User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(19)

19

4 stars

(21)

21

3 stars

(16)

16

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(3)

3

  • Pros

  • "I know that the spreadsheet adds up correctly. This is key when it comes to bidding work. We have built our own databases, and use them quite a bit for concrete, masonry, and drywall."

  • "It's easy to use and works well with Digitizer."

  • "This product automatically saves after every key stroke, and the built-in formula's never make a mistake. "

  • Cons

  • "can be more user friendly in terms of settings and options available to the user. can hava better layout system. "

  • "The initial setup can be complicated. The databases available at the time of purchase were not of much help for my specific use "

  • "It's not intuitive. I wish it was all in one instead of three different pieces to do job cost, estimating, and purchase orders."

Browse Sage Estimating (formerly Sage Timberline Estimating) Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 59 results

May 2017

Richard from KC2 SERVICES

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Pursuit of Excellence

I invested into my estimating toolbox and acquired my Estimating License in 1996. I have been a Sage Estimating Customer ever since. Being a single user puts into perspective the support service experience as I always felt that my business was the only business that mattered.

Pros

Having worked with much of the competitions to Sage Estimating software while working for General Contractors it has been easy to compare features and functionality. With a solid Audit Trail it is easy to review a projects work flow. Estimate reports are virtually unlimited in terms of formatting capabilities. Attaching takeoff graphics as well enhances the deliverable documents combining the Work Breakdown Structure it is very easy to communicate the scope of work to the client especially when they are not construction conversant. Support services are top of class as the platform the software is operated on has improved support services are required less and less.

Cons

There really is nothing negative that I can consider.

December 2011

Robin from Ledgerwood Associates

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2011

Why choose Timberline estimating over Excel or the Big Chief notepad? 1. Integration, Integration, Integration a. Dynamic link to Onscreen takeoff tools (I can be in the estimate quantity field and jump to the plans, measure the quantity while color coding it using the mouse, and it inserts the quantity in the estimate). b. Quotation/Procurement - one of the most important add-ons. Allows the user to create quote sheets from takeoff items, email them to vendors, negotiate prices, then choose to use that quote in the estimate budget or push it through to a purchase order or subcontract. Remarkably powerful integration tool, plus you develop a bid history library. c. CAD - beyond onscreen takeoff (which is only an image of the drawing where you still measure quantities). CAD integration uses CAD item libraries to electronically feed CAD driven quantities from the drawings (but you still have to "estimate" the work to be performed). CAD primarily provides the material components and quantities. d. Scheduling Integration - the ability to generate a text file recap of the estimate sorted by a schedule activity, or export the recap to a Microsoft Project Schedule native file format, or to create a Primavera native file format. NOTE - it is not a scheduling program; it is a utility to convert the estimate to specific data file format used by specific scheduling software products. 2. Reduction in errors. a. Database formulas work every time and warn you when something is missing. Excel can break formula links, fields, worksheet links, and references and become too complex to manage and generate a wrong calculation with no warning. b. Database estimates can be sorted in almost unlimited ways using "WBS codes" (work breakdown structures). This is a fancy name for tagging an item with a sortable field such as material class, building number, floor number, alternate, and then sorting the estimate by those tags in a multiple level sequence - on the fly. Very important with so many cuts and adds taking place in today's estimating processes. It also quickly generates field-oriented docs (bill of materials; by floor, by area, etc.), Budgets - sort by job cost summary instantly, etc. c. Cuts and Adds are a given in today's fast paced estimate environment, recalling a scope section and revising it repeatedly is a reality. This is the most common cause of estimating errors when bidding. Having an audit trail of changes and to quickly make a revision to all components by answering simple questions is very powerful (see smart assemblies and Modeling as well). d. Parametric estimates - increase the production of an estimator without increased rework or errors. Answer a set of parametric scope questions and the assembly generates all detail components for the estimator. Eliminates errors, reduces rework, ends the "takeoff for a bid - then takeoff again to build it" issue. 3. Database standards a. A standard item library for everyone in the company to use creating ease of assimilating new estimators, improving cross training of roles, having common logic that can be reviewed easily to see how the result was generated. How many times has an excel estimate template morphed into multiple complicated versions within a company? Not with a database central price book and takeoff system. b. Flexibility - allows the estimating "artist" to be flexible with their style of results. The assemblies will allow scope questions to be used differently by each estimator (one wants unit price, another wants man-hours, another wants total Square Footage). They can get all of that with a single common system setup. c. Pricing - many cost pricing service products integrate and can be combined with a company's own in-house price components. Run into that goofy system you have no idea what it costs - look it up in the pricing service system (and by regional pricing in the market). Have your own factors - apply them to the pricing. There are many other reasons to consider a database driven integrated estimating system. The above are just a few that show why excel or paper are outdated for today's fast paced estimating demands. It is not just the takeoff - it is all the other integration of "clerical / admin" grunt work stuff that an integrated solution improves within an organization. Four stars - there is no PERFECT system... but no others come close to this overall solution.

February 2015

Hogan from Reinforced Structures, Inc. (RSI)

Industry: Glass, Ceramics & Concrete

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

5.0

February 2015

Sage Estimating - A Powerful Construction Estimating Package!

Pros

There are many construction estimating software packages on the market, but none is better at breaking down an estimate in all the ways that are needed. Sage Estimating can handle multi-building estimates, multiple work breakdown structures, and any other bid breakdowns that are needed. For us, most bids require some sort of cost breakdown, but rarely is it completely the same from estimate to estimate. Sage Estimating handles all these variables with ease. Also, the ability to handle variable cost add-ons at the estimate "totals page" is a huge plus. Cost add-ons such as overtime hours or material cost escalations can be added via the database or on a estimate-by-estimate basis. When it comes to providing breakdowns to our GC clients, any cost add-ons can be spread throughout all or a few of the estimate items. This is a great feature. Sage has been a very good vendor. The support they've provided over many years has been great and they've done a great job with software upgrades. The upgrades, adding new features and feature enhancements have kept Sage Estimating at the head of the construction estimating pack.

Cons

I've used Sage (and previously Timberline) for nearly 20 years, and the only consistent gripe I have is that installation of the program is tedious and has always required the help of an IT expert.

May 2015

Susan from Walsh Construction

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

3.5

Functionality

3.5

May 2015

Estimating with Sage/Timberline

Pros

I know that the spreadsheet adds up correctly. This is key when it comes to bidding work. We have built our own databases, and use them quite a bit for concrete, masonry, and drywall.

Cons

Upgrades with pervasive can be cumbersome. It would be useful if the download was something that could be pushed down to users. Granted right now I am behind on my upgrades because our IT department does not like to deal with the upgrades.

April 2018

Tim from Bryan Consulting Inc.

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Keep all of your estimate and bid information in one place

Pros

This program lets us keep track of all of our estimates, bids, and other information in one fairly easy to use place that our whole team can access it. It has some great interactive tools to help build and share your estimates with clients, contractors, suppliers, and others.

Cons

The customer service on this product is the one thing that I absolutely have to mention. We have had some issues come up in the past and it seems that getting in touch with the right person can be a chore in and of itself. Once you do get through to that person you have to hope that they understand your problem well enough to assist you. I hope it's only us who have experienced issues with this, but I would not be honest if I didn't mention it here.

April 2019

Drew from Goodall Homes

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

2.0

April 2019

Not user friendly

Pros

Sage is able to generate many helpful reports which assisted us in deep analysis.

Cons

This software was far from user friendly and The time it takes to learn the system is much longer than similar competitors.

June 2015

Steven from Walsh Construction

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Functionality

3.0

June 2015

Error free, but long processing times.

Pros

This product automatically saves after every key stroke, and the built-in formula's never make a mistake.

Cons

This software is often very slow to respond (drag and fill commands can take several minutes to complete, and trying to insert rows into an estimate can be tricky). There is also no quick or easy undo button in case the wrong command or key is pressed.

August 2014

Aurelia from AVI Roofing.com

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.5

August 2014

AVI Inc - Review

Pros

I like that it has more options for reports, forms, and queries than QuickBooks. Also, the program links between different areas of accounting and production, like work orders to invoicing and purchase orders. It performs well with Job Costing as well. I also like the functionality and organization that Sage Contractor provides.

Cons

The customer support is too expensive for the limited support we are granted. We pay for an outside consultant as well, who assists us more with the program than the customer support we sometimes get. It is also very expensive to add users, especially as a smaller business that does a lot of volume.

July 2019

Barb from Black Hills Exteriors

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Easy to use

Pros

Very easy to use and userfriendly and customer service is great as well.

Cons

Could work on the customer service, sometimes very hard to get through but once you do, they are very knowledgable

July 2019

Stuart from Zon Engineering Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Amazing estimating program, but pricey

Pros

Sage Estimating can provide a detailed level of estimating analysis based on material and labour libraries that either come with the software or are custom defined by the end-user.

Cons

Creating a custom material library is a very involved process which costs a lot of time and money to establish.

July 2017

Clay from Sudberry Millwork, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

Hottest Estimating Software on the Market!

This is probably the most flexible estimating software available today. Always a leader in the industry, Sage Estimating can fit the bill for entry level, single user needs and expand to an unlimited number of users. The estimating system can tie into one of the best accounting packages, as well.

Pros

Totally flexible - can be used by virtually any trade as well as GC. From basic estimating needs to a complex reporting system, this software can do it.

Cons

Takes time to set-up properly. The software is ready to go out of the box, but to fine tune to make it "hum" takes more than just starting it up.

May 2018

Mark from Information Technology

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

I have worked with Sage Estimating all the way back when it was Timberline Estimating, excellent .

Accurate estimates and diverse reports

Pros

The power of Sages' Smart Assemblies is the best feature along with the results being displayed in a full spreadsheet format that can be changed in real time. The ability to slice and dice your estimate data is extremely powerful along with their use of WBS codes.

Cons

The tech support has been a bit of a struggle but thank goodness for qualified consultants and Business Partners that can act as your first line of support.

January 2019

Janet from BRW Construction Group, LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Estimating multi million dollar underground utility construction

Another pro is that this software can integrate with SAGE 300 Accounting, which will not only import the estimate, but also create purchase orders and email those purchase orders based on your estimate. Once you've learned how to use this and set it up it significantly saves time.

Pros

While this product provides you with sample databases, it is best used by creating your own database with phase codes and pricing as you do your construction. You are able to separate each phase into categories, i.e., Labor, Material, etc. There are some standard ones, but you can also add your own categories which adds to the flexibility of this software.

Cons

It's not really a dislike, but it is quite complex. You need one main person who controls all changes to the database, keeps pricing updated, controls anyone changing/adding phase codes, etc. You would need that with any sophisticated database.

July 2015

Dominick from Pinnacle/CSG, Inc.

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2015

Intuitive & Time Saving Necessity for Estimating

Pros

The more data the user puts in, the more streamlined of a machine this tool can become for your company. I have to say the formulaic calculations are also very helpful especially when it comes to breaking out specific trade items in a proposal.

Cons

The updates process. I wish the install and update deployment was easier for the end user - especially for users migrating to a different machine. The UI could be also be "modernized", but when you look at the functional aspects of this products, as there many, it just performs well compared to other estimating tools on the market.

January 2015

James from Construction Solutions

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2015

I have used Sage Estimating for 20 years

Pros

They are always developing the product and always on the cutting edge of technology. Around 2000, they had a product called the CAD Integrator; it was BIM before anyone understood what BIM was. They do not try to do everything (anymore). Instead of being decent at everything, they set the focus on the estimating product to make it great. Then they create partnerships with other dedicated software products that are also determined to make their piece of the pie the best. It allows for an integrated product that is the best of all worlds. The product is very easy to use and customizable to the user.

Cons

I would like it to have a better proposal output. However, most people I talk to say that it's not a big deal for them because every owner wants a proposal on their form.

September 2018

Lyndon from Jollibee Foods Corporation

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Good Software

Overall Its great software when set up.

Pros

for several years I thought that Excel is the best of estimating but when I learn about Sage, things are getting more better estimating can handle multi building estimates. Sage is continuously developing its software it has upgrade of what is best for making it better .

Cons

when Upgrading sage I need the help of IT Expert to do it for me , It takes time setting it up so workers like me needs help of more experienced or encounter this kind of issues.

November 2016

Steven from Mr.

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

The most dynamic

Sage estimating software allows companies and their individual users to literally make exactly the database that perfectly fits their needs. The only limitation is their ability to create tables, variables and formulas that will create the outcomes that they desire.

Pros

Total control, flexibility, and no "canned" locked in formating. Adding, changing and maneuvering existing data is made easy with "Database Manager".

Cons

The biggest con is the cost per user and the maintenance fee. Smaller companies can manage these cost with two or three estimators but larger world users such as cost consulting firms with large numbers of users find the initial investment and sustainability are over the top.

July 2018

Mo from Turner & Townsend

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

A Well-Organised Estimating Software

Pros

Sage (Timberline) has been used for building industry primarily. You can use the advantage of their database or set up your own one based on the industry and market you are involved in. I recommend the software for Mid to Large Size building projects including residential or ICI.

Cons

The software is not user-friendly for heavy-civil or infrastructure projects as the functionality of crew cost method is not as easy as other heavy civil software.

October 2016

Ana from Onni Group

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

User friendly

As an estimator, I use Timberline to estimate projects with value of $1M+. The platform is very user friendly. I can perform quick takeoff or more detailed item takeoff with just a click of a mouse. The autosave mode ensures that my work is saved every five minutes minimizing the risk of losing the data. The extended version of the software came with a sample database that we customized for the needs of our company. The reports function is absolutely amazing as it allows me to send the estimates to customers, project managers, superintendents, and fellow estimators for cross checking by just selecting the items that they want to see. It saves me plenty of time! I would highly recommend Sage Estimating (Timberline) to companies that are looking for an efficient estimating tool.

Pros

User friendly Data autosave Customizable reports

January 2018

Ben from NGC Group

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Sage Estimating

Pros

Great database options for General Contractors that allows for more complex and complete estimates.

Cons

Due to the layout of the software it is hard to use Sage for hard bid jobs and incorporating alternates.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

It has been a heavily used piece of software, but we are probably not using it to capacity.

Pros

Assemblies. This has been the most efficient part of the software for us. Keeping track of markups and material costs are helpful.

Cons

Database organization and lack of save/undo features. If I update a material price, will that effect everyone else? It is still very confusing. The integration with CRE300 is pretty sad (Address Book and Export/Import). An undo button would really be helpful.

April 2018

Todd from Edge Builders

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Timberline is Huge!

Pros

This estimating program can do anything you want it to. It has the ability to be molded into however you want it to work for you.

Cons

Because it is so flexible it is also a little clunky. Quick takeoffs and estimates can be difficult. This feels like it is set up for the commercial realm of construction, in fact, I don't know many in residential construction that use this program.

August 2017

Kevin from Camson Construction, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Nice product, integrates well with Sage 300 CRE

Overall, a nice addition for your Estimating team.

Pros

We used this product for our estimators in my last Commercial Construction company. Works well with Sage 300 CRE. Allows you to set certain standard prices like labor rates. Calculate burden, buys, etc.

Cons

A little on the pricey side but that's about it. Many good features like importing into your Sage Project Management software.

June 2015

Cory from Pinnacle/CSG

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2015

Sage Estimating! The key to succesful project victories!

Pros

I love sage products best they represent the best of breed. New features are always being developed and the ease of use is excellent especially in construction is important. Service is amazing as well

Cons

I am not a fan of the license manager. They need to develop another way of licensing machines.

March 2016

mendel from EMUNA CONSTRUCTION

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

1.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2016

OVERVIEW SATISFACTION

Pros

it is very detail oriented which gives you good tracking and reporting

Cons

not user friendly you have to use the list very often to accommodate data . almost impossible to create reports unless you are an expert in all the codes.

August 2016

Glenn from Hampton Park Baptist Church

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2016

I set up and used the product for 12 years

Pros

A stable, robust, customizable, construction estimating software

Cons

The initial setup can be complicated. The databases available at the time of purchase were not of much help for my specific use

April 2015

Michael from The College of Saint Rose

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

2.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2015

Sage Estimating for Facilities Project Planning

Pros

Customer support is the most extensive I have ever seen, and they were extremely patient with me. The product is extremely powerful and almost intimidating at first, but the help folks knew their job well, and got me up and running. I am able to produce project estimates for planning on campus renovation projects large and small.

Cons

The help system is extensive so you get forwarded around a bit, but I did get to the people I needed to get to, it just took a little time.

December 2017

Justin from Buckeye builders

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Save estimating program is a solid and trusted program

Pros

That most estimators are familiar with the program and it is easy to use. It really helps that it is so widely used that even if your company is new to it one of your employees is most likely experienced in it.

Cons

It's just like any other program. They all have their limitations and you have to review multiple products to make sure it meets your needs.

August 2014

Dana from Manchester Community College

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2014

Teaching Sage to the workforce

Pros

Sage's Timberline Estimating allows more flexibility in all aspects of estimating. From building specific items to substituting items, working with smart assemblies, and modeling, there is no other system that I have used that lets me customize the materials, subcontractors, and crews the way Sage does. The support received from Sage is top-notch.

Cons

The upfront time in loading in and customizing the database consumes a lot of time. Once in place, the time savings are incredible!

December 2018

Nick from General Contractor

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

My Estimate Backup

Pros

When I dive into an estimate, Sage Estimating helps identify all scopes and pricing that i need to present to a client for an accurate future budget.

Cons

Some items are buggy and I'd help if I can edit my tool bar for only the items I use. Lastly, is importing into Google drive excel spreadsheet which is very specific but we use that between the client and ourselves.

July 2019

Ron from Eco Interiors Ltd.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Helps speed up our estimating processes

Pros

Their training sessions help onboard our designers and estimators to using Sage, and this has really helped reduce our training time.

Cons

There's no such thing as a free lunch. This software is pricey for small companies to absorb, but if you fully embrace it you'll recover those costs quickly.

January 2015

Greg from Palladium Homes of NC, Inc.

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2015

I have used Timberline Estimating since the mid 1990s.

Pros

Precision Estimating is exactly what it sounds like--the most exact way to estimate a project! Sage is easy to work with, and their technical support staff is fantastic.

Cons

The most difficult part of using the software is in the initial setup.

October 2017

Connor from Comstock Construction Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Sage 300

Pros

Sage is a very practical estimating software in the construction industry. It ensures everything is a accounted for and is much easier better than Excel

Cons

Sage is a little clunky sometimes - not the easiest program i've ever used

June 2018

Ebtisam from Construction

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Everything you need

Pros

If youre looking for a software that focuses and really takes estimating to the next level, then this software is for you.

Cons

Dont really know what to say regarding cons, I really enjoyed using this software when I did use it.

June 2015

Jesse from Skyline Concrete Services Ltd.

Industry: Glass, Ceramics & Concrete

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

3.5

Functionality

4.5

June 2015

Concrete Estimation

Pros

Lots of customization. User friendly, and very detailed estimates.

Cons

The database building and assembly building is complex. There is support available for this however.

February 2015

Richard from Blue Bay

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

February 2015

Think twice

Pros

I like all the functions of this dinosaur. The software still uses fox pro old arcane DOS language.

Cons

I dislike the amount of money they want yearly. I hate their amount of money I have to spend every year to maintain this software with limited tech support.

June 2011

Glenn from Commercial Contractor

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2011

I have been estimating commercial construction projects for the past 15 years. If you are on the fence with estimating software, look no further than Timberline. I have tried them all and none of them are as fast and refined as Timberline. Other companies put on a good sales show but the application doesn't measure up. We actually spent about $15k on a company's software licenses, and after using it we found it to be slow and klunky. How good is Sage Timberline Estimating? Well, we walked away from $15k to use Timberline. Yeah, it's that good.

January 2018

Ameen from Compusoft

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

January 2018

I am never had a chance to use this software

I want this software to be able to use in middle east and support

Pros

Good for estimating. I want some partbers of sage to help me use this software in saudi arabia. I saw this product is only available in NA

Cons

Not supported in middle east. How can i find a partner in middle east who can help me supply this software and provide training

September 2014

Laurie from Bowman Constructors

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

2.5

Customer support

3.5

Functionality

4.0

September 2014

Sometimes great, sometimes very frustrating.

Pros

It is excellent for sending info from one module to the others. It is very helpful during the cost analysis process.

Cons

It is not user-friendly. You can't "read the screen" and muddle through on Sage like you can with other accounting software.

January 2017

Michael from The College of Saint Rose

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Commercial Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

Powerful product that is well integrated

For project estimates that are all inclusive and cover all aspects of a project you are bidding or developing a project budget for, there is no product more powerful than Sage Estimating. With its powerful ability to create well-defined estimates, it also has the ability to connect to many other facets of Project Management, Accounting and Construction. The product is capable of being enterprise-wide for a contractor or construction management firm, with the ability to bring in information from external sources.

Pros

Plenty of customization is available to have the output look and feel the way you want it, many modules to attach to and the ability to draw from database pricing information from external sources.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve for the beginning user. This is not a product for the occasional user.

February 2017

Brendan from Kirk Gross Company

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Does what I need it to.

Very happy with Sage. It makes short work of my estimates, it's also very customizable.

Pros

Easy to use

Cons

Expensive

February 2017

Lindsay Helmick from Allen Construction

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2017

Cloud Based Need

We purchased this product in attempts to find a link between our estimating teams and production teams and to improve the job setup time. However, this product does not link to the systems in the manners we had hoped. We are currently working on workarounds, so hoping we can fix that issue. The other issue we have with the product is it is not cloud-based, so our team always needs to be connected to our servers to make updates which cause issues for our remote teams.

Pros

I like the ease and functionality

Cons

It isn't cloud based.

December 2016

Douglas from Larry Elwood Construction, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2016

Sage-Timberline Estimating Review

Been using this product for 20 years- fairly simple

Pros

Familiarity

Cons

Lack of flexibility

October 2016

Emad from Standard Solar

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Timberline

Timberline is a good old program that can be utilized for estimating however, you need to have a good database of prices to make it effective and you need to update these prices often to make it effective.

Pros

Good once you have learned it. It does complex estimating.

Cons

It has old features that are hard to change. Timberline does not change the programming technology to make it easier to use..

February 2017

Nishant from University of Texas at Arlington.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

A must use software for construction industry !!

Estimating project while bidding this software is a great help. It has does estimate exactly 90% - 95% of the actual budget of the project. But, depending upon the level of detail calculation you do, It has almost everything you need for estimating. Easy to learn and get used to it. the only draw back is the user interface, I would enjoy to use it more if the made it look a bit more organized and neat. Still, a must use software for the construction industry.

September 2014

Chuck from Second Look Consulting

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

2.5

Functionality

4.0

September 2014

20+ year user review

Pros

It offers the flexibility to price anything you could dream up in detail and break it out any way you want.

Cons

The base databases are unreliable unless you develop them.

September 2016

Wade from Gillam and Associates

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

September 2016

I have used Timberline for over 17 years.

Pros

I have used it for many years and I am very fast with it. You dont have to be a computer programmer to use it. Once you learn a few simple steps you can build an estimate in half the time it takes using an office spreadsheet...

Cons

There are a few quirks with some assemblies that you have to work out...

September 2014

Robert from Simpson Building Contractors

Industry: Design

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

2.5

Functionality

3.0

September 2014

Easy to use, very few difficulties

Pros

It's easy to use and works well with Digitizer.

Cons

There are issues after updates. If you skip a few updates, it seems that some things don't work as well when you finally do update.

October 2017

Luke from Coe Cosntruction

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Using this for estimating worked, but not as well as other options.

Overall it works, but not my first choice.

Pros

Great for tracking, and is a fanatic database for historical information, but clunky to use and not as user friendly as other options.

Cons

Seems outdated, and reports are tricky to get right without knowing exactly what you need. Clunky interface with no options for improvement.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

Recently, I was tasked to upgrade the Sage Estimating from version 15.1 to 17.13.

Pros

Version 17.13 uses Microsoft SQL Server instead of the Pervasive database which is basically a file system engine. Overall, the product is pretty easy to install and configure. I was able to quickly set up the environment to allow the users to migrate all the existing estimates over. The documentation are clear and precise.

Cons

Permissions assignment to individual estimates is by user only. For example, you can grant a user permission to view or edit estimate A, but not estimate B. It will be more convenient and efficient that we can also assign permissions by global group as well, specially for big companies that have over 1000 employees.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 59 reviews