Jonas Enterprise Software

4.05 / 5 (118)

Our advisors have recommended this product 35 times in the last 30 days

About Jonas Enterprise


Jonas Enterprise is an intuitive, integrated solution for contractors that has been present in construction and service management for over 25 years. The application offers service, accounting, and operations project management capabilities for businesses of all sizes.

The software manages the business activities of firms in a variety of construction trades such as handling the mechanical/HVAC, electrical and plumbing trades. The software also contains extensive functionality to handle the general contracting trade.

Jonas Enterprise offers an executive dashboard that enables managers, owners or other senior executives to quickly view customer's performance, supplier obligations, department profitability, and more. Organizations can also use payroll direct deposit feature to ensure all the employees are paid on time. Users create a file through Jonas Enterprise Construction Software and upload it to their preferred bank. The bank then automatically transfers the money to the specified employee's bank account.

Some of the applications include project management, service management, and customer management, which are all fully integrated with accounting for a comprehensive solution. On the service end, it has full dispatching and web-enabled mobile capability as well as a customer-facing portal. It has full project management, which includes a web-enabled document management complete with workflow and approvals. The Data Mart feature allows for comprehensive SQL reporting with access to all data codes within Jonas Enterprise. In total, the software contains more than 50 integrated modules.



Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Windows 8

118 Reviews of Jonas Enterprise

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.05 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(45)

4 stars

(47)

3 stars

(10)

2 stars

(6)

1 stars

(10)

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 118 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

February 2017

Jackie from Red River Electric, Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

February 2017

Commercial/Residential Electrica Contractor. Jonas was the right fit for us.

We have been live with Jonas for a little over a year. As with ANY software, it isn't perfect and will not suit every need. It is impossible for a software to please everyone as we all run our businesses differently. We shopped several software options, and for our medium size company with a service department, Jonas fit us best. I agree, the reports are very simplistic in format and do take some getting used to. I had to look beyond pretty pictures and format as what is really important to us is the data. The Pro and Con to Jonas is it is HIGHLY customizable. With that, there needs to be a very thoughtful process to how you set it up in the beginning. Which is a challenge since you won't know how some things work until you are using it. It is a very robust software for the price, in my opinion, and will take patience and time to learn all it can do. I found that the very basics such as entering A/P, work orders, creating jobs are very easy to learn. The complexity comes when you want/expect to rely less on outside software and spreadsheets. Our company borders two states, one with a multi-jurisdiction sales tax schedule. Every payroll or sales tax requirement Jonas has been able to handle. Jonas is able to handle multi-state, multi union payrolls. Something we found not very many programs could throw in a service department and it became very small unless I wanted to buy a program that equated us to driving a bus down the road for 3 people while spending 6 figures. No thank you.

Pros

My favorite is the Project Control screen. From there, our project managers can drill down and get all the information they need in one quick and easy place. Each person can customize some of the drill down screens to tailor to their individual needs. AIA/progress billing is easy with the step by step menu. It is also easy to go back and adjust if needed. The ability to set controls across the various modules. Your voice is heard. I have always been able to talk thru a challenge with support and management. They listen and if the demand is there they will put it in the next product update.

Cons

The stock payroll reports haven't fit very well for us. But Jonas is working on that. Cluttered menu items that hang in there because their long-time customers still use them. It is confusing when you are first learning.

August 2018

Katelynn from Bockmon & Woody Electric Co., Inc.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

August 2018

I am Happy Long-term Client that has been using Jonas since 2001

Great trainers who are very knowledgeable and professional. They work with us to troubleshoot any issues we are having with prompt response time!

Pros

We found Jonas easy to learn because they have THE BEST trainers and customer support. We have gotten to know that staff over the years and they are awesome! Doesn’t matter if we have big or small questions - they are always willing to help us. We use the system for A/R, A/P, G/L, Payroll, Project Management, Service Management, Inventory, and Equipment. The reporting is the best part because we are able to fully drill down and see how all projects are doing at any point in time. We’ve also been able to grow our service management side because of their Dispatch Board and the mobile solution. We love it!!! And last but not least, the payroll makes my life so much easier, having both union and non-union – this makes it a breeze. As a Union Electrical Contractor working in over ten different locals in California, this is imperative to have this functionality. Jonas Software has changed the way the company operates, saving time, making things more organized, and more proficient. Jonas is always listening to clients and they truly care and live up to their promise of being a partner rather than just a provider. We are able to have full insight into our business and we’ve been able to grow because of the software!

Cons

At this time I can not think of any cons.

February 2017

R. Scott from Chiller Systems Service, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

February 2017

Jonas Review

Jonas is our third ERP software program we have used in 20 years in business. Learned a lot about selection process' by knowing my experiences with the first two. I also learned none of them do everything, all of them will hiccup from time to time. So my selection of Jonas centered around: 1. Is their customer service responsive (yes), 2. Do they constantly try to improve the product based on customer input (yes), 3. Is the product fairly priced (yes). and is the annual fee structure reasonable (yes). We also needed a strong field mobile platform as we have used wireless field mobile solutions for many years. Jonas has worked very well for us, we continue to get training on new modules and features we can use to make our company process/ better.

Pros

Constantly looking for ways to improve a product and they do not wait until year end to release updates if they are ready they release them. Customer service is very responsive if you need immediate help. Training is very high quality, conversion from our old to the new system was without trouble and well planned.

Cons

Dispatch board does not schedule projects or long term service work well (works very well for day to day calls) but they developed a project scheduler that looks promising for that.

May 2018

Sandra from Crossroads Refrigeration Limited

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

May 2018

Our Jonas experience has been an excellent move for our business.

We have experienced increased productivity on the administrative side of our business and higher accuracy in all areas.

Pros

eMobile and Dispatch Scheduler have helped us to respond to customer service requests in a more organized and timely manner. The integration part of this software has increased our productivity enormously. No more paper work orders! And has made the accounting side of our business seamless from service tech to customer invoice. Payroll accuracy has increased and timeliness of getting invoices out to customers has increased because of the techs ability to use devices to complete work orders and we are not waiting for them to be turned into the office.

Cons

I find the Job Costing module very cumbersome. The job invoicing is a little arduous. When doing multiple customers for monthly draws, it is very time consuming to have to go in and out of each job to invoice. Also, if you do not have a bill to set up in accounts receivable you have to exit the job master, then go to AR to set up the bill to and back into the job master to finish your set up.

August 2011

Dave from Standard Plumbing and Heating Co.


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

August 2011

We have used Jonas for over 1 1/2 years. However, we have recently changed to another software company. The reason we went to Jonas was because our previous system was DOS based and did not have a strong service package. We have a fast growing service department which has increased from approximately 15 techs to over 30 techs in the last 5 years. After reviewing multiple companies we felt Jonas was the best selection for service. However, there was a problem with Jonas on the contracting side. We could not "trust" our numbers. The program would give us different amounts for the same project. It really had problems in retention amounts that differed from 10% retention. I think that some of the problem was our input. It was not easy and for whatever reason we decided (for Jonas) that we should have decentralized inputting of information. Therefore we had project managers inputting information. In the past that was always a function of support staff. Another negative is that they are a Canadian company and the way they perform some of their business practices are different than what we perform. The function and terminology is different. The people are extremely helpful, however. The positives about Jonas is that our service liked the service options available. If you have a service company that does not have a large contracting base I think they would be OK. There is a lot of information in Jonas that can be used to analyze your company. There are also some very good items like the hand held devices and customer information feed back loops, customer scheduling and a very good dispatch board.

Response from Kevin of Jonas Software

Replied September 2011

Thank you for the review. We appreciate the acknowledgment of the decision to decentralize the inputting of data. We found that we did have some minor issues but it was the incorrect inputting of data that created the imbalance. We have reviewed this and according to other clients using the same modules, the Jonas job cost retention functionality balances and is sound, the data is trustworthy. Additionally, in regards to Jonas Software being a Canadian Company, we are actually worldwide and a majority of our clients are located in the US. Although our head office is located in Toronto, we are experienced in successfully dealing with our U.S. clients for over 20 years.

February 2017

Dustin from ATR Contractors

Company Size: 51-200 employees


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

February 2017

Very Satisfied User

Our company switched software products to Jonas just over 1 year ago. We had outgrown our old system. We've been extremely pleased with both the Jonas software and the Jonas staff we've interacted with. Our company has just over 100 employees in four office locations. This system can handle our multiple divisions without being too complicated or cumbersome to use.

Pros

The primary issue with our last software was an inability to get good reporting and data from the system, especially for our multi-divisional operation. The report writer in Jonas is a very useful tool, and the financial drill-down capabilities are excellent. We also now have real-time job cost data, and more detailed P&Ls, which has helped our ability to manage construction work.

Cons

No software product is perfect. We've had to adapt a few of our internal processes to fit the way Jonas is made to operate, but nothing has come up that we haven't been able to work around. The Jonas trainers are also an excellent resource we've utilized to make the system work as best it can for us.

January 2019

Anita from Doran Stewart Oilfield Services

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

2 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

January 2019

Seems to be lots of issues that are unexplainable by service department.

I hate getting the answer of we will fix it but can't explain why it happened. I am the type of person that likes to know why something is happening. Payroll fixes are one of those issues. When I remove something it should be removed not partly removed and then have to have a Jonas tech take the information out completely and start over. Also when I call in it seems that the people that call back are new and have no idea what they are doing and I have to waste time looking for the payroll individual when time is a factor.

Pros

Easy to get around for the most part. Search function works good but needs more detail. Easy to start a case.

Cons

Fixes seem harder than they should be and when I call in for help on a time sensitive matter the person helping doesn't seem to know what I am talking about.

March 2015

Bruce from Continental Flooring Company


Ease-of-use

3.5 of 5

Customer support

3.5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

March 2015

Flooring contractor / reseller - after 6 years of Jonas experience

Pros

The software handles WIP reporting very well. The subcontractor module provides good controls. The design of sales tax location codes provides good flexibility in sales tax reporting. The product has well-integrated applications. The F2 lookup ability in modules is consistently designed and very helpful.

Cons

1) I would like more standard reporting capabilities. Some reports need Report Generator reports to create. Others require DataMart. DataMart can obtain good results, but it is too complex for anyone but a programmer to design. Almost all contractors have to deal with reporting workers comp and sales taxes, so these reports should be part of a standard product and not need custom programming.
2) During conversion in 2008, it was difficult to fully convert existing data into Jonas and also tie everything to jobs.
3) Portions of the programming have fields with too few characters available. Examples are the Customer PO field in Job Cost and A/R, along with the part number field in inventory.

April 2018

Jeremy from Prairie Controls Ltd.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

April 2018

Small construction/service company.

Pros

Lots of features and fairly easy to use.
Customer support, when we've needed it, has be good and typically provided in a timely manner.

Cons

Old interface. 15 character limit on inventory items (and having to use alternate part numbers) needs to be fixed. Even the alternate part numbers are too small for many of our parts.
Purchase order numbers, and cheque numbers are too short.
New modules seem like add-ons to the base program, rather than a complete integrated solution.
Inability to access some fields for custom reports. Some built in reports are poorly implemented.

April 2018

Lesa from C. E. Williams Sons, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

April 2018

11 Years of Loyality!!

When we first came on board with Jonas in 2007 we had some issues being an excavation contractor in Pennsylvania with the state Prevailing wages, taxes, etc. but Jonas worked through those issues with us and now I highly recommend them!! I have been on many different software packages and Jonas is my favorite!!

Pros

Have always loved the support and ease of logging a support call. Staff is very knowledgeable!! Updates are easy to load. Jonas listens to clients needs for any changes that benefit the client.

Cons

I have nothing bad to say about Jonas. I have never had any thing to complain about with them. Everything is great!

April 2017

Cindy from Allerion Oilfield Services

Company Size: 11-50 employees


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

April 2017

After some training it is a very indepth easy to use program

The customer support are amazing and really know their product!!!

Pros

The customer support whenever you have an issue, question or concern is outstanding, when you log a case they get back to you very quickly.

Cons

The system can be a little overwhelming if you do not have some training, but once you have been working with it for awhile (if you have worked with other accounting software) it is very user friendly at least for the general areas of each module. If you search in the tutorials Jonas is quite good at supplies assistance for most of the modules.
Therefore I can not really find a con.

May 2017

Jason from Schaffer Mechanical

Company Size: 51-200 employees


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

May 2017

Jonas Software

Pros

The software gives us all the tools we need to run efficiently with modules for Financial Reports, Payroll, Inventory, Project Management, Subcontracting, and more.
There is plenty of training available both online, by phone, and in person so all questions are answered in a very reasonable time. Comparable products are considerably more expensive and do the same things Jonas does for a far more reasonable price. the value cannot be overstated.
Most importantly, Jonas is one of those companies that truly takes an interest in their clientele and it shows.

Cons

The transition process is intensive so time and dedication is required initially, but once it is done things flow very smoothly.

May 2018

Amber from Total System Services, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

May 2018

An accounting-focused software that focuses on the minutia instead of general ease of use.

Pros

Jonas creates an almost sterile accounting environment where every move is tracked and audited, increasing visibility of individual tasks. Processes are broken down into very small steps which can be helpful if you're looking for an audit trail. The mobile portion (emobile) of Jonas Enterprise is a valuable addition for field workers and dispatchers alike.

Cons

Visually the interface leaves much to be desired. Scale and size are unchangeable and there are many screens and modules that are so miniscule as to render them unreadable. Mobile-wise the visuals get better but are not quite user friendly for service individuals in the middle of a job.
Jonas creates such a lengthy process for every single task that it can seem like you are taking 7 steps that could have been accomplished in one. While the audit function of Jonas is a highlight for the developers, as an ordinary user I can say it is something I never use but is incorporated into everything I do whether I like it or not. Boasted as a "true accounting software" I can't help but imagine it was an accountant's evil fantasy to produce such a laborious process to accomplish small daily tasks.
When Jonas is forced to go big, it fails spectacularly. Financial reporting is and general overview is so fuzzy and diluted it's almost useless. Because Jonas creates so much data on the micro scale, large reports and financial analysis provides very little useful information. Drill down does not exist in the true sense of the word.

December 2018

Nick from ASI Tech

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

December 2018

We have been using Jonas Enterprise just over 6 years. Not happy with the product. Unfortunately we spent over our budget at the time and have added all the modules they offer over the years. Lots of promises that the software will be improved and the dat

low budget product

Pros

Unfortunately we spent to much money on this product. I honestly can't think of any pros. we went with this product initially because it was a Canadian company and they would have a better handle on the accounting piece. our accountants think the software isa joke.

Cons

- Currently the it runs on a data base that no one uses, out dated. the company does a great job marketing the product but once you start using it, you will come to discover its not that good. Some examples:
Job names, contract numbers, part numbers etc , only allow a limited number of characters. some times client PO's or contract numbers are 15-20 characters or more and the field doesn't allow for more than 12.
- Many more to list, will probably run out of room.
- Support is not good.
- document control does not sync well, cannot drag and drop items from document management or emails back and forth
- EBI always go down.
- design your own forms has many limitations not customizable
- project scheduler is not customizable
- dispatch scheduler does not sync smoothly with the software
- e-mobile is a joke, not customizable
- no automatic update functionality for the software. has to been done manually. have to end all service to update and restart server.
- maintenance fees are very expensive, not worth it


August 2015

Judy from Miller Information Systems


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4.5 of 5

August 2015

12-year Jonas user

Pros

The bookmark feature where you can have multiple screens open simultaneously is so convenient. Jonas is willing to accept input on new ideas and feedback on current features to keep the product moving forward. Our network administrator thought the Jonas user conferences worthwhile and learned a lot at the seminars and networking sessions with other users.

Cons

MIS processes an extremely high volume of service calls every month. It has been a learning curve using the new Jonas dispatch/scheduler which is vastly different from the previous dispatch board. Customer service reps have been working with us since the upgrade in March. Plus we are working towards implementing Jonas eMobile in September which should go a long way towards streamling our cumbersome data entry processes.

November 2018

Virg from Haller Mechanical Contractors Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

November 2018

Jonas is awesome, a MUST software if you are in construction.

Pros

The one entry accounting system is the best feature, everything flows from one module to the other, payroll to cost reports, A/P, A/R etc.
You basically get excellent reports that you can customize to your companies needs directly from your standard accounting functions.

Cons

One of the few cons would be the mobility between modules and some of the limited selection features when printing, etc.

September 2015

Pamela from Viana Roofing & Sheet Metals


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

September 2015

A Simple, Highly Customizable, Multi Function Software

Pros

I have used Jonas to process Accounts Receivable,Accounts Payable, Payroll, Inventory, and Job Cost since 2010. The modules are easy to use and financial reports can be customized for better decision making especially in Job Cost.

The Inventory Module helps to track levels to re-order and specific materials used per job.

Overall, I think this is a great software for the Construction Industry because Labour Costs, Materials, and Overheads can be easily retrieved in detail.

Cons

In the future, I would like to be able to retrieve scanned vendor & customer documents(WSIB & Certificate of Insurance) through the Vendor & Customer Modules(Contractors & Subs). This will be better for tracking purpose.

January 2019

Nathaniel from Mason Mechanical

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

2 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

January 2019

Jonas Software - Old Technology, slow and limited

The usability of this software is its downfall. It is not compatible with other third party software. It is very time consuming to learn and operate. The system is extremely slow and cannot easily generate the simple reports that are available with almost every other accounting software I've used to date.

Pros

The software includes a service dispatching software & accounting platform. There is a digital document management software included (Digio) which is a good concept, but the functionality is not up to par with competing software on the market. There is also an e-mobile platform available for this software. The interface is not difficult to use, but it can be very temperamental.

Cons

The software is extremely slow and the reporting capabilities are a joke. Running a simple stock report will take hours to compile and slow the system down for every user. The stock reports are barely useful. I've heard from other users that if you have a full time SQL expert on staff to create custom reporting directly from the database instead of through Jonas, it is much easier to get the information you need. The software is also incredibly expensive and the support leaves much to be desired.

January 2019

Andrew from Royal Fence Limited

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

Jonas Construction Software - Ease of Use and Payroll Simplification

Pros

Jonas Software has made our jobs in Accounting much easier than our past system. Our payroll is very complicated with many different unions and specific parts of payroll burdens going to different union locales - and Jonas has made this very easy to set up. We are constantly finding new and easier ways to simplify daily entries.

Cons

There aren't too many cons - but the major one that has stood out to us is that there are so few characters available to enter AP invoice numbers.

September 2017

Elizabeth from Alpha & Omega Endeavors Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

September 2017

Great software and fantastic people!

Many thanks to Jonas Management Team and Jonas Support Staff for fantastic adventure at work during past 5 years of using Jonas Software!

Pros

Logical, intuitive software to work with and timely, accurate reports
Actually able to be creative with Design your own report module.

Cons

I find that Help Docs search is not giving the desired outcome. I like better Video Tutorial Section.