All MATLAB Reviews

1-25 of 2,068 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Katherine

201 - 500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed February 2023

Good mathematical software

User Profile

Mostafa

Verified reviewer

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Matlab is such a great tool for all engineers

A very great experience I recommend it to anyone who deal with engineering and of course curious people

PROS

Great tool for analyzing, sorting, and simulating data. easy to understand and to learn it. In addition, it helps in plots and graphs and simulation scenarios I hope to see it applicable for smart phone as small app

CONS

Great library Easy to learn Easy to use Reliable Great accuracy

Reason for choosing MATLAB

I found myself in love with matlab, it helped me alot it's not hard software to be learning Such a great library for every thing Easy to learn and very reliable and it is accuracy is not comparable.

User Profile

Gianetan

Verified reviewer

Research, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

The Harbinger of Engineering Research

MATLAB has been at the centerstage of our academic activities in general and research in particular. It has helped in solving research problems in the area of image processing. Medical diagnosis of various diseases, object recognition and character recognition are some specific areas in which MATLAB has been really useful. Now I am also researching in the area of data science. I have found it to be surprisingly and pleasantly useful in this area although people are making use of Python and its libraries and R for this purpose.

PROS

The abstraction of best of the cutting edge techniques scaled down to function level makes it powerhouse of research in the field of science and engineering. Input of data in the form of matrices make it intuitive to use and visualization of data makes it an extension of your own mind. It doesn't take much time before it gets you working with the lifeless data transforming it useful insights.

CONS

The black box approach of using functions wherein you are aware what the input and output of function is but not its source code is a double edge sword. Whereas it makes it easy to use the function per se but it also makes it difficult to customize software. The source code of the commonly used functions should be available.

Reason for choosing MATLAB

MATLAB and Simulink has wider reach as far as science and engineering research is concerned as compared to Wolfram Mathematica. The use of matrices and provision of relevant toolboxes makes MATLAB a programmer's delight. MATLAB has a huge following which contributes tremendous amount of knowledge on various forums such as Github and Quora. If you aim some of the best universities one can be confident it shall find a vast acceptance among the teacher community.

Thuffail

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Best for mathematical modelling

Annual and monthly data collected in businesses can be easily analyzed using this software. Machine learning can be used on available data to predict on future trends in market.

PROS

MATLAB is basically a coding software. The coding language is very easy to self learn. However a basic knowledge on mathematics and coding fundamentals is needed. Any person who is familiar in any computer language can grasp the techniques of using MATLAB. Therefore the codes can be debugged easily. This is a software that can be used in mathematical modelling for in engineering fields. In electrical engineering the software can be used to simulate control systems. It also can be used to do complex calculations that need many iterations. It facilitates the extraction of data from excel formats. Most data are stored in excels .Therefore mathematical analysis on data stored in excel can be easily done using this software. Therefore this is one of the best software for data visualization in a mathematical sense. Another advantage is the ability to use image processing and signal analysis tools for practical applications. These processing techniques can be performed on data by coding the fundamental methods of processing. This software can be used in building applications using graphical user interfaces.

CONS

The software can be used for analysis of large data sets .However the time to process or run codes involving large data sets may take few minutes. As a result more powerful computers with improved process speed should be used in some cases to get results from the software. The interface has not been improved in improved versions. The interface can be made more user friendly. Though debugging is comparatively is easy when considering other computer languages, it will be better if it can be further improved.

Mayur

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Matlab review

I was able to complete multiple numerical analytic exercises with Matlab; some of the implementations I completed were the Lagrange Method, Monty Hall Problem, Gauss-Jordan Elimination, and Newton-Raphson Method.

PROS

MATLAB is simple to learn and intuitive for data scientists and mathematicians to utilise.

CONS

Understanding how Matlab functions takes some time, and for new users who wish to begin using this programme, this can be especially challenging. However, with practice and patience, this complexity can be resolved.

User Profile

Yamilka

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

MATLAB Magic: Transformative Learning for Aspiring Software Engineers

In my pursuit of becoming a software engineer, MATLAB served as my guide through intricate mathematical models and algorithms. Its graphical skills improved my comprehension of software ideas that are essential to my academic career by transforming abstract theories into concrete visualisations.

PROS

For students studying software development, MATLAB is a useful tool. Its vast function library and simple syntax enable quick algorithm building and experimentation. The visualisation tools are excellent and aid in the understanding of difficult ideas. MATLAB is more than just a simple coding environment because to its seamless integration of modelling and simulation tools.

CONS

While MATLAB provides a wide range of tools, students on a tight budget may find the cost of the licence to be a drawback. Collaboration may also be limited by the fact that MATLAB scripts might not be as portable as programmes written in other languages. Because of its various features, some users could find the UI confusing.

Reasons for switching to MATLAB

I was just trying other softwares with similar caracteristics, to make recomendations to my work department for whenever they need someone with this type of functions, so they can choose wich one adjusts better to the necesities of each project.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

The all in one science tool bundle

PROS

This tool help me in all of my engineering tasks, mathematics tasks, post-processing tasks, and analysis task. It is a very useful tool for Engineers. All tasks are done with MATLAB with ease. A good wide range of libraries, packages and toolboxes. Highly versatile engineering and math tool. too much flexibility in doing tasks of engineering. It makes all of your math equation solution much easier.

CONS

It lacks proper dark mode. It is a highly used tool and still doesn't have a dark theme. It is costly for individuals if you are not an educator. With every updates coming every year, processing requirements are becoming more and more demanding and tool is becoming heavy on your computer.

Reasons for switching to MATLAB

Versatility and availability of educator license

SHAIK

Automotive, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Positives and Negatives

Very good for beginners for learning analysis software, and have best features for simulation

PROS

Very good software, easy to use and solves the difficult mathematical models

CONS

Software is little lag, and consumes more power( battery)

Reasons for switching to MATLAB

Because ansys have better features than the MATLAB

User Profile

Alex

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Amazing tool once you get to know it

I administer this at work and use it personally. So far it has been great

PROS

So many features! This tool can do anything once you learn how to use it. I recommend some sort of class to teach you how to use it

CONS

severe learning curve especially if you haven't used any modeling software ever. Can be a bit intimidating at first

Reason for choosing MATLAB

Matlab is used in conjunction with the other products. Some users prefer the other.

User Profile

Pedro

Verified reviewer

Environmental Services, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Powerful tool for IA applications and scientific research

I started using MATLAB as a student then I wrote some papers using MATLAB NNTOOL and it generated some great results. As a professional I continue to use MATLAB, for me it’s the best software for programing and engineering. The neural network tools are very useful.

PROS

You can do anything with MATLAB's tools and material/tutorials online.

CONS

The price is still considerably high for less developed countries.

Reason for choosing MATLAB

I'm used to MATLAB interface and it's easier for me overall.

Sifiso

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

The Best Software to use

PROS

Analyzing data, developing algorithms and verifying embedded systems

CONS

There is nothing I dislike about the software it has made my working easier

Reason for choosing MATLAB

Other softwares were not user friendly and costly

Muhammad

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

Matlab: The multi-paradigm computing software tool

Matlab is an extremely powerful system modelling tool and development environment. Students and professionals that work in the engineering and science backgrounds will find this software invaluable.

PROS

The software allows users to perform complex computations (linear algebra, differential equations, integration transforms etc), system modelling, and develop programmed algorithms that can be executed and simulated. I used this software from my undergraduate days, whilst studying electronic engineering, to compute state space models of control systems and visually analyse control loops from their transfer functions using Matlab's programming script feature and graphing capabilities. I also used it to quickly develop, simulate (using the Simulink toolbox add-on), graphically observe and fine tune the performance of a PID controller which was much easier and quicker than manually calculating and plotting the solutions. Numerous mathematical processes that usually require multiple steps can be executed by a single prebuilt command on Matlab, e.g the [x , y] = cart2pol(theta, r) command converts Cartesian co-ordinates into polar co-ordinates; this greatly simplifies the programming and mathematical input required by the user. Since its latest update (R2019a), Matlab is fully capable of developing, simulating and training deep neural networks, autonomous systems and a lot more.

CONS

Due to its extensive capabilities, this software can be complicated and over whelming for first time users. The complexity also inflates the memory requirements of the software. The syntax, notation and structure to input commands requires some time to get used to. Sometimes, when trying to achieve certain calculations, it leads to error messages that require some time to understand and correct. In fact, users need to understand the basic rules of linear algebra first (matrix multiplication, addition etc) in order to perform calculations because this program treats all numerical inputs as vectors/matrices. Users will also need to have some programming capabilities in order to fully utilize the computational capabilities of this software, which is similar in structure to C programming, using the propriety programming language that is developed by MathWorks.

Ashkan

Civil Engineering, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Essential for research

I am a research assistant and I use MATLAB for different purposes. In fact, I have used MATLAB extensively for the last 4 years. MATLAB is one of the pioneers in mathematical programming, and one of the first things every engineer needs to learn. Researchers all over the world use MATLAB to solve mathematically complex problems and publish journal articles every day. Like any other programming language, there is a learning curve for MATLAB, but as someone who has tried different programming languages, I believe that MATLAB is one of the easiest yet most powerful coding languages. The great experience of the MathWorks team has made MATLAB almost perfect; however, as recently other programming languages are getting more popular, MATLAB needs to catch up with them.

PROS

MATLAB has a long list of useful commands. With these commands, one can edit text, solve complicated math problems, process images, and many more applications. Basically, any problem that is in some way related to numbers can be implemented in MATLAB. There are several useful built-in apps and toolboxes, such as signal processing, machine learning, optimization, etc. These built-in toolboxes are very handy and easy to use. MATLAB has one of the most comprehensive and helpful documentation I have ever seen. For any command available in MATLAB, you can find at least one example that shows every aspect of using that command. Even if you cannot find the answer to any of your issues, there are many people on the internet that can help you. As MATLAB has been around for a long time, there is a great community of MATLAB users all over the world. MathWorks has provided an official forum and it is called MATLAB central. In this platform, users can ask their questions and problems and they can share codes in the “File Exchange” section. It is almost impossible to face an issue and not finding the answer in MATLAB central. One of the good points about using MATLAB is that it frequently gets updated. These updates do not change the way user interacts with the software, and that is another positive point, because after all these years I am used to the user interface.

CONS

One of the downsides of MATLAB compared to other available coding platforms is its outdated code editor. There are many features that can be added to the editor section, such as the column text editor, and different themes. I personally love my workspace to be dark, and one of the first things I try to change in every programming platform is its theme. Although there are some personalization options available, they are far from being perfect and customizable. Collaboration or sharing the codes with other users seems to be a must nowadays, as most of the programming platforms provide this feature. Additionally, I believe the loading time of MATLAB should be improved.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

MATLAB, One Solution to all Engineering and Mathematical problems.

My overall experience with MATLAB is so good. It has so many good points that If I would highlight each and every point so the maximum word limit would cross So in a nutshell If someone wants one solution to all Engineering and Mathematical problem he/she should must try and install this software to feel the peace in life as you don't need to have so many software for different tasks to perform, MATLAB is there to help you in all fields.

PROS

When I just entered University, In the very first semester I was introduced to this software by my instructor. Initially, I learnt to apply basic mathematical formulas like taking derivatives, solving matrices etc but then almost in each semester I used this software in one way or another that's why I used to call MATLAB, one solution to all Engineering and Mathematical problems. We can solve all kind of mathematical problems either integration, differentiation etc on MATLAB. It also provides its user to simulate electrical, mechanical etc system on it. This software is verified and because of its high quality, we can simulate our designed projects on it and once that design project provides the desired output on MATLAB, then that projects implementation on hardware and the output will not deviate from the outputs we have gotten on MATLAB that's why often students use MATLAB for their final year projects. Besides, its other features it also provides the GUI functionality which I have incorporated in several projects. The mathematical techniques like Fourier series and Laplace transform etc, MATLAB provides the ease to implement it and get the infinite plotted results and better interpret the results by visualizing the data, not only two dimensional but also three-dimensional graphs can also be plotted on MATLAB. Above all, it provides the facility of coding and producing the desired result. So I said rightly it is one Solution to all Engineering and Mathematical Problems.

CONS

Overall the performance of MATLAB is quite good, it user friendly but the only problem which I have encountered is the installation process. As it is a bulky software so its installation requires approximately two to three hours of yours and have to follow the guideline which is provided in the software as in read me files etc. to easily install this software so this is the main task. Once You have Installed the software now you are good to go to enjoy its immense features.

Akhil

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Simple review of MATLAB

This is a beast programming, loaded with essential capacities and helpful bundles. Assuming that you're an architect or are contemplating to become one, you've very likely known about it somewhere around once. I've utilized it to recreate complex frameworks, to address incomplete differential conditions, direct frameworks and non straight conditions. I've involved it for straightforward coding reason and significantly more. In spite of the fact that it's precarious when you initially begin utilizing Matlab and it's partners, when you comprehend or glance through the gatherings it's going great. Remember whether you anticipate doing escalated examination/estimations that is all conceivable with Matlab which has been incredibly helpful for me yet you will require a decent PC.

PROS

Matlab has many apparatuses and libraries that permit the client to perform practices in view of mathematical investigation. Matlab is easy to understand and clean point of interaction apparatus that assists me with the entirety of my scholar and office work. MATLAB is essentially a coding programming. The coding language is exceptionally simple to self learn. Anyway an essential information on math and coding basics is required. Any individual who is recognizable in any programming language can get a handle on the methods of utilizing MATLAB. In this manner the codes can be fixed without any problem. This is a product that can be utilized in numerical displaying for in designing fields. In electrical designing the product can be utilized to mimic control frameworks. It additionally can be utilized to do complex computations that need numerous cycles. It works with the extraction of information from dominate designs. Most information are put away in dominates

CONS

However it has a clean and easy to use interface, it isn't fledgling agreeable. Any individual who needs to utilize it has some specialized information prior to utilizing it. Assuming you're utilizing matlab for diagramming information I see that the coding and execution of stylistics parts somewhat more convoluted than say utilizing Prism or R. At times text foundation looks dated and attempting to transform it takes much longer than it ought to. A truly decent component is the 3D charts that are delivered through Matlab however unfortunately they are quite difficult to move to reports and distributions except if you catch the diagram at a particular point or utilize a screen recording of turning the 3D diagram for show purposes.

Carlos

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

It is an excellent dynamic software to make programs and graphs of simple and complex calculations.

the benefits with matlab has been very satisfactory because through this software I managed to perform four regression programs: Linear Regression (least squares methods), Nonlinear Regression (Newton and Rhapson, Ascending Steps and Marquart). This program served to present the work of promotion in the university, which consisted in taking the data of a researcher on the behavior of the size of the fish with respect to the time and to estimate the parameters of the mathematical model exponential of Von Bertalaffi to find the mathematical expression that calculates the length of a fish. The program made three functional representations: the analytical, the tabular and the graphical. With this program I was able to manipulate the data, change colors, thicknesses of the lines, place the main title and title to the axes, in addition, the results could be exported to the word processor for the final report. This program has also provided me with tools for teaching calculus with analytical geometry (subject of functions), differential and integral calculus, with the possibility of manipulating the results and visualizing their changes when changes are made in the functional analytical representation. With this strategy the student has a greater possibility to reflect on the representations of the functions and their results. When I had difficulties to perform a complex calculation or use advanced programs I was supported by the documentation included in the help window, where there is a great variety of programming examples and software commands.

PROS

It is a language of high level of technical computing that facilitates simple and complex numerical calculations, which also allows the graphic visualization in 3D and 2D of them. It has a wide application in scientific studies. Integrates numerical analysis and matrix calculation where problems are expressed in the same way. It has specialized programs called toolboxes highlighting in the area of teaching basic mathematics, financial mathematics, statistics, simulation of dynamic systems, among others. It is an ideal software to develop advanced control systems in the engineering area. Allows the control of fonts, Greek letters, symbols, subscripts and superscripts. Make presentations with animation, with supports of colors as it is desired by the user. It allows you to make impressions both of the created program, the calculation made, of the 2D and 3D graphics, results table. It allows to export and import images, graphs, tables and mathematical expressions. You can enter and extract data from the fmatlab quickly. It has a wide range of linear algebra functions, specialized mathematical functions, logical and arithmetic operators, elementary matrices and vector manipulation, special matrices, basic statistics and data analysis, polynomials and interpolation. It has a help folder for software operation through a manual that allows it to be used by all types of beginner users or not.

CONS

The software despite having a documentation of its commands: description, characteristics and access, it is necessary for the user to understand that to create a program and can be manipulated: change data, formulas, presentation of results, fix badly scheduled lines , you must first execute the tutorm command to save the file where you want it, and then return to the saved file and execute other commands, this process requires a lot of practice and for some users it is complicated, therefore they stop using it. have extensive knowledge of the integrals and their methods to solve.

User Profile

Elijah

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

A powerful analysis and simulation tool.

MATLAB is highly versatile and can be used in a wide variety of applications, from research and development to production and automation. MATLAB is capable of handling large data sets and performing complex numerical and statistical analyses, making it an essential tool for any company that needs to process large amounts of information. Additionally, the ability to simulate complex systems in MATLAB is a great advantage for any company that needs to test designs before taking them to production.

PROS

As an automation engineer, I have been using MATLAB in my company for several years and can say that it is a powerful tool for analysis and simulation. One of the things I like best about MATLAB is its ease of use. The graphical user interface is intuitive and easy to learn, making the learning curve quite fast. Also, the syntax of the programming language is simple and clear, making it easy to write code.

CONS

One of the disadvantages of MATLAB is its cost. MATLAB is commercial software, and licenses can be expensive, especially for smaller companies. However, I think the price is worth it considering the benefits it offers.

Mariana

Medical Devices, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE