All Aomei Backupper Reviews

1-25 of 42 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Dale

Verified reviewer

Utilities, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Excellent Free Imaging Software

This is an excellent product. Being that it is free, it's even better!

PROS

This software is super reliable and can recover a hard disk that has crashed. This is my go to product for protecting my Windows boxes.

CONS

The free product has limitations, but it's totally okay for simple imaging. For my needs, since I also use a cloud backup solution, these limitations work for me.

Jeff

Telecommunications, 501-1,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Very Polished and Easy To Use

I was looking for a backup software that I could locally backup projects on my computer and it has not disappointed.

PROS

It is very, very easy to use for basic backups. Two clicks, choose files to back up and where to backup to and one more click and you are all set. Restoring is just as easy. Also, their user manual (that comes in a .PDF file) is awesome. It covers everything that you will ever need to know about it.

CONS

I can honestly say that there is not anything that I do not like about it. It does exactly what I need it to do - every time.

Neal

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed January 2020

BSoDupper!

To their SUPPORT: 1> I purchased AOMEI last week but thus far it has not been a pleasant experience. Is it possible to revoke my license and refund my money? ==> reinstalled special version they compiled and made available on Google Drive. 2> I'm no longer getting the BSOD but the backups are failing with 4140 error codes both scheduled and manual ==> removed all directories and let AOMIE Backuper create re-create them. 3>Hello, I did as you requested. I also reduced the frequency of the scheduled backup to once per week on Sundays. This morning, my system was in BSoD but this time it was in an endless recovery -> failed reboot. I had to do a fresh install of Windows install AOMEI and restore from a good backup from Thursday. Thankfully it restored successfully. I’m happy about that. However, ultimately I cannot ignore that AOMEI was the reason for the BSoD and the need to restore from a backup. I’m officially throwing in the towel on AOMEI backuper. I have not had a good experience with your software and would appreciate a refund of my $49.95. It doesn’t need to happen immediately, but I did see that you offered some resolution for refunds and I would like to pursue that path. I have already uninstalled AOMEI backuper, you may of course deactivate my activate key on my refund request. 4>I've already been through that. I'm no longer interested in your product. I have moved on and purchased Acronis True Image.

PROS

I successfully recovered from an existing image created by AOMEI

CONS

Plagued with issues: - scheduler doesn't work - as a service causes BSoD (Blue Screen of Death) - I really don't like the naming convention of the backups. "System Backup.xxx" "System Backup (1).xxx" .. etc - ultimately the software killed my system but did manage to recover from an existing backup.

Reason for choosing Aomei Backupper

It offered a free (less configurable) version.

Reasons for switching to Aomei Backupper

Wanted something more configurable

James

Consumer Electronics, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2017

Great Backup Program For All Your Backup Needs

The best data recovery software for all who needs protection against physical data loss. It helps in disaster data recovery and data protection needs. One of the most liked feature of this software is easy to clone a complete hard drive and restore it back. I can also set up scheduled backups and it depends on days and hours of most convenience for my ease. It is a must for every home and business needs. It saves me hours of time.

PROS

Easy backup and restore, perform several backup

CONS

Cost of product is more, Installation and initial set up takes a longer time.

Aris

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

AOMEI Backupper for NAS backup

Secure - encrypted backups to NAS storage for remote accessible locked-backups. Bootable CD for continuous system operations after system crashes.

PROS

We heavily used AOMEI Backupper to sync our 2 ERP's in our NAS storage. The backup encryption tool provided for the backups is essential especially for ERP software that includes databases with sensitive data such as customer and financial data. The Bootable CD saved our main computer that runs the ERP 2 times from system crashes and restored successfully the operating system.

CONS

Image Deploy Tool that deploys image via LAN to multiple computers is not available to all plans making it a little pricey for our job. But other than that if offers great and reliable services!

Glen

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2023

Stay Away from AOMEI

Very slow to copy files to destination folder. When files were pre-copied to folder to be sync'd with the program deleted a large number of files on the originating folder, leading to great distress to the client and myself. Stay the hell away from AOMEI!

PROS

Software appeared to provide automated folder sync and bootable system backup. Good reviews were read prior to purchase.

CONS

It has destroyed an important client's data files. So-called support and help files on publisher's web site are written in half-literate English.

Reason for choosing Aomei Backupper

Top rated in reviews, which must have been the result of self-reviews submitted by the publisher.

Jim

Computer Hardware, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

A Great Backup Software

PROS

This software does exactly what I wanted. Backup My Folders to a Thumb Drive. It is supper fast I would say 10 times faster than Nero Backitup which I used before. It is very easy to use. I did a Backup this morning and then Checked the Restore Function to make sure that it functioned correctly, and it did!!!

CONS

I have not seen or experienced any Cons.

Reasons for switching to Aomei Backupper

Nero Backitup 2020 has a Software Bug saying the File Path is too long. It did make a good Backup but the Nero Program was LOCKED UP saying Pending so I can't RUN Anymore Backups without DELETING that Backup and Starting Over.

User Profile

Edo

Verified reviewer

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2018

Cheap and good back-up solution

This is relatively simple and good solution for back-up of data. Back-up IS ALWAYS needed. So this software should be take in consideration when You chose a back-up solution.

PROS

Prices are fantastic; user interface is slightly old school; working options are visible; step-by-step procedure; back-up scheduler.

CONS

There are not so much of options in settings; design could be made more "modern"; there is no full screen option.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Aomei Backupper Review

I use this software for all my drives. Its easy to use and its highly efficient. I would always recommend this software to others.

PROS

I like how easy it is to use this piece of software. This software has a very thing learning curve because of its user interface. It looks great and performs multiple tasks equally as well.

CONS

The only down side for this software is its pricing. It can be slightly cheaper.

Richard

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2017

Easy, fast, reliable and secure backup and imaging

Fast, secure and easy to use backup and imaging tool.

PROS

We love this software for imaging computers. It is very easy to use, very fast at backing up and restoring the computers. It allows for password protection and encryption of the image files, which is a must for us.

CONS

I wish it had some other features like disk management features in it or a password reset tool so we don't need multiple tools but otherwise it is great.

Fred

Photography, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

It worked for some time

Until recently I was very happy. I had been running their latest addition for about a month. I installed System Mechanic Ultimate Defense about 10 days ago and now having nothing but issues with Aomei Backupper Pro. Recently it has been responsible for freezing programs, slowing down programs and even clipping video and audio on Zoom. All this seems to be due to the fact that it doesn't agree with System Mechanic as the timing of the introduction of System Mechanic seems to match the issues I have received. I have tried removing and reinstalling. However, it has a mind of its own and won't allow me to shut it down or remove it as it continues to run in the background.

PROS

Easy to set up and use. It has a number of features allowing various types of backups. Files can be manually backed up or synced, on a schedule or not.

CONS

It's a relatively simple format so there was nothing really to dislike. If I had to complain it would not allow canceling easily and would stay working when I wanted to shut it down for some reason.

Reasons for switching to Aomei Backupper

Ease Todo was giving me some issues with the way they offer their subscriptions. You really never know the pricing as it depends on what page you go to signup and if you wait for a bit a new offer pops up. I tried this yesterday and eventually had three different prices shown over a short time. I believe I had an issue that stopped me from upgrading again after 4 years of use. I tried again after removing Aomei Backuuper Pro and went thru the same issues.

Lawrence

Airlines/Aviation, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed December 2019

Scary - Loss of Data - Service is no help

AOMEI Backupper's only job is to not lose your data... and it did. The worse part was contacting AOMEI Service and get an answer that amounted to "Yes, that can happen, and no we won't even look into it." When I complained that this could happen to anyone at any time, and that people were depending on this product to keep their data safe they stuck with the attitude of "Sorry for your luck." They didn't even open a software development ticket to look into the issue.

PROS

Easy setup and low cost - but you get what you pay for in this case

CONS

They lost my data. Backups were corrupted without the possibility to recover, and without any warning until I went to restore from a backup. The worse part was contacting AOMEI Service and get an answer that amounted to "Yes, that can happen, and no we won't even look into it." When I complained that this could happen to anyone at any time, and that people were depending on this product to keep their data safe they stuck with the attitude of "Sorry for your luck." They didn't even open a software development ticket to look into the issue.

Reason for choosing Aomei Backupper

Cost & Ease of Use (not that Ease US is hard to use)

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

easy to install and use back up software for SMB's

Very positive experience as it is a simple to install and get started tool - got off to a very fast start and the interface to use the tool is very neat and simple. Does a good job of back up and restoration - we use both free and paid versions.

PROS

We used this in one of the smaller acquisition that we made to get started with the practice of back up and restoration of windows/linux PC's, servers. We were able to copy images on USB and install them quite easily. In addition, the back up was also fast and efficient. We also tried restoring from a backup as part of disaster recovery and were able to do this quickly as well.

CONS

There is a free and paid edition of the back up tool - I wish the free edition also allows multiple backup's at the same time. Scheduling a back up is one of the features that is very much desired. In addition, it would be good to also have the ability to have more 'how to' on getting started.

Claudio

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Buona gestione dei backup, in tutte le possibili varianti.

PROS

L'interfaccia del software è semplice da usare, non richiede molte risorse del sistema, facile pianificare i backup periodici.Spendendo poco di più si ha anche 1Tb a disposizione nel cloud.Ha anche la crittografia con password.Ottimo il backup delle partizioni sia come velocità che come dimensioni dell'immagine.Ottimo anche per clonare interi dischi o singole partizioni.

CONS

La versione gratuita non permette di crearsi la chiavetta autoavviante per il ripristino.Il formato delle immagini è un formato proprietario, quindi può essere rispristinato solo con lo stesso software.L'interfaccia è semplice da usare, ma non è ridimensionabile a tutto schermo.

fabrizio

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2022

ottimo programma per sincronizzare i file in tempo reale. Problema backup a sincronizzazione attiva

Ottimo programma con un bug enorme nel backup di sistema. Tuttavia l'ho preso in sostituzione della Cronologia file di windows non convincente a mio avviso (dopo un po' ti si mangia un HD con file duplicati infiniti). L'assistenza risponde, ma è lontana e solo in inglese non ci si capisce bene fino in fondo.

PROS

L'avrei preso solo per la sincronizzazione dei file in tempo reale. L'immagine disco la fa windows ed è sufficiente così. Ho cercato un software proprio con queste caratteristiche.

CONS

Il fatto che a sincronizzazione in tempo reale attiva è impossibile e seguire pianificazione di backup di qualsiasi tipo. Ad un certo momento si blocca. Dalla assistenza dicono che il problema è noto ma mai risolto

Reasons for switching to Aomei Backupper

Perchè Windows non offre una sincronizzazione in tempo reale dei file e non so perchè.

Mark

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Happy with the backup process

Been a good experience.

PROS

The backup runs on its own daily and have never had an issue.

CONS

The backup set is not readable in file explorer, which is annoying.

Josh

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

My favourite tool for disk imaging!

Very quick (depending on hardware) and almost perfect. Just needs a couple of user interface tweaks to improve automatic partitioning and it would be helpful if it could detect MBR/GPT on the source disk more reliably.

PROS

Very easy to use via a bootable CD or USB image. The user interface is very friendly and helps guide new users through the process of cloning hard-disks,

CONS

The automatic partitioning feature can sometimes over-provision recovery partitions for Windows, meaning they no longer work inside the operating system when "resetting". This can be worked around by manually creating the partition sizes inside Aomei Backupper.

Reason for choosing Aomei Backupper

Much easier to use in a workshop environment where live bootable CD's are used.

Reasons for switching to Aomei Backupper

Norton Ghost felt dated and often failed without reason.

User Profile

Gladman

Verified reviewer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Endpoint Devices images

Setting up computers for the first time has been made easy as we no longer gave to install application by application. Time is saved

PROS

You can create a standard image say for an organization especially in the cases where new computers will be constantly coming in. This standard image can be used to install the new computers. Computer back-up is easy and gives you options to choose files you want to back-up or the whole computer with it's image

CONS

After creating the image the size of the new computer hard drive has to be the same as the one on the old computer

Felipe

Information Services, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2021

Aomei backUPPER

It's simple and ease to use and it has the features needed for a backup for windows

PROS

The free version includes a lot of features ideal for most cummon users. For businesses or for an user that needs more options or features, it’s competitively priced. It is designed well and is very easy to use, particularly for novice users.

CONS

I see the need for some type of encryption options. Overall minor points

Reasons for switching to Aomei Backupper

Minitool is just overpowered for the needs that I have

User Profile

Ponde

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE