What are Matomo users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Matomo software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.86

36 Reviews

5
31
4
5
3
0
2
0
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Pretty much unlimited flexibility for what you want tracked. The interface is also easy to navigate."
  • icon"Self hosted is always good. A good option if you dont want to use google analytics (especially in EU-Countries good for data-security)."
  • icon"Easy to use and easy to learn. Its got everything you need out of the box."
  • icon"What we are still missing is the simple linking option with Google Ads and other PPC ad providers."
  • icon"After using Matomo for over 3 years, there simply is nothing to dislike about it. Any dislike that arises would be purely because of bad hosting or bad configuration."
  • icon"Not all information is transmitted by search engines, which is definetly there fault."

Jump to:

Browse all Matomo Reviews

  • Have you used Matomo and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 36 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 36 reviews

User Profile

Simon

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

When data is the name of the game, privacy is everything; enter, Matomo!

- Keeping data private. - Not letting other analytics' companies follow the consumer around. - Letting people know that their data will never be sold to a 3rd party and that their data is theirs

Pros

The very fact that analytics can be ethical was the very thing that attracted me towards Matomo. Users coming to your site and trusting you to keep the transaction between yourselves shouldn't be worried about a third party collecting more data on you. The fact that Matomo respects peoples' privacy and wilfully doesn't track someone if they don't want to be tracked, that..., that it what makes them the best. Any data that is collected about a person's behaviour on our website never leaves our server, is not sold to a 3rd party and becomes no one else's business. This is why I personally love Matomo - to be able to host it on your own server, keep all that data from BIG BROTHER and make sure the customer is treated as a customer and not a product!

Cons

There are no dislikes and I'm not even sucking up. In the past, I've had to deal with a lot of products not working the way they were intended to work, breaking down in the middle of something, not providing accurate information. After using Matomo for over 3 years, there simply is nothing to dislike about it. Any dislike that arises would be purely because of bad hosting or bad configuration.

Reasons for choosing Matomo

Privacy. The one and only reason. Plus, I did not have transparent data when I needed it most.

Nick

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Awesome Open Source and Privacy-Conscious Alternative to Google Analytics

Overall, Matomo is my favorite analytics platform. It does everything that myself and my clients need. The platform has been around a long time (formerly Piwik) and has proven to be very reliable. Using the API to create custom reports is also easy and super useful.

Pros

Matomo is open source and self-hosted. It's easy to setup, manage, and implement tracking. It includes many of the advanced features you'd expect in an analytics platform. The best part is that you're in control of your data and privacy.

Cons

There are a lot of premium features that are pretty expensive. I wish some of these were open source, standard features of the software, but I guess developers have to eat!

Reasons for choosing Matomo

I chose Matomo because it does everything I need, it's open source, self-hosted, whitelabeled, and cost-effective.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

With Matomo, you don't really need Google Analytics for basic website tracking purposes. Matomo is a platform that gives you the option to respect users' privacy. I prefer not to send all of my clients' data to a third-party company that is doing who knows what with it.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Web analysis and monitoring at the highest level

If you don't want to use another well-known monitoring tool or place particular value on the server location, etc., Matomo is the right choice for you.

Pros

What convinced us the most at that time was the possibility to analyse our website and our campaigns in a privacy-compliant way. The simple setup of the platform has no influence on the quality of the data.

Cons

The user-friendliness is confirmed again and again when we present with Matomo and colleagues immediately know which points have to be clicked on to view the required data. What we are still missing is the simple linking option with Google Ads and other PPC ad providers.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

German data protection.

Berke

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

A very good (self hosted) Google Analytics alternative

Pros

Self hosted is always good. A good option if you dont want to use google analytics (especially in EU-Countries good for data-security)

Cons

Some alternatives have even more functions.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

Better for EU GDPR

User Profile

Amadeusz

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Simple program, providing all the necessary data

Very positive

Pros

Ease of adding to WordPress, or installing on cloud

Cons

Quite a difficult connection to Google Analytics

Reasons for switching to Matomo

Data were not detailed enough

Ricardo

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Excellent cost-benefit ratio

Pros

We've been using it since 2019 and it's a replacement for our Google Search Appliance (GSA). Matomo behaved as a quality alternative for content search on our intranet and has met our expectations with an excellent cost-benefit ratio and ease of use. We have no hesitation in recommending it to other users.

Cons

If a page had very little access, it is difficult to find its data in the reports, as it only displays the most accessed.

Reasons for choosing Matomo

Excellent cost-benefit ratio and very similar reports.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

GSA was discontinued.

Paul

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Ethical webtracking made easy

I can definetly recommened Matomo, it is a great way to monitor your sites while being ethical.

Pros

I use both Matomo and Google Analytics side-by-side and I'm really impressed how great Matomo works: Once installed on a company-owned server the software works great and is intuitive - and the data protection is not as big of a problem if you host (and own by that matter) the data on your own server.

Cons

I had a few problems running Matomo in a container and setting up a reverse proxy, but after those inital problems everything worked flawlessly.

Reasons for choosing Matomo

Using both Google Analytics and Matomo, Matomo for projects with a tight data protection policy.

Boris

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

An excellent telemetry tool

Pros

I really appreciated the ease of installation, both as a solution and also the deployment on my sites. If you have already used competing solutions, the operation is intuitive.

Cons

The community is smaller than for some other solutions, so there are far fewer articles to explain how to take full advantage of the tool. That being said, the existing articles are well written and comprehensive.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

French National Commission on Informatics and Liberty recommends Matomo as the only analytis tool that does not require cookie consent.

Klaus

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Easy and your data is safe

We use it for onlinestatistiks for our website and also for our customers.

Pros

Self-hosting is very simple and comfortable, the web-updater works very fast and all the time.

Cons

As there is not as much money behind it as in Google Analytics its not for all the things you can do with Analytics but for daily business all you need is there. For sure it's not compatible to use with other Google Products.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

Beause our data and the data of our customers should stay with us

User Profile

James

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Very good software for analytics

Good experience, you are provided with the code easily and open source, you have all the necessary tools to take advantage of your analytics.

Pros

Take control of your analytics and install this open source projects that offers tons of free software to use and extra modules to work with, easily affordable for any business it improves your funnel, and much more features and heatmaps you can easily implement in-house.

Cons

The community is getting bigger, but at the moment you need to know what you install in your server and see all the code, better safe

Till

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

If you need a analytics tool that keeps all data in house

Overall I like to work with matomo. We own the data and the handling is easy enough. There is still some slack for approvement, but I guess the need for a secure analytics tool while rise in future and so matomo will have more resources to improve as well. Will see :)

Pros

I love the fact that we can self host matomo and don't have to worry about our analytics data leaving the EU.

Cons

It's still not as good as google analytics. You have to work a lot with segments to get the data you want. The Matomo Tag manager ist alright but is less intuitiv to handle then the google tag manager. But after a while I got used to it.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

Data security

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Efficient software

Thanks to Matomo, we know how to improve the traffic on our websites. It helps us refine your communication with potential customers.

Pros

It does the job in the simplest way I've ever seen. GDPR compliancy by design allows a perfect comprehension of what happens when on your different websites.

Cons

There's lots of different indicators to understand.

Reasons for choosing Matomo

Open-source and more efficient

Kévin

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Real alternative to Google Analytics and rGP compliant

8 years user and admin of my own Matomo/Piwik server, so satisfied in replacement of GA

Pros

Total control on datas RGPD compliant Best dashboard, more clear than GA

Cons

Have to learn on how to install it (but so easy)

Reasons for switching to Matomo

Respect users privacy

Marvin

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Awesome analytics for self-hosters

Matomo offers a simple setup, a huge amount of features, steady updates and respects the privacy of my users. I really love Matomo.

Pros

- Free to host on-premise - Many hosting companies offer a 1-click-installation for Matomo - Easy & straightforward setup - Comprehensive UX - Managed paid plan for people that do not wish to host themselves

Cons

- Integration with Google, Facebook & Bing Ads not ready yet (but will be released quite soon)

Misael

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

The Best Web Analytics

Pros

I found out About Matomo 6 years formerly known as pikiwik and damn i loved it, it was giving and still giving me exact geotargeted data results and today its matomo , i love the new edits out, realtime data reports. Other than that, Matomo is a very good iff not better alternative to google's analytics and the rep. thanx

Cons

Note: try working on displaying keywords used by site visitors to our sites in search engine results. that functions is on and off. it needs some work.

User Profile

Henry

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

Easy to use

Pros

Easy to use and easy to learn. Its got everything you need out of the box.

Cons

Google won't release their serch data to Matomo.

User Profile

David A.

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2020

The alternative for in-house / intranet analytics

Pros

We chose Piwik (Matomo) to track in-house analytics and be independent to other analytics tools.

Cons

On the 5+ years, haven't encountered a con.

Reasons for choosing Matomo

Most feature complete and API complete

Krzysztof

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

The best Google Analytics alternative

Pros

This is definitely the best alternative for Google Analytics. I've been using it for a long time and more frequently than mentioned Google Analytics. It's not MA or GA to be used. I use them both. They give me different type of data. I totally recommend it.

Cons

Database swells as more data come. This is normal, but be aware.

User Profile

Farshad

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Google Analytics Redefined

Great I love it and totally recommend it.

Pros

1. You get to own your data 2. It's more clear and better UX 3. It's open source and you can host it on your own server 4. Since you own your data, you can use it for data mining and custom faster data processing

Cons

Nothing on my mind right now, I can say more plugins can be developed

jon

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

complete and user friendly

Pros

easy and simple but yet enough informations

Cons

sometimes hard to find some options, the report could have more options

Henry

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Privacy

Pros

The main advantage of Matomo is the protection of user data.

Cons

Not getting key words from Google searches.

Lav

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Best Analytics Tool

Pros

I have been using Matomo since it was called Piwik. They have helped us do everything that we used to do with Google in-house which sharing our customer data with Google.

Cons

Not much but would be nice of they can improve some of the db queries.

Nabil

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Better than Google Analytics

Pros

Respect data privacy and it's free of charge

Cons

In fact it's difficult to find cons. in matomo :-(

Francois

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Version Autohébergée

Pros

- Migration depuis Google Analytics - Statistiques complète - Schéma de base de données documentée, facilite le branchement à d'autres outils - Installation via docker - Facilité de respect du RGPD

Cons

- l'API est lente - il manque quelques éléments de caractérisation des visiteurs

Reasons for switching to Matomo

Les données étaient de moins en moins fiables et le coût de plus en plus élevé.

Dave

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Your data is yours

Pros

If you've used Google Analytics (who hasn't at this point) the process for integrating Matomo into your site and getting reports will seem very familiar. That makes it easy to move off of GA. Since you are hosting the backend, you control who has access to the data and no third party can use it.

Cons

The reporting capability is a bit weak, but you can fully export the data in order to use anything you want, anything from Tableau to Excel. Using this with a non-traditional web page such as a React app will require more work to either understand Matomo's behavior and/or generate custom events instead, but this is also true for GA.

Reasons for switching to Matomo

Didn't want data going to a third party.

Showing 1 - 25 of 36 reviews
Matomo

Matomo

4.86/5 out of 36 reviews
PriceWatch Demo