User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.78

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"The editing capabilities are great and my favorite is the rooting system. Close to analog style mixer leads to more precise mixes i believe."
  • icon"As an amateur music engineer, Pro Tools proved to be a fun and effective platform for mixing, mastering and vocal mixing. Notably, I admired audio mixing and tracking capablities."
  • icon"I have spent ridiculous amount money on third party plugins and some of the stock plugins like D verb and 3-7 band EQ stand up in the mix better."
  • icon"It’s hard to navigate especially for a beginner user."
  • icon"Plus you have to continue to pay a yearly upgrade amount to get access to your files after the first year."
  • icon"I dislike the fact that some of the shortcuts are hard to use and memorize."

Browse all Pro Tools Reviews

  • Have you used Pro Tools and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 48 reviews

User Profile

Dave

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2021

The (old) industry standard for a reason

I’ve been using PT since it required proprietary hardware, and I’d say it’s improved a lot since then. Moving from the iLok system was also a good move, but the monthly fee is a hard pill to swallow if you’re not making a living doing audio stuff.

Pros

ProTools earned the reputation of being the best DAW for a reason in the 90s and 2000s, and it’s still one of the best. A good layout, great features and shortcuts, and it lets you do all you need once you put in the time to learn it. If you’re in or working with the music industry, it’s still the standard in many pro studios, but that only matters if you’re moving files back and forth a lot.

Cons

The rise of faster computers and home studios has given rise to other great DAWs that are functionally quite good and comparably feature wise. The biggest downside to protools currently is the price, especially now that they’ve moved to the subscription model, but if you know the layout and shortcuts, it’s hard to make the case to go with something else.

Reasons for switching to Pro Tools

Went from PC to Mac and wanted something that was more widely used/standardized. Even now I’m considering logic or Luna as alternatives to save some money...

Michael

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Music

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2022

The Industry Standard for A Good Reason!

Simply put, my business and career could not function without Pro Tools. It's the one software I'm using all day every day. If you're an audio professional or working as an audio engineer, using and knowing Pro Tools is basically a requirement. If you're new to the profession and reading this review, I'd highly suggest giving it a try and learning at least the basics!

Pros

As a Pro Tools user of more than 15 years, there are a lot of things I love about Pro Tools! It continues to be the go to software for audio recording, editing and mixing in recording studios across the globe. While I won't necessarily say that it's the best DAW for creating music (that is up to your taste and style), I will say that for the processes mentioned above, it continues to be the most thorough and in depth software for audio. While it does have a decently high learning curve, it's precisely this features, short cuts and processes that make it such a thorough program that allows the user to take total control of their work. For this reason it's all the features that I would say is my favorite thing about Pro Tools.

Cons

While there is a well known laundry list of bugs and issues with Pro Tools, to me the pros outweigh the cons. The main problem with Pro Tools does continue to be the often buggy nature of the software, which often crashes unless you have the most updated software and fastest computer available. If you aren't running the best computer system ever, you'll be sure to encounter some of these bugs, and there's a good chance you'll still run into them even if you have the top of the line Mac. Also I'd highly suggest using Pro Tools with a Mac and not a PC, as with a PC these issues may be even more elevated. The other thing I would say I don't like about Pro Tools is their subscription service. While the price has come down recently, I always preferred buying the software outright rather than having to pay monthly.

Reasons for switching to Pro Tools

Many years ago I switched to Pro Tools because I wanted to work in professional recording studios, which all require an in depth knowledge of the software.

User Profile

Jeremy

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2022

Pro Tools - Powerful, But Aging

I've been using Pro Tools since 1998. And even though I favour Steinberg Nuendo as an audio post DAW, I do love working with Pro Tools when it's required for jobs. Editing audio is a dream, but the interface and signal flow can be a little obtuse. But it pays to know Pro Tools.

Pros

Pro Tools offers some of the best audio editing features on the planet. The way the cursor works as an edit tool and the playhead is the best in class, and the fast, response editing tools are hard to beat!

Cons

Pro Tools has been extremely slow to adopt newer features into its engine. Full plugin delay compensation was only implemented a few years ago (Nuendo had this in 2001!), and Pro Tools is starting to feel like a dinosaur. The expensive subscription model is becoming indefensible as well.

Reasons for choosing Pro Tools

Pro Tools is the industry standard.

Thuso

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

What is Pro Tools?

It is very Stable ,always current and updated compatibility , Performance and UI customization

Pros

Application and user interface customization (performance, function and appearance). Broad audio format compatibility; simplicity in integrating audio of many formats and sampling rates; and similar simplicity in exporting. widest range of hardware compatibility Hardware has a longer useful life when performance settings may be adjusted.

Cons

Virtual instrument user interfaces are awkward and difficult to use. Subfolder labels should be automatically updated by Rename/Move session activities. Better, more focused in-app access and guidance for the numerous scripts and shortcuts already included in PT.

Alejandro

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Music

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2022

The Real Standard for Audio Recording and Music Production

Pro tools is my audio editor because it's reliable, and includes all plugins, and tools required to deliver my productions. It shines in audio quality, and works pretty well with any audio interface in the market. Absolutely a must for any audio editor/engineer today.

Pros

Very accurate for editing. Best sound processing, all the tools you need to deliver a professional audio media are included in the subscription.

Cons

Requires a lot of memory installed on your system, but once it's ok, it will be running pretty well.

Reasons for choosing Pro Tools

The integration with complex workflows allows me to interact with video editing stations, share media, and get synced digital tape machines.

Reasons for switching to Pro Tools

Pro Tools has a better integration in the audiovisual workflow with video editors

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2022

An Essential Program for Mixing and Recording

It allows my business access to a common, ubiquitous, and satisfying language of mixing and recording. Wherever I compose, produce, or write a song, I can be confident that it can be finalized and mixed with stability and predictability in Pro Tools, where a vast user base of studios and mixers also have the ability to contribute.

Pros

Its prevalence in studios, its approach to mixing, and its careful, thoughtful, and considered approach to updates. The new features that are added may be added slowly and sparsely, but the program’s lack of prevalent bugs is unparalleled.

Cons

My only dislike is tied to its strength in mixing and tracking. It is not a DAW that lends itself effortlessly to the initial production of a song, but once it is time to record the vocal and mix the song, it is fantastic. They obviously prioritize this as it is what it’s user base wants. The catch is that you may find yourself making a beat in one program and then mixing it (or in my case, sending it to a mixer) with Pro Tools.

Reasons for choosing Pro Tools

To be clear, I chose Pro Tools in addition to these products, rather than using a product like Studio One or FL Studio exclusively.

Daniella

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Motion Pictures and Film

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2022

Pro Tools for a freelancer

This program is overall the easiest sound editing program I have used. Everything is able to be organized really specifically, which is helpful when dealing with various audio files.

Pros

The most impactful features are recording within the program for dubbing. The plug-ins are the most difficult to use and understand. This is an amazing platform to be able the sound edit.

Cons

Ability to zoom in on a video within Pro Tools to be able to analyze the videos being sound edited.

Reasons for switching to Pro Tools

Wanted to become more technical with sound editing.

Jared

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

Good Product

Pros

Pro Tools has become an industry standard and is great for producing big pop hits.

Cons

Indie musicians do not require all the features pro tools provides, and said features can get in the way of the flow of creativity.

Tomas

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Music

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Great for recording audio and bands

Pros

It's a great pro-level DAW. Elastic time is really great for time-stretching audio in Pro Tools

Cons

It's a little pricy, but I understand as it's pro-level software

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

Completo en todo sentido

Pros

un software reconocido por los grandes guías del audio.

Cons

es un producto cara que viene la peña pagar, cada centavo lo vale.

Sebastian

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Music

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2021

My Review

The little time that I have used it is very good and I have many friends who continue to work with this program every day and it does not have any problem, sometimes I think it is a bit expensive but in general it is a good program.

Pros

It is a professional digital audio recorder, it has many points in its favor and I think one of them is its versatility when recording and finding different types of commands, I think it makes it easy for you to find everything, it also comes with some extra products. such as built-in plugins and some manuals.

Cons

I do not have many cons about this program, as I said before I think it is quite complete, the only thing I think is that sometimes it is difficult to learn when you start with a new DAW but the truth is quite good.

Horacio

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2021

Pro Tools and Me: 20 years and counting "first impressions"

My professional experience with Pro Tools is excellent. Have been using it as my main DAW for 20 years and counting. Have used it on mac, right now in a iMac M1, and PC´s (built by myself). In my normal working day Pro Tools stay up and running, recording mixing, scoring, etc. for straight hours. Not a crash. Ever. The few times that happened it was new plugin related. If you setup your workstation with the right hardware, no bs, and use it just for working. That is my real world experience.

Pros

All the editing features, for example the implementation of the multi tool, the four modes for the edit view (slip, shuffle, grid/relativegrid, spot), etc. If you know your shortcuts (and if you don´t...YOU SHOULD), editing work is fast as lightning speed. Nowadays working online, collab & travelling for different proyects is pretty common. You're likely to receive PT sessions from everyone. If you are thinking of working in the audio industry you'll find out every facility has at least one Pro Tools rig. There is no Pro facility not using Pro Tools since for ever. There is a reason why, join in and find out!

Cons

Theres a lot of features I don´t like from Pro Tools. First of all MIDI. Come on guys, 2021...look to your sides. I would suggest midi bridge implementation between DAWs like CUBASE or Logic insturment tracks into PT instrument tracks (not gonna see it in my lifetime). That would be a game changer!! The second most tedious feature I absolutley hate is delay compensation. Awful implementation. It took 10 versions of PT to work it out. And if the hardware is not powerfull enough, you´ll be struggling a lot with parallel processing using really heavy cpu plugins. Let´s say in 2021 computing got enough power to make it work. But try automating Objects in real time in a dolby atmos mix with 100+ ch.

Reasons for choosing Pro Tools

I currently use all of them. But my main DAW it´s always Pro Tools. Always. The workflow. I´m a fish in the water.

Andy

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2021

Amazing DAW!

Overall, it's an incredible DAW with unparalleled editing capabilities. It's the industry standard for tracking and mixing so you'll find that most people are familiar with it which makes collaboration easy. For writing and for certain types of production that involve many software instruments, I would work in another DAW but I always prefer Pro Tools for mixing or tracking live instruments or bands.

Pros

Pro Tools is a true professional level DAW that offers an incredible array of features and flexibility in addition to it being an industry standard. The recording and especially the editing capabilities are incredible. Detailed editing and comping is the most accurate of any DAW that I've worked with. The built in free plugins are also great and worthy of use in real production situations.

Cons

It has a decent learning curve compared to other DAW's. It's not technically harder, just a bit more confusing to learn. Once you know key commands and your way around the signal flow, it's just as easy as the others from then on. The midi capabilities are a bit challenging compared to DAW's like Logic Pro as Pro Tools is geared more towards tracking live instruments than writing with software instruments. It's also much more expensive and the new subscription platform makes it even more expensive.

Reasons for choosing Pro Tools

To work in a DAW that is more commonly used amongst top tier mixing engineers.

Reasons for switching to Pro Tools

I switched to be able to work in a DAW that most industry professionals use.

Pressilla

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2020

Makes Recording Easy

Program was great and the quality files produced were amazing. If it wasn't so expensive, I would have been thrilled to keep it. I would recommend it for engineers or music creators who spend a lot more time recording vocals because it has tons of features that will delight creativity. It always ran smoothly on my laptop or desktop computer and was easily accessible for me.

Pros

I love that they upgraded the free version to allow collaboration. It's great that you can also purchase more storage by paying a monthly fee currently at a flat rate. The features are pretty much self-explanatory "solo", "mono", "add track" etc. which makes it easy for a beginner to use. It includes many features to mix and fine tune your recordings- making the sound clear and of great quality. Stability of the program is widely known and most of the people I collaborated with already used the software. Great for recording voice overs, songs and other materials. Import audio features uses many formats including mp3 which makes it easy to use different files as a part of my projects. Very flexible with the ability to choose your bit depth and sample rate. Easy to bounce and save your sessions in the cloud or on other devices.

Cons

Free version limits the number of tracks that you can save and sync. Standard version has an expensive upfront cost which is not great for smaller businesses with less employees. Plus you have to continue to pay a yearly upgrade amount to get access to your files after the first year. Without the upgrade, the quality decreases overtime as it will impact the software capabilities.

Reasons for switching to Pro Tools

More features

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2022

It has been Pro Tools for a while

In as much as I have always liked working with Pro Tools, I find it a little bit out dated with time but it is always difficult to abandon a legacy system kind of a tool, and that’s Pro Tools to me.

Pros

Once in a while my team meets for a monthly feature where we record our experiences with music. Quite an impromptu activity. Often not, we do not have the luxury of time for multiple vocal takes. I have always used Pro Tools Elastic audio feature to align our conversations with music. This feature comes in handy in vocal quantization and ensuring no overlaps. If need be, i could as well stretch the vocals and get a perfect production.

Cons

Working with MP3 lately in Pro Tools has been very slow when it comes to importing them into Pro Tools. This has not been the case and could be that Pro Tools is having a problem with my new Macbook Pro M1 chip.

User Profile

Tarcea

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

If you want industry quality, You Need Pro Tools

Pro Tools is my #1 program for anything that I need to do as it pertains to audio. There is no 2nd best option.

Pros

Pro Tools is the crux of my recording studio. From recording, to editing, mixing, and mastering, basically all things audio, I need and love to use Pro Tools for it. I believe it has the most user-friendly interface and functionality.

Cons

At times, Pro Tools can be a RAM hog so it's vital to ensure you have enough RAM or you may have to upgrade for it to be at its best.

Nick

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2020

Pro is the right name

I've been a daily user for over 15 years and it's been rock solid when system requirements are observed.

Pros

What can I say about the most industry-standard DAW on the market. If you want to work in a studio you'll need to know Pro Tools. It does everything I need and more.

Cons

In the past, it has been rather difficult to make sure you have a compatible system. Recently, it hasn't been much of an issue.

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY