User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(20)

20

4 stars

(5)

5

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Matomo gives you great inside into your unique visitors and their characteristics. It is great to see, how long visitors remain on the side and what actions they take."

  • "I love the fact that we can self host matomo and don't have to worry about our analytics data leaving the EU."

  • "I have been using Matomo since it was called Piwik. They have helped us do everything that we used to do with Google in-house which sharing our customer data with Google."

  • Cons

  • "Have to learn on how to install it (but so easy)"

  • "Not much but would be nice of they can improve some of the db queries."

  • "With the number of metrics the software tends to slow down. Especially if multiple user try to evaluate different campaigns you can notice the strain on the hardware."

Browse Matomo Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -24 of 26 results

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Farshad from Information Technology and Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Google Analytics Redefined

Great I love it and totally recommend it.

Pros

1. You get to own your data 2. It's more clear and better UX 3. It's open source and you can host it on your own server 4. Since you own your data, you can use it for data mining and custom faster data processing

Cons

Nothing on my mind right now, I can say more plugins can be developed

September 2019

Nick from Cognize LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Awesome Open Source and Privacy-Conscious Alternative to Google Analytics

Overall, Matomo is my favorite analytics platform. It does everything that myself and my clients need. The platform has been around a long time (formerly Piwik) and has proven to be very reliable. Using the API to create custom reports is also easy and super useful.

Pros

Matomo is open source and self-hosted. It's easy to setup, manage, and implement tracking. It includes many of the advanced features you'd expect in an analytics platform. The best part is that you're in control of your data and privacy.

Cons

There are a lot of premium features that are pretty expensive. I wish some of these were open source, standard features of the software, but I guess developers have to eat!

Reasons for Choosing Matomo

I chose Matomo because it does everything I need, it's open source, self-hosted, whitelabeled, and cost-effective.

Reasons for Switching to Matomo

With Matomo, you don't really need Google Analytics for basic website tracking purposes. Matomo is a platform that gives you the option to respect users' privacy. I prefer not to send all of my clients' data to a third-party company that is doing who knows what with it.

June 2020

User Profile Picture

Henry from FTF - facket för försäkring och finans

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2020

Easy to use

Pros

Easy to use and easy to learn. Its got everything you need out of the box.

Cons

Google won't release their serch data to Matomo.

April 2021

Nabil from Arkangel

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Better than Google Analytics

Pros

Respect data privacy and it's free of charge

Cons

In fact it's difficult to find cons. in matomo :-(

October 2019

Boris from Several websites

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

An excellent telemetry tool

Pros

I really appreciated the ease of installation, both as a solution and also the deployment on my sites. If you have already used competing solutions, the operation is intuitive.

Cons

The community is smaller than for some other solutions, so there are far fewer articles to explain how to take full advantage of the tool. That being said, the existing articles are well written and comprehensive.

Reasons for Switching to Matomo

French National Commission on Informatics and Liberty recommends Matomo as the only analytis tool that does not require cookie consent.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

James from Airbus

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Very good software for analytics

Good experience, you are provided with the code easily and open source, you have all the necessary tools to take advantage of your analytics.

Pros

Take control of your analytics and install this open source projects that offers tons of free software to use and extra modules to work with, easily affordable for any business it improves your funnel, and much more features and heatmaps you can easily implement in-house.

Cons

The community is getting bigger, but at the moment you need to know what you install in your server and see all the code, better safe

August 2020

Till from Skribble

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

If you need a analytics tool that keeps all data in house

Overall I like to work with matomo. We own the data and the handling is easy enough. There is still some slack for approvement, but I guess the need for a secure analytics tool while rise in future and so matomo will have more resources to improve as well. Will see :)

Pros

I love the fact that we can self host matomo and don't have to worry about our analytics data leaving the EU.

Cons

It's still not as good as google analytics. You have to work a lot with segments to get the data you want. The Matomo Tag manager ist alright but is less intuitiv to handle then the google tag manager. But after a while I got used to it.

Reasons for Switching to Matomo

Data security

October 2020

Kévin from VivaWeb

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Real alternative to Google Analytics and rGP compliant

8 years user and admin of my own Matomo/Piwik server, so satisfied in replacement of GA

Pros

Total control on datas RGPD compliant Best dashboard, more clear than GA

Cons

Have to learn on how to install it (but so easy)

Reasons for Switching to Matomo

Respect users privacy

January 2020

User Profile Picture

David A. from Novohit

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

The alternative for in-house / intranet analytics

Pros

We chose Piwik (Matomo) to track in-house analytics and be independent to other analytics tools.

Cons

On the 5+ years, haven't encountered a con.

Reasons for Choosing Matomo

Most feature complete and API complete

October 2020

jon from jhn

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

complete and user friendly

Pros

easy and simple but yet enough informations

Cons

sometimes hard to find some options, the report could have more options

July 2019

Marvin from Crazy Marvin

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Awesome analytics for self-hosters

Matomo offers a simple setup, a huge amount of features, steady updates and respects the privacy of my users. I really love Matomo.

Pros

- Free to host on-premise - Many hosting companies offer a 1-click-installation for Matomo - Easy & straightforward setup - Comprehensive UX - Managed paid plan for people that do not wish to host themselves

Cons

- Integration with Google, Facebook & Bing Ads not ready yet (but will be released quite soon)

October 2019

Misael from ElmMac LLC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

The Best Web Analytics

Pros

I found out About Matomo 6 years formerly known as pikiwik and damn i loved it, it was giving and still giving me exact geotargeted data results and today its matomo , i love the new edits out, realtime data reports. Other than that, Matomo is a very good iff not better alternative to google's analytics and the rep. thanx

Cons

Note: try working on displaying keywords used by site visitors to our sites in search engine results. that functions is on and off. it needs some work.

March 2019

Krzysztof from KLARSAN

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

The best Google Analytics alternative

Pros

This is definitely the best alternative for Google Analytics. I've been using it for a long time and more frequently than mentioned Google Analytics. It's not MA or GA to be used. I use them both. They give me different type of data. I totally recommend it.

Cons

Database swells as more data come. This is normal, but be aware.

September 2019

Henry from Forena

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Privacy

Pros

The main advantage of Matomo is the protection of user data.

Cons

Not getting key words from Google searches.

April 2019

Lav from Internet company

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Best Analytics Tool

Pros

I have been using Matomo since it was called Piwik. They have helped us do everything that we used to do with Google in-house which sharing our customer data with Google.

Cons

Not much but would be nice of they can improve some of the db queries.

October 2019

Dave from Consultant

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Your data is yours

Pros

If you've used Google Analytics (who hasn't at this point) the process for integrating Matomo into your site and getting reports will seem very familiar. That makes it easy to move off of GA. Since you are hosting the backend, you control who has access to the data and no third party can use it.

Cons

The reporting capability is a bit weak, but you can fully export the data in order to use anything you want, anything from Tableau to Excel. Using this with a non-traditional web page such as a React app will require more work to either understand Matomo's behavior and/or generate custom events instead, but this is also true for GA.

Reasons for Switching to Matomo

Didn't want data going to a third party.

December 2019

Kevin Dominik from Univention North America, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Great Open Source Software

Using Matomo, then piwik, we were able to greatly improve the responsiveness of the website and react to the user experience. It also helps in defining KPIs for our Marketing.

Pros

Matomo gives you great inside into your unique visitors and their characteristics. It is great to see, how long visitors remain on the side and what actions they take.

Cons

With the number of metrics the software tends to slow down. Especially if multiple user try to evaluate different campaigns you can notice the strain on the hardware.

July 2019

Magnus from helander.stream

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Your own GA - self hosted, reliable and extremely powerful

Pros

Ease of set-up, features & options, frequent updates which doesn't break things, fully featured tag manager, multi-site, speed of report generations.

Cons

It's written in PHP, I do most stuff in node.js

August 2019

Tiberiu from Netcentric

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

A great alternative to Google Analytics

I implemented matomo for my personal website because I heard about it at my previous job and decided to give it a try. Since the number of visitors is really small, I rarely use the statistics generated by matomo but it's nice to have it.

Pros

Free On premise installation Easy to update Great UI

Cons

With my limited usage of this software I found no issues.

Reasons for Choosing Matomo

On premise hosting which gives me direct control over it.

August 2019

Léandre from Eventquick.net

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Good experience with the tool

Pros

Standalone, fully set of monitoring data and owner of data.

Cons

recurring error while trying to update or customize the tool.

Reasons for Switching to Matomo

Custom and owhnership of detailed data

October 2019

MARTIN from NPR3S

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Easy to use

In my case I can keep the statistic of what place in the world, as well as what type of devices, or operating system, in addition to which pages interest my visitors more.

Pros

This software is a real alternative to bring statistics to your sites.

Cons

It has nothing wrong with this software.

Reasons for Choosing Matomo

Freedom.

June 2020

Nadir from InfiniteTech

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Great web analytics service

Pros

I have been using Matomo for over 4+ years now. Matomo is a great service! highly recommended.

Cons

I cannot think of any cons currently. If I find any cons I will rewrite the review.

July 2019

Kaloyan from abcMallorca

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great use for a self hosted analitycs

Pros

Enhanced features and the level of details

Cons

Its a bit outdated the tables that the data is sorted but at least everything is in good order

December 2019

Cort Tafoya from Bay Area SEO Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Matomo is neck and neck with Google Analytics

Overall Matomo works great and can be a good supplement or replacement for Google Analytics.

Pros

Pretty much unlimited flexibility for what you want tracked. The interface is also easy to navigate.

Cons

Only that is doesn't integrate as seamlessly with Google product as Google Analytics. The tag manager product is a little bit harder to use as well.

March 2020

Stefan from EIRENE

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Reliable and powerful for analysing your visitors

Pros

It´s not collecting your data and sending it to a giant corporation.

Cons

Not all information is transmitted by search engines, which is definetly there fault.

February 2020

Salih from TURKBilsis

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Best alternative to Google

Pros

Easy to use, user friendly gui, secure and strong

Cons

Easy to use, user friendly gui, secure and strong