User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(44)

44

4 stars

(12)

12

3 stars

(5)

5

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(1)

1

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse VEGAS Pro Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 61 results

October 2021

User Profile Picture

Eldar from E.S.G.P international

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

Vegas Pro is Reliable and stable Editing software

Pros

The software can be used to create all types of media: Videos, Still images and Sound mix. the exported formats is common formats for all media types You will find in the software tools in Adobe the same tools is separate in several programs. It's possible to turn a layer into 3D mode similar to after effect. As a beginner you can start with the software is intuitive to use and gives you the option to adjust the project settings to the video you drag in automatically. You can easily create custom settings for everything and save for next time thus saving time.

Cons

If you plan to be hired to work in a video editing place, you usually asked for experience with Adobe or Avid softwares, because the industry works mostly with these softwares. There are some default features that damage the quality of the video like a resample that needs to be remembered to disable, but you can do it one time and save the settings. sometimes the software can be freeze and crash and you can to lose some work if you didn't save often, but after the last version its not happen often and there is random auto save but you better not trust on it.

September 2021

Marcos from Dread Central

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2021

Vegas Pro Is The Underrated NLE King

I've been using Vegas Pro for about 10 years. I've been tempted by the competition, and indeed have incorporated things like Filmora for more casual edits and easier titling. But if I need to do a complex edit, like the one I did for my award-winning short film, I go to Vegas Pro. It's reliable, stable, feature-rich and affordable.

Pros

Vegas sits on a very sweet spot: it's a single-purchase license (versus things like Premiere which are only available through subscriptions), but it's not too much more expensive than more enthusiast offerings such as Filmora. For that one-time payment, you get a lifetime license to one of the most established non-linear editors in the business. There's a wealth of support and information online (which sets it apart from newcomers) and the business model is much more small-business-friendly than the Adobe subscription model.

Cons

Magix acquired Vegas from Sony a few years back but not much has changed. I really wish there were better built-in titles, for example. Better support for hardware acceleration of the timeline and edit process. The titling issue in particular usually means I have to edit my footage further somewhere else. But to be honest, the NLE workflow is good enough that I don't mind the extra steps for titling.

Reasons for Choosing VEGAS Pro

The single-license purchase model made VEGAS Pro a no-brainer when choosing it over Premiere.

April 2021

Robert from Revolver Visual Design LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Video for Graphic Designers

Overall, I am very pleased with Vegas and will continue to use this for the forseeable future.

Pros

Vegas is, by far, the easiest to use video editing software I have come across in 20+ years working in graphic design. The layers function is immediately familiar to anyone that has used an adobe product and the tools are super easy to use and naviagate.

Cons

Vegas tends to bother you with special offers and such at nearly every startup of the software. X'ing out of those can become a nuisance.

Reasons for Choosing VEGAS Pro

Vegas is just simply easier to navigate and work with than Vegas, no matter how integrated it is into a Creative Cloud workflow.

Reasons for Switching to VEGAS Pro

Back when I was using Premier (and Final Cut Pro) in the late 90's and early 2000's, their features were way too hardware-dependent for the normal PC's of that time. Vegas was a great, lightweight alternative that continues to work as such today, even with all the new bells and whistles that have been added to it over the years.

December 2021

RIckJames from Get Bent Fabrication

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Photography

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2021

Very Poor Hardware Acceleration

Will likely move to a lower cost, less featured software package that offers better hardware acceleration for faster rendering times.

Pros

Software has a very user friend interface and alot of features.

Cons

Very poor hardware acceleration support. There are editors that cost 1/4 the price and can render the same quality video four times as fast or faster.

Reasons for Choosing VEGAS Pro

I thought it would have comparable or even faster encoding considering it cost over 4 times as much but this turned out to be completely false.

Reasons for Switching to VEGAS Pro

Was expecting superior hardware encoding.

June 2020

Clayton from Calprop Group, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2020

MOV container files will not work in Vegas Pro

Not great, and it does not work on my newer devices which all use .mov containers. DaVinci Resolve free version works much better which is a big surprise.

Pros

I do like fx features and the workflow, but none of my new camera gear will work in it anymore.

Cons

Why does Magix think .mov files are obsolete and always related to Quicktime which they are doing away with? It is my understanding that .mov is just a container, and codec can vary in containers. For instance, my new Atomos Ninja V recorder uses .mov containers with DNxHR codex. Does not work in Vegas but it works without any problems in the free version of DaVinci Resolve. Same thing with 2 of my new action action cameras that also use the .mov container, but it works great in DaVinci Resolve. Vegas Pro also does not have Prores support. What can I actually use Vegas Pro 17 for? Does not work at all for my Atomos Recorder or action cams. I can do a couple tweaks for my Atomos with the DNxHR codex installed separately, but I can't get video on action cameras. I regret spending the money on Vegas Pro 17 now.

Reasons for Choosing VEGAS Pro

Gave it a try because I liked the workflow

August 2021

Artur from Artur Niewiadomy

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Sony Vegas Pro 16 is a complex, advanced video editing program

In our work in marketing, we produce a large number of video materials. Thanks to Vegas Pro, work is easier and faster, and therefore videos are cheaper.

Pros

A very extensive and at the same time intuitive program, the great advantages of which are: 360 video support, automatically adjusting subtitles, a large number of various types of transitions and effects. Works with video materials in all basic formats (DV, AVCHD, HDV, SD / HD-SDI, HEVC, ProRes).

Cons

The biggest disadvantage of Vegas Pro is the high price and the need to spend time learning the program.

Reasons for Switching to VEGAS Pro

Vegas Pro is a little easier for me to use than DaVinci Resolve.

September 2021

Irfan from CityFM89 (Dawn Media Group)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Broadcast Media

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2021

Why is Everyone Going Crazy Over Vegas Pro?

We use Vegas Pro as the official editing software for our radio. It is used 24/7 and everyone is quite happy with the overall performance of Vegas. It is pretty good to handle 7-8 hour playlists. I put together music B2B for the night and work with multitrack. Vegas Pro is the backbone of our organization and it has definitely had a positive impact on our ROI. You can do a lot of cool stuff with Vegas when it comes to audio engineering.

Pros

Vegas Pro is excellent for audio editing. A big window for multiple audio tracks makes it quite easy to work. The interface is user-friendly and the tools are awesome. The snapping tool provides great help to accurately place tracks. Likewise, the automatic crossfade gives so many different variations to combine the two audios. I particularly like the auto-ripple option that helps moving tracks and saves a lot of time. You can put markers and insert region, and then render the desired final audio. Batch-render is an excellent way to process multiple files at the same time. Vegas Pro is a must-have for a radio.

Cons

We recently upgraded from version 13 to 15 and faced trouble rendering singles files. The new version crashes frequently. Docking panels can be tricky sometimes. We had the Explorer Window undocked by mistake and spent a lot of time figuring out how to fix it.

September 2021

John from La Joya ISD

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2021

Terrible customer service

Before Sony sold it to the new entity, it was a joy to use. Now, I am actually looking to get a different editing software the actually helps its customers.

Pros

The software was easy to use and as I mentioned the learning curve was quite easy. More complex operations required some research but usually the problem at hand was easy to solve and the results were impressive.

Cons

Before it was sold by Sony, it was easy to ask questions and get technical support. Now, it's nearly impossible to get any help or support. Their website is useless when it comes to addressing customer service.

Reasons for Choosing VEGAS Pro

Ease of use.

Reasons for Switching to VEGAS Pro

Vegas offered more options. It was already installed in the computer in my class when I transferred from my other school district. The learning curve was fairly easy and the videos offered on YouTube were very helpful.

September 2021

User Profile Picture

Cristhian Josue from El Punto Lab

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2021

Vegas Pro, what does your old video editor look like in 2021?

Vegas Pro is comfortable and has good things to offer if you're willing to pay monthly fees which in my opinion are expensive for this video editor, a good software, but not the best.

Pros

Despite the years, Vegas Pro has remained a great option in the world of video editing, at the beginning of the last decade this software was a reference, although currently doesn't have the same popularity, vegas pro is that video editor that any user can understand perfectly. The workflow of this video editor is very comfortable, it allows us to edit effects directly in the timeline, the menu is simple and clean, Vegas Pro is a very good video editor.

Cons

In my opinion, this software is a bit expensive, I like Vegas Pro, but the monthly subscription is too abusive, personally, I am against having to rent software, but Vegas Pro has no way to justify its price, being its target audience the average user. Personally, I would check out other similarly priced video editors before purchasing Vegas Pro.

June 2021

Jeff from Baptist Health Care

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Vegas Pro Keeping up with thechnology

Vegas has been my go to editor for 15 years. I can customize nearly every option of a render format quickly and easily.

Pros

This is the most intuitive Non-Linear-Editor I've used. What takes several clicks in other editors is a mouse-drag away on the timeline.

Cons

They recently changed ownership, which was not without a few bumps in the road. Thankfully it is all ironed out.

Reasons for Switching to VEGAS Pro

Ease of use, faster results.

October 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

Awesome video editing program!

In general, it is a very friendly program for someone who is just starting out in the editing world, or if you need it to quickly edit a video.

Pros

It is a very easy to use program, it has a very intuitive interface. Practically it can be used without tutorials, it also has a very large variety of editing tools.It is a very stable program, very few times it has crashed.

Cons

For very few things it is necessary to use external programs.

June 2021

Jason from Tree of Life Ministries

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Great Product

I use it o make videos for Facebook and Youtube for our church. It is very easy to use. It has all the features that others have -- without being tied into a certain operating system or resource demands.

Pros

I have been using Vegas since it was Vegas 10. It has consistently gotten better with each successive generation. It converts and renders all the video that I need it to.

Cons

Importing live video is somewhat of an issue. It could integrate with daw software better as well. Magix should look at a subscription-based service instead of having to buy outright for upgrades.

February 2021

User Profile Picture

German Liber from Raro&Oscuro

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

The best for home and budget projects, not so good for professional jobs...

Overall experience with Vegas was good, I had to leave the software once I learned a lot and started doing more professional work. It's okay for beginners and budget/home projects.  Price is too high, feels clunky and outdated and that's a con. 

Pros

I use Vegas even before MAGIX bought it, the software is really great, and it helped me a lot when it was my only option a few years ago, when my computer wasn't that great. Vegas is the perfect choice for rookies on video edition, you can learn the basics on aspect ratios, cut-and-paste fragments of video, resolutions, audio parameters, etc. The tools can be pretty advanced and useful if you know how to use them, there are solutions for everything related to video edition on Vegas, you can even do some animation and automated effects. The rendering times are pretty great, even on low-end computers. 

Cons

It's not the best for professional use and commercial projects, it can be kind of clunky and the learning curve is slow and very frustrating. Templates for text and cards on video feels really outdated. Animation and automation tools are not the best, while they work, they require, in fact, a lot of hard work to function properly. The prices for it are really high.

October 2021

Zulfa from No organization

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

Vegas Pro, a very fantastic video editor tool

Vegas Pro is probably one of the best video editing software I use, while it seems complicated, but it doesn't take long for me to learn about the apps, it gives so many options to make videos interesting, it also supports the use of the green screen effect, whether you want to make funny game moments video, music videos, film, or just meme, guide video, and much more! This software can do all that,

Pros

Quite easy to use, great interface, lot's of effect even on stock, Capable of using green screen effect

Cons

Sometimes crash, it needs quite a lots of RAM.

Reasons for Switching to VEGAS Pro

More choice and more creative ways to use Vegas Pro than movie maker

August 2021

User Profile Picture

Andrew from ITWorx

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Vegas pro when you need video editing

Pros

Its the most professional tool with many animations and helpers to produce a high quality movie

Cons

Difficulty in installtion and needs to tutorials to help in using all features

June 2021

Melanie from Twitch

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Epic softwear for everyone

It makes my videos look extremely professional. I love how easy it is to use and it saves back ups without any questions. That has saved my project a lot.

Pros

-Easy to use -User friendly -Backs up projects with no questions -Has many specials effects to use -Has many different formats to export

Cons

-Expensive -Can crash -Can take a while to render -So much stuff it can be hard to pick what to use

November 2021

raulton from Diversified 3 Inspection Services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Professional Non linear editing software

Producing quality short clips and video shows for production.

Pros

Powerful software designed for professional video editing and the like.

Cons

Difficult learning curve but fortunately a quick google search will help.

January 2022

Geoffrey from MonEquipe.Info

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2022

Still one of the best video editing tool for single camera projects

I'm very happy with the software. Sure, there is a bit of a learning curve but once you master the shortcuts and the logic... Editing becomes super fast, and you can automate most actions through scripts or plugins.

Pros

First : It's a highly flexible tool for whom you can code your own scripts to automate actions. Second : The real time preview is a real time saver. Third : It's affordable, and upgrades to get the lastest version are cheap. And most importantly : It doesn't slow down your computer or crashes as much as it's direct competitor. So that you can render your project while still working (in your browser for instance) on something else less computer intensive.

Cons

The out of the box "picture in picture" feature was overly complicated without a plugin. The multicam was cumbersome. Not sure if they improved it in their latest upgrade to something faster to produce and easier to edit like in Final Cut Pro X.

Reasons for Choosing VEGAS Pro

Computer requirements were too demanding. Everything seemed very slow and eventually crashed the app (or the computer). The opposite of what I was trying to achieve.

Reasons for Switching to VEGAS Pro

Workflow was too time consuming. Access to a limited feature set was limiting our creativity as well.

May 2021

Rayan from RAYZOX

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Très bon logiciel pour faire du montage vidéo et audio

Grâce à Sony VEGAS je fait mon montage vidéo, il est super simple et j'adore l'utilisé il m'aide à faire ce que je veux faire en me faisant gagner du temps grâce à ses nombreux raccourcies mais aussi à m'en faire perdre avec les crash. On à beaucoup de choix pour le rendu de nos vidéos, les incrustations au montages. On à aussi un objet génial qui est un drapeau jaune de début et de fin qui nous permets de sélectionnés qu'elle partie de la vidéo on veut exporté, ce qui nous permets de pouvoir exporté plusieurs vidéos (si l'on en veux plusieurs) et tout ça dans 1 seul fichier sauvegarder de sony VEGAS. J'adore l'utilisé je n'utilise que lui et je ne suis pas prêts d'arrêter.

Pros

J'adore le fait qu'il y est plein d'options et plein de raccourcis. J'aime aussi le fait qu'ils proposent des options tels que rajoutés une voix aux montages des fois qu'on n'est oublier quelque chose. Le fait que le texte ou les images soit super facile à incrusté. Pareille pour les cut et les zoom c'est super facile et intuitives. L'interface est génial on a tout à disposition et il y a beaucoup de possibilité de réalisation avec ce logiciel on peut modifier une image on peut monter une vidéo faire une introduction tout est à disposition.

Cons

Il a beau être cool il y a des inconvénients minime, les petits problèmes sont que quand ont choisis des fichiers ils nous les mets tous d'affilés sur les pistes de montages et d'affilés du coup je doit les supprimés pour les remettre. Il y à aussi le fait que l'application crash souvent sans raison en ce moment depuis 2 semaines il ne crash plus trop. Il y aussi le fait que pour exporté les vidéos ils ne faut pas cliqués sur exporter mais rendre en tant que quand ont débutent avec le logiciel on ne le sait pas forcément. Il y a aussi le fait que quand on veut couper l'audio et la vidéo aux mêmes endroit cela ne sélectionne que la vidéo ou l'audio et qu'on est obliger de cliquer sur ctrl+ clique gauche sur la piste audio pour sélectionné les 2 ceux qui est dommages.

August 2020

Roya from Royameadow

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Modernization of Local Programming: A Brief Insight on Ten Years with Vegas Pro

I have been using Vegas Pro in an official capacity since 2011, with history using it as early as 2008, currently on Version 016 (Build 0352) as of typing: This software has served as the only resource that I and many of those who make up my production team use to produce our local programming, due to its noticeably easy User Interface and extreme ability to be enhanced through Third Party extensions to help keep a user on the same build for many years before having to do a major upgrade; its constant performance and stability improvements with each version and future generations of CPUs, GPUs, and RAM assures that it will continue to see ever more use as it becomes easier and faster to produce even the heaviest of workloads. Although it is plagued with a plethora of Glitches and Crashes that get fixed as the software matures and CPU/GPU Driver updates arrive, Vegas Pro is significantly more affordable and accessible than Adobe's suite of software and other relevant competition, having far more community support than most other platforms; optimized for Intel and AMD's modern era Sixteen+ Core CPUs and AMD's Vega II GPUs, anybody can build a High End Desktop for less than 2000$ USD and see effective results with Vegas Pro for many years to come, media producers such as myself can develop local programming without having to upgrade an HEDT system for a good while and we'll still get the most out of the software, it is ageless and will continue to deliver a powerful impact.

Pros

~ Significant levels of Ease of Access for multiple media file types of many ages and forms. ~ Expansive resource set to allow for more Extensions, Special Effects, and Scene Transitions to help mature and evolve the software's capabilities. ~ Support for High Framerate footage and countless forms of Colour Profiles. ~ Usable on virtually every possible Desktop or Laptop hardware combination over the past matter of decades.

Cons

~ The Digital Version does not come with an expansive Instruction Manual to understand how to use every effect, specifically in regards to Third Party resources that can be added during the life of the application's run. ~ Massive amounts of inexplicable Glitches and Crashes (though many can be fixed through manual tweaking and official Bugfix builds). ~ Occasional Requirement to reinstall QuickTime after select major firmware updates of Windows. ~ Critical issues with RAM consumption (specifically Committed Memory) when using media assets of a certain codec or a resolution that is significantly higher than the Project Size. ~ Heavy dependency on OpenCL favours AMD's Compute~based Graphics Cards over Nvidia's Graphics~based cards (though this may be beneficial for PC builders on a tighter budget).

Reasons for Switching to VEGAS Pro

I upgraded to Vegas Pro (Version 011) from Microsoft's Windows Live Movie Maker that initially came with Windows 07, which was significantly important in assuring the improvement of production quality and file size of our works in Late 2011 and onward, with us moving away from WLMM completely in Late 2014. Vegas helped deliver a better insight into how media production is truly meant to be done, delivering a real Professional Grade feel that dominates anything that WLMM could've delivered to us in years prior; had this switch not ever been done, my group's works would've suffered significantly and remained stuck in an era of static impact going forward, thus I wholeheartedly applaud what Sony and MAGIX have done with the software in my time of using it, Vegas Pro may not be perfect but it still gets the job done for me and my workforce far more than virtually any other software could at the speed and effectiveness that it has managed to do for north of ten years.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Eliezer from Southwest Label & Printing

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Powerfull and Simple Video Editor

Vegas' timeline has always been very simple—It allows for speedy editing while not detracting from functionality. Other NLEs' timelines feel clunky (I've use almost every major editor). Rather than holding to firmly to a layout which is over-inspired by outdated linear editing systems, Vegas has always (even since the Sonic Foundry years) been one of the quickest NLE's to learn.

Pros

I love the unique qualities that allow the user to be able to alter and edit video from color to manipulations. With endless ability to get added transitions, and capability to render any way you prefer I think it is a unique user experience that I can't get anywhere else. Best of all? It is easy to learn if you are willing to look up some youtube tutorials. I have used this for years. Get it.

Cons

Some advanced manipulations are difficult, and in regard to free transitions and such, options are slightly limited. I can't say much else is a dislike.

Reasons for Choosing VEGAS Pro

I mostly use Vegas for creating and editing Youtube videos for different channels. Since the templates are not often changed and mostly I use After Effects for Visual Graphics and Effects, Sony Vegas is the right and appropriate tool for me to render videos faster and smoothly.

October 2021

Bob from Robert Heazlit Productions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2021

You are on your own

The customer service is so poor that the overall experience is frustrating at best. At worst it costs me money because i can no longer sustain a project session without the software freezing and losing work.

Pros

After years of use and watching a decline in stability update after update, I am saying goodbye and helping people understand there is no after-purchase support with this product from MAGIX.

Cons

Once some of the best video and audio software on the market has become bloated and unusable, glitchy, and unreliable. This is a buy at your own risk software. There is NO support. None. Nada. To even get to a support request you have to click through pages of FAQ and suggestions that are also no help before you can actually submit a support request. After you submit your request there isn't even an automatic email that lets you know your request has been submitted. I have used this software for 20 years...and I am now looking for a more reliable company. Because once you purchase, you are on your own.

Reasons for Choosing VEGAS Pro

Familiarity over decades of using the product. I will be switching to Adobe.

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Timothy from Imagitech

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Brilliant video editing suite

Use it to edit drone videos that I can share with my friends and hopefully the world which is fun. It's a great app to work with.

Pros

Feature-rich, many built in filters, transitions, asset bank, plugins, can output to many formats with many different output profiles

Cons

Requires a large screen (720p doesn't quite cut it), steep learning curve for a beginner, scrubbing o the timeline could be easier. Found it difficult to import all the videos I wanted from one directory. I also have fastcut and would have been nice to use fast cut to kick start the video and use Vegas pro to edit and tweak the final mix. A keyboard shortcut cheatsheet would help.

Reasons for Switching to VEGAS Pro

More features, no crashing!

March 2020

Freddie from legacy entertainment

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

The Indie Filmmaker's Best Option

Aside from the duration of the rendering, this is the best software out there.

Pros

Sony Vegas is one of those products that only gets better with each function you discover. From magic spells to invisibility cloak to the Infinity Snap, Vegas Pro does it all. Tutorials are so easy to find on many platforms. It's simple enough for even an amateur to understand. It can render in a variety of formats.

Cons

The rendering capacity depends on the computer. Even offline, the rendering can take hours for a two minute video.

December 2019

Robin from RMF

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

Good video editing solution for Windows

VEGAS Pro has helped to edit professional looking videos for online distribution quickly with more features than simple programs like Windows MovieMaker.

Pros

I highly recommend VEGAS Pro if you use Windows. It is a feature rich video editing program that has all the bells and whistles for professional work. One of the great things about VEGAS Pro is that it is a one time purchase vs. Adobe's monthly subscription.

Cons

While the software is great, there are sometimes some bugs that causes crashes. It can be frustrating as you edit. This happens with most video editing programs however and should not be looked as a deal breaker.

December 2020

Bárbara Victória from LadyTory Arts

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Vegas Pro Saves me in hard times

Vegas Pro has always helped me editing my tracks and songs, and I won't switch it as I can't find another software that beats it's praticity to find and aply functions on your files.

Pros

What I like the most is praticity in Vegas Pro. You don't need a lot of time to learn the basic features of it, the record button is right in the first icon of the bottom bar. Just click and it starts recording. And is also really fast to just carry an audio track from another program and drag it into the recording part. Easily you can start editing it.

Cons

Even if it has a lot of praticity, is really not intuitive to cut just a little part of a track. You need to select it, drag the timer in the right spot and be carefull to don't cut another track that can be above or upper to the desired one, otherwise you will cut all of the tracks in the same spot, and sometimes the cut part erases the other side of the track, making you need to copy and paste it again,

December 2019

Nicholas from N/A

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Easy to use, confusing video formats

Pros

I liked how there are keyboard shortcuts for tools. The interface is really clean and straight forward.

Cons

Selecting the video format to render can be difficult as some formats/options state 1080p but look really low quality. In order for videos to look higher quality certain advanced settings within specific options needed to be tweaked which was confusing for the average user. I had to follow certain YouTube tutorials in order to render my videos to achieve a level of quality that I was satisfied with.

June 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Great Program just Way to Expensive

I really enjoyed the trial I had of Vegas Pro, but again the price of the program was too steep for my pocketbooks. If you have the money then I recommend it.

Pros

I really liked the user interface was really easy to use. If there were questions I had about the features of the product I would search for tutorials on Youtube as I am a visual learning and it helped make the program easier to work with.

Cons

I feel that Vegas Pro although a great program is really overpriced, especially when you have Hit Film Express that does the same editing and the program is free with the exception of buying what you need.

March 2020

Fabio from http://www.afvideoproduzioni.info/

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

one of the simplest video and audio editors

Pros

I used it very often in the past when I started editing videos. Very simple to use, not complicated compared to the competition, and to start editing videos it is perfect. Even today I use it for editing and audio production, preferring it to other software

Cons

it is not as professional as other software, but to start with it has everything you need, in fact at the beginning it is a better software than others

June 2021

Alejandro from Pineas

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Music

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Un editor de video muy completo

Vegas es un buen editor, ofrece una interfaz bastante amigable y es fácil utilizarlo una vez que aprendes

Pros

Es genial la cantidad de efectos, transiciones que tiene por defecto el programa, te ahorra el trabajo de tener que descargar otros programas adicionales ya que muchas cosas las puedes hacer solamente en Vegas, no es muy intuitivo el programa pero cuando vas practicando ya es más fácil de aprender a usarlo

Cons

Hay funciones que son innecesariamente complicadas de ejecutar, como mover archivos png. Otra cosa molesta es que suele dejar de responder y se cierra el programa

November 2019

Ivan from Technical University Sofia

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

The tool for all video editors

I had a great time using Vegas Pro. It was easy on the RAM of my PC and fun to play around with. I like it more than Premiere Pro.

Pros

Sony Vegas Pro has an extremely large set of tools that professional editors can use for their projects. It's user friendly UI makes the workflow go smooth without any complications. It even has built-in tutorials for most tools that users can experiment and try out new features.

Cons

Extremely expensive piece of software and takes a lot of time to master. Cannot make projects with FPS lesser than 12.

Reasons for Switching to VEGAS Pro

Premiere Pro was using too much RAM and was not very easy to understand. Overall I did not like the UI and I find Vegas Pro to have a more simplified version which is great in my book.

May 2021

User Profile Picture

Najib from Morosco

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Textiles

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Your video with Vegas pro

I started to create videos with vegas pro knowing nothing about it, i learned to master tools easily in less time, first because it lets you crop,split and even combinefootage with just few clicks of the mouse, seconde it providing various filters and visual effects.

Pros

Easy to handle ,does not affect your pc, if you are beginner it will help you learn step by step, and if you are professional then this is the ideal tool to improve your skills.

Cons

The video takes a long time to extract, but the solution was very easy just to configure the output.

July 2021

Sharan from BLDEA's V P Dr PG Halakatti College of Engineering & Technology

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Video Editing like a pro

We use it to create videos of 3d rendered models of the buidlings. It Helps in marketing.

Pros

Great way to convert simple videos to professional videos. Lots of features to make the best-looking videos.

Cons

Learning is important. If you learn how to use this software you can incredibly edit videos like a professional video editor.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Cedric from Be Real With God! Ministries

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Vegas Pro: The True Non-linear Editor

It allows me to focus on the project and create versus trying to figure out how to do this and that. When you are trying to meet deadlines, you want a tool that is easy to use not slow down the process. Plus Vegas was doing 64bit with real time preview and effects long before the other guys. No long waits to see if things will work and stable in use. Get this and save yourself the headaches!

Pros

Works like a non-linear editor should and not like a linear tape deck thrown on a pc program.

Cons

The loyality program could be a little more cheaper for some of us using Vegas since Version 6.

Reasons for Choosing VEGAS Pro

Familiar with them since 2005 and better to use. They are not a knock-off of another editor and is easy to use.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Easy to use for non-video makers

Let's start with I am not a great video editor, in reality I know very little. And when I tried I was surprised on how fast I learned it and understood its most important features in a fast pace. So if you are like me and you do not need a software with more features than you are going to use (Adobe Premiere) go with Sony Vegas and you will be more than happy with it!

Pros

I like how easy is to use the timeline and its features with great user interface.

Cons

Does not have as many features/is not as powerful as Adobe Premiere

Reasons for Switching to VEGAS Pro

The Adobe Premiere is one of the best video editing in the market, but it is not ideal for beginners, it has more features than you need it.

August 2020

Gustavo from Rio Free Walking Tour

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Simple, Intuitive and Killer

I edit short films and video logs for Youtube. It is definitely one of the best and most complete video editors, lightweight, fast rendering and very intuitive in the whole process.

Pros

It's simple to use, intuitive to add effects over the timeline, full detailed audio control and plenty of plug-in options

Cons

It could presents many crashes when an effect is included, and may even close the entire program. Delimiting options for types of files to be rendered

May 2021

EDWARD from Buyatab

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Amazingly great product for easy editing

I have had a very positive experience with Vegas Pro. While it is very expensive, I still believe it is the best video editing tool on the market right now.

Pros

I absolutely love Vegas Pro, and I always recommend it to my friends over other products like Premier Pro since I like how Vegas Pro feels like I can do everything on it and I don't need a bunch of other platforms to help me do the one job, like I feel with Adobe products.

Cons

The price is very expensive for Vegas Pro, so I always try to get it whenever I find it on a steep discount. The initial price offering makes it a little unattractive in my opinion.

April 2020

Izet from Self Employed

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Vegas Pro

Pros

For me personally, Vegas pro is great software for people involved in video editing,because is not hard to learn in few simple tutorials you can learn a lot of useful that will help to understand it.Value for money is not that importat because the amount of things that you get for it are amazing.

Cons

The are to much illegal ways to get it.I hope that will be fixed one days because when you buy software you are helping creators to build it even more.My opinion security needs to me higher.

February 2020

Holly from Winston School District

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

VEGAS Pro Review

My overall experience with VEGAS Pro has been positive. I highly recommend it.

Pros

I liked that I could create videos such as AMVs with VEGAS Pro.

Cons

Honestly, there was nothing that I didn't like least about this software.

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Miguel Ángel from Miguel Aguirre

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Music

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Perfect to start and learn

Overall I think it's a good editor to start with and a good editor to do professional quality work. The license is not that expensive and I like the fact that it can be purchased in a single payment, as I don't like monthly licenses.

Pros

I decided to edit my guitar cover videos with VEGAS Pro for its ease of use and the whole variety of tutorials that are on the internet about how to use this video editor. As a beginner I would say that it's perfect to get started in video editing. It won't take you so long to learn from scratch how to edit a video, to know the different editing options offered by the program and end up with a decent end result. At first I had a hard time becoming familiar with VEGAS Pro, but with day after day of continuous work I was able to become more efficient and finish editing my videos in less time. I'm very happy with the results I obtained and I would like to learn more to get better results, which surely with more practice I will get.

Cons

I feel like I haven't used VEGAS enough to be able to see its full potential, so to this day I haven't had any problems.

Reasons for Choosing VEGAS Pro

For its simplicity and one-pay license.

February 2020

User Profile Picture

Eric from Self Employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Broadcast Media

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

I Love Vegas

Vegas almost never crashes on me, which was an a occasional issue with Final Cut. It's just solid software that does what you need it to, with all the professional features and effects.

Pros

I have used Vegas and Final Cut, and I have found Vegas to be faster, more reliable, easier to use, and have at least as many features...if not more.

Cons

There is nothing I dislike about Sony Vegas. If you're familiar with video editing software you'll get the hang of the layout and quick keys very fast.

Reasons for Choosing VEGAS Pro

Hunch

September 2020

David from Sylvaterre P/L

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2020

Always breaks when updates are being sold

Every year it causes enormous frustration and outrage due to having scheduled failures

Pros

I've been using it for almost 10 years and it is very easy to learn and use BUT every time a new version becomes available it stops rendering and saving project files. Contact support and you get told 'We don't support that version anymore, you need to purchase the upgrade if you want support.'

Cons

The fact that it breaks as soon as sony start selling a new version and support wont help unless you purchase the upgrade. It's an unethical scam

March 2020

Erica from Busygates

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Vegas Pro makes it easier to work with other videoeditors

Pros

It is quite natural to use multiple video editors to suit various needs. The greatest thing I like about Vegas Pro is that it works with other well-known video editors such as Final cut pro and Adobe premiere pro making it easier for you to import and export projects between these editors.

Cons

It gets the job done but rendering can be improved

November 2019

Elliot from Next PLC

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Fantastic software and service

The Vegas Pro is brilliant and professional and is a great tool for my business work. I feel confident and excited to explore the tools and custonising features to improve the videos I produce for our clients abroad.

Pros

The software is very detailed and professional. It offers you the ability to completely customise and imrpove your video production.

Cons

The software does not provide a very easy instruction guide

March 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Video editing software

Pros

It has variety of tools to edit your video. It also allows you to edit effectively without having high end devices. It also allows different audio tools to link with it.

Cons

One of the massive drawbacks is that it crashes alot even though it does not require high end devices.

April 2021

Rafay from Video Editing by rafayathar

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Effective for professional video editing

Pros

I have been using this for 1 year and all I can say is WOW!! It contains many professional effects and elements. It contains everything that a video editor needs. REALLY AWESOME!!

Cons

I like everything about it. Its effects, tools, elements all are wonderful and effective

December 2020

User Profile Picture

Mark from Shining Star Photo Booth

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Solid video production if you know what you are doing

Very happy, however support is a bit lacking when you have questions.

Pros

Vegas offers so many options and features to rival higher end production suites. It includes color grading and advanced chroma ability. 4k video and 360 video also.

Cons

The interface is so crowded on smaller screens. You really need a 24 inch or higher screen to work well with it, which makes it difficult on laptops.

Reasons for Switching to VEGAS Pro

Corel Video Studio was unstable and full of bugs

November 2019

Tamás from Telekom

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

One of the best videoeditors

Pros

Easy to use, user-friendly, fast, minimalist design

Cons

Sometimes rendering time takes a bit longer time. (Maybe this is the problem of the computer.)

Reasons for Choosing VEGAS Pro

Cheaper and faster than others.

Reasons for Switching to VEGAS Pro

Better performance

November 2019

Frank from Ringier Africa

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Media Production

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

VEGAS Pro is Excellent For Video Marketing

Pros

Video marketing is in high demand today and VEGAS Pro is one of the best tools to be able to actualize this. VEGAS works effectively and it is relatively easy to use. It is great when it comes to creating visual effects, 3D titling and even compositing.

Cons

It is pretty expensive. But will definitely recommend if you can afford.

July 2020

EDEMOR from Atento

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

most complete program in the category

I use the program in all my videos that I post on YouTube and it has provided me with the best editing

Pros

the various forms of editing and the wide choice of effect

Cons

I still haven't found cons in this program

Displaying 1 - 50 of 61 reviews