User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(8)

8

4 stars

(3)

3

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Great MIDI editor, easy to install plugins, lots of really good guides, both the manual and online tutorials, sn a lot of really useful stock plugins. "

  • "Cubase is a solid and reliable sequencer. The audio engine excellent and so responsive I frequently edit clips while I'm actually recording. "

  • "It is very to learn and use compare to other DAW"

  • Cons

  • "Cubase can be overwhelming because of it's massive ability. But there are numerous support tutorials on a variety of subjects on both the Steinberg site and on YouTube as well as 3rd party platforms. "

  • "The only niggle I have with Cubase is the price. the Pro version is around £500 and upgrades are also a bit pricey."

  • "The features were limited unless I wanted to spend a good chunk of money. It took up lots of memory when running and crashed my computer a couple of times."

Browse Cubase Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -38 of 12 results

February 2021

User Profile Picture

Robert from Nostairway Media

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

A real audio DAW workhorse

I have used Cubase for years. It's a no messing, straight to it kind of DAW, whether recording/editing audio or creating music/sound design via MIDI. The built in synthesis is good, the generic plugins are great (Reverb and compression in particular)

Pros

Cubase is a solid and reliable sequencer. The audio engine excellent and so responsive I frequently edit clips while I'm actually recording.

Cons

The only niggle I have with Cubase is the price. the Pro version is around £500 and upgrades are also a bit pricey.

Reasons for Choosing Cubase

Cubase offers all the features of ProTools without the massive price tag.

Reasons for Switching to Cubase

I switched as Cubase was recommended soon discovered it was easier to use.

March 2021

Tony from T.A.L.L. Consulting

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Cubase for all of your music recording

I have been using Cubase since 2005. I've recorded everything from a simple acoustic guitar and vocal so a full orchestrated movie soundtrack synced to video. Steinberg is also constantly updating and improving the software with the user in mind. It is state of the art.

Pros

Most impactful features? Far too many to mention. But the ability to customize my own personal work flow with multiple screens that can be saved for instant recall is awesome. There is nothing Cubase Pro can't do in terms of audio vocal and instrument recording, VST plug-ins, midi, audio to video control with video monitoring and much much more. You can import and export individual tracks or mix your project digitally or in real time. The system is used by Hans Zimmer, which tells you everything you need to know.

Cons

Cubase can be overwhelming because of it's massive ability. But there are numerous support tutorials on a variety of subjects on both the Steinberg site and on YouTube as well as 3rd party platforms.

Reasons for Switching to Cubase

Cubase operates on both Windows and Mac. Logic only operated on Mac. Reaper just wasn't a DAW that I could get used to. Cubase made everything simple.

March 2021

User Profile Picture

Flavio from ViT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Music

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

March 2021

Too many unecessary features

Recording and producing music with Cubase is in general easy, but the excess of other features, such as the loops available in the Mediabay, can lead the user to enter in a maze of intricate configurators.

Pros

Graphical interface is intuitive, very little need to read the user guide for starting using Cubase.

Cons

There are too many features that I do not need and these pollutes the menus and interface in general.

Reasons for Choosing Cubase

It was easier to use Cubase than other alternatives.

Reasons for Switching to Cubase

I got Cubase together with an audio interface that I had bought. And Sonar was disappointing me due to bugs.

February 2021

Andy from Montgomery Group

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Recording Ideas with Cubase Is Superbly Easy!

I was very surprised at Cubase's scoring notation feature - as this is something I will definitely use. For music to film composers - the whole process of writing music to film is made extremely easy, without the need of purchasing of any external hardware.

Pros

If you have creative musical ideas and need something to record those special moments with minimum fuss, then Cubase is exactly what you need. The setup for layering tracks in Cubase is straight forward and you'll be able to navigate the interface of the software with keyboard shortcuts, loops and record multiple tracks on-the-fly, without having to stop recording. That's one of the most creative parts of using this program!

Cons

I had trouble setting up my audio interface and getting drivers for low latency, but with watching a youtube video and a few little tweaks, all was fixed. It would be good if a wizard was built into the audio driver sound device setup.

Reasons for Choosing Cubase

The amount of users and forums online gives me the confidence that if ever I'm stuck and I can't get technical support direct from Steinberg, then I will have the chance to get help from other users. The sheer volume of users inside forums or Facebook groups is a healthy sign that Cubase is extremely popular.

January 2021

Modise from SWC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

Software Review

An open minded audio landing/dumping software that can give you or receive back edited or externally manipulated tracks for combination as much as professional standard internal recordings. It's a clearly ambitioned contender or peer for the audio dumping/recording for production and it can handle a generous number of tracks with exceeding fluidity and no huddles. Worth noting, a good audio conversion rate and turn around, data to play back ready audio mono or stereo track.

Pros

An above standard multi track build on board. It is the ultimate place for building a multi-track audio project for both audio production or video production, it is a good landing/audio dumping and recording platform that can inpart or infull give you the manipulated mastering ready audio. In essence you can do all the production individual track or multi/live tracks for direct or indirect manipulation.

Cons

Not a tool for the naive, but for its niche much tolerable, for the preparation will hatch grand results. Definately needs someone to boot you in here, or take a few days to get a feel of it. On the contrary a definate professional tool, so it is definately not for the trial and era kind of user.

February 2021

Asaf from Music

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Music

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Has everything I need and more

Definitely positive, really good learning curve, and in the bottom line it really helps me make music.

Pros

Great MIDI editor, easy to install plugins, lots of really good guides, both the manual and online tutorials, sn a lot of really useful stock plugins.

Cons

The update pricing not reasonable in my opinion, as upgrading from version 10 to 11 cost the same as upgrading from 5 to 11. Also, sometimes projects take a while to load, but I guess that happens in all DAWs, and depends on the computer recourses and specs.

February 2021

Christy from Self employed

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Cubase - A professional DAW

Cubase is one of the goto-DAWs in the audio industry and is fully loaded with all that is needed to record voice artists, produce radio programs, film scoring, music production, post production and the likes.

Pros

The built-in effects and instruments are very easy to work around and there is a great user interface overall. My favorite section is the mixer as it has an analog style channel strip approach. The multi-band parametric eq is surgical precise with great visual feedback of the signal. . I have recorded many bands with this software and would definitely recommend cubase for professional multi-tracking as it has a full range of professional audio processing tools included.

Cons

I find the import/export/bounce system a little too overcomplicated. Can get real slow on startup (maybe my mac is getting old also) Not ideal for performing live music.

January 2021

Benjamin from Bob Heavens

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Music

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

Cubase LE: Okay entry-level DAW

I used Cubase LE for several years on my PC. I was happy with it until I learned about other options that were available at affordable prices.

Pros

Cubase LE came packaged with an interface I purchased. I found it easy to pick up and find shortcuts. It was the first multitrack audio software I worked with on my personal computer. There are plenty of tutorials and tips for using Cubase available in print and online.

Cons

The features were limited unless I wanted to spend a good chunk of money. It took up lots of memory when running and crashed my computer a couple of times.

January 2021

Joshua from Self Employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

CUBASE REVIEW

Best software to mix and master vocals. I choose Cubase over any other music production software any day any time

Pros

Cubase has the best vocal output. Mixing and mastering vocals on cubase is far better than the other sound production softwares. The interface is very simple and easy to understand

Cons

Beat production stock plugins are less attractive than fruity loops. The beat production bit can improve more

March 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Digital Audio and Music Recorder.

Pros

It is convenient and versatile software for recording audio or music if learnt properly it can be very easy for beginners.

Cons

I've discovered that it is difficult to learn the shortcuts. There is no trial version available. You have to buy in order to use this software.

January 2021

maurice from more games

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Music

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

pro sound

Amazing

Pros

It is very to learn and use compare to other DAW

Cons

everything things ok with me could not complain

February 2021

Manase from N-SOUND Studio

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Music

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Most reliable and easy to use DAW !!!

It's a great software that I used and completed a good number of songs on it.

Pros

The mixing and mastering template is so much better and easier to understand for an upcoming producer.

Cons

Limited pro stock plugins . You'll have to spend on 3rd party plugins.