User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(123)

123

4 stars

(37)

37

3 stars

(3)

3

2 stars

(4)

4

1 stars

(5)

5

  • Pros

  • "I love the functionality of the software, from the writing process to the use of the app, its all seamless"

  • "This software is super user-friendly and is quick and easy for booking events from beginning to finish in one sitting. "

  • "Easy to use! I have been using this software for our private events for over 2 years now. Its so user friendly and i can have an Event BEO created within minutes. I would recommend to everyone. "

  • Cons

  • "It works well for event booking, but we have tried to use it for catering and offsite events and the platform doesn't support that as well."

  • "some hiccups but always dealt with in a timely manner"

  • "There are small bugs and the (incredibly rare) outage, but it’s always understandable and quickly fixed. "

Browse Gather Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 172 results

December 2017

Robin from In Good Spirits - The Gladly and Citizen Public House

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Wow! This was a lifesaver.

TIME! I have recommended this product to at least 4 companies and I know two have signed up. The benefit I get is that my guests can see their proposal in real time and it's speedy so contracts can get signed quickly.

Pros

I love how user friendly this software is and how it is so easy to navigate. I like how we can generate a report with multiple pages at one time. The filtering options make it very convenient for me to review each of the restaurants at a single time.

Cons

It's a small thing...but when I am in a booking and I want to change some contact information on a booking contact, I have to go to another screen, which is fine, but I can't go right back to the booking I was working on. I have to find the booking again in the big list. BUT, everything else works so great for us.

July 2019

Kathryn from Ruth's Chris Uptown

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Gather is the ONLY program for me!

I am saving so much time using this software with clients. Half the time it used to take me to send contracts.

Pros

Gather is the best software to use for private dining, the ease of use is like no other! You can use it on the app, computer, tablet etc... it is very easy to develop files to save on the software and send contracts to clients. Once you train your staff their are very little questions that follow because of the ease of use with this product. Clients also love it because it leaves less back and forth with contracts and they can do everything they need from the form you send them. The software also works with your email and you're notified on the home screen and via our work email. They're constantly upgrading and using new integrations as well.

Cons

This is not a con because I don't know if this is possible, but if Gather could find a way to integrate with Open Table so contracts update to that software it would be amazing. I am not a computer programmer so I have no idea if that's possible, but really their are no cons with Gather.

Reasons for Choosing Gather

It really is the ease of use!

April 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Gather Rocks for Event Planning!

From the get-go, the Gather team has been a pleasure to work with. Their representatives were very well informed and knew their products, helping me make a decision to switch over to them. They helped me set up the program, and input all of the information, and they respond almost immediately any time I have a question.

Pros

This program has turned our event planning into a very easily streamlined business. It is so easy to book groups, send menus, send invoices, and even collect payment. The calendar portion makes it to where I can have my entire staff have access to seeing when dates are booked, without them seeing any other details, so they don't have to come to me to ask if a date is available. It also makes it very easy to track clients and to use as a database.

Cons

There are just a couple tweaks that could be made to make the mobile app a little more user friendly, but all in all, it is a great program.

Reasons for Choosing Gather

Gather streamlined everything into one program, and made it worth the investment.

August 2017

Timothy from Zenith Vineyard

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Functionality

1.0

August 2017

Extremely bad customer service, buggy software

Even though we gave them notice of cancellation after about 9 months they have twice charged our card for renewals which are not valid.

Pros

Generally the contract feature was fine. We liked executing contracts on line even though the contract tool did not have all of the client info required

Cons

Regarding our disappointment with Gather I would point to the following – all of which I have reflected to your support people and none of which have been acted on: Your IOS app seems to be able to send messages to clients and it does seem to be able to send templates but not free-form messages. Yet it often leads the user to believe a message has been sent when it has not About 45 days ago new inquiries stopped showing up in your new messages list – your support people insisted this was not a change but it was. It seems logical that new leads would be the most important new messages I asked you to make all the numbers and metrics on your Home page hyperlinked, but you have not. If I see I have two new leads I can click on that number and it takes me to the new leads. If I see I have one new contract signed, the numeral “1” is not hyperlinked and I have to search for the new signed contract. It is difficult or impossible to add a second client contact name but in the wedding business it is pretty normal to have at least two client counterparties. Yes I know about the “onsite” contact but that is not a default email recipient. Look at the confusion that appears in some proposals. Your proposals are not properly itemized and clients do not seem to notice that I have attached a “BEO” which is not a term I could define for you. Look at both “xxx” and “xxx” as examples of proposals where they thought we got the price wrong but they don’t see the security deposit because it is not itemized in the proposal. It is completely ridiculous that the client could sign an e-contract without being forced to enter and validate their address, phone, full and correct name, etc. Our normal course is we get a contract signed and then we chase down the additional information required to actually have a contract with the Zenith Additional Information form. This is cumbersome and probably not legally defensible. I want the client to execute the contract having filled in and validated their complete contact info

February 2020

Anna from Etcetera Etcetera Restaurant

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Gather

It can do multiple things by partnering with other platforms/marketplace feature and it is a simpler process to create a BEO.

Pros

It has a marketplace feature which can create a profile for your restaurant and private space for other planners and clients to view your venue.

Cons

I can not put a time table where the menus are being created. There is no way to highlight the menus and make the font larger.

Reasons for Choosing Gather

The patience that the account manager had with us and the ability to share other users who switched from Tripleseat to Gather.

July 2019

Heather from Caviar & Bananas

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Review of Gather software.

Being able to check in on other/all locations Speed of producing proposals to send to clients.

Pros

Use of templates and ease of data transferring within system, reports, etc. Customer service is on point! 'live' edits

Cons

Not being able to change titles of some items. Being more in line for full service and not catering how we do. Not being able to save locations for deliveries with notes. Having to export items to excel to get reports Not having a 'product mix' report of menu items

August 2019

Liz from Empire Eats

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Gather rocks!

Gather has so many benefits for the guests, myself, and my team. The real-time updating while the guest refreshes the page is the best. My guests LOVE the confetti when they approve BEOs on Gather.

Pros

I love using Gather for the ease of everything from creating contacts to confirming final guest counts.

Cons

My only complaint about Gather is the inevitable few and far between glitches with occasional product updates. The issues are always resolved quickly, and the customer service is top-notch!

July 2019

Casey from Restaurants

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Gather is Great!!

I would rate a 10/10, really the best booking system I have used.

Pros

This software is super user-friendly and is quick and easy for booking events from beginning to finish in one sitting.

Cons

When doing updates it does tend to time out and freeze but Gather reps always send out emails explaining what is going on which is always a great communicator!

July 2019

Kristen from 5 Church Charleston

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Gather Review

Pros

Its very easily navigable, well-organized, great customer service. You can tell this was created by people in the events industry, it truly saves time wasted on forms, housekeeping items, and allows that time to be used to create more sales. The customer service is quick and I have noticed they truly take suggestions into consideration when bettering the product.

Cons

It still will put emails in clients junk folders, I let clients know this but it definitely creates room for missed sales.

July 2019

Mandy from Timacuan Golf & Country Club

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Gather Changed The Game For Us

Pros

The simplicity and ease of use has been a huge game changer for us. Prior to using Gather, our entire team worked out of manila folders to keep track of our events - very old school. Now we are able to communicate and work much more effectively and as a result have both increased our business and made our clients much happier.

Cons

There is a lot to learn in the beginning but ultimately it was totally worth it for us.

Reasons for Choosing Gather

Gather seemed much more all-inclusive and modern while Tripleseat leaved a bit to be desired when it came to showcasing what we are really capable of.

May 2019

Jenny from Ramble Creek Events, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Indispensable Program!

The customer service team is always very efficient and timely as well as friendly. We couldn't run our business without Gather. Earlier in our development we considered other software geared toward events, but they seemed to specialize on only one aspect or two at a time. With Gather we can customize our menu making it so easy for our whole team to update a proposal at any given moment.

Pros

Our team loves how each client has his/her own customer portal. It is fairly easy to change any details at any time. It is also imperative for us to be able to send an approval request to each client at the time of solidifying details for an event. Really helps us to ensure our team can execute the event flawlessly.

Cons

We wish that Gather was able to track any changes made by one of our team members so that when a change occurs, we can know exactly who made it and why... Or that there was specific place for a team member to track changes in the portal. Also, we wish that there was a way to approve each specific section instead of just an over all proposal. Our clients are dealing with TONS of wedding details (not always through us) and they have a lot on their minds.

Reasons for Choosing Gather

See above.

September 2017

Tabitha from Holy Hog BBQ

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2017

Gather has made my proposal writing 100% better than when I had to write them manually using word.

Quick & easy creation of bookings. Fast reaction updates with existing bookings. Immediate updates across the entire booking and all of its documents. Superior customer service.

Pros

We are a restaurant with a huge catering business and this software was designed for an on site caterer with event rooms versus everything being off site like our business model. I am looking forward to the modifications in the future that close the gap on the two concepts better. It has made proposal writing a dream! I love that everything is live across the entire booking with a click of the mouse. The customer service is unbelievable! Everyone is always so pleasant & receptive with all of my questions, comments, concerns & suggestions. The mobile app is great and we want to use it more but the team communication alert email doesn't function on mobile which renders it useless to our team. The reporting seems to constantly improving but we can not connect it to our system so we do not currently use it but I look forward to a day when we can. I absolutely love all of the filtering throughout the entire program and how there are multiple ways to find a previous booking. The calendar is my favorite view and I am looking forward to beginning to use the task function shortly. I have created many many menu templates which is superb but would like to copy one from an actual booking as well. Overall, I completely understand that this is meant for more formal venue catering so I am just grateful that I am able to utilize it at the level that I can for corporate/off site catering. It is so quick & easy and I just cant believe how effective it is to update for a client. Great job!

Cons

The biggest issue with Gather for us is that it does not report to our inventory/reporting system. We have to manually ring everything into our Revel POS system in order to capture an accurate product mix. Basically this means that this software is really only for me to create the proposal and our comptroller must recreate everything in another program. Huge waste of time but a necessary evil for me to have this valuable tool to do my job. I wish that there were more templates for multiple sections including but not limited to the notes sections. I find myself copy & pasting my own words dozens of times a day. I would like to see the lead be able to be customized because I have to ask a set series of additional questions before I may even begin a proposal. It would be really helpful to copy & paste emails into the message section to be able to assure an accurate add. I think that it is important to add a confirmation to the client that their CC info has been added correctly. I get MULTIPLE emails a week asking if we are all set since they do not get a confirmation. Please finalize the condensed versions that you have been toying with. Please go back to the notification to COMPLETE the gratuity, 50% miss it. Lastly, add the onsite contact info to the CHEF BEO. We use that version for the driver because it is a cleaner version to pack the van with. The regular BEO is only sent to the client with the proposal because it has too much going on for the delivery pack list. Thanks!

April 2019

Dan from Joey The Cat

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Excellent Software with a Few Frustrating Quirks

It has been an overall success at easily keeping our client focused. Instead of using many different software apps, booking, payment etc, it creates a single portal and eliminates many questions we were faced with prior to implementing. Sales tracking and other features are simple without the hassle of Salesforce integration.

Pros

The Event Portal feature. Each event having its own specialized url that allows the client to see everything in a very organized fashion makes the process of converting a quote to a sale much easier. The integration of credit card processing (we used Stripe) keeps the client from using other options (like Square) that would force them away from the portal.

Cons

Trying to keep you locked into their email ecosystem. The email integration is terrible. I wish they would support a Gmail integration. If I want to get my client to approve a proposal - they have to be emailed through their own email system that is not as user friendly and completely breaks the cohesiveness and intent of the software when I have two different email chains happening (which the client flips between without realizing). Make the event approval option available without having to email them please. In addition, they will charge you for leads from Yelp, even if they don't book! It is a very shady practice that needs to stop. Focus on good software, not making money off lead conversions from third party lead sites please.

July 2019

Kerianne from Rise and Shine Catering

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Very Happy Gather User

We have been using Gather for a few years now and it has definitely made our day-to-day much easier, more organized and allowed us to focus on more things to grow the business. Their customer service is very quick at responding and helpful in finding a solution to questions that have come up.

Pros

Gather has helped streamline our business by providing a fast and easy way to communicate with our clients in a clean professional format. We use the "Copy" feature very frequently as we have many repeat clients. The live update feature while we are on the phone with clients is very helpful and many clients comment how nice that is.

Cons

We wish we could customize the font size on the Chef BEO. We use the Chef BEO as orders in our kitchen and it would be beneficial for us to be able to make certain items stand out more. We find ourselves directing many clients to the "Print Summary" hyperlink on the Summary of Charges page. If there was a way for this button to stand out as the full breakdown/itemized invoice that would be very helpful.

Reasons for Choosing Gather

Gather stood out to us with the clean layout and ease of use. It works best for the way we communicate with our clients as well as with our catering kitchen staff. We have no regrets and have been very pleased with the way Gather has benefited our business.

July 2019

Melissa from 5Church Atlanta

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Overall Great!

Keeping organized with Gather is a breeze!

Pros

The ease of Gather is truly amazing! The report functions I use daily to see overall growth and what needs to be improved on. The calendar is able to be viewed on the app along with a desktop as well as edited on the go from a cell phone. All documents are easy to read for sales coordinators, chefs, as well as servers. Creating events is easy and tracking channels for marketing is a great way to keep updated on marketing campaigns. Also staying organized through Gather is great by creating tasks, not only for yourself, but interns or other sales coordinators. The messaging system is great for communication with other team members.

Cons

I would love to see the sales coordinator on the pop up portion of the calendar. Also, the messages changed into a drop down, however, when you are trying to scroll for some thing, clicking on every single individual message is time consuming and everything should be about saving time. The app is only for viewing and not able to do any editing, which does not save time. Sometimes there is slowness or some glitches, such as Gather cancelling the event or duplicating the event when creating.

July 2019

Gin from Mistral Restaurant & Bar

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Game changer

Great product! They’re always adding new features. Great support team.

Pros

I love that the software is live so I can make changes on line in front of the customer, while on the phone with them and they can sit right away in front of their own screen.

Cons

Sometimes the issues with their servers slowing down can be bothersome, especially during the working hours.

Reasons for Choosing Gather

Ease of use, clean looking portals.

July 2019

Nicole from Think Food Group/D-ream

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Event Planning Made Easy!

Not only is the Gather team extremely helpful and responsive, but since I have switched it has cut my work time down significantly!

Pros

It is extremely easy to use and saves me time! I love everything about gather! Reporting is easy to generate, message templates cut down my work time, the online cc and event agreement make it easy for my team to reference and of course the Gather team is always friendly, helpful and has become an extension of my own team.

Cons

Honestly I do not have any complaints about the software maybe that I didn't use it sooner. I would like if they partnered with OpenTable, but I believe they are working on that.

Reasons for Choosing Gather

Better value and offerings

October 2016

Eva from Death in the Afternoon

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Helps to keep my event information organized and shared with my team

I am the General Manager and Event Planner for a very busy restaurant. Gather helps to keep me organized, in touch with clients and staff, and keeps all of the information I need in one place. I love that clients can get in touch with me through a Gather link on our website, and I can convert a lead into a booking very easily. Keeping up with so many people and events is exhausting, but Gather makes it much easier for me to have all necessary information and conversations with clients in one place. I also love that I can have my clients "sign" event contracts through the website, send deposits, and put a card on file. My team can also access conversations and documents so that they can stay up to speed with what is going on. But I think my favorite part is that the bookings calendar can be synced with my google calendar across all of my devices. :)

Pros

Customer Service, price, and rapidly growing features

Cons

I can't think of any cons. I think there is always room for improvement, but nothing sticks out to me as a problem. I did, however, have some difficulty integrating my bookings calendar with my google calendar, but almost immediately, the awesome customer service team helped me out with it.

January 2018

Caitlin from FLDWRK

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

A little complicated to use, but it's a powerful event management tool that your clients will love!

Pros

From the customer/client experience, it's wonderful. Great, professional design, easy to review contracts/policies, make payments, and correspond with questions. From the admin perspective, I like that it keeps me organized. There are so many moving parts to events and it's so nice to have everything organized in the calendar, have each event represented, and every event have it's own page to store details, connect with the client & staff, track & collect payments, create and send policies to review, request payments (can be custom or based on pre-set pricing menus), and store details for your team and/or the client (i.e. event floorplan, vendor info, etc). Gather's customer support has also been amazing! They always respond to questions in a timely manner and provide webinars on a consistent basis as well.

Cons

It's pretty complicated to use and takes quite a bit of training, which can make it hard to collaborate or inform part time staff or contractors on event details (or have them help with invoicing, scheduling, etc). There is also not an ability for clients to "sign" contracts, only approve proposals. For an industry that can be pretty litigious, I wish they emphasized their event policies a bit more.

May 2019

Georgeanna from Katie Button Restaurants

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

The best private dining software

Although there is room for improvement, I absolutely love this software. It's fairly customizable via booking templates, and allows me to book and confirm routine events very efficiently.

Pros

I love Gather's tools for automated guest messaging, customizing menus and terms, and lead management.

Cons

Upgrades that seem like they should be obvious/easy are not quickly addressed. For example, I cannot assign an existing contact to a new lead, rather I have to re-enter the client's information each time. Small features like that can make a big difference in day-to-day management, and should be more of a priority. The email tool also needs some work. You cannot save a draft or reply to a message without creating a new thread. Also, the way that email addresses show up to clients is cumbersome. They should work on a solution to mask the @gather system display and instead show my actual email address (clients see the system email address and get nervous that they're message won't reach me). There is also a lot of room for improvement in terms of approval (e.g. being able to get separate approvals of terms and menus, rather than just one overall approval), and for resources for complex and offsite events (e.g. adding pack lists and timelines).

July 2019

Samantha from Legacy Hospitality

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Fantastic program in so many ways!

Gather has helped us streamline details for successful events for all of our teams. It is so great to be able to create one document that everyone can access for details and assistance. It has helped us be able to execute events of all styles and sizes with ease from the moment a lead comes in to the day of the actually booking.

Pros

I love how easy Gather can customize booking agreements for different clients. We book a variety of events and need to be able to create menus, set up templates, policies, etc for each of our clients. Gather allows you to personalize all of these items as you work on the agreement, instead of having to leave out to another screen or part of the software. It also helps us in communicating specific details to our guests, as we get to modify things so meticulously.

Cons

The ONE feature I have found to be missing is being able to auto populate a task list for an event. We have a few non-negotiable that we handle internally to make sure bookings are successful, and it would be nice to be able to get this task list applied like a template.

August 2019

Deanna from CEG Hospitality

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Gather changed my world

Gather has connected communication from the inquire to the closing of the event for all involved parties. The kitchen staff has up to date menus, staff has access to all event details, custom menus, bar arrangements and closing event instructions. We are very grateful to have this software program available for all our restaurant locations

Pros

Gather is so easy to learn and use for both hospitality staff and event hosts. It is the best tool we have for company wide event communication. Every event detail is tracked and available for your full team to execute a flawless event.

Cons

I have no complaints about the software at all. The updates are smooth, customer service is fast, reports are easy. The credit card processing also made staying credit card compliant a piece of cake. ...I do find the team communication feature to be very confusing or unnecessary. I would like for it to integrate with Open Tables in the future.

Reasons for Choosing Gather

The functions worked with what we needed. Price was right and the customer service was very helpful to work with to get started.

July 2019

Tracey from Cohn Restaurant Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

The Inside Scoop

Speed in dealing with Guests is great - I have been happy implementing Gather at over 15 locations.

Pros

Efficiency of getting leads that populate into bookings, and love the mobile app. Easy for staff to learn - easy to dialogue and message with Clients

Cons

The reporting feature needs work. Would like the opportunity to add more customized fields and titles. The current layout of the BEO's is not functional. Missing Change logs and status changes features.

May 2019

Wendy from Divani

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Progressive, adaptable & professional

I am delighted with this progressive, forward moving company.

Pros

The Event Portal is so easy use and customize. Clients are always impressed by the professional, easy to read format and the Gather support team is always on their A game!

Cons

I work mainly with the desktop version so if I had to say there was a con, it’d be with the limitations of the mobile app.

Reasons for Choosing Gather

Ease of use and ability to customize based on our brand.

May 2019

Topher from Pane Rustica Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

A Cut Above the Rest!

Not only is Gather flexible with tasks and manipulating your day to day needs, there's a plethora of built in features to help be more successful ~ not just with your Clients, but your staff as well. Plus the Gather Team is constantly innovating and improving upon its system to keep up with the evolving nature of events and catering. Any feedback given is gracefully accepted and noted, and their Customer Success Team Members are always there for you when you encounter an issue or don't know what to do. Our Events business has benefited greatly since we were able to bring Gather in to the fold!

Pros

The overall ability to communicate clearly to Clients as well as staff, and having the software compatible with the newest tech (I get notifications on my phone and watch). Proposals to clients look professional and are easy for just about anyone to utilize. Putting proposals together now take minutes instead of hours.

Cons

I honestly have nothing negative to say about any aspect of Gather.

July 2019

Jackie from Nellie's Southern Kitchen

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

My Right Hand To Staying Organized!

Organization! In this business of catering and special events you have to be able to stay organized and track communication. Before use of this product keeping track of emails and communication was a nightmare. I appreciate how everything is in one place under logical categories for ease of use. I enjoy the Team Communication section as it allows me to keep track of where I left off with a client or to communicate with my team.

Pros

I really enjoy the report function of the software. It makes it very easy to report my monthly sales to the owners and GM. I appreciate the real time updates of changes as I make them and that the customer can refresh the portal to see changes as they are made. The filters on Gather are very useful for me when it comes to sorting through bookings and events for more detailed booking information.

Cons

I would say the email feature is what I like least however with the new update I am noticing that more of my emails are now going to the clients and are not being lost to spam.

Reasons for Choosing Gather

Word of mouth and the demonstration

July 2019

L'Lee from Casa Rio

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Gather keeps us organized!

Our overall experience with Gather is positive. It literally takes about 5 minutes to book a full event as we have custom templates built. Customers appreciate our timely responses due to using this software program. Everything that we send looks very professional. Another thing that is huge for us is being able to have multiple users, so we can all work together and see each other's bookings. We also appreciate the response time from customer service. Keep up the good work!

Pros

We appreciate how easy it is to send contacts out with Gather. It is extremely easy to look up customers and past events. It is a great tool for prospecting and re-booking events.

Cons

The only thing that we don't enjoy is when software programming slows down at times when the company is doing updates. This does not happen often and the flip side of it is Gather is good at staying current with market trends and keeping us updated.

Reasons for Choosing Gather

N/A

September 2017

Cassandra from Chameleon Hospitality

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2017

Overall, fairly smooth and easy to use.

Pros

I like the aesthetic of the software and that the Gather team seems to always be working on ways to improve the product.

Cons

I wish that the Task feature functioned more like an alert where some kind of reminder for deadlines would pop up, not only on the page for that particular event, but on the home page and calendar page. If the task feature were a bit more developed then I would be able to stop using Pipedrive altogether. It would also be AWESOME if Gather were integrated with OpenTable or another reservations software system. I also wish there were more color coding options for different categories of events and phases they're in, such as a color for offsite events, or a color for an event that is confirmed but maybe still has a few details to finalize. It would also be fantastic if clients could complete their credit card authorization form directly on the Gather Proposal Page so that they do not have to email credit card information or relay it over the phone.

May 2019

Natalie from Vegas Golden Knights

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Recommend to anyone!

Overall, the experience with Gather has been great. The Customer Support is amazing, and is always quick to respond and fix any issues you may have. Everything is easy and user friendly.

Pros

This software is SUPER user friendly. I have used it my past couple positions because of how easy it is for not only my position, but anyone else who needs to look into any of the event details. I also like the unlimited viewer side of things. Communication is key and if everyone can have access to all details of the event, it makes it much easier. All of my clients find it easy to use as they can view all of their details on their BEO, and sign off on everything electronically. Being able to jump on the app is very helpful. If I am not at my desk or in the office, I am able to pull up any details anywhere.

Cons

I don't like that you are not able to edit a few forms that are already in Gather. We work with it, but it causes a bit more work on my end.

May 2019

Suzi from The 57th Restaurant

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

So Easy!

It is easy to see what spaces are already booked for any given day. The calendar notes is also very handy as we are a very large venue with many different functions. It is easy to add an note for different "heads up" groups who do not want to host their event as a private party but do want to let us know they will be coming in

Pros

The best thing about this product is how easy it is to use! I love everything about it. They are constantly working to make things better. We have had many people call trying to get us to switch to their event software, but there is no way we will ever change. This has been a lifesaver for me! I am your biggest fan!

Cons

Some problems with the seated dinner menus printing everything on the Chef's BEO. I have managed to make it work by adding the information as "add another item".

July 2019

Jennifer from Ballpark Village

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Gather is GREAT!

Pros

Ease of use. Customer satisfaction. I like that I can use on my phone or tablet. It's a great tool and you can bring it anywhere - client meetings, etc.

Cons

Sometimes there is a glitch in the system or running slow

May 2019

Alyssa from Cabarrus Brewing Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Cabarrus Brewing Company

Having Gather has completely changed (and enhanced) the booking experience for me. Having an organized calendar of events that is not a google calendar has been incredibly helpful for not only the event staff, but also our management staff to know what is going on daily. Everyone loves the Daily Digest emails that are a glimpse into what we have coming up that day/week. Since using Gather we have been more successful in booking events with less administrative issues such as late payments/over bookings/etc. I honestly do not have enough good things to say about this Software, it has been a life saver!

Pros

The ease of use. Being able to process payments online has been a game changer. We used to always have to have clients come in to process payments and having everything online has streamlined the booking process.

Cons

The only issue I have at the moment is that the mobile app is not as easy to work on the go. I do love having the mobile app, but I wish it was easier to send and edit the email templates.

July 2019

Danielle from Steak 48

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Gather use in the restaurant industry

Overall, Gather is modern and concise, and makes my job easier.

Pros

Gather is easy to navigate and user-friendly! It is aesthetically pleasing and organized, which is an event planner's dream! I love the way you can quickly view your monthly calendar to see what is tentative, open, or closed. This is especially useful when guests call in asking about availability. I recommend downloading the app to have your events at your fingertips no matter where you are!

Cons

I do not like the fact that you cannot "select multiple" when it comes to archiving leads. If my Event Manager and I get busy, it is time consuming to go back and archive each lead one by one that we no longer need to see. Especially because sometimes when you archive them, they still show up in your current leads. You have to go back in to "edit lead" and "save lead" in order for the archive to register. Also, sometimes when attaching documents, the screen goes green and freezes. You have to just click all over the screen in order to make it go away and finish your message.

August 2019

Rachel from Yao Fuzi Cuisine

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

The best software for private dining & catering

I used Gather for four years at a previous restaurant and loved it so much that I made Gather a hiring condition for my new job. The customer service is responsive and will work hard to solve any issues. They are constantly trying to find and implement new improvements and I love how they communicate their progress. Gather has fantastic training upon set up and webinars on different features each week.

Pros

I love having the Gather app on my phone. I can check my calendar, create proposals and respond to messages on the go! Our restaurant owner can also see what events are coming up through the app.

Cons

The app is a work in progress, but they have made great strides with a lot of new editing features. One feature I would like to see is the ability to edit an event's menu & beverages in the app.

July 2019

Christina from PGA Tour

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Gather Review

I find it to be user friendly for all levels of technical ability. Its quick and easy to use and I love the ability to share banquet event order changes with the guests in real time.

Pros

I love the functionality of the software, from the writing process to the use of the app, its all seamless

Cons

I wish reporting showed how much business is on the books at any specific date so we could track booking progress by date.

December 2017

Kari from McConnell Hospitality Group

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

I couldn't imagine handling our volume of events without Gather, it's a game changer!

Pros

My favorite part of Gather is the centralized source of information. The entire team has access to communication with the client. The client has up to date access to menus, details, and financials. The team can communicate within each event. The leads form, booking templates, email templates, and generated documents look sharp and make my job a million times easier. There are so many new features since we began with Gather in 2014 and it just keeps getting better.

Cons

The one thing that would be nice is to have a backlog of changes on proposals. Sometimes things get changed accidentally or the client wants to go back to a previous version proposal and I can't access it.

May 2019

Tiffanie from La Tour Events

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Gather Software

I really enjoy this software and have recommended it to other catering planners in the industry! It's so easy to use and I can log in on my computer or on my phone through the app.

Pros

I really enjoy the ease of use of the software, it is very user friendly and you can jump right in! Clients love the online portal and find approving proposals and paying online to be really easy (I do, too!). Menu templates are easily created, whether a custom menu or pulling up from the existing menus. Customer support has been top notch.

Cons

I wish there was more ways to customize the invoice and BEOs for the client (picking and choosing which to display). Other than that, there is not much else to change on my end!

May 2019

Esther from Pomeroy Recreation & Rehabilitation Center

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

May 2019

Not a flexible software for our rental venue

It has taken quite a while to learn how to use it properly. Customer service has been friendly, but the product is the product and I don't think it's right for us.

Pros

It's awesome to have all the information centrally located and to be able to process payments through it. Different staff can log in to see if a room is already booked and that's handy.

Cons

We have numerous recurring renters and this software is not at all set up for that. If we have a basketball team that rents our gym twice a week year-round and their payment arrives monthly, we have to go into every single booking to mark it paid and then close it. This seems unnecessarily time-consuming. Also, the reporting is very limited for our needs. We are less interested in tracking the reasons people don't book with us than we are at having a report that allows us to reconcile with our Quickbooks. At the training our finance director received, she was told the report she wanted didn't exist - what about offering a create-your-own option?

May 2019

leslie from Daniel Reeed Hospitality

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Best thing to happen to our event organization!

Amazing. Customer service is incredible and prompt, game changer for us!

Pros

I love that everything is in one place. Previously we were pulling from 4 different programs. This amped up our professionalism appearance wise and limits potential pricing errors. The client is happy to receive concise paperwork that is always updated with their most up to date financial commitments.

Cons

The ONLY things I wish it could add which are problematic due to so many formats would be some sort of layout system (weddings in particular need soooo much info) and maybe an area to store timeline specific intel as well. These are stretches, I love everything about it.

May 2019

Janell from Flint Farmers Market

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Gather by Gather Technologies Review

I am guilty of not jumping on the webinars to see whats new, so my customer support reached out to me directly to schedule a video conference to walk through things she noticed we haven't been utilizing. VERY helpful!

Pros

I LOVE the App! Being an administrator, I need the access to constantly update/edit and send out communication and emails through the software, and Gather is very user friendly.

Cons

I would like to see a printable version of the Calendar. We need to pass it out to about 50 people to let them know what events to expect and their time frames. Currently, we have to use a blank Google calendar and type each event and its location and time frame in to each day of the week.

July 2019

Jessica from Power Plant Live!

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Gather Software Review

Pros

Gather has made managing events effortless. The hardest part was the initial set up but after that the flow of information to both our external clients and internal team a breeze! This program is extremely user friendly and has features that allow the entire process from booking to execution very easy.

Cons

The main feature I would like to add is a automated notification when a contract has been updated along with the date of the last change.

July 2019

Tobi from ECI, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Gather saved my events!

Pros

Ease of functions, editing is simple, and updating contracts from anywhere.

Cons

I wish ours was setup to receive payments

Reasons for Choosing Gather

Secure files saved, unlimited users

October 2019

Michelle from Bottlecap Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Gather Is The Bridge in Which I Succeed With

Overall, the last 3 years I have solely used Gather to increase sales and execute events for my venues. Not only would I recommend Gather, I have had 2 acquaintances implement Gather for their banquet/catering needs.

Pros

This software is extremely user friendly and is the bridge of communication between myself, my clients, my chef, and my management teams across 4 different venues. Event with the largest events with the most details, I am able to communicate with Gather with every individual involved.

Cons

Not even necessarily as a con, I do however wish that there was a way to directly send a mass email to all clients in the database for marketing purposes.

September 2017

David from Stone Creek Dining Company - Greenwood

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Gather has been a great tool that reduces the amount of time spent logging details of events!

Pros

Everyone is able to see whats going on in the private dining room. From the Front of House Manger to the Chef to the GM and Banquet Manager. It's all available in one centralized location. Customizing the menu options to cater to the guests needs is a breeze! Sending out contracts that are consistent with your brand is important. Once it's worded properly and stored, it's sent out the same every time. All communication between the guest and the venue is all in one place.

Cons

You can't add events through the app. Changing the uploaded documents seems to revert back to older documents at times.

September 2017

Alison from South Beach Group / Miami Beach Woman's Club

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

This booking platform is so user-friendly; it makes the booking process quick and easy.

Gather saves me so much time so I'm able to respond to more leads and create proposals and correspond with clients in a more timely manner. All of this frees me up to do more networking outside the office and in turn generate more business for my event space.

Pros

The most awesome thing is, I can do everything in one system. I receive leads via Gather, I send and receive emails, book space, create BEO's, collect deposits, send invoices and other documents via Gather. It's the greatest and easiest booking system I've ever used and I've been in the event industry since 1987. The 2nd thing I love about Gather is their customer service. My rep always goes above and beyond every time, is always there to assist me, responds immediately, and is an absolute joy to work with.

September 2017

Chelsea from Donkey Catering

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Gather has allowed our team to see each our business as a whole with everything going on!

A central communication spot for our whole team, rather than searching through emails!

Pros

Gather is super easy for client's to understand, easy to get estimate approvals, and easy to collect payments. I really like that you can see timestamps of when clients have opened emails that we send through Gather, it lets us know they've at least reviewed the info so we can adjust when to send for a follow up. It is very easy to add and adjust menus and pricing.

Cons

Some items we would like to have control of for adjusting, such as how to tax and what menus are taxed, and how those menus can be classified, rather than calling support. We would also like documents uploaded to be available on bookings that were created before they were uploaded - currently you can only upload from the drop down list the documents that were uploaded at the time you created that specific booking, so not all the documents are there.

September 2017

Alicia from Via Vite

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Amazing

Pros

I started using this software about a year and half ago. It has made my job so much easier and saved so much time. It is very user friendly ( for both the client and myself). What has really impressed me the most with this company is their customer service. The few times, I have had a question, I received a response by someone on their team within an hour. I could not be happier with Gather and their team.

Cons

The only minor improvement I would like to see made is the ability to communicate to multiple people through the gather website. Often times if I am messaging through their site, and the client will copy people on emails and I am unable to see the copied recipients.

July 2019

Allegra from The landing

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great product!

We use gather to track events, event notes and contracts for both our venues. It has been a great experience and I have recommended father to other vendors.

Pros

Easy to use, all notes are in one place, easy access for clients, tracking events and financials is super easy.

Cons

You can’t view notes on your mobile device, clients get confused when viewing financials.

Reasons for Choosing Gather

My boss liked this product better

May 2020

Jennifer from Redneck Riviera

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2020

First and most recent product of choice

Great experience. Their customer service is almost immediate.

Pros

I have used this product in three different roles. The first I pioneered the purchase and set up, in the second I assisted in swapping from this product a different one and now I am back in this progam again. This product is the fastest and easiest to use of all of the leading companies.

Cons

There needs to be greater reporting capabilities to compare past data and current trends. There are ways to work around this but they take a little longer.

July 2019

Jennifer from Salt Lake Brewing Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Gather is a Lifesaver!

Gather is a life saver! I do not know how I would keep up with our busy event schedule without it!

Pros

Gather is very user friendly and helps me keep our event calendar clean and organized. It is fantastic for communicating with both guests and our management team throughout the company.

Cons

I have nothing negative to say about Gather. I have had nothing but a pleasant experience. Even if I do run into a software glitch every now and then, I am able to call Gather Support and receive immediate assistance to solve the problem.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 172 reviews