Bloomerang Software

4.67 / 5 (603) FrontRunners

Our advisors have recommended this product 24 times in the last 30 days

About Bloomerang

Created in 2012, Bloomerang is a solution for small and growing nonprofits. It enables users to view an organization's donor records, track the best time to contact each donor and measure a donor's engagement level to make it easier for users to know when someone should be contacted.

This proactive approach can help simplify maintaining and increasing donor loyalty, as well as revenue. 

Donor retention rates can be accessed at a glance from the Donor Retention Cockpit, where each donor has a profile of their giving summary. Engagement levels are ranked by “cold”, "cool", "warm" and “hot.” 

Bloomerang is a cloud-based system and allows for unlimited users. The system is a particularly good fit for small to...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 2000

603 Reviews of Bloomerang

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.67 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(427)

427

4 stars

(155)

155

3 stars

(13)

13

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(6)

6

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 603 results

November 2019

Jeff from American Venous Forum

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Excellent for Most Non-Profits

At a prior non-profit, I switched them from Raiser's Edge (desktop) to Bloomerang. I gained a ton of features and saved quite a bit. The conversion was painless. I've only had to contact support a few times and they have always been extremely helpful. In my current role, I set them up with Bloomerang as their first database. I have also recommended it on multiple occasions.

Pros

Bloomerang is intuitive and easy to use. Creating and reporting with custom field has never been easier and really allows you to customize it to your needs rather than using a standard field for something else. The ability to create embedded forms is a lifesaver. The integrated email capabilities save me from having to purchase another solution like Constant Contact. Plus, these interactions are automatically recorded in the donor/prospects data file. The integrated DonorSearch option is convenient, useful and cost-effective.

Cons

If my organization ran a ton of events, I'm not sure this would be my optimal solution. Currently, there is only one level of access - so I can't let a Board Member in to look around because any accidental changes they make would be permanent. I know that Bloomerang is working on this though.

Reasons for Choosing Bloomerang

Ease of use, integrated forms/email/DonorSearch, custom fields

September 2020

Autumn from Trinity Free Clinic

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Recommending bloomerang for Nonprofit Donor Management

We particularly like that we can easily manage all transactions and interactions seamlessly through integration with Outlook and sending emails, letters, etc. directly out of the system.

Pros

In the time that we have used bloomerang, we have appreciated a number of things about the software. The interface is extremely user friendly, we see regular product updates, there has been excellent customer service and communication, and the customer support through the chat interface is absolutely fantastic. Data has been easy to manage, reports are easy and reliable, and the ability to send beautiful emails, integrate with our website, and manage campaigns through the system is a real game changer for our organization. They worked hard with us to implement integration and onboarding in a reasonable time frame as well.

Cons

Occasionally, I will run into a more advanced feature that I'd like the system to do, but it's a rare occurrence. The one thing that I really wish bloomerang had was a more robust event ticketing function. The current interface doesn't do everything we would want to do, such as discount codes, and there are generally too many limitations to be able to use bloomerang for event ticketing.

Reasons for Choosing Bloomerang

Our [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] initially chose to go with eTapestry but it was an absolute nightmare. They failed to get our data conversion done in a reasonable amount of time and their customer service was absolutely deplorable. After six MONTHS, they still did not have our data uploaded and ready for use. Bloomerang was able to take the files we had prepared for the eTapestry conversion and had our system up and working in about six WEEKS. The only good thing about our eTapestry experience is that they did EVENTUALLY send us a check refunding our deposit and monthly fee, especially since we started incurring monthly fees before our system was even live.None of the other products had the same blend of functionality that we needed, nor did they have as agile of an interface as bloomerang.

March 2016

Fernette from Dyslexic Advantage

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

1.5

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

March 2016

Limited Options and Poor Customer Support

Pros

We sought this vendor because of its simple platform and reduced cost.

Cons

There are so many negative experiences, it's hard to identify what I liked least. 1. Revolving door customer support. Sales was very attentive, but after we purchased, we had difficulty getting ahold of our customer support. At one point she said she only worked 2 days a week, and then she called from a noisy street. Customer support didn't know about integrations with other products or setting the platform for automation, so it took weeks to allow her to put me in contact with engineering. He answered in a helpful email that took 5 minutes. Constant Contact support is much better than this - it doesn't matter to me who I get on the phone if they are knowledgeable and nice. Other platforms definitely have their support personnel better trained to answer questions. 2. Inadequate documentation for support - Videos, no Texts. As is common I think for startup companies, Bloomerang filmed short videos, but neglected proper text documentation. Our donation director would watch videos, then have trouble finding appropriate parts if she had any questions. Good tutorial documentation has text (that can be searched) and also screenshots to help people know what to do. 3. Poor default donation forms - the donation forms were ugly and not what someone would expect for a donation software. We had to go with MailChimp anyway and so there was the added cost. Bloomerang is definitely not a good option for emailing your list (others have mentioned). 4. Poor search of the donation database. If you wanted to select a list by a certain demographic - like donors of a certain amount or from a different state and some other feature and then email them, then Bloomerang couldn't do it. Although they will take some customization of the donor entry, we often found that adding different client details couldn't be searched. What is the point of adding more details if you can't find them later? We had used another platform with better search capabilities. 5. They do not search for duplicates or common typographical errors. As a result, you may be charged for a much higher number of people that are not truly in your database. Other mail lists like Constant Contact search for duplicates and also make corrections in email addresses (like a missed period between gmail and com). Nothing like that in Bloomerang. 6. They do not stand by their product. There is no customer satisfaction guarantee. Although we stated a desire to cancel the product entirely after the first year and asked the rep not to process our direct deposit, she did it anyway. Bloomerang told me that their policy is not to refund any money even though we will not be using their product at all. I was not contesting the 1 year that we already paid into, what I didn't want to do was pay for the future year because we would not use it because it had so many missing needs. Just using an integration with Mail Chimp would serve us better than Bloomerang. The communication piece with Bloomerang is extremely weak.

Response from Steven

Replied March 2016

Hello, Software Advice community! I'd like to address you, the reader of this review, directly rather than the author, whose review is largely punitive rather than constructive. Bloomerang absolutely stands by its product, which is why we did not allow this customer to break their signed agreement. We did, however, offer to pay for their third year in full. You can see from the feedback on this site that a vast majority of our customers (whom this reviewer condescends) are satisfied. I'd like to address individually some of the more dubious claims found in this review: "Revolving door customer support." Our support team currently consists of seven, US-based internal staff members. Their schedules are as follows (all times are eastern): Jason: 9am-6pm M-F James: 9am-6pm M-F Diana: 830am-530pm M-F Kristen: 830am-530pm M-F Daniel: 11am-8pm M-F Ron: 9am-3pm (3-5pm in another department) MTRF Susie: 11am-4pm T-F Our last turnover in the department was voluntary and occurred in June of 2014. Furthermore, our phone system routes support calls to a dedicated phone on each of our reps's desk. They do not give our their cell phone numbers to customers and do not take calls after hours. Calling from "a noisy street" would have been impossible. Lastly, our support reps are incredibly knowledgeable, not just in the Bloomerang product but in the nonprofit sector overall. For example, Ron has been working with nonprofits since 1987 when he became Executive Director of the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame. Kristen holds an MPA in Nonprofit Management from Indiana University. "Inadequate documentation for support - Videos, no Texts." This is simply untrue. Our knowledgebase is filled with text-based documentation, including screenshots and videos. Anyone wishing to see for themselves can visit https://bloomerang.freshdesk.com/support/home and log on with the username: "demo.wayne" and the password "grace123". As for the rest, I invite anyone interested in Bloomerang to learn all that they can about the product's functionality by reaching out to customers who have left constructive reviews here. Transparency is one of our core values, and anyone wishing to discuss this review further - or any of our business practices - can reach out to me or our CEO, Jay Love, anytime day or night. Contact info is readily accessible on our website. -- Steven Shattuck, VP of Marketing

September 2020

Michelle from The Sarah Michelle Peterson Foundation

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Bloomerang has everything we need.

Bloomerang has changed how we keep track of almost everything and put it all into one place. We are very pleased with it, and we are still learning more good things.

Pros

Bloomerang has amazing customer service. As a small non-profit selecting our first DMS, we reviewed many and then took the plunge and signed up for Bloomerang. Our chats and emails asking for help always receive prompt responses from knowledgeable people. There is no substitute for that level of assistance. We also love the ability to customize our data and all of the other things that can be done with Bloomerang. We have left behind our old systems for keeping track of donations, volunteers, trainings, newsletters, and more!

Cons

We are getting better at creating reports that show what we want to track, but this is an area that feels a little convoluted, probably due to my lack of experience. I have received excellent help from Customer Service to get what I need, though. I have a feeling that the large number of steps it sometimes takes to create a report is necessary and can't be changed. I would also like a smoother way to keep track of people who sign up for a free class, and then to track who actually attends the class.

Reasons for Choosing Bloomerang

It seemed more robust, and other reviews highlighted the excellent customer service, which the cheaper ones seemed not to have.

August 2020

Amanda from Paleontological Research Institution (PRI)

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

The reporting is Amazing

I've had a great experience and I am really enjoying this CRM more and more as it integrates with so many third party apps.

Pros

The reporting feature is by far one of the best parts of this software. I can segment donors, analyze year over year data, and run fundraising to date reports with such ease. There is no need to export data and run analytics in excel when this software does it all for you. I am also a big fan of the bcc feature that allows me to append emails to donors directly to their constituent files.

Cons

As an arts and culture nonprofit, we have a membership component to our fundraising structure. I feel that bloomerang's ability to really provide for a membership program is weak. We've made it work with some custom fields but it's not ideal.

Reasons for Choosing Bloomerang

Reporting, Price, and functionality.