About IDEXX Neo

IDEXX Neo is a cloud-based veterinary practice management suite used by animal hospitals and veterinary clinics. Key features include appointment management, invoice creation and payment processing.

Users can define custom tasks and assign duties to employees on an activity dashboard. The dashboard can be configured for individual employees and can display task details, due dates and more.

IDEXX Neo enables users to customize forms and certificates using company logos and branded letterheads. Clinicians can use pre-defined procedure templates to store pet details, owners’ credit card information and previous medical records.

IDEXX Neo provides a learning manual and help desk chat. Additional online training and phone support are also ava...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Windows 7, Windows Vista, Windows XP, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 8, Windows 10

75 Reviews of IDEXX Neo

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.13 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(35)

35

4 stars

(27)

27

3 stars

(5)

5

2 stars

(4)

4

1 stars

(4)

4

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 75 results

August 2018

Lori from Mule Town Veterinary Hospital, Creedmoor, NC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Intuitive and easy to set up and use.

Overall, I am really pleased with Neo. There are constant updates, some of which I did not realize were problems. New features are always being added. I would recommend it to anyone.

Pros

Neo was the easiest software program to set up and use that I reviewed. Just about everything is fairly intuitive and does not require a degree in programming to use. The files for your patients are as close to paper based as I have seen. You can easily adapt it to your practice and it integrates well with the reference lab. Working from anywhere with this cloud based system is also a lovely feature The customer service is great--you actually get to know all the staff and they remember you when you call. The boarding schedule is a great new feature that I set up in minutes for my specific kennel situation. I own a small, single doctor practice and do not regret choosing Neo as my PMS.

Cons

The few things that Neo is not capable of (yet): Creating automatic call backs for appointments. Integrated payment--although I think that this is in the works. There are also instances where if a staff member marks a file ready to be paid, another person working on the file at the same time cannot save the information without backing out and going back into the file. I have lost a few files with this. It now warns you that someone else has it open.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied November 2018

Thanks for the praise and the suggestions Dr. Scappino. Our goal is to make Neo the easiest software to set up and use, and that objective guides every improvement and new feature we add. Awesome to hear that we are hitting that mark with you and your team, and that we are solving problems you did not know you had! You noted you would like to see automatic call backs and integrated payments in Neo: both of those are on our product roadmap. Watch for more information about them.

January 2020

Jeff from Cass County Animal Hospital

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Using Neo in small solo practice since Jan. 1, 2018

We have a very small, 1 doctor practice. I was somewhat concerned about going to a cloud based system, but that has been a non factor. We are still not using NEO to it's maximum capacity, but that is our fault not the software's. There was a $50 a month increase in the monthly fee at the start of 2020 that didn't thrill me, but overall our experience has been good.

Pros

Initially our favorite thing about Neo was how it facilitated electronic medical record keeping and electronic communication with clients via email and SMS. Over time the things that haven't liked (reporting, inventory management, etc) has gotten much better. The NEO team is very responsive to user feedback and frequently makes enhancements and upgrades to the software that make it better and better. We certainly also appreciate the ability to run NEO on very inexpensive hardware.

Cons

As I noted above, our original "cons" have gotten much better over the 2 years we have been using NEO. Getting reports from past years is still a little wonky, and there is no quick easy way to look up which patient received a certain treatment recently, ie a "who-got" feature. NEO also lumps services (labwork, vaccines, office calls, etc) together with inventory items such as pharmaceuticals and preventives into one big category called "Products". I'd like to see them split apart.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied January 2020

HI Jeff, thanks for your feedback on Neo and for recommending it to others. Input from users like yourself fueled over 60 updates last year, and we have even more planned for 2020, including reporting and inventory. We'd really like to help you take more advantage of what Neo can do for your practice, like helping you drive compliance by texting. Please let us know where we can help!

August 2019

Noah from Asheville Vet Assoc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

1.0

August 2019

High expectations...poor delivery

The time involved from checking clients in to check out is almost double what we had with an older outdated system. Hard to believe this is "the future". All of the staff are frustrated after having this system 9 months. They are begging me (management) to return to our outdated system.

Pros

cloud based system affordable comparitively

Cons

poor estimate capabilities updates interfere with current processes, forms, etc. multiple windows to click through (lost time/efficiency) weak customer service (always say they are considering updating "whatever issue you have"

Reasons for Choosing IDEXX Neo

contract negotiations and good sales team

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied September 2019

Hi Noah, thanks for the feedback and the opportunity to work with you and the team at Asheville to make sure Neo meets your needs. Incidentally, the enhancement requests our support team logs have led to 46 value-packed releases in the last eight months alone, several of which address items you cite, including estimates. It also sounds as if there are opportunities to streamline some of your workflows. Definitely check out the built-in, task-specific training for tips on doing this, and don't hesitate to contact our customer success team for coaching (it's available at no extra charge). We are always open to your thoughts on how we can make things better.

May 2020

Alexandra from East Lane Veterinary Hospital

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Great Cloud Based Software!

Pros

We switched from Impromed server based software to Neo cloud based and are extremely happy it. Neo is very easy to use. I loved that our team was able to practice on Neo before our launch date. It made our first day using Neo much less stressful compared to our switch from DVMax to Impromed. The setup for Neo is time consuming but you get to make the software exactly what you want. It has made our charting and billing much more efficient. The consults section is difficult to read through at first but we are getting use to it. The only complaint I would have is that there are not many forms premade in Neo. You have to make them mostly from scratch. It would be nice if we could see what other practices are using and be able to use their premade forms instead of making all new ones. Overall Neo is working great for our 2 doctor small doctor practice. Very happy with the switch!

Cons

-Lack of forms -Reminders are tedious to set up and understand at first -Not as many reports as server based softwares

Reasons for Choosing IDEXX Neo

Easier to use. Modern look. Trust Idexx company.

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied August 2020

Hi Alexandra, thanks for your endorsement of Neo, and for your suggestions!

May 2020

Jessica from Todd County Animal Clinic

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

It is constantly improving

Pros

-Easy to transfer and set up, Idexx did most of the work for us -Great Service -Bundled with our other Idexx services -Great for remote logins -New Improvements, and updates constantly -Cloud printing -Customizable to your needs

Cons

-Not ready for hand held devices yet -Reports take some time to get use to -Not an easy way to track, Billed vs Payments -No quick way to itemized invoices when doing statments

Response from IDEXX Neo

Replied May 2020

Hi Jessica, thank you for recommending that other veterinary professionals check out Neo! Really appreciate your feedback on how easy it was to get up and running, our service and the ability to access it anywhere. You mention constant updates: great feedback like yours ensures we deliver exactly what our users are looking for. Improvements to Neo's A/R capabilities are in the pipeline, please let us know how you like them!