All Unitrends Backup Reviews

1-25 of 35 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Yuri

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

Unitrends its a enterprise feature backup solution with ease of use and quick implementation

We love the product because it give us less time to restore in case of the emergency and also the learning curve is quick. The reports are also very informative so we can know exactly what is happening with the backups and make sure we can restore in case we needed.

PROS

I like the fact that it integrates very easy with a vmware virtual enviroment. Before Unitrends we had other backup solution but it did not give us the flexibility that we needed. With Unitrends we can stablish different policies base on the criticallity of the application or important to the business. We have different enviroments and we don't have to use other products. The restore is fast and if you have a secondary site, you can have disaster recovery scenarios were within minutes you will have the service up and running.

CONS

Well, I think that there is not a but thing about the Unitrends software. Maybe when you are scaling the solution, you will have to keep growing with more appliance and I think it is not that good for a small company size

Reason for choosing Unitrends Backup

We chose it because it had all the features we needed and they where really helpful with the sizing and understanding of the environment we had.

Reasons for switching to Unitrends Backup

Because we where growing with our virtual enviroment and we needed a more feature rich solution for the size of VMs (over 1000) we have.

Mohammad

Computer Software, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Unitrends Backup is your safe solution to keep data safe.

One of the great ways to keep data safe in a place or a cloud location with no limitation.

PROS

People at customer care know exactly how to help you. They are very talented, they know what is this about, you feel they are smiling while they are performing support and they save you a lot of time.

CONS

The interface needs a little improvement in relation to colors, design of objects; therefore it can be more user friendly.

Reason for choosing Unitrends Backup

It does not have all the features that we are looking for. The price is a bit higher as well.

Reasons for switching to Unitrends Backup

We faced issues with customer support therefore we decided to switch.

Chris

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

Very slow and very poor compression

As we only have a relatively small setup I used the free edition available through Spiceworks (now withdrawn). I had a problem initially getting it configured to use a NAS as the backup destination but despite it being a free edition their support resolved the issue and I was then able to use it reasonably reliably for several years. Occasionally it would simply stop backing up for no apparent reason but never emailed to say the backup failed; it just stopped working altogether so sometimes it took several days before we realised the daily backup emails had stopped and we could then go in and reset the Unitrends VM which brought it back to life. The upgrades were generally easy to do, just click an upgrade link and wait until it finished, however the last time I did this it completely corrupted the VM making it unbootable. We then installed the latest version from scratch but again hit the prblem of it not backing up to the NAS. Unfortunately this time their support were very unhelpful refusing to give any support or advice unless I paid for a ridiculously expensive annual support contract. That caused us to look at competing products and we settled on Nakivo which is MUCH faster to do the full and incremental backups as well as having vastly superior compression so we can keep more backup history. I've not found anything that I used on Unitrends that's not easier and quicker to do with Nakivo and I paid less than the annual support cost for Unitrends! No brainer :-)

PROS

I used Unitrends for several years and found it reasonably reliable after an initial problem with configuration that was solved by their helpdesk. It was quite easy to restore whole VMs or individual files using the virtual mount option.

CONS

An overly complicated interface that was not at all intuitive. It does not like backing up to NAS systems. Very poor support.

Reasons for switching to Unitrends Backup

Better VM support options in Unitrends

Lee

Law Enforcement, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2020

A Good Solution

It is a solid offering at a much better price than some rather well-known alternatives. Service is superb.

PROS

I like the tie to my storage, and how easy it backs up and restores medium to small size vm's. Support has been great.

CONS

Oracle appears to be the red headed stepchild. No Oracle RAC support. It can struggle with large(7+TB) data sets, but then what doesn't?

Reason for choosing Unitrends Backup

Cost was our largest concern followed by features/capabilities.

Reasons for switching to Unitrends Backup

Cost was huge, but Commvault support had also fallen off of the map.

Greg

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Reliable, functional and easy

Needed to replace two old backup solutions, one that handled virtual, the other handled physical servers. Unitrends allowed us to consolidate our backups to one solution that has been supremely reliable

PROS

The reliability of the backups and how easy any issues have been to resolve. I also appreciate that the appliances are self-contained. No extra servers or overhead to worry about

CONS

Some issues do require contacting Unitrends support. Good part is that their support is the best I've experienced. Prompt responses and quick and easy resolutions

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

simple to configure and get started

Very good experience as the vendor staff go overboard to ensure that we are comfortable operating the product and are just a phone call away. They call you almost once every day to follow up with you if there are any issues.

PROS

The simplicity involved in configuring the product and getting started is the best part. Backing up and restoring can't be simpler than this and has been really easy for us with this product. If one is looking for a simple back up solution at a very affordable price, this product is the one to go for.

CONS

Although, the solution is simple per-se, it takes a little bit of time to get used to the desktop interfaces in the product - there is a little bit of learning as with other similar products in terms of getting used to the steps. Also, at times, machines with bigger CPU's took much longer to back up than normal.

User Profile

Kevin

Verified reviewer

Industrial Automation, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Very reliable for our Backups

Consistent with our servers getting backed up and very reliable.

PROS

We used to have a different system and it seemed like it worked only half the time but now with the Unitrends Backup System I don't have to worry about losing data at our locations across the globe.

CONS

Going from the old legacy GUI to the new one it is definitely taking time to get used to it. They renamed a lot of things. Wouldn't have been so bad if I originally started with the new interface.

Vendor Response

Thanks Kevin. Glad the new UI is working for you. We put LOTS of time into making it as easy to use as possible.

Replied March 2018

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Great software to backup your company data

Saved business from a ransomware and prevented a major disaster

PROS

Used with VmWare vcenter. Schedule, deploy, backup and protect systems every 15 minutes or however long you like.

CONS

Has to be used on licensed VMware. Cannot be used on free licensed. There have been some issues where unitrends cannot fix and have to call vmware to fix

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review. We're glad to hear Unitrends Backup was able to save your business from ransomware and prevent a major disaster. If you ever had a question or suggestions you could reach me at support@unitrends.com

Replied March 2018

User Profile

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2017

The best backup solution we have had.

A dependable, feature rich, cost effective backup solution.

PROS

Unitrends does an excellent job of backing up our servers. We are virtualized and only use Windows Server so I can't speak to it's function with Linux or other OS. Our school district is small and we currently have 8 virtual servers on the back of 3 physical servers. We have the Recovery-604. The deduplication works extremely well and we are able to retain backups for many months! We started using this new appliance after upgrading 4 months ago and we still are under 30% of its capacity. We have 4TB backup capacity and backup 650GB uncompressed data. It has a range of features and allows you to schedule backups and backup types. It also allows for restoration down to the file level. It backs up reliably and restores quickly. I have never had an issue with a restore in the last 4 years I have used Unitrends. The new device also allows for external archiving.

CONS

The price is a little high but the service and support is great so that more than makes up for it!!!

Blake

Publishing, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Don’t even know it’s there

The company and it service is their one. Responsive and effortless.

PROS

Unitrends does a great job managing and automating our processes. Users in the office don’t even know it is there, the disruption to daily work is zero.

CONS

The cost is high but the reward for such a great product that enables your staff to continue to work without disruption leaves for a healthy bottom line after.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2018

Best backup I ever managed

PROS

Easy and intuitive to use, fast to set up and great customer support. Easy to manage, all you need is to check your email and make sure everything is green.

CONS

Expensive solution that needs to be properly sized, otherwise you will see yourself running out of space and looking for an upgrade. Make sure you know your environment and your data growth rate.

Chris

Government Relations, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2017

Love this backup product

Had to recover VM's to a certain point. Full system restore. Saved alot of lost data.

PROS

If you need your data backed up and retained, this product is great! Fully backs up VM with a full and incremental. Need to restore a VM back to a date in time, its flawless. Their support is great at helping regarding issues. If you just need a file recovered from 30 days ago, this product will get it!

CONS

VM backups only work on Vcenter. If you have the free version of VMware... they may or may not be able to run. I do not back up windows environment but it looked a bit .... tricky.

Vendor Response

thx Chris. We're glad you're happy with Unitrends Enterprise Backup.

Replied September 2017

Eric

Utilities, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

We have used Unitrends for the past 3 years as our primary backup solution. It has been top notch.

The biggest benefit was a true all-in-one backup solution for our entire environment and the ability to archive backups as well.

PROS

Ease of administration is a huge advantage to using unitrends. It has ran with very few hiccups for the past three years and when there has been an issue their support was right on it to help us.

CONS

Would like to have a better option to restore exchange data besides kroll ontrack. Beyond that very little would be considered a con.

Vendor Response

Glad your happy Eric. I'll pass along your idea.

Replied February 2018

Tony

Construction, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2020

Review of Unitrends Backup Product

Overall, the product has been reliable. The one concern I have is, as we grow larger, will this product still fit our needs.

PROS

The product is easy to use and, backs up our vm environment as planned.

CONS

There are items lacking that would be nice to have. For instance, with vm's that are using the agent, there is not an easy way to restore it without creating a "bare metal" vm first.

Mayur

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Best data backup software

PROS

It help me in preventing data loss and precise data backup of my firm.

CONS

Till now I am not found any disadvantages.

Julia

Higher Education, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2020

Great easy to manage product

Great support when needed and easy to navigate through. Love that we can also backup to a cold copy on external hard drives.

PROS

We love that it's very user friendly and easy to navigate the interfaces.

CONS

The ability to have two appliances but one interface would be beneficial. Annoying to have to pop between the two we have.

Steven

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY