About AbelMed

ABELMed is a comprehensive practice management and full electronic medical records solution suitable for medical, physiotherapy and rehabilitation clinics of all sizes. The appointment scheduler and physician/practitioner dashboard provide multiple workflow options through one screen and access to multiple types of information and functions. The patient manager tracks patients as they move through the various stages of their appointment. Other features include a cumulative patient profile, preventative care management, multiple billing types (including OHIP) and authorization manager for enhanced security. OLIS (Ontario Lab Information System) and HRM (Health Report Manager) integrations are available for Ontario clients and Telus eClaims insurance claims processing...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 10

10 Reviews of AbelMed

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.1 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(4)

4

4 stars

(5)

5

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1 - 10 of 10 results

Do you use this product?Write a review

January 2020

Aaron from Family Medicine

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Excellent EMR

My experience has been positive. There were the usual growing pains but these were all handled smoothly by the support staff and there were no interruptions in my daily schedule.

Pros

Very User Friendly Great lay out including the nice fonts and just the right size and spacing for various icons/tabs. Lab results can be marked signed off or reviewed which is a helpful distinction when needing to review prior paper records and still wanting a time stamp for future auditing/review purposes. Has the ability to forward previous encounters which is helpful for things like Diabetic flow sheets. Has the ability to have customizable pre-typed entries similar to stamps/templates in other EMRs Support Staff is knowledgeable and attentive The person who trained our office was exceptional. Good communicator. Patient. I found this to be particularly important in ensuring proper migration to AbelMed from paper charts.

Cons

Sometimes the page may skip a line when scrolling down in the investigations tab.

Reasons for Choosing AbelMed

The lay out suited my eye at first. I could see that person who was to be our trainer was good at tailoring her instructions to the individual and was a good listener. That was the main reason for choosing AbelMed but since I've chosen AbelMed, I've been impressed with the EMR and the system as a whole. I think it has a lot of advantages over other EMRs. It is proprietary and they do not leave the quality of their product to the chance coding of various, multiple disjointed programmers (i.e. Oscar). They have a long track record and the risk of the system not being supported in the future is lower than that of other EMRs. They do not have competing interests as other providers (like Telus) might and can focus their expertise on this EMR and AbelDent.

Response from ABELDent

Replied February 2020

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of ABELMed. We are pleased that you have successfully implemented many of the EMR features and that the training and support you have received has met your expectations. To address your scrolling issue, under Dashboard Settings, simply deactivate the screen refresh settings.

February 2021

Janet from WestEdge Medical Clinic

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

feels like a family

My overall experience has been excellent over the years. The only sad thing is that I may be forced to look at other software in the future due to requirements from Ontario MD moving forward. It will be like losing a family member.

Pros

I have used AbelMed now for 14 years. I took over an office that already had AbelMed and bought it along with the rest of the office thinking I would just try it out and switch to something else if it didn't work out. There were all the regular hiccoughs of switching from paper to electronic records, but that was also 14 years ago. Over the years, I have had such good interactions with the technical support team that I now feel like they are family! They have always been prompt at getting back to me, patient, kind and helpful in solving my issues. They have ALL been excellent at providing support to my staff and me. The person who mainly taught me how to use the system was so bubbly and fun and put me at ease when I was so overwhelmed and confused and always made me laugh! I always wanted to meet her in real life! I have found it easy to use and felt ithad all the features I was looking for. I would never go back to paper charts.

Cons

I would like a software where the email was right in the patient's chart, also I would like the option of cloud-based software.

Reasons for Choosing AbelMed

I bought it with the office I was taking over.

May 2017

Arthur from Disera Medical Centre

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

1.0

May 2017

Disaster !

Every time they fix one issue, another issue arise.

Pros

The monthly fee is the lowest in Ontario. They used to have fair customer support, now, I think they have only a few people available that make your waiting time unreasonable.

Cons

After several years of using this program, I can tell my colleagues this is a waste of money. You can faster if you use just the WORD processor for your notes. Referrals, prescriptions, navigating CPP - if you have 2 patients in an hour, yeh. may be.

September 2020

Daisy from DR PAVRI MEDICINE CORP

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Service for trouble shooting is timely and professionally rendered with a teaching component.

I am very grateful for the expertise provided by [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] as he will go through the problem list carefully and come up with a solution. His prompt attention and kind nature is very helpful in a busy pediatric office.

Pros

The medical students find it is excellent as it is systematically configured so they do not miss details e.g review of systems is categorized in detail.

Cons

sometimes the clicks are too many to fax off a Rx to the pharmacy e.g. needing to close the current encounter and then open the Rx tab and then only will the Rx be linked to the encounter.

Response from AbelMed

Replied October 2020

Thank you for reviewing our software and giving us feedback. We are happy to hear of your experience with our product support team - we pride ourselves on service excellence. We have a solution for easily faxing Rx to pharmacies - if you create your Rx from within the encounter note, then you can see it right away and fax it right away no need to use the Rx tab.

April 2020

Hany from The Ottawa Hospital

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Review of Abel software

very good

Pros

The product is user friendly and drugs are updated regularly

Cons

brand names and generic names are not always available Space for progress notes needs to be increased

Reasons for Choosing AbelMed

Value and quality

Response from ABELDent

Replied April 2020

Thank you for the review! We strive to continue to improve ABELMed and appreciate the feedback.

November 2019

Barry from UHN

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Abel Lets you do more

Pros

It is a tool that allows a facility with few employees to do so much more than in the past. We are able to take advantage of the capability of the software and reduce the amounts of cancellations and missed follow-ups of our clients. Going completely paperless is now a possibility.

Cons

Moving between options can be a bit slow especially when booking an appointment with person on the phone

Response from AbelMed

Replied December 2019

Barry: Thank you for your review of ABELMed Software. It is good to see that you are taking full advantage of the software - in particular, the feature that tracks missed and cancelled appointments so that they can be dealt with in a timely fashion. Please feel free to contact support to get tips on system navigation when booking appointments.

November 2019

Paul from Rouge Valley Physiotherapy

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Clinic operations

Pros

Very easy to operate. User friendly. Very convenient for our clinic to operate day to day.

Cons

Never had a problem with the services provided by abelmed.

Response from AbelMed

Replied December 2019

Paul: Thank for your review of ABELMed. Glad to see it appears to be meeting all your needs and that you are happy with the support.

November 2019

Bronia from Toronto cardiac diagnostics

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2019

Tcd review

Pros

Very easy to navigate and self teach. The

Cons

Missing some features that newer EMRs have

Response from AbelMed

Replied December 2019

Thank you for reviewing ABELMed. We are glad that you have found the software easy to learn and use. There are many recent EMR feature enhancements and improvements to ABELMed that you may be unware of. Please refer to the myABEL Portal to download the latest version and related notes or feel free to contact Support for additional information.

April 2018

Omotayo from Emmanuel Doctors Outreach

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Very Good!

Pros

Allows for remote patient monitoring, reduces hospital stay, improves the overall patient experience

Cons

Requires a whole lot of bottlenecks for institutional approval, and many clinicians are not willing to relearn

July 2018

Moses

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


July 2018