About When I Work

When I Work is a cloud-based employee scheduling solution that helps organizations track time and attendance, create and edit employee schedules, add new jobs to the calendar, review timesheets and fill shifts.

When I Work lets users manage schedules and track time on mobile devices using native and browser-based apps. Employees get mobile alerts when their schedules change and can request shift changes or time off using the app. Managers are notified when employees make time-off requests, and they can approve them online. Users can import employee data from spreadsheets or CSV files and help avoid schedule conflicts. Communication methods such as group email services and custom texting are also supported.

When I Work integrates with payroll prov...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Web browser (OS agnostic)

823 Reviews of When I Work

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.48 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(514)

514

4 stars

(228)

228

3 stars

(55)

55

2 stars

(15)

15

1 stars

(11)

11

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 823 results

July 2019

Trish from Pet Resort Dallas

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great software for teams of all sizes

I've been using this software for 5 years, first as an employee then as an employer. Ease of use for both parties is fantastic and it's well worth paying for to save the time. When I change places of business, if I have a choice, I will choose When I Work again and again.

Pros

- Shift templates, makes scheduling a lot easier - The ability to copy and paste any shift, even faster than clicking and choosing - Simple to add and remove employees - App is fairly easy to use - Time clock is awesome, easy to use

Cons

- Looking at the full staff schedule on a particular day can be tedious. - For those making schedules, it's so much easier to do on a computer - In order to have a printed schedule, it downloads the PDF which you then have to print. I wish this printed right off the website.

Reasons for Choosing When I Work

The hourly staff scheduling that comes with Gingr leaves a LOT to be desired and has a lot of catching up to do to even be basically useful.

Response from When I Work

Replied July 2019

Hi Trish, Thank you for taking the time to review When I Work, and your feedback is appreciated! We are always looking for ways to make improvements and appreciate users like you that provide feedback so we can enhance and improve When I Work! Best, Amanda

March 2020

Erin from Born Colorado Brewing

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Scheduling made simple

Overall we have loved using When I Work. It makes scheduling seamless and reduces the amount of time we spend on employee schedules. We also really love the reminders and text alerts as it makes it easy to communicate with our team quickly when things change.

Pros

When I Work is so easy to use, it is simple to add employees, great for creating shift templates and the chat features and shift drop applications make changing the schedule simple for employees. As a manager these features are awesome as they reduce the amount of time that I spend re-working the schedule.

Cons

The only challenge we have faced is that we don't have access to the task list as we don't pay for this version of the application. We would love to try it out to see if it is a good value add for us.

Reasons for Choosing When I Work

We liked how easy it was to use, and how many add ons there are included with the basic account.

Response from When I Work

Replied March 2020

Hi Erin - Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a lovely review! I'm so happy to hear features we offer like Shift Swaps & Drops and WorkChat have been so useful for you. It's awesome to hear that scheduling has gotten easier as well! We'd be happy to discuss our Tasks feature and see what options are available for you. Feel free to submit a ticket at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ so we can assist! Again, thanks so much for this lovely review! Kindly, Adrianne

August 2020

Elexciss from DECIEM

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Cosmetics

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Great and Easy to Use

Overall, it's great. Since we have a rotating weekend and work from home schedule, everyone is able to see very clearly/quickly/easily where everyone is, who is in on what day. We didn't have any tools we were using prior to this, so the fact that we haven't changed it is a testament to it's ease of use.

Pros

It's great to be able to see my department schedule in one place. The ease of adding and removing shifts, the ability to preview or schedule ahead of time before publishing is also incredibly useful as we move into the holiday seasons.

Cons

Since this is shared across multiple retail stores and in-office teams, it found it odd that I couldn't just focus on one department. I don't need visibility to other teams, other staff. I occasionally would get an email about someone's vacation request that had nothing to do with my team.

Response from When I Work

Replied August 2020

Hi Elexciss, Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review. I can understand how being able to view other teams' schedules may not be useful. The Supervisor role is limited to viewing only schedule(s) that they are assigned to and may be helpful access level for your profile. Here is a guide that outlines each access level in greater detail and how to change an access level if you'd like to take a look: https://help.wheniwork.com/articles/user-access-privileges-computer/ Thanks again for the review! Please don't hesitate to reach out to us at https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/ if you have any questions. Best, Anna

November 2019

Elizabeth from PFC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Accounting

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

1.0

November 2019

MISSING BASIC FUNCTIONS!

Overall, we feel very let down with the simple but IMPORTANT missing features. Having spent time to setup two other client accounts with WIW, and made two training videos. WASTE OF TIME! But that's the chance you take, right? Vetting doesn't always go well and we found a work around for the PTO issue, but the timesheet submittal issue is a deal breaker. We are not going to setup a side system to verify that everyone has completed their timesheets and track history for employees submitting for review and accuracy. This needs to be a function of the app.

Pros

Interface is simple and provides an organized structure that is responsive. Inviting and adding employees is automated.

Cons

Your employees cannot "turn in" or "submit" their timesheets! There is no way to know or have them verify that what they have entered is ready for review. A mgr has to chase down each employee to verify they have finished, or have a side system of notices, or double tracking. Employees cannot enter PTO after the fact, they can only REQUEST PTO for future dates. If a company is using the timesheet function to have employees enter their time, breaks, PTO, etc, there are many limitations that require managers to do additional work. For instance, if an employee has an unexpected family emergency for two days, they cannot request PTO after those days are past. So how does PTO get entered for those days? Somehow the employee has to communicate with the mgr to enter it for them! Very simple but integral functions that are important to a timesheet app that are missing!! When giving feedback to WIW about these missing features, we were told that it was fine for us to move to another app since WIW wasn't a good fit. In other words, they are not open to feedback for improvement.....like it or leave.... We are leaving and taking the two clients we already setup on WIW trials to another platform, along with the 5 other clients that were waiting for the results of our trial run. All of which would have been paid subscriptions for WIW!

Reasons for Choosing When I Work

Interface was appealing.

Response from When I Work

Replied November 2019

Hi Elizabeth, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and provide your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you did not find When I Work to be a good fit for your team. We do appreciate hearing more about what features are most important to you as we use customer feedback to guide future developments. If you have any other questions or feedback to share, please let us know by submitting a ticket here: https://help.wheniwork.com/submit-a-ticket/. Our Customer Care team would be happy to help. Thank you for your time and thoughts. Best, Kate

September 2020

Shannon from Zocale

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

When I Work

It is great to use if you do not have may employees. The more employees you have the more it will cost. I loved the time clock feature and that employees can check in remotely. Although a lot of the other features you have to upgrade for. It is not the most user friendly.

Pros

I originally downloaded this as a time clock to track employee hours, it does that and much more. I like that you are able to set an admin so it is difficult for employees to change things.

Cons

It takes time to figure out how to use it and you do not get that much with the free version. If you want more features you will have to pay.

Reasons for Choosing When I Work

The free version gave me what I needed and other products cost money for that.

Response from When I Work

Replied September 2020

Hi Shannon - Thanks for taking some time to share a review with us! I'm happy to hear that our free features help meet your workplace needs and that various access levels have allowed you to manage your team with more accountability! Again, thanks for the review! Kindly, Adrianne