User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(20)

20

4 stars

(12)

12

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "The app is easy to use and very user-friendly. I find the restaurant reviews very helpful. It's extremely easy to make a reservation. "

  • "I love that it is multi-functional and easy to use. It is easy to figure out and offers many recreational uses. "

  • "There's great attention paid to detail in the functionality. For everything you wish to do it seems like it has been anticipated and it has been made easy for you to do it."

  • Cons

  • "Pricing can be a negative but OpenTable has a bunch of different options. They have worked with us over the years to make it work within our budget."

  • "I wish that it would be a little less glitchy? Software updates were a small problem but overall it was a great system when I worked there. "

  • "Few small issues, there should be more access to settings from app, controlling reservations, floor plans, etc"

Browse OpenTable Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -16 of 34 results

August 2017

Maya from Hospitality

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Really Intuitive Product

It's a really great program on the backened and user facing. Wouldn't be able to do my job without it!

Pros

There's great attention paid to detail in the functionality. For everything you wish to do it seems like it has been anticipated and it has been made easy for you to do it.

Cons

There are times when it's doing what it is set up to do and yet still creates problems by not recognizing things like overbooking. It would be nice if there were settings available to automatically prevent this from happening.

December 2017

Nichole from Tavern 101

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Open Table/ Dirty Table

Pros

The ease of access of this app is too good for words. If everyone is sufficiently trained, and staff members are on their A game, this is app is quite helpful and useful. It allows all members of staff to update the POS system in order to communicate quickly what status a table is at. It is also helpful with assigning tables to certain parties and deciding upon wait times. For the Hostess, this system is great all all hosts should learn this program at some point in their career. I would only say that it is harder to expect a server to stay on top of updating the system for the hosts throughout their steps of service.

Cons

While the overall application is easy to use and very informative, it does tend to send some mixed signals between servers and hosts if not used properly. The app shows table layout on the screen that allows the user to see which tables have guests, which tables are empty but need to be bussed, and which tables are ready for new guests to be seated. The problem here is that unless a server has time between taking care of her other guests to run to a POS station to inform a hostess that a table is dirty and then find time 5-10 minutes later to see if her buster has cleaned the table and then update the table through the system, clean tables are forgotten and wait times are lengthened due to miscommunications. The structure itself is easy to use, however it seems to add

December 2018

Joe from Two Boots Pizza

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

Ok Software For Reservations

Pros

Ease of use for our staff to handle reservations and wait times. Very intuitive and implementation was a breeze.

Cons

Not as feature full as Rezzy. Pricey for what you're getting. They could use some upgrades and the product has been pretty static.

December 2019

Thierry from Paris Crepes Cafe

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

My reservation about this system

The overall experience is straightforward, unfortunately by the lack of onsite training we are probably missing lots of the features that we could use.

Pros

Open table is used mostly by real dinner, people who go out a lot with an educated palate. It’s a way for us to increase our dinners clientele and get true and relevant reviews.

Cons

Not always clear, how to use it, I am still confused sometimes, no onsite training, like they use to! Also can be expensive compare to other system.

Reasons for Choosing OpenTable

I choose open table for its popularity among dinners.

September 2018

Michael from Duke's Southern Table

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Great app. Easy to use. Full of useful restaurant reviews.

Pros

The app is easy to use and very user-friendly. I find the restaurant reviews very helpful. It's extremely easy to make a reservation.

Cons

From a business owner's perspective, the pricing is a little hight. There are other apps out there that are starting to compete w/ open table that have lower pricing models.

August 2017

Thomas from Peli Peli

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

It really is the best option for online reservations for restaurants.

Pros

Easy of operation and customer support. Shelly Broussard has been amazing to work with and one of the main reasons we have stayed loyal to OT.

Cons

Pricing can be a negative but OpenTable has a bunch of different options. They have worked with us over the years to make it work within our budget.

November 2018

Julia from Food & Beverages

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Supermarkets

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Love OpenTable

Pros

Excellent resource to keep track of customers comings, goings, and what other restuarants in the area are doing. Love the ease of use for the employee AND the customer on the other side. Also love the polite suggestions to customers who don't show up for reservations that they shouldn't do it again - it's important that people understand that those actions can negatively impact a restaurant. Very smart system and ease-of-use mobile app functionalities, and a good rewards system.

Cons

Don't really understand why the restaurants often call you to confirm the reservation - seems a little counterintuitive considering the app is supposed to take care of all that. It would be cool if they found another way to do this; those who works 9-5s or any other job with daytime hours often have difficulty making non-work related calls during the day for hours at a time. The rewards system is good but I think they can improve it/incentivize consumers more.

August 2017

Maria from Harry Caray's

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Review

Pros

I love that it is multi-functional and easy to use. It is easy to figure out and offers many recreational uses.

Cons

The program will sometimes glitch and go offline. It makes it difficult to use and access. It is not always easy to make changes to your sheets.

August 2017

Ezra from Osteria la Spiga

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

An excellent platform

Pros

Opentable makes dining easier and offers excellent rewards, as well as providing a large network of diners who for the most part leave poignant reviews that help when deciding a dining experience.

Cons

I think the platform is well executed so there aren't really any negatives that come to mind. It is disappointing that all restaurants who take reservations don't partake in Opentable, simply because it would make the diners job easier and they could accrue more points, but so it goes.

July 2018

TJ from Settlers Hospitality Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2018

Most popular, easy to use, not many cons

Pros

Easy to use, popular with Guests, staff, etc. Mobile app, can track business from your phone away from restaurant

Cons

Few small issues, there should be more access to settings from app, controlling reservations, floor plans, etc

January 2019

David from Flight

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Overall decent, but can be expensive if you don't followup with no shows

Overall, good product

Pros

Easy interface, can teach hostess how to use within a matter of minutes. Can set allowed number of reservations per shift.

Cons

Automatically shows reservations as present if you don't manually tag as no show, then you must dispute within a certain time after reservation to avoid being billed- only realized after receiving bill which was after the time limit.

January 2018

TJ from Settlers Hospitality Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Easier then pen and paper

Solid app overall

Pros

All in one, floor plan, server sections, wait list, reservations. Keeps it organized, using on iPad at host stand gives a nice 1st impression

Cons

Recommend a bluetooth keyboard for busy nights. Not as easy as it could be for adding names to wait. Need option to skip phone number on wait list

December 2018

Robert from La buca

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

OT User/Admin

Ease of use and consistency are a plus. Tracking diners and making notes is a great way to be able to anticipate their specific needs.

Pros

Guest tracking and notes are helpful. Having the info from previous visits is awesome. Online interface is user friendly.

Cons

The controls are so technical and the support not knowledgeable of certain styles of dining its difficult to narrow down settings to manage both reservations and walk-in business. It’s possible to turn away business with settings.

May 2018

Naomi from MindBody Medicine

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Reservations made easy

not only the reservations and easy to make and it has all the features, they have now introduced a rewards program with every reservation you make you get points which can be claimed for gift cards, how sweet is that?

Pros

Love the app easy to use and send you reminders minutes before your reservations, so your unlikely to miss it .

Cons

Love it all, i do wish that they would add more restaurants and lounges to their choices, couldn't find two places i was looking for

February 2018

Vanessa from The Plaza Suites

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Good for restaurant business

Pros

Easy to use for both employees and customers. You can cancel\book\add notes to reservations all on the same screen.

February 2018

Riccardo from SITE

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Industry standard but, very expensive

Pros

Very easy to use software Opens you up to a network of users Easy to manage reservations and guests with good reporting

Cons

Very expensive, they charge you per person Does not let you reply back to reviews Not very receptive to changes

October 2018

Koby from Little Bear Homecare

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Love it!

Pros

I love using the app. Makes it very easy for me to set up reservations at different restuarants when I'm in a hurry and on the go

Cons

Not every restaurant uses OpenTable (it's not their fault) but that would be the only con that I have seen so far

July 2018

Jordan from Paradise Valley Spas

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Open Table has saved my life when it comes to booking important dinners or business lunches

Pros

The UI is awesome and easy to use even for people who aren't great with technology. All you have to do is search in the area that you are looking to book a reservation or if you already know the restaurant you want to go to, just search for the name. Then it gives you time options and emails you a confirmation as a reminder. Most restaurants in the Bay Area use OpenTable.

Cons

I don't see many cons with this app as it hasn't failed me yet. I would highly recommend you to give it a try if you haven't already.

January 2019

Kenneth from MRM//McCann

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Excellent app for dining ahead

Pros

I've only heard about this app recently, but I use it every time before I go out to eat with friends or family to book a reservation ahead of time. I also love using it when I'm traveling cause it gives you recommendations based on your location too if you're never sure where to eat. You can easily select your time, show up at the restaurant and you'll be seated without a hassle. I also love how you can rack up points to earn rewards for dining or amazon gift cards.

Cons

I don't really have too many cons about the app. It's straightforward and easy to use. If I were to improve the app, I would make it a bit more social where you can interact with friends who also have the app. It would be cool if you could coordinate times with friends/family in the app itself.

December 2018

GRACE from PETCO

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Great way to schedule reservations

Pros

Very easy to configure and manage all of your reservations. The platform is user-friendly and pretty basic to learn how to navigate

Cons

sometimes there are calls that happen after the reservation has taken place to confirm and make sure they were made

May 2018

Colleen from Guaranteed Rate

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Love It!

Pros

So greeat for customers to check in ahead of time and watch their wait time. I love when restuarants have this.

Cons

It would be great to see this expand into other industries. not sure how many cons I have, i really do love the product.

October 2018

Sarah from Titan Building Products

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Great Product

Pros

I have used OpenTable to book multiple reservations and it has been fantastic. It is super easy to use.

Cons

I have yet to have a con regarding this product. It is a great service and i have no complaints at all.

September 2018

Sean from california first national bank

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

California Pizza Kitchen

Pros

This product made the job a lot easier. Having people go through the app and reserve the seating made the front desk much smoother.

Cons

I wish that it would be a little less glitchy? Software updates were a small problem but overall it was a great system when I worked there.

May 2018

Megan from Fine Dining Restaurant

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

May 2018

A downgrade not an upgrade

Not user friendly for FOH staff Icons/Tags are too small, not enough options No color coding No realtime report printing No way to see guest notes on the reservation sheet Note pop up shift notes Too many extra steps

Pros

Ipad use Ability to see on iPhones Access from multiple devices Server cover count tracking Demo capability

Cons

Features used for fine dining restaurants like guest notes, specific color coding options and multiple sheets for the same shift are gone. Printable sheets for large party set up etc. are no longer available. More steps to do the same action as the previous system.

November 2018

Jonathan from BD Hall Constructors Corp.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

OpenTable Makes Reservations Easier Than Ever

Pros

- You can search restaurants for open reservations if you are having trouble deciding on where to eat - The app shows you the open times for reservations and it is reserved at the click of a button

Cons

- Some restaurants still called me in order to follow up and confirm the reservation, and this seemed to defeat the purpose a bit.

July 2019

Gari from One Stop Cooling and Heating

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great For Booking Our Business Lunches and Dinners

Pros

Very easy to use and easy to search for the type of restaurants we're looking for.

Cons

Maybe have more restaurants join the software so they would show available as well.

May 2018

ken from salesforce

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Awesome Tool

Pros

It's a very reliable tool that I've helped implement for a family member. Everything works as is and is good. Has a streamlined display and easy for reservations.

Cons

There a many steps to get what you need and lots to click through. The software does look a little old, it could use a refresh.

March 2019

Steve from Bartons

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Reservations just got easier

Pros

Seamless integration into restaurant booking page Ability to add reservation to outlook calendar from email confirmation

Cons

I cant think of any cons apart from my first open table email confirmation being sent to junk. Now its been added to safe-senders and all is working as intended.

November 2019

Patti from ReMax United

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Open Table Review

This is my go to App when making dinner reservations! I also like the follow up and feedback/reviews I can give to help others.

Pros

Ease of use in making restaurant reservations. They confirm the reservation and allow you to easily edit the reservation.

Cons

I have not had one problem using Open Table.

March 2020

Alison from Lowlands Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Great Product

Easy to use for the consumer.

Pros

I use the product as a consumer and I think it is a great way to make reservations online.

Cons

We don't use this product currently because of the cost associated with each reservation.

March 2019

danielle from viacom

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

OpenTable

I have had great experience using Opentable especially in such a big city where everyone is looking for similar reservations!

Pros

OpenTable is very user friendly and allows you to make reservations on the go.

Cons

OpenTable will suspend you if you miss a certain reservation; however they send you notifications reminding you of what you have booked.

November 2018

Hannah from Flaming's

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Everyone's using it

Pros

Why pay for an expensive floor chart system? This is super easy to use, affordable and online reservations make our job a whole lot easier!

Cons

Sometimes online reservations that are made last minute will take a few minutes to pop up. Not too long though.

November 2017

Jazmin from Flour Bakery + Cafe

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Reservations

Pros

Easy to use and had lots of options that I did not think of. A lot of restaurants were listed in my area.

Cons

The website is a little bit out of date so that could updated. Their rewards program can also be updated too.

November 2018

Melissaq from St Croix Vision

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

OpenTable worked for us

Pros

Fairly easy to use, like the rewards options

Cons

Slight issues but no huge problems, wish there were more restaurant options