What are ArcGIS users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using ArcGIS software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.57

396 Reviews

5
252
4
124
3
15
2
2
1
3
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"The features and functionality of this software is amazing, there are so many things that you can input to get the best results possible."
  • icon"The ease with which a beginner can navigate the software. A lot of useful features with appropriate detail."
  • icon"The vast variety of tools and features to use are pretty useful. Also, the ability to manually control and manage the services is very important to my work."
  • icon"Ll admit, what little I have messed around with the program beyond using it in a GPS Unit, I wish it was a little more intuitive."
  • icon"It is very difficult to integrate with outside files, such as CSVs, and they often need a lot of meticulous cleaning up to get the software to read the data."
  • icon"Setups completed by other employees can be difficult to troubleshoot because of these assumptions in the documentation."

Jump to:

Browse all ArcGIS Reviews

  • Have you used ArcGIS and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 396 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 396 reviews

User Profile

Bintang

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

The Function and Facilty Tools of Arcgis

These software has allowed me to undestand the concept of geostatistical analysist. And also these software has allowed me to achieve my degree in bachelor of mining engineering.Such help like layouting map, analysis out put contour and another geospatial analysis.

Pros

Tool geostatistical, geospatial analysis

Cons

There in few of module to learning tools

Reasons for choosing ArcGIS

Cause Arcgis, could doing many things by this program only.

Brian

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

Utility mapping on both the desktop and mobile devices

Our mobile workforce has become significantly more efficient due to the ArcGIS platform and the systems that we have built upon its frameworks. ArcGIS has become a core piece of our business and our daily operations, and we continue to increase its use and integration with other systems.

Pros

ArcGIS continues to evolve as a product as our needs grow as a customer. We are moving away from desktop-based GIS, with nearly all employees now using mobile devices as their primary tool to access our utility mapping data. ArcGIS Online has made this available, and we continue to grow our mobile offerings, though the AGOL platform still allows us numerous areas for us to continue to explore and utilize to improve our field workflows. Numerous samples, test applications, etc. are provided by ESRI to get you started, and since they're the industry leader, there are tons of real-world examples of the software in use that are available to the public.

Cons

ArcGIS is an enormously complex software platform, with tons of automation and analysis tools available. However online documentation can be difficult to find, and is frequently written in ways that require an in-depth understanding of the systems. Prerequisite setup steps aren't always included in the documentation, instead it's often written with some assumptions in mind. Setups completed by other employees can be difficult to troubleshoot because of these assumptions in the documentation. The robustness of the platform can also lead to additional steps for end users, as they have to work through options that aren't relevent to them, but cannot be hidden from their view. One such example is just the login screen to the AGOL mobile apps causes our users frequent struggles as they can't remember the sequence of steps to get to the organization login. There should be increased administrator options available to simplify/restrict options available to the end user.

Reasons for switching to ArcGIS

ArcGIS was the industry leader in GIS, and while AutoCAD released their AutoCAD Map platform to try to compete, we decided switch to the platform that was in use by our peers across the industry.

Stephen

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Spatial Statistics made easy

Overall, it is a perfect tool for spatial analysis. I used it in all my papers since my research direction involves spatial analysis.

Pros

Once you get the hang of it, you can do virtually everything a mapper can do. The tools are not complicated and can be used with little supervision. The module builder is my favorite as it has saved me tons of hours. All my repetitive tasks were programmed with the module builder. This afforded me the opportunity to multitask.

Cons

The only cons is that when parcels are too small, the software is unable to calculate the area and other statistics.

User Profile

Nathan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

I use ArcMap daily, but almost always as a part of my overall editing flow.

It makes the start of very pretty maps, sometimes. I almost always generate base layers here, and then export them into illustrator/photoshop to do actual final renders.

Pros

The styling guides are better than any other options out there - once you can learn to navigate the byzantine menus. I've used QGIS, Globalmapper, AutoCad, and Microstation, and maps just look better in ArcMap than in any others -it's made for creating display mapping. I know that there are other programmatic things you can do, but for my workflow, I use it almost exclusively for building maps for display.

Cons

The menus are silly that you have to go that far down a rabbit hole, processing is a nightmare (especially with messy geometry), and I used to (until I quit trying altogether) find myself trying a processing task in ArcMap, watching it fail, and then trying it again in GlobalMapper/QGIS and it would do fine. Processing is a very weak point in ArcMap, at least from my perspective.

User Profile

DIAF

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

un logiciel professionnel, vous permet de stocker, analyser et représenter vos données parfaitement

très satisfaite de mon utilisation, et je recommande à 100 % ce logiciel à le maîtriser

Pros

J'ai fait une formation en 2012 pour apprendre les SIG, et j'ai commencé par Mapinfo, après ARC GIS avec les différents extension notamment, ARCMAP, ARC CATALOGUE. j'ai étudie l'aménagement du territoire et la cartographie, donc les logiciels de cartographie sont indispensable pour mes études et mes recherches en doctorat. Depuis plusieurs années, j'utilise ARC GIS pour faire mes cartes topographiques et je le recommande à 100% ce logiciel, il vous permet de collecter, stocker, archiver, analyser et afficher vos données sous forme des cartes ou plan très professionnelle Je travaille comme enseignante, et j'enseigne les SIG et ses applications dans le traitement des données, et je conseille toujours les étudiants à approfondir leurs utilisation et connaissances dans les SIG en particulier ARC GIS. le logiciel est très utilisé par les géographes, les bureaux d'études et les architectes à grande échelle.

Cons

Je ne peux pas dire quelque chose de faible dans ce logiciel, parce que j'étais jamais déçus de mon utilisation depuis plusieurs années. je le considère comme un POWER logiciel

Reasons for switching to ArcGIS

faire des cartes topographiques

timothy

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

Excellent mapping software for the patient.

After about 100 hours of being hopelessly lost in the menus, import/export functions, and display properties, an average user will probably be able to impress their colleagues with a tidy and professional display of 2-d or 3-d data in a relevant map background, which very few other freeware programs are capable of creating.

Pros

With enough time and interest, the features available for ArcGIS and ArcGIS Pro are brilliant and all-encompassing. Using raw map datums and a collection of information allows users to expertly display any sort of 2-d grid on any map projection with tons of custom options for audience display.

Cons

The learning curve is very steep and the complexity of the software is overwhelming to new users. The number of navigable menus and sub-menus in the home screen of the project can be exhausting to figure out without doing everything incorrectly the first time. This is NOT the Microsoft Powerpoint of data display.

Reasons for choosing ArcGIS

Even though the QGIS was free compared to the very expensive ArcGIS product, the features that are constantly being updated and implemented for ArcGIS are second-to-none compared to freeware.

Dave

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

ArcGIS Suite - Extremely Powerful

Our field crews and engineering staff couldn't function without it. Out utilities assets with all of their attributes are on our digital maps. On it we document structures attributes, condition over time, maintenance schedules, and even hyperlink photo and video inspections to each asset. Invaluable information no further away than a click of a button, no matter where in our world that you are!

Pros

Extremely powerful software with a tool for just about anything you could think of to do with geographic data. "Smart Maps". Objects given geographic location and attributes of any kind that you want running in the background.

Cons

ELA agreement is extremely reasonable but for a private individual it could be cost prohibitive. I believe they are working on a different license model for home users but would have to check on it.

Reasons for choosing ArcGIS

Out support structure was better versed in ArcGIS and a brief overview ArcGIS seemed more intuitive (faster learning curve).

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Best GIS Software Available

ArcGIS has allowed us to display map data in a visually appealing way and provide extensive analysis of data on a large scale in an easy to understand way. We no longer have to use QGis.

Pros

ArcGIS is the best gis software available for planners. I've used other software like QGis and no product is as easy to use, comprehensive and provides the level of detail necessary for grant applications and presentations.

Cons

I would love for arcmap to stay functional and everything not be switched to ArcGIS pro in the future.

Reasons for switching to ArcGIS

The product was hit as easy to use it comprehensive for analysis purposes.

Oluwasegun

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

ArcGIS, a powerful GIS software

I have been using ArcGIS for the bast 8years. My overall experience has been great.

Pros

I like the graphical user interface. the GUI, you cab easily pick and drop a tool. Also the search option make it more interesting that one can save a lot of time instead of looking for a particular tool, you can now easily search with the search button.

Cons

ArcGIS is great and compatible with another of software integrations. I really can't point out a specific thing I do not like about ArcGIS

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Use friendly GIS software

Tutorials and information is available for new users for their onboarding. Allows creation of powerful maps and enable deep analysis of spatial data.

Pros

Basic yet evolving software that allows viewing, editing and analyzing GIS data. Geographical interface is user friendly and best features of the software include tools, mapping and geodatabase.

Cons

Huge learning curve to understand granularities of working on a GIS platform.

Joseph

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Leader of the Pack

I've regularly used ArcGIS since it was ArcView 3.1, for about 20 years I guess.

Pros

ArcGIS leads the pack with functional tools like ArcMap, one of its most popular in spatial analysis. The tool-pack within ArcMAP allows users to convert layers to new formats, analyze data using a several geoprocessing tools, merge layers together and truly begin understanding landscape patterns. It has also been used to help forecast or predict after filtering layers or attributes within a layer to learn a unique set of characteristics that predict occurrence of a species or phenomenon, such as bank erosion. With the software, the user can subscribe to ESRI news to learn more about the broad applications of the product. And because it is so widely known, users can easily find tutorials and classes to learn the product. Recently I sought help from customer support and I will say, they are relentless at helping to diagnose the problem.

Cons

There are a lot of competitors for ArcGIS, though none seem to do everything that ArcGIS does. Rather than spending time waiting for the software to open, recognize our network license, and load the base maps, I can usually find an answer to my question using Google Earth or something similar. The high level of functionality comes at a cost. In addition to the memory hungry aspects of ESRI, the user interface can be a little intimidating. There are many tools and ways to layout the interface. Sometimes it can be confusing to know where the tools are and how to access them. While the interface is customizable in some ways, the geoprocessing tools cannot be added to the interface (or I haven't figured out how) and toolbars need to be loaded each time. For example, when I'm creating a shape file, I have to continuously ask the software to open the window for creating features. I'm sure this is great for some people who don't like machine learning or having their computer assume too much of their needs. But for me, I love that and would really like to see some of these customizable elements become more user friendly. Not only would that make things a bit more efficient on my end, but it might also make the experience less daunting or confusing.

venkatasivaram

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

GIS and what are the benefits of ARCGIS-ESRI suite of Tools

Amazing Worked for companies in India, USA, then back for Government clients in India, Oman, Dubai, europe and likewise. All the best with your search for a good GIS software.

Pros

ESRI, Thank you since 1980s, ESRI has been a terrific performer, in Geospatial, Geotechnical, Geology, Government, Utilities, Transportation and Logistics, IT enablement. 1. ESRI is a high-end solutions and capabilities provider, their software can handle all kinds of requirements in LBS, Spatial Statistics, Data mining with GIS, Market Research with GIS, Geodatabases and likewise. 2. Pros in Information Technology world are primarily ArcPy, GIS consulting solutions for IT companies, main competitors Hexgon, General electric and others like IDRSI, ERDAS, SICAD, Transcad, Open gis platforms like Quantum GIS are weak and not customer specific. 3. Return on Investment, ROI from ArcGIS, ArcMap, ArcCatalog, ArcToolbox, ArcLogistics and solutions is good. Customization is excellent, their data models and work is exemplary in GIS world. 4. Licensing for Govt, Utilities, others is pricy as one would expect, but what can one do, customer support is good. Licensing is a major con. 5. GIS from ESRI-America is the dream for the Geographers, Engineers and other geospatial professionals to work with. ESRI internships all around the world. Also, it is used by Planners, Urban etc.

Cons

Major Con: 1. ESRI is offering startups a free licensing for using it for GIS startups for one year. not enough. 2. Major con is license and training cost for young graduates around the world.

User Profile

Francis Carolina

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

The most complete and efficient tool for making maps, vector layers or raster

ArcGIS is a system with which people can work with on-line maps and related geographic information. With ArcGIS you can create many different types of maps. The most interesting of all are the interactive intelligent maps that show, integrate and synthesize complete layers of geographic and descriptive information of diverse origins. These ArcGIS maps provide an interactive window through which you can view, explore and analyze this information.

Pros

What I like most about this software is the ease with which you can create maps or design final maps better known as layout. Unlike other similar software, Arcgis simplifies the process, in addition to providing aestheticity and harmony in the scale of colors and labeling of toponyms. In addition, the work with ArcGIS encourages the use of geographic databases (geodatabases) in the management of our data. With the way to create projects in arcgis, not only allows us to store the styles and properties applied to the layer in the project, but creates a geodatabase associated with it in which we can physically include the layers that we use as Feature Class. Although we can also add a previous geodatabase to the project, as it used to be done a long time ago.

Cons

Arcgis licenses are expensive. It was not always possible to count on the availability of ESRI products for acrgis. In addition, it is not very versatile in the consumption of data, that is, a different protocol must be applied to open each file according to its type. Likewise, with the Open Geospatial Consortium (OGC) services connection, it is necessary to download and install the Data Interoperability extension, unlike other softwares that this process refers to one clicks.

User Profile

Israel Jose

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

ArcGIS is a leading tool for managing, analyzing, creating and integrating geological/spatial data

Pros

Built using standards such as COM, XML, and SQL, ArcGIS can be easily integrated with the structure of the information system and data of any organization or individual. Given that GIS extends to new applications and new user communities, ArcGIS also solves the challenges of offering and receiving data and related GIS services to users around the world. The versatility and easy to use allows ArcGIS to be used in a variety of areas: from land cadastre, geodesy, cartography, geography, and telecommunications, to geology, ecology, management of water resources and subsoil, oil and gas industry, and even remote sensing. Its technology of Geodatabase allows you to effectively store heterogeneous data and easily use them in complex projects and systems. In the geodatabase, users can define rules and relationships within the repository that define the behavior of spatially interconnected geographic (or geological) objects and object classes and ensure data integrity. With the help of ArcGIS it is possible to prepare qualitative cartographic products with all necessary elements of marginal design. Also, you can quickly create a realistic virtual 3D scene based on spatial data, using digital terrain models. With a lot of possibilities for processing of both raster and vector data, and its strong functions for map algebra, editing, and spatial analysis, together with the latest data models and control make the ArcGIS family of software products ones of the leaders among GIS software.

Cons

I have been using ArcGIS for almost 10 years and I can testify that this software is difficult to study, a very complex program for a simple user, the program is only for those who take the professional level, so, to exploit the full potential of ArcGIS (for example processing of multispectral and hyperspectral images, geostatistical studies and so on) you need to dedicate time, endless hours of study. Other con that I see, is the high price taking into account the purchase of any additional modules, it is a very expensive program, but, once and again, the potential is almost limitless once you get to dominate all its functionalities.

User Profile

Howard

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

ArcGIS, the most advanced GIS tool so far

With ArcGIS I have worked in multiple academic and work exercises, calculating risk indices for loads in the hydrographic basins, housing in inadequate areas, public services coverage in small population centers. I have built models to perform analyzes in several areas simultaneously, saving money and time. we have saved on editing and publication of thematic maps. we built more than 100 geodatabase which has guaranteed the maintenance of consolidated databases, which we have shared with other planner users of the worked areas. In particular it is the best vector software with which I have worked

Pros

ArcGis has developed multiple tools, adapted to the requirements of the users, ranging from the capture of data by means of GPS, remote sensors to a simple load by address of the property, the ESRI developments go from the PC to the data management online through ArcGIS online. The tools for calculating variables, buffer, interconnection, management of geographic projections, selection by attribute, by spatial location, inside or outside the defined polygon, pattern analysis, data conversion with other programs are CAD or GIS. Stresses the fact that the tools were designed with the collaboration of many scientists in the area of geo-statistics such as L. Anselin, P. Zandbergen, D Mcleod, among others. ArcGIS presents the innovation of managing a compilation of data in Geodatabase, which facilitates the management of files, regardless of the raster or vector format, without corruption or loss of components that can alter the performance of the final display of .mxd files ArcGIS online empowers researchers to share data through the ESRI data server, sharing cartographic databases that, in some places in the world where the culture of geographic data is deficient, are therefore highly needed. The design of maps is ArcGIs is very simple with the tools of workflow by means of modelBuilder and the handling of the Layout and the ways of making thematic maps and 3D representations is amazing.

Cons

ArcGIS only works on the Windows system, it is a proprietary software in which you must cancel the license according to the requirements that the project requires, the company or institution where you work, it can be expensive or very expensive if you choose to have all the software extensions . It has a free trial version for 30 days. You need a high performance team for the management of powerful databases, the manipulation of 3D data or satellite images processed in this environment. Its strength is the handling of vector data, the modules for the plot data do not present a wide development

User Profile

Cesar A

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

This GIS has not comparison

Pros

We are in front of the best GIS in the market ARCgis do anything you want to do in special analysis. With this software you can build maps, editaed, analyze raster data, make models, 3d models, terrain models, simulations, Geodesign, and so many other things. This software has incorporated the biggest data of datum and coordinates system of the world, you can virtually use ARCgis in any part of the world, and with great precision. Since the version 9.3 ESRI has incorporated the Imagery tool, that it is a layer that with internet connection allows you to have satellite images of any location of the world, it is very useful to analyze change in the enviroment and urbanization changes. ARCgis has everything, virtually everything that a people who work with maps needs, does not have comparison.

Cons

The main limitation of ARCgis it is the cost, it is a very expensive software that a little company or businees cannot afford. This a very useful tool but the cost does not allows to some people uses their potential for the spatial analysis. In some countries they offer educational licenses who help the students to know the software and work with some tools, this can be palliative for all that people who wants to work with the software but cannot afford.

Rajah

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

Great Tool for enhance the productivity of Spatial planning

In the subject of GIS and spatial planning ArcGIS has an strong influence. User friendly platform makes it easier to work and easy to understand the concepts behind the tools

Pros

I have been working with Esri products such as ArcGIS desktop, Server and portal for more than 4 years. Products have wide range of functionalities and have very supportive backends. Help manuals and online esri forums provide detail information on each tool. ArcGIS desktop has the wide range of capabilities and tools which can help to solve almost every spatial problems. Specially model builder and the integrity of python provides the facility to automate the multiple tasks. There are opportunities to customize the tools as we preferred which let us to built our own tool with the help of python. GUI of ArcGIS provides user friendly working platform, specially ArcGIS catalog provide easy way to access the wide range of spatial data with the help of interperobility extension. Server for ArcGIS and portal provides total solutions for sharing the geographical data via effective user and device friendly platforms.

Cons

It would cost reasonable amount to get all features and full benefits from ArcGIS products. Even it has perpetual licecnse, we have to pay for the upgrades.

Gabrielle

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

My go to for anything spatial

It’s been great. I once compared the functionality of ArcGIS to QGIS in a certain talks I had - ArcGIS produced a more comprehensive outcome. I always choose ArcGIS in my research.

Pros

ArcGIS is one of the most frequently used softwares for GIS. Given this, it means that most people trained in GIS are able to use the software but communicate about its functions too. Arc has created a network of GIS users which in some regard, has formed its own language. I like this because when speaking to other users, they understand me and my actions on the software. I like the endless capabilities that Arc offers. Using the software is highly beneificial to people like myself who are involved in natural science research. It’s a tool that never fails to produce some sort of value - even if it is only a map. I appreciate the product development and like that it can utilize multiple spatial datasets in a user friendly framework.

Cons

Learning how to use ArcGIS definitely takes its time. It’s endless capabilities make it somewhat complex and so the user has to know exactly what they are looking to do in Arc in order to achieve it. I know too many people who have no idea where to start with Arc it are apprehensive to use it because of its technicality. I guess this is not a bad thing should one be trained in the software, but it’s defintwly not user friendly to the layman. Other esri products are more suited and easier for laymen - such esri online products. In my experience, I have had ArcMap freeze or shut down numerous times. These bugs seem to still get through and it is the worst feeling when one loses their progress on a project. I also find the tools somewhat tedious at times and it can be frustrating to have to search the help or esri online panels for solutions. However, in most cases, these problems get solved because their is readily available information on each tool.

User Profile

Exson

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Tool for the planning, execution, and monitoring of actions with criteria on the territory.

Is a program that has been very useful for the administration and planning of geographical and spatial problems in the process of georeferencing the projects financed in the 8 years of development of the organization. georeferencing the territory of each project helps us make decisions adjusted to the dynamics of the territory. each of the actions that the organization applies uses arcgis to approach the territory.

Pros

I like it because it helps me to develop the planning activities of the approach of the territory I require for the fulfillment of my work functions. ArcGIS helps me to visualize, manage, edit, calculate, analyze entities and georeferenced attributes of the financed projects of a productive nature in my work. Another aspect that I like about ArcGis is the use of the ArcCatalog, which allows to search and make effective operations, facilitating the link with Servers of databases, GIS Servers, database, WMS servers, and Internet and intranet connection. I find it easy to use, it has an excellent interface and multiple geoprocessing tools. I like the presentation of the cartography.

Cons

I do not like it to be a software with high costs. On the other hand, it requires a computer with a very high installed capacity to execute the tools in an easy way. In the area of authematic cartography, I believe that the options to work with greater ease should be strengthened with graphics to represent the variables of the maps. I am worried that the program with the updates demands greater requirements of the computer where it is installed, so that all the tools work optimally, which can generate incomplimiento of the work delay before the delay of the run of the information. the fact that it requires constant investments to enhance computers requires that the company must continually invest resources, being in some cases impossible, as it can harm the performance of the organization.

Alka

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Impactful for geospatial operations and cartography

Overall experience has been great- as I have been using this software for more than 2 years now. It is one of the leading software in the GIS industry as of today and is surely going to reach heights with its new feature releases every year. Comes really handy for both coders and non- coders as it has its own built in python modules and packages which can be used inside ( through built in tools/ python window) or outside the app using independent python IDEs.

Pros

Wide variety of tools available for spatial analysis and mapping - with minimum fuss as help is available for each tool. They also have a variety of license options available which can be customized based on your needs.

Cons

Customer service is only available if you have maintenance license (with ArcGIS desktop)- that needs to be renewed each year. It makes the overall cost of the software high, making it difficult for small to medium businesses to have this at their disposal.

Reasons for choosing ArcGIS

It has good support in terms of usage of tools (A vast help topic exists for each license level and each tool it offers)- which was a big time savior when you need to pick tools based on your specific analysis requirements.

Jacob

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Online Map User

ArcGIS is really the only product that competes well in the outdoor map market for large amounts of data. There are some improvements we would like to see, but for a company that large, this might be unreasonable. You kind of get what you get, since they are the only show in town.

Pros

ESRI is the big dog when it comes to digital maps. We use these a lot to map our facilities and specifically our underground utilities. This is the best product on the market. The only competitor might be AutoDesk, but even that doesn't compete. It is a very functional product and can contain all the information we need.

Cons

Sometimes when you load some of the basemap images that software can really slow down. Also the zoom function for the online database interaction can be a little glitchy at times. A lot of these can be fixed by changing some of the detail settings, but that can take some digging to find. The company is so big, that if you have a question; you are not likely to get ahold of anyone. You are better off to look up videos on youtube or try posting questions on forums.

Ricardo

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Environmental Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

Esri's Arc Products are Essential Tools for Spatial Analysis

I have formal training in Geography and advanced GIS uses, so ArcGIS has been an essential tool for spatial analysis and spatial database creation.

Pros

I appreciate the flexibility and thoughtfulness of the software's design. There is almost always more than one way to accomplish a task in Arc products and suggestions for improvement are often met with modifications to the products to maintain their usefulness. The product is pretty much self-contained but there are patches and programs to customize the software. It also allows users to program routines to facilitate repetitive work. It also uses Python and Visual Basic, which allow users to write their own routines.

Cons

The price of this software can be prohibitive, particularly if users are looking for a full suite of services. Many of the functions are not intuitive and require a long ramp up time. The program crashes more than others on my computer.

Reasons for choosing ArcGIS

Esri provides great service, overall, and lots of ready to use background maps and files.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

ArcGIS, Industry Leader GIS Software

I have used ArcGIS most of my life, from my study time at university to my work in the academic sector. One can't run away from the fact ArcGIS offers the most complete and advanced tools that one can ever find in any GIS software and for that, no other software can compete with it.

Pros

ArcGIS is by far the industry leader when it comes to the world of GIS and offers an extensive array of functionalities and tools that no other GIS software can offer.

Cons

It is proprietary and quite costly to get a licence. It is least likely to be used by small to medium companies. Only government institutions and universities that can afford the huge licencing costs.

Reasons for choosing ArcGIS

It is the most complete and mature GIS software compared to others currently on the market. Also, the support for ArcGIS which comes with a purchase of licence gives it the edge compared to open source software with limited support options.

Reasons for switching to ArcGIS

ArcGIS was the software used by the company that I worked with, therefore I had no choice but to switch.

Jayaprakash

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

One-spot software platform for all the geo spatial dolutions

As a enterprise user of the ArcGIS for more than 6 years, i would recommend this product for enterprise level professional geo-spatial mapping and analysis tasks

Pros

Both Desktop and browser based ARCGIS software platform enable GIS users to create, edit, visualize, analyse and share their spatial contents effectively. Especially , recent versions of ArcGIS desktop versions (10.5 and above) consist of several spatial and statistical analysis tools which can simplyfy the spatial mapping and analysis in an easy manner. ArcGIS online is a web based solution for spatial mapping which contain almost all the features available in the desktop versions and it is great option for performing the tasks without installing any sofware.

Cons

Great features of the ArcGIS comes with considerable amount of cost. Cost is the only drawback in using this software

Reasons for choosing ArcGIS

This is the leading and stable geo spatial software available in the market with numerous supporting platforms and forums

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

Can't Live Without It

Pros

Unparalled mapping features. Without a doubt if someone needs to create a map, I'll suggest ESRI. The platform allows analysis of data, different data projections, and gives the user a lot of freedom if they can write scripts. I'm just a regular, simple user who has built maps and analyzed spatial data. The tools that can be used for analysis are among the best and as far as I know, unavailable elsewhere. ESRI has truly built an empire in spatial analysis,

Cons

Over the years, ArcGIS has become much more intuitive to use. The availability of spatial data, free or not, has become huge, The biggest problems I have now are the size of the program -- it takes forever to load...well, maybe 5 minutes (it's networked). The other problem I have is in understanding how to do things. There is a Help file, but I've found Google search engines far more helpful. The good news? ESRI has been around so long and lots of people know it so well, answers to common questions can be easily found.

Showing 1 - 25 of 396 reviews
ArcGIS

ArcGIS

4.57/5 out of 396 reviews