User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.50

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Ease of use due to complete model based solution. Integration with Selenium and many API."
  • icon"Rapid test scenario creation. You know the test coverage and can choose different levels of it."
  • icon"The IT system of our organization has been one of our greatest capital investment."
  • icon"It's hard to find in-depth documentation for some of the concepts and options available."
  • icon"So, i in my case there are no open issues anymore."
  • icon"Because of the complexity sometimes I got lost in all the features, but I also need more experience to fully utilize all the features."

All Test Modeller Reviews

1-24 of 24 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

John

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Reporting of acitivty in a PSD2/Open banking Sandbox

We were implementing a PSD2 sandbox to support testing of APIs for a large bank in Europe. This required detailed reporting on activity within the sandbox. Using a simple interface to VIP Test Modeller we were able to simply ship request/response pairs across to the VIP Test Modeller. VIP Test Modeller then collected the information and enabled detailed or summary reports to be created based on the provided detail. An additional bonus we got from the data was that it could be used for problem diagnosis.

Pros

It was very simple to integrate our solution to provide a feed of information to the VIP Test Modeller for post processing for reporting purposes.

Cons

To date, we have not experienced any issues with the software.

Response from Curiosity Software Ireland

Hi John, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of Test Modeller. This is just a short response to let you know that we appreciate your review. Our support team works countless hours to provide the best possible experience for our users. They will be happy to hear your feedback. For any other help they have also built out an extensive KB which you can find here: https://knowledge.curiositysoftware.ie/kb/index.html Thanks again for your review!

Replied November 2021

Jonathon

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

Ultimate Toolkit for Intelligent Automation (AIOps) / GATED AI testing

After evaluating a number of different tool vendors, Volo.ai selected Curiosity software as they provide next generation capabilities that leading vendors (i.e. Magic Quadrant) was unable to provide our landscape is testing next generation A.I platforms (e.g. Neo4J, OpenCV, Kafka / Zookeeper, MongoDB, VectorFlow) which other vendors had limited native support for any of these technologies. The ability to generate A.I. ready test data lakes to help train and prove our algorithms and the ability to provide test data coverage and built in code dependency analysis was a game changer.

Pros

Ease of use, SaaS based modelling (MBT) capabilities, powerful robotic process automation (RPA), synthetic data generation across the platform, automatic generation of functional / non-functional artefacts (e.g. selenium, restassured, taurus, wiremock), extensive support for continuous delivery & deployment (i.e. Jenkins CI/CD) and ChatOps toolchains (i.e. Slack).

Cons

Lack of current support for container technologies (i.e. docker)

Response from Curiosity Software Ireland

Hi Jonathon, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of Test Modeller. This is just a short response to let you know that we appreciate your review. Our support team works countless hours to provide the best possible experience for our users. They will be happy to hear your feedback. For any other help they have also built out an extensive KB which you can find here: https://knowledge.curiositysoftware.ie/kb/index.html We have also started to support containers for Test Modeller! Thanks again for your review!

Replied November 2021

Jerome

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2019

Video Tutorial

fine

Pros

It seems good to watch this video tutorial. Its easy way to under stand the flow like how to create and how to map the values etc.. Total I would rate this VIP to 3/5

Cons

Must have all videos with full set like how to add test data. for instance: I have tried to create an automates script with this modular with the help of the video and one point I have created and mapped the variable and generated the script. but we don't know how to run. late we became to know to use the server but we didn't see the such a explanation from the videos. we would suggest to explain with set of video.

Response from Curiosity Software Ireland

Hi Jerome, thank you for taking the time to review Test Modeller, and for suggesting new tutorial videos. We are constantly adding to our online library of on demand resources, and will continue to do so. In the meantime, I think that we have some videos that should be useful to you. Video instructions on adding test data can be found as part of the following training course: https://curiositysoftware.ie/vip-knowledge-base/vip-test-modeller-101-videos/ Instructional videos for running test scripts and setting up the automation server can also be found in this knowledge base article: https://knowledge.curiositysoftware.ie/kb/index.html Thanks again for taking the time to review Test Modeller!

Replied November 2021

Tord

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2021

Outstanding tool for test automation

TestModeller is an outstanding tool for test automation and test data management. We have run a PoC for 6 months using an on-premise installation (in Azure), utilizing the Cypress framework. Tests are run in docker containers when generated from TestModeller and updated to Gitlab. Also, the ability to separate models and generated tests from the functional representation of the elements in the system under test, enables us to generate tests even before code is written to implement an element in the DOM for in-sprint testing. This of course also eliminates the extensive maintenance you normally must conduct to test automation frameworks.

Pros

Visual modelling generally reveals more test cases by showing which paths through the system under test are being visited. Testers and other stakeholders can easily do the modelling while engineers overlay the automation. Complex applications can be broken down to manageable models in a hierarchy Great connectivity to test frameworks and other applications.

Cons

Some of our requirements (Cypress, Docker) gave some challenges, but with very good support from the vendor it all came to work well.

Response from Curiosity Software Ireland

Hi Tord, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of Test Modeller. This is just a short response to let you know that we appreciate your review. Our support team works countless hours to provide the best possible experience for our users. They will be happy to hear your feedback. For any other help they have also built out an extensive KB which you can find here: https://knowledge.curiositysoftware.ie/kb/index.html Thanks again for your review!

Replied November 2021

Robert

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Personal Review VIP Test Modeller

My experience with the VIP Test Moddeller tool is very positve. Its easy to learn, easy to implement and integrate and of huge value in the communiation with your stakeholder.

Pros

- the model based approach! Visualizing your test and business flows! - the many ways this tool can be integrated in other tools - the many develop languages its support to do automated testing - The great great great support behind this tool!

Cons

The look and feel can be improved on some areas. But keep in mind, the tool has been developed in less than a year!

Reasons for choosing Test Modeller

- Flexibility - Possibilites - Price - Support

Response from Curiosity Software Ireland

Hi Robert, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of Test Modeller. This is just a short response to let you know that we appreciate your review. Our support team works countless hours to provide the best possible experience for our users. They will be happy to hear your feedback. For any other help they have also built out an extensive KB which you can find here: https://knowledge.curiositysoftware.ie/kb/index.html We are also working on improving the user experience and iterate on it all the time based on user feedback! We even plan on implementing a dark mode soon! Thanks again for your review!

Replied November 2021

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2019

Early adopter on personal experience

The maintenance and visibility of testing effort for automation purposes quickly tapers off. With VIP it's much easier to maintain larger sets of scripts and just regenerate the tests. That saves a large amount of time when tests have to change. This quickly amounts of 20-40% of the time spent on existing tests that are reduced. This allows the teams to focus on what matters, as opposed to the earlier tested risks.

Pros

The ability to generate optimized test scenario's with a visual interface. This allows a very direct conversation with stakeholders to see what tests cover what part of the software and more importantly why. Then overlaying Automation and Data elements allows for a much more sophisticated way of handling the maintenance within test automation and the regeneration of tests. The integration aspect of handling everything and the ability to interface with Excel in the background to manage data aspects makes this very easy to interlock with existing tests and various other solutions

Cons

Initial easy to learn, hard to master. Modeling software is deceptively simple and can quickly add value but it's a bit more difficult to maintain models since any model is a reduction of the reality. It's very easy to tell somebody to use this but requires a little maturity to really drive home the value.

Response from Curiosity Software Ireland

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of Test Modeller. This is just a short response to let you know that we appreciate your review. Our support team works countless hours to provide the best possible experience for our users. They will be happy to hear your feedback. For any other help they have also built out an extensive KB which you can find here: https://knowledge.curiositysoftware.ie/kb/index.html We try to make mastering of modelling a smooth and easy experience, and are always working towards that! Thanks again for your review!

Replied November 2021

Patrick

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2020

Better quality tests with this must have tool.

TestModeller, with its model-based approach, focus on the models, test design and test creation. At the moment I’m using it for testing websites but you can use it for api, performance and more. Even without knowledge of program languages you can automate your tests. Also, it is possible to convert the created test cases to different automation frameworks. With this product you also realize the importance of test data even more. With each run of tests, it is possible to start with a new set of data. Rich and production like data. It really helps you identifying the unhappy paths and lets you think what the system under test should behave.

Pros

You can combine different models. So, less testing but more coverage. Even without knowledge of program languages you can automate your tests Rich and production like test data generation Rapid test scenario creation You know the test coverage and can choose different levels of it. It can be integrated with all kinds of frameworks, software and more. Really dedicated and enthusiastic team to work with

Cons

The product is relatively unknown at the moment. It shouldn’t.

Response from Curiosity Software Ireland

Hi Patrick, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of Test Modeller. This is just a short response to let you know that we appreciate your review. Our support team works countless hours to provide the best possible experience for our users. They will be happy to hear your feedback. For any other help they have also built out an extensive KB which you can find here: https://knowledge.curiositysoftware.ie/kb/index.html We are trying our best to promote and get Test Modeller in front of as many people as possible! Thanks again for your review!

Replied November 2021

Marcel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Great help for our development proces!!!

I was using ARD before, but now switched to Test Modeller, because it is next level. Specially the test automation and recording part, are proven very helpfull!

Pros

- easy to use - models help you to give good inside in quality of the software - great support - makes life more easy!!!!

Cons

- I had some questions, but by having contact with the support team.. all issues are solved. So, i in my case there are no open issues anymore :-)

Response from Curiosity Software Ireland

Hi Marcel, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of Test Modeller. This is just a short response to let you know that we appreciate your review. Our support team works countless hours to provide the best possible experience for our users. They will be happy to hear your feedback. For any other help they have also built out an extensive KB which you can find here: https://knowledge.curiositysoftware.ie/kb/index.html Thanks again for your review!

Replied November 2021

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Great Framework for Testing community

Pros

Test Modeller is an amazing component of VIP. Gone are the days where you had to allot time for designing test cases. With modeller as soon as you create process model it automatically generates test cases using advanced coverage techniques. What I have seen is this avoids over and under testing.

Cons

While the usability is good it can further be fine tuned. Training content also can be fine tuned a bit.

Response from Curiosity Software Ireland

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of Test Modeller. This is just a short response to let you know that we appreciate your review. Our support team works countless hours to provide the best possible experience for our users. They will be happy to hear your feedback. For any other help they have also built out an extensive KB which you can find here: https://knowledge.curiositysoftware.ie/kb/index.html The team continues to fine tune our tools and have built on the feedback of our users. So, thanks again for your review!

Replied November 2021

Tomas

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Rapid modelling and automation

Pros

Lots of supporting material, e.g. videos, guides and tutorials - including a self-paced online training course. Plenty of options for integrating with your existing CI/CD pipeline (e.g. Jenkins, Azure Devops, Jira). The many accelerators in conjunction with the built-in Selenium wrapper enables rapid experimenting.

Cons

It's hard to find in-depth documentation for some of the concepts and options available

Response from Curiosity Software Ireland

Hi Tomas, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of Test Modeller. This is just a short response to let you know that we appreciate your review. Our support team works countless hours to provide the best possible experience for our users. They will be happy to hear your feedback. For any other help they have also built out an extensive KB which you can find here: https://knowledge.curiositysoftware.ie/kb/index.html We update our documentation regularly and hope to document everything we can to make our users experience as smooth as possible. Thanks again for your review!

Replied November 2021

Albert

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2022

The Software you Need to Test your Business IT Systems

The experience has been great. The software has helped us test our new system which we implemented and it was very effective in detecting problems.

Pros

The IT system of our organization has been one of our greatest capital investment. Before going live with this new system, we decided to implement Test Modeller to test the effectiveness of the system and we are grateful that we did so as the software was able to detect certain problems, bugs and errors that were present in the system which would have caused a lot of problems if we had implemented it without testing it. We recommend Test Modeller to any business.

Cons

A small suggestion would be for the software to have a more informative user manual to understand how the software really works as it may be a bit overwhelming for a person with a lack of IT knowledge.

Reasons for choosing Test Modeller

We saw Test Modeller as more suitable to our needs when compared to the other alternatives considered.

Response from Curiosity Software Ireland

Hi Albert, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of Test Modeller. This is just a short response to let you know that we appreciate your review. Our support team works countless hours to provide the best possible experience for our users. They will be happy to hear your feedback. We have also been hard at work improving our documentation and creating a learning portal to help new users get started with Test Modeller, you can find both here: https://knowledge.curiositysoftware.ie/ Thanks again for your review!

Replied November 2022

Sander

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2020

The Swiss Army Knife of Testautomation

MBT is hyper intuitive. Great support. Testmodeller is worth the investment for just setting up automated regressiontests yet it can be utilized as the commandcentre for your CI/CD pipeline.

Pros

What tools would you like to have on you when hiking through inhospitable environment? Preferably all of them. Test Modeller is the Swiss Army Knife of Testautomation in the harsh hyper-change environment of the 21st century workplace. Testdevelopment, testarchitecture, testautomation, synthetic testdata generator, scanner, scriptconverter, recorder and more. It's everything a QA engineer might need in his quest for quality.

Cons

You don't need to be a specialist to learn this framework, yet it's not as simple as it looks. You need to invest some time and experience to really get the hang of using this tool and all the possibilities it's offering.

Response from Curiosity Software Ireland

Hi Sander, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of Test Modeller. This is just a short response to let you know that we appreciate your review. Our support team works countless hours to provide the best possible experience for our users. They will be happy to hear your feedback. For any other help they have also built out an extensive KB which you can find here: https://knowledge.curiositysoftware.ie/kb/index.html Mastering modelling is not easy, but we aim to make it as smooth and simple as possible! Thanks again for your review!

Replied November 2021

Narayanan

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Process automation at its best

Pros

The very idea of automating the process is quite captivating. Adding icing to the cake is the visual modeller which helps to model the process easier and the ability to import from standard formats is a bonus. Other than automation VIP helps to streamline testing process by supplementing the test data generation. This will help to produce better quality test cases which are easy to produce and maintain.

Cons

The learning curve is not steep thanks to video tutorials and the Trello board. However the knowledge base articles are not easy to navigate to and fro especially when you like to start reading something which are arranged in sequence of articles. The forum and community support seems to be missing at least to me. All the questions during learning phase and trivial issues cannot be answered by support always and having a forum which will address this will help a lot not only to generate new ideas but also to minimise FAQ and request for clarifications.

Response from Curiosity Software Ireland

Hi Narayanan, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of Test Modeller. This is just a short response to let you know that we appreciate your review. Our support team works countless hours to provide the best possible experience for our users. They will be happy to hear your feedback. For any other help they have also recently rebuilt an extensive KB which you can find here: https://knowledge.curiositysoftware.ie/kb/index.html The new KB has addressed many of the navigation problems the old documentation faced. Thanks again for your review!

Replied November 2021

Francis

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2021

Integration with Test Modeller to accelerate lowcode automated testing

Test Modeller is a major accelerator in setting up automated test processes for clients and has a positive impact on the quality of the delivered applications.

Pros

Our company Omnext is working together with Curiosity to implement automated testing for clients in lowcode environments such as Mendix and Outsystems. Omnext is providing data about the lowcode application, which is imported in Test Modeller via an interface. Testmodeller provides seamless integration with external data sources. The capability to import external data sources and generate out-of-the-box automated test cases, which can be run in different testing tools is a major accelerator for the testing process of the client.

Cons

We have not experienced significant issue while working with Test Modeller. Omnext and Curiosity are working on further improvements of the exchange of data and other lowcode environments.

Response from Curiosity Software Ireland

Hi Francis, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of Test Modeller. This is just a short response to let you know that we appreciate your review. Our support team works countless hours to provide the best possible experience for our users. They will be happy to hear your feedback. For any other help they have also built out an extensive KB which you can find here: https://knowledge.curiositysoftware.ie/kb/index.html Thanks again for your review!

Replied November 2021

Gareth

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2020

The test automation tool you didn't know you needed

Pros

Test Modeller breaks down complex test scenarios into manageable and readable BPNM diagrams giving you a holistic view of the system under test, this really allows you to bring testing forward in the SDLC. Test Modeller doesn't try and force you to create tests using specific frameworks, allowing you to choose what framework works best for your company, Test Modeller sits on top of your chosen framework enhancing the capabilities and eases implementation.

Cons

As with everything Test Modeller is not a golden bullet, as a user of the software you need to invest time into learning the capabilities and some understanding of test automation.

Response from Curiosity Software Ireland

Hi Gareth Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review of Test Modeller. This is just a short response to let you know that we appreciate your review. Our support team works countless hours to provide the best possible experience for our users. They will be happy to hear your feedback. For any other help they have also built out an extensive KB which you can find here: https://knowledge.curiositysoftware.ie/kb/index.html Modelling takes a while to master but we aim to make it as simple and smooth as possible, providing as much support as we can! Thanks again for your review!

Replied November 2021

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT