User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(22)

22

4 stars

(7)

7

3 stars

(3)

3

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "The ability to quickly analyze multiple variables, create models and generate lovely graphics that tell a story for non-technical audiences is so valuable! "

  • "The ability to create charts and graphs, compare data, and easily calculate statistics that are pertinent to daily laboratory work, as well as clinical research."

  • "Very powerful statistical software, well known in the pharma industry"

  • Cons

  • "Some statistical techniques are so easy to use and then misinterpret, but that is an issue with most statistical software! "

  • "Not easy to navigate when using for the first time. Need to figure things out or even be trained on how to use it. "

  • "Discrimination between the ordinary package and the Pro version, and the cost associated with the Pro version."

Browse JMP Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -18 of 32 results

February 2019

SHRUTI from University of Georgia (UGA) Graduate School

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

JMP software for academic purposes

JMP has been a commendable companion for statistical problems whether in class or with research problems. Initially it does take some to learn the stuff with JMP but later that it is worth it!

Pros

It has a huge array of statistical functions that you can perform in minutes and obtain very catchy curves and graphs. It is an excellent tool for academic teaching and research. It has great tutorial links on learning how to use the software for one's specific purposes.

Cons

There is no option for Overlaying Gaussian/Normal plots while it is quite a useful feature. Also, even though you can copy the graphs staright up, you cannot copy the tables as they appear in the software.

December 2019

Nanditha from Machaon DIagnostics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

JMP is a useful software

I have used JMP for design of experiments and statistical analysis during my masters and PhD and the software has been very accurate in my analyses.

Pros

JMP is easy to use for experienced users, and is relatively easy to learn. it is a very comprehensive statistical software.

Cons

although it is easy to use for experienced users, it is slightly challenging to learn (not difficult to learnt though).

November 2019

Prathamesh from Patagonia

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

A statistical tool for everybody.

Overall JMP is a very good statistical tool in it features and functionalities. For statisticians who are involved in industrial applications, JMP is a option for them. JMP gives full control and flexibility over data manipulation and analysis. Easy to operate method mechanism and drag and drop function through dashboard is a plus. Reports are very interactive and easy to export. Overall, recommended for statisticians.

Pros

JMP comes with lots of feature and functionality. It is very easy to use and requires no prior experience. It is is one of the statistical package software which doesn't require coding skills. Anybody with no experience and training can use JMP with ease. It has a dashboard which is easy to navigate and feature enabled. Data mining, data cleaning, and descriptives statistics can be very easily performed on JMP. The tool accepts data in different formats csv, xlsx, and dat format . For multivariate statistics JMP is a good tool when it comes to analyzing data using linear regression, ANOVA, MANOVA, and logistic regression. The dashboard application makes it very easy for the user to carry out the complex operations for the advance multivariate methods. Drag and drop functionality is very useful when it comes to handling lots of data. The results displayed are very good graphic display, easy to save and copy graphs other documents. The profiler component of the JMP is very useful to share analysis and reports using web interface. New methods like segmentation and conjoint analysis are also available in JMP. Overall JMP is must use tool for statisticians.

Cons

JMP doesn't provide any tools to analyze data using high level simulations. The available simulations are basic simluations which are capable to produce certain amount of data predictions. Variable value designation is a big problem in JMP, the software fails to recognize the type of data when it comes to numeric value. For example, JMP sometimes fails to recognize the difference between number and a string. It is easy to upload an excel sheet in JMP, but the excel add-in takes more time to work, sometimes it even fails to operate. Error and bug fixing requires exhaustive customer support and it is very time consuming. Loading large amount of data is very tedious as it takes lot of time and it crashes very frequently. Other software integrations for JMP are quiet challenging. JMP's parent company SAS follows different set of integration codes because of which the intergration with most large scale software for data access becomes a challenge. Also, JMP is quite expensive for small business, the pricing is suitable for midsize and large companies. Overall, high level simulations, excel add-in, and pricing are the drawbacks of JMP.

Reasons for Choosing JMP

JMP brings more functionality on the analysis level. Many different format of files can be uploaded to JMP and the data can be cleaned and structured well for its use. These functionalities are not available on other software packages. Also, operations on JMP are easy compared to other softwares.Overall, JMP was a better fit with respect to the needs at hand.

February 2020

John from Regeneron

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Fantastic statistical analysis tool

Highly recommend to taking the time to master JMP Statistical Software if there is a real interest in having the best statistical software for your personal or company use.

Pros

The capability to script and automate so many statistical approaches is a powerful tool that allows for users to really delve into repeated datasets. JMP can handle any size of a data set and does a great job in keeping all of your work organized. There are many functionalities that allow users to reorganize the data, customize the analysis of the data, and build really neat graphs to display the data.

Cons

The learning curve to using this software can be large. While scripting requires a different subset of knowledge, using the program takes a lot of practice and understanding of statistical approaches.

July 2018

Gary from Innov Wire Technology

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Very powerful but not intuitive

Very capable statistical analysis

Pros

JMP is an extremely powerful statistical subscription based software package. Every analysis that I have wanted to do is there, nothing is missing. They really listen to customer feedback and continuously improving be releasing new versions. You can install and run multiple versions if you like. The graphics looks professional, the calculations are fast, and the statistics are top notch. The makers of JMP (SAS) hold regular seminars all over the USA to teach you how to get more out of it. These seminars are "free" in that the price of admission is included in the annual subscription fee. When we first signed up, a local representative came on site and helped us set it up and showed us everything we needed to know. They are very responsive to emails and phone calls if you cannot figure out how to do something.

Cons

It may be a little too powerful for some users. The menu structure is somewhat complex and the scripting language can be quite intimidating at first, but you can get around fine without scripting anything if you don't want to. It does take time to learn how to use it properly but once you get the hang of it, you'll accept no substitute.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Best data analysis tool

Good software for novice learners to be excellent in analyzing data. Overall easy to use software

Pros

Can create quick addins to plot graphs in different formats. Scriptable to automate tasks. Options for analyzing the data using different algorithms and properly documented help files to understand the functionality of the algorithms.

Cons

Little expensive for individual user license. So having a data analyst career with only JMP software knowledge will not outside our Work organization

April 2019

Peter from Public Health

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

JMP did all that I needed it to do

For the statistical calculations that I was running JMP was more than adequate.

Pros

This was my go to software in university during my Biology degree. This software was relatively easy to learn as a total beginner and was able to easily handle all basic statistical operation that I required (t-tests, ANOVA, Chi-Square etc. etc.). The video training that is available on the JMP website was very useful to mastering the software. Also it is available for Apple and PC to I was able to use the same software on my personal laptop as in the Lab.

Cons

The software license is quite expensive. I was able to use it while I was working in the university lab setting, but since that point I could not afford to continue with JMP. JMP can also be a bit of a resource hog depending on the operation that you are asking it to complete. You will need to ensure that you have adequate RAM if you are working with larger data sets. If you are doing very advanced statistical work something like R might be a better bet.

August 2019

Kevin from Nanofiber Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Excellent Statistical Software with a good GUI

JMP allows us to measure the performance of our R&D devices (based on measurable objective outputs) compared to current standard of care devices.

Pros

I have been using this since my graduate school days and it still allows me to perform powerful statistical analyses and create very nice figures.

Cons

The GUI is not intuitive at first, but given a little time it is easily navigable. Other than this, I have noever had an issue with the software.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Great software for statistical analysis and data visualization.

I have been using JMP for graduate study and research. I highly recommend it for data analysts, researchers and statisticians

Pros

I regularly use JMP for performing T-tests, ANOVA, regression analysis etc. I like the ability to query data and the fact that data can be imported from multiple sources. The graphs, charts and tables produced are excellent for the purpose of using in research papers, reports etc.

Cons

Expensive single user license and the JMP Pro version. Also, it does not offer as much scripting options as R.

May 2018

massimo from UAB

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

2.0

May 2018

It makes running simple statistical models easy

Pros

Being the software highly on usability, you can start working with it in minutes. Reading the manual may turn to be needed only if you start using higher functionalities. The default diagnostic plots are well designed.

Cons

You can only do much with JMP, and actually not a lot. JMP is kind of slow with catching up with the latest statistical tools available for regression analysis. I never managed to use in replacement of R of SPSS. At the end, personally, I only use it when a want a quick overview of the data thanks to its good graphics. It is a software useful for "quick" analyses, but it is too simplistic for more serious work.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Saving time, saving money

I have solved a lot of business problems with JMP, from reliability studies of new instruments considered for business acquisition or partnership, for optimization of processes in bio-detection technologies, and chemical formulations for bio-assays. I can no longer imagine carrying out scientific investigation without the use of JMP Statistical Software. It has been a blessing to use it.

Pros

I have used JMP for all types of inquiry from popular statistical analysis such as T-Test, analysis of variance to more exciting and very informative design of experiments. The custom design is one of my favorites, the first "go-to". It has saved me a lot time, provided valuable information for the optimization of processes and chemical formulations.

Cons

Discrimination between the ordinary package and the Pro version, and the cost associated with the Pro version.

February 2019

Sandeep from Cree

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Semiconductors

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Feature-rich Statistical Analysis package

Pros

I use JMP very frequenctly for DOE, Statistical Analysis, Process Capability Analysis, grapg building etc. Once you understand how to access different menus, it's very intuitive and easy to use. The best part is the sample library and help. The library and help menu pretty much cover all the topics. JMP experts are also very responsive on their websites on answering questions and providing custom scripts. DOE & Graph Builder platforms alone are worth the price. JMP is a leader in creating new DOE techniques and adding state of the art DOE methods to the library.

Cons

The software is loaded with features which new users can find confusing at first. Minitab is more user-friendly in that regard.

January 2018

Angela from Home Access Health Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

JMP Statistical Software is must have in any laboratory environment.

Helps create quality control graphs, as well as calculate any and all data needed in our laboratory.

Pros

The ability to create charts and graphs, compare data, and easily calculate statistics that are pertinent to daily laboratory work, as well as clinical research.

Cons

Not easy to navigate when using for the first time. Need to figure things out or even be trained on how to use it.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Perfect for sharing technical results with any audience

Pros

The ability to quickly analyze multiple variables, create models and generate lovely graphics that tell a story for non-technical audiences is so valuable!

Cons

Some statistical techniques are so easy to use and then misinterpret, but that is an issue with most statistical software!

February 2017

Abhinav from Intel Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Semiconductors

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Better than most other statistical software out there

I have been using this software to trend and keep a tab on the process variables and this software has excellent GUI and thus I can get my data in any form for analysis. It can do calculations for the data entered which also helps a lot.

August 2018

Abhinav from Intel Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Semiconductors

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

JMP is always there for your data processing needs!!!

Overall my experience has been very good. I dont really know too many software out there which can do simultaneous data processing and making them into presentable dashboards.

Pros

I have used this software for more than 5 years now and I have found this to be awesome with large volume data handling. You can make the software spit out graphs, tables and whatever you want it to.

Cons

It is a bit less intuitive and you really need to know the exact commands. A bit of better GUI would have been more useful like one of those word processing softwares.

September 2019

Faustin from TRUMPF Photonics, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Machinery

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

JMP is powerful...just learn to use it first

I used JMP to automatically import data tables from our database. This allowed me to then be able to do statistical analysis and visualize my data. Finally, to automate repetitive processes, I used the jmp scripting language (jsl).

Pros

I loved the JMP scripting language (jsl) that comes with the software that allowed me to automate many things. I also loved the powerful visualization platform (graph builder).

Cons

As I mentioned, JMP is an extremely powerful tool. However, it can be a little overwhelming and difficult to learn at first. Thankfully, there are plenty of resources that allow you to learn how to use it.

February 2019

Joey from Audentes Therapeutics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Most well known statistical software in the market

Used JMP and successfully increased production.

Pros

Very powerful statistical software, well known in the pharma industry

Cons

It could be confusing to use sometimes. Additional training may be needed.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Awesome software for trends

it really helped me in my old job to put together indicators for my area to show what was improving or what was going down and needed to be improved.

Pros

I used this software to pull information from our org database and make graphs/trends according to my needs. It was easy with most of the syntax and format for programming similar to other languages making the learning time slower.

Cons

It didnt have much of GUI and more or less was coding rather than making things easier with an editor which some of the softwares come with these days.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Utilizing JMP

Pros

JMP is my favorite statistical analysis software, since I have limited coding experience. JMP was what I used to analyze most of my graduate research data, and I prefer to use it now that I am employed full-time to make my graphs. The UI is very easy to navigate, and it's a powerful package for its ease of use.

Cons

I do wish it was slightly more powerful. There are other statistical programs that are more flexible, but they require a good coding background.

February 2018

Callie from Colorado State University

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

JMP is an easy to use statistical software to be used both in and outside of the classroom.

Pros

JMP's tutorials are pretty helpful, but in general the software is easy to figure out. It's analysis tools are very helpful and easy to edit. Also, JMP allows you have to have several data sets and visualizations open at once which is very convenient.

Cons

It asks me to open my license every time I open the program. Although this is only a minor inconvenience, I would appreciate if it opened slightly faster.

October 2018

Nicholas from University of Kentucky

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Make Your Data Stand Out

Overall I have found JMP Statistical Software to be useful for me in the visual presentation of my data analysis. I also have found it relatively more useful and easier to grasp than some other data analysis options. I would definitely recommend JMP software to my colleagues.

Pros

I liked that for someone who is completely new to data analysis type software, JMP was not too complicated for me to understand in the beginning, yet offers more depth as my understanding of big data analysis increases.

Cons

As with most statistical software, I feel like there should be very plain and simple explanations of features for non-experienced, non-statistically savvy users. JMP does a decent job in explaining some features but I feel there is always room for improvement.

May 2019

Nada from Mayo clinic

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

jmp is awesome, Easy and fast

i do all my statistical analysis using JMP

Pros

Easy and fast .. built in tutorials are enough and very useful

Cons

it is not free and require license, other than that it is easy to work with

July 2018

Jordan from IBM

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2018

JMP is a great option for doing advanced statistical analysis if you're not trying to write code.

Pros

I like the ease of the point and click user interface, as this allows people without coding experience to do statistical analysis.

Cons

I dislike the limited options they have in terms of statistical models or analysis tools, and when new ones pop up in the field it takes them forever to update the software and add them.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Awesome

Pros

JMP is super cool. It has all the standard statistical stuff you want and more. Great with large data sets. And great with graphing, plotting, even animating graphs. Allows for visualizing data in ways that can be really good for presentations.

Cons

Tough learning curve. There are so many possibilities and different ways to do similar things that it takes a while to learn how to do what you want.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

Good for descriptive statistics and predictive modeling, other features need improvement

Pros

I work at a high profile research lab we get JMP Pro through our university. JMP makes it very easy to build models and calculate summary statistics without any coding. We use it a lot for exploratory analysis and visualization of new incoming data, which can be done in a few clicks. The UI is nice and it doesn't have much of a learning curve.

Cons

At least for the Neural Network function, it seems that you can only run your selected cross-validation method once, which is not helpful as common practice is to run it a large number of times to get an average and distribution of your accuracy rate. If there is a way to run CV multiple times it's not obvious at all. So the output isn't really useful at all. JMP isn't built for machine learning, but for per license we expected more. Documentation also needs improvement. Unlike Python, R and MATLAB, JMP doesn't have examples to demonstrate how things are used in its documentation.

October 2019

Ganapathy from Voith GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Paper & Forest Products

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

JMP Statistical Software user review

I am highly impressed with this software package. I use it side-by-side with Minitab 19 and I've found JMP to be far better on some data analysis methods because it does not need external micros installed like Minitab 19 does.

Pros

The best part about this software above and beyond its comprehensive statistical data analysis package is the process simulation capabilities. This is the feature that I love and use the most.

Cons

The display clarity on screens smaller than 8" isn't the best. The software looks more old-world than it actually is.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

JMP one of the greatest upcoming statistical softwares

We are using JMP stats to analyse biological data. JMP had great interactive graphs that help you see selected variables from all the plotted graphs and table all at the same time. Thats cool!!

Pros

Ease of use, great support, webinars to teach how to use and the addition of a genomics platform was ingenius.

Cons

The cost. Its relatively expensive, though good value for money.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Good software for statistical anlysis.

Pros

JMP is a very usefull software for statistical analysis, which have a large number of features that allows you to perform both basic and complex analysis.

Cons

It takes a little time to learn how to use correctly every feature and to know where to find each of the tools.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

I use it as a complement software for a final project in a DoE class.

Pros

This software has functionalities that other softwares with a better GUI do not offer. Is a very complete software for statistics analysis.

Cons

You have to know a lot about statistics criteria in order to use this software, because you have a lot of options in one experiment. In some occasions this makes difficult a experiment development.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

May 2018

A faster tool for analysis

Pros

The JMP software is really fast as compared to other existing software in the market like R studio .

Cons

The JMP software does not support many functionalities which are otherwise supported by R, python and so on.

May 2019

Florence from MIT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Good for regression model

Pros

JMP has many features in running regression models, and it is easy to adjust the output graphs.

Cons

The user interface is not very nice, and the outputs graphs are not the best aesthetically.