User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(117)

117

4 stars

(92)

92

3 stars

(13)

13

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(3)

3

  • Pros

  • "It is pretty easy to use, and the customer support is also good."

  • "Easy to use and details support on easy topics and tool"

  • "The way this software is organized makes a lot of sense. Anything I need to run statistical analysis on a given set of data is there (Basic Statistic, Regression, ANOVA), etc. "

  • Cons

  • "The point and click functionality of Minitab makes it easy to follow and implement, but becomes tedious and monotonous to go over multiple windows and tabs for advanced users."

  • "Some of the output quality like graphs still not really up to like what you get with other softwares but looks like its being improved as the newer versions are coming"

  • "Some of the graphical outputs are still not as good as MS Excel, but they have been improving over the years. I wish it could do a back-to-back stem plot, but that's a minor inconvenience."

Browse Minitab Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 226 results

September 2020

User Profile Picture

Kawsar from University of Colorado, Denver

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Very easy statsitics softwares

Very good software and very worth of money. Highly reccomend it.

Pros

Most of the statistics software is burdened with instructions and how to use each tool. But Minitab 19 will get rid of that issue. You just need the software and the name of each tool. Virtually you will be able to do all analyses. No expertise is necessary to use the software. Just a basic knowledge of statistics is sufficient.

Cons

I do not see any drawback. Is supperior one compared to the similar software. It would be convnient if can be used online.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2021

Suitable software for engineers

I have enjoy using this software for planing several optimal design and also regression modeling. I appreciate providing the predicted R-Square as an useful option in the output of regression analysis.

Pros

There are many statistical software in the market but Minitab is specially designed for engineers. It has a very advanced capability in design and analysis of experiment.

Cons

The design of this software user interface is so classic. So, maybe using another framework for making the user interface more attractive is needed.

Reasons for Switching to Minitab

SPSS is suitable for social science, so for engineering projects I prefer to use Minitab.

November 2018

User Profile Picture

Huy from ABB

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2018

Good tools for researchers, analyst

We have been using this software for more than 10 years in the company. It very helpful for our improvement projects. However, that was not easy when we think to use the output from Minitab to apply in our manufacturing information system or think how to apply the advantage of Minitab to our big-data.

Pros

- Very common tool and that can be used for root cause analysis, problem solver and especially in the project needs to work with data (6 Sigma projects) - The guideline and assistance function in the tool is quite helpful for the beginner - Customer support is great as you can call, email and they can work out with you for the solution quickly. - The output/report makes sense with all logic and statistics result

Cons

- The learning curve is quite long, needs to invest both time/money to know how to use the tool efficiently - The graph/report output is not perfect and sometimes it requires time to make it up - Big gap to integrate with other systems, meaning you only use this offline, no options to interface with other databases. That also shows the limitation when import/export file.

April 2021

Pedro from Ecolab

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Fantastic Software for Data Processing

I can define as fantastic due the flexibility and how easy is to handle, additional the graphical part is helpful to prepare report and make better business decisions.

Pros

The simplicity, interaction that help a new user to perform the data analysis and processing all the tasks related with Statistics, now they included the another tab option where you can handle several data sets in one project.

Cons

I understand that they can include dedicated graphic panel for every tab, because currently you have all on them together and increase the chance for mistakes, and see if someone have the opportunity to shift the dataanalysis where you want in the field of the left.

March 2020

Taniushka from Boeing

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Best program for charts and analysis

Pros

Easy to apply formulas and analysis, very user friendly. Charts very easy to read.

Cons

Haven't found anything bad yet. This program is awesome.

Reasons for Switching to Minitab

It's more user friendly. Easy to analyze data.

June 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Analyse the data with Minitab easily.

It is actually a reliable statistical package I have ever used. I can remember how I learnt Minitab lessons eagerly during my undergraduate period and how I recalled them and analyzed thousands of my research data.

Pros

During the four years of my university life, among all the other statistical softwares Minitab is the easiest and versatile statistical package I have ever used. Specially it is very affordable package for academics and requires less disk space as well as can be easily installed. It provides a comprehensive set of statistical features including; Analysis of Variance (ANOVA), Hypothesis tests, Design of Experiments, Graphical analysis, Descriptive statistics, Correlation and Regression and etc. to perform wide variety of statistical analysis easily rather than using statistiacal codes in SAS. When I am reading research papers I have experienced that many researchers use the latest version of Minitab to the analysis of their research data. Even for my undergraduate research I used Minitab for the analysis.

Cons

Actually I haven't experienced any kind of issue while I am performing Minitab yet.

March 2021

User Profile Picture

MAIRA from NED university Of Engineering & Technology

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Favourite Statistical Software.

A highly recommended software for all the engineers out there.

Pros

Minitab has made it so easy to analyze the data. It was one of the first statistics software that I had used and found its features and interface so user friendly. From creating graphs ,statistical analysis and forming reports it is the best thing an engineer can ask for. One more great thing about it is that you don't need to be an expert to use it.

Cons

I think the interface can be made more attractive and different from how it looks by bringing some modifications except for this everything about it is great!

April 2021

Joe from Boeing

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Good product

Very happy overall with the product, it works quite well all things considered.

Pros

Great, simple statistical software package that really helps you understand the data you are collecting.

Cons

Bit of a learning curve, but nothing that can't be overcame with some Youtube video training. You get the hang of it quick.

April 2021

Sushma from Na

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Good software

Pros

Best software to plot redone surface models

Cons

Have to master the software in plotting the observed values versus predicted

February 2020

User Profile Picture

Jenée from Central Statistical Office

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

Not the best Statistical package out there

Minitab is ok for use when you are a student, however as you progress you would want to look for more advanced statistical software.

Pros

Minitab is a user friendly statistical package that I used as a student studying development statistics. It was also required to use this software to complete research projects. It is definitely a software to use while you’re a student because of the ease of use of the statistical tests produced to complement your research papers.

Cons

I prefer other statistical software like SPSS when conducting research or analysis for research purposes. Minitab was no longer useful to me in the working world because other statistical packages were easier to obtain and carry out the same statistical tests plus more.

August 2017

Paula from North Olmsted High School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

I use this analysis software with my AP Statistics students and have used it for many years.

The program allows my students to work with very large data sets and allows me to assess their analyses very easily.

Pros

I liked the package because it was a professional use package (not just deigned for classroom use) and it was still easy enough for my students to use. There is a small learning curve to overcome, but my students adapt to the package very quickly. The iterations I have used started with version 12 and I am now using version 17. They product has become more streamlined over the years and more user friendly as well. The support I have received from Minitab has been excellent and utilizing the license server for my lab allows me to deploy the package to more computers. That is a real plus when one machine goes down and I need to use all my licenses.

Cons

Some of the graphical outputs are still not as good as MS Excel, but they have been improving over the years. I wish it could do a back-to-back stem plot, but that's a minor inconvenience.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2018

Very good for descriptive and inferential analysis

I use minitab 18 very often to analyze process variations of food production plant, also it is used to report the improvements on any process based on any change.

Pros

Minitab offers a very good end user experience for descriptive and inferential analysis. Also minitab product help tutorials are very good and well explained that cover most of the possible doubts. The interpretation of results that minitab provides on integral analysis like Capability analysis or hypothesis testing is very useful for sharing with management.

Cons

*Developing scripts on minitab is not as intuitive as it should be so doing repetitive task can be a headache. *Also querying data from an external data source could be easier, at this moment requires a well defined DSN file and adjusting filters on data to retrieve could be also easier. *There are not enough modeling methods on minitab

June 2018

Joshua from Metro-North Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

This is an excellent product for statistical-based analysis.

Pros

What I like most about this product is all of the functionalities available for performing statistical analysis on both real-world data and theoretical studies. The built-in functions and graphs are absolutely excellent and save a lot of time by automatically doing computations on data sets that would otherwise require additional software for computation. It is very easy to input the data and then have so many different options for essentially "auto-analyzing" the data through the large variety of statistic tools made available with this program. I am yet to hear of another program geared to this level with statistical analysis tools.

Cons

What I like least about this software is the way that some of the graphs are generated. Sometimes graphs with many data points may come out very messy and crowded and I feel that steps could be taken to improve the aesthetics of such graphs as essentially the point of graphs is to allow the reader to have a good visual with the behavior of the data or whatever it might be which is being presented on the graph. As such, I feel that better aesthetics are critical for communicating this information.

September 2019

Komala Raj from Perfect Trainer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Comfortable if you have knowledge in the field.

Minitab is helping me to analyze my customer details specifically on each categories. Name, district, etc.

Pros

Whatever the data, we can easily manage it and get the statical analyze through this minitab software.

Cons

If the project is closed, some time its confusing which is saved, Weather the project or worksheet on the default name. Its occurs only the system power goes unexpectedly.

Reasons for Switching to Minitab

I feel minitab is easy to analyze the data

February 2018

Jhon from MPPEE

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Statistical quality control, such as philosophy and practical tool

Pros

Minitab facilitates processing, very quickly for data analysis and the clarity of the graphics are better than those of SPSS. Its statistical tools are precise and easy to use, allowing us to access a better knowledge of the information contained in the data, with an important saving of time in the collection, analysis and interpretation cycle. You can work something basic starting with the descriptive statistics to statistical methods for predictions such as regression models, ANOVA, Time Series and experiment designs.

Cons

The variety of statistical analysis that Minitab can perform, It Is Not As Wide As SPSS And SAS. What It Means That For Research Fields Applied With Specialized Techniques, for example, it is not the ideal option for neural networks in the field of artificial intelligence or in the case of geostatistics, Since this type of analysis will have to be programmed through the macro system. While Macros Language is Powerful, it is a Long Time Investment for Complex Procedures.

August 2020

Pilar from Tecnológico de Monterrey

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Software accesible en términos de costo y facilidad de uso

Muy positiva, es el software que recomiendo para fines didácticos. Y a menos que se estén realizando análisis estadísticos a un nivel profesional más avanzado, suficiente para uso profesional

Pros

Utilizo MINITAB en mis clases y es muy amigable y sus aplicaciones cubren bien el contenido para cursos de Diseño de experimentos e ingeniería estadística a nivel licenciatura y maestría

Cons

No hay opción para utilizar contrastes en diseño experimental y dadas las nuevas tendencias en métodos ya es necesario incluir redes neuronales y otras aplicaciones. También sería conveniente extender la opción DOE más allá de la series 2k y diseños Placket-Burmann

June 2020

uvindu from sabaragamuwa university

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2020

The Best statistical tool ever

I used Minitab for the analytical part of the research project. It has been very simple to use and has a range of tools and you can analyze your data, graph, and map with the Minitab easily.

Pros

For my last year, and also for my four years as a teacher, I used Minitab 19 for statistical analysis. Minitab 19 is one of the most strong DOE, Regression, Hypothesis, Graphical, Process Capacities, and System Analysis measurement applications. I saw no easy, productive program except Minitab. It must be accurate and optimistic for any type of data professionals and Minitab 19 is the resource that simplifies your work. You just need to provide the data in sheet form and pick the analytical type, provide control limits and limits, and in a couple of milliseconds, you can get more than you want.

Cons

Some concepts to perform regression and other analysis of the options make me confuse.

October 2020

Ana Carolina from South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Best statistic tool

Really good software to be used as a student or as a professional. It helps you to analyze your data and interpret them leading you to the right decision-makers.

Pros

This software is really easy to use and gives you enough information about your input data to help you make the right decisions. I used this tool during my undergraduate course and didn't stop since then. You have many analytical options in the same tool and can even make graphs using the software, that can be used in presentations. Everything can be done using the tool and if you don't know how to use any analytical tool, it is easy to find explanation about it.

Cons

Sometimes when you are working in an analysis that has a lot of data the software closes and you lose all your work. Would be nice if the software automatically saves progressive work, so if something like this happens, you won't lose your work.

February 2020

Efrain from Promotick

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Great Statistics Software

I've used several versions of Minitab for the past few years and I've noticed considerable improvement. It offers a wide variety of tools that allow you to work with data and build charts and graphs for data analytics.

Pros

Even if you don't have too much knowledge in statistics, you can get started using it very quickly. First time users won't have a hard navigating the program since its menus are well organized and clear and they allow you to find what you're looking for very quickly. It has a lot of data visualization features, like scattered plots, histograms and probability density functions.

Cons

Although it is easy for first time users, it will take you a lot of time to actually take advantage of every feature in Minitab. Also, even tho it is a great software, it is not as complete as other programs like JMP and SAS

June 2019

Riley from Viasat

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

A Powerful Tool

Overall, anyone who is employed performing statistical analysis on data sets should be familiar with Minitab. This is tool that holds the basis for all commonly applied statistical analysis techniques.

Pros

Minitab 19 is a major leap from previous versions. This tool has significantly improved the usability of more complex statistical analysis functions by improving the in-process teaching of correct application as well as background selection based off of data types. From simple to complex, Minitab is a powerful tool to gain accurate and rapid stochastic interpretation of your data.

Cons

Minitab is still stuck on this tabular Excel-type format. They need a UI overhaul of the data input screen vs the data analysis screen and should treat the two separately. The analysis tool is undersold in the current format.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Great for data analysis as a student and in the working world

Overall, this is great for data analysis as a student and alright in industry. I have not come across anything in industry that I couldn't do on Excel, but I prefer Minitab since I have been using it for longer.

Pros

I have been using this software since back in my college days, and it was a serious competitor to Excel. Obviously both have their perks and benefits, but I find Minitab to be better most of the time. There are a lot of tutorials in case one isn't familiar with it, which is great for first learning the software or improving over time.

Cons

I have had a hard time in the past importing data, and have had issues getting plots that I need. There should be a wider variety of models. Some graphs, especially ones with lots of data, can be difficult to read. I have experienced this across most data software I use, but it is still a con.

November 2020

Amila from National Dangerous Drugs Control Board

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Use for day to day data analysis

It really helps me to expedite my daily office work without errors.

Pros

Any person who does not have a statistical background can easily use this software for data analysis purposes like simple mean, median, mode, standard deviation to complex analysis like anova, t-test, the correlation coefficient, and principle component analysis.

Cons

When compare with Microsoft excel data feeding and editing (copy, paste) is difficult.

December 2019

Nanditha from Machaon Diagnostics

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

MiniTab is good

I used MiniTab for statistical analysis of my experiments during my MS and PhD. It was very easy to use and got my job done!

Pros

MiniTab 19 is very easy to use and does not require an experienced user (unlike JMP and SAS). As a first time user, I found it very helpful in doing all the statistical analyses that I needed.

Cons

Although it is really really easy to use, it is not as extensive as JMP and SAS. Once I was adept with MiniTab, I found that JMP and SAS offered more options like design of experiments, not available in MiniTab

December 2020

Pawel from Ferrosan Medical Devices

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Medical Devices

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Minitab for six sigma

I'm using minitab for virtual DOE in six sigma projects and also in improve phase in optimalization

Pros

The most I like in the Minitab software is the assistant and a lot of blog and help files. I use it for six sigma projects including DMAIC or DFSS.

Cons

In old revision help files were difficult

Reasons for Switching to Minitab

More clear support and better visualisation

January 2019

Mohammed from Modern Sciences and Arts University

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

My students love using Minitab

Minitab helps me to save a lot of time and effort. I used mainly for my students because the software is very easy and it is also available for windows and Macbooks

Pros

Minitab is a great software for statistics. I highly recommend it for my students during their last year for their graduation projects. The software is pretty simple and there are many tutorials available that help the students while using the software. Importing data is so simple and generating graphs is very easy. There are a lot of statistical tools available but I like to use ANOVA and student-t test.

Cons

Nothing so far but sometime I find it hard when it comes to printing data and reports

May 2017

Avanish from Benteler Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Great Tool

Pros

Its a nice tool for statisticians can import the data easily from excel and with in few clicks we can generate the graphs and can easily demonstrate them

Cons

it would be better if they give more examples often we have to go to youtube to search for videos. The help library should have been made user friendly

August 2020

T Devi Prasad from IIT Kharagpur

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

An excellent statistical analysis tool

I am using Minitab for my class work as well as research work. It possesses a wide range of operations which are beneficial for everyone from beginner to advanced level statistician.

Pros

It is pretty easy to use, and the customer support is also good.

Cons

The software is bit heavy which can make the system slow.

Reasons for Switching to Minitab

More statistical tests.

July 2019

User Profile Picture

Ganapathy from Voith GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Paper & Forest Products

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Minitab 19 user review

I've used Minitab all the way from version 15 to 19 for in-depth statistical data analysis and I have yet to be disappointed.

Pros

An entire handbook of Statistics is built into its highly underrated Help menu

Cons

Nothing really! When will Minitab 20 be released?

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Student Engineering Projects

I have used this product multiple times for student projects. The process to analyze data in the software is simple, and ready for presentation. Would highly recommend for use as a primary statistical analysis software!

Pros

Minitab has incredible ease of use! Any project that incorporates charts is a simple 2 minute process in Minitab. It also has simple means of exporting the charts to whatever presentation or report vehicle utilized for a project.

Cons

If you have not had ample statistical analysis experience, or statistical basics, this program could definitely seem overwhelming for all it has to offer and what you can customize on an analysis.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

I do statistical analysis for many of my projects, Minitab is essential for this analysis.

Not only can I run any statistical analysis that I may need, I can also learn about ones I did not previously know. And with an easy Microsoft Excel import function you can run regressions on any data sent your way.

Pros

Any kind of statistical analysis you need done you can find with Minitab. While in many other programs it takes careful wording of equations and an innate knowledge of statistics Minitab lays it out in a very clear manner. Whether you want to run an ANOVA, a Chi-squared test, make a histogram, or run a multiple regression model Minitab offers all of this and more. Furthermore, I have spent a good amount of time going through Minitab's tutorials and those are worth their weight in gold. If you ever worry that you forgot everything from your college statistics course: don't. This program will teach you everything you need to know.

Cons

It could be better at offering ways to print your projects, it can look jumbled if you do not set it up carefully.

May 2019

José Luis from Apparel & fashion

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Minitab, the best tool for quality management

I used minitab to run time series plots, charts and control charts, as well as Pareto charts, fish bone charts. I really felt like a Black Belt using this tool, all the quality data was presented to the upper management using minitab.

Pros

I remember using this software at college, on my quality control and Quality management classes. 6 years before, I was working as a Quality chief on a roofing company and got the chance to purchase it for problem solving, advanced data analysis and charting tasks for Six Sigma. I loved it, I really liked how it can handle a large array of statistical analysis. I also liked the tutorials that came with the software, they were very easy to understand.

Cons

Nothing! I would recommend it without hesitation!

June 2017

Alex from Clariant PLastics & Coatings

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Solid statistical software with a large amount of useful features.

Pros

Ease of use. Wide range of statistic tools to help portray the data that I want, in the way I want to do it.

Cons

A lot of the learning of how to use the software is trial by fire. Not all the features are perfectly lined out in the beginning.

February 2020

Jennifer from Polymer Conversions

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Plastics

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Nice visuals and great help available

I mostly report GRR results using this software. My teammates started using it to compute tolerance interval studies for our customers. Both of these are really easy to do in the software. I plan to take a training course later this year to see how else we can improve our current data reporting practices using this.

Pros

My experience with this software was extremely limited prior to my current position. This software probably has some of the better online help available. I never had to complete GRRs in prior positions and report out on them. This software's help not only helped me stumble through it (successfully), but I understood what I was reporting out on. I really like it. Plus the visuals, graphs, etc...they really make a nice addition to any report I am working on.

Cons

I don't have any cons to report out on. I didn't use this software prior to my current position, so I really had no comparisons for this.

November 2020

Higor from Higor autonomous works

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2020

Excellent analysis tool

I started using Minitab when I did a Green Belt training, and since then I always use it. It has helped me a lot in the tasks of the month, finding solutions to old problems. It is an incredible tool for anyone who wants to put things in order.

Pros

The tool is very simple and intuitive to use. For those who use the 6 Sigma methodology it is essential. The reports issued are complete, with all necessary information. Customer support is very good, as they respond very quickly and answer any questions.

Cons

Despite being relatively simple to use, it has many functions, and it takes the user a long time to fully master this software. Some aspects related to the visuals of the graphics could be improved, but it is not a problem.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Best way to represent data

Exceptional in giving accurate results

Pros

Results can be interpreted quickly since the software gives results in no time

Cons

For some reason it is not supported in some of my devices

August 2019

Tariro from SeedCo Limited

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Minitab the best analysis software for students

Very impressed with how easy it allowss students to have a good data analysis foundation

Pros

I liked the fact that minitab is very user friendly and its very easy to use when learning the basics of data validation, analysis among other functionalities. The interface and functionalities resonate very well with most textbooks used by students so its easy to follow through the procedures.

Cons

Some of the output quality like graphs still not really up to like what you get with other softwares but looks like its being improved as the newer versions are coming

July 2020

Sunil from V Guard

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Best statistical analysis tool

Pros

Easy to use and details support on easy topics and tool

Cons

New update not be automatic. Some advance statistical tool need to add( Neural networking)

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Minitab 19 - Review

Pros

Most of the statistical analysis can be done. Nice and simple UI to the output

Cons

It takes more time to analyze a huge set of data with many parameters. And gets not responding after sometimes

Reasons for Switching to Minitab

To complex for normal use

July 2019

Meliksah from Arcelik

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Simple but sophisticated Data Analysis tool

Minitab is a good data analysis tool for especially business units which does not mostly have professional data analysts/scientists. So anyone can use Minitab to analyze its business data, regardless of the background.

Pros

I like how Minitab is simple, AKA, easy to use but still have many features and tools to analyze and manipulate data. I like how it is possible simply copy-paste from Excel sheet and plot any graph that is needed in literally seconds, then customize the parts of it by simple double clicking.

Cons

That's rather a design issue but when closing data tables/workspace sometimes it closes Minitab and any unsaved progression is lost and that's of course sad.

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Josh from Construction Management

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Powerful to a Fault

Pros

MiniTab is incredible... it flattens a decade worth of Lean Six Sigma Black Belt practice into a one-stop-shop calculator tool. If you're like me, then you've built hundreds of Excel tools from first-principles... which means your transition into Minitab should be fairly easy. As long as you take this product seriously, you'll be fine... but it's not meant for casual users.

Cons

Even understanding first principles of numerical management, this product can be a little disorienting at first. It's like a swiss army knife with a thousand tools... you're never quite sure where to find what you need. While the product integrates well with Excel, it can be easy to make a mistake in the way your data is formatted before entering. If you're working with someone who isn't at the LSSBB level, they literally won't understand anything about this product.

June 2019

Samuel from University of Tennessee

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Statistical analysis made easy for Industry

Overall we haven’t identified a better statistical analysis software that can be at the reach of professionals regardless of their statistical knowledge breath and computational experience. We utilize it in the job shop, in training and education, and projects.

Pros

The functionality of Minitab is easy to use and adds value across the organization, from R&D experiments to Process Quality Control.

Cons

The point and click functionality of Minitab makes it easy to follow and implement, but becomes tedious and monotonous to go over multiple windows and tabs for advanced users.

November 2018

Balakrishnan from University of Alberta

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Statistical analysis made simple

Amazing statistical tool for beginners and advanced users

Pros

Everything you get in a click of a button

Cons

Help commands should be more elaborative. currently very concise

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Lonnie from TriWest Healthcare Alliance

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

The best tool for statistical analysis and graphical representation of data.

Easy analysis, amazing graphing. The best tool for statistical analysis.

Pros

The software is easy to use, but also provides plenty of support/help resources. Provides the widest array of statistical analysis tools. The graphical outputs are amazing. I am able to constantly wow executive leadership with Minitab's control charts and other diagrams.

Cons

Although many options are available for individual users that make costs effective, justifying the cost of the software to my organization has been challenging.

December 2019

Arun from BLDEA's V P Dr PG Halakatti College of Engineering & Technology

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Optimizing the process and design is easy

It helps to solve ANOVA problems, regression analysis, and many more problems. Apart from these it allows optimizing process parameters and design process.

Pros

Allows to optimize processes and designs, perform different calculations very quickly and accurately. Lots of features and detailed tools makes it more accurate and allows to collect the data in many ways.

Cons

So many features make it confusing and require good training sessions to work upon any type of calculation and problems.

February 2020

Emilio from BMXQ

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Minitab 19, good value for your money

Sales representative are available in English & Spanish, if you contact them by e-mail they'll answer real fast. Installation on server was easy with support provided. And installation on clients was a breeze. No problems at all. Minitab is good enough to cover our data analysis needs, we use it at the quality lab to analyze results, so far with good outcomes in few time. At first may be a bit difficult to understand if you are not familiar with terms, but after a small lesson you can quickly learn how to take advantage of the possibilities it offers.

Pros

We got a network license, it is available through the whole office with basic installation without the need to have a dedicated license for each user, specially because this is a SW we use a few times per month.

Cons

The network license is for 5 seats, for small offices (15 employees) it is too much to get all 5 and too expensive to have only 3.

July 2019

Abdulkadir from Bayburt University

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Required for Statistics

I use the Minitab program frequently for my studies in the field of health. I can easily interpret the results. In particular, it is easy to design and analyze the tools of the experiment design. In addition, there are optimization tools both in regression analysis and many tools of experimental design, which makes this program valuable. In particular, optimization models with multiple objective functions are very difficult to solve (nonlinear programming). However, the solution can be reached more easily with Minitab.

Pros

Provides ease of use, is compatible with Excel, the results are very accurate

Cons

The visual status of the graphics needs to be improved

November 2017

NIKHIL from Shire Plc

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

I love everything about minitab.

Pros

I can compile data reports at the hit of a button. I was using Excel workbook for data analysis and regression analysis but minitab is way more user friendly and less complex in comparison to excel. It also provided a lot more functionalities which are missing in excel

Cons

There is nothing I do not like about the software. I am more than satisfied with Minitab. If anything I would like minitab to be compatible with other software systems that I use on a daily basis in order to import and export data.

January 2020

Caleb from MSU

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Great statistical software

Pros

It is extremely easy to use and quite powerful. You get results quickly and reliably. It has been able to do any of the statistical analysis that I have ever needed. Graphs and images look nice and integrate well into Word and Excel.

Cons

While it is easy to use, it can actually be a bit overwhelming at times. It has so many functions and capabilities that it is easy to get lost. It can also be a bit pricey.

April 2016

P from DDesigns

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Customer support

1.0

April 2016

Good Standalone

If you need a statistical software that stands alone from any other system. Minitab is viable option. But, if you need it to tie to other systems to be feed the data, don't go this route. You can import data manually and copy manually, but that is it. This works the same way on export. So in other words, it is like a fancy calculator that you have sitting on your desk. Over the years they have improved their navigation thru their menus, and added some functionality to it, but still lacks to other software packages. If you have two or more systems that you use regularly (e.g. Virtual machine and Desktop Workstation), your license only supports one system. If you need it on both, you have to purchase a separate license. Even Autodesk has figured this out to not be a very viable option for their customers. Be cautious about their training packages. You are not allowed to purchase a course, but only an allotted time for a course. So like most work environments, work can take priority over completing a course. So, if you do not complete it in time, you miss out. It was a good statistical software back in their early years, but never kept up with technology and demand of the customers. And, it still has its old ghost that never were worked out of the system. I don't suggest using this. Go with some other system that someone suggests highly, that meets the demands of this age, not an age gone past.

Response from Minitab

Replied April 2016

PD, thank you for sharing your perspective on Minitab. Per your comment about using multiple systems, please use Help > Licensing > Move to transfer a single active license between multiple computers, at no extra charge. Only a single license can be active at any given time per the single-user license agreement, and we also offer multi-user licenses if that better meets your needs. And you can fortunately integrate Minitab with other systems to automatically import data, then create charts, run stats, etc. For assistance, please contact Tech Support at 814-231-2682.

May 2019

Jeremy from Louisville Metro

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Political Organization

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Statistical Analysis Software

I use Minitab to calculate statistics on data sets for my organization.

Pros

Minitab is rather straightforward for statistical uses. I appreciate that the User Interface mimics Excel, which makes it more approachable to use and learn compared to alternatives.

Cons

I would prefer there to be more visualization options so that I could make my analyses more visually stimulating.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 226 reviews