Vend POS Software


 

Vend is a cloud-based point of sale system for retailers of all types and sizes. Vend offers tools to help manage the customer experience, as well as sales, inventory, customer data and more.

Vend is designed to work on various devices including Macs, PCs and iPads, and a dedicated iPad app is available. It can also operate with a range of in-store hardware including receipt printers, barcode scanners and cash drawers. An offline mode allows users to continue selling even if the internet goes down, and automatically resyncs once the system is back online.

Customers can check into a store using a mobile phone and pay using their PayPal account.  Vend can support input with a mouse and keyboard or a touchscreen, and the point of sale screen can be customized for access to popular products or actions. Other features include inventory management, tracking customer information, sales reports and integrations with Shopify.

 

Vend - Vend retail system
 
  • Vend - Vend retail system
    Vend retail system
  • Vend - Sales screen
    Sales screen
  • Vend - Reporting
    Reporting
  • Vend - E-commerce platform
    E-commerce platform
Supported Operating System(s):
Web browser (OS agnostic)

188 Reviews of Vend

 

Start your review of Vend

Click to start
https://www.softwareadvice.com/retail/vend-pos-review/
Software Advice Reviews (95)
More Reviews (93)

Showing 1-20 of 95

Kathleya from Marketing
Specialty: Other specialty retailer
Number of employees: 201-500 employees Employees number: 201-500 employees

November 2018

November 2018

Reviewing Vend

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Vend is best in inventory management system and i always use this also in customer care. This help me a lot and help our department too.

Cons

The cons is demand always internet connection to update you more. Nothing else more.

Review Source
 
 

Sarah Jane from Sunnies Studios
Specialty: Other specialty retailer
Number of employees: 201-500 employees Employees number: 201-500 employees

November 2018

November 2018

Vend Review

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Vend is good in inventory, i always use this app in making reports and inventory. This help me a lot of times.

Cons

The cons i experienced is not saved automatically my work when my computer accidentally shutdown.

Review Source
 
 

Rusty from Epson Philippines
Specialty: Other specialty retailer
Number of employees: 501-1,000 employees Employees number: 501-1,000 employees

November 2018

November 2018

Vend Review

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Vend is good in inventory and retails, this software help me too in my job as being staff engineer.

Cons

What least here for me is, Slow to load and buffering but its still manageable and functional.

Review Source
 
 

Julia from Toyota
Specialty: Other specialty retailer
Number of employees: 51-200 employees Employees number: 51-200 employees

October 2018

October 2018

Vend Review

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

This help me so much in financial management and reporting, So transparent in all data that can understand all my trainees.

Cons

It will project nice and gives a good templates so as of now, there's no cons for this software. It help me a lot.

Review Source
 
 

Micah from Alorica Philippines, Inc
Specialty: Other specialty retailer
Number of employees: 51-200 employees Employees number: 51-200 employees

October 2018

October 2018

Vend Review

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

I say this is wealth of integration, User-friendly, and has a lot of function that other software has.

Cons

So transparency, what i mean they view all even a sensitive data. But its still useful and help me a lot.

Review Source
 
 

Bren from Engineering
Specialty: Other specialty retailer
Number of employees: 201-500 employees Employees number: 201-500 employees

October 2018

October 2018

Vend Review

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

* Easy to use.
* Wealth in integration.
* The support is quick to understand.
* Best customer service.

Cons

* Internet connection to have a better function.
* Experienced some complicated like not loading instantly.

Review Source
 
 

Omarie from K08 Sounds
Specialty: Apparel & fashion
Number of employees: 1 employee Employees number: 1 employee

September 2018

September 2018

I prefer Square POS

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A
Pros

Able to enter a lot of items for the inventory. Very easy to use on the go for small businesses, contractors, etc.

Cons

I’ve used this for my personal business but still prefer to use the Square POS. This one just doesn’t have as many features available and can run clunky

Review Source
 
 

Baldwin from Panda Hobby
Specialty: Toys / hobby shop
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

September 2018

September 2018

A great POS for starters and less tech savvy customers

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

This POS system seems more like a stepping stone. It gets you through the door to start your business but once you grow out of the beginning step you will quickly find the system isn't reliable, lots of crucial functions are missing and worst their customer service is almost useless. Most of the time we file for a support ticket the customer service replies with typical troubleshoot issues that we clearly stated we've done before and waste our time and when it gets to an actual technician they don't know how to fix it. I highly suggest for someone starting to use it to get a feel of what system they will need for their future but not something you will stick with for a long time.

Pros

Easy to use, has lots of functions that other software doesn't come with out of the box. A great start to get your business going. It looks clean and the UI is the nicest looking one so far we've seen. They have a free front display app for a second ipad so you can have a customer facing screen.

Cons

Lacking crucial functions to actually run a business. No real reporting, often system goes down. The system lacks any mass editing features unless you export the database into csv and re import it. Not efficient if you need to adjust tags in large batches because the exported CSV file, all the tags are in a single cell.

The system lacks stability, we have been using this system for more than a year and it's been going down on crucial moments. Right now the system is slow to sync to Vend server causing sales screen and transaction not to be processed. This has costed us many sales specially at crucial times.

Their customer service is great, nice and friendly but virtually useless. Not once has any of our issues been resolved. It was either an issue that resolved itself over time I guess they fixed it on their back end or we have learned to just live with it.

You have to pay for individual cashiers. So if we were to want to do an event and have an additional cashier it would cost a lot more than what it's worth to have an additional cashier.

Reporting is very basic. If you need numbers that for example compare data points of last week's sales vs this weeks sales by day vs by hour to know which day of the week is your strong day and which hour of the day is your peak you can't do it. Unless you do everyone stat as an individual data pull then you can get the stats but there is no clean visual display to arrange the data neatly so more work is to be done.

Very simple reporting such as what do we have in our inventory of type A vs Type B to know what we're lacking in inventory is a many step process to pull which results in more work.

Review Source
 
 

Roselyn from Shivana’s Asian Grocery Shop
Specialty: Convenience store
Number of employees: 1 employee Employees number: 1 employee

August 2018

August 2018

Awesome

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

more likely to refer it to my friends

Pros

Easy to understand and not too complex especially for small business. And cheaper fee. And they offer package and they have more benefits of using it.

Cons

I cant think of any cons as the software itself was easy to use and find it handy. More likely to keep it

Review Source
 
 

Michelle from Nook
Specialty: Gifts
Number of employees: 1 employee Employees number: 1 employee

August 2018

August 2018

Problems every step of the way

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

The in-store point of sale system software is quite good. Easy to set-up and use so far. Plenty of online tutorials available.

Cons

The in-store POS system did not initially sync up stock levels with Vend e-commerce. I had to wait 2 weeks and continually contact support to get that fixed. Once that was fixed, items I had discounted weren't syncing with e-commerce. Sale items were displaying at full price. My latest issue is with my custom domain, which I thought would be fine to use, isn't. Vend doesn't provide SSL certificates so my online store is displaying as not secure. They have no advice for this.

Review Source
 
 

Amogh from Deloitte Consulting US-India Pvt. Ltd.
Specialty: Health & personal care
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

July 2018

July 2018

Super Easy to Use

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A
Pros

Love the cloud services they provide and especially the feature which allows Vend to work even if there is an internet outage.
Some of my colleagues are not techno savvy but they managed to figure it out pretty quick.
Loyalty dollar options also seem interesting and its an optional feature.

Cons

The single browser support makes it risky if and when it gets a bad update. Currently only chrome is supported.
Additional cost for premium phone support irks me because if Im buying the product, the highest level of support should come with that

Review Source

  Response: Lucia , Vend Limited

Date: August 2018

August 2018

 

Hey Amogh, thanks for your review of Vend POS − great to hear that you’re loving Vend’s cloud point of sale software, usability, and offline mode. Vend is fully supported on Google Chrome and Safari, we cannot guarantee that Vend will work as it should on other browsers, some features may work and some may not. Sorry if that’s not ideal for your business setup and appreciate your feedback on this. We highly recommend using Google Chrome for the best performance. Best, Lucia (Vend’s Community Manager).

 
 

James from Technology intelligence Agency
Specialty: Footwear / shoes
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

July 2018

July 2018

So easy to use, even my Grandma could use it.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

love using Vend. Its simplicity allows for quick training of new employees of all technological experience. However, the best feature is the ability to use it during an internet outage. We had this happen a few times where the internet went out, yet we were still able to conduct transactions. With our old POS system, an internet outage meant we had to close until the internet was restored. With Vend, there was no wait. We were still able to process sales and didn’t lose money. However, the lack of Priority Phone Support, while we haven’t yet needed it, is a little disconcerting. Adding this to all of the plans would create a near-perfect system.

Pros

absolutely love the ease of use of Vend. While I myself am rather technologically literate, some of my employees are not. However, because of how easy Vend is to use, they picked up on how to use it within an hour. I do also love the cloud services and their ability to keep running even through an internet outage. I did like that I had the ability to try out the product before purchasing. I realized within minutes that I preferred it so much more than my previous POS system. My favorite aspects are the value and price. You seem to get so much product at such a cheaper price than its competitors. I also liked that we could use our existing cash drawer and receipt printer with Vend. The loyalty dollars option is not something we currently use, but it is nice to know that we could always opt-in.

Cons

Even though I use Google Chrome as my daily web browser, I am not fond of the fact that this is the only browser that works with Vend. If an update breaks Chrome, then I am left without a POS system. I’m hoping that they fix this and allow other browsers to work with the system. I also do not like the fact that I have to pay an additional cost for Premium Phone Support. If I am paying for your product, I should have support that is available at the highest level and available when I need it. Sometimes, something is so important that it can’t wait for an email support response. This is something that definitely needs fixing.

Review Source

  Response: Lucia, Vend Limited

Date: August 2018

August 2018

 

Hey James, we love to hear that retailers love Vend! Thanks for your review of Vend POS − great to hear that training has gone well and that you’ve made good use of our offline mode, it’s really an essential feature for a modern POS. Vend is fully supported on Google Chrome and Safari, we cannot guarantee that Vend will work as it should on other browsers, some features may work and some may not. Sorry if that’s not ideal for your business setup and appreciate your feedback on this. We highly recommend using Google Chrome for the best performance. Best, Lucia (Vend’s Community Manager).

 
 

Christopher from Mr. Clone
Specialty: Farm / ranch supplies
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

July 2018

July 2018

With a free trial its a no lose

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A
Pros

I lose this on a couple facts. Free trial for 30 days. On top of their insanely low pricing per month, this software is relatively easy to use

Cons

Monthly cost, no software to purchase and own with no monthly costs. Monthly costs are very low but still over time if you stick with this company it adds up

Review Source

  Response: Lucia, Vend Limited

Date: August 2018

August 2018

 

Hey Christopher, thanks for your review - you're correct, it's a 'no lose' situation been able to take Vend's 30-day free trial for a spin! We think it's a great way for retailers to see Vend in action and test the software. Vend plans are available on a monthly or annual billing and Vend runs on Mac, PC, and iPad so retailers can get going on hardware that's up to 90% cheaper than outdated legacy POS systems. That's a huge saving for retailers and allows a lot more easier for retailers when it comes to Thanks again for your review. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

 
 

Cheryce from Freelancer
Specialty: Other specialty retailer
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

July 2018

July 2018

Vend is awesome

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Overall this is a good software and I would recommend it for use by retailers as it can be very beneficial to analyze business growth and failure.

Pros

1. It is a web-based application that is accessible from anywhere.
2. You are able to be very detailed with your products (ie colours, SKU, Size, quantity etc) all in one entry
3. The reporting system which is provided is just phenomenal, very detailed.
4. The interface is very user-friendly
5. Customer database that is created is very easy to access
6. Technology for barcode scanner, Bluetooth printers etc is very on point.

Cons

1. Once your subscription expires you no longer have access to your business information.
2. Phone support is not available outside the USA
3. Email correspondences take a very long time and often times the communication is off
4. Can allow editing float amount entered especially by the manager, not cashier privileges.
5. Does allow you to create an actual quotation or estimate but can use the park sale option and void if not necessary.

Review Source

  Response: Lucia, Vend Limited

Date: July 2018

July 2018

 

Hey Cheryce, thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review of Vend POS − great to hear there are so many features and functions of Vend that you're enjoying using! Wonderful to hear that you're finding our reporting phenomenal, that's exactly we love to hear. In regards to subscriptions, you have the option to put your account 'On Ice' for a small monthly fee if you wish to retain the data. In regards to Vend support, sorry to hear you experienced a slow response via email and weren't 100% happy with the response, we've been making some changes in this area to improve a few processes. Phone support is available in all countries on all plans. Hope that helps and do reach out if you need assistance with anything - our team are here to help. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

 
 

Haitham from Maui
Specialty: Sporting goods
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

July 2018

July 2018

POS

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Eady to use if you're only operating a retail store and need a POS system and have an accounting system that can be integrated

Cons

Cant handle complex inventory costing so all the costing per SKU must be outside vend. It would be be great to have a better costing system

Review Source
 
 

Jenni from Furniture Factory Outlet
Specialty: Furniture & home decor
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

June 2018

June 2018

Easy way to sell your products

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support
N/A
Pros

Vend is a great way to sell products of any kind. The ipad app is easy to navigate and you can set up quick keys for some of the products.

Cons

It used to kick me off of my account sometimes and make me sign back in. I havent noticed it doing that in a while though.

Review Source

  Response: Lucia, Vend Limited

Date: July 2018

July 2018

 

Hey Jenni, thanks for your review of Vend POS − happy to hear you're finding it so easy! Sorry to hear you were having a login issue, if that pops up again please don't hesitate to let us know. We're here to help! Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

 
 

Jasper from Per Expressie
Specialty: Bar / nightclub
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

June 2018

June 2018

Vend

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Pros

Vend is a great pos application, it looks and feels very modern, and it's really easy to use for anybody, no matter how technical you are.

Cons

Sometimes it seems to react a bit slower than usually, but this might also be a problem related to our own network

Review Source

  Response: Lucia, Vend Limited

Date: July 2018

July 2018

 

Hey Jasper, thanks for your review of Vend POS! Appreciate your feedback regarding Vend being modern and easy to use, great to hear. If you're still experiencing any delays in speed please submit a ticket with our support team for assistance. Hope you have a great day! Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

 
 

Larry from Great Mattress
Specialty: Other specialty retailer
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

June 2018

June 2018

We grew up with this software because it forced us to follow their business methods. This has helped us on our change over to Light speed retail

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

If Vend had training that worked, it might help. The register part of the program worked well to produce tickets. Vend would send an email to ask us what could be done to improve. I replied with a large list of problems twice but did not get a phone call to ask what they could do to help.

Pros

Vend has the ability to do almost anything, it just is not intitutive in many ways. Vends inventory entry method worked well. They gave a discount for paying ahead.

Cons

Their Layby program(Lay a way)it just was not good. We asked for help and did not get it. Also it would lose sales tickets from time to time. Also the drawer check out did not give all the info you would expect. There were many ways to make things happen and that would confuse people as to how to do something. I think it is good software but just did not fit us as we were at odds with it many days. We never did get it to interface with Quick Books online.

Review Source

  Response: Lucia, Vend Limited

Date: July 2018

July 2018

 

Hey Larry, very sorry to hear that you weren't happy with Vend point of sale software or your experience with our team. Most retailers find Vend very intuitive and easy to learn so it's disappointing to hear you don't feel that way. If you have any specific feedback that you'd like me to pass on to our team you can reach me via email on lucia@vendhq.com. We wish you the all the best for your business. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager).

 
 

MS from Be Inspired Fibres
Specialty: Toys / hobby shop
Number of employees: 1 employee Employees number: 1 employee

June 2018

June 2018

Program is a works in progress and poor communications

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Great range of features and a good simple starter inventory management system , but the program is a works in progress and can be frustrating.

Pros

Neat, simple and easy to use, starter price was competitive. Good inventory management features, which feeds into the POS system, simple reporting and it has the capabilitiy to link to Xero.

Cons

I have had similar problems with others, when VEND update or upgrade the program, which seems like every 2 months, it plays havoc with the data inputting and adding new product, and with VEND, it is imperative that you input the data accurately when you add a new product. Plus, they are not good with communicating that they will be doing an upgrade or making changes to tariffs, which might affect the functionality of the program. I have been trialling the system for a year, and I am rather nervous of enabling the xero integration, as it might not be accurate information that is being fed thru.

Review Source

  Response: Lucia, Vend Limited

Date: July 2018

July 2018

 

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review Vend. Happy to hear that you're finding Vend easy to use and enjoying the range of features, including inventory management. Sorry to hear you've had trouble with an update. Updates are always done to add value to Vend and our team thoroughly research and test all updates before releasing them. Our friendly support team are able to help should you need assistance or have questions about any updates. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

 
 

Debbie from The Wilderness Center
Specialty: Museum / park / zoo
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

June 2018

June 2018

Vend used for a Nature Store

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

I would highly recommend. We are very happy so far with the system. We implemented 5 months ago and we have not had any major problems getting it up and running.

Pros

We took this product on due to the fact we have multiple volunteers who need to use it. After reviewing 12 different systems (yes, I looked at 12 of them!) I chose Vend. The screen is user friendly. Completing purchases is simple. It's incredible easy to find a products. I have trained individuals from age 12 to 85 with success.

Cons

My biggest complaint is the time for customer service. Unfortuntely they are in New Zealand so you must email if you are from the US and wait for a reply. Their replys usually takes till the next day because of the time change but if you can wait, they are really good about giving you what you need.

Review Source
 
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 93


December 2018

December 2018

Vend POS

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

From customer service stand point, they are an amazing company, they will try to accommodate and go above and beyond to help you.

Pros

The system is very easy to learn, the report capability is what we like the most, having the ability to run report to analyze the sales and patterns, is very helpful in planning , buying inventory, since it is capable to also hold inventory, to send emails to alert when inventory is low, is amazing, we love the system for our small store.

Cons

Not much, we had some issues in the beginning with credit card connectivity, but not for any of the system fault, it was the way our store is set up with our internet, once all that got squared away, the system worked perfect.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Courtney from BKE
Number of employees: 51-200 employees Employees number: 51-200 employees

December 2018

December 2018

Vend--POS and Inventory

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Customer service availability and informative, however, not much on they can do solving the restrictions within the platform.

Pros

The idea that inventory system is also housed with point of sale system.

Cons

Very cumbersome to work in--doesn't have the capability as other POS platforms out in the market currently.

Review Source: Capterra
 


December 2018

December 2018

Great inventory management app

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

Really lets you do corporate level things for a smaller scale with inventory management app. Really impressed

Cons

Hardware. Would prefer an ipad setup as opposed to having to buy their whole set up. Takes longer to fix things

Review Source: GetApp
 

Tabitha from SCW LIQUORS
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

October 2018

October 2018

Vend POS

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Customer service is always pleasant and helpful.

Pros

It is very easy to use and train someone to use.

Cons

That they change things without asking if it would benefit my company. Sometimes it does and sometimes it would of better off left alone.

Review Source: Capterra
 

DUSTIN from Tobacco and Hops, LLC
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

October 2018

October 2018

Perfect POS for Inventory Intensive Retail Stores

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Vend has been a great POS system for our retail store. It's register IPAD app is quick to learn and easy to train our employees on. The Inventory and Reporting system makes the management of our business so much simpler. It integrates well with multiple 3rd party programs, and receives regular updates from the company. Support has always been quick to help me out as well with the limited issues we've had. I would like to continue to see some improvements to the loyalty and rewards aspect, however these are not deal breakers.

Pros

The Inventory Management system is leaps and bounds above other POS systems we've look at. This is by far the main driver behind why we selected Vend as our POS system for our Cigar Store. Our small retail store can easily hold 10,000+ SKUs and we needed a system that could easily manage that. The reporting system is also very robust allowing us to quickly produce reports, or export data to allow us to measure sales trends, and make informed buying decisions.

Cons

There are some limits to the loyalty system and discount aspects, however they have improved consistently with regular updates. We have a VIP Club system and I'd like to have a higher loyalty tier system for them, however there isn't a universal way to do that.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Darrel from UPC Seguin of Greater Chicago
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

October 2018

October 2018

Awesome POS system

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Far fewer mistakes than previous POS system. Incredibly easy to learn, even for people frightened of computers. We also have a sister business that is totally different......but we're able to integrate our loyalty program using VEND, and it's easy for each business to personalize the system.

Pros

I spent several months reviewing POS to replace our existing system---being cloud based and integrating with Shopify were absolute musts. I had narrowed it down to two, Vend being one. Since we are a non-profit they gave us a discount, which clinched the deal, but Vend also had acouple features we liked that the other one didn't. Once it was approved, I spent a month or so converting all of our products (about 3000), customers (over 3000) and vendors (a few hundred) into the new system, using CSV files, as well as changing the way departments and categories worked----much more closely to how we operate than our old system allowed. Five days after we went live, I went on a ten day vacation to Europe. All my employees said it was really easy to learn and navigate (and the few questions they had were quickly answered by their 24/7 help). They're are always making improvements and updates.

Cons

Their e-commerce platform comes as part of our package, but at the time we signed up (two years ago), it was still pretty plain, so we're still paying for a separate Shopify account (it integrates quite well with Shopify, so I haven't been in a hurry to switch over anyway). At some point I'll probably take a closer look and see if switching over makes sense.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Shaun from The Fluffy Baby Boutique
Number of employees: 1 employee Employees number: 1 employee

September 2018

September 2018

Great POS For Small Business

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Great POS system for a small business, especially if need to get up and running fast.

Pros

Very easy POS to get up and running fast.

Cons

E-commerce portion could use some work, but not bad.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Melinda from Sweet Purseonality
Number of employees: 1 employee Employees number: 1 employee

September 2018

September 2018

Great POS for Small Businesses!

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Pros

I love that it’s affordable for small start up businesses. If business is slow you can freeze your account for five dollars and resume the software when you can afford the monthly payment. Also, it has tons of great features. It syncs with PayPal & QuickBooks. I can do layaway transactions and gift cards. I love that my inventory is trackable and I have access to end of the day sales reports.

Cons

The software is relatively easy to use but I had to go to you tube to view quite a few tutorials before I got started. However, their tutorials are great and easy to understand.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Chase from Play.Wash.Pint.
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

September 2018

September 2018

A great POS for operating small businesses

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

We have been using Vend since day one because of it’s ease of use and adapability. Our staff are always impressed with how easy Vend is to use. We recommend Vend for store sales but if you start selling beer there are better softwares. Vend is great for small bussiness that sell merchandise!

Pros

• Ease of use
• Customer Database
• Pictures of products
• Easily discount

Cons

Not really a con but we started selling beer during park hours and with such a high volume in sales and parked sales the system would crash but not often.

Review Source: Capterra
 

Michael from Eagle I Courier and Commerce
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

September 2018

September 2018

Great product

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

So far great product. Like how is it was to setup and the service of having someone walk you through the whole process.

Pros

I like the use of it adding products and all the intergrations it has. Very easy to setup and use to keep track of things.

Cons

Price went up. Big price increase was not pleased.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Vend, Vend Limited

Date: September 2018

September 2018

 

Hey Michael, thanks for your positive review of Vend POS. It's wonderful to hear you're finding Vend great to use and you were pleased with your set up. We've recently made some changes to our pricing structure so that we can continue investing in and developing Vend even further. We've already made some significant updates, such as an extensive promotions suite, big changes to our inventory platform, more powerful reporting and real time analytics. We hope these features can be used in your business and help you grow and run exceptional retail. If you have any questions around Vend please reach out to us directly. Best wishes, Vend's Community Manager.

 

MARTINA from CLAY CORNER STUDIO
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

September 2018

September 2018

Picture Perfect POS

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Vend POS has made my life so much easier. I like being able to search, order, plan from home and not have to go into the store to do work. I also enjoy that I can search almost anything.

Pros

This POS system is easy to use and easy to teach new employees. I love being able to access it from anywhere and being able to get information I need for planning and ordering.

Cons

None as of yet. We have been happy. We have had no real issues and anything that has come up has been easily solved.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Vend, Vend Limited

Date: September 2018

September 2018

 

Hey Martina, thanks for your review of Vend POS. This is the kind of feedback we absolutely love to hear. We're so pleased to hear you're finding Vend easy to use, train your employees on, and that Vend POS is making your life easier. If you do have any questions or problems please don't hesitate to reach out to our friendly team - we're here to help you run the world's best retail! Best wishes, Vend's Community Manager.

 

Michelle from Healing Hollow
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

September 2018

September 2018

A great Change

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

We now have stats of everything. Inventory is awesome and easy to enter. Keeping track of things is easy. Staff use this system without any issue.

Pros

The intuitiveness of it makes it easy to train staff to use. Adding products and tracking is amazing. As a POS it knows exactly what retailers would need.

Cons

Can’t change a payment method if you hit the wrong one causing issues at end of day. Has messed up inventory/costs 2-3 x and we lost our work.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Vend, Vend Limited

Date: September 2018

September 2018

 

Hey Michelle, thanks for your review of Vend POS! Great to hear that you're finding Vend so easy to use and train your staff. Sorry to hear that hitting the wrong payment method caused some issues ¿ if you'd like to give us more details on what happened so we can look into that please open a ticket with our friendly support team. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

 

Katie from South Puget Sound Habitat for Humanity
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

September 2018

September 2018

Convenient straightforward way to keep track of inventory

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality

It's easy to inventory, keep track of things, and search. It's very user friendly and has many functions making it a versatile and easy to use program for anyone.

Pros

Vend has a great search function making it easy and convenient to find anything! It's also a very straightforward program, very user friendly. You can add new items easily anytime.

Cons

To be honest I have not found anything negative when I've used Vend.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Vend, Vend Limited

Date: September 2018

September 2018

 

Hey Katie, thanks for such a great review of Vend POS! If you ever need any help or have any questions please let our friendly team know :) Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

 

Jim from Simply Vapor

July 2018

July 2018

Completely streamlined the way we do business

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Thorough reporting, cost effective, reduces our workload. Easier management of inventory.

Pros

I absolutely love the multi-store functionality of Vend. We used to have to create multiple transfers because our previous software was not cloud based and did not communicate between stores. It was a huge headache to manage two completely separate inventories. Vend solved this problem and cut our work load in half. Our inventory counts are now far more accurate and easy to facilitate.

The interface is extremely user friendly, and new employees typically need very minimal training to become proficient completing transactions. The reporting is absolutely fantastic and thorough. The thorough reporting has allowed us to order product far more efficiently and accurately than before.

The price is reasonable, the customer support is fantastic.

Cons

I really can't think of much negative to say about Vend. We have had a great experience with Vend, and all of the issues that we have had were successfully resolved in short order by the outstanding on-boarding and support teams.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Vend, Vend Limited

Date: July 2018

July 2018

 

Hey Jim, thank you for your glowing review of Vend POS! We're delighted to hear that you're so pleased with Vend point of sale software and that you've had a great experience with our team. Have a wonderful day! Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

 

Rebekah from Avenue Yarns
Number of employees: 2-10 employees Employees number: 2-10 employees

June 2018

June 2018

We use Vend to run our retail yarn store.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

It is a robust and fairly flexible program that keeps our store running, and provides most of the financial reporting that we need.

Pros

It is fairly simple to learn and use on a daily basis. It can handle a lot of SKUs. The customer phone support is very good. It integrates with our online store that uses Shopify.

Cons

It doesn't sort sales by payment method. We cannot get all of the historical reports that we would like to access. It is not easy to print reports directly from Vend.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Vend, Vend Limited

Date: July 2018

July 2018

 

Hey Rebekah,

Thanks for your review of Vend. Really great that you're finding it easy to use on a daily basis. Thanks for your feedback on reporting, I've passed that on to our team. Feedback from retailers helps us make Vend even better so thanks for taking the time to share yours with us!

Best,

Lucia
(Vend's Community Manager)

 

Jim from OLLY Corporation

June 2018

June 2018

Excellent platform and easy to use.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

Great cost effective software for our retail business. Our associates find it easy to use and has regular updates that are easy to implement.

Cons

Needs more enterprise like features for the back-end inventory management. Some more mobile functionality with payment options would be better.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Vend, Vend Limited

Date: June 2018

June 2018

 

Hey Jim, thanks for taking the time to review Vend POS. Appreciate your feedback and happy to hear that you and your associates are finding Vend easy to use! If you have any specific feature requests around inventory or would like to let us know what kind of mobile functionality you'd like to see with payment options, please let us know using this link https://support.vendhq.com/hc/en-us/requests/new?ticket_form_id=1375. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

 

Jennifer from Glassfusion and Pottery Too!

June 2018

June 2018

Vend is user-friendly and has been and easy transition for myself and my employees.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support
Pros

I LOVE the fact that I can see a photo of the product, since my DIY store is very visually based. I like that it is so easy to add or delete users. This helps when I have staff change and I have to take off employees to add new ones.
I am a very organized person, so the folders really help, along with the color coding of each folder as well.

Cons

I would really like to have more features for the Admin position. I would like to be able to customize the features for what an Admin position would be. I want my manager to be able to add products and be able to do inventory. Also it would be really nice to be able to void out a transaction that has been closed if a mistake was done, but it seems like I have to refund the items first. Sometimes, customers just decide they don't want to do a project after we have done the transaction. It's rare, but it happens.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Vend, Vend Limited

Date: June 2018

June 2018

 

Hey Jennifer, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Great to hear that you're loving so many of Vend's features. In terms of customising Amin roles and permissions, you can do this with Vend's Advanced User Permissions which is available on some of our plans. Good news regarding voiding sales ¿ this is really easy to do in the Sales Ledger. Go to https://support.vendhq.com/hc/en-us/articles/227008567-Using-the-Vend-Sales-Ledger and choose 'Voiding Sales' at the top to find out how. If you need any further assistance or have any questions please don't hesitate to reach out to our friendly support team. We're here to help! Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

 

Norma from Est. 2013 Stellium Jewellery
Number of employees: 11-50 employees Employees number: 11-50 employees

June 2018

June 2018

Its easy to use in a variety of laptops and Ipad.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

I can record what are my weekly sales, to give my employees comision of their sales, to check inventoroy.

Pros

That I can open it from a different location and different device. Its user friendly. I can send email invoice to clients. I can accept partial payments.

Cons

Sometimes makes changes that im not aware of. Sometimes dont get custumer service. Sometimes I dont find in the frequently asked questions how to do some options.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Vend, Vend Limited

Date: June 2018

June 2018

 

Hey Norma, thanks for your review for Vend POS! Happy to hear that you're pleased with Vend's functionality and ease of use - that's what we love to hear! Vend's customer support team are available 24/7 so if you ever need assistance please don't hesitate to reach out. If you would like to give us some more specific feedback you can submit a ticket with our friendly support team here: https://support.vendhq.com/hc/en-us/requests/new?ticket_form_id=1375. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager).

 

Hines from Freelance Web Developer

June 2018

June 2018

I'm currently operating three locations, and Vend has been helpful so far

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

The simplicity to set up the inventory does save our staff a lot of time. The integration for the receipt printer, payment terminal, and cash drawer is also pretty simple. And if you run into any issues, the customer supports were also quick to respond. If you are an entrepreneur who just opened shop, I'd recommend going with Vend.

Pros

It's simple to setup and if you have any questions, you can usually call customer supports who pick up pretty quickly. This product will help you conduct transactions, manage inventory, and set promotions. I'm sure there are more features, but those were the ones I mostly use, and so far I have not encountered any major issues.

Cons

I wish there were more options on payment services than just Vantiv. Also, since this is cloud base, it will take a while for all your products to sync. For instance, if you're uploading new product and plan to do a count, I'd suggest waiting about 5 minutes for the upload to be completed before setting up the inventory counts to be safe.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Vend, Vend Limited

Date: June 2018

June 2018

 

Hey Hines, thanks for your detailed review of Vend POS! Great to hear that you've found Vend simple to set up and run, and that Vend is saving your staff time. In regards to payment services, Vend has a number of integrated payment options depending on your location. For example, in the USA, you can use Vantiv, Square or PayPal. For more information go to www.vendhq.com/tour/accept-payments. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to reach out. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager)

 


June 2018

June 2018

Great cloud based software. Very friendly for businesses looking to grow.

Ease-of-use

Functionality

Product Quality

Customer Support

Value for Money

Ease-of-use
Usability
Functionality
Functionality
Product Quality
Quality
Value for Money
Value
Support

Better overall control of my entire retail business and its 5 locations. Vend should consider adding time clock functions for users to clock in and out, and to create new sales information from those users like sales per hour, etc.

Pros

Inventory tracking features. Being able to see all outlets inventory at the same time. Inventory transfers are very intuitive and easy to perform, same with stock orders.

Cons

Pricing and sale discount features aren't easy to apply for a membership type of system. Updating Price Books is a hassle as its current layout for each price book is not easy to navigate if one product's price needs to be changed inside of a price book with hundreds of products.

Review Source: Capterra

  Response: Vend, Vend Limited

Date: June 2018

June 2018

 

Hey there, thanks for your review of Vend POS. We agree Vend's the best point of sale for businesses looking to grow! If you're wanting to add extra staff management functionality, check out the Vend + Deputy integration. Deputy is a cloud based all-in-one employee scheduling, time & attendance, tasking and communication platform that you can connect to Vend for greater insight on sales trends and labor metrics. You can also use Deputy to schedule staff based on Vend sales data, report on staff wage vs sales percentage to optimize team performance, and the Deputy iPad kiosk for clock in/out is the perfect companion for Vend iPad app. You can find out more about that here www.vendhq.com/product-add-ons. For running discounts we suggest using Vend's new Promotion features, which will save you time, let you easily customize your offers, and help you move inventory. You can find out more here:www.vendhq.com/whats-new-in-vend/vend-promotions. Best, Lucia (Vend's Community Manager