Rapid Gun Systems Software

4.56 / 5 (25)

Our advisors have recommended this product 2 times in the last 30 days

About Rapid Gun Systems


RAPID Gun Systems is an on-premise and accessible through cloud Point-of-Sale solution for gun stores. It caters to firearm retailers and helps them manage compliance and gun store management process. It is suitable for both new and established gun stores.

Rapid Gun Systems provides trade-in and buy back management features to stores. A serial tracker offers ways to track the movement of firearms. It offers an integrated electronic bound book and e-commerce options. The Shooting Range Management feature tracks customers check-ins and out of the range, records the time for multiple customers and processes payments. The ID scanner ensures that each person using the range meets the minimum age requirements. Firearms can be tracked in the system with pictures so that reports can be generated if the item is damaged, lost, or stolen.



Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 8

25 Reviews of Rapid Gun Systems

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.56 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(16)

4 stars

(7)

3 stars

(2)

2 stars

(0)

1 stars

(0)

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 25 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

August 2017

William from WJS Guns LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

August 2017

Rapid is a good system for Firearms sales and does a nice job of managing customers and inventory.

Noce customer management

Pros

The e4473 is a good feature however it is an add on. I like the DL scan feature and inventory module however I wish it was more powerful. Inventory management is good and fairly easy to use and the ability to put required fields is a plus. One of the best features is the multi gun email received when a person is required to have extra forms filed for their purchase. The ease of use in the fact that this fills out the for for you is also a great feature. Touch screen works well and is easy to edit and customize.

Cons

Screen size on the NCR POS is too small so you can not have a lot of buttons on one screen. The ability to edit price tags and label is an add-on feature that should be included with the software. For the price many of the optional features should be included like the advanced inventory module and the quickbooks integration. Training could be better and since you are buying the software and hardware you should be allowed to have complete access to your SQL database but you are not. Customization is something that should be able to be done by the end user and not something that requires charge from support to have done like a simple MSPR added to your price tags or the ability to print counter tags. Have some errors that do not get swift attention form support and they tend to fix issues without calling to verify or confirm that it has been resolved so I have had to reopen ticket more than once. PRice to add an extra license is overly expensive and support does not include upgrades as it should. If you own the e4473 as we do and pay support you should not have a fee charged to you when the forms change by the ATF since you pay a hosting fee for the e4473 and support.

Response from Rapid Gun Systems of Rapid POS

Replied August 2017

William, Thank you for being a valued customer and trusting your business with Rapid Gun Systems. Your feedback is appreciated and assists us in becoming a better partner for you and all of our gun store customers. I have forwarded your feedback to our support team and they will reach out to address your concerns (including the possibility of upgrading to hardware with larger screens). We've also recently upgraded to a new version of Counterpoint which has an updated user interface and some new features.

March 2018

Rob from Allegheny Arms

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

One of the best firearms software I have used thus far.

Very easy to use customer database.

Pros

Software has many ways to search and collect data. Very easy to use customer database. tech support is amazing and one of the reasons we have a positive experience with Rapid.

Cons

Software is buggy. you need to follow a very specific processes to do things. If you get out of order the software will error or lockup. it's not as fluid as it could be. There are a lot of minor program changes if done would make the software so much better.

Response from Rapid Gun Systems of Rapid POS

Replied March 2018

Rob, First, THANK YOU for highlighting your experience with our service/support teams. One thing that we believe truly sets us apart from our competitors in the gun POS space is our support. We hear all that time that we blow everyone else out of the water with our help desk and support. We believe that you shouldn't be faced with buying a product and then never getting proper service and support. We pride ourselves on this! So, thank you! Your software comments are a bit more alarming and we'd like to dive a bit deeper into the troubles you are having. I noticed that we only have a few support tickets from you specifically, so we aren't able to pinpoint exactly what issues you've had. I've alerted our team to address this with you the next time you submit a ticket. We want to be the BEST POS for Gun Stores, so let's work together to improve the product! It sounds like you have some good ideas. Cheers! And, thanks again for your kind words.

March 2018

Jon from Rileys Sports Shop

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

The system is a lot more complex and non user friendly than it should be.

The interaction between the software and our accounting software was a great improvement over the previous way we did things. The reports are usually pretty good for sales and inventory, and were better than the previous way we did things.

Pros

I like that it can interact with our accounting software, it makes our jobs easier. Some of the reports are very useful for our daily accounting functions, but other reports are not always matching up as they should.

Cons

I dislike that it takes and arm and a leg to learn all the functionality of this software. They need complete training courses for everything in the software on their website or somewhere else.

Response from Rapid Gun Systems of Rapid POS

Replied March 2018

Jon - we appreciate your feedback and are interested in hearing more about the issues you are facing with Rapid Gun Systems. As you know, we employ a Train-the-Trainer model, which allows us to work closely with 2-3 senior level folks. We rely on those folks to properly train the rest of your organization. While we find a high success rate with this approach, there are cases where the detailed training doesn't translate the way we intend it to. I encourage you to check out counterpointuniversity.com. This web portal houses our detailed training videos on all the features of Rapid Gun Systems. We regularly add content as well when topics surface that we haven't covered. In addition, our support team is always available at support@rapidpos.com. They will help with ANY questions you have. We also offer additional training on system features that you haven't quite yet mastered. Improving our product, service, training, etc. is important to us and your feedback will help do that!

August 2017

Fae from CountyLine Shooting Sports

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

We purchased this system not long after we purchased our store due to an inadequate system

increased efficiency. Excellent inventory control. Excellent serialized tracking methods.

Pros

The electronic bound book and gunsmithing modules. They have increased our back office efficiency.

Cons

The software itself is very good. What I like least is I do not think we were given enough instruction on its complete use. Therefore, I sometimes need to call the help desk for instruction on things that I probably should have known how to do and am charged a fee.

Response from Rapid Gun Systems of Rapid POS

Replied August 2017

Fae, We are so happy that you are part of the Rapid Gun Systems family and we really appreciate the feedback. As you know, our POS solution is comprehensive and very robust. We agree that it takes time to learn all the ins and outs - and that even carefully planned coursework can't teach a user everything about a product in a condensed timeframe. We structure our education and training around the most used modules and anything specific that you would like to learn upfront. We do our best to cover as much as possible prior to implementation! We want every partner of ours to feel that they have the ability to control their "POS destiny", which is why we allow you to select your ongoing service level. Some prefer to pay as they use it, and some prefer to have unlimited support for a monthly fee. The important thing is that you can change your mind any time! We can add additional training courses for specific modules or set aside time to retrain - just give us a call to schedule!

March 2018

mo from FN America

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

this system rocks

serious time savings

Pros

This has streamlined every aspect of the inventory, love having a true electronic bound book that makes it very easy to search for serial/part number

Cons

being on the east coast and having west coast support makes things difficult at times, we have done a few updates that left us down until noon or so over here due to timezone differences.

Response from Rapid Gun Systems of Rapid POS

Replied March 2018

Mo, We rock, because you rock! Partners like you are the reason we love doing what we do every day. We are troubled to hear of the issues you've had getting in touch with our support team. It's surprising as we have a staffed support desk from 6amPT - 10pmPT, Monday through Friday. We open early to ensure that we have ample support for our East Coast clients. We also offer 24/7/365 support for emergencies outside of normal business hours. The only time there will be any delay in reaching the support team is if they are helping other customers, but emailing support@rapidpos.com will ensure that your ticket immediately gets in the queue and is responded to quickly. Please do alert us if you continue to experience issues getting in touch with the support team. You can always call our President, Bart, directly to express any concerns - (619) 754-4100. We appreciate you!

August 2017

Rich from Adam's Armory

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

The training/support staff are OUTSTANDING...

Simplifies our daily / monthly operations

Pros

1. Does our firearms bound book
2. Sales / taxes reports
3. Customized POS screen
4. Customer information

Cons

1. Only able to conduct certain actions on the POS screen and not in the office, ie. buy backs.
2. Going into sleep mode and having to log on the office terminals, or use user ID swipe cards
only on POS terminal.
3. Unable to extend the time before going into sleep mode.
4. Should be easier to obtain simple inventory reports.
5. Item entries should also include Mfg and not just vendor for ease of reporting.

Response from Rapid Gun Systems of Rapid POS

Replied August 2017

Rich, We LOVE to hear that you are having a great experience with our training and support teams. We pride ourselves on providing world-class service! We'd love to discuss the issues you are experiencing in more detail as some of them are compliance related and we unfortunately can't control (e.g. sleep mode functionality). Related to the reporting, we can customize any of the reports (and create new ones), we simply need the details of what you are looking for and we can build it. I've forwarded your feedback to our support team and someone will be reaching out to see how we can iron out the frustrations you are experiencing. Thanks for being a valued partner!

August 2017

Dwain from Waymore Silencers

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

DEPENDABLE

Better organized and electronic bound book.

Pros

Software is somewhat easy to use but took longer than expected to transition. Training was thorough and customer support is great. Nell was/is a great mentor.

Cons

The "work around" for NFA items is disappointing. You have to put the item on layaway and Texas requires sales tax to be payable when collected, so the workaround is cumbersome and error prone. Wish that the system was better for the NFA items.

Response from Rapid Gun Systems of Rapid POS

Replied August 2017

Dwain, Nelle is a gem and we are so lucky to have her (and the rest of our service and support team)! I've forwarded your feedback to our team so they can address the issues you are experiencing with NFA items. As you know, Texas has some very specific requirements and because of this the standard layaway feature in Counterpoint isn't structured to recognize the sale until after the layaway has been recategorized as an actual sale. I confirmed with the team that this is a customization that we can build for you so you won't have to employ a workaround option. Our team will reach out to discuss if this is an option for you. Also, we just launched a new version of Counterpoint which has an updated look-and-feel, as well as some new features. Thank you for being a valued partner!

August 2017

Joshua from Bourbon City Firearms

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Great system it really has grown into everything you need

Stream line

Pros

Electronic bound book, they really support the 2a community , touch screen is very user friendly, Intervration with our vendors

Cons

Tech support is in California when I can at 9am est with a emergentcy it takes 1-3 hours to get a call back

Response from Rapid Gun Systems of Rapid POS

Replied August 2017

Joshua, We are pleased to read that you are enjoying all the features and functionality of Rapid Gun Systems. Our intention is (and always will be) to give our customers the best system filled with solutions to everyday pain points - and that includes exemplary customer service and support. Our promise to you includes on-call support staff 24/7/365, so that you never have to wait for our physical office to open. We sincerely apologize if you experienced anything but perfection. A member of our support staff will be contacting you to reinforce our service promise and to make sure that you have direct access to our president Bart's mobile phone. Any time that you feel you aren't receiving the proper attention, we encourage you to call Bart directly (you should never have to wait 1-3 hours for confirmation that we received your request). Thank you for the feedback as it helps us do what we do even better.

August 2017

Tony from Kentucky Gun Company

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality