User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(1,242)

1,242

4 stars

(563)

563

3 stars

(62)

62

2 stars

(5)

5

1 stars

(3)

3

  • Pros

  • "It's easy to use. Performance is great. Compatibility is great as well. Is known and used all around the world."

  • "Easy to use and very user friendly and effective"

  • "The thing I like the most about this software is that it makes my work very easy and fun to do all the time. "

  • Cons

  • "Although some commands are simple to use, others can be very difficult and to use to so require specialist training"

  • "Not the easiest software to learn but once you got the hang of the menus, it was excellent."

  • "It might be a little difficult for any person beginning with the program, but with plenty practice you can be a very skilled plan drafter."

Browse AutoCAD Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 1836 results

April 2018

Luis Guillermo from Paraulata Digital C.A

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

AutoCAD is one of the best softwares I've used in my activities as an architecture student and works

Pros

The main pro about this software is its precision on drawings, models and any architectural, engineering, urban, mechanical and other kind of projects you need to make on it. You can use it on many work fields due to its versatility and operativity. Another thing that I love about this software is that you can work with archives of another softwares by only importing them, and you can export on another formats too; besides, you can select the year version of its native format so you can work with previous versions of this software, increasing the productivity among colleagues. AutoCAD has been a great support to my academic developement, and I'm seriously thinking about using this program in my professional practice; I would strongly reccommend it to those who are students of architecture, engineering, industrial and interior design and another careers. This software has been the best choice since I've tried it for the first time. It's a must on any construction and design company. Go ahead and use AutoCAD!

Cons

One of the things I like least about this software is the fact that its interface is a little bit confusing sometimes, and it could be complex too if you misconfigure it; even though there are configuration buttons, sometimes they are confusing or they hide another things and drives you to desperation on how to find some things. So, my recommendation to the software programmers or developers is that they must find a way to make things a bit easier to the users in that matter.

October 2019

Alonso from Samsung Electronics America

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

make your plans with profession

My team and I have carried out very large processes and things since Autocad is very accessible and things are very relevant for the importance that it gives as the final result and establishes in your work area as the final result.

Pros

Extensive variety of administrative tools that help you to be able to perform and determine more things within your plane that you are working on, Autocad is cataloged by good software and its handling is difficult for a person who has no experience but to be fair you do not have to determine and dialogue as generally the greatest power and tool that can help you if you are from a person in an administration area or perform any mechatronics action to be able to use and perform with more comfort and different capacities

Cons

its handling is very exclusive and it has to be used in very few machines that can withstand this software since it is very demanding to work correctly and is not very reliable to work on more than one available computer, its licenses are very small and for smaller teams of use

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Must have in the Mechanical, Electrical and Plumbing space in construction

It is a great software to use for all engineering designs - in 2D. However, AutoCAD might become somewhat obsolete with 3D softwares coming into play.

Pros

It is the industry standard software for 2D engineering drawing design. There are some easily available templates in the market, or free for download in forums that makes designing that much easier. Due to the industry standard set in place, the formats available for sharing and exporting is plenty and will fulfill all business needs.

Cons

Not the most intuitive software to use. You will require either some training or go through training modules to use this software effectively. AutoCAD is also very resource intensive, so be prepared to splurge on additional RAM in your computer

October 2019

Amjad from Gulftainer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Maritime

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Undisputed marked leader for Computer Aided Design

I personally love AutoCAD and consider myself quite proficient with it; however, I do believe that its days are numbered. BIM is the future and we're quickly moving there.

Pros

- an extremely versatile full-featured CAD software that has been leading innovation since 1980s - Works in 2D and 3D to create models and printable layouts - Once you master it, drafting and drawing will be extremely fast. - Can handle anything from simple sketches to multi-million dollar developments - Layout (Paper space) support is very good especially with batch plotting - Plenty of training resources and blocks are available online. Student version available for free too. - The user interface has evolved in the right direction over the last decade. - Great features are always being added.

Cons

- License is expensive for small companies - When you use AutoCAD, while extremely powerful, you are still creating 2D or 3D lines and shapes, not objects. Therefore, it pales in comparison to Revit, Civil3D and trade-specific AutoCAD versions which create "smart" objects rather than "stupid" lines. - Should have included some of the features that AutoDesk Quantity Takeoff had before it was scrapped. Since most people use it for surveying quantities. - Lack of default CAD standard don't make sense.

March 2018

Arlex from EYEMAR EXPRESS

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

Autocad, it was my design school.

With autocad I learned to design with a computer, I learned to model, I learned CAD, it was my initial school.

Pros

Working in AutoCAD is much easier than working on paper. We saved a lot of time and it's much simpler than that. Doing it by hand can be tedious and we also have to consider our prolixity when it comes to doing it on a sheet. As Autodesk is launching new versions, they do not change much with respect to the previous ones so that the user does not have to update to something completely unknown. The latest versions are very similar, except that they add new small functions. The configuration to print a drawing in AutoCAD in different formats is very easy. There are many formats included and we can adjust colors, margins, layers, among many other aspects. AutoCAD has been linked to multiple platforms, with the benefit of being able to export and import files of all kinds. For example, we can bring an image or a block to the software, among other applications.

Cons

The main disadvantage is the high cost of the program, since the license costs a few dollars. Knowing how to use the software fully requires a lot of time since there are many functions that are not so well known, and even that they are of little application, since they are very specific. It requires a very powerful computer to work with the latest versions (especially in 3D). At least 2GB of RAM, 2GHz processing speed, and a space greater than 100GB on the hard drive. If we make an object in 3D, with many details, brightness settings, brightness, details of materials, for the best commercial computer we have, it usually slows down a lot. There are better software to make 3D drawings that are more sophisticated, with more functions and that do not slow down so much when working with a very heavy file.

December 2019

Mohammed Umar Farooq from BLDEA College of Engineering and Technology, Vijayapur

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Best Detailing Software for Structures

We use it for detailing of civil engineering structures to our students and it is the best way to reduce the time to design with great precision and accuracy.

Pros

It is the best detailing software for any Civil Engineering structures available in the market. It's user interface is awesome and very easy to use. 3D is just great. Exporting option in any type of file is a great way to use it. Very large projects can be handled with precise measures. Can be used in cloud as well. There so many features in AutoCAD which we can make use to design the products. It can save time with 100% accuracy.

Cons

Rendering takes more time and can be improved. Need training to use the software to understand all the features.

February 2020

ave from aveoxus

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Excellent for your drafting needs

Pros

User interface and features are robust and user friendly. Great for 3D print elements and industrial models

Cons

Like most skills, AutoCAD takes time to learn.

December 2019

Aslam from Secab Institute of Engineering and Technology, Vijayapur

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Best Design Software for Engineering Use

Using it to design structures for all the labs for students. It reduces time and gives clear and precise drawings to work on field. It's must have software for every Civil Engineer.

Pros

It is the most accurate software to design and detail the structures. Perfect for major projects. It offers so many features and tools one can think of. Rendering is great. Interface is very pleasing. Precision is awesome.

Cons

It requires a good training of the software. It is very costly but much better than any other tool available in the market.

Reasons for Choosing AutoCAD

It is the most used and advanced detailing software.

December 2019

Omvir from Origin India private limited

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

This software is best for Architecture

Very good

Pros

This software is used by our students for their architectural training. This software required you deep knowledge to design and implementation.It is compatible with all windows and ios .There are lots of latest tools which helping lots in construction company and architecture firm.

Cons

It take huge space in installation and its need good configuration of laptop for working good.

Reasons for Choosing AutoCAD

In case you want to better result of this software,please try this with BIM(building information modeling).

December 2019

Nasir from BSI Group India Pvt Ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

User Experience

The experience when looks at autocad as individual tool would be 10/10 but with competition and other products in market the latest version of AutoCAD fusion 350 and other modules needs to be looked at.

Pros

This would be the days when i was using a lot of CAD tools for personal projects /client requirement to create simple illustration in 2D view for the given product. This is the most simple tool ever to quickly generate drafts and layouts.

Cons

This could be used only for 2D view where the demands were changing and the need was to develop 3D model and the get different views as per the requirement. Which means that even after being the most simple tool to generate 2D drawing which was the end result requirement. This product still lost cause 3D tool better of it by providing additional details which 2D alone couldn't provide.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

AutoCAD-An amazing asset for drawing and demonstrating

AutoCAD Architecture takes the previous AutoCAD to an entirely different measurement. The program essentially helps profitability, which enables a customer to work all the more productively and adequately. Truth be told, I think this item is something fundamental in each office and home that as often as possible arrangements with structural plans. I additionally feel that organizations that embrace this specific program will no doubt appreciate the additional advantage of automation of complex drafting endeavors than previously.

Pros

Autocad makes the calling of originators, planner and architects all the more simple, sorted out and intriguing, the autocad interface give each attracting apparatuses genuine in a computerized structure, with the assistance of the instruments like frameworks, object snaps , polar trackers and the symmetrical mode which carries on like a genuine set-squares and Tee-squares, an expert can sit agreeable on is sofa at home and make drawing audits, with this broad devices. autocad interface can without much of a stretch be altered to fit the sort of drafting you would need to do either 3D or 2d, a few times the various toolbars and directions can be overpowering for fledglings, however they are helpful given the client knows how and what to utilize them for. Autocad is client friendly,easy to utilize particularly the 2D drafting the numerous instruments have different capacities, that would be required for various kind of drawings, before you use autocad, you should comprehend the nature of work you need to accomplish, at that point autocad will offer them to you quicker, precisely and progressively satisfactory. Autocad gives the benefit to secret key drawing records, to avert access to your drawings by different clients of your PC,you can go to choices by right snap on the drawing window,from there you can set secret phrase to your presently opened documents, its has truly help keep up some degree of duplicate right, and help to verify organizations idea and structures .

Cons

The sticker price related with AutoCAD is steep, thinking about fashioners, designers, and specialists, all utilization it unendingly. To work without significant glitches, for example, screen solidify, slow preparing velocity the product needs framework wealthy in memory and RAM. A couple of directions like Trim and Hatch work gradually if your PC is (for my situation) old or short on accessible RAM. For new clients, the whole interface can be very overpowering thinking about the quantity of directions accessible for differed capacities. I don't generally have serious issues with the 2D drafting highlight, as it is exhaustive, exact and easy to use, however by one way or another the 3D highlight isn't the best. As I would like to think, there is other programming accessible which can create excellent, introduction commendable and practical 3D renderings as most have their very own beam following, something that AutoCAD needs. Also, for complex undertakings, it very well may challenge update areas, heights, and detail drawings regardless of whether there is a minor change in the arrangement/s. For this reason particularly, I lean toward BIM programming when taking a shot at enormous and testing ventures.

June 2019

Stephen Olawale from Sunilar Nig.Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

THE ARCHITECT DIGITAL DRAWING BOARD

my overall experience using autocad, is that autocad has made life easy for me, i don't have to carry drawing boards,Tee-squares and set-squares all over the place because i want to present a design concept,thanks to the auto-desk team.

Pros

Autocad makes the profession of designers, architect and engineers more easy, organised and interesting, the autocad interface provide every drawing tools in real life in a digital form, with the help of the tools like grids, object snaps , polar trackers and the orthogonal mode which behaves like a real life set-squares and Tee-squares, a professional can sit comfortable on is couch at home and make drawing reviews, with this extensive tools. autocad interface can easily be customized to fit the type of drafting you would want to carry out either 3D or 2d, some times the numerous toolbars and commands can be overwhelming for beginners, but they are very useful provided the user knows how and what to use them for. Autocad is user friendly,easy to use especially the 2D drafting the many tools have various functions, that would be be needed for different type of drawings, before you use autocad, you must understand the quality of work you want to achieve, then autocad will give them to you faster, accurately and more presentable. Autocad gives the privilege to password drawing files, to prevent access to your drawings by other users of your PC,you can go to options by right click on the drawing window,from there you can set password to your currently opened files, its has really help maintain some level of copy-right, and help to secure companies concept and and designs, I use password on drawings a lot.

Cons

The autocad 3D models is not has realistic like the BIM applications with a powerful rendering settings, so i prefer to export CAD format to Revit Architecture for my 3D realistic models. Autocad requires a PC with large memory speed, especially with the latest versions ,while carrying out 2D drafting, modifications like Hatching or triming, if you do not upgrade your RAM you will be very slow working on the application. The numerous tabs, tool bars can be very intimidating to beginners, has a trainer, I have to switch off some tabs and focus on those one that are needed for a particular deliverable, I would like my trainee to accomplish through the present exercise, before going to the next. It is very true that not all of these tools on the autocad interface are being used by architect for their 2D drafting. Making drawing reviews for large project on autocad is not has easy has using BIM applications like Revit Architecture, even if the changes on the plan is small, you will have to edit your elevations, sections, independently on autocad., but despite all these, autocad is the best for architect from the conceptual stage ,working drawing stage and presentation stage.

March 2019

Sadaf from Alpin Limited

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

AutoCAD- A powerful tool for drawing and modelling

Work with AutoCAD begins at the conception stage (conceptual design, schematics, design development) through to construction (good for construction and as-built drawings) and completion. I have been using AutoCAD for the last ten years and honestly, I would not trade this software for any other. Our company uses AutoCAD for drafting two-dimensional layouts, editing, developing 3D models as well as using it to import and export to other compatible software such as Revit for BIM and IES for energy modelling respectively. It is a fundamental drafting software that has no competitor in the market, especially for the construction industry. I highly recommend this powerful tool for enhancing the quality of detailed architectural, mechanical, electrical and civil 2D drawings for better implementation on site.

Pros

There is no limit to what can be produced with AutoCAD, from architecture, product design, and landscape drawings, from the tiniest to scales to the largest. As an Architect, I feel that mastering this software has been an indispensable skill, and I will be using it for many many years to come. Once you get a hang of it, developing layouts is simple, with a customizable interface and menus. I especially love the Object Snap command that helps me prepare drawings and details that are 100% accurate. Being compatible with a majority of modelling software, exporting CAD drawings is quite straightforward too. There is a plethora of support online as well as provided by Autodesk, if things seem challenging or there is a glitch to fix. The best part is that AutoCAD offers a fully functional free version for students, which is definitely a step in the right direction; not all companies do this.

Cons

The price tag associated with AutoCAD is steep, considering designers, architects, and engineers, all use it perpetually. To function without major glitches such as screen freeze, slow processing speed the software needs system rich in memory and RAM. A few commands like Trim and Hatch function slowly if your computer is (in my case) old or short on available RAM. For new users, the entire interface can be quite overwhelming considering the number of commands available for varied functions. I don't really have major issues with the 2D drafting feature, as it is comprehensive, accurate and user-friendly, but somehow the 3D feature isn't the best. In my opinion, there is other software available which can produce exceptional, presentation worthy and realistic 3D renderings as most have their own ray tracing, something that AutoCAD lacks. Additionally, for complex projects, it can be challenging to update sections, elevations, and detail drawings even if there is a minor change in the plan/s. For this purpose especially, I prefer BIM software when working on large and challenging projects.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Help people to create architectural designs

AutoCAD Architecture takes the former AutoCAD to a whole new dimension. The program significantly boosts productivity, which allows a client to work more efficiently and effectively. In fact, I think this product is something essential in every office and home that frequently deals with architectural designs. I also think that companies that choose to adopt this particular program will most likely enjoy the added benefit of mechanization of complex drafting undertakings than before.

Pros

CAD software is tailor-made to help people create aesthetically appealing architectural designs and documents quickly and easily. On the other hand, AutoCAD Architecture adds more salient features for architectural drawing, schedules, and documentation. It's also easy to automate drafting tasks with just a few clicks, which makes life easier and fun at the same time. This software program is fairly easy to use, especially when you undertake a few beginner lessons. It's an excellent option for basic floor plans, landscape studies, and elevations to mention a few. You can easily turn off multiple layers that you don't need, and choose the ones that suit your specific project. I love to use this as my schematic starting point before uploading them to other designing tools, such as Revit or Photoshop.

Cons

There's a small learning curve a person may experience in the beginning before they can start using the program efficiently and effectively. The keyboard commands are many and overwhelming, and there are so many ways of accomplishing a single task. Also, the functionality to organize large drawings or to organize repetitive elements is very limited. All these technicalities make it very easy for a person to get lost and confused, especially if you're sharing your work with someone who has a different layout preference from yours. Another thing I really dislike about this program is the 3D software part. Sure, you're able to create awesome designs with 3D, but the whole experience is time-consuming and a largely manual task altogether.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

AutoCAD Architecture

In general involvement with this product AutoCAD Architecture takes AutoCAD to an altogether new dimension. AutoCAD Architecture significantly expands productivity, enabling a client to progress quickly. Firms embracing AutoCAD Architecture, gain the advantage of mechanization of complex drafting undertakings.

Pros

In this day and age customers continuously request greater productivity, more accuracy, and extra building information. Although AutoCAD has provided a beautiful work of expanding the efficiency of 2D drafting in Architecture. AutoCAD Architecture further improves efficiency via robotizing numerous regular tasks. The outcome is quicker Construction Document (CD) generation with expanded exactness and coordination. Autodesk AutoCAD is a PC helped configuration program for two-and three-dimensional illustration. It is a software perceived globally for its full editing abilities, which make it conceivable to draw building designs or reproduce 3D pictures carefully. Advantages of using AutoCAD in Architect Designing 1. Increase in speed and generation of remodels 2. Enhanced and better documentation all through the drafting procedure 3. Saves time by expelling the need to make complex incline changes designs 4. Resume work all the more rapidly in the event of a tainted document 5. Increasingly productive work process with the assistance of new direction line seek highlights 6. Apply different completions to a surface and computerize tedious drafting assignments to lessen mistakes 7. Naturally, append property set definitions to design objects 8. Tidy up drawings and can move unused layers all the more effectively

Cons

1. The program is expensive, because of its permit. 2. Learning how to use the product entirely requires a ton of time since there are numerous capacities, and even that they are of little application since they are quite specific. 3. It needs a fantastic PC to work with handling speed and a high space on the hard drive. 4. A great many people who need to figure out how to utilize this program need to pay costly courses to figure out how to use them all together.

December 2018

ANDREW from KAS & Associates

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

AutoCAD review

Has revolutionized virtually every engineering field in existence, and even almost single-handedly created an entire new industry: the CAD draftsman. Every draftsman must spend significant time and training specifying a field, but computer drafting is now virtually a career unto itself, almost secondary to the industry it supports. It is and always will be an imperfect tool, but is incredibly powerful and indispensable. There are other worthy competitors... but AutoCAD is the most widespread, and the best.

Pros

It is the industry standard - that alone counts for a lot, even though that means we're all contributing to its unofficial monopoly. Extremely powerful, customizeable, available in several specialized versions. It takes a while to learn the extents of what it can do - but that's not a negative, just a byproduct of its complexity. Learning the basics is fairly quick and easy, thanks to its intuitive setup, which has improved over the years.

Cons

Well known to be prone to frequent or at least unexpected crashes. Any seasoned AutoCAD user is well-trained to save work constantly. One brilliant tool Autodesk employed to help combat this is to save data across several separate files for any one drawing/project - that way if one of them becomes corrupt, it can be diagnosed, excised, and hopefully recreated. But again, any experienced user is accustomed to the frustration of occasionally losing hours of work and spending hours more investigating, backtracking, and rebuilding. It is also extremely expensive, which really cannot be avoided considering the vast and complex programming that goes into it, and also due to the security and monitoring necessary in today's ease of electronic pirating; this is a shame, because while in earlier decades it was perhaps expensive but not always prohibitively so, a novice can no longer attain a home copy to use/learn at their leisure.

September 2018

Leon from BairesDev

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Versatility mixed with complexity.

As complex as AutoCad is, learning how to use it is a very rewarding experience when you start to achieve sleek designs. Even though it takes time, I cannot really state that my experience is a negative one, for the contrary, the more I learn, the more excited I get. AutoCad's difficulty is very well balanced out with the quality you are able to achieve within the software, and the wide possibilities it offers. Becoming an expert is a must have for many fields, it will surely open many doors.

Pros

To state an opinion of AutoCad being as objective as you can is clearly a challenge, because it is very versatile software, with distinctive functionalities that adapt to many industries, but I will give it a try: AutoCad has one of the most extensive tools set you can imagine, that allows to draft in a logical sense almost anything you could imagine through the space of your canvas. From package design, to wire and pipes, props, Architecture, Interior and Industrial design and even Printed Circuit Board designs (Even though there are more efficient softwares for that one). AutoCad is all about precision and logical designs that follow a mathematical pattern, even though it might be catered towards some specific fields, the possibilities are wide and you may find it useful for something you never really imagined that follows a specific rational arrangement, I could basically describe it as a digital technical drawing software with almost no limitations. Once you get a grasp of the most basic tools, it is fairly easy to keep everything neat.

Cons

AutoCad is a very complex software, and learning how to use it is not precisely an easy task, sometimes just exploring the tools is not enough. I needed to do a few courses before I was able to get a grasp of it, and I am still far from being an expert. You usually adapt your learning curve towards what you are looking to do, since there is not necessarily a unique way to approach your designs, and the tools logical functionality might feel abstract if you are unable to understand them properly. The uses you can give to the software are as ambiguous as how you use your tools, and it adapts to your needs but at the same time you have to be aware of keeping your designs coherency at all times. I believe they should definitely enhance the printing area configuration; it still gives me a headache every time that I am trying to print a one page designs and I end up printing 4 divided sheets because of a misinterpreted printing setting. You need a high-spec machine if you are planning to design in 3D, it consumes a lot of RAM memory and might slow down or heat up your computer.

September 2018

Jay from www.ipigeon.institute

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Museums and Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

AutoCAD is the drafting and prototyping engineer's most extended product line of CAD stuff.

I've assisted others in establishing a gig basis context, and perhaps an appreciable self-serving basis and context of establishing themselves in a profession of architecture and product design, for example, in which they've had some appreciable experience in, and willingness to devote time on their own, as it were, to establishing a professionalism occupation on the merits of their pre-established education that would suit them in acquiring AutoCAD professional user experience for their future jobs and creations in life.

Pros

AutoCAD has one of the most long standing reputations and extensive product line offerings, bearing out from the basic context of AutoCAD itself, into various takes on what merits a CAD professionalism in the context od many different specializations of CAD-related industries, from fashion, to prototyping, to architecture, to building facets of the construction, development, piping and wiring context of getting into the various takes on AutoCAD releases that feature specializations suited to assist the specialist drafting engineering architect in building development contexts outside of a notably commonplace notion of CAD for architecture, [as I'd come to expect, from experience], whereas the standard AutoCAD is feature-worthy and extensible enough to merit its use in any sort of professional details-and-measurements-driven usage of a need to have access to all steps created during the drafting process, in exacting measurement contexts of producing goods for manufacture, for example.

Cons

As an ambitious digital muti-media artist snd various cottage industries aspirant, of several various pursuits in life, CAD has proven to be somewhat high on the prior-education and prerequisites of knowledge spectrum, as far as a considerably ad hoc entrepreneurial common fare other digital multimedia areas of specialization would not particularly merit a sit down and first off considerable user basis of know how and mastery within a CAD software context. It's obviously good software, but the learning context of being able to appreciably produce a professional product for actual manufacturing specifications would take more learning experience than I've devoted to CAD.

August 2018

Adam from D.M. Wills Associates Limited

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Industry Standard for Drafting and Designing

As I use AutoCAD on a near-daily basis in the engineering field, it has become a tool that is second-nature while drafting and designing. While AutoCAD is an extremely effective tool to help designers and drafters to create drawings that look great and are easy to manipulate, it can struggle to handle heavy project workload with many 3-dimensional objects in one drawing; if you are able to plan and predict what a project will entail, you can plan your drawings accordingly to make sure that there isn't too much content in a single drawing which seems to cause this issue. As a leading tool for engineers, AutoCAD remains an excellent software for drafting and designing.

Pros

AutoCAD is a great drafting tool that has some great built-in functions to assist the designer in efficiently designing and drafting engineering projects. The customization in AutoCAD allows for great consistency in drafting by having custom uniform text, styles, and general features (such as pipe networks, pressure networks, and profiles to name a few), though this customization can also be a detriment which I will mention below. The majority of the interface is designed for ease-of-use, having all of the commonly used features in the ribbon and on the taskbar, while retaining the text commands for quickly accessing features for more advanced users. AutoCAD has widespread compatibility in terms of files it is able to import and read, as well as output formats to other drafting softwares. As I use AutoCAD with the Civil 3D add-on, there are some very helpful 3-dimensional tools that make it easy to draft your intended design with ease and the functionality of having various levels of complexity such as 3-dimensional surfaces, 3-dimensional pipe networks, and all of the associated tools (roadway corridors, grading tools, and surface manipulation.) AutoCAD is an industry standard for a reason - it helps the designer to efficiently and effectively complete designs with a wide variety of tools and options.

Cons

Though AutoCAD offers some very useful tools, some of these tools are complex and there can be a steep learning curve for new users. The bulk of the issues encountered while using AutoCAD seem to happen on larger complex projects. For larger-scale projects where many different drawings and objects are referenced together, it is important for the user to understand efficient ways to link drawings and AutoCAD objects together to prevent file slow-downs and bloating of project files. The dreaded 'Fatal Error' is also not uncommon when working in larger complex projects, especially when using 3-dimensional functions in the software such as surface grading. As newer versions of the software cause older versions to become obsolete, it is crucial that you stay up-to-date with the newest version of AutoCAD if you are planning on collaborating with external parties or consultants. Ensure the machine you will be using AutoCAD on exceeds the minimum recommended software and hardware requirements, as it can be difficult to efficiently use this software on an under-powered computer.

July 2018

Soriana from Vegas & Artiles Arquitectos

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

My experience using autocad has been nice. I like the software

The benefits that I obtained with this software was the development of architectural projects in a short time. With good appearance and better image when I'm going to present it to clients.and not only use it for architecture but for my daily tasks, make drawings, figures for my friends, to cut and print graphic design forms. A few days ago I was teaching two people to make lines, polygons, curves in autocad. My two friends loved the tool, and are willing to take a course to explore the program. My two friends want to learn to get a job as an architectural draftsman and work as people for their children. The tool is very versatile, and friendly to the public. Without a doubt it is one of the best software that they have been able to invent. Every day I am surprised more of the things that I can do in that program. For now the only difficulty has been making 3d modeling with the three-dimensional version of autocad, because I still have trouble knowing which tools I can use and which I can not. Also my computer is not adapted so that the program can work properly and runs out of memory space. In the next few years I hope to get the opportunity to produce more money and install the current version of that year, and learn how to use the 3D tool of this program well. On some occasions I tried to make renders in that program and I have trouble adjusting all the lights. The photographs are dark or unclear. I would like to learn with some autodesk videos about how to manage the program in the right way to get along better in this category. I feel that in the future the autodesk company will have so many tools integrated into the program that they will not be able to resist, all the companies should have laptops with this program. Not only as a means of work, but as part of your lifestyle. For example, I benefit from doing my work as an architect and other extra jobs that have to do with furniture design. Currently autocad is the only tool with which I develop better. The time that I can spend designing and drawing is infinite, because I have a lot of fun trying out alternatives for clients. In addition you can save them in different formats, and the client can check it from his computer without having to go to my office. We can have long conversations about the different options and autocad lets me keep it comfortably as I want. This is one of the most important tools in the area of design and architecture.

Pros

I feel good exploring the tools of the program. Currently I like to use the PlotPDF tool that converts the pdf into lines and makes the drawings can be drawn in a more comfortable way. I am an architect and I recommend the program to all the people who work with me.

Cons

What I do not like about the program is that in each new version I do not know the added functions. The autodesk company should have an indicator with notifications indicating the new tools and commands that were added. In addition to that the steps to test the new commands. I would like to start a new version of AutoCAD with new tools notifications and view sample videos within the model.

July 2018

Huynh from Nam A

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

I'm an Architectural Designer and Cad Draftsman in 6 years until now.

I help me to save a lot of time when deadline is coming. It works with the other software effectively, for example: 3dsmadx, sketchup, corel draw, photoshop. It is very useful for Architect, Cad Draftsman, Architectural Designer, Engineer, ect. I think we can not well without using Autocad. Although I started to use Revit Architecture for my work in about 1 year but I still need AutoCad. In my country, people still use Autocad for their work, it's effective, easy to use, fast and we can find the AutoCad tutorial on internet (in English and my mother language) without any difficult.

Pros

This is the first time I review for this software after using it in several years. In fact, I like this software because it's very easy to learn and use at the beginning level, anyone can learn it without taking a course. But if you want to become an advanced user with AutoCad, you must need some skills in IT area and get a course seriously. For the new interface, to be honest when I used it at the first time in several years ago, I didn't like it, I was familiar with the old one. But I tried and I found it is very effective and easy to use than I thought, because it gave me more chance to discover the other functions in AutoCad that I didn't know, for instance when I tried with dynamic block and parametric in the first time since a long time ago, I really felt in love with it. I also like the new purge function, it really didt good job. When I used Autocad 2013, I had to install AutoCAD_2013_2014_DGN_Hotfix to purge the large files. But the new AutocCad version already installed that function and I like it, it helped me so much when I worked with large files.

Cons

I have a big problem with the dimension in layout, it always change its value to larger, for example when I make dimension 200mm in layout, after I reopen the AutoCad file, the dimension will change to 1000mmm or more automatically, I tried to find many ways to fix it but I can't. I also change the computer or work with another files or create new dimension style but the problem was still the same. When I was trying to find a solution on the internet, I saw many people had the same problems like me and they didn't know know to fix it too. I like to create dimension in layout but because of this problem I always have to check the drawing files again and again whenever I want to print or export it to pdf, sometimes I missed some places and I have to correct the dimension and print it again. I hate it so much. Now I have a change to tell to you (the AutoCad software developer), I wish I can know this page earlier, but I hope it's not late for me to contact to you now. Can you tell me how to fix that problem? I really appreciate if you can give me a solution.

March 2018

Carlos from Universidad de Oriente

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Excellent software, I have used it in engineering and architecture for designs, plans and images 2D

The benefits I have received with this software have been: Being an engineer, he worked in the engineering area, especially in the area of civil engineering and architecture; I am dedicated, mostly to elaborate housing plans, as well as land location. It saves me a lot of time, because it allows to make modifications before printing, which I could not do manually, also, when the floor plans are the same, this can create copies and make the electrical, mechanical drawings without having to do the plan again. Also, since many planes are the same, those pieces can be copied from one plane to another, details that are required. You can rotate the plane, do 3D, change line thicknesses, color, add plants, vehicles to create the final design environment. It allows me to work from my house, and send the plans by mail at no cost. Previously, I had to print and mail physical plans or CDs. Make the details, at the scale of your preference and with all your minimum accessories. The presentation of the plans are of higher quality and precision and reliability. Also used to make figures for billboards, designed billboards with real dimensions. You can export and import images between softwares.

Pros

The experience I have with the Autocad is with the preparation of floor plans, facades and housing location. It has been very easy to handle with geometric figures, lines, arcs, circles, triangles; also allows to change the thickness, lengthen or cut the lines or edges of the figures, fill figures with solid colors or textures. It allows me to make the plans on a scale and print it with another scale greater or less than the one designed. Also, it allows drawing with details of sanitary pieces, hydraulic and electricity equipment. It makes presentations in 2d and 3d which gives an overview of the real design of the house, piece or equipment inside and outside. In addition, you can work multiple windows, copy images from one window to another, copy images from different files, you can export documents, tables and images from other software.

Cons

From this software it is difficult for me to work with different windows, and to select the printing area, for that I adjust the properties of the printer, which makes the printing slower. In addition, I find it difficult to work in three-dimensional planes. In this case, I make two plans one of the floor and another with cuts that show the heights of the walls or facades. It requires computers and monitors with higher requirements, for large plans plotters are needed; however, the plans can be adjusted to small printers, but the letters and numbers are so small that anyone can not read them.

February 2018

Victor from Ministerio Poder Popular para Hbitat y Vivienda

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

AutoCad the most evolved software for Computer Aided Drawing

Through AutoCAD I was able to load data in a GIS by exporting the DWG files, drawings that were made in 1990 but have not been updated and that were required as a cartographic basis for updating the cartography of the small cities of Venezuela. From this process I have been able to make risk mitigation proposals, based on the unmodified topography of the time, they remain in force and that nowadays, it is very expensive to make a new capture. I also collaborated on a project where the parcel survey of several poor areas in Caracas was updated, everything was processed in AutoCAD and linked with photographs and legal documents through attributes management. The program is robust enough to accept around 10,500 links in a multiscale file, neighborhood, block, plot, floor. AutoCAD can interact with many apps ranging from basic photography to databases and word processing. The facility provided by AutoCAD, to import and export data makes it a fundamental tool in the processes of capture, editing, processing and maintenance of spatial data, the Drawing app is superior to the GIS.

Pros

It presents a versatile interface that allows users to adapt the menu bars to their most frequent uses, since in AutoCAD converge engineers, geographers, surveyors, surveyors, architects, interior designers, graphic designers, artists of computer animation, among others as well as the respective students and professors of the mentioned areas. Over the years they have improved the drawing commands and transformed them into simple commands to those that we had to develop by programming or repeating sequences to the users of the versions of the 90s and the first decade of 2000. It offers many facilities for the management of a great diversity of functions, with very variable scales of representation that vary from 1: 1 to 1: 25,000, adjusting to the needs of the clients. The printing of products made in AutoCAD are very easy to use, as long as you have basic knowledge of scale of representation, pen handling and intentions of the scales of colors and thicknesses. You can save the data as a pdf file, where you maintain the ability to turn off or turn on layers of information. additional to this you can also export your products to the universal dxf exchange formats or as dgn. On the other hand, you can manage information collected by means of UAVs, total station or topographic survey, data that will present the height values required for the 3D interface. You can download the product and manage the acquisition of the license online.

Cons

The 3D interface that offers a lot of similarity to the animation programs consumes a lot of graphic memory, the resources of the PC are compromised in the 3D files that have a lot of detail. Autocad does not work on open source operating systems, it only deploys on Windows and MAC. The users must know the fundamentals of pluggins, topology and scale, otherwise they will invest many hours in solving the errors caused. The cost of the license is high compared to other solutions, without underestimating those of open source, where some have taken giant steps to cover the basic needs of users. the management of the topology and the relationship of the entities drawn depend on the expertise of the user, there is no basic guide that allows you to reduce the load of erroneous data due to ignorance. The program requires a PC with good configuration, since it has innumerable functions that you may never use.

August 2018

Nelsys from Nutrition supplements

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Easy to use once you get it

I used AutoCAD throughout my university career and in the professional and labor fields. As a civil engineer, this is a program that you use almost daily.

Pros

It really is too useful and has too many functionalities in addition to many ways to do the same thing, so you just have to find the way that best suits you. For me it was not at all easy to use it at the beginning, it's like you open the program and it overwhelms you all there, but once you have it is extremely easy to use. Honestly it is a very extensive program and has additional extensions that you can add later for your particular use. There are functions that only civil engineers use, there are functions that only mechanical engineers or electrical engineers use, so I think it is very difficult to use the program in its gigantic totality, but that should not overwhelm you. Honestly it is not necessary to take a course to learn how to use it, on the internet this is all you need and after you understand it, it will be the best specialized drawing program you will find.

Cons

share the drawings and the different versions you have, because if you save a file in a version, it can not be displayed on another computer with an earlier version, so if you have the latest version, you should always remember to save the file in a format the previous versions. And Plotting a plane and the scales, that process should be more intuitive, it can really become a nightmare to move from the screen to the paper.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

AutoCAD is to create

Pros

When technology is used to develop the capabilities of the human being, then it is considered part of the evolution of man. Saying "AutoCAD", independently that you do not know about the field to which it is addressed, it is already well known that it is an indispensable software for the creation of designs, used both in architects, as for most engineers, industrial designers, among others . This platform came to light (1984) and revolutionized the way of designing in all professionals, and in those that are not. To venture into this system is to give free rein to the design projects that you want to implement. Now, this is not a discovery, because it already has enough time in the market, so the only difference that can be seen in this review to differences from the others, is the term "indispensable" for all generations of "creators". As if that were not enough, and knowing the usefulness of this tool, the years have made its platform continue to develop with more useful tools within its system, to give it better functionality. Obviously, it is not the only software that is used to design and create, but without a doubt, it is the "dad" of the other versions

Cons

The only bad thing that could reduce the AutoCAD, is that being a design program so important, its evolution has generated that only some may have the opportunity to approach them, it requires a powerful and advanced computer to resist and produce the levels graphics that this software uses. Although, there are more "light" versions, one will always seek to have the best of all editions, so you will need a team to match. As if that were not enough, and knowing the usefulness of this tool, the years have made its platform continue to develop with more useful tools within its system, to give it better functionality. Obviously, it is not the only software that is used to design and create, but without a doubt, it is the "dad" of the other versions.

July 2019

Kamran from bs group

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Autocad for "part-time" civil engineer

Once I tried to draw my own home's plan but could not manage software requires a lot of time and patience.

Pros

It manages extremely large projects with exact measures and details. It gives availability to work in 3D Space. Cloud function helps to get advantage to work as a team.

Cons

It needs strong computer resources. Without qualified tutorials, it is like impossible to work on this program. Besides the price is so expensive.

Reasons for Choosing AutoCAD

Why I was considering these three versions I checked mainly the price, ease of use and functionality so that AutoCAD became my first choice.

August 2019

Hooshang from Arak University of Technology

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Autocad Map a supportive tool for GIS

I cleaned the geometric data and GIS ready operation of a city. It manually takes more than a few months to do this, while using the software, I did it in few minutes. But when I looked at other parts of the software such as topology, I found that there was no complete understanding of the concepts of topology. On the other hand, it was difficult to work with some parts such as the map book. Likewise, spatial data analysis is not appropriate. I do not recommend anyone to use this software in analyzing data. Aside from the software's good capabilities for data cleaning, there are some shortcomings. For example, overlapping lines that are not equal are not automatically detected. Or it doesn't have the means to delete or integrate multiple parallel lines which are close together.

Pros

I like the data Cleaning part very much. It has good capabilities. It also has a good potential. It also lets you import non-spatial data along with spatial data, and export it to the shape format. This part of the software is very professional and efficient. Essential in large projects in organizations.

Cons

The coordinate system transformations are very inefficient and weak. This is quite obvious compared to professional GIS software. Cartography also has its drawbacks. The environment is designed more for drawing than for analyzing information. Its spatial data analysis is poor compared to professional software. So is topology. Instead of addressing these issues, it is better to invest more in data correction. It also reinforces the possibility of working with different non-English fonts.

November 2019

Muhammad from SQLA inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

the Backbone of every Design starts here

its a corner stone and base program i use to create designs and ideas. but now i feel people are moving to more 3D programs like Revit and AutoCad 3D , Skecth up and such.

Pros

it can be used for any type of work from making plans, sections, elevations to Drawing on the PC this is the easiest way to get an idea across the other side. i peronaly use this program to do landscape designs setting up base plans and then making layout sheets.

Cons

Expensive, updates every year but dont feel it changes much for me to buy a newer version. cant share CAD files with people that dont have it easily they need to install 3rd part programs to just view files. and the tablet version isnt easy to use.

February 2018

MILADY from INSTITUTO NACIONAL DE PARQUES (INPARQUES)

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Excellence in the design edition of plans of any building.

Pros

I like it, because this program has extensive editing capabilities, which make digital drawing of building plans possible, fundamental in any study of architectural design or industrial engineering, making large structures with all their phases, giving different views of the plane, that allows to obtain the sanitary installations, electrical installations, distribution of beams in the roof, the landscaping and even the location of the distributions of the space with the furniture that occupies it. The divisions, thickness of walls, width and height will have the exact measurement as raised in the place of the building, each part will have its measure, as well as the location of objects that will be part of the project, all this in function of a better distribution of space. In the same graphic template several proposals can be made and in it can be opened tabs to carry out the specific design of the sanitary parts, electrical parts, part of the roof, part of beams, facades, among others, obviously each structure must be expressed from separate form.

Cons

The bad thing is that the program requires a good and powerful computer since they always add new features every time a new version comes out and it is heavier in each new version, I firmly believe that we have to have more resources in our computers to be able to solve adequate.

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

AutoCAD: Jack of all trades, master of none

I briefly used AutoCAD before using Revit for all of my time at university. I then switched to AutoCAD when I started my internship, as they did not have Revit. It really just takes a lot more time to do the same things. For example, I was tasked with drawing up some interior elevations, which I could do in Revit by simply making a section.

Pros

Without AutoCAD, many essential industries in today's world would crumble. It has become such a useful and essential tool in pretty much all design fields. Even when it is not the preferred tool, it works well and can be used effectively.

Cons

Too many people learned this software, and are afraid to switch to much better tools that would save time and money in the longrun. The construction and architecture industry, for example, have Autodesk Revit, which does pretty much everything AutoCAD does and more. AutoCAD is fine, but Revit is just better for this industry.

March 2019

Christos from Texniko Grafeio Tsakmalis Christos

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Autocad is a excellent software and these are my pros and cons

Overall I wouldn t change this program for all those that are on the market. They are just copies of it and all copies are lesser that this. I am using Autocad for making drawings for my customers of their homes or future home projects (I work as an architect and I civil engineer), print them, use them to take the building permission or just making some cool posters.

Pros

Autocad is what i like to say "a digital pen and paper". It has infinite cappabilities and is easy to learn. Usually if i have a question i get on youtube or autocad forums and i always find the best and easiest solution. It is the most widespread software on drawing so all know it or have it, and that helps if i want to connect with another person to just send the file and he can continue working on it or see it. It also uses on ly the ram of the pc so it works easily and does not need to buy a graphic card. You can draw on 2 or 3 dimensions, making it easy to do anything.

Cons

It is very expensive. There are a lot of software out there that copy this program and are much cheaper even if they do not have all the benefits of this program. Also the way Autodesk now charges per year is good if you buy it for one year but if you want this program for many years is even more expensive.

March 2018

Libio from MPPVH

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Excellent digitizer

Pros

It allows me to digitize plans quickly and safely, I can identify each element on the plane by creating its attributes individually. I can also associate the information with an existing database. Your final product is generally compatible with other CAD programs. For the cartographic production it is excellent, since I can easily manipulate all the symbols and regroup them on the map individually. I can create geometric figures keeping the independence between them. When I digitize maps I can differentiate each of the cartographic elements, I can digitize them with satellite images and with maps. I can use database and associate it with the elements of the map without altering the information. From the digitized data and the attributive information I can produce cartographic maps with excellent marginal information and complying with the basic norms for the creation of cartographic maps and plans at scales of anything that one wants to represent, such as pipes, houses, shopping centers, buildings, etc.

Cons

It takes a lot of memory on the computer for processing. The acquisition of the license is very expensive. It is portable to us. High performance computers are required to work comfortably. It does not allow the georeferencing of satellite images. I think the hatch feature needs some tweaking. Often times the program won't hatch, thinking my lines don't meet up when in fact they do. Sometimes the dimension lines can interfere with the hatch reading the lines correctly.

August 2019

Jennifer from Architect

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

The classic of classics

I have known AutoCAD since my first year of architecture, and 8 years later, despite all the new programs that have come out, I still use it in my day to day.

Pros

The best thing about AutoCAD is without a doubt its simplicity, it's such an intuitive program that you can perfectly learn it and perfect it in a self-taught way. Until today, a design/construction professional should or should use AutoCAD: is the classic of classics.

Cons

The famous "Fatal Error" that make you lose hours of work, is always a headache.

Reasons for Choosing AutoCAD

Autocad is the program that opens the doors to the architecture of today. No matter what programs you use, autocad is a basic that will accompany you wherever you go.

January 2018

Marsha from eGov Jamaica Ltd.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

I first used AutoCAD in early 2000 and have like the improvements sinc

I use this software for drafting and every drawing need a draft. Another feature is to import file and this file get a picture and trace out that picture and drawing. I have seen it used for things like creating blueprints for buildings, bridges and computer chips to name a few. AutoCAD is 2D and 3D computer aided drafting software application and this makes it easy sometimes I will edit with pencil after doing a print.

Pros

I use this software for drafting and every drawing need a draft. Another feature is to import file and this file get a picture and trace out that picture and drawing. I have seen it used for things like creating blueprints for buildings, bridges and computer chips to name a few. AutoCAD is 2D and 3D computer aided drafting software application and this makes it easy sometimes I will edit with pencil after doing a print.

Cons

I really dont have much bad to say about Autocad as the application has gotten better over time the only thing I would just say is the performance and compatibility with RAM and the memory you need free on your computer. Also, the updates from Autodesk are a little tedious and can slow down your performance but you then only need to downgrade your service packs and problem fixed

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Project design

AutoCAD is a program that has provided me with many calculations such as: angles, areas, distances, among others. It has helped me to put many proposals for the moment. And more tools needed in my work environment.

Pros

AutoCAD is a software of world reference in the design of projects for the area of civil and other engineering, allows the development of transport, urban and environmental projects in a simple and efficient way. With AutoCAD you can cover the necessary aspects for the works framed within projects of Civil Engineering and Topography. With this software I have been able to make proposals with any of the requirements required in my work. It brings many functions that facilitate the collection of data such as: area, volume, distance, among others.

Cons

I believe that this software has only one disadvantage for those who draw attention to the fact that when drawing you must be doing actions in a repetitive way. It will be action that you have to be willing to perform several times to complete the drawings. Now, another disadvantage is that the user does not know all the tools and does not reach to develop the whole program.

September 2017

Gerardo from Nelson Adams Naco

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Great software with a huge capacity for drafting.

Pros

AutoCad can be used easily to draft in many types of industry. As an architect this is my standard Cad software, I use AutoCad daily to make architectural projects, construction plans, reviews, make presentations, export drawings to other programs, etc. With its useful tools and commands as, layer, types of lines, styles, printing scales is quicker and easy to draft all my ideas and then fill them with all the information that the project require. I can handle all this information very organized and make corrections easily when I needed. AutoCad also offers preciseness which can be always used in the calculations of the project.

Cons

I use AutoCad for my Architecture projects, which is a field that requires a lot of graphic vision. Maybe AutoCad could advance in the field of aesthetic options, more hatch and patterns for example. Also, the hatch often gives me errors and it's a bit difficult to apply or tend to lag at times. It's not very good when it comes to just making 3D Rendering, I have to definitely use another program to do it. Another disadvantage is that AutoCad is being relegated by BIM programs specially Revit in which you can handle more information in the model and easily make modifications on the file.

March 2019

Francis Carolina from elbrunchshow.wordpress.com

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Robust tool for architectural drawing

During my experience in urban cadastre, I used this tool, to digitize the plot surveys, in an agile and very efficient way. These surveys have millimeter spatial measurements, which must be maintained when drawing the object that is a geometric solid, that is, it must be closed completely. Sometimes these measurements have been taken in the wrong way in the field and only at the moment of digitizing this drawing is the error checked.

Pros

It is a powerful software that has been strengthened over time. It is so dynamic and versatile that it is used by a wide range of professionals, from animators to surveyors and geographers like me. What I like most is its precision in terms of drawing objects with measurements, with very specific area and volume, it stands out over other tools with similar functions. It is the most precise tool I have known so far to make parcel drawings and urban plans efficiently. Very important for the digitization of topographic surveys, very necessary for the management of the cadastre.

Cons

It is not an easy-to-use software. You must spend a lot of time studying with tutorials or paid courses to learn how to use it and even then there is no guarantee that you will handle all the functions of Autocad, it depends on the professional area where you are going to be employed.

March 2018

JOSE from INCOSTAS

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

It is a software that we use for the design of our products, with which we draw our solutions.

It has allowed us to deliver high quality products to our customers in a short time. He has made our professions, very competitive people and has energized our work.

Pros

I like the almost unlimited options you have to draw. I like the numerous menus of options that it has, as well as its automatic adaptation for each case. The use of a command line to manage the software makes it easier to use and therefore its use. Easily integrates with resources and files from other applications. Its integration with other programs of the autodesk suite, makes its use in the design of engineering projects almost indispensable. Its precision is remarkable. The integration for the use of this software for the handling of the plotters and equipment of exit helps notably in the operation of production.

Cons

I do not like that it has limitations to handle more than 600 thousand points. When we have needed to manage several .dwg files of different versions, the software can be fragile, it hangs up or it just comes out. The availability of help on errors is not so good. The network licensing system, for the moment of its activation must be easier to activate in the work stations. The management of vectorized images is not as powerful as it can fail faster if this number of images are larger when they are in the same plane and that is a problem. External references can be more versatile and easier to handle and even for different network locations and protocols.

December 2018

Sue from Marisoo Art

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Construction and design

I used AutoCAD spacial design, fitting test equipment into set facilities space. I also used it to design electrical test boxes for automotive plants. This program allowed me to keep very specific design details on record and for others to recreate these test boxes. I used it to design test fixtures by creating print for the machine shop to manufacture all our test equipment fixtures to environmental, mechanical and statistical testing.

Pros

Ease of use is what drew me to auto cad in the first place. I had limited training and I was able to sit down and play with it and the menu's and teach myself to design and verify fit and function. I used it for everything from selection and placement of office furniture to machine placement optimization. I designed test fixtures and prints for electrical boxes. There really was no end to Auto CAD uses.

Cons

3d aspects were hard to understand for me although I'm sure with the proper training this wouldn't have been the case. Most CAD users have college courses under their belts. Sometimes my design would get off axis and I'd have a very difficult time understanding what happened and how to set it back on the correct plane. Use of layers was challenging but once understood it's really helpful in breaking down your designs.

October 2019

JOSE from VENTURI ENGINEERS LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

The Industry Standard

Good for the most part. Software can be buggy and therefore we like to be 6-months to 1-year behind the most current version.

Pros

It is the main tool that we use for our industry (Civil Engineering) and it is essential. Helps us be efficient with drawing setup/creation as well as calculations.

Cons

Pressure Networks are still a work in progress. I wish it was as easy to use as Pipe Networks. Also, every couple of years the way files are saved changes, forcing people to have the most current version.

Reasons for Choosing AutoCAD

Familiar with the product and it is the industry standard.

March 2019

Chamath from AdSpark.IO

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

AutoCAD Architecture is very precise hence gives you accurate results

As stated above its very easy to use. You just need to know a few basics about AutoCAD Architecture and your good to go. Its also has a user-friendly interface which allows you to design and analyze your projects by use of simple commands. Compared to manual drawing AutoCAD Architecture is very fast in that you can input multiple commands.

Pros

Pros: I used AutoCAD Architecture to build some architectural designs for a client. Below are some of the functionality and features I liked about AutoCAD Architecture. It easy to use. AutoCAD Architecture has a user-friendly interface and an analytic tool which helps you to easily design and analyze the strength of your building while you designing your project. This means you can clearly see the icons of the commands you want to execute. Unlike other softwares were you cant edit your blueprints, AutoCAD Architecture has special tools which allow you to easily edit your designs using simple commands. Speed. Due to its user-friendly interface which allows you to execute various commands very fast, AutoCAD Architecture saves you a lot of time. This because it allows you to design, analyses and edit your designs by use of simple commands. It accuracy levels are very high. AutoCAD Architecture allow you to be very precise and accurate. This means there is very little room for errors, hence you drawing will be accurate.

Cons

Cons: Like any other software AutoCAD Architecture has its disadvantages; The weights of the lines do not work when the diagram is sent to a person with different software. Sometimes AutoCAD Architecture was closing when I added some features in your drawing. Sometimes the update comes with a new interface which may take time to cope with.

April 2018

Paul from CRSNI Ltd.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Getting a bit old and clunky, but still my best drawing board

It just keeps you in the loop, allows you to view drawings from a wide range of industries from construction to architecture to engineering, all freely able to collaborate on the same platform.

Pros

I like the fact that this software is used by so many different users and businesses across industry. Most of the time, if an associate cannot have access to the more expensive 3D platforms, they will more than likely have access to ACAD. Another great point is that it is always backwards compatible, so no matter what version the other parties are working in, I can still save my drawings in an older version format for them.

Cons

The software has been evolving over the last 20 years as I have been using it. Some changes have been good, others have been an attempt to keep up with other popular 3D packages. This has led to some very complicated tasks but most importantly, the software seems to get clunky and use up a lot of processing power and memory when installed. A small price to pay to have the daddy of them all available to you.

August 2019

Ahmed from Technology

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Auto-CAD is a professional software for engineering designs for various buildings

It helped me to accomplish the required engineering drawings quickly and accurately, which impressed my teacher, I always use it in my drawings but sometimes the program automatically stops before I save the work

Pros

Easy to use and easy to modify. Resolution - For example, head-to-head lines cannot be manually linked to the desired resolution. Easy repetition and addition. Producing 2D and 3D graphics with ease, the software allows us to zoom in, making it easier to see the finer details on a larger scale. Models can be modeled, placed and saved in a private library. It has a property that allows modification of several formats by one command, meaning that if one part is released all other related parts are automatically released. The Layers option allows us to hide or show some specific details of a complex and complex object to become clearer and easier to understand. BOM or BOQ can be produced accurately. Bullion features allow for several adjustments in the 3D drawing.

Cons

The program is a computer-aided drawing program, so there is a problem for architects, there are no special tools to help design. Registration is expensive and requires recurring annual fees. Continuous updating of hardware and software is required. Data storage is a very sensitive process and data can be lost in the event of a malfunction. To overcome this potential catastrophe, experts suggest a data mirroring process in which data is stored on hard drives in multiple locations and involves significant capital allocation.

June 2018

Julio Csar from Universidad Regional Autnoma de los Andes - CTT de los Andes

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

An essential digital tool for every Architecture professional or student.

I truly think that no other program in the market nowadays offers what autocad does, its tridimensional design options can really make up for its high cost and somehow complicated usage options, Nevertheless, every time I have the options of creating accurate detailed objects, well delineated, with desired backgrounds and colors, I feel that I really hav the appropriate tool.

Pros

Autocad is a more than capable designing tool, it features hundreds of different options that guarantee an outstanding overcome in any architectural or general object or space design project you might face. As a non-professional designer, I have found it very convenient to use this powerful software. It might be a little complicated to get the handle of ir at first, eventually becomes a necessary tool for completing complex 3d-2d drawings, Moreover, thanks to its sleek presentation (especially if you count on a powerful pc, which is my case), three dimension projects can be seen with superb level of detail, facilitating the display of each one of the elements that althogueter make up the construction in general, as well as the planning and execution phases of the projects as well. AutoCAD has proven to b immensely relevant for me because it allows to be more efficient, time and money wise, since I do not really need to hire other professionals for the completion of my projects. Another cool feature of this software is how well presented it is, offering a wide set of options to work in the preview, I can work on the frame, the legend, the graphic scale, just to name a few, I can even insert several images, according to my needs.

Cons

Considering its nature, this software might be a little complicated to use for newcomers or amateurs in the field of architecture. Plus, its price might be a little high for some people as well. However, these are not serious issues.

June 2018

Mariana from Corporacin Venezolana de Mineria, S.A ; CVM

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

The Autocad 3D Software, is an excellent program ideal to create, design, correct plans and drawings

Contains associative arrays, point cloud tools, active geographic and cartographic location, enhanced interface, ribbon gallery, help window, intelligent dimensioning, coordination model, image-based lighting environments, import of pdf files, share design views, Autodesk writing application, lines and brands of smart centers, Autocad 360 Pro mobile application. And most importantly, you will use an excellent easy work tool, practice to create, read, and modify designs in your workplace and it will be very useful.

Pros

It has several advantages among these are the following: In my own experience when I met this program being a university, I found it was time-saving, since once you learn how to use it, you can make plans more easily and quickly. It has many functions for different areas of engineering, such as mechanical, civil or electrical, electronic, metallurgical, which makes it very broad software, apart from being very dynamic, it is only with a tutorial that you start using it. It is not necessary to take a course or diploma, It uses command and codes and buttons and is very friendly at the beginning. The design software replaces the drawings by hand with automated processes.

Cons

One of the biggest disadvantages is: You must have a computer with high memory capacity, because if you have many drawings or designs, this program will be slow at the time of operation. The program has a high cost, due to its license. Knowing how to use the software fully requires a lot of time since there are many functions, and even that they are of little application, since they are very specific. AutoCAD can not edit the line and location as freely as the edition programs-- illustration and overlapping lines and line thicknesses are limited to a few options.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

This software has been the best choice since I've tried it for the first time

It saves me a lot of time It allows me to work from my house

Pros

-You can use it on many work fields due to its versatility. -You can work with archives of another softwares by only importing them, and you can export on another formats too. -Its reccommend to those who are students of engineering and other careers similar. -It easy to handle with lines, geometric figures, arcs. -It allows to change the thickness, lengthen or cut the lines or edges of the figures -It fill figures with solid colors or textures. -It allows me to make the plans on a scale and print it with another scale greater or less than the one designed. -In addition, you can work multiple windows, copy images from one window to another, copy images from different files, you can export documents, tables and images from other software. -You can save the data as a pdf file -It complete all the basic requirement to work in 2d.

Cons

-Its interface is a little bit confusing sometimes -Autocad work on Windows and MAC. -You must have a small notion of how the program work, if not, you couldn't start even to make a line. -You could know the basic with a tutorial when you install the program, but you will be more successful if you are take classes -You have to know something about design to use this software, this a specialize software, the set of feature are huge but if you do not know anything about design you wont know how to use this software. -It is not suited for 3D beacause it requires high-quality computer hardware that can be costly and the people need to be trained how to use the software that also can be expensive.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

LOADED with features but hard to learn without training

So so helpful in laying out plans for anything from a house reno to a skyscraper. I even use this on my own at-home DIY reno projects so I can be modifying plans, visualizing tricky construction details and connections, etc.

Pros

Tons and tons of features. Even after using it every day for a couple years, it's still common to stumble across new features or faster ways of doing things. So so versatile with so many different ways to do a given task.

Cons

With so many features, it is pretty daunting to learn to use, and almost impossible to learn new things about it without doing searches on the web, taking classes, etc. It would be great it if they had a better help/tutorial suite, but this has been slowly improving over many years. Still a ways to go though in my opinion. Oh, and it's crazy expensive. WAY too expensive. Seems obvious they are gouging individual consumers by pricing their software at a point where they know corporations who depend on this will purchase it regardless of price.

December 2019

Peter from V3Power

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

AutoCAD Architecture Review

Overall experience is positive and allows us to be competitive in the marketplace

Pros

The software is highly compatible with many other products. There are unending resources available and supported by most if not all industries in one form or another which makes our job easier.

Cons

Can be cumbersome at times and has glitches that require work arounds. There are times where the program freezes up and requires reboot.

Reasons for Choosing AutoCAD

Most compatible with legacy programs and software at the time

November 2018

Murtaza from comsats university

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

As a user

i'm using the AutoCAD since my first semester of engineering till now its been 3 years to complete, overall i had a good experience with this software.Still i'm using this software in my Final year project for modeling. PS: Overall it's a very helpful software.

Pros

=> The main feature of this tool is that , it made possible to draw the structure in 2-dimension and 3-dimension. => It is used in many branches , i-e Architecture , Civil engineering, Electrical engineering , electromechanics etc. => This tool gives the opportunity to the artist to covert their work to other files such as PDF and can share them easily whomever he want.

Cons

=> The main thing which i dislike the most is its high cost due to its license. => Another major problem is , it requires more powerful computer to work with processing speed & and a large space on the hard drive. => Its not easy to understand easily,one have to pay quite expensive fees for this post to learn how to use it completely.

November 2018

Jorge from Cisco

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

The Standard for Computer Aided Drafting.

Ive been using AutoCAD for years, across all new releases the Core functionally still the same (which is great), with major improvements across time. Its been a daily tool for my Engineering Projects, and i recommend it 100%.

Pros

Autocad is suited for a wide range of industry professionals, providing top notch tools for technical blueprints and engineering and architecture projects. As an Engineer, Autocad has been an asset for many years and has become a daily driver on my computer tasks of electrical and network design. Is just feels like home when you open a new project and you start drafting your ideas to something somewhat tangible with all the 3D tools it has to preview your projects.

Cons

The AutoCAD learning curve is somewhat long, and kind of rough. Is not as intuitive as other CAD or Design applications, you really need to read and learn how to use technically. But as soon youre familiar with the tool, you discover a very fast workflow.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 1,836 reviews