What are Audacity users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Audacity software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.5

230 Reviews

5
126
4
68
3
16
2
2
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"It does a wide range of things and is easy to use."
  • icon"I also needed to watch a few YouTube videos. I'm happy that they finally integrated the MP3 encoder."
  • icon"If you are looking for a great solution for editing sound files, look no further than Audacity."
  • icon"It didn't work well on my HP laptop, so I had to put the program on my computer which has faster programming and it seems to fix the issue."
  • icon"It's limited compared to a DAW and we can't change audio on a video."
  • icon"After 6 hours of editing and episode for my podcast, the files corrupted. I was devastated and so stressed out and frustrated I laid on my floor and cried."

Jump to:

Browse all Audacity Reviews

  • Have you used Audacity and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 212 reviews

Harlan

Company size: 2 - 10 employees

Time used: Unspecified

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

March 2022

Audacity User Review

User Profile

Zuber

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

A simple but powerful audio editing tool you will ever need!

I have been using audacity from the past 7 years, the simple user interface and a plethora of audio features has never allowed me to hop into a different software. Firstly, it is free and open source, secondly the design of this application is intuitive which makes the task more easier. Whether it is mixing, converting or noise cancellation for audios, it has an answer to everything.

Pros

1) Simple and easy design 2) Converts any audio files into mp3 3) Fast and adaptive to any operating system 4) Record/convert/edit audios in a simple way 5) Easy workflow

Cons

1) Robust mixing with multiple features should be added 2) Suggestions to improve the audio as a helps should be notified 3) Integration with 3rd party tools should be included 4) More advanced editing/effects are required to meet the professional standards

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Edit your audio clips for free in Audacity.

I started using it 3 years ago, and I was very impressed with it in dealing with the audio files that I work on and extracting quality in terms of beauty and high quality.

Pros

The nice thing about the program, which I like a lot, is that it's free, has powerful extras like paid software, and works on Windows, Linux, and Mac. You can make an audio recording directly through the program itself, and this saves time and effort It supports a lot of sound effects that you can use for free, namely removing noise and distortion from audio, adding FFT technology to audio technology, increasing and improving its quality, and adding echo effects. Supports keyboard shortcuts to speed up work and save your time, and it is very suitable for beginners because it processes the audio at a high speed, so you will not consume long time in editing the audio while providing the highest possible sound quality.

Cons

I wish that colors would be added to the tracks that were added, so that what type of tracks used for the user would be distinguished

Tyler

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

A quick and free basic way to edit audio!

I will use Audacity occasionally, as it's ease of use, being free, and uses little processing power is difficult to beat. It has some flaws and can use some improvements, but I would recommend it for most people.

Pros

What's great is Audacity launches quick and runs smooth on older computers as well as modern setups with no performance hit. It's a great piece of software for basic audio editing needs and in particular great for making sound effects, cutting audio clips, and adding some basic effects such as fade in, fade out, etc. The simplicity of of the interface is very clear cut and easy for beginners to the software to understand. Audacity also has a quick way of adding multiple layers, which is useful as it allows you to duplicate something you're working on, make changes to the new version and go back to the original layer and copy over made changes if any mistakes were made during the process. If you want to record a bit of audio with a microphone plugged in, Audacity also allows you to do that with relative ease.

Cons

What's not so great is no built-in mp3 export and finding out about it the first time after installing the program and you've been working on a project for some time. This really stinks and should really be integrated when first installing the program. Instead the user needs to download a separate plugin and just seems unnecessary. There should also be a more intuitive and cleaner way to search for effects, as currently it's just a massive drop-down menu with too many options displayed in one place, we could really use a menu with different categories or sections, would be easier to find an effect and save some productivity in the long run!

User Profile

Gustavo

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Great For Simple Taskes

My experience has always been positive. Most of the time I need to handle some arrangements for any piece of sound, I look forward to employing this great tool.

Pros

Audacity does offer a super lightweight tool to manage short pieces of audio. It does import sounds hassle-free, provides a good waves diagram system to check pieces of sounds and handle music samples effortlessly.

Cons

I don't find particular cons about this free and easy to use software. It might be a little more capable in terms of the features, but it does provide a solution for simple audio tasks, and it does deliver.

Reasons for choosing Audacity

Audacity does provide an easy interface for simple audio tasks, it is free, easy to use, and provide good results for the purposes it has been made.

Avery

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Great for beginners to start with

I was recording videos for my Youtube channel, and I needed something like GarageBand to record my vocals. Of course, it's aggrivating to use 2 different computers for this task, but I was able to find Audacity and use the program to get my audio in line. It also sounds really amazing! Took my videos to a more professional level

Pros

I loved being able to record and mix quickly without much trouble. Literally plugged in my microphone interface and started recording away! Once you understand it's simplicity, it can take you a long way!

Cons

There were times where slowing down the audio was too distorted, even after adding the right effects. Also, moving around the interface can be a bit overwhelming. There is alot of buttons in front of you, so making sure you know the userface is very important.

Reasons for switching to Audacity

Needed something more optimal for my PC, away from the usual macbook

Fabian

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Audio Editing Platform - Audacity

Overall, a pleasurable experience using Audacity. I recommend any DJ or Audio Engineer to try it out!

Pros

Easy to install and use. With practice and generally trying out the different tools, it becomes easier to use. Enables users to import mp3 and wav audio files and alter them to perfection. I would usually add instrumental files and acapella files and line them up perfectly to form my own version of remixes, export them and enjoy.

Cons

There weren’t any real drawbacks to Audacity.

Jessica

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Edit your audios for free and easily with this software

In general it is a good application, it has several important and practical functions to edit audios. It is not necessary to be a professional, just use the tools little by little and you will learn quickly. The fact that it's free is really nice.

Pros

Audacity is that kind of software that everyone should have on their computer. First because it fulfills what it promises, second because it's light, doesn't slow down your computer and third and not least because it's free! Whenever I needed to improve the quality of some audio to present at the company, audacity helped me. Joining several audios in 1 can only seem difficult for many people, but I guarantee that in a short time you will do it with ease. You can record, edit, enhance and mix audio without being professional about it. You can also start a project and finish it later without any problem. I am very happy with this software.

Cons

As with most software, Audacity can have some errors and instabilities, which vary greatly from computer to computer. Most of these errors I believe occur due to the computer's operating system and software update version. Anyway, there is a way to talk to support and there are several videos on the internet teaching how to correct these errors.

Sarah

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

Easy and life-changing audio software

Audacity had helped me when it comes to learning about sound design, and if you want to quickly finish an audio task. It made my sound design journey really easy and fun.

Pros

I first started Audacity back in high school since I really wanted to learn about audio design. After downloading it, I was truly amazed with it's features and even now, around 8 years later, I am still using it if I have quick audio design tasks. It's interface is really easy to navigate and this is a must download for beginners.

Cons

What I liked least will probably be how it doesn't have stock audio provided within the software, that's it.

Angus

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Great for the basics

For quick and simple projects, Audacity can work very well. I have recorded many a voice over on it before. But when you want to go deeper into audio production, you'll need something a bit beefier.

Pros

Audacity is the baseline for what audio software should be. If you're looking to do some basic audio editing, it works wonderfully. Things like shorting audio clips, putting music under speaking, recording some voice over for a video. Some of the built in effects can provide a bit of fun too. And the base version is free! Perfect to dip your toe into the world of audio editing and mixing.

Cons

There isn't a ton that can be done when it comes to more advance audio editing. The interface also isn't the most user friendly. When trying to match timing (such as singing over an instrumental track), Audacity would scoot the vocal recording ahead a few factions of a second. It became very tedious constantly having to go back and adjust the timing.

Siddhesh

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

Audacity Review.

Pros

It has no crashes in the event that it has not been altered. It produces incredible sound quality with the expectation of complimentary programming. It is easy to alter, layer and blend track expertly.

Cons

You need to download it to send out sound. Updates are not planned or scheduled time to time. It's restricted contrasted with a DAW and we can't change audio on a video.

User Profile

mohamed

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Audacity Review

Pros

Record all audio formats. It can convert the sounds recorded on cassette tapes to compact discs (CDs). Controls the speed and determination of the sound path in the audio clips. Saving records and the ability to merge them. The ability to add various effects to the sounds. The possibility of recording in multiple tracks

Cons

The UI in Audacity is unattractive, and may seem complicated to beginners. Audacity is not the best choice for recording music, due to its inability to record at most two tracks. The software update is not available regularly.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Best free DAW - Beginners First Software

I started recording my first vocals with Audacity. I was still in school back then and didn‘t had the expenses to spend for a premium DAW. Made good memories with it.

Pros

Audacity is free and that is also the main reason why everyone interested in producing and/or recording music have to test it as free alternativ before buying as pricey DAW.

Cons

Doesn‘t bring any mention worthy premium features, but that shouldn‘t distract from this beautiful software.

Chris

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Audacity review

I like to use Audacity to mix my jingles. It might look complicated at first but once I saw a couple of youtube videos it became very easy. It is free, so it does make Audacity a bit more desirable.

Pros

Audacity is free software that makes mixing audio fun and fairly easy. It has a simple interface and can handle all your audio mixing needs. It's easy to convert a .wav file to .mp3 just by exporting to mp3. It has a huge list of features and plus you can add plugins.

Cons

Audacity is scary at first because it looks complicated to a beginner. Also the interface is not customizable.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

I Love this Software

From recording a single source to quickly editing or encoding audio, Audacity is an incredible free tool that has been on the market for almost 2 decades. It is my go-to for quickly editing audio or recording a source.

Pros

Audacity was the first recording program that I had used when I began experimenting with music 15 years ago. Ever since, it is my go-to program for projects or audio that need quick editing. For these simple operations, I find Audacity to be perfect. No need to load up a ton of presets or plug-ins. Audacity is good to go and easy to use.

Cons

Audacity lacks some of the features of some of the higher-end Digital Audio Workstations like Logic or Pro Tools, but for a free tool, it is extremely robust. Added features can be nice, but it may take aware from Audacity's stream-lined process.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

Easy to use and and free audio editor!

Pros

It's open sourced and free which is amazing! The quality doesnt suffer either. Mixing audio takes is extremely easy. Also, capturing live audio is simple as well. Overall, it's very easy to use.

Cons

The noise reduction feature could have a little more depth and customization, but considering the price there's really not much to complain about.

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

Essenziale

Pros

Ha tutte le caratteristiche essenziali per modificare e convertire tracce audio, anche in modo avanzato

Cons

La grafica, ma è una cosa di secondo piano vista la sostanza del software

Danijela

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Let your audio production fly

Pros

Audacity made it really easy to tune out ambient noise which in pandemic times, recording in open spaces, was causing me quite a lot of issues

Cons

User experience could be streamlined to be more in tune with the editing phase of audio production. For example, include drag and drop function which would be less precise but more manageable

User Profile

Richard

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2022

One of the best free programs around.

I have used Audacity for audio editing for quite a few years, and have been satisfied with it from the beginning. It integrates seamlessly with any DAW or other music software to complete any project.

Pros

Audacity is the quintessential audio editing software, and it has earned its stellar reputation. Best of all: it's free and easy to use, not to mention loaded with features. It also supports plugins of all kinds, including user-made ones that one can write at home.

Cons

The interface for Audacity is somewhat lackluster, and very much looks like free software. However, this cosmetic shortcoming is hardly a reason to pass it up.

Valentina

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Translation and Localization

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Not so easy to use for a neophyte

Pros

I appreciated to find such a software available for free, allowing even to neophytes to start learning this kind of tool.

Cons

I find it a little bit complex for someone who has to learn how to use it all alone, without support.

Dan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

Making Complex Turn Simple

Pros

Fairly easy to use, once you get the hang of it.

Cons

No real tutorial or user guide that I could see.

Muhammad

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

As an editor, You need Audacity to become professional.

Being a YouTuber, I'm running three youtube channels. Each time I am going to upload a video on any youtube channel, Firstly I'm going to edit my voice with the audacity to make it professional. so i can say that audacity is the worst software on my computer that is most important for me than my pc. Being a freelancer, I use to create intro and outro videos for my clients. and for that voice quality matters a lot. And I can do this only with help of audio editing software, Definitely, I am going to choose audacity to kick a nice shot. I have 30+ clients from worldwide who are working with me only to edit their scripts, and I am using audacity to generate good revenue by making my clients permanent just because of serving them good quality service. So audacity is the main part of my carrier. If you are thinking of being YouTuber, then defiantly audacity is going to help a lot. You can edit your recorder scripts and your background music. This is not all which I have been told you there is much more you are going to experience in audacity.

Pros

The "Track" feature of audacity is my favorite ever. we can always add a new track in any format mono, stereo, label, or in any we wish. Even we can separate tracks too from our voice with help of audacity. When I need to remove vocals from a song to generate background music for my video, then tracks are going to help me a lot. I can always cut and copy the song through the track and can paste it on the track where ever I want. when I use to record my script, Definitely some unwanted noise is going to appear in my video. And now I want to delete that specific part of the script to make it good. Now here tracks are too important to make a right cut from the script. Other local software has limited capacity to zoom in and out of the tracks. But in audacity, we can zoom up to the last point, and we will be able to saw a sine wave in the zooming case. when we move to audio mixing, Definitely it is going to do through tracks. So I can say the track is a more important feature of audacity.

Cons

Everything in audacity is almost good and too easy to use but I have some objections. I don't like the "Noise Reduction" feature of audacity. Each time I need to remove the noise from my script, Firstly, I need to generate a voice removal noise profile every time. Otherwise, it is not going to work properly. I wish the Audacity team should add some noise removing profiles by default. so I save my time and can use them quickly to remove noise from my script and can make it professional only with a single click. Here is another objection I have, when I use to remove noise from my recorder script. It deletes my recorded voice too, which is absolutely not a good option. The Audacity team should work on this and make this feature good for us. I'm still using this software because thinking that the audacity team is working on this.

GERALD

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Broadcast Media

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Great free product that has a learning curve

I'm a scriptwriter in the film and TV business, basically writing drama. I do a lot of research for many of the projects I work on. Some of the research is audio research, such as recording radio documentaries relating to subjects I'm working on. These audio recordings are as useful as any written material, and I often share them with directors and producers I'm working with. Once you get the hang of it, which really shouldn't take too long, it's a great, safe program.

Pros

I like to record podcasts, radio dramas, etc. and was recommended this program as a free, good program for that purpose. It's an excellent deal for the money ($0). I know my way around computers but have no real expertise at sound mixing or recording. I use Audacity basically as a recording medium. You can easily set the time length of the recording, press record, start the audio you want to record, and it works completely in the background, shutting itself off when the timer stops. After that you can click file, export (usually to MP3) assign the folder to store the recording and and it will process the audio and there you go. You can also set it to record and stop at a specific time. Audacity will basically record any audio that passes through your speakers and as a bare bones user that's precisely what I use it for. Audacity is a very powerful program and from what I can see can be used by professional or semi-professional sound engineers. It has many functions, 90% of which I never use and would not know how to use. But that's fine. You can use it without any fear of malware, advertising, someone trying to sell you something. And I appreciate that.

Cons

Audacity, as I said, is a complex, powerful program. Even for doing the simple type of recording I do, there is a bit of a learning curve. For instance, after the audio recording has stopped one would logically export it to a folder where it would be saved. But you have to press stop, even if the recording has stopped. Otherwise export will not work. Not a big deal but it took some figuring and looking at the manual and instructional websites to find that out. Audacity saves recordings as projects. I'm still not completely sure what a project is, but when I first began using Audacity I inadvertently saved many projects and found my computer slowing down. A tech support guy found the issue and I erased all the Audacity files that were taking up a lot of memory. Little issues like that. Also, it seems every time I get a new computer and install Audacity, it doesn't work. I end up with a lot of hair pulling getting it working. That's not really Audacity's fault. You have to have the right configuration in Windows audio settings and they're not that easy to figure out. It takes some trial and error, but once you find the right configuration, Audacity works fine. Audacity is free. There's no one to call for tech support. So be prepared to spend a bit of time setting it up and getting it to work. But once it is set up it's great. At least for the simple recording I do.

Reasons for switching to Audacity

I switched computers and my old version of Hi-Q Recorder wouldn't work on my new computer. So I dumbly bought a new version and still couldn't get it to work and got no response from the developer. So I switched to Audacity which did the exact same thing, and more.

Modise

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Graphic Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2020

Soft Review

For ware, its size to my utter disbelieves its a miracle worker. It packs serious agility for anything in its range. It does really edit sound, though concerted ( deals exceeding well with hissing). It is also utterly unbelievable that you can use it so vividly to eliminate unwanted pauses and front noises (breaths though stealing the back sounds), for it just to be able to negate the waves and pick out something for its package size means a lot of concerted engineering. I still stick to aggregates though, like dealing with outdoor takes editing, for it fares well against white noise and all high noises (air hissing) real well.

Pros

An aptly incredulous little audio editor. Not much of a big machine tool but for the aggregate sound guy like a videographer where you are not supposed to separate sound elements but rather desire to leave the aggregated sound clean without separation, it works exceeding fine. It is an ideal little ware that does not even need installation for the most part and it cleans the general sound really well. the other beautiful thing is it can do that to the unamplified sound too, which is generally problematic to sound software, with real good spec inducing, you can bass up or lighten pitch by factoring, so being able to get the right back sounds for your video or single-channel export. Good for the guy who wants an edit of a bundled in an exportable and playable in almost all devices track. the good thing being you are able to convert to a number of consumable formats as much as professional one.

Cons

It is not good for noise separation, as demanded by a sound professional. It rather works well for aggregates, and cannot separate a single sound data to multiple elaborate sounds. in the case of separation, more of a single track enclosed recording ware, where all the unwanted background noises are pre-eliminated or rather a sound aggregate for the video guy.

Jeremy

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Writing and Editing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Listen, You Have Some Audacity (provided you get Audacity)

Free apps aren’t always the most user-friendly (just look at all the free graphics programs and compare them to Photoshop for an example), but if they can still work as well as, if not surpass, the premium apps within the same category, then why not use them? For sound design, Audacity is that free app with the irritating UI that monopolizes this space, and if you’re interested in making and improving your own sound files, then you’ll want Audacity in your toolbox. With the ability to establish sound layers, adjust audio frequencies, and create samples, as well as to export the final result into most of the available sound profiles (.WAV, .MP3, .OGG, etc.), Audacity makes sense for any sound designer, musician, game designer, video creator, or anyone in media to have at the ready. And with the ability to label all exported sounds with a profile label (including “artist,” “track,” “album,” etc.), it almost begs the question, “Why pay for an audio production app?” Unless your paid app gives you the ability to turn your voice into a robotic chipmunk, then I don’t know if there’s a good answer for this.

Pros

Besides being free, Audacity comes with so many bells, whistles, and buttons that any competent sound designer will feel right at home. Because it’s open sourced (I think), it’s also adaptable with plugins, which you may want provided you can find some good ones online. And, of course, you can adjust layers and sound profiles, as well as export to your preferred format (provided you have the right codecs for such a thing—Audacity doesn’t come with those). It’s quite versatile.

Cons

If you’re a newbie, then you’ll probably feel lost without going through some online tutorials. Likewise, if you’re not a sound designer by trade, you may not appreciate the power that Audacity brings to the table. (I’m not a sound designer, so I know I’m in over my head at times.) The user-interface can also complicate a simple process like joining two audio clips together. But, again, it’s free, so who’s complaining?

Showing 1 - 25 of 212 reviews
Audacity

Audacity

4.5/5 out of 230 reviews
Learn More