Dundas BI Reviews

4.48 / 5 (111) FrontRunners

Our advisors have recommended this product 12 times in the last 30 days

User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(52)

52

4 stars

(51)

51

3 stars

(8)

8

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Very powerful, tons of configuration options, great user community, gorgeous visualizations, good documentation, responsive support"

  • "You can customize everything. Ease to use. Pixel perfect visualisations. Great support. Massive out-of-the-box capabilities."

  • "So many cool features and everything is flexible with some coding. Can connect to a variety of sources."

  • Cons

  • "The tool is very useful and user friendly. The only part I felt it's lacking while writing sql queries by using cascading functionality. It won't support or run using this type of queries. "

  • "Not much on this side yet, but have had a couple nuances that Dundas has found to be bugs - but none that their customer support team hasn't already relayed to their developers."

  • "Versioning is a little confusing, but I think it is just taking some getting used to with the check in check out and how our local projects tie in with the deployed. "

Browse Dundas BI Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 109 results

June 2019

Christopher from Aptiv

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Affordable, flexible solution for manufacturing operations BI

We needed a self-service BI solution that would cover manufacturing operations dashboards and use cases. We wanted a tool that would allow for the distribution of centralized common dashboards but also allow for self-service customization. It needed to connect to multiple disparate data sources, and provide native ETL. It also needed to allow for real-time refresh capability. Finally, it needed to be affordable and scalable to our global operations footprint. DundasBI was the only solution that checked all of these boxes, and so far the tool has been a great help to reducing external spend and internal, custom-coded solutions.

Pros

-Real-time dashboard refresh capability -Built-in ETL -Flexible seat types and affordable licensing -Superior flexibility and customization, without the need for coding -Out of the box performance and usage tracking

Cons

Customization and flexibility come at the cost of a steeper learning curve compared to other solutions.

Reasons for Choosing Dundas BI

The other products did not meet one or more of the main requirements we had for our BI solution. DundasBI met all of them.

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Amazing Experience for Your Dashboard's Users

The Creation GUI is very quirky, but the results are well worth putting up with it. I have never had an idea that I could not eventually create (sometimes, some java script is needed). The fact that they expose all of their API tools to the end user is amazing, and allows you to create some awesome things.

Pros

- Support team is very helpful with basic use cases. - After a dashboard has been created, it looks great and works well for the end user. - People with zero programming experience are able to create dashboards.

Cons

(All very minor things, which might be addressed in future updates) - Data cube creation, metric sets, and dashboards must be created using their GUI- they cannot be generated using scripts or edited as script. - You cannot copy and paste sections of one dashboard or datacube to another. - Data cube nodes cannot be copied. - All programming scripts are stored in an sql database, which means you cannot use version control systems (such as Git Hub).

August 2019

Buck from IT Services

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Dundas BI Earned Our Decision

We have years of data that need mined. This requires the stakeholders to play with the data. We can give them all the metrics we can define, but when a user gets the chance to turn the data on its side and inside out, and then when they can bounce it around between each other, mark it up and change the visualizations on demand, it allows them to work from intuition. We are striving to help our users work from intuition, as well as from logic, to make observations; and, Dundas BI offers the ability to feed intuition.

Pros

Dundas BI is a solid platform: it's more than a tool. With solid row-level security, a hefty selection of visualizations and the opportunity to present our user base with the ability to play with data, they won our vote. We compared them against: Tableau, Sisense, Domo and iDashboards. These comparative products had strengths as well, but when we made our decision, it was because Dundas gives our end users great control over visualizing what they see without unnecessary programming as well as our ability to use native SQL views we've already written with no need for modification. This in tandem with row-level security that we control at the data level made a perfect fit for our organization.

Cons

I like to get up and going intuitively. There wasn't a quick-start guide on how to create your first dashboard: it was pieces of learning. Having now gone through the majority of their 100-level and 200-level courses and having created a number of assets, I can see why Dundas wants you to do their training...but for heavy programming go-getters, I wish there had been a quick document to start. They did, however, respond amazingly as they hit my demands for learning head on and answered my questions rapidly, even assigning me access to a technician for a few days while I was in crunch mode.

Reasons for Choosing Dundas BI

Dundas BI lets the end user have much creative control over how they use and display the data while keeping strong control over the data where it needs to reside. The ability to feed intuitive creativity as well as our need over row-level security for sensitive data were two of many reasons we finally chose Dundas BI.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Best Flexible BI tool in the market

Built dashboards which makes our customers day easier , well organized and informative, which otherwise would require customers to use their own analytics to gain insights.

Pros

This software provides with a breadth of flexibility in terms of integrations, automated user authentication,different charts available for visualizations. The time to market is reduced greatly.

Cons

Documentation for some features is not descriptive enough, which makes it difficult to use some of the cool features the tool provides.

July 2017

John-Arne from Schlumberger

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2017

Promising, good and high potential but not there yet

Dundas BI is a very good contender in the BI segment and has great potential. At the moment it is a tool for developers proficient with JavaScript and not recommended for end users. There are great potential with DBI. Unfortunately v4 got the wrong focus on non-essential upgrades thus put the bar high for version 5. To compete with Power BI, Tableau and QlikView DBI need much improvement on user-friendliness. If DBI can be really improved on administration and formatting and keeping the flexibility it will surpass most of it's competitors.

Pros

Relatively easy to get started and creating visualizations and dashboards. The scorecard, which is a kind of repeating panel is brilliant and undervalued. The report is a great addition which makes DBI an all-in-one BI tool. Dashboard layers and pop-ups enhances the experience. Data driven notification adds to a useful experience. ETL cube with data warehouse has powerful transformations and much capabilities. The open API with JavaScript makes it flexible beyond expectations.

Cons

Project and file and content management is amongst the worst in class! This need to be completely changed in v5! It's a frustrating experience to organize content. Auto save is okay, but need to be able to decide where. Check in /out is over-used and add frustration to developing dashboards. Poor cube management; need option to process multiple cubes and have incremential processing as option. Need an equation writer for those who is not proficient in JavaScript. Need more formulas for metric sets. Hidden metric sets in dashboards are a bad idea. Properties tab need complete re-organization.

January 2020

Jatin from A1 Innovation Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Easy to customize and user friendly GUI

Overall I definitely would like to recommend Dundas BI as a BI tool for organization. within a sort time of period you can easily create your own reports or dashboard.

Pros

Dundas BI easy to customize and very friendly GUI. you can easily navigate to ETL process, Scheduling job, admin activity, configuration, user security and roles. Most important thing is very well visualization options, flexibility, stability and multi tenancy licenses. Customer Support is really very good.

Cons

Required better folder structure to manage data cubes, matric Set and dashboard.

September 2019

PRASHANT from Honeywell

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Highly Customizable BI Software

Its Awesome product.

Pros

Dundas BI is very good software having lots of features and it is highly customizable BI Product.

Cons

Dundas BI dashboard performance should be improved for large data and also needs to improve Report PDF export look and feel.Also It needs more efforts to design from scratch.

Reasons for Choosing Dundas BI

Its highly customization feature , mobility friendliness and large number of Visualizations.

June 2019

Kevin from Evergreen Health

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Flexible, Customizable, and a Great Investment Return

The staff and support have been excellent. The software is flexible enough to meet our needs.

Pros

Flexibility and Customization Ability to connect multiple data sources Ability to setup security groups and have auditing capability Customer support is excellent

Cons

It does take some time to setup initially, but the flexibility more than makes up for it

Reasons for Choosing Dundas BI

See Pros above

June 2019

Dan from Valley Oaks, Inc.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Nice Feature Set, Some Learning Curve

Pros

Rich visualizations; tons of choices for visualizations with almost limitless customization; cube-builder platform is a very convenient environment for ETL - accommodates newbies with graphical tools and coders with convenient SQL, C#, and Python interfaces; state notifications are convenient and intuitive; good security.

Cons

Fairly tough to learn this platform - not always intuitive - hard to do simple things sometimes; limited (statistical) analysis toolset - no ML, though Python integrates nicely and has some application. v6.0 was a good step forward. Most customer support technicians are outstanding. Very skilled, knowledgeable, helpful. Other times, you have to bounce emails back and forth for a week before getting meaningful answers to your questions.

Reasons for Choosing Dundas BI

I didn't make the final decision, but I recommended this platform because of the vast array of features, the cube-builder ETL tools, and because the sales team was not high-pressure/pushy/deceptive. Suggests to me this is a client-centered company and the platform sells itself.

May 2019

Matt from IT Weapons

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Massive toolbox if you have time to learn it

The initial learning process was extremely time and energy-intensive, but with each learned lesson I gain the ability to do some amazing things with our data delivery and presentation.

Pros

Nearly infinite possibilities. Hundreds of built-in options for extracting, modifying and displaying data plus untold options using scripting solutions.

Cons

The learning curve for anything beyond a basic line graph is basically a vertical surface, largely because of the breadth of tools.

October 2016

Luis from Medidata

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Explore, analyze and get fast insights of your data in an easy and fast way using Dundas BI.

I've been working in Business Intelligence for quite a long time and in the beginning it was hard to explore data and show information in form of data visualizations for the end users. Since I discovered Dundas BI, this task turned to be much more simple and easy to achieve! Dundas Bi has an IDE for developing Dashboards, Reports and Scorecards that uses the last technologies in web applications developments which makes your life simplier. The smart drag and drop design tools, the rich set of data visualizations customizable to the lowermost detail, the style and themes feature, turns possible to create rich and interactive dashboards in a breeze! Dundas BI comes with an ETL (Export , Transform and Load) layer, where you can clean and prepare your data, this is done using a canvas where you can drag your tables from a data source, choose the columns you want, aggregate them, join with other tables, filter and a lot of interesting features regarding the ETL process. It connects to a lot of data sources: Oracle, Microsoft SqlServer, Excel files, ... It is a collaborative tool, with scheduled reports, based on a metric or not, you can even annotate data points, writing a comment on it in a way that others can see and respond to it! Every view can be exported to excel, pdf, image and even powerpoint. The management of the software is in the form all in one! every thing is done in the application, from user creation object permissions, overall configuration, project exporting/importing and management!

Pros

The drag and drop feature for creating views is a very productive feature. The ETL is also great, it's easy to use and, for more advanced users, it evens permits to write direct sql against tha data source you choose. Regarding performance it has two possibilities, you can cache in memory or in DBI data warehouse. The collaborative feature of this tool is a must to have feature, I specially like the data driven notification option that could alert you by email when a specific metric goes behind a threshold or state.

Cons

It needs to take a step further and aboard predicted analytics!

September 2015

Marin from Riskenomics

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

2.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2015

A steep learning curve, with great reward at the end of it.

Pros

Dundas is a conglomeration of expertly coded dashboard development tools and infrastructures. The thing I like most about Dundas is that they are very helpful, the gentleman assigned to me to educate me in the ways of Dundas, was one I will never forget to this day, he was calm, helpful, understanding and with his help I learned Dundas in no time. I like the way Dundas structure's its Dashboard development, it starts with virtual tables, where the programmer can manually or automatically generate SQL queries, these queries are then used for the basis of adding statistical flavour to the Dashboard, the way this is done is very straight forward. Dundas has a steep unforgiving learning curve, but when you master the fundamentals, the sky really is the limit. Also their support service is world class, the representatives will assist you in any way they can, they will help you understand what the issue you are facing is and provide a resolution. If they cant help you via email, they will 'WebEx' you, i.e skype call with 2 way screen control. Everything in Dundas is customizable, charts, graphs and other statistical data can be glossed up and made to look as simple or as plush as the user envisions. You can add formulae, trend analysis and other key statistical methods are employed by Dundas. They have charts for Finance, Risk analysis and other key statistical methodologies. All of these charts can be jazzed up with scripts so that you can Drill down and filter through the data you want in order to get the right Business Intelligence feel to your work. Dundas supports the Data Cube, It supports Microsoft, Oracle, MySQL, EXCEL, it has export capabilities onto Excel, so those clients which prefer their data in Spreadsheets can manually export directly from the dashboard. Everything in Dundas is designed to give you the most professional feel possible at all times!

Cons

Dundas, for the good of it's users needs to publish more comprehensive educational equipment to train it's users, it is very hard to get to an expert level in Dundas without some help from your Friends in Dundas. I would love to see Dundas publish university style lectures, with step by step guides that show every aspect of the working sphere. With adequate educational material, one would be able to gain adept or even artisan status with the Tool on their own.

October 2017

Zaman from Agri-Service LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Farming

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Dundas embodies data visulization

I think overall, I would not rule out Dundas, even with it's so called quirks. Dundas staff showed very much that they listen to users, even those that haven't purchased and have taken my criticisms to heart. Since we're not talking about a 2017 Toyota car or whatever, I feel it's important to note the constant evolution of any progressive software company. The complaints stated could be obsolete in a mere few weeks.

Pros

Dundas seems to really understand the need of handling big data and the tools needed to process these overwhelming mountains of 1's and 0's into actionable data. While working with the demo of Dundas I was able to create a very helpful tree-map that showed me the dissection of purchases comparatively from vendor to vendor to evaluate our performance or "loyalty" per vendor by item category and so on.

Cons

The U.I. of Dundas, while quite robust, seems to concern me in regards to the amount of boxes, checks, and clicks and long clicks I have to make to merely navigate my way through the program. I would rather see more keyboard shortcuts and less "Windows Vista" popups that slow my work. I felt like the settings I would implement would get lost. For instance, I would filter the vendors that weren't pertinent to my particular evaluation, then also the item categories that I wasn't interested in working with. Later on, when in the final building of the dashboard I wanted to add a checkbox filter to allow the end user to select individual item categories and be able to view 1 or all 20-30 at a time. Strangely, even though I filtered (or so I though) this data in the data cube level, I realized that the checkbox list populated with ALL the categories. This was quite frustrating. Also, I have yet to figure out how to go from an unfinished dashboard back to the data metrics screen where I built the KPI to start with. Unless i'm mistaken, it seems you have to go back to your saved metric set and then create a new dashboard after edits. Hopefully I'm wrong in my assessment of this but even so, the answer did not seem to be intuitive .

November 2016

Mohammad

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

End to End Enterprise BI Solution

I used Dundas BI for almost the last two years, Dundas BI is Enterprise end to end solution where you can connect to your data through wide range of data sources available and the ability to add extra data sources through its open API, Dundas BI contain embedded ETL engine to transform the data and it allows for multiple data access options (Datawarehouse, In memory analysis and direct connection to data). by using Dundas BI you can build your dashboards, reports and scorecard with friendly interface and with rich library of visualization charts from bar and pie charts and ending with relationship chart and histogram chart. Also Dundas BI allow business users to do their self service analysis with referring back to IT people, I cannot forget their customer support, they have well trained team to support their customers from incidents and issues and service request like helping us in writing Java codes to do amazing things in the solution. The tools is completely open and it is build over JS and HTML5, this is so amazing since Dundas BI is fully supported on mobiles with all mobile features like pinch to zoom and others. As Dundas BI have full Java and .Net APIs then it is very easy to integrated Dundas and embedded it in other portals and it has out the box integration with SharePoint.

Pros

Flexible tool where you can do what ever you want, I beleive that 95% of use cases can be build in Dundas BI as quick-wins and the rest is possible through JS and HTML5.

Cons

I wish Dundas BI to have out the box integration with web-services as this will be helpful and currently not available but it can be done through programming,

October 2015

Kris from Center6

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

2.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2015

Comprehensive BI = Dundas BI

Pros

Dundas BI is the most comprehensive BI platform available (trust me, we looked at BI products for almost a year before choosing DBI). Our three main criteria when selecting a BI platform for our clients were visualizations, reports and mobile. DBI covers all three criteria (with a codicil that will show up in the "What I like least" section) and the licensing costs are reasonable. Key features that are crazy cool: 1) DBI is data-source agnostic, 2) the scripting capability allows developers to do just about anything, 3) DBI is based on HTML5 technology (other well-known BI products are based on proprietary and/or outdated technology) and 4) the DBI support team (including the development team) provides excellent customer service. For us, as a small software company, there is always the chance to second-guess the selection of a BI product. This was a critical decision for us as the BI software we deploy to our clients will directly impact the viability of our organization and our ability to stay relevant in the coming years. It is a testament to the DBI product and the Dundas team that the answer to the question "Did we select the right software?" is always a resounding "Yes".

Cons

The one knock on DBI is the lack of a mobile app. User experience is the number one factor for us when delivering products to our clients. Currently, mobile data is delivered via web pages. DBI would be greatly enhanced if the mobile experience was via a mobile app (even if the "app" was simply a wrapper the redirects users to the web page).

September 2016

Mohammad from Infocloud

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Great BI tool

We have chosen Dundas BI because of its flexibility and the ability to integrate with wide range of data sources, the open API platform that allows to do non-traditional integrations with our in-house systems. Dundas support team are always on time to solve any issues or to provide any suggestions and java scripts to help our issues.

Pros

Flexibility to do whatever you want, Open API and known scripting languages like HTML5 and JS where 99% of your word can be accomplished through drag and drop including preparing the connections to database, you can do all the task which usually have to be done through SQL language by using Dundas and only drag and drop like join, sort , filter, union, aggregation and more.

Cons

The tool doesn't support the 3D Charts even it is clear that 3D charts are not professional.

October 2015

Andrew from Decisions

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.5

October 2015

Dundas Developer for the last 3 years

Pros

1. Data Visualisation is what Dundas do, and do well at; as opposed to many BI vendors, who offer a broader range of functionality but end up being a jack of all trades, and a master of none. 2. It's a difficult balance for a product to be easy to use, as well as being flexible. It's subjective, but I feel that they have the balance right. 3. I can't speak highly enough about the support team.

Cons

1. Exports to Powerpoint, etc... are needed. 2. Ability to work off line, with everything nicely cached. I agree the benefit will diminish over the years, but other products, like Microstrategy, do. Senior managers like this. 3. A better way to add comments; something like Cognos. 4. More an issue with the previous Dundas product, and though rare, but we had a couple of cases where newer versions could often resolve one issue raised, but result in something else no longer working, which made us look a rather silly. With new versions, don't assume anything, and test thoroughly again. 5. Greater presence in Europe.

September 2016

Mohammad from Infocloud middle east

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Flexibility in design,

I am developer and implementer of Dundas BI. I rememered how we choosed dundas from 10s of options for to many aspects like flexibility to do whatever you want , variety of data sources and the open API. Moreover, the price od dundas is reasonable comparing to the features that it provides and cheaper comparing to other products in the market. Later on, our requirements increased but dundas BI was flexible enought so we did all them. In dundas BI, think what to do rather than how to do it or if it is doable or not. One year later, dundas become the central portal for every department including Executives ,IT, sales, and marketing. By giving other departments small training on dundas bi, they started to build their reports and dashboards, our role was to prepare the connection to databases and the data cubes only. Dundas Support team are great and reply to any query withen same day. I liked their support because they are ready to help in building java scripts that solve or do my requests or to to provide solutions to issues which were sometimes related to OS or the database.

Pros

Flexibility in design, variety of charts and data sources, open API and the great dundas support

Cons

No 3D charts even it is clear to me that 3D is not professional but some people just like to see it.

November 2016

Kris from Center6

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

Dundas BI - If you don't have it, get it...

We have been a partner with Dundas BI for almost two years, since the initial release of the product. We were searching for a BI offering to present to our clients and stumbled upon Dundas almost by accident. Good thing we did. In hindsight, choosing any product other than Dundas BI would have been the wrong choice. The architecture of Dundas BI uses HTML5, CSS and JavaScript - no legacy technology here. The product is can be deployed on-premise or in the cloud, includes multi-tenant functionality, includes out-of-the-box connectors to an array of data sources, allows for ETL in the application, gives developers granular control over most design elements, the dashboard features are almost limitless and the support team is outstanding.

Pros

Flexibility and functionality.

Cons

I'll never fully exploit the capabilities of the software - it's simply too massive.

November 2018

Alex from RomIT Project Consult

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Best functionalities in a BI tool that money can buy

I am working with Dundas BI since the day it was born (roughly 2014 begining) and I can say that I had only good experiences with it, as long as you know it very well.

Pros

- ease of use - really intuitive - extremly open to external integration, like javascript D3 charts, tools like TinyMCE, picture uploaders etc. - writeback option to send data to a database - R and Python Integration - big array of visualisations and also some interesting ones, like Sankey Driagram, Tree Node Map, Chord Diagram etc.

Cons

- big learning curve for developers - not so self service BI orientated - Dundas diferentiates a dashboard from a report or scorecars, so you have to learn how to do 3 things

December 2018

Murali from Honeywell

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Amazing Things You Wouldnt Have Guessed About Dundas BI

Metric set color/base changes need to apply automatically to the same metric set where it used in dashboard instead of editing each dashboard and do changes manually. [Simple : if user did changes in one metric set level it needs to update all places wherever it used in dashboard currently it is not happening. In this case user need to edit each dashboard and apply the same changes at dashboard level ]

Pros

Many advantages/functions inside the Dundas BI . example Good Visulizations,Responsive dashboards (mobile friendly), User friendly and easy use for development of dashboards and many more.

Cons

Score cards ,Table & Reports are not responsive and after refreshing the parameterized URL its lost the base parameters (In general case if URL captured with parameter its should hold the parameters even user refresh the URL).

August 2017

Colin from Answers in Genesis

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Huge bang for the buck

There are so many features to this software that we learn new tricks every time we work with it, but you don't have to learn everything to start providing value to your customers. We are well ahead of schedule at moving from our old visualizations to new Dashboard and reports in Dundas. A definite productivity booster for the costly Business Analytics group and BI in general.

Pros

We're moving from a SSIS, SSRS, Datazen and Excel, very manual process over to Dundas BI (DBI) and we are daily amazed at how much we can do so quickly in DBI. The ETL process is very quick so creating the data cubes isn't rocket science. Once created a cube can be used immediately to begin providing very high-quality visualization to customers, or super users in analytics-heavy departments can start creating their own visualization for their members. Setting up users is as easy as typing in their name and setting permissions is fairly intuitive, so it only takes a few minutes.

Cons

For developers there are several things that take a little while to wrap your head around. Retraining ourselves to simplify our queries will make our whole ETL process more maintainable in the future, but it is a paradigm shift that takes a little while.

June 2019

Guillaume from Webpower

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Hands down the best value for money

Pros

The first impression (pre-sales traject) is awesome. The people at Dundas are very friendly and efficient. When you actually start using it, there is a lot that can be done out of the box, and Dundas helps you in many places to make your life easy. For most of the rest, you can extend it programmatically. Support is usually quite efficient, and there are a few great experts on the forum to get extra help. The price and licencing models are really good and client friendly, especially for small companies.

Cons

If you want to do something which doesn't fall within what Dundas expects you to do this becomes tricky quite fast (it is still doable most of the time, though). Everything in Dundas can be overridden in multiple places. It is as powerful as it is confusing.

July 2016

Onur from PBS Biliim ve Danmanlk

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2016

New generation self-BI

Pros

Dundas BI is the flexible BI tool I've ever seen and quite easy to use for BI developers. For the end-users, It can be a bit confuse at the beginning. But when they learn to manage the functionality and abilities of Dundas BI they will probably really like it. They can learn it quickly with free videos and once data model ready; end-users can start to build their own report without need any technical support cause you don't need to create scripts. You can easyly create your dashboards with drags and drops. Dundas BI has also a great support team. They are always there for you. On the website you can easyly reach all the documention and examples. Dundas BI makes the complex reporting system too simple for you like version management, multi-tanency.

Cons

The product is huge ability. You can create whatever you want(I saw an example like a developer was changing the lamps with a bar of Dundas). But to manage this ability you need to have a good Java Script knowladge which i don't like.

April 2018

Cosmin from Qualmetrix, Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

best of breed, open standards BI dashboarding environment

keep up the great work -- after a two months, in-depth technical review of about a dozen BI tools out there, including PowerBI, Spotfire, DOMO, MicroStrategy, Pyramid Analytics, Tableau, Looker, Qlik, + Open Source solutions -- for the aforementioned points, our company settled on DundasBI, as the "best of breed", most flexible, scalable, modern, fast, "future-proof" & cost-effective solution.

Pros

In no particular order: 1. Licensing options: a. concurrent, b. unlimited, c. perpetual (some vendors may offer just one or two) 2. Open Standards & API hooks for JavaScript, .Net, REST 3. "No pressure" Sales engagement. 4. Company is willing to go the extra mile to assist with POCs, onboarding, technology adoption., 5. Clear documentation, FAQ's, Scripting Samples. 6. Forums to interact with community. 7. Modern, fast GUI, with rich set of components. 8. Frequent product updates. 9. Fast, responsive and knowledgeable support personnel. 10. Scalable architecture.

Cons

takes a bit getting used to, to ramp up on complex engineering/solutioning of needs (including scripting), for notice JavaScript/REST developers, however the company is willing and able to assist with these endeavors.

October 2015

Larry from Donor Network of Arizona

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

October 2015

Dundas is the way to go!!!

Pros

The visualization is great! I think this is exactly what executives are looking. We looked at several other software that did the same thing but they weren't as visually awesome as Dundas. Dundas BI is much much easier and user friendly than the first version they had. I like this one very much... They have basically incorporated the SSRS, SSIS and SSAS in a nice neat package. The drag and drop features for Excel documents are great.

Cons

The mobile app functionality isn't what we thought it would be. It is a bit difficult to understand and get at first. Currently I'm fighting adding maps to it(I don't be believe this is a Dundas issue), but it would've been cool if they had the US states in the default map along with "every other country in the world"

July 2016

Jeremy from NB Power

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2016

Data Visualization specialists

Overall it has been a great experience working with Dundas BI. We use Dundas to help our co workers be able to visually see how certain programs in our company are running, how much money is being spent and so on. Having this tool gave us the ability to do all of this. There is lots Dundas BI can and cannot do but has been progressing quickly releasing new versions of the software. Always including new features and letting users try new versions and give their feedback on how they like the new software compared to the old. Overall it is a very useful program, but for new users it may be complex to get used to.

Pros

What i like most about the software is the many different ways to be able to connect and visualize data. to be able to manipulate your data to be displayed how you want becomes very useful. if there is a way you want to visualize data, im sure dundas has a way of doing so. Their customer support is one of their top qualities, they typically respond within 24 hours and are very interested in a very helpful way.

Cons

the terminology can be pretty difficult sometimes to understand. Other than that, some of their features have minor glitches which im sure they are in the process in fixing as their customer support is tremendous.

June 2019

DANNY from National Waste Associates

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Good Value, but not the best

Overall, the product is working as intended. Like anything else, as you get more comfortable with it & start to learn the quirks it becomes a little like second nature.

Pros

The initial attraction to the software was the look. It's slick & clean & making visualizations is snappy & they look good with little tuning. That was a big selling point. The platform is built so that you can customize based on your needs & that's huge. Plus, the cost was a fraction of the largest competitor we reviewed.

Cons

Customer Service can be a bit choppy. You can't "call in" for an answer, unless it's a quick one, if you need help troubleshooting something while you're in the thick of it - sorry, you need to schedule the time when things go wrong. There were other issues with being sold different licenses than what we used in our trial, with no clear understanding of the separation until after the fact. Debugging data errors, if you're working with alot of data can be a NIGHTMARE.

April 2017

Andy from Leidos Health

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Great tool for your BI toolbox

We have been using Dundas BI for over a year now and everyone loves it. The visuals look good,are very customizable and the data loads quickly. We utilize this tool embedded in SharePoint using a SharePoint WebPart, as well as in our custom apps utilizing an iFrame.

Pros

Quick time to market - drag and drop excel sheet for instant analysis, connect to SQL (including SSAS) easily for quick browsing of data. The tool can be customized to meet our needs.

Cons

No out of the box funnel chart - I really had to think about a con, I couldn't think of anything I don't like about Dunas BI

October 2016

Steve from Rental One

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

New life and light for the dark side of information

We are a privately held company with multiple locations using shared services for administration, accounting, HR, risk management, acquisitions and mergers. Our ERP uses IBM DB2, and Dundas letting us tap into a wealth of details that would otherwise be buried in thousand-page reports. Never before has the ability to profile previous periods and events had such speed and accuracy (our data goes back over 15 years). The access and sumarization of this data is revealing patterns and insight to the business processes. We've only just begun and are excited about our game-changing experiences!

Pros

The flexibility. A developer (license type) can do almost anything imaginable.

Cons

The flexibility. There's a lot of details to attend to, and the complexities can lead to misinformation if you don't continuously validate the visualizations of the data.

February 2019

Tom from 9Dots Management Corp

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Exceeding expectations

Pros

It's easy for any level of staff to get going quickly visualizing data. Dundas BI provides the tools for all organizations to gain actionable insights into their data, no matter the volume.

Cons

The only con I have is that it is easy to get lost in all of the functionality available in the product.

October 2015

Rafeek from CH2M

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2015

A fresh view of analytics with Dundas BI

Pros

Having used other dashboard and reporting softwares, Dundas brings a breath of freshness into the analytics domain. The rendering of graphs, charts and other visualization is very appealing to novice as well as experienced users. The fact that it is web based with the flexibility to connect to a raft of datasets makes it a strong contender.

Cons

As the resultant information that Dundas produces are viewed in different kinds of mediums, the responsive design architecture needs to a bit more intuitive and easy to design and develop. Similar to the sandbox view, there could be other predefined views targeting mobile and tablets.

March 2017

samer from Devoteam

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2017

Dundas BI leading

After working with different BI tools, i believe the best one i dealt with is Dundas BI. It is a very intelligence tool easy to use and customer friendly. It has a multiple features that is not there in other BI tools, most of the functionalities that you need is there already built in inside the tool and in case it is not there you have the flexibility to write scripts in order to achieve whatever you need. their customer support team are so professionals and supportive. the customers always like the look and feel that dundas BI gives them other than other tools which lack of that visualizations.

May 2017

John from Salomon and Ludwin

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Functionality that blows my mind

In my opinion, this is the top of the line business intelligence visualization tool out there.

Pros

The platform is so powerful. What one can do without much programming is amazing. Throw in the programming and customization pieces and WOW! Customer support is superb. It feels like the customer support team and technical team is vested in our successful deployment. Visualization components and built-in graphing, charting, sparklines, etc. very very robust.

Cons

Versioning is a little confusing, but I think it is just taking some getting used to with the check in check out and how our local projects tie in with the deployed.

January 2018

UTSAV from satori group india

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Top notch visualisation and analytics capabilities

Amazing customer support

Pros

very smooth visualisation, easy to deploy, easy to expand, inbuilt R and python support, data cubes, customer support is top notch.

Cons

They need to improve on community. But they have already started with dundas bi vip forum. In near future that will be resolved

January 2019

Jian from CAMH

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Where data becomes alive and beautiful.

Pros

Very modern workspace style with a lot of visualization options. Absorbs latest technologies fast and releases new features frequently. Provides unlimited possibilities when it comes to dashboard design.

Cons

Object references are too complicated, making duplicating/promoting items not as straightforward as it could be. Deployment could be very slow and problematic. Data directly from SSAS cube often stops refreshing.

January 2018

Shashank from Revmax

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Data Visualization made easy

ts a versatile platform

Pros

I can connect to anything, customize most everything (or not), report on any kind of data. It allows to combine data from numerous different data sources (SQL Server, Oracle, SAP BW, Excel, etc.) into combined data cubes allowing the data to be presented in cohesive dashboards and reports that are not broken up by where the data is stored.

Cons

The amazing flexibility of dashboarding tools comes complexity and a bit of a learning curve. It would be great if there was more guidance built into the application so that the tools could be more intuitive.

September 2019

Renzi from Willis Towers Watson

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2019

Dundas BI

Pros

It is easy to use for your basic report needs. It is a great entry point for users wanting to experience making a report without the knowledge of coding. The customization is also superb as you can implement CSS and javascript to customize the report experience.

Cons

It lacks the functionalities for interfacing with other tools. It also lacks some advanced features that are need for more complex reports.

October 2015

Bernadette from Netrefer

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2015

Dundas is the most advanced and superior BI tool

Pros

Dundas is a pixel perfect business analysis tool. The OLAP cube compatibility is outstanding and we really enjoy the fact that Dundas is a very well thought out product that has everything we need plus so much more. Dundas does the thinking for us with advanced functionality and great canvass components that accomodates large data sets with ease. I can highly recommend this software as is a clear winner on so many fronts.

Cons

Slightly difficult to learn in the beginning once you get used to making scorecards and use the reporting module as there is a wealth of features and tools. Thou the dashboard construction is really easy and allows for a lot of controls and flexibility.

September 2016

Elmar from Reports BV

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2016

Dundas BI review

Dundas BI is a very flexible tool to create the most creative dashboards and or reports. If there is something you can't figure out you can contact there support and you will always get an answer within a day.

Pros

The number of visualisations and the flexibility especially when you also start scripting

Cons

At the moment we have some difficulties with the export but that it also our own fault. We created a very complex table that we need to export.

March 2018

Priyabrata from GrayMatter Software Services Pvt Ltd

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

It's a very good tool for creating cubes from different sources including direct excel sheets.

It's not that much complex as compared to other BI tools. The user will understand all of its features not more than one week.

Pros

Very user friendly, won't take much time to understand the UI part, whether it's related to creating a dashboard or creating cubes, measures and dimensions. Even you can create you custom cube by joining tables by simple sql queries. Dundas has its own cloud server, hence when you create any new project including dashboards, charts, measures and dimensions..It uploads everything to its secured cloud drive. It simply took me 1 week to understand the complete functionality of dundas all by myself. Hence I would say it won't take much time to get familiar with it even for a non-technical guy.

Cons

The tool is very useful and user friendly. The only part I felt it's lacking while writing sql queries by using cascading functionality. It won't support or run using this type of queries.

August 2016

Habiba from CAMH

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

August 2016

Rapid Dashboard Development

Pros

The product allows you to build dashboards quickly by providing a platform that makes it easy to integrate and visualize data from many different sources. It allows you to create aesthetically pleasing dashboards that empower users to make informed decisions. The vendor is local and very responsive to support requests. Bugs and feature requests are taken seriously and are resolved quickly in version releases.

Cons

Issues related to integration and infrastructure with other platforms are not easily resolved. I'm not sure it can be blamed on the vendor as the product itself has very few problems. It would be nice to have integration experts on their team though ot quickly troubleshoot and resolve these problems.

October 2018

Shachar from radcom

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

dundas BI is very flexible and accessible

Pros

Dundas BI has some great visualization , vary of APIs and very intuitive. new great feature are always to come.

Cons

the support is located only at Canada (EST) and we are at UTC +2 and sometime it is really increase response time

October 2017

Mark from Tenaska Power Services

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Highly Customizable Dashboard Tool for Experts and Novices Alike.

Pros

The ability to apply custom looks and functionality through CSS and JavaScript make it a great took for embedded BI. The data cubes make ETL simple for even complex transforms of large data sets.

Cons

The menus and sheer number of settings and options can be intimidating and a little frustrating in the beginning, but as users learn the tool and spend more time in it this is less of an issue.

January 2018

Thomas from SAVYVA Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Best visualization and reporting tool ever used.

DUNDAS has a great support philosophy. Never experienced such help performance.

Pros

Modularity in design, building reports is remembers playing with LEGO bricks. The embedding functionality is outstanding, too.

Cons

There could be more analysis functionality. Provides a lot out of the box, which is awesome. But having a pivot grid like in Power BI would be fitting to the rest of the tool and make it unbeatable.

October 2015

LeAnn from AMSOIL, INC.

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

October 2015

Powerful, Flexible, and Well Supported

Pros

Products that are powerful, flexible, and feature-rich can often be complex and take time to learn. Dundas makes the learning easy, with rich documentation, videos, example scripts, and a wonderful support team. Once you've mastered the basics, creating powerful dashboards in Dundas is surprisingly quick and easy. Dynamic elements give our users the flexibility they need without complex scripting being required, and I love the ability to use Layers for a cleaner design experience.

Cons

While we understand the good reasons behind switching from Dundas script to JavaScript, this transition is a bit of an extra learning curve for our team.

October 2015

Michelle from Hometown Health

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

October 2015

New to Dundas BI Platform

Pros

Dundas BI is fairly intuitive, which makes for a quick win. This product is extremely flexible, dynamic, and easy to use. The support staff will go far and above in assisting you, they will help you truly understand what the issue is so you can learn from it not just repair it.

Cons

Part of what I appreciate about the product also frustrates me. It is so customizable that you can get lost in customizing and forget about why you were developing the visualization to begin with. I am new to this product and have found myself calling support because I have "customized myself" into an error, but never fear the support team always manages to untangle my mess. We were somewhat hoping to reuse some of the datasets we created in Dundas for other projects but unfortunately the way the warehouse it set up it is not possible to reuse the data (that I am aware of).

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

A great tool for creating pixelperfect dashboards.

Pros

The strength of this software (compared to other software for dashboard) is its ability to create graphics, KPIs and totally pixel perfect objects. On other software that I use often I have difficulty in satisfying the client's graphic requests, through Dundas the problem does not arise, indeed it is possible to edit every single object in the smallest detail.

Cons

In my opinion the interface is not very attractive, the graphs are functional and clear (which is what we need in practical terms) but could improve a bit 'the graphic aspect that I think is still a bit' too "simple". Even the use is not the easiest initially, you have to acquire a little 'knowledge of the software but nothing too difficult.

December 2017

Shachar from radcom

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Dundas BI in the telecom world

Pros

Very flexible and innovative, HTML5 web based support and easy to learn and use. great support team also

Cons

No Linux platform support, in our telecom world Linux is a must when playing with the biggest players

July 2017

Richard from Devon Partnership NHS Trust

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

A very powerful and highly customisable data visualisation tool

Pros

The tool allows you to display your data in any way you like. Almost anything can be customised, and the interactions (both built in and through scripting) really make the difference. The support is also excellent!

Cons

Theres so much customisation available, it takes a little while to get use to all the options available, and where they are.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 109 reviews