User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(16)

16

4 stars

(9)

9

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse ShadowProtect Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -22 of 28 results

November 2018

User Profile Picture

David from Highlander I.T. & Telecoms

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Excellent backup and restore for physical servers

This product has been king of physical server backups for a long time. They have started to bolt-on features to better support virtual environments and recovery, and offer cloud services. Unfortunately these are clearly additions to the base product and not revisions to it, meaning that management is not very slick and it doesn't make commercial sense when stacked against the competition. But if you just have a couple of physical servers and want a robust backup solution with recovery you can rely on, this is a good product.

Pros

Easy to install and use. Plenty of options for backup routines and destinations. The recovery to same or dissimilar hardware is rock solid. They have a cloud backup offering that is competitively priced. Support is usually good once you engage with them. Most issues come down to something outside the product, i.e. not uninstalling a previously solution first. Once up and running it can be relied upon to produce consistently good backups.

Cons

Cumbersome to manage multiple backups for multiple servers. The central management tool they offer is still very much a work in progress. Expensive per-server compared a lot of alternative products. The cloud backup runs separately to the main application, giving you another thing to manage. Retention policies are easily broken just by modifying a backup job, which can lead to them being ignored and filling storage.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied December 2018

David - many thanks for your feedback - it is greatly appreciated. We're excited to share our new product ShadowXafe which addresses several of your product observations. Our team will be in touch with you soon. Never hesitate to reach out to me at connie.whiteside@storagecraft.com Regards, Connie Whiteside Sr Director Customer Success

June 2021

Mark from Sterling IT (Information Technology)

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Shadow protect is great for onsite and offsite backup

Only have had restore issues on SBS Servers All other devices have been great in a disaster recovery situation. The product is good and with the new cloud addition, monitoring is so much easier

Pros

Its very cost effective, been around for years and has a good market share, meaning the reliability of the product is tested well and any bugs are ironed out pretty quick.

Cons

Installation isnt a few clicks. Need third party hardware to complete a full DR solution Would be great to have an all in one solution with direct support

Reasons for Choosing ShadowProtect

Not all solutions are for all clients environments or budgets.

August 2018

Bob from VenCom

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

August 2018

* * * DISAPPOINTING SCAM * * *

2+ years before the built in shutdown bomb triggered.

Pros

Does what I want, when it works, usually 3 days of 6 days scheduled. It errors out without notice when the backup storage external drive doesn't instantly wake up and salute as soon as ShadowProtect pings once. But I can live with 3 full backups every week.....if the software had not self-destructed.

Cons

During the usual monthly safety check found the screen hobbled. The important buttons (backup, restore, etc.) have been disabled and all others produce a 404 error, webpage cannot be found. Several hours later I gave up on tech support and called SALES. A "tech support" person responded to my message forwarded by Sales. She tried the old "Microsoft Update Error" blame game. As a Visual Basic engineer of 24+ years I know what Windows OS errors produce. It does NOT shut down software in an orderly, selective manner. I told her THIS event was clearly deliberate. She said the software must be uninstalled and replaced by a newer version with their help of course. THREE TIMES I asked what this "newer version" would cost, which she ignored apparently thinking I would have no choice, that my system had blown up or something and I couldn't restore it without paying whatever the price. WRONG ! I have Raid with dual drives and tiers of protective software. Thus, as I can no longer trust my small business data to a software provider which tries to try to leverage existing customers to pay "error motivated ransom" to access the data if needed, I told her she was trying to scam a software pro... and bye bye.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied August 2018

Hi Bob - thanks for bringing this to our attention. I'm delighted we connected and are able to assist you! As noted, your support maintenance expired 5/31/2017. Going forward, please renew your maintenance so we can continue to provide great technical support. Don't hesitate to contact me at connie.whiteside@storagecraft.com. Regards, Connie

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Although a bit more expensive than similar backup software, ShadowProtect checks all the boxes.

The ability to virtual boot a server from a backup, to get a client back up and going while their true server gets replaced.

Pros

ShadowProtect is a great piece of software. The main draws of this backup utility, are that you can encrypt your backups (which helps comply with HIPAA and other various laws), and perform a virtual boot from the backup media if your server/PC goes down. It's pretty amazing to be able to right-click the file that the backup creates, select "virtualboot", and have a working server up and going in 10 minutes or so. Pretty much a Disaster Recovery dream

Cons

This software is expensive!! You can get the same functionality from something like Acronis, at a fraction of the cost. But I think ShadowProtect was one of the first that could virtualize. It's a great product, but there are other cheaper options.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied July 2018

Happy to be checking your boxes, thanks for the great feedback :-)

October 2018

User Profile Picture

Jordan from HandStands PROMO

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Provides Confidence and Security

StorageCraft's ShadowPortect has saved me many of times. It isn't unheard of for end users to accidentally delete that all important accounting file. With ShadowProtect, recovering missing or deleted files is a breeze, often taking less than 5 minutes to restore a backup of the file. With our backup policy we are able to restore files within minutes of when it was changed, misplaced, or deleted. ShadowProtect also takes care of consolidations and our off-site backups, making it a great disaster recovery tool should a meteor hit our office.

Pros

Fully Encrypted backups Automated integrity checks continuous backup from system to file supports a number of transport protocols including FTP and SMB Automated backup to VM for almost ready to boot full system backups

Cons

The full system backups take some work to get to booting state. Still far better than the alternative of starting from scratch. Runs on Windows, which has been the source of some frustration

February 2018

User Profile Picture

Nuno from CHETOCORPORATION

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Simple and effective in times of greatest need to recover data!

Data recovery erased by users quickly recovery and with little work donwtime. Very effective backup and error notification chart.

Pros

Speed in data recovery. GUI simple and clean, with only the necessary functionality. Wizard for creating backup jobs very intuitive. Copy management tool, ImageManager, free of charge.Checks whether backups are actually ok.Assembling backup images is extremely fast, allowing you to recover files in 15-minute periods without much effort or time spent.

Cons

Help in the ImageManager configuration was not the most effective, very time consuming response. Email notification tool does not always respond. With some errors and setup delay.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied July 2018

Thanks for the positive feedback Nuno, we're here to make life easier for you! Long may it continue :-)

January 2018

Chris from RDI-IT

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Good backup, image based with incremental rollups

Pros

Images based incremental rollups that perform disk to disk backups. This does make it faster than some backup technologies but you still need to make sure it is implemented securely and with offsite retention.

Cons

I have worked with clients that didn't segment the backups properly. Because of this, the technology is very susceptible to ransomware and other network threats. This isn't necessarily a con of the software, but make sure it is implemented securely.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied July 2018

Thanks for the prudent advice Chris and for the overall review. We really appreciate it :-)

February 2019

David from InfoStream, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Backups you can trust

With ShadowProtect we are able to backup servers throughout the day. We no longer need to schedule backup windows for each server to avoid flooding a NAS with several backups at the same time. This also means that nights can be devoted to maintenance without interrupting critical backups.

Pros

My favorite feature is backing up throughout the day without interfering with production

Cons

Recovering part of a drive (less than everything, but more than 1 folder) can be challenging, especially if you are trying to keep specific security settings in place.

February 2018

User Profile Picture

Arthur from Covenant Technology Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

We use this on over 100 servers for our customers and it has worked flawlessly

We use this for almost all of our disaster recovery

Pros

It is easy to restore a file It is easy to restore to a VM It is quick backup It has minimal performance impact on systems The backup sizes are pretty small

Cons

Having to install imagemanager on the system to manage the backups is a bit confusing Sometimes the backup chain can be corrupted and you have to engage support to keep from making a new base backup.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied July 2018

We couldn't have asked for a better review! Thanks so much Arthur, we really appreciate it :-)

May 2018

User Profile Picture

Ivan from GB Advisors, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

The absolute best in backup and recovery!

They really deliver on the promise of business continuity. We recovered really fast from the ransomware, we didn't use the HIR technology (we determined we didn't need it for the mail server) for setting up a temporary VM for keeping the server up, but it does what it promises.

Pros

No-nonsense recovery. Let me tell you a story: Some day we were hit by ransomware on our mail server and it was of course inaccessible. We had set up ShadowProtect to make backups weekly during the weekend over a NAS we have. The OS quickly became unbootable after sometime having the ransomware. So we loaded an USB stick with the recovery solution and it was really easy to use. The recovery solution also supports NAS storage so we followed the wizard (we didn't have to check out documentation, it was intuitive to use), selected the latest image, left it overnight reimaging disks (including GPT and MBR headers) and at the morning, we had our server fully working again!

Cons

It can be pricey, but definitely it's worth the money. It makes you think twice considering there are other tools with similar features and cheaper, but StorageCraft really delivers! So I'd buy again with eyes blindfolded.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied May 2018

Thank you very much for the terrific feedback, Montilla and for being a valued StorageCraft customer!

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

It just works

Pros

Easy to setup, clear but informative interface. Plenty of different ways to backup and types of media that data can be backed up to. Can backup physical machines and also virtual applicances.

Cons

Great for Standalone Physical devices, prefer another product for virtual applicances but that's purely on my preference. Pain having to install imagemanager to manage the backups would be better install 'All in One product'

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied December 2018

We thank you for your review - your feedback is greatly appreciated. Never hesitate to reach out me at connie.whiteside@storagecraft.com. Best Regards, Connie Whiteside Sr Director Customer Success

November 2018

Bjoern from Complete Connection Consulting LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Quality and Support has decreased

This used to be a great and reliable software but we've found ourselves spending more time to fix and troubleshoot issues than we should. If every day backups stop working somewhere, I loose confidence in the product. There's other players that offer the same or more features for half the cost and have much more responsive support and less issues.

Pros

It's a great product when it works. Reliable backups with flexible restore options.

Cons

The software has many bugs and unexpected issues that make the backups less reliable. We've been spending too much time troubleshooting issues, calling support and often not finding a real fix other than a temporary workaround. The support is really lacking. The response time is horrible. By the time most tickets are responded, you've lost 2-3 days of backups. Restoring full machines is also a painfully slow process unless you can do an instant restore to a VM that reads from the backup storage. Each machine has to be setup with ShadowProtect individually which takes a lot of time. The uninstall of the product fails in most cases and requires a painful procedure to rip out the rest.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied December 2018

Hi Bjoern - many thanks for your feedback and always great speaking with you. Never hesitate to reach out to me at connie.whiteside@storagecraft.com. Best Regards, Connie Whiteside Sr Director Customer Success

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

SMB friendly and scales well

Imaged based server backups. Pretty good stuff.

Pros

Fairly easy to use once you get the training out of the way. Somewhat intuitive though they did change the interface around at least once on me. Had to restore a few servers in my time that were affected by Ransomware or hardware failure and it always went (relative to the situation) smoothly.

Cons

Chains. Always the chains. "Check the chains, the chains are broken, corrupted chains over here." Had one server out of the bunch where we couldn't do a bare metal restore but were able to restore the files to a new OS. Probably could have solved it had we enough time but as it was a production server we favored speed over quality in that particular situation.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied August 2018

Hi there - Connie Whiteside Sr Director Customer Success here - thanks for your feedback! Never hesitate to reach out to me with questions or concerns at connie.whiteside@storagecraft.com Best Regards, Connie

December 2016

Charles from Sofutech

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

ShadowProtect Review

It is without a doubt the fastest backup software on the market. I've been using ShadowProtect to protect my clients and it has always been 100% reliable. Love the explore - restore feature. I've been trusting for over 5 years ShadowProtect to backup my client's data. Offers an intuitive user interface that is ideal for beginners.

Pros

the explore - restore feature!

Cons

The only thing I don't like is that it's very expensive. All competitors are much cheaper.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied July 2018

A bit slow to express our thanks here - it almost slipped through the cracks! Thanks so much for the 9/10 rating Charles, really appreciate it. I hope things are running just as well if not better with StorageCraft since posting this feedback :-)

June 2019

Greg from NGA Consulting, Inc.

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Easy image backups

Pros

Shadow Protect can image backup all partitions, set security on the image, perform full and incremental backups and is an excellent product overall.

Cons

Not having the ability to image a full disk, can only image partitions.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied June 2019

Thanks for the great feedback, Greg!

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

A very good choice if you want backup and build a DR plan

We used it to backup servers and implement DR on another site. ShadowProtect is really designed to do just that and it does it very easily and works every time. All recovery method (which are plenty) work also as they should. A very important feature is virtual-boot, from which you can instantly test an image by transforming it to a VM on any machine, eg a powerful laptop with VirtualBox. I'd like it to also be strong in endpoint/workstation area too, but its lack of plain folder/file backup is important. You just can't backup all systems' disks if what you really need is to backup a few locally stored documents.

Pros

SP is a very good choice if you intend to do backup and DR plan. Some people might bother only with backing up servers or files, but SP really excels in disaster recovery options! ImageManager is a really great tool that comes with the solution which manages and verifies your images. System backup and recovery options are plenty and all work, and this is really important.

Cons

While it's a pretty much do-it-all solution, it lacks of some features such as single file/folder backup. You only get to backup full images/systems. Also SPX is not really polished as a gui/console, needs some refactoring on the UX area.

February 2020

Carl from Cizzle Solutions

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Better Options on the Market

Used this as the primary back for our MSP for several years and had a few quirks. The markdown comes from the experience to restore complete backups during a real world incident. We had users on other products that were restored in less than a day. Those under this product took a couple days to receive the offsite backups and restore.

Pros

The interface is easy enough to understand and navigate. Excellent Training program Certification for Storagecraft

Cons

The setup of clients can be a bit clunky and there is some terminology unique to only storagecraft The offsite backup product is confirmed, but not actually verified for usability.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied February 2020

Thanks for the frank review, Carl. We very much appreciate the feedback and it was great that we were able to speak to you directly about the specifics of this situations and the "cons' you listed. We take feedback like yours very seriously, have discussed this internally and will use it to improve our processes moving forward. Thank you again!

July 2019

Eli from Wolf Consulting, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Good Products,Completed Backup with Little Performance Impact

Overall, I am happy with the product. It works well with very little need for ongoing troubleshooting and maintenance. I am secure in the knowledge that my customer's data is protected.

Pros

ShadowProtect is a is simply a good product. Backups complete without hassle and I very rarely notice a performance impact on the systems being backed up. Backups to disk or NAS are quick and reliable.

Cons

Configuring new backups are a bit complex. There was a definite learning curve when first beginning to set up backup jobs. It would be nice if this process was more intuitive.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Shadow Protect

When I needed to do major restores the software worked well

Pros

I like how easy the software is to use and manage

Cons

Adding machines and making the agent work on older machines is a little difficult

June 2019

Chris from Chapel Hill UMC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Great backup solution

Pros

Works great, I know I can rely on it to keep everything backed up.

Cons

I do find the learning curve to be a little steep compared to some others but it isn’t bad at all.

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Server was backup and running in 10 minutes

Pros

The power of the ImageManager server is amazing. If for whatever reason we have to take a server down or it crashes, we can have users using their applications or file shares and be none the wiser there is a critical issue.

Cons

Restoring a large server image from the local server can be a lengthy ordeal even over sfp+. Support is also not the best equipped to help you solve their most common issues encountered and often I would have to wait for my ticket to be elevated to the next tier.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied July 2018

Delighted to hear you got your server backup and running in ten minutes with StorageCraft - that's what we're all about. Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. Much appreciated :-)

August 2019

Matt from Ingram Computer Services

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Awesome Backup for Mission Critical Servers

Pros

It just works. Backups are fast. Easy to recover information. Use it to create an almost ready virtual machine in the event your server fails.

Cons

Imagemanager can get out of sync. You must replicate the data elsewhere.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied August 2019

Thank you for the great review, Matt

April 2018

User Profile Picture

Kevin from Computers Plus Of Union

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Great Backup for small business and enterprise server systems.

Pros

Tons of features Image management options Multiple back schemes make solutions for most storage requirements Very reliable Great reports Works with several different online backup providers

Cons

Its not cheap, but you get what you pay for. takes a little time to learn the ins and outs of it. Interface isn't the prettiest in the world.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied July 2018

Appreciate the positive feedback Kevin, thanks!

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Reliable backup software with some neat features

Allows us to rest easy when it comes to clients backups

Pros

The backups are reliable and the software provides a great deal of flexibility when it comes to backup targets. The restoration options are quite robust and quick to implement in a disaster.

Cons

Sometimes the infinite incremental chains fail to replicate properly and thus do not consolidate correctly on the local or remote source, requiring manual cleanup.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied July 2018

Thanks for the 4 and 5 star ratings, it's much appreciated :-)

August 2019

Mujde from Borusan

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Competitive product with lots of options and good support

Pros

Easy to use and deploy. Lots of backup schedules and target choices. Once it is up and operating, you can rely on continuously producing excellent backups. They have a competitively priced cloud backup offer. Usually, support is nice once you're involved with them.

Cons

It is a little bit costly than its alternatives

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied August 2019

Thank you very much for the great review, Mujde

May 2018

Shawn from Zaphyr Technologies

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

THE Best Server (and PC) Recovery Software out in the market!

Pros

This has been our Defacto product that we've installed at all our critical client sites. The Setup jobs and Recovery jobs are a breeze. The Backup Schedule is easy to work with.

Cons

Sometimes Bare Metal Recoveries have given us brief periods of heartburn but otherwise we have always reached out to their Tech Support and were ok.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied July 2018

Thanks for the fantastic feedback Sean, we really appreciate it :-)

July 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Good backup solution

Pros

The ability to easily restore copies from a specific time

Cons

Not a simple process to compact all the time based backups

August 2019

Fernando Henrique from Advocacia do Trabalhador

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Enforcement

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

A very realiable data protection and recovery software

Pros

The system is very efficient and delivers what it promises, customer service is very fast and effective.

Cons

The price of the service is not very affordable for small businesses.

Response from StorageCraft Technology

Replied August 2019

Thank you very much for the great review!