What are JMP users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using JMP software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.59

44 Reviews

5
29
4
12
3
3
2
0
1
0
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"JMP is easy to use for experienced users, and is relatively easy to learn. It is a very comprehensive statistical software."
  • icon"I loved the JMP scripting language (jsl) that comes with the software that allowed me to automate many things. I also loved the powerful visualization platform (graph builder)."
  • icon"JMP can handle any size of a data set and does a great job in keeping all of your work organized."
  • icon"However, it can be a little overwhelming and difficult to learn at first."
  • icon"The software is loaded with features which new users can find confusing at first. Minitab is more user-friendly in that regard."
  • icon"Variable value designation is a big problem in JMP, the software fails to recognize the type of data when it comes to numeric value."

Jump to:

Browse all JMP Reviews

  • Have you used JMP and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 44 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 44 reviews

User Profile

SHRUTI

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

JMP software for academic purposes

JMP has been a commendable companion for statistical problems whether in class or with research problems. Initially it does take some to learn the stuff with JMP but later that it is worth it!

Pros

It has a huge array of statistical functions that you can perform in minutes and obtain very catchy curves and graphs. It is an excellent tool for academic teaching and research. It has great tutorial links on learning how to use the software for one's specific purposes.

Cons

There is no option for Overlaying Gaussian/Normal plots while it is quite a useful feature. Also, even though you can copy the graphs staright up, you cannot copy the tables as they appear in the software.

Nanditha

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

JMP is a useful software

I have used JMP for design of experiments and statistical analysis during my masters and PhD and the software has been very accurate in my analyses.

Pros

JMP is easy to use for experienced users, and is relatively easy to learn. it is a very comprehensive statistical software.

Cons

although it is easy to use for experienced users, it is slightly challenging to learn (not difficult to learnt though).

Reasons for switching to JMP

Excel was much easier to use, but JMP was more comprehensive and I could use JMP for both statistics and design of experiments.

Irfan

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Highly recommended

I have been using jmp for design and analysis of experiments. I have been using it for statistical process control. It's a very good and simpler statistical tool.

Pros

Custom design for DoE Predictive data analytics Generalized regression Functional data explorer

Cons

Data visualization could be improved. Batch evolution model could be brought into jmp for process control

Reasons for choosing JMP

Jmp has multiple statistical features

Reasons for switching to JMP

Advanced features in jmp

User Profile

Prathamesh

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

A statistical tool for everybody.

Overall JMP is a very good statistical tool in it features and functionalities. For statisticians who are involved in industrial applications, JMP is a option for them. JMP gives full control and flexibility over data manipulation and analysis. Easy to operate method mechanism and drag and drop function through dashboard is a plus. Reports are very interactive and easy to export. Overall, recommended for statisticians.

Pros

JMP comes with lots of feature and functionality. It is very easy to use and requires no prior experience. It is is one of the statistical package software which doesn't require coding skills. Anybody with no experience and training can use JMP with ease. It has a dashboard which is easy to navigate and feature enabled. Data mining, data cleaning, and descriptives statistics can be very easily performed on JMP. The tool accepts data in different formats csv, xlsx, and dat format . For multivariate statistics JMP is a good tool when it comes to analyzing data using linear regression, ANOVA, MANOVA, and logistic regression. The dashboard application makes it very easy for the user to carry out the complex operations for the advance multivariate methods. Drag and drop functionality is very useful when it comes to handling lots of data. The results displayed are very good graphic display, easy to save and copy graphs other documents. The profiler component of the JMP is very useful to share analysis and reports using web interface. New methods like segmentation and conjoint analysis are also available in JMP. Overall JMP is must use tool for statisticians.

Cons

JMP doesn't provide any tools to analyze data using high level simulations. The available simulations are basic simluations which are capable to produce certain amount of data predictions. Variable value designation is a big problem in JMP, the software fails to recognize the type of data when it comes to numeric value. For example, JMP sometimes fails to recognize the difference between number and a string. It is easy to upload an excel sheet in JMP, but the excel add-in takes more time to work, sometimes it even fails to operate. Error and bug fixing requires exhaustive customer support and it is very time consuming. Loading large amount of data is very tedious as it takes lot of time and it crashes very frequently. Other software integrations for JMP are quiet challenging. JMP's parent company SAS follows different set of integration codes because of which the intergration with most large scale software for data access becomes a challenge. Also, JMP is quite expensive for small business, the pricing is suitable for midsize and large companies. Overall, high level simulations, excel add-in, and pricing are the drawbacks of JMP.

Reasons for choosing JMP

JMP brings more functionality on the analysis level. Many different format of files can be uploaded to JMP and the data can be cleaned and structured well for its use. These functionalities are not available on other software packages. Also, operations on JMP are easy compared to other softwares.Overall, JMP was a better fit with respect to the needs at hand.

Riazuddin Nawaz

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

JMP review

Overall experience is good

Pros

Jmp software is very easy to learn and very Intuitive. Some of the best features which I use and play around mostly are Graph builder, various statistical analysis support, SPC tools, PCA and PLS MVDA

Cons

Would have been good if they introduce more advance functionalities like Batch evolution models control chart in MVDA similar to the one's provided in SIMCA tool

Hannah

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Graph Builder function is amazing

My overall user experience in JMP is good because it provides an interactive Graph Builder function, and the graphs from JMP look better than Minitab.

Pros

The "Graph Builder" function in the "Graph" tab is one of my favorite functions in JMP. The user interface of Graph Builder is very intuitive. You can visually choose your Y-axis and X-axis, and you can also group X and Y data directly by dragging your data to the plot. Also, there are Map Shape, Frequency, and Wrap functions on the edges of the interface. At the same time, on the top of the user interface, you can easily switch plot types. This can help me find a proper visualization approach. Currently, I see 15 types of plots available in this Graph Builder, which are very useful in my daily work.

Cons

Comparing to Minitab, I feel it is a little more difficult to learn JMP. I hope JMP could prepare more training materials online. For example, in Minitab, in every functional interface, there is a "help button" that can connect me to Minitab's official website to learn this specific function by going through the examples provided by Minitab. I hope in the future, JMP could also consider this "Help" function.

Reasons for switching to JMP

Because the Graph Builder function is amazing.

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Menu driven statistical software from the prestigous company of SAS

I like this software and have good experience in using it for statistical analysis. As I mentioned before I could recommend this software for industrial use but for academia, there are alternative options that are free or less expensive.

Pros

JMP provides the power of SAS-Stat in an easy menu-driven manner. It has four versions: JMP® Live, JMP® Pro, JMP® Clinical, and JMP® Genomics. The first two versions are for statistical modeling, the third is for pharmaceutical industries (facilitate hard works that previously need coding using SAS-Stat) and the last is for Genomics analysis. JMP live lets to collaborate using a web interface. JMP Pro is an advanced and easy-to-use statistical modeling software that supports novel high-dimensional statistical methods for example Functional Data Analysis which is not provided in other common menu-driven statistical software. Last but not least the JMP provides the advanced adaptive design of experiments which is needed in the optimization of products in industry.

Cons

JMP is expensive so I do not recommend it for academia but I highly recommend it for industrial use where getting fast and accurate result paly a role in the benefit of companies.

User Profile

Siew Kheong

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

One of the most common statistical analysis software that I used frequently.

Overall, I am quite satisfy with JMP but if there is an option to choose which feature to be included in it which can help to reduce the price, the software will become more attractive and competitive compare with similar products.

Pros

It is user friendly and able to integrate to our company database which is quite convenience especially when I want to extract real time data to perform some statistical analysis.

Cons

The layout is sometimes a bit confusing to use if I compare with Minitab. Relatively speaking Minitab has layout and feature which is easier to access compare to JMP.

Reasons for switching to JMP

Company IT policy and direction.

Yuan

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Semiconductors

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

JMP user experience

Pros

JMP Live is a powerful tool when I need to share data and graphs with my colleagues. The graphs plotted by JMP look good compared to other similar software.

Cons

The user interface can be more friendly. Hope there will be free trail for beginners.

Adi

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Semiconductors

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Recommended for data analytics and statistics

Pros

UI Functions Ease of use great for data analysis

Cons

As an excel fan, I needed to learn and get use to use this software, but when you do you can not replace it.

Gary

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

Very powerful but not intuitive

Very capable statistical analysis

Pros

JMP is an extremely powerful statistical subscription based software package. Every analysis that I have wanted to do is there, nothing is missing. They really listen to customer feedback and continuously improving be releasing new versions. You can install and run multiple versions if you like. The graphics looks professional, the calculations are fast, and the statistics are top notch. The makers of JMP (SAS) hold regular seminars all over the USA to teach you how to get more out of it. These seminars are "free" in that the price of admission is included in the annual subscription fee. When we first signed up, a local representative came on site and helped us set it up and showed us everything we needed to know. They are very responsive to emails and phone calls if you cannot figure out how to do something.

Cons

It may be a little too powerful for some users. The menu structure is somewhat complex and the scripting language can be quite intimidating at first, but you can get around fine without scripting anything if you don't want to. It does take time to learn how to use it properly but once you get the hang of it, you'll accept no substitute.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

Best data analysis tool

Good software for novice learners to be excellent in analyzing data. Overall easy to use software

Pros

Can create quick addins to plot graphs in different formats. Scriptable to automate tasks. Options for analyzing the data using different algorithms and properly documented help files to understand the functionality of the algorithms.

Cons

Little expensive for individual user license. So having a data analyst career with only JMP software knowledge will not outside our Work organization

Peter

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

JMP did all that I needed it to do

For the statistical calculations that I was running JMP was more than adequate.

Pros

This was my go to software in university during my Biology degree. This software was relatively easy to learn as a total beginner and was able to easily handle all basic statistical operation that I required (t-tests, ANOVA, Chi-Square etc. etc.). The video training that is available on the JMP website was very useful to mastering the software. Also it is available for Apple and PC to I was able to use the same software on my personal laptop as in the Lab.

Cons

The software license is quite expensive. I was able to use it while I was working in the university lab setting, but since that point I could not afford to continue with JMP. JMP can also be a bit of a resource hog depending on the operation that you are asking it to complete. You will need to ensure that you have adequate RAM if you are working with larger data sets. If you are doing very advanced statistical work something like R might be a better bet.

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

Saving time, saving money

I have solved a lot of business problems with JMP, from reliability studies of new instruments considered for business acquisition or partnership, for optimization of processes in bio-detection technologies, and chemical formulations for bio-assays. I can no longer imagine carrying out scientific investigation without the use of JMP Statistical Software. It has been a blessing to use it.

Pros

I have used JMP for all types of inquiry from popular statistical analysis such as T-Test, analysis of variance to more exciting and very informative design of experiments. The custom design is one of my favorites, the first "go-to". It has saved me a lot time, provided valuable information for the optimization of processes and chemical formulations.

Cons

Discrimination between the ordinary package and the Pro version, and the cost associated with the Pro version.

John

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Fantastic statistical analysis tool

Highly recommend to taking the time to master JMP Statistical Software if there is a real interest in having the best statistical software for your personal or company use.

Pros

The capability to script and automate so many statistical approaches is a powerful tool that allows for users to really delve into repeated datasets. JMP can handle any size of a data set and does a great job in keeping all of your work organized. There are many functionalities that allow users to reorganize the data, customize the analysis of the data, and build really neat graphs to display the data.

Cons

The learning curve to using this software can be large. While scripting requires a different subset of knowledge, using the program takes a lot of practice and understanding of statistical approaches.

Sandeep

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Semiconductors

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

Feature-rich Statistical Analysis package

Pros

I use JMP very frequenctly for DOE, Statistical Analysis, Process Capability Analysis, grapg building etc. Once you understand how to access different menus, it's very intuitive and easy to use. The best part is the sample library and help. The library and help menu pretty much cover all the topics. JMP experts are also very responsive on their websites on answering questions and providing custom scripts. DOE & Graph Builder platforms alone are worth the price. JMP is a leader in creating new DOE techniques and adding state of the art DOE methods to the library.

Cons

The software is loaded with features which new users can find confusing at first. Minitab is more user-friendly in that regard.

Xiang

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

Ease of use, but can be costly

It is a great tool for statistical analysis, and it is a mature software. I think their software instruction/help website can be more detailed though.

Pros

1. It's easy to use if you are just starting your statistical career 2. It can be powerful if you know how to code in it. 3. I can easily find most of the functions I need for my research.

Cons

1. The pro version has a lot more functions than the basic version but it is also costly. 2. It provides a lot of different statistical results after each modeling, however, it was not always clear what each one of them means in the instruction. 3. It was hard for me to adjust 3D graphs in JMP. They are not in high resolution nor pretty.

Reasons for switching to JMP

I use all them for comparism.

Angela

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

JMP Statistical Software is must have in any laboratory environment.

Helps create quality control graphs, as well as calculate any and all data needed in our laboratory.

Pros

The ability to create charts and graphs, compare data, and easily calculate statistics that are pertinent to daily laboratory work, as well as clinical research.

Cons

Not easy to navigate when using for the first time. Need to figure things out or even be trained on how to use it.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Perfect for sharing technical results with any audience

Pros

The ability to quickly analyze multiple variables, create models and generate lovely graphics that tell a story for non-technical audiences is so valuable!

Cons

Some statistical techniques are so easy to use and then misinterpret, but that is an issue with most statistical software!

Abhinav

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Semiconductors

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2017

Better than most other statistical software out there

I have been using this software to trend and keep a tab on the process variables and this software has excellent GUI and thus I can get my data in any form for analysis. It can do calculations for the data entered which also helps a lot.

Abhinav

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Semiconductors

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

JMP is always there for your data processing needs!!!

Overall my experience has been very good. I dont really know too many software out there which can do simultaneous data processing and making them into presentable dashboards.

Pros

I have used this software for more than 5 years now and I have found this to be awesome with large volume data handling. You can make the software spit out graphs, tables and whatever you want it to.

Cons

It is a bit less intuitive and you really need to know the exact commands. A bit of better GUI would have been more useful like one of those word processing softwares.

Kevin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Excellent Statistical Software with a good GUI

JMP allows us to measure the performance of our R&D devices (based on measurable objective outputs) compared to current standard of care devices.

Pros

I have been using this since my graduate school days and it still allows me to perform powerful statistical analyses and create very nice figures.

Cons

The GUI is not intuitive at first, but given a little time it is easily navigable. Other than this, I have noever had an issue with the software.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

Great software for statistical analysis and data visualization.

I have been using JMP for graduate study and research. I highly recommend it for data analysts, researchers and statisticians

Pros

I regularly use JMP for performing T-tests, ANOVA, regression analysis etc. I like the ability to query data and the fact that data can be imported from multiple sources. The graphs, charts and tables produced are excellent for the purpose of using in research papers, reports etc.

Cons

Expensive single user license and the JMP Pro version. Also, it does not offer as much scripting options as R.

Nidhi

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

JMP -quick data sets

It helped a lot for initial level of analysis and helped delivering the solution by making interactive visuals.

Pros

I used it few times for quick analysis of the datasets. It has multiple options of data exploration and visualization

Cons

I feel it is not that user friendly. Nowadays we have AWS, Azure etc. Troubleshooting is sometimes difficult.

User Profile

massimo

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

It makes running simple statistical models easy

Pros

Being the software highly on usability, you can start working with it in minutes. Reading the manual may turn to be needed only if you start using higher functionalities. The default diagnostic plots are well designed.

Cons

You can only do much with JMP, and actually not a lot. JMP is kind of slow with catching up with the latest statistical tools available for regression analysis. I never managed to use in replacement of R of SPSS. At the end, personally, I only use it when a want a quick overview of the data thanks to its good graphics. It is a software useful for "quick" analyses, but it is too simplistic for more serious work.

Showing 1 - 25 of 44 reviews
JMP

JMP

4.59/5 out of 44 reviews
PriceWatch Demo