All Matomo Reviews

1-25 of 57 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Cort Tafoya

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed June 2023

Matomo is a complete web tracking solution

User Profile

Simon

Verified reviewer

Media Production, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

When data is the name of the game, privacy is everything; enter, Matomo!

- Keeping data private. - Not letting other analytics' companies follow the consumer around. - Letting people know that their data will never be sold to a 3rd party and that their data is theirs

PROS

The very fact that analytics can be ethical was the very thing that attracted me towards Matomo. Users coming to your site and trusting you to keep the transaction between yourselves shouldn't be worried about a third party collecting more data on you. The fact that Matomo respects peoples' privacy and wilfully doesn't track someone if they don't want to be tracked, that..., that it what makes them the best. Any data that is collected about a person's behaviour on our website never leaves our server, is not sold to a 3rd party and becomes no one else's business. This is why I personally love Matomo - to be able to host it on your own server, keep all that data from BIG BROTHER and make sure the customer is treated as a customer and not a product!

CONS

There are no dislikes and I'm not even sucking up. In the past, I've had to deal with a lot of products not working the way they were intended to work, breaking down in the middle of something, not providing accurate information. After using Matomo for over 3 years, there simply is nothing to dislike about it. Any dislike that arises would be purely because of bad hosting or bad configuration.

Reason for choosing Matomo

Privacy. The one and only reason. Plus, I did not have transparent data when I needed it most.

Nick

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Awesome Open Source and Privacy-Conscious Alternative to Google Analytics

Overall, Matomo is my favorite analytics platform. It does everything that myself and my clients need. The platform has been around a long time (formerly Piwik) and has proven to be very reliable. Using the API to create custom reports is also easy and super useful.

PROS

Matomo is open source and self-hosted. It's easy to setup, manage, and implement tracking. It includes many of the advanced features you'd expect in an analytics platform. The best part is that you're in control of your data and privacy.

CONS

There are a lot of premium features that are pretty expensive. I wish some of these were open source, standard features of the software, but I guess developers have to eat!

Reason for choosing Matomo

I chose Matomo because it does everything I need, it's open source, self-hosted, whitelabeled, and cost-effective.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

With Matomo, you don't really need Google Analytics for basic website tracking purposes. Matomo is a platform that gives you the option to respect users' privacy. I prefer not to send all of my clients' data to a third-party company that is doing who knows what with it.

Isak

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

A comprehensive and customizable self hosted web analytics platform

Matomo is a comprehensive and customizable web analytics platform that offers a wide range of tools and features for tracking and analyzing website traffic. One of the benefits of Matomo is that it can be self-hosted, which gives us more control over their data and how it is collected and stored. However, the interface feels cluttered and a bit overwhelming, with a large number of options and settings to navigate. This can make it more difficult for users who are new to web analytics or who prefer a more streamlined interface. Despite this, Matomo's advanced features and ability to be customized to specific needs make it a powerful tool for those who are willing to invest the time to learn it.

PROS

Matomo is a feature-rich web analytics platform that provides a wide range of tools and features for tracking and analyzing website traffic. It offers a high level of customization. Matomo is an open-source platform, which means that it is freely available and can be self hosted and modified/extended.

CONS

Matomo may have a steeper learning curve than some other web analytics platforms. The interface feels cluttered and a bit overwhelming, with a large number of options and settings to navigate.

Ricardo

Banking, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Excellent cost-benefit ratio

PROS

We've been using it since 2019 and it's a replacement for our Google Search Appliance (GSA). Matomo behaved as a quality alternative for content search on our intranet and has met our expectations with an excellent cost-benefit ratio and ease of use. We have no hesitation in recommending it to other users.

CONS

If a page had very little access, it is difficult to find its data in the reports, as it only displays the most accessed.

Reason for choosing Matomo

Excellent cost-benefit ratio and very similar reports.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

GSA was discontinued.

Renick

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Good replacement for Google Analytics

We’re using it since early Piwik days. Never stopped working.

PROS

Be GDPR compliant with having visitors activity metrics. Very needed for improving relevant content. Can be hosted on same server as the clients project, and just works.

CONS

UI is a bit outdated atm. Can be improved, but works.

Reason for choosing Matomo

Can be On premise.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

GDPR forced us to switch. But the switch was good.

Paul

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Ethical webtracking made easy

I can definetly recommened Matomo, it is a great way to monitor your sites while being ethical.

PROS

I use both Matomo and Google Analytics side-by-side and I'm really impressed how great Matomo works: Once installed on a company-owned server the software works great and is intuitive - and the data protection is not as big of a problem if you host (and own by that matter) the data on your own server.

CONS

I had a few problems running Matomo in a container and setting up a reverse proxy, but after those inital problems everything worked flawlessly.

Reason for choosing Matomo

Using both Google Analytics and Matomo, Matomo for projects with a tight data protection policy.

Boris

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

An excellent telemetry tool

PROS

I really appreciated the ease of installation, both as a solution and also the deployment on my sites. If you have already used competing solutions, the operation is intuitive.

CONS

The community is smaller than for some other solutions, so there are far fewer articles to explain how to take full advantage of the tool. That being said, the existing articles are well written and comprehensive.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

French National Commission on Informatics and Liberty recommends Matomo as the only analytis tool that does not require cookie consent.

Klaus

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Easy and your data is safe

We use it for onlinestatistiks for our website and also for our customers.

PROS

Self-hosting is very simple and comfortable, the web-updater works very fast and all the time.

CONS

As there is not as much money behind it as in Google Analytics its not for all the things you can do with Analytics but for daily business all you need is there. For sure it's not compatible to use with other Google Products.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

Beause our data and the data of our customers should stay with us

User Profile

Ali

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Best free open source websites and apps users analytics system.

I have been using Matomo for about 8 or 9 years it has always been stable and secure, i always update it regularly without any issues. and it has always been reliable.

PROS

Matomo is the best alternative to Google analytics and other web traffic monitoring system. Matomo is the best choice if you choose to own your website visitors analytical data, Other proprietary services like Google analytics own your data you never know what they may do with that data or what they may use it for. that's why i always recommend Matomo over any other analytics system.

CONS

I don't think there is any significant cons that Matomo has.

Reason for choosing Matomo

Matomo is the best free open source analytical system, very stable and has been around for a long time.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

Matomo is free open source and i can hosted on my own server which always to have full control over the analytical data collected, unlike Google Analytics which hosted by Google and there is no guarantee who may have access to the analytical data collected or what it may be used for.

User Profile

James

Verified reviewer

Aviation & Aerospace, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2020

Very good software for analytics

Good experience, you are provided with the code easily and open source, you have all the necessary tools to take advantage of your analytics.

PROS

Take control of your analytics and install this open source projects that offers tons of free software to use and extra modules to work with, easily affordable for any business it improves your funnel, and much more features and heatmaps you can easily implement in-house.

CONS

The community is getting bigger, but at the moment you need to know what you install in your server and see all the code, better safe

User Profile

Severin

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Gute Google Analytics Alternative

Einfach zu bediendene Website-Statistik, die alle Features hat, welche man von anderen Tools wie Google Analytics kennt.

PROS

Das Setup von Matomo ist sehr einfach. In der Cloud-Variante bietet Matomo großartige integrierte Tools, um die Benutzerfreundlichkeit detaillierter zu verstehen, wie Heatmaps und Splittests. Besonders hervorzuheben ist die Möglichkeit, Matomo ohne Cookies und anonym einzurichten, damit das Tool DSGVO-konform und ohne Nutzerinnen zu nerven, implementiert werden kann. Auch der Google Analytics-Import funktioniert gut, wobei man dafür einen Google API Key erstellen (das ist bei Google recht umständlich) und einige Wochen Geduld mitbringen muss, bis alle Daten importiert sind, da die API von den Abfragen begrenzt ist. Das Whitelabel-Feature ist auch ganz nett.

CONS

Wir haben bei einem Kunden eine Migration von der selbstgehosteten Matomo-Lösung auf die Cloud geplant und der Termin wurde seitens Matomo nicht eingehalten. Wir wurden erst Tage später darüber informiert. Der Support war zwar bemüht, hat aber nicht mitgedacht, dass dadurch eine Datenlücke entsteht und wir durch die Woche Verzögerung Informationen verlieren. Eine Zusammenführung mit den Interims-Daten war nicht möglich. Alles in allem sehr ärgerlich, aber ich hoffe, dass es eine Ausnahme ist.

Reason for choosing Matomo

Keine andere Statistik ist aus DSGVO- und Marketing-Sicht besser

Reasons for switching to Matomo

Google Analytics ist aus DSGVO-Sicht riskant und der Wechsel von Universal Analytics auf Google Analytics 4 mehr als unausgereift: Es gibt keinen Datenimport und GA4 hat noch viele Schwachstellen. Man kann sich also nicht mehr auf Google verlassen.

Daniel

Furniture, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Great for GDPR-compliant web analytics

We do web analysis, conversion tracking and use heatmaps - to the extent that our users permit us to. And that is sufficient to run our website efficiently.

PROS

If you host the software it's not only free but all the data is on your server, and you don't need to worry what Company X is doing with it. Even as a hosted solution, it's a German company and the servers are in Germany, so that's good news for GDPR compliance. Offers all you need for web analytics and respects users' data protection rights.

CONS

It's not quite as smooth to set up as Google Analytics. Google does it all for you - but at a price, and that is the privacy of your website users. (My personal opinion.) The price you pay with Matomo is that you have to do the setup, and there can be a learning curve. I see that as a service I do for our customers.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

Data privacy

Nina

Arts and Crafts, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

La possibilité de self-host est parfaite

Matomo nous a permis d'utiliser une solutions RGPD friendly, sans avoir à forcément devoir demander des cookies à nos utilisateurs qui seraient traités en dehors de l'Europe. La possibilité d'auto héberger le produit a été notre décision première pour l'utilisation

PROS

Le logiciel est open source et disponible gratuitement en hébergement sur son propre serveur. Il est RGPD friendly et fonctionne aussi bien que certains concurrents !

CONS

L'interface un peu complexe à utiliser au début

Reason for choosing Matomo

La possibilité de l'auto héberger

User Profile

Gino

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Analisi minuziosa con un occhio alla privacy

Utilizzo MATOMO con installazione su hosting privato senza sfruttare i piani a pagamento proposti. In certi casi mi limito all'utilizzo dell'ottimo plugin (per Wordpress) con risultati ottimali. Il plugin è particolarmente utile per limitare al minimo l'impatto con il GDPR per anonimizzazione totale e compatibilità con altri plugin per la gestione dei cookie rende il lavoro sicuro e facile.

PROS

Di base la gratuità del prodotto è la carta vincente. Già con l'installazione base è possibile avere i dati più importanti a portata di mano. Le funzionalità a pagamento aggiuntive permettono di raggiungere livelli di analisi estremamente sofisticati, a mio parere, di gran lunga superiori alla concorrenza.

CONS

In certi casi, l'installazione e manutenzione di Matomo potrebbero risultare un po' complicati per gli utilizzatori meno ferrati con piattaforme CSM.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

Costi, gestione privacy e integrazione totale con Wordpress

Till

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2020

If you need a analytics tool that keeps all data in house

Overall I like to work with matomo. We own the data and the handling is easy enough. There is still some slack for approvement, but I guess the need for a secure analytics tool while rise in future and so matomo will have more resources to improve as well. Will see :)

PROS

I love the fact that we can self host matomo and don't have to worry about our analytics data leaving the EU.

CONS

It's still not as good as google analytics. You have to work a lot with segments to get the data you want. The Matomo Tag manager ist alright but is less intuitiv to handle then the google tag manager. But after a while I got used to it.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

Data security

User Profile

Power

Verified reviewer

Sports, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2023

alternative open-source à Google Analytics

Matomo permet de suivre les activités des visiteurs sur l'ensemble d'un domaine, y compris les sous-domaines. Il permet d'obtenir une vue d'ensemble de toutes les interactions des visiteurs avec notre site web et cela gratuitement

PROS

Matomo propose également des fonctionnalités avancées telles que le suivi des conversions, le suivi des événements, le suivi des objectifs et le suivi des campagnes publicitaires, ainsi qu'une personnalisation plus poussée de l'interface utilisateur.

CONS

Matomo peut nécessiter une installation et une configuration plus complexes que Google Analytics, et peut nécessiter un certain niveau de compétence technique.

Reason for choosing Matomo

car il est open source

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Efficient software

Thanks to Matomo, we know how to improve the traffic on our websites. It helps us refine your communication with potential customers.

PROS

It does the job in the simplest way I've ever seen. GDPR compliancy by design allows a perfect comprehension of what happens when on your different websites.

CONS

There's lots of different indicators to understand.

Reason for choosing Matomo

Open-source and more efficient

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

Web analysis and monitoring at the highest level

If you don't want to use another well-known monitoring tool or place particular value on the server location, etc., Matomo is the right choice for you.

PROS

What convinced us the most at that time was the possibility to analyse our website and our campaigns in a privacy-compliant way. The simple setup of the platform has no influence on the quality of the data.

CONS

The user-friendliness is confirmed again and again when we present with Matomo and colleagues immediately know which points have to be clicked on to view the required data. What we are still missing is the simple linking option with Google Ads and other PPC ad providers.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

German data protection.

Natan

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services