User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(145)

145

4 stars

(110)

110

3 stars

(27)

27

2 stars

(5)

5

1 stars

(14)

14

  • Pros

  • "Easy interface, and very user friendly. Able to switch prices and add new items no problem."

  • "works well, easy to use and train, good features, and good customer support"

  • "I really like the features it offers especially now that recipe costing has been added. Splitting checks is a breeze. "

  • Cons

  • "Set up was a hassle, and with electronics comes bugs, but even with those things we have found this was the best option for flexibility of business. "

  • "growing really fast so great for the company but the new staff need to be better trained "

  • "I'd love to have down to the recipe inventory but I hear that is coming soon."

Browse TouchBistro Restaurant POS Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 301 results

October 2016

paul

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

For iPad soulution for busy restaurants, this is your answer!

I have a higher volume seafood restaurant in Key West Fl called The Stoned Crab. We wanted a system where wait staff could service multiple tables while taking orders with out having to go to a main terminal. After trying another system and seeing others that relied upon cloud support and internet we were left with a crashed system and back to basics. A good resturantuer recommended Touch Bistro, I can tell you things are now amazing, the systems works incredible off its own network(yes you loose internet and never skip a beat) it's fast, reliable and the customer support and tech can't be beat. I really lost faith in entering the market with iPads after a big faluire, but Touch Bistro made me a believer and goes out of there way to find new ways to give us data and programs that we want. To sum it up, if you want to increase service, business, effiency and have happy staff.....You just found the right system, take it from me who found then latter than sooner, you won't regret. Paul Menta

Pros

Customer support, fast system, no internet needed to run, menu photos and special items to show to customers at table, data to watch your bottom line and a ton more.

Cons

No chip card swipe yet, I would say more program features, but when I asked for more they made more. I am having trouble with this part as the programming can be a bit tech, but they help you and then your good.

November 2019

BRENT from FAIRWEATHER BREWING COMPANY

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Slick, powerful & user-friendly in a small package

This is our day-to-day workhorse software to run our retail store and bottle shop at our brewery. Could not live without it. Internet outages make everyone panic now!

Pros

The software is incredibly intuitive and has an extremely high level of functionality within its simple user interface.

Cons

The one issue we have is the inflexible partnership TouchBistro has with Apple. Thousands of dollars of hardware must be purchased to run TouchBistro, and there is almost no flexibility in what you are allowed to by to run it.

Reasons for Choosing TouchBistro Restaurant POS

Intuitive nature, ease of use, flexibility of software.

June 2019

CN from Plan B

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Worst customer support - EVER

This is one of the most arrogant company's I've ever encountered. All along they've been treating me like they're doing me a favor and I'm bloody fortunate to pay them every month for a service that has now cost me in the thousands over the purchased hardware and rented software thousands. Soon as possible, I'm off to another provider -- one that actually answers the phone before I have to shave again.

Pros

When it works, which is usually right up to the latest and greatest new "software update", its highly intuitive, its easy for the staff to handle, its easy for me to program, and has quite useful analytics attached.

Cons

It breaks A LOT - and always at the worst possible time, and their customer support would have to be five or six times better to just suck. First time it took them 7 HOURS to return my urgent tech support call - lost a dinner service. Next time it was 9 HOURS -- not only lost dinner... but we lost a lunch service too!!! Then they started getting better... next time it was only 4 hours... called 10 minutes into the 7th game of the Stanley Cup finals [I missed the rest of the game]. To their credit, I had their support person call me back in 15 minutes [the time it takes to get from my house to the restaurant] - and he was able to fix the problem in just a tick over 90 minutes. Tonight it was 3 hours and 10 minutes before the call back came. I was on my motorcycle [don't talk or text while riding]... called back the number on the voicemail... only to find myself back in a queue. Its been 40 plus minutes so far... but fool that I am, I'm still hopeful.

January 2020

Nathan from 714 Bar

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2020

Very Disappointed. I need someone from their company to reach out!!

I am not one who usually shares my experience when it's bad but I am leaving these reviews in hope that TouchBistro will reach out to me so I can resolve some issues. We purchased the system and went live back in October of 2019 for our new restaurant. The interface looked good but as far as the system being customizable to whatever you want it to do...It's not that. During our time the system lost orders, had issues updating the menu from the cloud to the POS and ultimately cost us around $750.00. The card readers continue to lose connection, the printers print to different locations randomly, and when the POS updated, it messes up because the Main Hub has not updated yet. We have a fairly small location so to attach a screen to our iMac Mini every few days is pretty challenging and if we don't, we start shift with these problems. That is what lead me to look for another POS and we found one that is far exceeding our expectations. Toast has been amazing! I called TouchBistro to cancel and the rep stated that he would send me an e-mail of cancellation and someone would reach back out to me to finish it up. I was on hold for around 1 hour and 20 minutes the first time I tried to cancel. I did get the e-mail but no-one ever called me back to wrap this up. Today I tried to reach out and was waiting on hold for 42 minutes before getting a rep who said he had to transfer me to the care team to get everything done. I was transferred, waited for about 15 minutes on

Pros

The iPads were ok, and it wasn't too hard to hook up

Cons

Losing orders, connectivity problems, card reader not working, printers printing to different locations randomly, Not very customizable

Reasons for Choosing TouchBistro Restaurant POS

Price but after choosing them, We decided to move over to Toast and have been using it for a week and a half with absolutely 0 issues and the customer support is so fast. I get my answers in about 5-10 minutes. It's so easy!

April 2019

Kyle from Sunnyside Auto Group

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

TouchBistro POS Review

When I first saw TouchBistro POS sponsoring restaurants on a Gordon Ramsey television show, I thought if he recommended it maybe we needed it as well. I am not at all disappointed by this decision I have made. Traditional tickets are out the door now thanks to this lovely system. You've made our business run smoother, which means more happy customers.

Pros

The TouchBistro POS system is a very easy to use. I don't find myself to be the best at POS systems, but the setup process was basically idiot-proof. Getting everything to work took way less time than I anticipated. Also, I have yet to see this POS system crash, even during busy hours.

Cons

Sometimes there can be a little lag when putting in certain orders. It seems like the POS system is sometimes just trying to play catch up with itself. We have noticed that moving from page to page oftentimes will slow it down. We have learned to not click as quickly now though.

November 2019

Megan from Wellington brewery

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Touch bistro

Overall experience of this software is very positive. I have years of data saved conveniently and the everyday use of visiual and set up is a breeze

Pros

This platform is the easiest I have used for a POS. Great visual display, very easy to access the info from any device. Perfect menu building.

Cons

What I have least like of this software is the overly long wait times to update the system and the difficulty with using our loyalty program and being on hold for hours to get it fixed

September 2019

Jacqueline from Pimenta Restaurant

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Review

Worst customer service EVER! Will not recommend solely for that

Pros

Ease of use and functionality of the system is great

Cons

Process to split checks after order is difficult

Reasons for Choosing TouchBistro Restaurant POS

The sales rep was convincing and over promised

October 2019

Lisa from Crew, the Bar

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2019

If you need to run open tabs, dont get it!

I would look very seriously at other solutions, as well. I went with this, because of the sakes person and marketing. Next time I will spend more time in review, and testing.

Pros

The best day for support is Sunday otherwise getting through to their calls center is a challenge.

Cons

The continuous errors I get when using remote menu management. The iPad solution is bulky and instantaneously a guest dropped one, and there you go. The payment processing swiper is not attached solidly, and the battery life is not even a day.

Reasons for Choosing TouchBistro Restaurant POS

See above

December 2019

Brandyn from Food & Beverages

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

best pos hands down

makes daily operations a breeze. no issues with system going down.

Pros

ease of use -- can literally teach anyone to use it in minutes, customization, cloud reporting, stability

Cons

adding multiple ipads can get particularly costly but if they are used effectively, are absolutely worth the expense

December 2019

Agnes from Wellington brewery

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Touch Bistro

Overall, I use this pos system daily, and it is a very handy program.

Pros

Easy interface, and very user friendly. Able to switch prices and add new items no problem.

Cons

I really disliked the way customer service is set up. When you have an issue it's very hard to get through to them

December 2017

Haley from Silvercreek Coffee House

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Silvercreek has benefited in many ways from using TouchBistro.

Pros

The most popular opinion from our staff is the ease of use with TouchBistro. The program needs barely any training assistance, staff picks up the location of menu items quickly, customers are impressed with the technology, and in a small space like our coffee house the size of the unit compared to our grandfather of a cash register we can host more treats for our customers.

Cons

We struggle with getting prompt response when in a stressful or urgent situation. Restaurant business is fast paced and requires immediate help, especially if we are stalled in being able to take payment or assist a customer in another way. Guests don't appreciate being asked to wait while we try to contact Touch Bistro unsuccessfully. Email response time is reasonable. We also struggle to offer emailed invoices directly from touch bistro without having to switch over our wifi, slowing down service. We are also struggling to have reliable synching on our online account to view sales reports.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied December 2017

Hey, Haley! Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you're finding TouchBistro easy to use and your customers are impressed with the technology. Good for you for being on the cutting edge! Please know that we hear your concerns and are actively working to add more certified, in-house, support staff on an ongoing basis. If there's anything else I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

March 2017

Firas from Page One cafe

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Easy to use, intuitive with excellent stats and dashboard.

After researching the market for new POS system for my newly established Cafe/Bar I found Touch Bistro to be superior to many products in the market. It is cost effective, easy to use, doesn't require specialized equipment (Only Ipad, printer and cash till), easy to install and learn on your own and requires minimum training for new staff. One of the most important feature that many other POS don't provide is the dashboard and cloud reporting. I rely heavily on these data to manage my business effectively and efficiently. It provides a breakdown of sales performance over any period of time, connects to my accounting system and load sales data directly into my accounting system, has excellent integration with 3rd party apps such as 7Shifts for scheduling and Shogo for accounting. I'm truly impressed with this product and it's robustness. I have recommended the product to many other business owners and I always get the same reaction of amazement when they see the reporting it provides compared to the POS systems they currently use.

Pros

Dashboard and cloud reporting. ease of use.

Cons

Technical support seems to be overwhelmed and you can rarely connect with them when you need them most. They try to get back to you within 24 hours, but in most cases that's too long and have significant impact on our business.

March 2017

Alan from Big Al's American Kitchen

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2017

Room for improvement

First off: TouchBistro seems to be the best option out there for a full-service restaurant POS. We looked at everything we could find (that's available in Europe) and trialed the three leaders, and TouchBistro came out on top. We moved from an outdated local POS and have generally been happy. It works as expected, it hasn't had any catastrophic failures, and represents OK value for money. That said, there are some problems, both with the software and with the sales/support: - Frequent crashes when printing tickets (more than once per day). You have to restart TouchBistro, find your now-closed table, and reprint the ticket. - No way to print invoices. This is required in most European countries and TouchBistro offers no way to do this. It causes us a big delay to have to generate one in Word and print it out for the customer. If they are going to sell in Europe they need to have this core function that other, more basic, systems offer. - No way to print and charge part of a table. Missing is the ability to select various items, regardless of which seat they are at, and let me print a ticket and charge for those items. We literally lose 30 minutes a day moving items between seats for large groups when they want to pay. - No menu support for multiple locations. Even though they have a page on their web site dedicated to franchises and multiple locations, the capabilities aren't there. Menus have to be painstakingly typed in by hand on the iPad (no cloud/web support) and while you can eventually move a menu from one location to another, it is a convoluted procedure involving a call to tech support. This was one of the selling points that attracted us to TB and they haven't delivered. - No reporting support for multiple locations. You have to log in, view one report, then log out and log back in with a different username to see the other report. - The localization (Spanish at least) is horrible. It's like Peggy Hill did it. They seem to have just run all the strings through Google translate and much of it is nonsensical. - Impossible to update menu during service. If something runs out or a beer tap changes, you have to wait for everyone to log out. We are going to stick with TB for now, but there is room for improvement.

Pros

Easy to use and train.

Cons

There's a huge list in my review.

March 2017

Darren from fairways bistro and catering / castle bistro

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Over all Good just Bad Support

Over all my experince has been good, I am just very frustrated with support. The tech support is on call all the time, it is the support from other depatments like billing etc. I have have on several occasions left messages for someone to call and have had no response at all, not even a call back or a support ticket to say they have heard my message. I waited up to one week before I called again. I live on the West Coast and support areas are east Coast so at time if I need someone they are gone for the day around 2 pm my time, and no one to help us in the west later in the day as needed. Voice mails don't say when person is available or best times to call or to call between certain times. No mention that other then Tech support the rest are off over weekends, if your catering to restaurant you need more support over weekends, would be nice to only be Mon-Fri as a restaurant owner, but never going to happen. it is all very frustrating and very much a huge hassle to get anyone when needed beyond tech support. I have been very unhappy in this area with Touch Bistro.

Pros

Easy to use set up and teach staff to use

Cons

I may not know about it, but would be great to have a text feature for guests to order from our pool side that can alert server to an order

March 2017

Max from Quantum Coffee

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Easy to Program POS

Touchbistro is an easy right out-of-the-box solution for all sorts of styles of restaurant service. It's fairly quick to set-up and support is excellent. You can easily throw new staff to it and have them come out on top feeling like they understand how to use it very quickly. Intuitive as an iPad/iPhone program should be to new users. Reporting is very good unless you're expecting TouchBistro to do a lot of the heavy lifting - it's good, but not quite amazing on the back end quite yet. Be aware of how you organize your products early on for the reporting that you do get. It's only as good as the input and thought you put into it while your business is just a baby - that can come back to nip you once you have a better feel for both the software and your establishment.

Pros

Ease of putting in products + costs, assigning staff, third-party integrations (ie. 7Shifts)

Cons

Some of the reports lack in what they return, Reports should be fully automated, Crashes happen (though not frequently), hard to run in a building with no dedicated network

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

I Doubt There's Better

Pros

TouchBistro has been an amazing tool for our cafe. I love the ease of use, how easily we are able to get an overview of the cafe at any one time, along with performance, financial reporting, and all the rest. We keep discovering new features that allow us to be more and more accurate and efficient behind the counter. Support is also always really helpful and available whenever we need them!

Cons

Some of the features seem weirdly incomplete, like reporting having some types of reports available and not others. Also, we have had to source a secondary POS system to use for our retail inventory, as despite having the capability for things like barcode scanning, there is no way to quickly or easily update our inventory--with a stocklist of over 2000 items, having to create each item individually and update them manually is too much of a headache to bother with.

April 2017

Bill from Eks Grill

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Best decision ever

We embraced touch bistro over 3 yrs ago in that time they have continued to upgrade and make it better and better. That said the only down side is as technology changes so does your need for newer faster iPads and that is something we did not budget for. I would never go back to a stand alone POS Just remember that if you make the jump to tableside ordering wirelessly you will be amazed at how much faster your table Turns are and effective your servers become . Less staff required because they carry the POS with them no lines at a station. Smoother flow in kitchen Just take .25 per bill And put it in a gotta get newer IPad fund and you'll be happier then you have ever been Bill Justus Owner chef EKs Grill Kelowna BC

Pros

Just about everything

Cons

Cash layout for required new iPads to retain full functionality

Response from TouchBistro

Replied December 2017

Hey, Bill! Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you say TouchBistro was the best decision ever. We couldn't ask for anything more! If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

March 2017

Marie from Cafe Xpresso

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2017

Good for dining room restaurants

Touch Bistro is very easy to use in adding new menu items or editing existing items and also retrieving any multitude of reports available. Pricing is on the lower end of competitive. We are a quick serve restaurant and there are several important features that we can not customize which is why we rate it low on functionality; for instance when we have a credit card transaction we can't turn off the customer's receipt copy and in a QSR most do not want their receipt so we waste a lot of paper. Sales experience to training transition to installation also did not go smoothly for us. Sales is anxious to sell but is not there for you afterwards. But if we didn't have these, as well as other issues, we'd rate it a very good system. You just have to really know what you need POS to do for you and ask detailed questions and document your answers.

Pros

Ease of reports and making menu changes

Cons

Not all the features are customizable; you can't turn off a copy of receipts you don't need, there's a crazy work-around if you need item ingredients listed on kitchen tickets , only admins can setup customer accounts and take deposits for catering orders which is inconvenient for us.

December 2017

Richard from Zen-Shi, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Almost the best system I could ask for....

1000% faster then old method

Pros

Ease of touching, direct sending to kitchen, really a great system, just a few things could make it better and easier

Cons

Some function are not easy to understand...Don't like having to try and figure them out....need a code set up that is not a login code of a manager that is just for discounts....also a tab that is one touch for takeout and delivery displayed at the top with the name would be good...so it one touch check out for them...also bar tabs should print the customers name, so when a bar tab customer decides to order food the chit in kitchen has their name on in and not just "bar Tab"

Response from TouchBistro

Replied December 2017

Hey, Richard! Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you're finding TouchBistro to be near perfect (there's always room for improvement, though, right?) If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

December 2017

Alexandra from Red Lion Smokehouse

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

We love Touch Bistro and happily recommend it.

Pros

It connects with our accounting software so that our daily sales are uploaded automatically. The app is easy to use and our new staff can be trained quickly and efficiently. The billing features are really great and allow our servers to manage tables the way the customer wants, not the way the POS wants.

Cons

Adding menu items is time consuming and a general pain. We would love to have a web based site that allows easier uploading . The reporting features are a bit clunky - for example we cannot check on single item sales totals. Instead we have to download a entire report with ALL items.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied December 2017

Hey, Alexandra! Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you love TouchBistro and recommend it to your friends and colleagues. If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

December 2016

Donna from Camino Grill & Bar

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Small mid-western restaurant

Basically, works okay. This is our first restaurant so our only experience with a POS. For the amount of money this costs, I feel it falls short on the reporting side as it relates to accounting. Changes seem to happen very slowly if at all (only 1 year). Customer services getting better. Whenever I have the need to speak with a live person I've expressed my frustration as well as the issue which initiated the contact. TB prefers emailing their tech support team.

Pros

Relatively easy to train new staff.

Cons

On the Administrative side, it is very cumbersome.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied February 2017

Good afternoon Donna and thank you for your review and feedback. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us so we can help you take full advantage of TouchBistro's robust reporting functionality. Not only are there dozens of different types of reports that you can use, but there are also custom reports you can built based on your needs. TouchBistro integrates with Quickbooks for all your accounting needs. With respect to app updates, we update the app approximately every 6-8 weeks. Our last few app updates have gone out on the following dates: - December 13, 2016 - October 31, 2016 - September 26, 2016 - August 17, 2016 If there's anything we can help you with, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

August 2017

Jennifer from The Combine

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Easy to use from a back office and front of house perspective

good pricing for a product that meets a small businesses needs

Pros

Price point is great for a small independent business. Ease of use: very easy to train new staff on the software.

Cons

Limitations for custom reporting as well as the frequency of updates - trying when all your programs are constantly changing, albeit for the better many times, tough to keep up with when all (not just touch bistro) your tech is constantly evolving faster than one can keep up.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied August 2017

Hi Jennifer, Thanks for taking the time out to leave a review! I hear you when it comes to the upgrades! We are constantly evolving to give our customers the best features and technology available to help them run the best business possible. The next upgrade happens to be on custom reporting :) When in doubt on upgrades please give our Customer Success team a call - we are happy to help! Thanks again! Mell

December 2017

Anthony from Phat Tony's Bistro & Cafe

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

It is an easy application to set up and fairly easy to train others on it.

I is more efficient than a regular cash register and allows us to track our sales and tax instead of trying to calculate it after.

Pros

That it uses an existing IPad and can be stationary or mobile. Also it is great for tracking sales so that we can keep track of trending up and down of our menu items> It also helps use with ordering and inventory

Cons

That it doesnt include a rounding function for places that have phased out the penny. Sometimes the modifiers are a pain and could be better to add if you could choose all the menu items that could use the same modifier,

Response from TouchBistro

Replied December 2017

Hey, Anthony! Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you're finding TouchBistro easy to setup and easy to train your staff on. If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

August 2017

Dave from The Bayside Cafe

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Easy to use, best POS I've ever used. The support is amazing. Although you rarely need it.

Pros

When I started my business, the company that ran the POS system I inherited gave me trouble 24 hours before I opened. In stepped TouchBistro. They went above and beyond to have me up and running in time for my opening. I have never seen support they offered from another company. Their customer service was second to none. On top of that, the system is so easy to use. I set up my menu from scratch, in a rush, the night before opening. Training staff on it is a breeze as well.

Cons

There isn't much to complain about. It would be nice to be able to adjust the menu remotely but they're constantly upgrading the features available via cloud, so I'm sure that's on the horizon as well.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied August 2017

Hi Dave, Thank you for the super awesome review! I'm going to forward it to our install and training team. They work so hard and definitely will appreciate the love. Thanks again! Mell

March 2017

Jerry from Epicure

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2017

Very easy to use POS but needs refinement

you need to be able to authorize users to delete items without granting them void permissions. Also sometimes the POS accepts a tipout amount and passes it to the credit card processor but then forgets that it already processed the tip amount. At that point it refuses to accept any tipout amount and forces us to do an override on the preauthorization, which in turn means manual calculation of total tipout for the server and understates their tip income on wage reporting....

Pros

ease of use

Cons

1) some tipouts get passed through to the credit card processor but fail to capture in the POS, then the POS won't take a tip amount and assumes it's neither entered nor will it let you re enter the tip because the final authorization is complete. 2) in security settings for staff, to enable a staff member to correct their own mistakes before sending an order to the kitchen, because of the way you've set things up, I also have to authorize staff to VOID items that have already been sent, which I refuse to do. so I end up having to approve every little change, whether or not they've been sent to the kitchen... bad design!

January 2019

Jennifer from Small Print Board Game Cafe

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

So user friendly

Ive already recommended it to others to use.

Pros

Its so easy to use. And the supper team is constantly ready to help. We use it for our restaurant and coulld imagine it without it.

Cons

There are sometimes too many features when all you need is the basics, all of the options can be overwhelming.

Response from The TouchBistro Team

Replied March 2019

Hi Jennifer, Thanks so much for taking the time to share your positive experience with TouchBistro. We are glad to hear that you find it easy to use, and that our support team is always available to assist you with any questions you may have. Wed be happy to continue to support you in the best way possible, and part of that is helping you use your POS to be best of its ability so that it is easier to understand, so please let us know which options we can help you learn more about!

March 2017

Jennifer from Magnolia Hospitality Company

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2017

Touch Bistro: Great for the Independent Business

I've been using Touch Bistro since 2013 and it has only got better over the years. They are a very dynamic company with frequent updates which serve to keep your system always performing better with greater functionality and better reporting. Every update is like a little present in which you can unpack more and more features! Their support network has never failed us in our dire times of need when your mac mini crashes 30 minutes before service. This to me is one of the most important functions of a POS provider and Touch Bistro has always been easily reachable and more than happy to get us back up and running.

Pros

price, ease of use and support system in place

Cons

lacks some of the functionality of the big POS systems but frankly independent businesses do not need all that horsepower

August 2017

Joseph from Gideon Welles

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Great

Gets the job done.

Pros

Ease of use. New users or staff that never worked in bussness before can pick it up in minutes. Not a lot of glitches. For the price.

Cons

Updates knocking you down, putting you out of service at the wrong time. Like Friday night and restaurant is packed. and being done with out your knowledge. When they do tell you and you say not to do it then. They do it anyway. Software great, human touch ,not so much. .

Response from TouchBistro

Replied August 2017

Hi Joseph, Thanks for taking the time out to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear the update happened when you specifically asked for it not to and it interrupted your service. I will pass the message along to our CS team. Thanks again for your time! Mell

August 2017

Ben from Kismet Hookah Lounge

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

My productivity & efficiency have increased in immeasurable amounts due to TB

Saved time money & increased efficiency in placing orders It also alleviated confusion regarding who ordered what & what time the order was placed in the que.

Pros

It's so easy to use & assimilate new employees into it. The touch screen & swivel stand saves having to buy another iPad for the counter staff; with the swivel both sides are able to utilize the unit.

Cons

Monthly fees. Although with the benefits of the u it I can live with the fees. I would be interested if there were pocket sized devices that staff could take on the floor & send the orders in from there via wifi

Response from TouchBistro

Replied August 2017

Hi Ben, Awesome to hear that our system has helped improve your productivity & efficiency! Our mantra is Restaurant Success. The fact that we've been able to help you with those aspects of your business means we're doing something right. Thanks again! Mell

January 2016

Naz from caribbean flavas

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

1.5

Functionality

4.0

January 2016

Tha lil app tha could :)

Pros

Touch B - is reallllllllly easy to use....well..there's a bit of a learning curve, and some gettin used to on tha back end to setup everything....but once u dour golden...and it's easy....tha updates are reallly also helpful in ironing out tha bugs etc. We serve our customers faster now with less mistakes than before...with ordering as well as doing up tha tabs etc....we can also do specials and pricing on tha fly.....it's awesome....

Cons

To get tech support has beena friggin nightmare and the most frustrating so for us. I've mentioned this to our rep already...Not being able to speak to someone immediatley makes mme wanna pull my hair out, and then i have to leave a message and wait for a call back, also drives me insane.....because ive goten called back 4 hours AFTER leaving tha message...lunch service was done already, worst yet when i have problems DURiNG service and ther's no help. We've also had problems with printing....and sometimes the orders do no go thru..and we've found this after updataing tha last software..soo not sure about that.

March 2018

Melanie from The Wild Cow

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Touch Bistro is very user friendly and easy to program.

Ease of use. Valuable synthesis of information from sales and labor hours.

Pros

Ease of use (changing menu items, viewing labor hours, etc is very easily done). It's easy for employees to use the basic functions of this program.

Cons

It freezes up frequently and requires that the app is closed and re-opened before it will work again. There's also an annoying delay after orders are sent through, while they're printing in the kitchen, during which time nothing can be done. This only last a few seconds, but a few seconds is too much for a busy restaurant to have a delay every time an order is sent.

December 2017

Katherine from Restaurant

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

This is the 2nd restaurant I've used Touch Bistro. Easy to operate.

Reports, labor, food, remote report etc.....

Pros

Everything makes sense, very user friendly. Servers and bartenders who have never worked with this system can pick up right away, little or no training.

Cons

It does not have the capability of putting in counts on menu items, i.e. starting the night with 8 fish and having the system do the countdown until it's gone.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied December 2017

Hey, Katherine! Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear that this is your second restaurant using TouchBistro and you're finding it easy to use, with little to no training. If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

December 2017

Jeff from RockWood Urban Grill

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2017

Touch Bistro is great to use.

Pros

We really like the use of this software of being able to use it at the table. Items can be sent to get made with out even leaving the table. Very easy to program new items, etc. Very easy to use.

Cons

My biggest issue is the reporting offsite. We log in with the computer at another location, and we don't get to see the same reports. It would be nice if the Date range for the reporting would work for any day or any length of time. Not just weekly for Drill down report.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied December 2017

Hey, Jeff! Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you're finding TouchBistro easy to use and are liking the table side functionality. I bet your customers love the table side experience too! If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

December 2017

Jeremy from PEI Preserve Company

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Works great for our business!

Pros

Everything is easy to set up. And easy to find when using the program. Makes life easy when the dining room is overflowing with customers!

Cons

It was a bit difficult to get some reports off Touchbistro. It crashed a couple times but we only do reports 1-2 times a year so it's not the end of the world.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied December 2017

Hey, Jeremy! Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you're finding TouchBistro easy to setup and use, and that it's making your life easy when your dining room is overflowing with customers (good for you!) If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

November 2017

Dan from Bondfire Restaurant Group

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Great on the front end, cloud reporting not so much

Pros

Ease of use for staff, editing items, inputting orders splitting checks by seat. Rarely crashes. Can search for items easily.

Cons

Cloud reporting mediocre, customer support not great, unable to report discounts by category. iPad based can be nice but must have newer generation iPads since they updated their software so we can longer upgrade the system without buying all new ipads

Response from TouchBistro

Replied December 2017

Hey, Dan! Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear your staff is finding TouchBistro easy to use. If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

August 2017

jens from Port Bistro Pub Trenton Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

TouchBisatro is everything we wanted, needed and more. We are still discovering it's capabilities.

ease of use and functionality are the biggest pluses.

Pros

It's ease of use. New staff literally need a 30 minute tutorial to be functional. We get our daily, weekly and monthly summaries in a snap.

Cons

I'd like to be able to narrow down searches to specific items. the detail is available on times and days, but not on specific menu items. We sometimes need to know if and when specific products sell. It would allow us to plan better.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied August 2017

Hi Jens, 30 Mins worth of training to be functional is amazing!! Not sure how many non TouchBistro POS users can say that! Thanks for the feedback! Mell

October 2017

Evelyne from Simmer Down Cafe

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Worth every penny

Pros

Love everything about this product. Cuts down on kitchen errors because you are not trying to decipher wait staff writing. Tracks inventory so it stops orders of 86'd food. Makes billing so easy, splitting bills, splitting items. I really can't say enough good things about Touch Bistro. Would never have a restaurant again without it.

Cons

The only thing I don't like, and maybe I'm just not doing something right, but, I can't seem to delete ex-employees.

Response from Mell

Replied October 2017

Hi Evelyne, So happy to hear you love the product! In regards to deleting ex-employees, you need to archive them. This can be done in Admin Setting under staff. If you're still finding it frustrating please feel free to give our CS team a call. Thanks again! Mell

December 2017

Mim from Bolivar St BBQ LLC

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Easy to use. We DEPEND on this system. We just setup RevUp to integrate a customer loyalty program

Pros

Cloud reporting and great customer service! I like the ability to keep all reporting in the POS including staff time sheets and other information. I think the reports are great and easy to use, even online as an app on my cell phone to easily manage the day's activities. Setup is easy and upgrades are seamless. We installed a second POS system for overflow it is a great benefit.

Cons

I would like to access the full POS system remotely, not just the cloud.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied December 2017

Hey, Mim! Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you're finding TouchBistro to be easy to use and a dependable tool for your restaurant. If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

December 2017

George from Skagit Valley Food Co-Op

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Excellent product!

TouchBistro is central to our restaurant operation. Our servers are happy with it, and overall administration is easy and effective for our needs.

Pros

TouchBistro is very easy setup and use and is truly designed for restaurant use. The cloud reporting feature and customer support are also excellent.

Cons

The one downside for us is that you can't do any real administrative activity without disrupting service, so you have to do it on one of the iPads outside business hours.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied December 2017

Hey, George! Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you're finding TouchBistro to be very easy to setup and use, and agree with us that TouchBistro is truly designed for restaurant use. If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

April 2017

Adolfo from Margherita Pizza y Vino

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2017

Touchbistro in Mexico

We love the the ease of use that touchbistro gives to our daily operations. The use of iPads in our kitchen and service makes us look professional and outstand above the rest. Our business is very inclined to delivery and we would want more features including this option. For example to save and analyze orders by custumer, how a specific customer orders in a week ir month. Overall great job!

Pros

Ipad integration

Cons

Lack of some features

Response from TouchBistro

Replied April 2017

Hi Adolfo, Thank you for your detailed review! Our product team is always pushing innovation and extending/adding features. Keep a look out for the next update!

December 2017

Marcella from Tori's Bakeshop

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

very versatile for range of businesses, simple to train and use

better real-time numbers and reporting

Pros

iCloud reporting helpful for staying up to date when not onsite.

Cons

old item archiving -- no good system for organizing beyond deleting/hiding items. Should be able to use categories and files.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied December 2017

Hey, Marcella! Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you're finding TouchBistro easy to use and train your staff on, as well as you making good use of our cloud reporting and remote access functionality. If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

January 2016

Shawn from Stonehedge Indoor Golf

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2016

Exceptional tab-splitting functionality and superb customer service!

Pros

We were looking for POS solution that offered enhanced tab-splitting and customer checkout capabilities. Of all the vendor applications we reviewed (and it was an exhaustive search...), TouchBistro was the ONLY one the not only met our needs, but far exceeded them! With the help of TouchBistro, we can now handle any and every checkout scenario customers throw our way. And many thanks to the customer service reps that initially trained our staff and continue to answer questions that come up from time-to-time!

Cons

The only things I would like to see TB expand upon are its reporting and customer relationship management capabilities. Give us the ability to create custom reports and mine the data that is already stored within TB. Cheaper POS systems we reviewed have much more robust reporting options. Give us the ability to store customer information and reporting on customer-based sales (i.e. who are my top customers, who were my top customers that haven't visited recently, etc.). Again, cheaper POS systems offer these features and integrate with 3rd party vendors like Constant Contact and MailChimp.

December 2017

William from Dominic's Italian Grille

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

The ease of setup and use is remarkable

Pros

The ease with which I can manage my content. I also love the Portal and it's ability to get a somewhat realtime snapshot of the business even if I'm not there.

Cons

I'd like to be able to make updates to the content remotely. A way to run the app remotely (and still securely, VPN() would allow me the ability to troubleshoot or just manage things remotely.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied December 2017

Hey, William! Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you're finding TouchBistro easy to use and are enjoying the remote access to real-time business data without having to be on location. If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

December 2017

Mandeep from Angus Burgers and Shakes LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Its a great POS system for restaurant industry.

Great customer service appreciation with how easy going it is.

Pros

The easyness in job to handle every situational things. Its very easy to use for the employees and as well as for the guests to get good service in time.

Cons

Sometimes it just hangs up and get disconnected from the admin which I am not sure why. But overall there is not any issues about the software.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied December 2017

Hey, Mandeep! Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you're finding TouchBistro to be a great POS system for the restaurant industry, and are finding it easy to use for yourself and your employees. If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

September 2017

alejandro from Frida Restaurant

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Awesome

easier to manage my business, easier to train people, in general make my life easier.

Pros

how easy to use it is, all the employees find it easy to use and also its easier to train people with this app. how easier manage my business Touch bistro did.

Cons

Just the some time takes time to comunicate the ipad to the printer and this delay a bit the operation.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied September 2017

Hey Alejandro, Thanks for taking the time out to leave a review! Ease of use is a major priority for us, so we love hearing that staff adapt to the platform quickly! As for the delay - I suggest calling into our CS team so they can trouble shoot. They may be able to find what's causing the delay. Thanks again! Mell

December 2017

Jennifer from Oaken Barrel Pub

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

The best product for Hands on Owners

Owner and user control at your finger tips.

Pros

The main desire for us a business is flexibility. With touchbistro change is at our finger tips every day at time, with easy to use management tools.

Cons

Set up was a hassle, and with electronics comes bugs, but even with those things we have found this was the best option for flexibility of business.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied December 2017

Hey, Jennifer! Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you're finding TouchBistro to the best product for 'hands-on' owners and are enjoying the flexibility our system offers restaurant businesses. If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

December 2017

Jennifer from Over Easy

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Very user friendly

Pros

Easy to use. Easy to follow. Fast system. Easy to make changes to menu items and make price changes. Easy to add staff.

Cons

Reports are limited. I wish we were able to make more detailed reports. For example, I would like to be able to make a report of daily pax count in one report over period of time but system only allows one day at a time. Same would be for revenue.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied December 2017

Hey, Jennifer! Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you're finding TouchBistro so incredibly easy to use, follow, and customize for your needs. If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

December 2017

Leo from 9310088 Canada Inc O/A BQM Roncesvalles

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2017

The application is easy to use, easy configurations with little with low maintenance

Pros

Multiple logins, multiple user access, Easy for people to login. Easy to control and user access with good security.

Cons

Dashboard hoped the dashboard has more features, more analytics, more drills down data. I liked the built-in server reports.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied December 2017

Hey, Leo! Thanks so much for your review. Very happy to hear you're finding TouchBistro easy to use and low maintenance. If there's anything I can do to make your experience even better, please do not hesitate to get in touch.

April 2017

Jianrong from Onoir

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2017

easy to use, overall well functional

Our bartenders are happy about the system. Sometimes the system has error when we delete a table, or switch a table, and perhaps more attention to such areas. It's good if there is a key or bottom for tax only - sometimes we have promotion (such as Groupon) where the meals were prepaid, but guests only need to pay tax, and there should be such a key. Thanks

Pros

easy. value fine

Cons

some function such as adding a pure tax bottom.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied June 2017

Hi Jianrong, Thank you for the honest feedback! TouchBistro POS has a lot of nifty features, including how to handle tax. Our Customer Success team can happily guide you through the steps to activate what you are looking for. Please feel free to reach out to them at your earliest convenience!

August 2017

Devin from BonosBarBQ

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Amazing. Much better than any system we've used in the past.

Pros

It's flexibility. Anything we need as a restaurant to run it can do and if it can't they are already working to fix it and release an update where it can.

Cons

The few times there is an error with something the messages that show up are a bit vague and so it can be hard to know exactly what went wrong.

Response from TouchBistro

Replied August 2017

Hey Devin, So happy to hear that you prefer our system to anything you've used in the past!! We're a pretty flexible bunch :) Thanks again! Mell

Displaying 1 - 50 of 301 reviews