetically, I think Artsystems could use a makeover. Maybe to look a little more modern/chic.

Chance

Arts and Crafts, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Artsystems review for Gary Price Studios Inc

We have been using Artsystems for many years at Gary Price Studios and have been pleased with their level of support when needed and with how the software is designed. We love how simple it is to use and does not require a lot of training to understand how it was designed. The new A5 cloud based system has been a great improvement for us as we can manage our needs and records on the go. We would highly recommend working with Artsystems!!

PROS

I love the convenience of the cloud based program, it is easy to use and very simple to navigate.

CONS

At this point in my usage I do not have any issues with the new A5 cloud based program.

Alex

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

12 Year Customer

PROS

For over 10 years we've been using Artsystems to manage our client base and inventory. We've had excellent support over the years, including updating major versions without problems and we especially love how the database syncs to the website easily. Artsystems have found a way to support our bilingual website which was super important.

CONS

After 12 years of entries our database is fairly large so the software can render a little slow, especially when looking at images/ large bodies of works

Brigid

Fine Art, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: