User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(21)

21

4 stars

(8)

8

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Unitrends Backup Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -20 of 30 results

January 2020

User Profile Picture

Yuri from Millicom (TIGO)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Unitrends its a enterprise feature backup solution with ease of use and quick implementation

We love the product because it give us less time to restore in case of the emergency and also the learning curve is quick. The reports are also very informative so we can know exactly what is happening with the backups and make sure we can restore in case we needed.

Pros

I like the fact that it integrates very easy with a vmware virtual enviroment. Before Unitrends we had other backup solution but it did not give us the flexibility that we needed. With Unitrends we can stablish different policies base on the criticallity of the application or important to the business. We have different enviroments and we don't have to use other products. The restore is fast and if you have a secondary site, you can have disaster recovery scenarios were within minutes you will have the service up and running.

Cons

Well, I think that there is not a but thing about the Unitrends software. Maybe when you are scaling the solution, you will have to keep growing with more appliance and I think it is not that good for a small company size

Reasons for Choosing Unitrends Backup

We chose it because it had all the features we needed and they where really helpful with the sizing and understanding of the environment we had.

Reasons for Switching to Unitrends Backup

Because we where growing with our virtual enviroment and we needed a more feature rich solution for the size of VMs (over 1000) we have.

January 2020

Lee from State of Montana Dept of Justice

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Law Enforcement

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2020

A Good Solution

It is a solid offering at a much better price than some rather well-known alternatives. Service is superb.

Pros

I like the tie to my storage, and how easy it backs up and restores medium to small size vm's. Support has been great.

Cons

Oracle appears to be the red headed stepchild. No Oracle RAC support. It can struggle with large(7+TB) data sets, but then what doesn't?

Reasons for Choosing Unitrends Backup

Cost was our largest concern followed by features/capabilities.

Reasons for Switching to Unitrends Backup

Cost was huge, but Commvault support had also fallen off of the map.

November 2021

Chris from Pay4Property Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2021

Very slow and very poor compression

As we only have a relatively small setup I used the free edition available through Spiceworks (now withdrawn). I had a problem initially getting it configured to use a NAS as the backup destination but despite it being a free edition their support resolved the issue and I was then able to use it reasonably reliably for several years. Occasionally it would simply stop backing up for no apparent reason but never emailed to say the backup failed; it just stopped working altogether so sometimes it took several days before we realised the daily backup emails had stopped and we could then go in and reset the Unitrends VM which brought it back to life. The upgrades were generally easy to do, just click an upgrade link and wait until it finished, however the last time I did this it completely corrupted the VM making it unbootable. We then installed the latest version from scratch but again hit the prblem of it not backing up to the NAS. Unfortunately this time their support were very unhelpful refusing to give any support or advice unless I paid for a ridiculously expensive annual support contract. That caused us to look at competing products and we settled on Nakivo which is MUCH faster to do the full and incremental backups as well as having vastly superior compression so we can keep more backup history. I've not found anything that I used on Unitrends that's not easier and quicker to do with Nakivo and I paid less than the annual support cost for Unitrends! No brainer :-)

Pros

I used Unitrends for several years and found it reasonably reliable after an initial problem with configuration that was solved by their helpdesk. It was quite easy to restore whole VMs or individual files using the virtual mount option.

Cons

An overly complicated interface that was not at all intuitive. It does not like backing up to NAS systems. Very poor support.

Reasons for Switching to Unitrends Backup

Better VM support options in Unitrends

January 2020

Greg from CDC

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Reliable, functional and easy

Needed to replace two old backup solutions, one that handled virtual, the other handled physical servers. Unitrends allowed us to consolidate our backups to one solution that has been supremely reliable

Pros

The reliability of the backups and how easy any issues have been to resolve. I also appreciate that the appliances are self-contained. No extra servers or overhead to worry about

Cons

Some issues do require contacting Unitrends support. Good part is that their support is the best I've experienced. Prompt responses and quick and easy resolutions

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

simple to configure and get started

Very good experience as the vendor staff go overboard to ensure that we are comfortable operating the product and are just a phone call away. They call you almost once every day to follow up with you if there are any issues.

Pros

The simplicity involved in configuring the product and getting started is the best part. Backing up and restoring can't be simpler than this and has been really easy for us with this product. If one is looking for a simple back up solution at a very affordable price, this product is the one to go for.

Cons

Although, the solution is simple per-se, it takes a little bit of time to get used to the desktop interfaces in the product - there is a little bit of learning as with other similar products in terms of getting used to the steps. Also, at times, machines with bigger CPU's took much longer to back up than normal.

September 2017

Chris from CTI

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Relations

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Love this backup product

Had to recover VM's to a certain point. Full system restore. Saved alot of lost data.

Pros

If you need your data backed up and retained, this product is great! Fully backs up VM with a full and incremental. Need to restore a VM back to a date in time, its flawless. Their support is great at helping regarding issues. If you just need a file recovered from 30 days ago, this product will get it!

Cons

VM backups only work on Vcenter. If you have the free version of VMware... they may or may not be able to run. I do not back up windows environment but it looked a bit .... tricky.

Response from Unitrends

Replied September 2017

thx Chris. We're glad you're happy with Unitrends Enterprise Backup.

March 2018

User Profile Picture

Kevin from Dorner Mfg Corp

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Very reliable for our Backups

Consistent with our servers getting backed up and very reliable.

Pros

We used to have a different system and it seemed like it worked only half the time but now with the Unitrends Backup System I don't have to worry about losing data at our locations across the globe.

Cons

Going from the old legacy GUI to the new one it is definitely taking time to get used to it. They renamed a lot of things. Wouldn't have been so bad if I originally started with the new interface.

Response from Unitrends

Replied March 2018

Thanks Kevin. Glad the new UI is working for you. We put LOTS of time into making it as easy to use as possible.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Great software to backup your company data

Saved business from a ransomware and prevented a major disaster

Pros

Used with VmWare vcenter. Schedule, deploy, backup and protect systems every 15 minutes or however long you like.

Cons

Has to be used on licensed VMware. Cannot be used on free licensed. There have been some issues where unitrends cannot fix and have to call vmware to fix

Response from Unitrends

Replied March 2018

Thank you for the review. We're glad to hear Unitrends Backup was able to save your business from ransomware and prevent a major disaster. If you ever had a question or suggestions you could reach me at support@unitrends.com

November 2017

User Profile Picture

Andrew from Glenns Ferry School District

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

The best backup solution we have had.

A dependable, feature rich, cost effective backup solution.

Pros

Unitrends does an excellent job of backing up our servers. We are virtualized and only use Windows Server so I can't speak to it's function with Linux or other OS. Our school district is small and we currently have 8 virtual servers on the back of 3 physical servers. We have the Recovery-604. The deduplication works extremely well and we are able to retain backups for many months! We started using this new appliance after upgrading 4 months ago and we still are under 30% of its capacity. We have 4TB backup capacity and backup 650GB uncompressed data. It has a range of features and allows you to schedule backups and backup types. It also allows for restoration down to the file level. It backs up reliably and restores quickly. I have never had an issue with a restore in the last 4 years I have used Unitrends. The new device also allows for external archiving.

Cons

The price is a little high but the service and support is great so that more than makes up for it!!!

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Best backup I ever managed

Pros

Easy and intuitive to use, fast to set up and great customer support. Easy to manage, all you need is to check your email and make sure everything is green.

Cons

Expensive solution that needs to be properly sized, otherwise you will see yourself running out of space and looking for an upgrade. Make sure you know your environment and your data growth rate.

February 2018

Eric from BECI

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

We have used Unitrends for the past 3 years as our primary backup solution. It has been top notch.

The biggest benefit was a true all-in-one backup solution for our entire environment and the ability to archive backups as well.

Pros

Ease of administration is a huge advantage to using unitrends. It has ran with very few hiccups for the past three years and when there has been an issue their support was right on it to help us.

Cons

Would like to have a better option to restore exchange data besides kroll ontrack. Beyond that very little would be considered a con.

Response from Unitrends

Replied February 2018

Glad your happy Eric. I'll pass along your idea.

January 2020

Alejandro from Tigo

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Great for virtual Environment

The implementation is very easy, the solution work out of the box without problem. To schedule a backup is very easy and you can do it with a couple of click, and also the restoration.

Pros

The interface is very easy to use you can find every option in a simple screen. You don't have to go to different places to set up a backup

Cons

Work great for our virtual machines, but if you plan to use it a central backup solution maybe you have to find other solution.

January 2020

Tony from McGough Construction

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Review of Unitrends Backup Product

Overall, the product has been reliable. The one concern I have is, as we grow larger, will this product still fit our needs.

Pros

The product is easy to use and, backs up our vm environment as planned.

Cons

There are items lacking that would be nice to have. For instance, with vm's that are using the agent, there is not an easy way to restore it without creating a "bare metal" vm first.

April 2020

Julia from Boston Architectural College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Great easy to manage product

Great support when needed and easy to navigate through. Love that we can also backup to a cold copy on external hard drives.

Pros

We love that it's very user friendly and easy to navigate the interfaces.

Cons

The ability to have two appliances but one interface would be beneficial. Annoying to have to pop between the two we have.

November 2018

Steven from First Nations Home Finance Corp

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Great Backup Product

We needed a solution for backing up our environment consisting of both physical and virtual assets. Unitrends has allowed us to manage both through a single management interface.

Pros

Flexibility of licensing models, ability to protect both physical and virtual systems.

Cons

I've had some intermittent issues with the agent software on physical machines.

May 2019

Shaun from Municipality of Clarington

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Great product, but...

So far this product has completed two thirds of our disaster recovery plan (backup appliance and cloud), at an amazing low cost.

Pros

Fantastic product for the money. What you get (appliance and cloud option) for the money is outstanding. We couldn't believe it when we were first reaching out to get quotes from various vendors. Including Cloud storage with unlimited upload and downloads - unheard of. The only time we would have to pay (from my understanding) is if we had to have the data mounted by them in the cloud in order to over come a catastrophe.

Cons

Using the product is a little cumbersome - especially for restores.

December 2019

Blake from Browntrout Publishing

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Don’t even know it’s there

The company and it service is their one. Responsive and effortless.

Pros

Unitrends does a great job managing and automating our processes. Users in the office don’t even know it is there, the disruption to daily work is zero.

Cons

The cost is high but the reward for such a great product that enables your staff to continue to work without disruption leaves for a healthy bottom line after.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Great BAckup Solution

My company was in need of a new backup solution between our two sites and Unitrends was an easy transition to get everything backed up.

Pros

Managing my backups is super easy. From backing up new assets to doing a recovery it is very simple.

Cons

Some servers took a bit of configuring to get setup but the support at Unitrends was a great help to get it done right.

November 2018

Rik from Belhaven University

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Unitrends Enterprise Backup

Backup and archiving of data and machines.

Pros

Consistent performance and very responsive customer support.

Cons

The easy interface went away when they went to v10.0.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Modern, Easy to Use Tools with Knowledgeable Vendor

Pros

We moved from an on-premise tape-based backup service to Unitrends cloud-based service and it has been awesome.

Cons

It took quite a while to get all of the data backed up from our datacenter to their cloud. We looked at having them deliver a device to ship to them, but it was priced high.

March 2018

User Profile Picture

Marc from NetSource One

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

UEB is great backup solution

Pros

This is the great Unitrends backup solution, but it's just the software piece, which is a good thing. You can bring your own hardware and deploy it as a virtual machine in your datacenter. It can backup practically anything and has good support.

Cons

The only bad part really is the cost. Priced out of reach for a lot of the SMB market. Other than that it is a very good product.

Response from Unitrends

Replied March 2018

HI Marc. Glad you're happy working with UEB. We have a new product for SMBs called VM Backup Essentials (vBE) that would be a great fit for small businesses.

August 2019

Lisa from Frantz, McConnell & Seymour, LLP

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Unitrends Enterprise Backup - A good solution

Pros

The reliability of backups once configured.

Cons

Can be challenging to troubleshoot problems when backups fail.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Unitrends Backup Appliance 640

Pros

I use the product in two locations and what I like the most is that it has very good reporting on what backups have been completed and the state of the backup. In addition, I love the seamless ability it gives to backup virtual machines. Moreover other features I love the most is the replica of VMs to be on standby if the primary VM target is offline or not available.

Cons

The least I like about the product is the lack of visibility as to when disk space is low. It should have an alert sent by email of a report of some kind as to the disk storage use.

Reasons for Switching to Unitrends Backup

Unitrends provide more value for money

January 2017

David from Jet-Hot

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2017

Descent backup software, nothing exceptional

I have been using Unitrends for about a year now. It does what it is supposed and handles everything I need it to but it doesn't really shine at anything. The interface is not very intuitive.

Pros

All necessary features. Cost effective

Cons

Interface and tools are not intuitive.

September 2018

Kelly from Northern Metal Products

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Unitrends Backup

Pros

Seamless background backup to device and to cloud. Excellent support.

Cons

Sometimes difficult to set up jobs without assistance.

February 2018

User Profile Picture

Vince from Collection Technology, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Software interface is simple to read and is very responsive.

Pros

The interface on the software looks like it was well thought out. The software integrates with vsphere easily and backups/restores are easy to manage.

Cons

The main issue I can think of for the software is that the errors are not always informative. You have to contact support because the errors are sometimes ambiguous

March 2020

Richard from Torrington Public Schools

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Not easy to naviagate

Support has been really good. But they suggested and did a firmware and software upgrade. I had to remove the client from all my servers and reinstall it. Then the backups didn't run for several days. Have to work with support to get everything working again correctly.

Pros

It is nice that it is a stand alone unit.

Cons

Doesn't seem to be simple to naviagate around the GUI. Once you use it a little more you get use to it.

Reasons for Choosing Unitrends Backup

The product was already in place when I took over the project.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Virtual version of Unitrends

I have used this with several customers. Support is good and it is a solid product. As I mentioned above the cost and ongoing maintenance is somewhat expensive for a small business.

Pros

I like that this version of Unitrends is virtual and you can add and expand storage for backups as needed.

Cons

It is still a somewhat expensive option in the market compared to other backup technologies

March 2020

Justin from Soreo

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

The one stop shop for backups

Ultimately, I've been very happy. The pricing is right and the backups have been effective

Pros

Integration into VMware VCenter was a breeze. Backing up incremental changes on full VMs has simplified my approach to backups.

Cons

Setup of devices, licensing, and some general controls are a bit convoluted. The interfaces could use a fresh set of eyes in future development.

Reasons for Choosing Unitrends Backup

Better community response when doing some research.

Reasons for Switching to Unitrends Backup

Their future pricing was over priced and I was unhappy with a lot of issues with older software they termed End of Life, simply to push their new over priced product

February 2018

User Profile Picture

Matt from The Cleaning Authority

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Best enterprise backup solution I've ever used.

Pros

The best thing about Unitrends is its ease of use and robust de-dup method of backing up all assets.

Cons

Only thing that comes to mind is the appliances are a bit pricey. By no means are they unaffordable, but they come in higher on the price scale of solutions.