All Studio One Reviews

1-25 of 46 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Jose

Verified reviewer

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

One of the best DAW on the market!

I use STUDIO ONE on a daily basis, either individually or sharing projects with my musical friends, without a doubt it fulfills its task, added to the fact that it is really very simple and intuitive to use.

PROS

Undoubtedly the strong point of STUDIO ONE is its ease of use without losing functionality, its user interface is very well planned allowing each function to be just a CLICK of the mouse away. Many tasks can also be carried out with the drag and drop command, which greatly simplifies its use.

CONS

Although I could not consider it a con or disadvantage, I do not agree with their business plans and the respective values, I think they are a bit high. However, they recently incorporated a monthly subscription plan to access all the features for a modest fee.

Reason for choosing Studio One

I think that the choice of STUDIO ONE over ABLETON LIVE is due to the fact that the ABLETON LIVE interface is oriented towards electronic music, although it could have been useful to me, it goes in another direction with respect to my musical preferences. However, both DAWs are excellent and have a long history in the market.

Reasons for switching to Studio One

I made the change because I had heard a lot about STUDIO ONE when using it for the first time I immediately realized that it was suitable for me and I continue to use it today.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Jack Of All Trades, and Master of Some

Overall, Studio One helps me compose songs, record them, edit them, and export them and it does it well enough that I’ve never felt the need to go back to any of the other DAWs I’ve used prior. I am a former Pro Tools and Logic user and while I love those programs as well the feature set here is inclusive enough and the general workflow is cohesive and user-friendly enough that I am happy I am using Studio One.

PROS

What keeps me in Studio One is their wide variety of features where it’s convenient and their depth of features where it counts. First off. The maturity of the feature set in editing, mixing, and general studio routing places this in the top class of linear DAWs for me. Like Pro Tools, Cubase, and Logic, Studio One remembers the “Audio Workstation” aspects of “Digital Audio Workstation,” and its mixing workflow and browser behavior has been streamlined very effectively over the years. I appreciate how many different “styles” of features they have incorporated outside of those core features as well. There really are a wide variety of features and it makes it very helpful to have at least basic versions of all these different workflows available. For my work, that means that Studio One can help with a song in so many ways from start to finish, with the editing and mixing of it being the most streamlined and well conceived. I credit this to their emphasis on pulling a large number of new features from submitted user ideas.

CONS

The only downsides (and they aren’t major) are non-“core” features lack a certain depth, and new features tend to go a number of cycles without improvements. As I mentioned in the “Pros” it is nice to have so many inventive features or features inspired by competitors such as Patterns, alternate Song Versions, Remote, NoteFX, Control Link, harmony editing, alternate arrangements, and complex Channel routing, but many of these features will go years without improvements past their first implementation. That isn’t to say they don’t work well- they just remain basic or unrefined for longer than some programs have, as if the team is spread very thin and just trying to enable lots and lots of new capabilities across all their software products. Luckily they have a fully featured no-hassle 30 day demo!

Reason for choosing Studio One

The convenient selection of mixing and editing tools was the biggest plus. I was able to learn those with very little tutorials as they tend to follow a common pattern in every section of the program. I was so impressed by that I decided to go for Studio One.

Reasons for switching to Studio One

When I started doing more music and less dialogue/film editing I decided to look into DAWs that had a little more creative tools without going full-on Ableton Live. It was between Cubase, Logic, and Studio One and I tried Studio One on someone else’s recommendation. The mixing and editing toolset was so thoughtfully done that I pulled the trigger. It also had a much simpler and more reasonable update and maintenance system at the time (this was before Avid and Presonus both went to subscriptions).

Jared

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

Good Overall

PROS

Provides all the standard features you'd expect in an average DAW.

CONS

Competing DAWs have more room to explore creativity and advanced mixing techniques.

Ken

Music, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Savvy and smart music producers use Studio One

I'm an audio engineer and producer, and I've been using Studio One for a few months now. I can say, without reservation, that it's the best DAW I've ever used. The interface is well designed and intuitive and the feature set is amazing, but what really sets it apart is the quality of the built-in effects and instruments. It's a powerful DAW tool that can be used for live performance, recording, composing, editing, mixing, mastering. It has a comprehensive set of features including monophonic and polyphonic tracks, MIDI sequencing, an intuitive interface with drag-and-drop functionality, and 4-band parametric EQs. Really impressive work!

PROS

- DDP import/export function for mastering. - The learning curve is much easier than the competition and the interface is designed to make your job easier. - Studio One supports unlimited audio and MIDI tracks, VST plugins, automation, unlimited busses, professional quality effects and instruments, MIDI editing with Auto Quantize, time compression/expansion with Tempo Sync.

CONS

- Studio One misses some popular plugins found in other DAWs.

Reasons for switching to Studio One

In FL Studio, I always felt like I was fighting against the interface. Sure, it had some advantages over Studio One, but it wasn't worth it. The reason was that Studio One was so much more intuitive. When I learned the ropes in Studio One, I realized that it had some major advantages over FL Studio. In my opinion, this is a no-brainer decision. Studio One has a lot more features and functions that make the process of composing and recording music easier. The user interface is easy to use, making it a fantastic product for beginners.

User Profile

Cristhian Josue

Verified reviewer

Design, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Studio One, The daw you need if you want to have something unique

PROS

Studio One is fresh, it feels like something unique, this is the daw you need to try if you want to get out of the "Ableton-Pro Tools" formula. it has features that no other similar software has, opening the panorama for podcast and audiobook creators, yes, Studio One is a daw focused on music creation, but this doesn't limit it to this field, allowing another kind of creators and artists to experiment.

CONS

Much in sometimes is less, and that is notable in the reduced number of virtual instruments that Studio One has, if there is something negative to comment on this daw is the small number of native synthesizers it has, as well as its incompatibility with plug-ins below vst 2.

Reason for choosing Studio One

Alternatives of different monetary value or with features that Studio One maybe not have.

Reasons for switching to Studio One

I wanted to try other daws

Michelle

Music, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

It All Started With the Free Version

I've been using Studio One for a while - started with version 2 and I'm now up to 6. This is perhaps one of the most useful "free" items I ever received in conjunction with a piece of hardware - I bought an audio interface and got a card with a code for a free license and since then I have completely migrated my digital audio work over to Studio One.

PROS

I like how comprehensive this software package is for the price - this is the most affordable high-quality DAW I've ever used and I've been doing this since the mid 90s.

CONS

I really wish the interface - specifically the colors - were completely customizable instead of my having to choose a "skin" or a "theme."

Reason for choosing Studio One

Price vs features, and the fact that I didn't want to use a subscription.

Reasons for switching to Studio One

I found it easier to see all of my integrated tools as well as easier to utilize virtual instruments in Studio One

User Profile

Nathan

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Runs Circles around ProTools!

I have absolutely loves Studio One

PROS

Unbelievably flexible. I love being able to use any hardware and any plugins. It is so feature packed right out of the box. It makes other platforms look like a joke.

CONS

The learning curve is a little steep but once you get into it it makes total sense.

Reasons for switching to Studio One

Out of box features of Studio One can’t be compared with.

Guillaume

Music, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Best DAW for mixing and mastering

PROS

Very convenient, a breeze to mix with this DAW

CONS

Not the best for composing, but ok for arranging

Reason for choosing Studio One

I chose to get both, Live for composing, Studio one for mixing

User Profile

Xavier

Verified reviewer

Music, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

The first and only one

PROS

I love everything about studio one. I think I started using this product in 2016 and have not stopped using it. I still have the same version of that year and it is still useful to this day. I will be updating to the latest model because I bought some new hardware that lets me upgrade. I use it to record concerts, recitals, edit audio, cut and splice, mix, master and everything turns out really smooth. I have a lot of plugins integrating and they always connect really easy. If you are looking for something that is easy to understand but that also has a lot of depth to it if you really get into it, this is the DAW to get.

CONS

Iam having a hard time deciding if there was something that I don't like about it. Maybe that you always have to buy the newest model and that it does not upgrade with the one you buy but that is way better than the subscription model that I hate.

User Profile

Almetrez

Verified reviewer

Business Supplies and Equipment, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Business Review

PROS

The mixing and lining that produces the music.

CONS

Trying to find the website is not easy.

Loucas

Music, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

If you want to be a producer, Presonus is the best

Amazing!!! I am using it everyday for many hours and i can tell you for sure i am gonna use it for ever if they keep going like this! Every update is based on users feedback and needs! They listen and they support us! They trying their best to make us creat music ! Thank you Presonus!

PROS

Everything is perfect! I am using it for many years and i am super happy. I produced and realized more than 150 songs! It is user friendly and believe me it has more than enough tools to use. I believe as a professional musician and producer , Studio One is the best option out there !

CONS

I didn't find anything negative in all this years in presonus. They take very seriously the feed back of their users and they managed to build the best daw in the world !

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Geared towards efficient workflow

Great User Interface and intentional design has greatly improved my workflow. I am getting more done that spending on learning the software.

PROS

The features in Studio and any simple update or upgrade seems intentionally geared towards efficient workflow while minimizing clutter. When I examine and use things like the gain clip envelopes which has for me almost replaced the need to use compressor effects on vocals, I find it very intuitive and effective way to work. The Inspector is another section where Studio One has been capably optimized with everything visible and where it ought to be. Quite intuitive design! Additionally, I am able to do more efficiently with products like Melodyne as Studio One is Audio Random Access compatible.

CONS

Steep learning for me. I can honestly say that I am still learning and feels like a long way to go. However, I must appreciate the very helpful Studio One community and awesome tutorials available which have made my learning easier.

Denis

Online Media, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

my opinion Studio One

very simple and easy to use. I like studio one

PROS

The user interface is very good and allows each function to be found quickly. The strong point of STUDIO ONE is its ease of use without losing functionality

CONS

I really want the interface to be fully customizable than choosing a "skin" or a "theme".

Michael

Music, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2022

An Awesome DAW For a Reasonable Price!

Overall I really enjoy using Studio One! While I don't use it regularly, in my experience it's a user friendly DAW (digital audio workstation) that is fully capable of fast editing, recording, and mixing. Like with any DAW, once you get the hang of it you'll be able to quite a bit with it. The bulk of my work is done with Pro Tools, and while this isn't a replacement for a Pro Tools professional, it does provide maybe less experienced user with a nice alternative. I do find it to be set up more like an audio program like Pro Tools, that something like Logic, which is more geared toward composing. Definitely recommend giving it a shot if you're reading this review!

PROS

Probably my favorite thing about PreSonus Studio One is the optionality in terms of it's price and overall value. It's set at a reasonable price for what it is and can offer the average audio user a very, feature rich, DAW that can do everything the others can, at a great value.

CONS

The thing I like least about PreSonus Studio One really doesn't have to do with the product itself, but just the fact that not too many people use it, and it is catered more to a semi-professional or amateur consumer. This results it that it's not very compatible with professional recording studios.

Dan

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Amazing DAW for all purposes

Overall, Studio One is my go-to tool for audio editing and composition for developing creative content at work. It's very obviously designed to be a professional DAW product, but also with the user in mind so that whatever level of experience you have with audio engineering, you can figure out how to get what you need out of the software. Furthermore, the enormous range of videos that Presonus produce means that if you do get stuck and are unable to figure out how to get a particular result, there's usually a video to explain how to get there.

PROS

Studio One is a really intuitive DAW for all levels of user. Whether I'm editing audio or composing midi arrangements, or recording audio, it's always a straightforward process. I also really like that while new versions of Studio One have been released, they have added to the familiar user interface rather than overhauling the whole thing and forcing users to relearn how to use it.

CONS

Studio One very occasionally crashes upon launch, which is a little frustrating, and I'm unclear why this sometimes happens.

Reasons for switching to Studio One

Advice of a friend who works as a professional audio engineer.

Kristopher

Music, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Obtaining Studio One is equal to obtaining a superpower in the musical universe.

I have achieved everything that I have dreamt of achieving, since I learned my first note/chord on piano and guitar, over 40 years ago. No excuses, Studio One can and will perform...can you?

PROS

The mastering feature is rock solid, and by far my fav feature.

CONS

"crickets"....."some more crickets" Cons? Do what now? Blasphemy. The only "cons" I feel that S1 has, is CONvenience, CONsistency, CONnectivity, and CONsumer orientated.

Reason for choosing Studio One

The high degree of quality and completeness.

Ryder

Music, 1 employee

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2023

The ONE

I like studio one for my demo projects before taking them to our local recording studio who also runs studio one! I can load up the same project and it’s like I never left the house.

PROS

The intervention it has with my daw and other compatible programs I have. I can rewire studio one from or too existing products I currently have which comes in handy when making music.

CONS

Intergration with there updates seems to cause glitches in the hardware. So when updating DAW make sure equipment is updated as well or you may be searching in the back up for a crashed file.

Reason for choosing Studio One

I didn’t. I purchased them all.

Michael

Music, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY