User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(147)

147

4 stars

(36)

36

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

5.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse NAKIVO Backup & Replication Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 92 results

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Andrew from Arishi

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

A beautifully engineered solution that doesn't assume everyone uses Windows

It's as close to bullet proof as we've seen. Our backups run nightly and on the occasion when we need to restore, there are some very flexible ways of getting either individual files, VMDKs or entire VMs out the other end. We have yet to try out the non-VM backup but we suspect that at some point we will throw that out and move it all to Nakivo.

Pros

It's an elegant combination of Java and Linux with a straightforward web-based interface and it never lets us down. We feel completely comfortable with Nakivo protecting our backups and best of all, it means we don't have to install a load of Windows-based systems that we don't want or need just to run it.

Cons

It's not cheap. It does work out slightly more cost effective than Veeam, and the saving of effort and hassle of it being Linux-based was enough justification for us to buy it in the end.

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

The fact that it doesn't depend upon Windows and it is very slightly cheaper.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Nakivo "The backbone to our virtualization infrastructure DR+BC Playbook.

From sales to support, the attention has been top-notch. Very attentive and quick to respond with quotes and resolutions. The application performance has exceeded our previous backup systems.

Pros

Rapid deployment: We use Synology NAS devices for backups. The ability to deploy the app directly on the NAS itself was a big win for us. We reduced the load on our hypervisors and have everything needed for recovery on one device.

Cons

A web UI refresh would be nice but that is just a matter of personal preference. A mobile app would be great.

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Sales and support were quick to respond and the product documentation was clear and precise. The demo was excellent. POC passed.

Reasons for Switching to NAKIVO Backup & Replication

No web functionality. Windows only. Slow and prone to errors with jobs failing.

May 2020

Giordano from Genesys

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Nakivo

Pros

I use Nakivo to backup AWS istances from a region to another and works very well. It is easy to use and configure.

Cons

Enable the possibility to restore guest file from a replicated istances to restore file deleted or damage

November 2021

Jose Luis from GCS Systems

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2021

Nakivo es una herramienta de Backup fácil de usar e implementar compatible con vmware y nutanix

Pros

Es compatible con todos los hipervisores importante del mercado vmware/hiper-v/acropolis. Facil de usar la interfaz de usuario Corre en todos los sistemas operativos se conecta a la mayoria de los storage appliance

Cons

Deben trabajar mas con acropolis, hay detalles que pueden ser mejorados. A veces las fallas de los jobs no son tan explicativas

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Porque funciona en todos los hipervisores.

Reasons for Switching to NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Porque no funcionaba con Nutanix en ese momento.

June 2021

Jeff from Jatech Limited

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Solid, reliable and well performing backup solution for VMware and Hyper-V virtual environments

It has provided reliable backup system that has always restored successfully the few times it has needed to.

Pros

It provides regular backups for all of our VMs both to onsite and offsite repositories giving us great peace of mind. It can be installed on NAS devices providing a singular backup and storage solution.

Cons

Remote transporters often need to be manually updated when there is a version upgrade requiring some technical knowledge

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Altaro is more costly, and I had technical issues when backing up Hyper-V Server 2019

July 2021

Stefano from Puntoit

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Great backup solution!

We were looking for a centralized solution, easy to use, cost effective and with a high rate of successfull backups

Pros

Flexible, manageable, relatively easy to use, customizable and a high rate of succesfull backups. Customer support is great quality too!

Cons

A bit difficult the first setup, but not too hard

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Flexible, manageable, relatively easy to use, customizable and a high rate of succesfull backups. Customer support is great quality too!

May 2020

Michael from Michael L. Levine MD PA

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Backup made easy

Overall my experience has been great and when I do have a problem their support is there to immediately help solve the problem.

Pros

The software ease of use is what really sold me on Nakivo. From day one it was easy to setup and within a few minutes I was backing up my first Esxi server. The VM replication is fast and I love the screenshot verification. Restoring a backup is just as easy and I've never had a backup restore job fail.

Cons

Overall the software is as perfect as you can get. Its allows me to confidently backup my servers with no issues.

Reasons for Switching to NAKIVO Backup & Replication

The huge price difference and lack of features was the main reason for the switch.

December 2021

Ralf from UBR Reetmeyer GmbH

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Super product

Pros

We have received perfect support in terms of product advice and distribution.For technical questions we get competent support. keep it up

Cons

all allright, the software works fine and good

August 2021

Harald from Intana BioScience GmbH

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Very intuitive and easy to administrate and setup

After comparing several Backup solution with support for M365 and VMware using different small NAS systems, we just found Nakivo is the best you can get.

Pros

Easy setup, and wide support for NAS Systems. Support ist very fast and easy to deliver by just creating a support bundle from the console.

Cons

No very detailed error log. Error-description are more generic.

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

It support CBT on VMware which is available at higher costs on other products.

February 2021

Aldan from Superior Solutions LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Reliable and secure

Reliable and Secure from typical SMB network traffic being isolated on a Linux based repository.

Pros

The ability to backup just about any OS (Linux, Windows etc.) and replicate to just about any repository.

Cons

I don't have anything that I dislike about the product at this time.

Reasons for Switching to NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Cost, Reliability, Simplicity and Security (isolated from network)

November 2021

Pierre-Edouard from MYITSERVICE Sàrl

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2021

Nkivo - a very powerfull backup tool

Very good performance to backup and restore very large VMs

Pros

This product is very easy to deploy, use and schedule.

Cons

I hate these permanten errors on the console showing CIFS VFS send error in SessSetup = -13

September 2021

Jose from INKAFERRO PERU

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2021

Excelente opción para respaldar MV en servidores NAS

Como solución para respaldar máquinas virtuales me ha funcionado bien en mi servidor NAS me ha trabajado excelente. Me gustaría expandir más sus funciones en nuestro día a día.

Pros

La facilidad de convertir mi dispositivo NAS en una solución de respaldo para mis MV VMware Vsphere. La simplicidad para crear tareas de backup y la visualización tipo calendario del panel de control que permite ver todo mucho más fácil y sencillo.

Cons

La lentitud de mantenerse a la par con las actualizaciones de los dispositivos con los que trabaja. Por más de un año no pude sincronizar mi servidor NAS de Western Digital con Nakivo debido a la que nueva actualización del NAS no soportaba el Nakivo.

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Por el precio y las funciones que me ofrecía ya que era justo lo que necesitaba en ese momento.

August 2020

Joshua from Wolkenware

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

NAKIVO + Synology

Nakvio has been extremely helpful whenever called up, and their support team has proven knowledgeable at diagnosing other systems (like synology in our case)

Pros

Extremely easy to use, and the synology deployment is an absolute lifesaver in terms of reducing complexity

Cons

Would have preferred the calendar dashboard at lower licence levels

Reasons for Switching to NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Veeam was too expensive for most of our client base

December 2021

Quintin from Smith Neufeld Jodoin LLP

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Well priced, feature packed, easy to use, trustworthy

Pros

The web interface is very easy to use. The backups work well, and are consistent. When I need to restore something, it is there.

Cons

There is nothing missing that I can think of.

November 2021

Edward from i247

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2021

Great product for VM to NAS Backup

Pros

We like the easy integration with QNAP NAS devices and being able to easily backup VMWare VMs directly to the NAS.

Cons

Takes a bit of time to get used to setting it up and getting to know it.

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Linux based, saving costs.

Reasons for Switching to NAKIVO Backup & Replication

We didn't need a fully fledged backup server to backup our DR site, so we used the native Nakivo app on the QNAP NAS.

July 2021

Jens from BITMIT GmbH

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Easy to setup, affordable, reliable

Pros

It was easy to setup (less than half an hour) and instantly worked - no problems. Offsite backup to Synology NAS works good.

Cons

Actually there are no real Cons about this software. It just works.

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Affordable solution for our Nutanix cluster.

Reasons for Switching to NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Veeam couldn't backup our file server any more, no solutions with support in weeks.

December 2021

John from Altius Insurance LTD

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Value for Money

Their team are professionals who take their job seriously. Best support ever!

Pros

Friendly and easy UI with many capabilities and options to choose from.

Cons

Nothing really to say here..............

June 2021

Kevin from Brennan Consult bv

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Happy Nakivo customer with zero data loss.

The need to have a short RTO for virtual machines was the main driver.

Pros

It's easy to install and use. It runs directly on certain storage arrays which is a huge plus.

Cons

Sometimes the logging in the (rare) event of a failure could be better.

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Running directly on a storage array. Does not require a Windows Server license.

November 2021

Chris from Pay4Property Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Fast backup and clean, easy interface

Having previously used Unitrends, when that crashed unrecoverably a few months ago, their support weren't willing to provide any help so I looked around for alternatives. As we use a Synology NAS, I found Nakivo would run native on that, allowing me to remove the bloated Unitrends server from our ESXi host. Unfortunately with the very limited memory in our Synology it rather struggled once Nakivo was installed so we ended up adding the Nakivo VM to our ESXi host which runs like a dream. The Nakivo web interface is MUCH simpler than Unitrends. At first I was worried it wouldn't do what I wanted in terms of setting up daily backups, retaining weekly backups for a month, monthly backups for a year and replicating everything to an off-site archive for additional security. It took a while to get my head around how simple the interface was compared to Unitrends but then it was easy to set up the schedule and replication I needed. It felt too simple so I was a little concerned whether it would actually do it but having been using it for many months now and having done test restores from both the live backup repository and the archive repository I'm fully confident it's doing what it should. The most positive benefit however is the speed of backup. Our weekly full backup used to take 4 hours using Unitrends, now it takes under an hour on exactly the same hardware! Similarly the daily incremental used to take 30 minutes now it takes about 6 minutes.

Pros

Fast backup Good compression Easy to setup and manage

Cons

The free version is only free for a year

May 2019

Nadir from 3OGRES srl

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

The best choice

Pros

This software is easy to setup and use. The price is competitive and can be afforded also in very little company or offices (SOHO) assuring security at low cost. The availability of the transporter module with most of NAS system (also SOHO) let the company work also with low cost devices. The option to have a flash VM boot reduces the RTO and the forever incremental backups (very fast) reduces the RPO.

Cons

No availability for Citrix XEN and a full screen interface (the calendar would be more readable).

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Price, availability of support (very quick response) and reliability

November 2021

Friedhelm from Maklerservice Friedhelm Jadischke

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2021

Small Insurance Broker users NAKIVO 9.0.0

We are a small privately owned insurance broker company and store our sensitive customer data in our own databases in our small WMWare server farm, which we operate on a physical standalone server. We operate 5 virtual machines, primarily a Windows Server 2016 Essentials domain controller including a file server, a Microsoft SQL server, an Ubuntu server and also two virtual Windows 10 PCs. We back up the virtual machines to a local Synology NAS using NAKIVO version 9.0.0. We save a NAKIVO backup copy to an external repository, which we temporarily integrate into the network. Once the data has been backed up, we store the external repository outside for disaster recovery reasons. Recovery tests were carried out successfully in a test environment. The solution can be operated by laypeople. We are satisfied with the price-performance ratio of the solution. With best regards Broker Service Friedhelm Jadischke, Sondershausen

Pros

Easy to install and configure, reliable, could be operated by laypeople.

Cons

Acqisition is a hassle, not relibale over WAN, no automated License Renewal

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Fits for purpose and less expensive than the other products

March 2021

Patrick from Effenco

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Backup simplicity

It's the third place where we use it. Nakivo is a very easy software to deploy and to use. You can count on it when you need the most, we have used it to recover an entire environment that was down and the recovery worked without a hicup. The technical support is very responsive and professionnal.

Pros

Ease of use Granular recovery Incremental forever

Cons

Backup of office365 is not easy to understand. It's a new feature, so I guess it will improve in the future

October 2021

User Profile Picture

Pietro from Mario Frigerio S.p.A

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

NAKIVO Backup & Replication

I use Nakivo for backup and replication process in my datacenters. The software is very stable, easy to configure, with a great price.

Pros

The system is easy to use and easy to implement. Backup jobs are easy to set up and have a large amount of options. Price is very attractive. Very appreciate the possibility to install directly on NAS appliance (Qnap in my case)

Cons

Missing support for EMC Unity storage appliance

Reasons for Switching to NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Almost the same functionality at a lower price

January 2021

Stefano from Sistema Service Software S.r.l.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Great Backup Software

I have using nakivo for 3 years now, it saves my customer's from crypto attach.

Pros

Easy configuration, best prize (for me). The installations is a very simple and intuitive. Dasboard new and fresh. New version coming...backup ALL. Installation on Nas, Server, VM

Cons

I will a customer's management multi tenant

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

I use Nakivo for first for the easy of use...but above for the quickly support.

August 2021

User Profile Picture

Raymond from No Lim-IT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Excellent virtual machine backups

With regular backup software there is a significant amount of time needed in case of disaster (hardware). With NAKIVO you can replace the hardware and get up and running pretty quickly.

Pros

I have installed NAKIVO on both Synology NAS and as a virtual appliance. Setup and configuring is very easy. I only use it with VMware virtual machines. With a paid license for VMware NAKIVO makes the needed config changes automatically. If the VMware free editions you need to do it yourself (VMware limitation), but it's still easy. Backup, Restore, Disaster recovery all work great! The subscription license if very affordable. In case of hardware problems you can get up and running very quickly.

Cons

I really don't have any major issues with NAKIVO I don't like. Some minor issues I didn't really like the web interface were all changed with a recent release.

October 2021

César from Tecnibite

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2021

Nakivo is impressive

Very good experience, already had to recover some backups, didn't had any issue.

Pros

I like the fact that is super easy to set it up and start backing up your data. Also easy to do replicas and recover from backups.

Cons

From the 1st day until now I didn't had any issue with the software.

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

We found that Nakivo is more resilient and better for our infrastructure

June 2019

Erno from Xetpoint Oy

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Easy to use and fast recovery

Very pleased with it. We use Nakivo to backup all of our VMware VM's and have been using it for 2 years already and we have never had failed backups with it. As we're web hosting company we run restore operations several times per week for our clients who have tendency of deleting something.

Pros

Very easy installation + the deduplication results are very impressive. Also restore time with Flash VM Recovery is amazing. We've done 900Gb + VM's started from backup in minutes and we've been able to fetch database dumps in there in time which we've never seen before. As some of our hosting servers use MySQL with InnoDB databases ability to boot "replica of VM" with Flash VM recovery and performing mysqldump on running replica in minutes is simply impressive.

Cons

Usual issues with any software: "something point zero" versions do have their bugs.

November 2021

Matteo from Tecnoteca Srl

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

Perfect backup software

The backups and the recovery plans have been made super easy thanks to Nakivo

Pros

Ease of use, availability with free ESXi hosts, low setup times

Cons

Automatic upgrades of the software are not available but it's not a real problem

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Lower cost and higher feature offering

Reasons for Switching to NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Ease of use and cost

July 2021

Thomas from ComputerPilz e.U.

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Worth the money for small companies - perfect scalable

Implenetation time is about an hour.

Pros

The backup und recovery time and space saving is a great advantage.

Cons

Maybe the support for Proxmox. All virtual machines in Proxmox are backuped with the physical agent - and this works perfekt. No cons at all.

Reasons for Switching to NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Usability

December 2021

Andres from GRUPO mlp srl (VENTEX)

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2021

Nakivo does the best job for a great price

The biggest problem that Nakivo solved for us was the complete recovery after having lost all the disks of the host (stolen).

Pros

Ease of implementation and administration

Cons

All the functionalities of nakivo are necessary, we like none less than others

October 2021

Joachim from Arka IT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Business Supplies and Equipment

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2021

A Solid Backup Solution

We have bin using it for almost 2 years. and it just works.

Pros

It´s rock solid and fast. We backup on 10Gbps network to all flash storage. backup and restore is super fast.

Cons

Pricing can always be better. but it is still cheaper that the compatition. and just as good if not better.

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

it was Cheaper and has good support and same functions.

Reasons for Switching to NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Nakico was cheaper

November 2021

Pascal from 6376525 Canada Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2021

Great inexpensive software

Nakivo allows backups of our very small lab for an affordable price

Pros

Price ease of use Compatibility with VMware

Cons

Needs to be more flexible with vCenter version supported

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

More affordable Easier to deploy

November 2021

Luca from arpitel srl

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

superb experience

Pros

since we use nakivo backup and replication we can perform operation that would be very expansive using vmware license, for a very very affordable price, and even if our infrastructure should increase in the short time we can upgrade just the license to cover all the new devices we can use. we use nakivo backup and replication on qnap devices, and it covers up to 5 servers in the small environment. we can now perform operations that were expansive and difficult with very high automation.

Cons

An additional feature that would be appreciated is the disaster recovery automation. it could be improved using vcenter features.

December 2021

Frank from Miralix A/S

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2021

Value for money

We use NAKIVO Backup & Replication for Microsoft Hyper-V backup on several sites. The solution runs on several Synology NAS devices. The solution offers a simple interface that is easy to use for new users. It gives us a quick and simple way of recovering individual files and whole servers.

Pros

Easy to use web UI. We've used NAKIVO Backup & Replication support a handfull of times and they've been helpfull in both response time and solving the technical problem.

Cons

Missing MFA for AD integrated users and Clustered SQL HA setups.

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Good value for money and the easy to use web ui.

July 2021

Elmar from Telmekom Gmbh

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Telmekom GMBH

Pros

The installation of the Software is easy, adding Hypervisors is easy, adding backup targets, aka Transporters is easy. Overall the Backup is setup and running within a few hours and works like a charm. Backup is fast and cluster aware. The support is great. Tthe API gives lots of possibility's to integrate it with already existing monitoring solutions.

Cons

One thing that bothers me the most, technically the agent isn't supported on windows core edition. The backup and agent still works, however I am not sure how fare the support will support this setup if there appear to be issues.

October 2019

Muhammad from PT. Excellent Infotama Kreasindo

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Affordable Price & Easy Implementation With Nakivo

Nakivo is a backup and replication tool that offers data protection with complete features aimed at a virtual environment that can support both on premise and cloud. Some virtualization products supported include VMware, HyperV, Nutanix and even Nakivo also support for Cloud Environment backup (AWS EC2). NAKIVO is the right choice for companies that needs backup application at an affordable price and reliable performance. We very recommends NAKIVO application. If you already use VMware and don't know what backup application you should use? NAKIVO is the right solution. In addition to backups that can be done easily, NAKIVO also has the ability to restore quickly. NAKIVO itself can be installed on a variety of hosts. Either it's Windows, Linux, or as a virtual appliance (OVF / OVA), or maybe installed on NAS storage. So, it's actually pretty easy to apply NAKIVO in your company environment

Pros

Have Replication & Fast Restore Feature. NAKIVO itself can be installed on a variety of hosts. Either it's Windows, Linux, or as a virtual appliance (OVF / OVA), or maybe installed on NAS storage. So, it's actually pretty easy to apply NAKIVO in your company environment

Cons

Still Cannot Backup To Tape. It seems pretty important to have this feature.

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

The price is more affordable than the other one

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Kenedy from PT Multistrada Arah Sarana, Tbk

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

NAKIVO Very Helpful for Backup our VM Servers and So Simple and Friendly Use

We have experience, when our host ESXi having problem, we can restore so easy using Nakivo

Pros

Simple, Easy to Use, Trusted and Proven in Our Company

Cons

For now i don't have, i think all feature in Nakivo its so perfectly to support us for backup VM Servers

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Nakivo.... it just works.

Our organization used VMware VDP and we always had major issues with it. VDP would frequently break and ivolved days of wasted time on the phone with VMware to get it working. We switched to Nakivo and never looked back. We were up and running within minutes.

Pros

Absolutely the easiest VM backup software I've used. We installed the agent on our Synology unit and were doing backups by the end of the day.

Cons

The only nitpick I can think of is the Flash based interface. The UI can sometimes become sluggish due to our large VMware infrastructure.

Reasons for Switching to NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Absolute frustration over using VMware's VDP.

August 2021

Štefan from Tech-D

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2021

Price-effective powerful easy to use backup solution for our Hyper-V VMs infrastructure

In our SMB we started using NAKIVO as our main backup solution for backing up mainly Hyper-V VMs. Our overall experience with it was great from the point of buying and implementing it, and still is, as we still keep using it successfully.

Pros

Pre-sale support and consultations were awesome Price and price models are great Very flexible solution (we like running it on QNAP) Performance Easy of use

Cons

Error messages could be more detailed and helpful, without the need to send logs to support We used to experience strange unresponsiveness of web UI, but it seem that updates fixed it.

July 2021

JAVIER from HARDWARE & PARTS

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

GREAT BACKUP SOFTWARE

Very good experience

Pros

Synology Integration, Easy to use, Replication and Cloud Backup

Cons

Other languages available. Support in other languages.

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

NAS integration

January 2022

Malcolm from Mark One

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2022

Best Backup Software 2022

Pros

Simple to use and understand, setup took about 15 minutes

Cons

there is nothing i don't like about this software

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Price was better for Nakivo

July 2021

Wenjie from Hitachi Construction Machinery Asia & Pacific

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Most bang for buck VM backup software with user friendly interface

Pros

User friendly interface and ease of use. The work flow is easy to understand and it has worked wonders over the years. Ability to set up on multiple OS platforms is a plus.

Cons

It has been working well for me since it was implemented.

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

At this price point and support level, it is a no brainer option for me.

September 2021

Matt from Office Options

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2021

Review of Nakivo

Pros

The software is cost effective and very easy to deploy. I am pleased that the team are very knowledgable with Linux and that the software can be installed on a number of different platforms.

Cons

There are not really any negatives as the software does what it is supposed to do and the support is there if there is a problem.

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

The cost was much less for Nakivo.

Reasons for Switching to NAKIVO Backup & Replication

We transitioned from physical servers to virtual.

August 2021

Luděk from Erba lachema s.r.o.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

My experience

We use it for create testing environment too (restore production VM to test environment) and verify for example Windows and other updates, new configuration outside production environment.

Pros

In my opinion, it has very good price to performance ratio. Easy deployment and usage. It is very suitable for disaster recovery.

Cons

There is a little bit complicate restore single file/object. Restore single file on Windows platform do not restore all trustees.

September 2021

Göran from C S Industrial AB

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2021

Outstanding Backup Solution!

It has so far been a success story and they have an excellent 24/7 support , takes normally only minutes to get in touch.

Pros

The product cotains all you need to supprot nearly all types of backups Physical Machine, MS Hyper-V vmware, Nutanix and all MS fetures like SQL, Exchange etc are included.

Cons

Does not have much to complain about, it's more like that it take some time and efforts to learn and understand all features.

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

Price and completeness.

Reasons for Switching to NAKIVO Backup & Replication

The main reson was that Nakivo includes all type of backups and you don't have to buy anything extra.

July 2021

Ian from Process Automation UK Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Process Automation UK Ltd

The support is great, when I struggled with a particular update I contacted the support team, who connected to my system remotely and talked me through how to sort out the updates. It is really intuitive and easy to use software.

Pros

It was quick to configure, it is easy to use and the reporting is really good. Updates are simple to complete and you can configure this to complete a backup whenever it suits you. I am confident that, despite not really knowing it is there, it is keeping my system backed up and safe, giving me real peace of mind.

Cons

I purchased the software through an IT company, they set it up and I have operated the software since. I don't really find anything that I don't like about it, or I feel could be improved.

November 2019

Daniel from Zufall Health Center

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Nakivo: A reliable and robust backup solution

Great, support staff was responsive and helpful in assisting any and all issues we came across regarding some unexpected power outages to our environment and restoring our backups without issue.

Pros

Has multiple redundancies to ensure data is safely maintained, easy to schedule backups at a moments notice. Works very well with a VMware environment. WebUI is informative and simple to navigate. Easy to upgrade to new product versions as well.

Cons

The limit on the space of each storage repository. Being 20TB max can put a strain on having large VM systems with multiple monthly and daily backups.

December 2020

Bernhard from CSA Computer Service Agentur GmbH

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Best Backup Solution for virtual environment

Pros

Nakivo is easy to install and easy to perate. Support is excellent. No client installation necessary because management is done by web interface.

Cons

I don't know any issues that could be done better...

November 2021

Martin from AMB-WIBA Maschinenbau GmbH

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2021

powerful backup solution

Pros

Backup jobs are easy to set up and have a lot of options.

Cons

The software is very stable, easy to configure, with a great price.

Reasons for Choosing NAKIVO Backup & Replication

It was offered me because it suits to my hardware.

Reasons for Switching to NAKIVO Backup & Replication

it doesn't work properly with my hardware.

July 2021

Zhang from Hitachi Construction Machinery Asia & Pacific

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Easy to use UI, compatible with multiple platforms

Pros

I was able to get everything set up quickly due to the easy to use interface. Ability to install on multiple different platforms is a plus.

Cons

Did not encounter any major hiccups. The software has been great so far.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 92 reviews