About Paymo

Paymo is a cloud-based work and project management solution for small and medium client-based businesses. It offers team collaboration, resource scheduling, time tracking, and project accounting within a single suite.

Its project management features enable you to create projects, add tasks with multiple assignees, as well as save them as a template for later use. What’s left is to monitor the project progress (time tracked vs initial budgets) and manage work through one of the four different task views: List, Table, Board, and Gantt Chart.

Paymo also has you covered with a built-in timer, desktop and mobile apps, as well as accurate timesheets that act as a window into your productivity. Data can be exported later on as time reports and shared w...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Web browser (OS agnostic)

345 Reviews of Paymo

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.72 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(261)

261

4 stars

(73)

73

3 stars

(9)

9

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(0)

0

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 345 results

July 2019

Frank from Factstory

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Constantly improving

Flexible and suitable for a lot of different projects. We gained a lot of insight through the visual data overviews. Tool is constantly improving: new features, upgrades, interface changes for the better. The customer service was friendly and personal. Paymo and DataFeedWatch are my two favorite customer teams. Definitly recommended!

Pros

- Great, flexible project management tool - perfectly scalable - a lot of features and handy shortcuts (saved project lists etc.) - provides a lot of insights per project and client - Very friendly and personal customer service. - Good value for the money

Cons

- Clients did not always get the tool instantly. But recent UX changes could make it easier for them - Communication with colleagues could get a bit chaotic, takes some time to implement in the workflow. - A lot of features requires good knowledye whats the best way to use the tool, so definitly assign someone to create a team workflow.

Response from Paymo

Replied January 2020

Hi Frank, Nicely worded, thank you! We're working on an improved client portal, with in-app access to guest users so they can contribute and view the project progress in real-time. Follow the thread for it here: https://community.paymoapp.com/t/in-progress-client-portal-collaboration/67/2 Onboarding-wise, the focus for 2020 is going to be on in-app tool tips and video tutorials. Hope this will help you! :)

October 2019

Andrew from Kay Media

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Paymo Review

Support is great!

Pros

The ease of use and ability to switch views of dashboards, tasks is great. The functionality of tracking time without using a third-party tool is also great.

Cons

No desktop or mobile version and cost is slightly higher than competition.

Response from Paymo

Replied January 2020

Hi Andrew, Thank you for the kind words! We believe in the power of web and want to make Paymo accessible from everywhere, that's why we've opted for a web version. The only desktop apps that we have are the desktop widget and PaymoPlus - download them here: https://www.paymoapp.com/downloads-and-integrations/ As for the cost, it's a bit of a subjective matter. We couple task management with time tracking, planning, resource scheduling, invoicing, and leave planner - so we pretty much replace the cost of 3-4 apps on average. Not sure which competitors you've tested us against, so can't make a definitive comment. Cheers, Marcel

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

One of the best kanban boards.

Paymo is one of my best options to manage a project. Its simple and multiple styles of showing project is good. The invoice lets you get paid from your customer which is a big deal.

Pros

One of my first priority is kanban board not because it's best because that's simple to understand for newcomer and needs no training. The simple dashboard and demo data give an idea about the application workflow which is great. The nested task list is very good and it is easy to assign tasks to another member. Controlling all the task is very simple with paymo, I worked as a member and now I have my own project in paymo. For managing a solo project managing is just a breeze. I started with a small photoshop project and it helps me to get the billing hours more efficiently.

Cons

The demo project is ok but I needed a kill switch for it. Deleting the demo data and retain everything else. Else it is perfect.

Response from Paymo

Replied January 2020

You've hit the nail on its head, Kanban is indeed the best way to teach a newcomer about task management in general. You can actually delete the demo project if you go inside the project settings. Were you refering to the onboarding process? If yes, then you're right on time, since we're currently revamping it to contain an opt-out option as well. Thank you again for your time!

October 2019

Mitch from Bay Town Creative

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Best in the Biz (I think)

Pros

What do I like best - the value. When searching for a solution Paymo offered the most for the least and has been continuously working to improve the APP. I work remotely and have been using Paymo to track clients and send time reports to my office for billing a few years now and it has worked flawlessly. The time tracker is great, the time reports are great. There is, I am sure, a tonne of functionality that I haven't even tapped into but it does everything I need very quickly and cleanly. Navigating is a breeze, editing is a breeze, and exporting reports is a breeze.

Cons

My least favorite thing is that every time Paymo refreshes I have to set up all of my preferences again. I have to switch the view, add in a filter to see the projects the way I want, adjust the Time Report forms back the way I had them set up yesterday. Just switching the view from List to Table should be something I should be able to lock-in as a default view.

Response from Paymo

Replied January 2020

Good news, Mitch: time reports will be upgraded and support a more used friendly interface. About the preference issue, can you please write it down on our community forum so it gets more traction from the community? https://community.paymoapp.com/ Thank you!

January 2020

Cameron from Needham SOlutions LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

1.0

January 2020

Monopolize you cause you can't export ANYTHING easily

Would NOT recommend it to anyone who has even the slightest of "outside the box" process for projects or billing/invoices.

Pros

Yet another system that after several months of use only did what we needed it too at 75% of the way, then AFTER buying into the "huge discount" and special they had going, did I find out they do not allow refunds at all! If you put ANY data into the system and ever need to export it for any reasons ...find a data entry person and hope you didn't enter a lot of information because unless you are a developer that can setup custom API's...your info is stuck in their system! You can enter clients, companies, etc. and change view to "Table" and see it in table mode, but that view still only gives you the general company information, NOT the contacts for that company and that is 1 of 2, yes that is right 2 places in the entire system of everything you may have entered where you can download/export that view into Excel/CSV file....everything else is PDF if you are lucky!! If you are a VERY small, VERY basic bookkeeping/accounting freelancer (NO TEAM, just you and very basic billing) - fine, it may work...but if you have more than 1 person in your team other than you, have different rates or even the SLIGHTEST out of the norm billing or cycles...GOOD LUCK!!! I am furious with this system after being told what it could do and I explained in detail, and "oh yeah, that is not a problem at all"...only to find out, everything I explained about what we needed, went in one ear and out the other just to make the sale...now I have a barely usable system and wasted $$$$!!

Cons

Can't export anything unless you have a developer standing bye. System is very "inside the box" thinking even after being told it would easily do what I had explained that I needed it to do support seems to take longer than usual and they are quick to respond with an answer that has NOTHING to do with what you originally asked (bots maybe?!?!) Can't get a refund, no matter how many lies they told you to make the sale in the first place!!!

Response from Paymo

Replied January 2020

Hi Cameron, Sorry to see you disappointed. Our goal is to help you improve the way you work, not to sell you on something. Indeed, you can export client, project, user lists, as well as time reports in csv format - invoices and Gantt Charts are available in PDF only. However, due to the fact that there's no standardised data structure for project management data, the only practical way to export it is via our API. And no, we're no bots, and don't force anyones hand to make a sale.