User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(19)

19

4 stars

(10)

10

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(2)

2

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Browse Aomei Backupper Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -17 of 33 results

May 2021

User Profile Picture

Dale from Hawaiian Telcom

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Excellent Free Imaging Software

This is an excellent product. Being that it is free, it's even better!

Pros

This software is super reliable and can recover a hard disk that has crashed. This is my go to product for protecting my Windows boxes.

Cons

The free product has limitations, but it's totally okay for simple imaging. For my needs, since I also use a cloud backup solution, these limitations work for me.

May 2021

Felipe from Personal

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2021

Aomei backUPPER

It's simple and ease to use and it has the features needed for a backup for windows

Pros

The free version includes a lot of features ideal for most cummon users. For businesses or for an user that needs more options or features, it’s competitively priced. It is designed well and is very easy to use, particularly for novice users.

Cons

I see the need for some type of encryption options. Overall minor points

Reasons for Switching to Aomei Backupper

Minitool is just overpowered for the needs that I have

January 2020

Neal from Satalink

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2020

BSoDupper!

To their SUPPORT: 1> I purchased AOMEI last week but thus far it has not been a pleasant experience. Is it possible to revoke my license and refund my money? ==> reinstalled special version they compiled and made available on Google Drive. 2> I'm no longer getting the BSOD but the backups are failing with 4140 error codes both scheduled and manual ==> removed all directories and let AOMIE Backuper create re-create them. 3>Hello, I did as you requested. I also reduced the frequency of the scheduled backup to once per week on Sundays. This morning, my system was in BSoD but this time it was in an endless recovery -> failed reboot. I had to do a fresh install of Windows install AOMEI and restore from a good backup from Thursday. Thankfully it restored successfully. I’m happy about that. However, ultimately I cannot ignore that AOMEI was the reason for the BSoD and the need to restore from a backup. I’m officially throwing in the towel on AOMEI backuper. I have not had a good experience with your software and would appreciate a refund of my $49.95. It doesn’t need to happen immediately, but I did see that you offered some resolution for refunds and I would like to pursue that path. I have already uninstalled AOMEI backuper, you may of course deactivate my activate key on my refund request. 4>I've already been through that. I'm no longer interested in your product. I have moved on and purchased Acronis True Image.

Pros

I successfully recovered from an existing image created by AOMEI

Cons

Plagued with issues: - scheduler doesn't work - as a service causes BSoD (Blue Screen of Death) - I really don't like the naming convention of the backups. "System Backup.xxx" "System Backup (1).xxx" .. etc - ultimately the software killed my system but did manage to recover from an existing backup.

Reasons for Choosing Aomei Backupper

It offered a free (less configurable) version.

Reasons for Switching to Aomei Backupper

Wanted something more configurable

February 2017

James from MeidioInd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Great Backup Program For All Your Backup Needs

The best data recovery software for all who needs protection against physical data loss. It helps in disaster data recovery and data protection needs. One of the most liked feature of this software is easy to clone a complete hard drive and restore it back. I can also set up scheduled backups and it depends on days and hours of most convenience for my ease. It is a must for every home and business needs. It saves me hours of time.

Pros

Easy backup and restore, perform several backup

Cons

Cost of product is more, Installation and initial set up takes a longer time.

July 2021

Mark from Personal

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Happy with the backup process

Been a good experience.

Pros

The backup runs on its own daily and have never had an issue.

Cons

The backup set is not readable in file explorer, which is annoying.

January 2021

Aris from POWERPC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

AOMEI Backupper for NAS backup

Secure - encrypted backups to NAS storage for remote accessible locked-backups. Bootable CD for continuous system operations after system crashes.

Pros

We heavily used AOMEI Backupper to sync our 2 ERP's in our NAS storage. The backup encryption tool provided for the backups is essential especially for ERP software that includes databases with sensitive data such as customer and financial data. The Bootable CD saved our main computer that runs the ERP 2 times from system crashes and restored successfully the operating system.

Cons

Image Deploy Tool that deploys image via LAN to multiple computers is not available to all plans making it a little pricey for our job. But other than that if offers great and reliable services!

May 2019

User Profile Picture

Gladman from World Vision

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Endpoint Devices images

Setting up computers for the first time has been made easy as we no longer gave to install application by application. Time is saved

Pros

You can create a standard image say for an organization especially in the cases where new computers will be constantly coming in. This standard image can be used to install the new computers. Computer back-up is easy and gives you options to choose files you want to back-up or the whole computer with it's image

Cons

After creating the image the size of the new computer hard drive has to be the same as the one on the old computer

January 2018

User Profile Picture

Edo from METECNO TRADING Gmbh

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Cheap and good back-up solution

This is relatively simple and good solution for back-up of data. Back-up IS ALWAYS needed. So this software should be take in consideration when You chose a back-up solution.

Pros

Prices are fantastic; user interface is slightly old school; working options are visible; step-by-step procedure; back-up scheduler.

Cons

There are not so much of options in settings; design could be made more "modern"; there is no full screen option.

May 2018

User Profile Picture

Ponde from Africa Capacity Alliance

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Cheap yet valuable back-up software

Cheap yet valuable back-up software

Pros

A this is a wonderful data back-up product, which is so so easy to use and with an affordable price

Cons

I find some of the sections a little confusing especially of first time users. probably they could be made mire clear.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

The perfect tool to clone a hard drive

Worked exactly as it should have, no problems and made my life easier.

Pros

I got a new solid state drive for my laptop, and I wanted to clone my existing one onto the new drive and after looking around for a solution that worked I came across AOMEI Backupper. It was really easy to use, had a great layout and it worked just as it should of. It is easy to use to back up any data on your computer, and I really liked it.

Cons

Could probably do with a few more options for the power users out there, and the design of it could look a bit better.

February 2021

Fred from Drone 360 Photography

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Photography

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

It worked for some time

Until recently I was very happy. I had been running their latest addition for about a month. I installed System Mechanic Ultimate Defense about 10 days ago and now having nothing but issues with Aomei Backupper Pro. Recently it has been responsible for freezing programs, slowing down programs and even clipping video and audio on Zoom. All this seems to be due to the fact that it doesn't agree with System Mechanic as the timing of the introduction of System Mechanic seems to match the issues I have received. I have tried removing and reinstalling. However, it has a mind of its own and won't allow me to shut it down or remove it as it continues to run in the background.

Pros

Easy to set up and use. It has a number of features allowing various types of backups. Files can be manually backed up or synced, on a schedule or not.

Cons

It's a relatively simple format so there was nothing really to dislike. If I had to complain it would not allow canceling easily and would stay working when I wanted to shut it down for some reason.

Reasons for Switching to Aomei Backupper

Ease Todo was giving me some issues with the way they offer their subscriptions. You really never know the pricing as it depends on what page you go to signup and if you wait for a bit a new offer pops up. I tried this yesterday and eventually had three different prices shown over a short time. I believe I had an issue that stopped me from upgrading again after 4 years of use. I tried again after removing Aomei Backuuper Pro and went thru the same issues.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

easy to install and use back up software for SMB's

Very positive experience as it is a simple to install and get started tool - got off to a very fast start and the interface to use the tool is very neat and simple. Does a good job of back up and restoration - we use both free and paid versions.

Pros

We used this in one of the smaller acquisition that we made to get started with the practice of back up and restoration of windows/linux PC's, servers. We were able to copy images on USB and install them quite easily. In addition, the back up was also fast and efficient. We also tried restoring from a backup as part of disaster recovery and were able to do this quickly as well.

Cons

There is a free and paid edition of the back up tool - I wish the free edition also allows multiple backup's at the same time. Scheduling a back up is one of the features that is very much desired. In addition, it would be good to also have the ability to have more 'how to' on getting started.

December 2019

Jeff from DialAmerica Marketing

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Very Polished and Easy To Use

I was looking for a backup software that I could locally backup projects on my computer and it has not disappointed.

Pros

It is very, very easy to use for basic backups. Two clicks, choose files to back up and where to backup to and one more click and you are all set. Restoring is just as easy. Also, their user manual (that comes in a .PDF file) is awesome. It covers everything that you will ever need to know about it.

Cons

I can honestly say that there is not anything that I do not like about it. It does exactly what I need it to do - every time.

December 2019

Lawrence from Aviation & Aerospace

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

December 2019

Scary - Loss of Data - Service is no help

AOMEI Backupper's only job is to not lose your data... and it did. The worse part was contacting AOMEI Service and get an answer that amounted to "Yes, that can happen, and no we won't even look into it." When I complained that this could happen to anyone at any time, and that people were depending on this product to keep their data safe they stuck with the attitude of "Sorry for your luck." They didn't even open a software development ticket to look into the issue.

Pros

Easy setup and low cost - but you get what you pay for in this case

Cons

They lost my data. Backups were corrupted without the possibility to recover, and without any warning until I went to restore from a backup. The worse part was contacting AOMEI Service and get an answer that amounted to "Yes, that can happen, and no we won't even look into it." When I complained that this could happen to anyone at any time, and that people were depending on this product to keep their data safe they stuck with the attitude of "Sorry for your luck." They didn't even open a software development ticket to look into the issue.

Reasons for Choosing Aomei Backupper

Cost & Ease of Use (not that Ease US is hard to use)

November 2020

Jim from Computer Hardware

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Hardware

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

A Great Backup Software

Pros

This software does exactly what I wanted. Backup My Folders to a Thumb Drive. It is supper fast I would say 10 times faster than Nero Backitup which I used before. It is very easy to use. I did a Backup this morning and then Checked the Restore Function to make sure that it functioned correctly, and it did!!!

Cons

I have not seen or experienced any Cons.

Reasons for Switching to Aomei Backupper

Nero Backitup 2020 has a Software Bug saying the File Path is too long. It did make a good Backup but the Nero Program was LOCKED UP saying Pending so I can't RUN Anymore Backups without DELETING that Backup and Starting Over.

December 2017

Richard from Zounds Hearing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Easy, fast, reliable and secure backup and imaging

Fast, secure and easy to use backup and imaging tool.

Pros

We love this software for imaging computers. It is very easy to use, very fast at backing up and restoring the computers. It allows for password protection and encryption of the image files, which is a must for us.

Cons

I wish it had some other features like disk management features in it or a password reset tool so we don't need multiple tools but otherwise it is great.

March 2019

Victor from Mara Technologies Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Free package that does quite a bit

Overall, I would tell anyone to give it a try to see if it fits there needs. I did find other software a bit more lightweight but I guess the others fit my need a bit more as I focus more on backup/sync files and did not need the cloning feature as much.

Pros

It packed a lot of features even though it's freeware. It does imaging, file backup, disk cloning and file syncing. I did use a lot of the syncing feature to sync files between networked drives and local. Due to being out of office at times, I just wanted to make sure my files were synced and backed up in a while. This did take care of that.

Cons

The UI is a bit dated, could use a refresh. I don't think I would fully pay for it since it's a little dated compared to others out there. I did find that it was a bit resource intensive when working. There were like 3 processes running while it was doing it's sync/backup.

October 2019

Ildiko from Mecseri Art

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Easy to use backup tool

It is a useful backupper for every backup needs, for system and file backups.

Pros

In the age of blackmail viruses it is especially important to backup our files regularly. For me AOMEI Backupper Professional is an easy to use tool to make the backup to clone system and easily restore any data if required. It offers backup to one partition, file backup, disk backup, file sync. or system backup. I can migrate the whole system with system clone feature easily to an SSD without the need of reinstalling the system. It supports full, differential and incremental backup, so I can choose a time saving method for the backup. If I want to synchronise my data to the cloud it is also possible.

Cons

I use it in Hungary, and it doesn't have a Hungarian language support. It is not a problem for me, but maybe a problem for others.

August 2017

Michael from Michael J Barrett

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Simple to use. Comprehensive features. No bugs, malware, or ads.

It works.

Pros

It completes my periodic and monthly tasks quickly. The software is intuitive; I don't have to consult with anyone to get the task done.

February 2020

Don from JackDaw Systems (Semi-retired)

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

AOMEI Backupper does just that, very well

Currently this is my primary backup software for my home Local Area Network, which runs 5 Windows PCs, two networked printers, and a Networked Backup Drive (My Cloud).

Pros

Compatibility, Effectiveness, ease of use, reasonable price, good technical support, and a very nice backup platform usable with ease.

Cons

Documentation could use improvement; also it is not intuitively obvious how to accomplish the more complex functions such as image backups.

February 2018

Eric from BECI

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

I have used Aomei for my personal computers for the past several years. It has performed very well.

Pros

It's one of if not the most easy to use backup solution out there. It's super easy to not only back up individual files, but my entire computer and system.

Cons

Some of the tabs/sections can be a little confusing as to how they differ from other sections. there could be more clarity there.

January 2019

Stu from Self-employed

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Backup, Clone, and Restore

I have never had a problem in the ten years I have used their software. The Restore ability to recover a poorly functioning operating system has always worked. The company is generous to offer help when I needed it if I had questions about an upgrade or how to interpret their software instructions.

Pros

It's ability to backup flawlessly, to check whether the backup was successful, and do it quickly.

Cons

While the customer service is well-intentioned, it is sometimes difficult to understand their response---possibly because of a different language.

March 2018

Ian from OFL

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Easy to use backup software. Easy to install and configure.

Pros

Ease of use. Also very configurable in terms of what can be backed up. Also offers options to clone drives which is useful.

Cons

It would be useful to have some of the features available in the paid version in the free version, such as the System Clone option.

May 2020

Marco from Laredo College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

One of the Best to Backup

There are many different backup programs from different vendors, but AOMEI is for sure one i have recommended to others before.

Pros

AOMEI Backupper is one of the best backup programs i have used to backup my hard drive from my computer, including the operating system, all programs installed, and personal files.

Cons

I have not been able to discover a problem. I continue to use AOMEI Backupper to this day to perform essential backups.

August 2020

Stuart from Advance Financial Solutions ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Mr Backyup McBackface

Great tool, essential in this day and age, especially in a paperless office

Pros

easy to use software that takes care of a boring yet essential office task of safeguarding and backing up important files

Cons

I would like to set up a scheduled back up time, where the system auto backs up, say overnight. I am sure the option is there, but just havnt had the time to delve deeper

March 2018

Cody from Information Technology and Services Company

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

This tool is very handy and has helped me back and restore several desktops

Pros

I like that they have an easy way to create image backup ups and restore them via live ISO USB sticks.

Cons

I don't like that the scheduling task doesn't seem to work all the time. If you miss a scheduled task it doesn't seem to run until the next scheduled task instead of the next possible time.

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Gihan from Union Bank Of Colombo PLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Banking

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2021

Aomei Backupper

Overall this is a good solution for basic using.

Pros

This is one of the simple backup solutions I used previously, this was really helpful for me doing system image backups and restoration. the GUI is also really simple and very easy to use.

Cons

Some of the times my backups were corrupted and got a blue screen, and the community support is also not at a high level.

Reasons for Switching to Aomei Backupper

The mini tool is not supportive and not reliable.

January 2020

scott from MIS System Support Group

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

January 2020

Buggy Software to be avoided

Very bad. Software was buggy. They offer a unconditional money back guarentee that is not honered. They kept promising to refund monoy if I would do one more thing, like reintall on all computers several times then send them log files or if I would use the money spent on the server for other products. Chineese compnay that had no honor.

Pros

Purchase price concept of centralized backup solution

Cons

Causes random Blue Screen of Death Server side rarely says the comuter to be backed up is online backups fail to complete 80% of the time

Reasons for Choosing Aomei Backupper

cost and concept

Reasons for Switching to Aomei Backupper

Microsoft is removing the backup feature from windows 10

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Great Value

Pros

Quick and Easy backups and disk clones from a local install or a live boot environment.

Cons

The interface could be organized better as it is not always clear what the different sections do.

February 2018

User Profile Picture

Chris from Harvest Bible Chapel Windsor

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Great tool for easy backups

Pros

Simple interface and definitely one of the best free backup tools I've used. The ability to do incremental, differential or complete backups is great.

Cons

While the interface is straightforward, the terms can be confusing if you aren't familiar with types of back-ups.

April 2017

dhruv from Darts IT Networks

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2017

One of the most reliable and easy to use backup software

Aomei Backupper stands out as on of the most reliable backup programs in the market. It supports full system image backups as well as file backups. The user interface is well designed and even the least tech savvy person will be able to use the software without any problem.

Pros

One of the easiest to use interface Scheduling ability is good Standard edition to take care of the most basic requirements relating to backup

Cons

There should be a feature to pause backups.

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Ana from METRO Cash&Carry Hrvatska

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Extremely good backup software

Pros

It's very good and free backup software that is extremely easy to use. It is fast at backing up and restoring the computers.

Cons

It is a little bit old school style and confusing. Also there is missing important feature to pause backup.

May 2018

Iain from Self employed

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2018

A useful and inexpensive backup utility but functionality is very similar to other backup software.

Regular backups of my desktop/laptop system.

Pros

The UI - which offers a simple wizard driven interface, with clear icons/text which indicates what each menu item does. Also system and disk image backups run very quickly.

Cons

There does not appear to be an option to pause (rather than cancel) a backup operation. Also the software only works on Windows 0S.