User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(62)

62

4 stars

(10)

10

3 stars

(4)

4

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(3)

3

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Datto SIRIS Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 81 results

November 2021

User Profile Picture

Matt from MK Tech Group, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Datto Siris - for backups that just work

Pros

Their customer service during a DR is legendary... you will get white glove service once a DR situation is declared.

Cons

The only drawback is that it requires their hardware.

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

best overall value based on features and customer service

May 2021

Vincent from VNR Tech Solutions, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Datto Siris Disaster Recovery Appliance

Ability to quickly restore a server to service, either through virtualization or bare metal restore, reducing downtime and lost productivity. Providing peace of mind that the data is safe from disasters, ransomware attacks, or even accidental deletions.

Pros

I have the Siris X1 and X2 deployed at a couple of my clients, and have already used it to do a bare metal recovery of one server and a file level restore of a second. It backs up the systems hourly to itself so it can restore or virtualize the server locally, and also sends the data in the cloud, so if the entire building became unavailable due to an emergency, it can virtualize the servers in the cloud. I was able to quickly recover the server that experienced the drive failure, and if any issues arose, I could have virtualized the server temporarily. The backups are actually tested regularly by Datto with a screenshot verifying that the backups are bootable.

Cons

As this is a cloud based solution, there are recurring costs, however they are worth the peace of mind of having offsite backups that are actually tested.

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

Wanted offsite data backup and disaster recovery virtualization.

May 2021

Mark from Sterling IT

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

How much is your business and data really worth?

Datto does everything as advertised. Fast recovery, great support and simple setup Everything you expect and want

Pros

It is amazing how many people spend money in the wrong areas. Backup and Disaster Recovery is crucial in EVERY business. One thing that stands out with Datto is the great service and reliability of a recovery. We have needed Datto 3 times over Covid at 5am Sydney time, and support were there in less than 5mins to assist. Setup is quick and easy as well. Fast and reliable recovery

Cons

People will complain about the price. Yes it is a lot more than its competitors however you also get a lot more for your $$$. So really when you drill it down, its a smorgasbord of product features, speed and support. Unfortunately not everyone see this and therefore the price can be a kick back.

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

It did everything we wanted in one solution

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

Simpler solution as an all in one product and simple offsite as well (However the competitors are doing the same features now)

August 2021

Jon from Lime Daley

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

August 2021

Stay away. Lots of choices in this industry, don't waste your time

I fought with Datto technical support for 6 months before they gave up on supporting their device.

Pros

Nothing. It was a terrible experience all around. I stuck with them for 6 months, because I assumed that it would eventually start working reliably because they seemed like a legitimate company. We did have one month where every backup succeeded. The other fine months required regular manual intervention.

Cons

I had to spend ~40 hours this year debugging the problems with their device. Many, many tickets, phone calls, emails remote sessions, checking their device, changing settings back and forth. All for a trivial one server use-case with very little data.

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

Alto was already installed so it was the easiest system to get setup. At least until I tried to use the software and discovered the previous consultant hadn't been watching the device and it hadn't had a successful backup in months.

May 2021

Mari from Corp SIDIF del Caribe

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Complete Solution

It gives me peace of mind that I offer clients a solution that meets all their needs. I am very pleased.

Pros

Only one vendor for a total BC/DR solution. Robust security functionalities. Easy to set up and manage. Trust that I can recover granular data, files and virtual machines, without long or laborious processes

Cons

Because I am also a reseller, some customers still ask to support to tape, which is not available in SIRIS. Also, more compatibility with operating systems.

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

Hidden cost. Support. Security. Trust

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

Avoid hidden costs of Azure and to have only 1 vendor to support the whole solution.

May 2021

Pulin from Marvel Technologies, inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Unit Warranty is not honored by Datto so how can one trust warranty?

I have been using Datto Siris for several years. We had purchased S3B2000 unit for a client to replace their older unit and upgrade to larger data backup. Datto provided 5 year warranty on the unit. However, when unit gave a problem and stopped backing up (unknown Software or hardware issue, Datto support unilaterally decided without any explanation that it is not in warranty because of it being on a UPS and UPS battery powered off. Can you imagine a connection without UPS? Also can you find a UPS whose battery does not die after several years? The support made us do hard power shut off of the unit several times but it did nit connect to the environment. It sounds like a defect in the unit, but Datto support came up with a unilateral decision, without any explanation that they do not want to honor the warranty. Very poor response by support ????

Pros

Ease of use for setting up and usage of the product

Cons

Support for the product and warranty that should cover if the unit fails but Datto support person chose to arbitrarily ignore the warranty and no explanation of why not.

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

have been using datto and promoting datto for over 10 years

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

Growth of data size

November 2020

Josh from Technology Solutions

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Better protection again ransomware

Working with Datto has been great. After we received the product separate calls were setup to walk us through installing and configuring it. Their support was great and answered all of the questions I had and made sure I was familiar with their product.

Pros

We're switching from other backup software to Datto. Their backup appliance does an excellent job of keeping our data safe. I like that everyday I get a screenshot of the backed up device running. That way I know the backups will work when needed. This product also work 100% of the time. I've used other software that worked about 85%-90% of the time. This product has been consistent.

Cons

Setting it up is a little difficult at first. A couple options I think should be grouped together to make it easier to find them. That's my biggest complaint, which is minor in the entire scope.

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

Datto was more responsive in answering all of my questions and didn't pressure me at all.

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

BackupAssist works, but not consistently. Datto has been more reliable. Plus I can spin up a virtual machine right on the backup appliance itself if something were to happen to my server.

June 2021

Michael from SOS Computer Services Ltd.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

A true Business Continuity solution

Every time Ransomware has damaged our customers we have them back up and running within hours

Pros

Have to say the Tech support is Phenomenal, and recovery is a dream

Cons

Nothing to say , it works , and I'm happy

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

Vembu tech support was terrible

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

N-central never worked properly , waste of time and money. Max backup lost me due to Administrative issues.

June 2021

Michael from STC Business Solutions, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Datto SIRIS backup one of the best if backup and continuity services, not the cheapest

Datto has saved many companies from the clutches of ransomware. If you need peace of mind. You will have that.

Pros

This is a very mature, robust, and feature-rich service. Datto is more than a product or software, it is an end-to-end business continuity solution.

Cons

This is not an inexpensive solution. There is a contract associated with the service as well. Datto is now a large corporation and the characteristics that follow corporations have not passed them over.

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

We needed a complete solution, not just a backup product. It's great to have a backup when you need it. It is not ideal to have to wait a week for a new server to be built and configured. Just to next sit back and wait on data to be copied.

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

Dell purchased Appasure and broke the product pretty well.

May 2021

Simon from vIT4u Ltd

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Datto SIRIS, dependable BUDR

I've used the Datto Siris for years now and been extremely happy with its day to day performance and when used in anger. Support from Datto is also excellent.

Pros

For a start this is not so much software but hardware with software on it and partially in the cloud. What I like about it is it just works, and the screenshot verification gives great peace of mind.

Cons

Its an expensive platform compared to some competitors but you get what you pay for and you you can't mess around with BUDR. Servers fail so don't gamble your business away for a few extra pounds invested to be sure of having addressed the subject correctly.

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

Reliability, simplicity and screenshot verification.

May 2021

DARIUS from SIMPLIFIED TECHNOLOGIES LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Datto SIRIS easy to use and deploy

Product is great and support is great. Make for a good experience overall.

Pros

Screenshot notification is the first I have seen of similar products It was easy to deploy Tech support is easy to communicate with and available 24/7

Cons

For very large storage devices the systems need a bit of tweaking but worked out with tech support help.

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

Medium priced, Good value for the money, Good reputation

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

Carbonite was a bit glitchy and backups would fail frequently.

June 2021

Adam from Computer Network Management, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Datto always saves the day.

Datto is insurance for ransomeware. The stop gap is a huge selling point.

Pros

The software is top quality, the best in the business. Also the support team is American based and has personality and is very good. They have yet to let me down.

Cons

Sometimes certain older OS versions will not allow the backups to work. Also we have had problems backing up desktops too.

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

Could not get good support and the software was just bad.

May 2021

James from D-stress Computers

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Datto - highest quality service when it counts

Pros

The most important thing with regards to business continuity services is speed and quality of support when it is required.

Cons

Cost is always a factor: this service is invaluable. But, it’s price does make selling it an exercise in selling fear (to a degree.)

June 2021

Chris from CQ IT

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

A Backup System you can trust!

Pros

The Datto SIRIS backup solution is the best backup system on the market! Whenever disaster strikes, i can rely on Datto to recover my client's servers fast!

Cons

The pricing is quite high for the support and cloud storage compared to other vendors.

December 2019

Jason from FCS, Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

More than just a backup

This solved both data backup and disaster recovery all in one. Disaster isn't just an act of God, but hardware failure can be a disaster. Had client that was 24x7 that dealt with suicide hotline, their server allowed them to communicate with others across the country. This server allowed them to notify others when they had someone on the line that was suicidal. If they place the person on hold that person may not pick back up. When the server hardware failed, able to spin that server backup in a virtual environment and allowed them to continue showed me right there why to use this product.

Pros

Knowing that it is more than just a backup solution, it is a pure disaster recovery solution. Data recovery is great but when hardware fails knowing I can be backup and running in less than an hour is actually life saving.

Cons

Not much I don't like about the software. Once its up and running it works and support is wonderful, can't honestly think of con.

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

All in one package, you get the hardware, support, offsite and reliability in one place.

February 2020

Carl from Cizzle Solutions

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Best Backup solution

From the time we chose to use Datto, the setup and implementation was a breeze. I have had several interactions with the Technical support team and their responses are always swift and accurate. When using previous products, we received confirmation that backups completed, but Datto actually boot the backup and sends a screenshot verification of the successful login screen.

Pros

Ease of setup and use Dashboard to see all backup statuses Quick response from support for remediation of backup issues. Daily verification that backup can actually boot if needed.

Cons

I haven't found any downside in the short time that we have been using the Datto product. We are still fairly new to it, but consider it a solid option

June 2021

Rick from Ashton Computer, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Peace of Mind

Pros

The self-testing, and reliable results allow us to protect our customers as well as ourselves.

Cons

Cloud continuity cannot be scheduled, and reporting events for continuity cannot be separated like they are for SIRIS hardware devices.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Best Backup Solution Available

Datto allows us to sleep at night without worrying about our customers backup. Easy to plan for a disaster and know we are covered

Pros

- Full Image based backup of various Operating Systems, Server and Workstation OS - Robust and Secure Backup Technology to prevent backups from being compromised - Offsite Retention to protect from total onsite disaster - Canadian Data centers to keep confidential data inside the country - Easy to restore full server via bare metal method or virtual hard drive - Tests all backups automatically to make sure they are working and can boot - Can boot of backed up device in the cloud

Cons

Not a whole lot I don't like, it has everything we need Cost can get high for some of devices, however it is worth it

June 2016

Kevin from ThinkGard

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2016

Datto is the best DR solution for MSPs period.

I've been a Datto partner for 7+ years now and can't say enough good things about them. We liked the solution so much that we sold our traditional MSP in order to start a DRaaS company based solely on Datto. If I was willing to bet my entire future on the product, you had better believe that I have researched many other solutions on the market and none compare to this system as a full-featured turn-key solution.

Pros

The product is just so easy to implement and manage. We have over 400 servers we back up on a daily basis (most on an hourly basis) and we are able to manage all of that with 1 person.

Cons

They are in the process of adding more Enterprise features that will make the product more appealing to those sized businesses. That has been the only shortcoming in the past.

June 2021

Peter from ICT NETWORK SYSTEMS INC.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Datto SIRIS Review

Overall Experience is good

Pros

Ease of Deployment, Configuration and description were clear and concise

Cons

Screen shot backup failures, and having to manually to a differential merge

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

Quality, Service, Support

June 2021

Adrian from Tech-Wales Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

A must have for any business

I recommend this product to any company with data (basically everyone).

Pros

Dattos range of backup devices offer total protection from day-to-day file deletion to complete Disaster Recovery scenarios. Some great features like the screenshots of backups, unlimited retention and malware scanning during backup are superb. Support from the manufacturer has always been first class when needed but to be honest it's quite simple to deploy and maintain

Cons

Non that I've found yet, the web based user interface is simple to use.

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

One-stop solution for backup and disaster recovery easy to maintain and use with some great features.

May 2021

Mark from Teltech ICT

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Teltech Datto Siris Review

very good - gives us that extra peace of mind and can spend more time on other projects.

Pros

I love the fact that this not only rolls in the backup but also disaster recovery into one easy to use platform.

Cons

integration issues between the dashboard with RMM - seemed to have issues when we rolled out RMM and still have issues when it comes to raising tickets however this is more of an RMM area where the problem lies.

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

to be honest it was the sales person. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was always available to answer any questions or concerns and made the transition seamless.

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

Cost comparison and switching to cloud costs. lack of support from previous vendor bundling of many other offerings such as RMM and ability to support our customers on same platforms.

June 2021

Alejandro from 12:34 MicroTechnologies

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Datto

Pros

Web portal interface super easy to use and manage.

Cons

Nothing comes to mind...................

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

Vendor uncertainy.

February 2019

Jeff from Aim

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Cost effective cloud storage with unlimited users

Pros

Cost effective, both browser and desktop client capable. Various ways to share your data through shared links or group permissions setup by the admin. Unlimited user potential, only pay for storage space used. Generous amount of storage initially at a competitive out of pocket expense.

Cons

Can only purchase through Partner Channels. Trying to find a Partner Channel is way more challenging then it should be. Pricing is a little deceiving if going by their advertisements online as I have yet to find a partner that would honor their advertised Tier 1 price points. Admin visibility can get somewhat confusing as admins cannot see all data stored in accounts created for their employees thus losing some data retention securities along with it.

November 2019

Bryan from Southwest Orlando Family Medicine

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Peace of Mind - Cloud storage

Has maintained our business continuity planning allowing redundancy at reasonable expense.

Pros

Timely access to files, astounding ability to virtualize in intervals that meet business continuity.

Cons

High bandwidth. Requires high level education to maintain and use that we've outsourced to IT company.

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

Full access to our data and control. Better price points.

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

The fixed location back-up could fail, it lacked redundancy and required same back up power element that our larger servers fail. The cloud model allowed us to maintain our own data without potential of it being held hostage by third party.

June 2021

Paris from Backup Computing

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

If you need a solution with great support, continuity, and offsite storage Datto is your best choice

Unless I wanted to get in the business of storing customer data at my own ISP/data center there is really no one else in the game that covers the critical backup needs the way Datto does.

Pros

Easy to install and use. The learning curve is moderate for the specifics but easy if using the standard defaults that work for most applications. Customer Support will get you past any other issues.

Cons

Until you have had to use it and troubleshoot you the online help is generally pretty bad. Room for lots of improvements there. So when i get stuck I contact support directly and usually easy to sort out from there.

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

For the continuity options and the ability to keep a customer up even when things go bad. No one else comes close.

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

The others either are way overpriced for what they provide or They just don't get the job done. With Datto I know I have support to fall back on and a product that will work.

May 2021

Andrew from Anderson Morgan

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Business Continuity, not just Disaster Recovery.

Great to deal with.

Pros

Backup schedule as short as every 10 minutes means you won't lose much data between backups. Being able to spin up your environment both onsite from the SIRIS device and the cloud within minutes can keep your business operating with minimal downtime - saving thousands of dollars in lost production. Restore lost files - either accidentally deleted, or maliciously deleted by exiting employees.

Cons

Ongoing monthly costs are high, but the benefit of being able to spin up your environment both onsite from the SIRIS device and the cloud makes it worth it. Backups can slow the network - so getting the backup schedule right is important so as not to slow the network during busy periods.

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

Onsite and cloud recovery in minutes.

March 2018

Jeffrey from Hilltop Consultants

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Use Datto for most of our clients and has made us look great on more than one occasion

Fantastic backup system with easy use to bring up specific backups from any backup or ability to spin up entire servers in case of an emergency

Pros

Great features and pretty easy web support page to be able to remotely manage. If a full server goes down, can spin up a backup of that server in the cloud or on the local device to keep production going while recreating the downed box. Even had a client have their servers seized for 2 weeks and we were able to run their servers from the cloud until they received them back. Then was able to merge the data back onto their local servers so they were able to continue working the whole time.

Cons

Can sometimes get broken connections on the local end and have difficulty getting backups to start up again. Usually support is pretty good with finding the issue or replacing the product (though this does put the information at risk for that time being)

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Datto excels

Pros

Datto is very easy to set up, easy to use, and easy to test/verify backups. RPO/RTO improvement was remarkable. There is a sense of security that comes from knowing all of your servers can be virtualized in the cloud should a local disaster strike.

Cons

We had some issues initially that were eventually determined to be hardware related. While the device was replaced, it took a very long time to convince support that hardware was the issue. They seem to always want to blame the network.

September 2020

David from Computer Dynamics

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Reliable local & cloud backup.

Excellent! The customer service is very good and the people really know what they're doing!

Pros

Once the software and hardware are setup it's all hands off! The software will notify you if there are any issues with the backup. It will also notify you if the backup was successful by logging into the vm created by the backup!

Cons

I can't think of anything that I didn't like about this software. It has a straightforward web interface that is easy to navigate.

June 2021

David from Iron Grid Networks, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Datto SIRIS BCDR

I sleep better at night with this solution in place.

Pros

The system is fairly straightforward. Once you set one up, the average technician should be able to be turned lose to deploy more by themselves.

Cons

If there is a con, it would only be price. But even then I don't think it's terribly expensive.

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

Cost, support, continual re-investment of the company obviously interested in bettering their offering.

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

Support and ease of use.

June 2019

Mark from Coffee Cup Solutions

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Remote monitoring made easy

Overall I am very satisfied with Datto. This tool is single-handedly the most powerful weapon against support tickets. The only thing Datto could do better is by adding a better in-app interface to navigate to other machines.

Pros

Datto makes everything manageable remotely. It comes with built-in scripts for easy installations as well as having a fully functioning remote control feature called Splashtop. The app opens on startup before a user logs in, giving you full functionality to work on multiple users on the machine. An overall incredibly powerful tool.

Cons

Datto sometimes has severe memory leaks. This is typically when you are connected to a computer that is no longer online and Datto is still trying to reach it pro-actively using a lot of memory, so far this is the only issue I have run into that recurs.

March 2018

Bob from Hilltop

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Best small business solution for Backups

None

Pros

You get a box that hooks up to your network. It backs up your servers, send data off to the cloud, and if you have down hardware will work as your server until you have repaired the hardware and gotten back online. It can save you business of 5-20 people.

Cons

It can be a steep investment, and the device can be some what complicated to setup. They do eat a good amount of bandwidth so you need to setup transfers properly. Its all about timing.

August 2017

Kevin from Raymar Information Technology, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Finally, IT admins can sleep well knowing their data is protected

Peace of mind knowing that the customer's infrastructure was well protected.

Pros

LIghtning-quick recovery of files/folders and even systems. So easy to deploy and even easier to recover data. Quick spin-up of virtual machine for business continuity. Administration is simple and This product is loaded with actually useful and necessary features that directly benifit the MSP concerned with their customer's intellectual assets and productivity.

October 2018

Doug from Fletcher Paintball/Fletcher Computer Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Open Mesh Access Points

I can centrally manage about 50 AP's for various clients all from one common cloud base interface. I also find the alerts very useful when a device goes offline.

Pros

Ease of setting up new devices. Quickly making changed that get distributed to all other nodes in the given network. Cloud based is a plus in this instance. I'm typically not a fan of most clound based solutions.

Cons

Quite a bit more pricey that other wireless AP solutions.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Datto

We were able to switch away from tapes and also get our backups in a secure location so if a major disaster hit we know our data is safe.

Pros

Does everything a good backup service should do. On device on site backups Cloud backups. Able to run environment from the cloud if major disaster hits. Set it and forget it type of system

Cons

Can be kind of expensive but if you want your data protected its worth the price tag.

June 2021

Brad from BME Group, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Datto Siris backup opinions

Our main purpose in using this class of software is to get cloud backup as easily as possible with a product that comes with solid support. Datto seems to have achieved those goals.

Pros

It does cloud backup pretty seamlessly without much intervention. Their support is very good and they are fairly responsive and available.

Cons

The user interface is less than intuitive.

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

Support, features, pricing.

September 2019

Emily from Alexssa

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Datto Review

I use Datto on a daily basis to monitor backups for multiple clients.

Pros

The Datto Backup Portal is so easy to navigate. Failures and notifications stick out immediately so they can be addressed right away. Recovering data is quick with little downtime for the end user.

Cons

If screenshot verification's fail, they should automatically try again the next time that a backup is run.

November 2018

Joe from The Children's Village

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Datto Enterprise Backup

Overall great product. The company we use as our datto support - are thorough and quick to help when needed. If a backup fails, they immediately contact me to remedy the issue. Having that level of support is a huge piece of mind. Very good product, on site and in the cloud storage.

Pros

Storage size, speed of backups/restores, 3rd party company support who manage our backups/restores.

Cons

Price but can you really put a price on data loss?

January 2018

Daniel from City of North Battleford

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Datto has a solid and reliable solution that you can count on.

We have been saved from cryptlocker more than once thanks to this product.

Pros

Back verification screen shots as proof of working backups Option of Local an/or Cloud virtualization and restore. Service and Support is great. Highly Configurable.

Cons

Datto is only available via registered re-sellers/partners so you are not able to get this service direct to your internal IT department.

January 2018

Chris from RDI-IT

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Best backup software ever used

Pros

Sleepless nights wondering if you could restore or what to do after ransomware targets a file server are no more. Good support and good product.

Cons

If you need to upgrade or replace a drive, the system needs to go offline to repair. In addition, bare metal restores have always been a problem. It can get expensive with the cloud portion.

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Steven from Global Payments Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Generations beyond tape backup solutions

The backup solution has saved us multiple times. The extended features of not just file recovery but bare-metal recovery saving us server rebuilding time and virtualization allowing us to bring up a server temporarily from a back-up were amazing features.

Pros

The ability to do virtualizations allows you to bring up servers temporarily when they fail. Users can still access the server and backups continue to be completed. You can then schedule downtime to restore the server instead of just interrupting users.

Cons

It is very technical and not something a technical novice can install and use correctly. You need an experienced technician to setup and maintain.

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

Zenith had discontinued their BDR solution and the new solution they provided was not fully ready. We trialed Datto and were very happy as it was essentially similar to what we already had.

May 2021

Alexander from AIV automatisering

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Datto SIRIS: best choice for a proffesional BCDR solution

Pros

Besides the ease of use and install, DATTO gives top quality support and allows you to configure alerts when backups have not run or successfull virtualisation fails. So you're always in the know.

Cons

Drive consistency checks are real strict and are not always fixed with checkdisk.

May 2021

Jay from Aegis Technology Partners

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Worry Free Backup

We've had to rely on Datto to recover system crashes several times over the years and it's never failed.

Pros

Datto Siris is very easy to deploy and dependable

Cons

It would be nice to have a per-server license model instead of a device size model.

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

It was the most recommended solution

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

Replibit was not reliable

June 2021

Chris from CMG Computing Services

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

A cornerstone of our MSP business

It allows up to safely and efficiently keep our customer's system backed up and fully protected from all hazards.

Pros

Easy to implement with set-it-and-forget-it quality. Back-end monitoring is very detailed.

Cons

Cost for storage size curve is a little steep. I'd like to get more storage for the same dollars.

June 2021

Jon from Pyramid Business Systems

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Fantastic product, Redundancy and Virtualization all combined.

Fantastic. Service and support is awesome.

Pros

It just works, It's pretty much set and forget. I know that Datto has my back when I have a device like this in place.

Cons

There is really nothing that the device does not have.

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

Felt better about the hardware and support.

January 2020

Nathan from WWDoT Comptuers

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Great RMM software

Datto has been good to me for my needs. Anytime that I have a question, someone is there to help.

Pros

Everything is at your fingertips. It is nice to be able to jump back and forth between the RMM software and PSA software with just a click of the mouse. Everything is imported and exported cleanly.

Cons

Right now there is not any support for MS Home products. This really hinders my company as we do a lot with MS Home clients.

Reasons for Switching to Datto SIRIS

Cost was a major influence in the switch.

June 2021

John from Quest-Logix

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Fully Featured/Easy to Use

We have been with Datto for over 10 years and the experience is a 10 on a 1-10 scale.

Pros

Features, easy of use and superior customer service after the sale.

Cons

Backup Insights does not work all the time

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

Ease of use, features. Better thought out product and intuative.

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Kurt from Angel Water Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Burned Up Hard Drive or Burned Down Building, the Data Remains.

To date, while still new to its use, it has been all positive.

Pros

Ease of use is key for a company with a very limited amount of people, in management, who have a technological aptitude. It is very straight forward on its out-of-the-box processes, after initial decisions on what/how the backup should work.

Cons

Having to go through a 'dealer' was kind of a pain, but ultimately worth it considering our limited exposure to cloud backup services.

June 2021

Joe from Central PA Technologies

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Best product.

Our experience has been great. Their support always comes through when needed.

Pros

Its feature rich and the simplicity is great.

Cons

The cost is about the only thing I don't like but looking at the big picture its worth it.

Reasons for Choosing Datto SIRIS

Because it works all the time.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 81 reviews