User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

5.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(9)

9

4 stars

(2)

2

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "stock plugins awesome...no need of using third part plugins"

  • "What can I say about the most industry-standard DAW on the market. If you want to work in a studio you'll need to know Pro Tools. It does everything I need and more."

  • "Intuitive editing workflow Inspiring new Factory and Plugsound library packs High-end hardware compatibility Pristine mixing engine"

  • Cons

  • "The full functionality take time to get used to. "

  • "In the past, it has been rather difficult to make sure you have a compatible system. Recently, it hasn't been much of an issue."

  • "The user interface is quite depressing and square. It could move on from that "oldschool" feel."

Browse Pro Tools Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -38 of 12 results

January 2021

User Profile Picture

Dave from Compass Point Bible Church

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

The (old) industry standard for a reason

I’ve been using PT since it required proprietary hardware, and I’d say it’s improved a lot since then. Moving from the iLok system was also a good move, but the monthly fee is a hard pill to swallow if you’re not making a living doing audio stuff.

Pros

ProTools earned the reputation of being the best DAW for a reason in the 90s and 2000s, and it’s still one of the best. A good layout, great features and shortcuts, and it lets you do all you need once you put in the time to learn it. If you’re in or working with the music industry, it’s still the standard in many pro studios, but that only matters if you’re moving files back and forth a lot.

Cons

The rise of faster computers and home studios has given rise to other great DAWs that are functionally quite good and comparably feature wise. The biggest downside to protools currently is the price, especially now that they’ve moved to the subscription model, but if you know the layout and shortcuts, it’s hard to make the case to go with something else.

Reasons for Switching to Pro Tools

Went from PC to Mac and wanted something that was more widely used/standardized. Even now I’m considering logic or Luna as alternatives to save some money...

March 2021

Andy from Andy Sorenson Music, LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Amazing DAW!

Overall, it's an incredible DAW with unparalleled editing capabilities. It's the industry standard for tracking and mixing so you'll find that most people are familiar with it which makes collaboration easy. For writing and for certain types of production that involve many software instruments, I would work in another DAW but I always prefer Pro Tools for mixing or tracking live instruments or bands.

Pros

Pro Tools is a true professional level DAW that offers an incredible array of features and flexibility in addition to it being an industry standard. The recording and especially the editing capabilities are incredible. Detailed editing and comping is the most accurate of any DAW that I've worked with. The built in free plugins are also great and worthy of use in real production situations.

Cons

It has a decent learning curve compared to other DAW's. It's not technically harder, just a bit more confusing to learn. Once you know key commands and your way around the signal flow, it's just as easy as the others from then on. The midi capabilities are a bit challenging compared to DAW's like Logic Pro as Pro Tools is geared more towards tracking live instruments than writing with software instruments. It's also much more expensive and the new subscription platform makes it even more expensive.

Reasons for Choosing Pro Tools

To work in a DAW that is more commonly used amongst top tier mixing engineers.

Reasons for Switching to Pro Tools

I switched to be able to work in a DAW that most industry professionals use.

February 2021

Christy from Hypnomusicsounds

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Protools DAW review

Great quality product. Professional standards are usually delivered using protools as a DAW, be it for live recording or live diffusing.

Pros

The flexibility with the protools software and hardware is endless and renown for its crystal clear quality, which i appreciate a lot as professional audio producer and sound engineer. The editing capabilities are great and my favorite is the rooting system. Close to analog style mixer leads to more precise mixes i believe.

Cons

The user interface is quite depressing and square. It could move on from that "oldschool" feel.

December 2020

Pressilla from Eternal Insurance Agency

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Makes Recording Easy

Program was great and the quality files produced were amazing. If it wasn't so expensive, I would have been thrilled to keep it. I would recommend it for engineers or music creators who spend a lot more time recording vocals because it has tons of features that will delight creativity. It always ran smoothly on my laptop or desktop computer and was easily accessible for me.

Pros

I love that they upgraded the free version to allow collaboration. It's great that you can also purchase more storage by paying a monthly fee currently at a flat rate. The features are pretty much self-explanatory "solo", "mono", "add track" etc. which makes it easy for a beginner to use. It includes many features to mix and fine tune your recordings- making the sound clear and of great quality. Stability of the program is widely known and most of the people I collaborated with already used the software. Great for recording voice overs, songs and other materials. Import audio features uses many formats including mp3 which makes it easy to use different files as a part of my projects. Very flexible with the ability to choose your bit depth and sample rate. Easy to bounce and save your sessions in the cloud or on other devices.

Cons

Free version limits the number of tracks that you can save and sync. Standard version has an expensive upfront cost which is not great for smaller businesses with less employees. Plus you have to continue to pay a yearly upgrade amount to get access to your files after the first year. Without the upgrade, the quality decreases overtime as it will impact the software capabilities.

Reasons for Switching to Pro Tools

More features

December 2020

Nick from NickLandis, LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Pro is the right name

I've been a daily user for over 15 years and it's been rock solid when system requirements are observed.

Pros

What can I say about the most industry-standard DAW on the market. If you want to work in a studio you'll need to know Pro Tools. It does everything I need and more.

Cons

In the past, it has been rather difficult to make sure you have a compatible system. Recently, it hasn't been much of an issue.

January 2021

Eddie from eddiebowermusic

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Music

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Pro Tools Review

Post-production; mixing & mastering, audio editing

Pros

As a professional engineer with over 20+ years of experience, ProTools has been one of the most indispensable products in my arsenal. The ease of use, for so many different genres & platforms; its ability to be integrated with other software & mediums makes this my number one choice of DAW's in the world. Well done AVID!!

Cons

Some of the stock plugins could be improved, which is no big deal with the integration of 3rd party plug-ins. It took a while for me to learn initially, but became easier as I became more accustomed to it.

March 2021

Manase from Soundhat studio

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Music

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Most reliable and professional DAW !!!

It's a professional software and with the right understanding of how each tool works I'm able to get more pleasant and professional sound.

Pros

The plugins it comes with have the capability to finish the whole Job and give you a high quality sound. You don't necessarily need to spend more money on third party plugins like waves bundle etc unless you so wish.

Cons

The full functionality take time to get used to.

February 2021

Darien from LegenDarien Music

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Music

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

Avid Pro Tools Industry Standard Still....

Pros

Intuitive editing workflow Inspiring new Factory and Plugsound library packs High-end hardware compatibility Pristine mixing engine

Cons

No VST or AU plugin format support Subscription required for software updates after a year

March 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Dubbing tool

Pros

It is an easy over dubbing tool used to dub your audios faster than other softwares that i have used before. I have found good quality of recording on this tool in comparison to other tools.

Cons

The only con I've got to know is that it has very expensive plugins or ad-ons. Also it works very slow on windows as compared to Mac

December 2020

Joshua from New Heart Music

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Fine Art

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Professional Mixing software

Pros

I like that it is has lots of cool features and variety of plug in available.

Cons

It’s hard to navigate especially for a beginner user. Also it should allow us to update the version instead of paying to buy another version.

January 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Costumization

At the very beginning was a problem to navigate, the UI was a confused but once you take the control of the program, it's very easy, complete and powerful

Pros

The costumization, You can install a lot of plugins and fx from the database

Cons

The user interface, it's very complicated to navigate at the very beggining

January 2021

maurice from more games

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Music

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

To achieve Pro sound use pro tool

Very good

Pros

stock plugins awesome...no need of using third part plugins

Cons

Everything about pro tools is amazing and equal to the task