About Shopmonkey

Shopmonkey is a cloud-based auto repair solution designed to help automotive businesses of all sizes manage processes related to appointment scheduling, messaging, reporting, invoicing, and more. The platform comes with a workflow management functionality, which allows managers to create custom processes for tracking jobs, adding status labels and viewing customer approved quotes.

Shopmonkey’s communication module enables users to send emails or text messages for invoices, inspection details and job statuses. Features include maintenance planning, quoting, work order management, technician time tracking, billing and more. Additionally, the automated notification system allows managers to notify customers about confirmed appointments, pending payments and job a...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Web browser (OS agnostic)

149 Reviews of Shopmonkey

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.88 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(134)

134

4 stars

(10)

10

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 149 results

January 2020

User Profile Picture

Micah from MP Mobile Mechanic

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Fantastic software!

Pros

Being mobile, having a cloud based software that had a professional look, inventory, matrixes and great features was essential. I enjoy working with another startup and seeing all the new features coming out.

Cons

I do seem to get glitches in the software when new features roll out but they disappear quickly. Any issues I have had that needed me to talk with support have been solved within minutes unlike my last software that never fixed the one issue I had.

Reasons for Choosing Shopmonkey

I did sign up with Identifix because I need their massive collection of diagrams and diagnostic reports. Compass 360 is very expensive.

Reasons for Switching to Shopmonkey

They never figured my invoice authorization problem. You guys had more features and a better price.

May 2021

Randy from Alameda Auto Electric

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Streamline shop workflow

Shopmonkey has saved me an average of 3-4 hours a week between streamlining my customer's sign in through use of the work request form which instantly opens up an estimate for my customer's with all of their information which I simply update in the work flow. It has also saved my estimate making time to literally a quarter of the time I used to take. It gathers all of the pricing from all of my parts providers in one single page that I didn't even know about, it brings the parts that I choose into shopmonkey and instantly applies the pricing matrix that I was using by hand to every single part. And my favorite part is that it helps us get our labor guide pricing at an instant. Estimates that used to take me about 4 hours to have to my customer are now ready in less than 5 minutes. It's a tool that has simply reduced my time at the computer so that I can focus on the cars and communicate with my customers.

Pros

Perfectly integrates all of the things I use into one. From parts procurement, to labor estimates to easily attaching a customer to a car with its unique identification.

Cons

My only con for this software would be the price per user cost, but the experience far outweighs this con.

Reasons for Choosing Shopmonkey

Ease of use, complete integration, car fax reporting and design.

Reasons for Switching to Shopmonkey

I needed something that would help streamline my workflow and make my efficiency go up.

January 2021

brayden from Velocity Motorworks

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2021

Why i switched to Shop-Ware

It was great to start out with, but for the price and the features usable its not work it. Shop-ware is way better built out for just a little bit more. No feature talks with the entire software so you find yourself repeating the same thing on multiple pages to keep information the same across the platform.

Pros

its pretty and almost there. It looks better than it is. The customer support is great and very responsive. It got us out of Mitchell 1. Its hard to write Pros because everything I like about SM has a flaw that pushed us away from it.

Cons

* YOUR INFORMATION WILL NOT TRANSFER TO OTHER MANAGEMENT SOFTWARES!* Id like to see feature role out that are complete and note just 50% there. Every new feature i see are half baked. Nothing talks to each other in the software. Its pretty, but not functional for anyone looking to improve workflow; every step requires 6 more steps to ensure everything is working together as it should, but that usually requires alot of cut and paste and work arounds. In particular the new tech view is awful! As an admit i cant complete things, see progress without diving into the tech view. Why this was a priority over a service manager being able to see a snapshop view in the workflow of how far along a job is baffles me. Its like the staff here has never worked in a shop before or managed one. The priority needs to switch to management and workflow speed. SM makes things take so long because it has to done several times so that information is congruent throughout the software.

Reasons for Choosing Shopmonkey

Because at face value it looked like it had all the features it claims. But after using it, it truly does not, at least not yet.

Reasons for Switching to Shopmonkey

Mitchel is outdated and overpriced

Response from Shopmonkey

Replied May 2021

Thank you for your feedback, we strive to provide the best software solution possible and your feedback helps get us closer to that goal. That said, we never keep our customer's data captive. All of your customer and shop data is exportable, and if you have an active subscription, we're happy to help with this as needed. We have also taken large steps to provide a more efficient workflow, fewer clicks to complete operations, and we've put a strong focus on improving the tech and admin views. We've recently released Shopmonkey for Techs mobile app that's designed for the day-to-day technician operations with a to-do list to track progress on the job. We actually do have a number of employees that either own or ran a shop, and we make customer visits a priority to ensure our roadmap is inline with your operational needs. We've taken every piece of your feedback to heart and have addressed with our product team. We're sad to see you go, but we wish you nothing but the best!

April 2021

Ryan from Ryan's Performance Diesel LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Ryan's Shopmonkey revie

Pros

The software is very easy to use and pretty much covers everything i need to keep up with trucks that are coming to my shop, what trucks are here at my shop, keeping up with my parts inventory and billing jobs out with ease. I am very happy with shopmonkey. Whenever i have a question or concern the chat link is always in the lower right corner of the screen with the shopmonkey team ready to help me! This is one of my favorite features! i type in my question and within a few minutes someone is chatting with me to help me figure out what it is i need to do and if that doesnt help they will call me within minutes. There is no waiting hours or until the next day for help. When adding parts to your inventory it asks for the price oyu paid for the part and then allows you to choose the % mark up you want on it. It does all the math for you which saves time. My favorite feature is being able to send invoices with the option for my customers to pay the invoice online. I am very happy and will stay with shopmonkey!!

Cons

Now for the bad....well, to be honest, there is no bad that i have found yet. Sure there are a few little things that I would like to change but heck, a lot of things in shopmonkey are editable to customize it to your liking. I have been using this software for roughly 6 months now and i am still learning. As of now, I have no complaints.

Reasons for Choosing Shopmonkey

I chose shopmonkey because when i asked for more information on their website, i received a response VERY quickly. A shopmonkey team member chatted with me, then asked permission to call me and did jus that within minutes. We set up an appointment and at that time he had me get on my laptop and we shared screens. Not only did he go through the whole program, but let me open and close tabs, type things in and save them so i could see where things were after being saved etc. I really enjoyed the training me gave me and he was in no way pushy at all about choosing his software. The people at shopmonkey are great. Being able to work with people who are so kind and ready to help so quickly makes me feel confident in the software used to keep my business going. This feeling is by far the best part of shopmonkey.

Reasons for Switching to Shopmonkey

I was using quickbooks and i wasn't happy with the invoices. Quickbooks is complex and complicated. I wanted software that was easy to use and built for an auto repair shop.

November 2020

Joe from Rock Bridge Automotive Repair

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Gret Value, Awesome Tech Support!

I'm super satisfied and I recommend this software in lots of the auto technician forums that I'm a part of.

Pros

It's just really set upwell to run an automotive shop. It's easy to change the parts markup for special customers, (special in a god way or a bad way). The discount feature is great. the ability to find things by whatever you can remember about the job, customer, or vehicle is great. The layout of the program is very straightforward and you can teach someone to be an expert in the program in two repair orders. If they have a question and i am busy they can just click the help button and either watch a video or ask the super friendly and helpful people in tech support. The tech support team goes above and beyond to help you. even climbing onto the RO and working with you. Honestly I've had to use tech support a few times and that's the best support I've had on any product. the software is constantly getting improved also. I really do 99% of the Ro's with no tech support because the software is so easy to use and it really speeds up my ability to get my work done quickly and get back into the shop. My customers absolutely love it. The estimate procedures are great. I feel more covered because the customers approve the job and send me the authorizations. Many of them go ahead and pay for the job when they get the estimate. (You can turn that feature off also.) I like it so I leave it on. the rates that I'm charged for the customer to pay online is very close to the rate that I would pay if they were in the office.

Cons

Really not a lot to dislike with ShopMonkey.

Reasons for Choosing Shopmonkey

Price, ease of use, functionality, TECH SUPPORT!!