All Microsoft Power BI Reviews

1-25 of 1,662 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Eric

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11 - 50 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed March 2023

Makes Excel-based Data Pretty

User Profile

Michael

Verified reviewer

Tobacco, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

Ugly numbers to pretty pictures

Management loves it, I love developing with it but getting certain others to adopt it can be a bit of a challenge.

PROS

As the title says, it turns ugly numbers into pretty pictures. It is easy enough for a non-developer to use and turn a mess of data into an intelligent and understandable story.

CONS

It literally changes every three months. You just get used to it and with the next update a lot has changed. I don't really see this as a con though because this is more like a Christmas present waiting to see what they will have made better this go around.

Reason for choosing Microsoft Power BI

Cloud based, integrated with other Microsoft products and it was first to have a huge amount of AI integration and capabilities.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Power BI

When preparing charts in MS Excel you wind up with too many human errors and you have to have someone who really knows excel to build great dashboards.

User Profile

Federico

Verified reviewer

Banking, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

Great tool for Data Analysis and Dashboards

My overall experience is great, using it to compile, perform ETL, prepare reports and create Dashboards is simply powerful.

PROS

This is a great tool that integrates perfectly with Microsoft Excel (they are from the same family) it really makes life easy. Another great feature is the possibility to connect with a wide variety of sources such as Google Analytics, Facebook, SQL, data files, cloud files, and the list goes on. Free to use and very affordable price. Finally their visualization features are also impressive.

CONS

Like any other tool, we found a high amount of the time required to train and master it, when you try to go beyond create reports, you would need to learn about additional tools like Gateways and Report Server. In addition, their language DAX is not the easiest language to work with, but nothing some training and research can't solve.

Reason for choosing Microsoft Power BI

When performing our cost / benefit analysis it came with the highest rate.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Power BI

Power BI presented better tools to perform Data Analysis and work with Data.

Graeme

Marketing and Advertising, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2024

Use Power BI to transform your complex data into a clear dashboard

My overall experience with Power BI is very positive. Before I used it it was extremely hard to see that data I needed in such a clear way. It's generally very easy to use.

PROS

It is a clear way of visualizing complicated and complex data.

CONS

It can be a little clunky at times when loading the data into the system.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed March 2017

A pretty reporting tool for some (!) Microsoft Products, but pretty much useless outside of the Microsoft Landscape

In light of the hype around this "Tableau destroyer" in recent months, I want to highlight some fundamental flaws in data connectivity and reports maintenance of Power BI, which the Product Team so far has turned down as "not in scope". In practice, though, this renders Power BI pretty useless for getting dara from any 3rd party products, in the cloud in particular. This review reflects Power BI as of mid March 2017. I have gathered my knowledge from testing, community interaction and a dozen tickets with Power BI Pro Support. The focus lies on getting data via Web Services, much aligned with Microsoft’s «Cloud First» Strategy. 1) Power BI Online is in the cloud, but does not allow for HTTP calls. Power BI Desktop allows for HTTP calls, but only with static authentication parameters. First of all, a distinction needs to be made between Power BI Online and Power BI Desktop. While Power BI Online is the "master" that ultimately allows you to share and publish your reports, user experience in design is diminished by HTML limitations (you may know from Word or Excel Online) and more importantly, data connectivity (Get Data) is limited to SQL Servers on Azure and about 20 to 30 plugins from 3rd party solutions at present. Take note that on Power BI Online, you cannot select or manage your Gateways, either. This brings the attention to the Power BI Desktop client. Updated every one to two months, the Desktop client brings data connectors necessary to connect to a larger number of data sources. With the Web connector, HTTP calls been configured, although with just static headers and parameters and Basic and Windows authentication only. Importantly, though, Power BI Desktop includes Microsoft Power Query, which you may know from Excel 2016 already. With M Scripts, you can script and customise in many ways and most interestingly, convert it into table form quickly. This is where Power Query shines. However, Power Query does not seem to call on methods for nonces and timestamps required in token based authentication (OAuth for example). (Should this be incorrect, please please let me know. I have been browsing the fora and nagging Support too long already.) What’s really amusing here is that Microsoft Azure uses OAuth 2.0 themselves. So, you cannot run any reporting on Microsoft’s Azure AD or Resource Manager database for example, a notorious blackbox. Back to Powershell. (Power BI does not accept Powershell feeds.) In short, while Power BI Online does not allow to get any data out of the web (except for those 20 to 30 plugins, mostly Microsoft Products), Power BI Desktop allows for Web calls, but only with static parameters and thus, basically with your user credentials. That’s a big limitation in Data Connectivity. 2) With Power BI Online being the master, the HTTP calls cannot be scheduled or refreshed in the cloud. Now that you have configured your HTTP call (with risky user credentials), you want to publish your report and have it refreshed on a scheduled basis, say every day. Tough luck. While you can publish your Report to Power BI Online and subsequently a broader audience, it’s a static image of your Desktop data. You cannot schedule a data refresh in Power BI Online (because there is no Web feature anyway) and you cannot even refresh the data manually as this requires republishing the Report anew. You risk your management looking at outdated data whenever you forgot to republish your report and sneak the new URL into your dashboards and iframes. 3) The On-Premises Data Gateway is pretty useless for Web Services. Yes, there is the On-Premises Data Gateway. Yes, you can configure Web Services in the gateway, although it’s pretty ironic to route web calls via on-premises infrastructure. But did you ever try it? That is, you cannot specify any HTTP headers fort he calls at all, lest writing a Power Query script. And thus, we are back at authentication via Basic and Windows only and writing REST scripts in the data source for every single HTTP call because with no Headers and Body, all parameters need to be coded in the URI. Will you do that? At the end of the day, Power BI is Microsoft's long overdue acknowledgement that Excel and some Dynamics Reports do not cut it for Reporting purposes. Indeed, for reporting on SQL Server, Dynamics 365 (if you want to afford it), and Excel and Access databases stored in your OneDrive, Microsoft Power BI does a neat job. However, as soon as you want to integrate with 3rd party systems or via web services in particular, Power BI presents so many limitations in authentication, Header and Body configuration, scripting, and scheduling that you need to configure an entire SQL Server environment (on Azure or On-Premises via feature poor Gateway) and write a SQL CRL interface or buy Azure Data Factory to get that data in. For some pretty reports, do you really want to buy and customise all that BI infrastructure on Azure? My advice to Microsoft: Work on Data Connectivity, especially in Power BI Online, rather than more visuals for those limited data sources. Your Microsoft clients will consider Power BI a given for the utter lack of reporting in Office 365, Azure, or Dynamics 365 (yes, pushing it there). My advice to Users: If the connectors are not listed, look somewhere else. (And make sure it’s your use case that is listed. Power BI announced an Azure AD connector, but rather than reporting on Users, Groups, or Enterprise Apps, you can only see on a nice map where the last logins happened.) Is it a Tableau destroyer? No. It’s a long overdue acknowledgement for necessary reporting with the potential of being a solid Business Intelligence solution ONCE focus comes to lie more on data.

PROS

pretty visuals Power Query On-premises Data Gateway responsible Pro Support

CONS

lack of data sources pretty useless for 3rd Party Web Sources

Martha

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Microsoft Power BI review

PROS

Easy squeezy. Very easy to implement. Very easy to teach my team. I rather like it.

CONS

It is not so much about not liking MSFT Power BI. There are just. There are many options on the market.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Power BI

The Microsoft options are cheaper and INFORMATICA charges an arm and a leg.

Matt

Automotive, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Microsoft Power Bi

PROS

I like how it visually displays my data. This is a game changer for presentations.

CONS

The only dislike that I could list is it could be a little easier to use. The initial use took some time.

Gibson

Consumer Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Power BI experience

Fun and excellent, the software is great because it notifies the consultant as to the date and time if receiving your leads and as to when you actually contacted them.

PROS

It gave correct customer details such as contact details, email, home address, work address and more

CONS

Sometimes it would give a problem in sending us the letting agents capturing customers details.

Radek

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Power BI - real power of analise in your hands

I like it, its very complex alnd powerfull tool, intuitive... but to be good in using it you must spent a lot of time.

PROS

Its complex tool to analise your company. You can check you costs, your sell, and analise it in on many levels.

CONS

Price:] like always the bigest problem is price and the proces of switching form current tool to micrososft bi.

User Profile

Catherine

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2024

Microsoft Power Bi reviews

It's highly recommended. The 3 keys to use a Power BI are Extract, Transform and Load. There are many options to extract your data, you can get your data from excel file, pdf, links, SQL, etc. Next is Transformed so you can edit your data from power query and Load. After the ETL you can visualize your data in your Power BI dashboard.

PROS

What I like the most is easy to use and user-friendly.

CONS

Power BI needs a credential from the IT/employer.

Luke

Real Estate, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2024

Custom reports and data visualisation are amazing

PROS

Reporting and data visualisation abilities are amazing, but definitely is capable of much much more

CONS

There is not much to dislike. It is customisable and can pretty much program a lot of different things.

Jerry

Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Very robust, though a little overwhelming

We're moving from having staff creating Excel reports or Access database reports to having Power BI do it all for us. We spend some time cleaning up the user's data, streamlining how they enter it (and where - we still use Access, some SQL, some Sharepoint), and Power BI does the rest after that. Our staff loves that they no longer have to manually create reports, and they love the way Power BI looks for them. We are enjoying it overall.

PROS

The dashboard creation is amazing. Give it a data source, design how you want to see your data, and it shows it to you. I enjoy creating dashboards for our different departments. And once our staff sees the reports and dashboards they get from this, vs how they used to get it in an Excel spreadsheet or an Access Report, they are hooked.

CONS

Overwhelming in the back end. Sometimes you just cannot get the data to display the way you want. There are so many options, features, methods. It gets overwhelming. My biggest gripe is that the back end is not as user friendly as other programs. And, comparing it to something that one of my users would create in Excel, it's difficult for me to get the exact data reported that they want. I have to figure out how to display it, and because the Power Bi is just so robust, it's a little overwhelming in that respect.

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Power BI

User data was all over the place. Excel files everywhere. And only the users who created them knew how to create their reports from them. Same with Access databases. Some "power" users would use Access to create a database and some reports, and then leave, and remaining employees wouldn't know how to create new reports, or change what data was collected. Creating standards for where and how we collect data, and then using Power BI to report on it all was our goal. We are getting there.

Shrinkhala

Management Consulting, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

' Data Visualization and Business Analytics is just a click away with Microsoft Power Bi "

Its amazing till date. One of the best analysis and visualization software in the market with high credible name of Microsoft and high trust built there. One of the most dependable and accurate software for data visualization and analytics. One of the best analysis softwares for businesses to bring the best data insights on the table for making accurate business decision making.

PROS

High end accurate data visualization and its easy and comprehensive reporting to management AI and ML driven data insights for better business decision making in holistic manner. The quick and accurate data insights helps businesses to scale and expand with good operating efficiency.It is available for both web and Mobile data visualization work and is quite comprehensive in providing output.We have recently started with Data Discovery and predictive and embedded analytics for high end data analysis of complex data inputs in easy and flawless way.

CONS

No hassle with the software as its one of the best and keep improving their features time to time. Also, we would only request for slight reduction of sign up and annual renewal costing as its on higher end and bit difficult for small and marginal organizations to continue with long term engagement due to burden of expense

Reason for choosing Microsoft Power BI

Well, the best and most reliable data analysis and visualization software with strong utilities and features in the current market. No competition can beat them as they are versatile and brings the best on the table time to time and stay absolutely relevant in the market and satisfy customers at its best.

Joe

Warehousing, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Get Awesome Looking Dashboards and reports.

Overall its a great tool to use in your arsenal if you great at analytics and want to impress with dashboards and visuals. Takes some time to getting used to, but there's tons of community support online.

PROS

After using many other reporting tools, Power BI stands because it does a fantastic job of having powerful analytics from multiple data sources displayed using beautiful data visualization components.

CONS

Great for more simple reports and data visualization but not designed for heavy data processing (dependent on data source). Also huge learning curve to make things look the way you want them to look.

Reason for choosing Microsoft Power BI

I still use both, but I use Power BI mostly for dashboards and visuals

Katerina

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Intuitive and very customizable. An all-round fantastic visualisation solution

Excel and Power BI have been in my software toolkit almost since day one. I think the best thing about it is that it opens the door for in-depth data analysis without using code or SQL, which means that SMBs like ours can drive insights from data as well. Other than that, there are a lot of chart types available, and you can easily add custom elements. All in all, would definitely recommend.

PROS

I think it's great that the interface takes most of its elements from Excel. As a person who has used Excel for pretty much the whole of the last two decades, it was much much easier to pick Power BI up for me in the beginning because I was used to most of the visual elements anyway.

CONS

Not a huge issue but it would make my work so much easier to have the live support option as they offer in some of the other BI tools.

Reason for choosing Microsoft Power BI

I was already used to the MS environment so I was a lot mor einclined towards Power BI rather than Tableau.

User Profile

Satbir

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

Best Self Service BI Solution to start with

Dashboard, Reports, Data extraction/Transformations from websites, PDF's and other sources, transformations and also as an alternative to vba)

PROS

Capability to Extract, Transform data at the desktop level in a single package. (Others solutions like have Data transformation feature inbuilt)

CONS

On publishing your report online, it gets slightly cumbersome to configure through (like configuring gateways for auto-refresh)

Reason for choosing Microsoft Power BI

Ease of deployment, cost and eased-up learning curve

Reasons for switching to Microsoft Power BI

Ease of use, be it using it as an alternative for VBA or using it for analysing large amount of data (that excel cannot handle)

Robert

Construction, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2021

Enterprise Analytics - with some gotchas

We're using this as our enterprise analytics platform to supplement paginated reports in SSRS/PBIRS. Aside from the wrinkles mentioned, it's been a solid performer. If there was a little more "admin" capabilities around subscriptions and permissions, it'd be a home run.

PROS

Near-constant updates and feature additions. It's exceptionally easy to throw together a Power BI Report across a bunch of different data sources and then share it with 1 or 100 people. Tons of connectivity support - if you have data somewhere it can *probably* read it into a model for consumption. The "front end" development is pretty straightforward with the ability to get very fancy with custom visuals - although you need to be a real developer to build those yourself.

CONS

It feels like there are some (currently) missing enterprise features. We still haven't really figured out a holistic way of managing both the enterprise stuff, as well as the "power user" self service stuff that gets published around the org. To Microsoft's credit, there are pretty much monthly releases that add ne functionality and features. Some things I'd like to see include more API support and additional sources like Box, perhaps.

User Profile

Swapnil

Verified reviewer

Security and Investigations, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Using Business Intelligence to Its Full Potential

Overall, Microsoft PowerBI is a well-known business intelligence application that is extensively utilised by businesses of all kinds. Its robust data visualisation features, data connection choices, and capacity to find insights using AI and machine learning make it a useful tool for organisations looking to extract more value from their data. However, for certain users, the steep learning curve, restricted data preparation capabilities, and convoluted licencing approach may be disadvantages. Furthermore, the restricted third-party connection may be inconvenient for enterprises that employ a range of tools and systems. Regardless of these restrictions, PowerBI is a highly rated programme that is extensively used and trusted by enterprises seeking a comprehensive business intelligence solution.

PROS

PowerBI enables users to connect to a wide range of data sources and generate visually beautiful visuals that bring data to life and make it easier to comprehend. The programme is also extremely customisable, allowing customers to design dashboards and reports that are tailored to their individual requirements. PowerBI's mobile capability and connection with Microsoft products like as Excel make it an excellent alternative for enterprises that require on-the-go data access and interaction. Furthermore, PowerBI's AI and machine learning features enable users to quickly uncover insights and trends in their data, making it a useful tool for businesses of all sizes.

CONS

PowerBI has a steep learning curve, making it difficult for new users to rapidly become acquainted with the product. For some users, particularly those new to business intelligence and data analysis, this might be a barrier to entrance. Because PowerBI lacks a powerful data preparation tool, users may find it difficult to clean, process, and prepare their data for analysis. This might be a disadvantage for those that require more complex data preparation operations.

rajiv

Public Relations and Communications, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY