All JMP Reviews

1-25 of 50 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

SHRUTI

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

JMP software for academic purposes

JMP has been a commendable companion for statistical problems whether in class or with research problems. Initially it does take some to learn the stuff with JMP but later that it is worth it!

PROS

It has a huge array of statistical functions that you can perform in minutes and obtain very catchy curves and graphs. It is an excellent tool for academic teaching and research. It has great tutorial links on learning how to use the software for one's specific purposes.

CONS

There is no option for Overlaying Gaussian/Normal plots while it is quite a useful feature. Also, even though you can copy the graphs staright up, you cannot copy the tables as they appear in the software.

Nanditha

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

JMP is a useful software

I have used JMP for design of experiments and statistical analysis during my masters and PhD and the software has been very accurate in my analyses.

PROS

JMP is easy to use for experienced users, and is relatively easy to learn. it is a very comprehensive statistical software.

CONS

although it is easy to use for experienced users, it is slightly challenging to learn (not difficult to learnt though).

Reasons for switching to JMP

Excel was much easier to use, but JMP was more comprehensive and I could use JMP for both statistics and design of experiments.

User Profile

Prathamesh

Verified reviewer

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

A statistical tool for everybody.

Overall JMP is a very good statistical tool in it features and functionalities. For statisticians who are involved in industrial applications, JMP is a option for them. JMP gives full control and flexibility over data manipulation and analysis. Easy to operate method mechanism and drag and drop function through dashboard is a plus. Reports are very interactive and easy to export. Overall, recommended for statisticians.

PROS

JMP comes with lots of feature and functionality. It is very easy to use and requires no prior experience. It is is one of the statistical package software which doesn't require coding skills. Anybody with no experience and training can use JMP with ease. It has a dashboard which is easy to navigate and feature enabled. Data mining, data cleaning, and descriptives statistics can be very easily performed on JMP. The tool accepts data in different formats csv, xlsx, and dat format . For multivariate statistics JMP is a good tool when it comes to analyzing data using linear regression, ANOVA, MANOVA, and logistic regression. The dashboard application makes it very easy for the user to carry out the complex operations for the advance multivariate methods. Drag and drop functionality is very useful when it comes to handling lots of data. The results displayed are very good graphic display, easy to save and copy graphs other documents. The profiler component of the JMP is very useful to share analysis and reports using web interface. New methods like segmentation and conjoint analysis are also available in JMP. Overall JMP is must use tool for statisticians.

CONS

JMP doesn't provide any tools to analyze data using high level simulations. The available simulations are basic simluations which are capable to produce certain amount of data predictions. Variable value designation is a big problem in JMP, the software fails to recognize the type of data when it comes to numeric value. For example, JMP sometimes fails to recognize the difference between number and a string. It is easy to upload an excel sheet in JMP, but the excel add-in takes more time to work, sometimes it even fails to operate. Error and bug fixing requires exhaustive customer support and it is very time consuming. Loading large amount of data is very tedious as it takes lot of time and it crashes very frequently. Other software integrations for JMP are quiet challenging. JMP's parent company SAS follows different set of integration codes because of which the intergration with most large scale software for data access becomes a challenge. Also, JMP is quite expensive for small business, the pricing is suitable for midsize and large companies. Overall, high level simulations, excel add-in, and pricing are the drawbacks of JMP.

Reason for choosing JMP

JMP brings more functionality on the analysis level. Many different format of files can be uploaded to JMP and the data can be cleaned and structured well for its use. These functionalities are not available on other software packages. Also, operations on JMP are easy compared to other softwares.Overall, JMP was a better fit with respect to the needs at hand.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

All-in-one No-code Platform for Data Analysis!

JMP have helped me in quickly performing exploratory data analysis in my local system on the data to gain insights on customer data and also have allowed me to apply predictive analysis as per the use cases .It have enabled me to quickly deliver presentations from visualizations generated from dashboards.

PROS

1.Easy to use and user friendly UI 2.Allows you easily load your data from database or csv files,etc 3.Support for algorithms for data analysis and modeling 4.Comes with good data manipulation and visualization features 5.The application is installed in your local system, allowing it to be accessed anytime. 6.Good Documentation support

CONS

1.Lesser Features available in free trail had to upgrade to pro version for complete experience 2.Cost is a bit high as compared to other similar tools 3.More data sources support can be added

Reasons for switching to JMP

It allows Faster and efficient data analysis , also support for various predictive analytics and clustering algorithms makes it a good choice to try.

Riazuddin Nawaz

Biotechnology, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

JMP review

Overall experience is good

PROS

Jmp software is very easy to learn and very Intuitive. Some of the best features which I use and play around mostly are Graph builder, various statistical analysis support, SPC tools, PCA and PLS MVDA

CONS

Would have been good if they introduce more advance functionalities like Batch evolution models control chart in MVDA similar to the one's provided in SIMCA tool

Anonymous

1 employee

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Menu driven statistical software from the prestigous company of SAS

I like this software and have good experience in using it for statistical analysis. As I mentioned before I could recommend this software for industrial use but for academia, there are alternative options that are free or less expensive.

PROS

JMP provides the power of SAS-Stat in an easy menu-driven manner. It has four versions: JMP® Live, JMP® Pro, JMP® Clinical, and JMP® Genomics. The first two versions are for statistical modeling, the third is for pharmaceutical industries (facilitate hard works that previously need coding using SAS-Stat) and the last is for Genomics analysis. JMP live lets to collaborate using a web interface. JMP Pro is an advanced and easy-to-use statistical modeling software that supports novel high-dimensional statistical methods for example Functional Data Analysis which is not provided in other common menu-driven statistical software. Last but not least the JMP provides the advanced adaptive design of experiments which is needed in the optimization of products in industry.

CONS

JMP is expensive so I do not recommend it for academia but I highly recommend it for industrial use where getting fast and accurate result paly a role in the benefit of companies.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Great product for statisticians and non-statisiticians

It's a great software to use for new and experienced professionals in the manufacturing and biologics industry.

PROS

I like the functionality and ease of use for both statisticians and non-statisticians. There's point and click and scripting that you can use to make data visualizations, models, and more (such as simulations). I like that you can make your own templates with the use of the scripting language and modal windows for yourself and your clients to use.

CONS

The scripting language is not flexible as R; it is a lot like SAS with not much syntax overlap.

User Profile

Siew Kheong

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

One of the most common statistical analysis software that I used frequently.

Overall, I am quite satisfy with JMP but if there is an option to choose which feature to be included in it which can help to reduce the price, the software will become more attractive and competitive compare with similar products.

PROS

It is user friendly and able to integrate to our company database which is quite convenience especially when I want to extract real time data to perform some statistical analysis.

CONS

The layout is sometimes a bit confusing to use if I compare with Minitab. Relatively speaking Minitab has layout and feature which is easier to access compare to JMP.

Reasons for switching to JMP

Company IT policy and direction.

Shahna

Research, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Easiest data analysis application

PROS

It's easy to use for data analysis and obtaining publishable visualization

CONS

For students, you don't understand what's happening behind the scenes

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Best data analysis tool

Good software for novice learners to be excellent in analyzing data. Overall easy to use software

PROS

Can create quick addins to plot graphs in different formats. Scriptable to automate tasks. Options for analyzing the data using different algorithms and properly documented help files to understand the functionality of the algorithms.

CONS

Little expensive for individual user license. So having a data analyst career with only JMP software knowledge will not outside our Work organization

Hannah

Education Management, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

Graph Builder function is amazing

My overall user experience in JMP is good because it provides an interactive Graph Builder function, and the graphs from JMP look better than Minitab.

PROS

The "Graph Builder" function in the "Graph" tab is one of my favorite functions in JMP. The user interface of Graph Builder is very intuitive. You can visually choose your Y-axis and X-axis, and you can also group X and Y data directly by dragging your data to the plot. Also, there are Map Shape, Frequency, and Wrap functions on the edges of the interface. At the same time, on the top of the user interface, you can easily switch plot types. This can help me find a proper visualization approach. Currently, I see 15 types of plots available in this Graph Builder, which are very useful in my daily work.

CONS

Comparing to Minitab, I feel it is a little more difficult to learn JMP. I hope JMP could prepare more training materials online. For example, in Minitab, in every functional interface, there is a "help button" that can connect me to Minitab's official website to learn this specific function by going through the examples provided by Minitab. I hope in the future, JMP could also consider this "Help" function.

Reasons for switching to JMP

Because the Graph Builder function is amazing.

Gary

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Very powerful but not intuitive

Very capable statistical analysis

PROS

JMP is an extremely powerful statistical subscription based software package. Every analysis that I have wanted to do is there, nothing is missing. They really listen to customer feedback and continuously improving be releasing new versions. You can install and run multiple versions if you like. The graphics looks professional, the calculations are fast, and the statistics are top notch. The makers of JMP (SAS) hold regular seminars all over the USA to teach you how to get more out of it. These seminars are "free" in that the price of admission is included in the annual subscription fee. When we first signed up, a local representative came on site and helped us set it up and showed us everything we needed to know. They are very responsive to emails and phone calls if you cannot figure out how to do something.

CONS

It may be a little too powerful for some users. The menu structure is somewhat complex and the scripting language can be quite intimidating at first, but you can get around fine without scripting anything if you don't want to. It does take time to learn how to use it properly but once you get the hang of it, you'll accept no substitute.

Peter

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

JMP did all that I needed it to do

For the statistical calculations that I was running JMP was more than adequate.

PROS

This was my go to software in university during my Biology degree. This software was relatively easy to learn as a total beginner and was able to easily handle all basic statistical operation that I required (t-tests, ANOVA, Chi-Square etc. etc.). The video training that is available on the JMP website was very useful to mastering the software. Also it is available for Apple and PC to I was able to use the same software on my personal laptop as in the Lab.

CONS

The software license is quite expensive. I was able to use it while I was working in the university lab setting, but since that point I could not afford to continue with JMP. JMP can also be a bit of a resource hog depending on the operation that you are asking it to complete. You will need to ensure that you have adequate RAM if you are working with larger data sets. If you are doing very advanced statistical work something like R might be a better bet.

Irfan

Biotechnology, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

Highly recommended

I have been using jmp for design and analysis of experiments. I have been using it for statistical process control. It's a very good and simpler statistical tool.

PROS

Custom design for DoE Predictive data analytics Generalized regression Functional data explorer

CONS

Data visualization could be improved. Batch evolution model could be brought into jmp for process control

Reason for choosing JMP

Jmp has multiple statistical features

Reasons for switching to JMP

Advanced features in jmp

Anonymous

1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Saving time, saving money

I have solved a lot of business problems with JMP, from reliability studies of new instruments considered for business acquisition or partnership, for optimization of processes in bio-detection technologies, and chemical formulations for bio-assays. I can no longer imagine carrying out scientific investigation without the use of JMP Statistical Software. It has been a blessing to use it.

PROS

I have used JMP for all types of inquiry from popular statistical analysis such as T-Test, analysis of variance to more exciting and very informative design of experiments. The custom design is one of my favorites, the first "go-to". It has saved me a lot time, provided valuable information for the optimization of processes and chemical formulations.

CONS

Discrimination between the ordinary package and the Pro version, and the cost associated with the Pro version.

John

Biotechnology, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Fantastic statistical analysis tool

Highly recommend to taking the time to master JMP Statistical Software if there is a real interest in having the best statistical software for your personal or company use.

PROS

The capability to script and automate so many statistical approaches is a powerful tool that allows for users to really delve into repeated datasets. JMP can handle any size of a data set and does a great job in keeping all of your work organized. There are many functionalities that allow users to reorganize the data, customize the analysis of the data, and build really neat graphs to display the data.

CONS

The learning curve to using this software can be large. While scripting requires a different subset of knowledge, using the program takes a lot of practice and understanding of statistical approaches.

Sandeep

Semiconductors, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Feature-rich Statistical Analysis package

PROS

I use JMP very frequenctly for DOE, Statistical Analysis, Process Capability Analysis, grapg building etc. Once you understand how to access different menus, it's very intuitive and easy to use. The best part is the sample library and help. The library and help menu pretty much cover all the topics. JMP experts are also very responsive on their websites on answering questions and providing custom scripts. DOE & Graph Builder platforms alone are worth the price. JMP is a leader in creating new DOE techniques and adding state of the art DOE methods to the library.

CONS

The software is loaded with features which new users can find confusing at first. Minitab is more user-friendly in that regard.

Anonymous

5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2022

Need to improve many functions within the tool

PROS

The tool has options for data visualization and reporting which is good

CONS

The tool is very slow it gets stuck a lot when coding and the visualisation part can be improved and can be made more easy to use adding drag and drop options

Vendor Response

Thanks for the feedback, we are always looking to improve! If you have specific feedback or examples where you've run into performance issues, or where you think we can add more drag and drop functionality, please share on our JMP Community Wish List at https://community.jmp.com/t5/JMP-Wish-List/idb-p/jmp-wish-list.

Replied August 2022

Xiang

Research, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

Ease of use, but can be costly

It is a great tool for statistical analysis, and it is a mature software. I think their software instruction/help website can be more detailed though.

PROS

1. It's easy to use if you are just starting your statistical career 2. It can be powerful if you know how to code in it. 3. I can easily find most of the functions I need for my research.

CONS

1. The pro version has a lot more functions than the basic version but it is also costly. 2. It provides a lot of different statistical results after each modeling, however, it was not always clear what each one of them means in the instruction. 3. It was hard for me to adjust 3D graphs in JMP. They are not in high resolution nor pretty.

Reasons for switching to JMP

I use all them for comparism.

Angela

Medical Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE