User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(13)

13

4 stars

(2)

2

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "very user friendly I recommend this product to all my friends who are setting up new businesses to see if they can use this as well."

  • "I love the ability to set our program the way we want to use it. Reports and screen views are easy to adjust to fit our needs as a shop."

  • "simple easy to use keeping accurate customer files and history , does everything a small shop needs. features are very clear and easily accessible "

  • Cons

  • " It does not work with Mac OS X. Although they set me up with Parallels Desktop and it runs great."

  • "The newest program is wonderful, however we have stuck with the older version because it is more simplified version, not as many options we don't want or need."

  • "TheY have a great training and support group, but I would like to also have access to more documentation besides the user guide, so many features I feel I could take more advantage of the software"

Browse ShopController Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -33 of 17 results

April 2017

Rodney from Freds Garage, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

A Really Good Program - Everything Flows!

I'm glad I went with ShopController. It gives me everything I need to manage my busy shop. It works nicely with Worldpac and my other vendors, so putting together estimates is easy. Moving a work order along through the stages from appointment to invoice is a simple process, and it's easy to tell what's going on in the shop at any time. I was nervous about switching from my old, really basic program, but they assigned me a trainer who made it easy and worked with my schedule. ShopController support customized my screens so everything is laid out perfectly for the way I like to work. When I have a question, I know whoever picks up the phone will always be friendly and professional. Overall A really good program that will grow with my business. Pros No contract Great support Flexible - set it up to work your way Access it from anywhere Cons None that I can think of.

Pros

No contract Great support Flexible - set it up to work your way Access it from anywhere

Cons

None that I can think of

Response from ShopController

Replied April 2017

Thank you Rodney, we enjoy having you as one of our most valued customers. .

August 2017

Don from West Yale Auto & Conversion ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

I have the 8.3 version and I like it, I had tried out the 10.0, but it wasn't user friendly

it was easy to use, helped many times when we put in the wrong vehicle serial #, it would not accept it and we would have to go over our tracks and find Our mistake, especially with gov't inspections, saving us embarrassment with wrong vin #'s for vehicle insurances etc

Pros

the 8.3 is easy to use for people like myself who aren't computer savvy, It stays up to date with new vehicles,

Cons

it doesn't update part costs while in the process of an invoice , we have to go back into inventory to correct and update values each time (if you change the price on an invoice, and close the invoice it defaults to the original price, for the next job)

Response from ShopController

Replied August 2017

Don, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Shop Controller. We understand that you feel more comfortable with the previous version of our software. In the updated version, we have recently added integration with Worldpac Speed dial, Epicor, as well as Nexpart to assist in parts ordering. When you use the new software you will have the ability to have the parts imported from the parts catalogs right into the work orders. With the price matrix, increasing your margin has never been easier, as the markup is done automatically. We are glad to hear that our Carfax integration has assisted you in preventing data entry issues. We also agree that Carfax is a great way to save time in the data entry process when entering vehicle information. Finally, we value your business and look forward assisting you in the future. Respectfully, Shop Controller

August 2017

Brian from Center Point Automotive Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

We have mixed feelings with this software. You have to remember we are not computer technicians

It allows me to run my business

Pros

The program is fairly easy to learn and use for basic stuff. It is easy to create Work orders and build new customer files. The search program works really well when looking up old work orders. Shop Controller was very good to work with to customize our profile

Cons

There are several glitches that still plague us after several years. The constant Save and Close procedure is a pain and when you are busy and miss a step it creates a back log. Once you learn the work arounds it is OK. The reports that you can generate are basically useless for any thing that I want. We also seem to loose contact with the main servers on a regular basis. Means a reboot of your computer to get back on line. Maybe our internet server but it is a major issue when the customer is standing in front of you ready to pay his bill. The transfer of our data from the old Shop controller program we were using was not perfect. Meaning we have to keep the old program going in the back ground to look things up. This is less of an issue as time goes on and as we build a new data base.

May 2017

Steven from Truck Shop Maui LLC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Extremely satisfied customer since the start of our business in 2014

Pros

This software is very easy to use by most anyone. Customization is achievable for your specific needs and the support staff is responsive, and will go the extra mile to assist you when you have a problem.

Cons

I don't see a tutorial we can print so that we can utilize the program to the fullest. There are some modules that we could use to help us analyze our business, but we are not familiar with how to go about doing so.

Response from ShopController

Replied May 2017

Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate your patronage, and we are glad that you find ShopController easy to use and customizable to your needs. We are currently adding our Tutorial and User Guide as a link within ShopController, so it is easier to find and more readily accessible. We are also adding Feature pages to our website, and we will be sending updates to our clients describing available features as well. All of us here at ShopController are excited to assist you with all of your Shop Management needs and will schedule any additional training required.

August 2017

Jennifer from Steve's lite truck

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Love the program.

Easy to use. Keeps vehicle history information, customer information

Pros

User friendly. Customer support representative has always been there for tech support wherever i have had any questions. I think we first started using the program when he first started in 2000, And went back to his program after a short lapse.

Cons

The newest program is wonderful, however we have stuck with the older version because it is more simplified version, not as many options we don't want or need.

Response from ShopController

Replied August 2017

Jennifer, Thank you for the review and continued business. Please let us know if you would like a demo of the new features that were recently added to the software. We look forward to many more years of assisting you with your software needs. Respectfully, ShopController

August 2017

Tara from Dixie 4 Wheel Drive

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

We build custom vehicles and ShopController is the software that customizes along with us.

Being able to customize reports in the Analysis section has helped me get a better look inside my data to help me manage my company better.

Pros

I love the ability to set our program the way we want to use it. Reports and screen views are easy to adjust to fit our needs as a shop.

Cons

My biggest issue has been training my people that have weak computer skills on how to use this system. It has so many options that it frustrates the 1,2,3 people.

Response from ShopController

Replied August 2017

Tara, Thank you for the opportunity to assist you in your Shop Management Software needs. We understand that you may have some challenges training your employees, and we will be more than willing to assist you with the software implementation and training of Shop Controller. Please give us a call, and we will ready to help you in any way we can.

August 2017

Brad from All Around Automotive

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

As a customer for well over 15 years, in my opinion they are the best on the market!

It makes running the shop efficient and quick

Pros

For what we use of Shop Controller it is very easy to navigate. The way it is laid out is very easy to see what you are doing. The software's best feature is probable with the support. AnY time we have an issue they are quick to resolve.

Cons

My only issue is with exporting some file, but we are running original shop controller and Windows XP, so it's not really Shop Controller s fault.

Response from ShopController

Replied August 2017

Brad, Thank you for the review and we have enjoyed having you as one of our most loyal customers. Please let us know if we can assist you in any way.

July 2017

MARK from BILL'S AUTOMOTIVE

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

This may sound odd. But dealing with Tech Support, I enjoy Their Love For What They Do!

It Work

Pros

The software work! They Will Help Customize ( the program ) Your Shop Controller to Fit Your Needs!! The Software is always being tweaked for the good. When I have a concern/problem tech support is very happy to help. The customer support team will bend over backward to fix the problem/concern. I can't speak for all software services. But this one is Worth Checking Out.

Response from ShopController

Replied August 2017

Thank you Mark, we are grateful to have you as one of our most valued customers and look forward to assisting you.

August 2017

STEPHEN from G.T. Automotive

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2017

we have used Shop Controller since 2005 and have been very happy with the older version, still have

simplified our workshop, saved a lot of paper filing and with easily access to repair history it saves a lot of time, it is also very affordable and support is always available.

Pros

simple easy to use keeping accurate customer files and history , does everything a small shop needs. features are very clear and easily accessible

Cons

lack of reports , we run a dealership and the reports of efficiency and productivity that are required are not in detail in Shopcontroller

August 2017

Lisa from mid atlantic mobile truck and trailer repair inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

love the product, the tech team is awesome !!!!

Pros

very user friendly I recommend this product to all my friends who are setting up new businesses to see if they can use this as well.

Cons

that you have to go through so many steps to download into quick books. and payments do not show up in the link when downloading

Response from ShopController

Replied August 2017

Thank you Lisa, We always enjoy working with you and appreciate the business you send our way. Thank you for being one of our most valued customers. Respectfully, ShopController

July 2017

mark from Driver Rehabilitation Center of Excellence, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Alliance is a great company to work with. Very customer focused.

Pros

The simplicity and user definability are great for making it work for your business. This software can be easily modified to work well with virtually any company or business.

Cons

Like any software, getting your people to embrace change is hard. It would be great if we could buy implementation services for the software.

Response from ShopController

Replied August 2017

Thank you for your review and feedback, we are looking into ways to add implementation into our support services.

May 2017

Rainer from RaiNET Systems LLC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Really Customizable and tailored to your needs.

Pros

I was hesitant to go with Shop Controller because I am not their average client and I really felt my needs were too unique. I could not find any service software that met all of my needs. After a few months using the system I have to admit I could not have done better. They really customized the software to my business. They helped me hide everything I did not need and even added a few custom features. I want to thank Steve, my account manager, for all his effort to make sure everything was up to my standards/requirements. It integrates perfectly with QuickBooks avoiding me a lot of double typing and saving me a ton of time. Their support is fast and they are always eager to help you. I would recommend Shop Controller to anyone who appreciates good customer service and need a solution that truly fits their business.

Cons

It does not work with Mac OS X. Although they set me up with Parallels Desktop and it runs great.

Response from ShopController

Replied May 2017

We appreciate your business and thank you for your review.

March 2018

Jeff from Griffith TPS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

It is nice that I can access Shop Controller from anywhere

Pros

I can access records and monitor the shop even when I am away. This is a professional management system that I would recommend to others! Plus the cost of it is very affordable since we have a small shop.

Cons

With a small shop, this management system does just fine for us. Some of the reporting is basic but it shows us the details of what matters to me and my techs.

Response from ShopController

Replied March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review ShopController. We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you further.

June 2017

Jake from Midwest Transmission Distributors

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Customer Service right when you need it

Pros

Great experience with ShopController. Customer Service right when you need it, you talk to a real person and they really make the software tailored to your needs. Tons of Features, I don't even use it to its full potential. 5 stars and I will recommend it to anybody who owns a shop.

Cons

TheY have a great training and support group, but I would like to also have access to more documentation besides the user guide, so many features I feel I could take more advantage of the software

Response from ShopController

Replied June 2017

Thank you for reviewing Shop Controller. We appreciate having you as a customer and look forward to assisting you..

April 2018

Conrad from Micro Quality Calibration, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Shopcontroller is an excellent tool for managing an automotive repair business. I am satisfied.

Tracking technicians growth, scheduling repairs.

Pros

I love the ability to easily schedule all of our work in one place. Also, the ability to track my Technicians hours and productivity was a game changer and assured that their work was getting done.

Cons

I do love this software enough to justify the price, but if I had to point out anything I didn't like it would be pricing. We do not make much income and pay a decent amount for this service. However as mentioned I will continue to pay for it.

Response from ShopController

Replied December 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it!

September 2018

ART from Arty's auto service

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

September 2018

Worse shop program

Pros

Not much horrible product very slow can't even put a logo on the ro's

Cons

Not user friendly, very slow system and horrible customer service

October 2016

Lee from Lashley's Garage

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Affordable shop management system with reliable tech support

Lashley's Garage would like to thank shop controller and their staff for all the great support. We would recommend this professional management system to any professional repair shop looking for a great and affordable shop management system with reliable tech support.

Response from ShopController

Replied April 2017

Lee, Thank you for your review of ShopController. We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you further.