What are Panoply users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Panoply software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.05

20 Reviews

5
9
4
6
3
3
2
1
1
1
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Panoply is easy to use and doesn't require a lot of work to get started."
  • icon"It allows you essentially to browse without using strict SQL queries. As we are trying to integrate the product for use with our non technical team, this is incredibly important."
  • icon"I like that it is easy to use. It is incredibly easy to navigate around."
  • icon"Tricky renewal process and absolute inflexibility. Charged us for an additional 12 month contract for unused product after auto-renewal."
  • icon"Organizing folders can be difficult if you didn't plan ahead because you can't select more than one at a time. Also difficult to search for information and it is slow when going in and out of folders."
  • icon"The biggest con I can think about is the lack of built-in visualization tools. At the moment if you want to see your data visually you must use an external software."

Jump to:

Browse all Panoply Reviews

  • Have you used Panoply and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 20 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 20 of 20 reviews

User Profile

Nathan Patrick

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Panoply gets the job done!

The support team behind Panoply is very helpful. We've used the on-site chat function to get immediate help. We've also submitted questions through traditional routes like email. All of which were answered quickly.

Pros

The speed to solution is a big win for us. We were able to get a full data pipeline up in running in less than half a day. That's with various data sources and incremental refresh. The UI is easy to use.

Cons

There aren't really any cons. The platform is in its infancy and I can tell that the team is listening to user feedback and already making updates.

Reasons for choosing Panoply

The price was perfect and the features met our needs.

Reasons for switching to Panoply

Snowflake was too costly and still required in-depth coding and platform knowledge to quickly spin up a data pipeline.

User Profile

Saurav

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Helped me immensely with analyzing netcdf data files

I am working with Geographical data that has latitudes, longitudes and a variable I am trying to analyze. This is a great tool to have for such data structure.

Pros

I was introduced to Panoply by a colleague. I was trying to analyze a bunch of climate variables that were in netcdf format. Before I could write a code in Matlab to analyze the data, I needed to know the data structure. For this I have used a combination of F77 and Matlab in the past. However, I wanted to exclude Fortran and have a more convenient way of knowing the basic data structure. Matlab was more powerful with the actual analysis but not with the pre processing. This is where Panoply came in handy. All I had to do was upload the netcdf data file directly into panoply and boom. It gave me the basic structure that includes the number of data points, latitudes and longitudes of the data points and other essential details I needed.

Cons

I did not come across any problem in particular for the 2+ years I have used Panoply. Sometimes, It did take a little long to load it if the netcdf file I was working with was a large file but it was not a big deal. Panoply actually was immensely helpful in knowing the data structure of the variable type for which I followed a much more complex procedure in the past before I used Panoply.

Reasons for switching to Panoply

The procedure for the option was simpler and also Panoply gave me the option to visualize the data that I could not do with Fortran 77

matt

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Customer service is great until you cancel

Decent product, overpriced for it's function, the support team and customer service team need to get their act together.

Pros

We used Panoply to ingest DynamoDB data and send it to the analytics platform for intellegence. The software worked and functioned fine, our we had a simple use case, but it never failed us.

Cons

The pricing was really steep for our simple use case and didn't bring the value that the price tag suggests. Ultimately we found a service that is 40% the cost that suites our needs. When I went to cancel there is no unsubscribe button, I had to hunt for a cancellation email address. After going back and forth with the director of customer service, I finally got it cancelled. However, they threw a 30-day notice clause at us causing us to pay an extra 50 days for a product we are not using. Really bad form in my opinion.

Response from Panoply

Hi Matt, Thank you for your review. We value feedback from all of our customers. I am glad that you had a good experience with our platform and that our platform allowed you to get some insights. I am sorry about your experience with the cancellation process. While we are disappointed when one of our customers leaves, we aim to make the process as simple as possible by following the terms of the signed contract. One of the terms is our requirement to provide 30 days' notice before the next renewal date. We state this in our terms and conditions but apologize for any misunderstanding, and we will work to make that part of the agreement clearer. We wish you all the best and hope that we can work together in the future.

Replied August 2021

Noam

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Panoply is a great product that helps in WH management as well as optimization.

Pros

Query optimization is great and all behind the scenes. Views automatic materialization is great and enable me to create very complicated views without considering runtime. support representatives are very responsive and usually very helpful. In general, very flexible company that always to get better and answers it's clients needs

Cons

Web platform can be built better Materialization processes have some problem sometimes (downtime) and are not visible properly on the platform

User Profile

Adir

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

A great service to connect all your data sources to and analyze them together

Pros

It's really easy to start and add various data sources. You can then create connections between data sources and start building custom reports that show you insights and valuable data.

Cons

The biggest con I can think about is the lack of built-in visualization tools. At the moment if you want to see your data visually you must use an external software. Hoping they would get around to adding it soon!

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

The power of a data warehouse in minutes

I managed to setup the data warehouse for a large company (3000+ employees) in just a couple of months (mainly getting accesses and defining which sources to use). Not only we are saving money from other un-managed solutions, but we are also saving from the development and maintenance time required to build an in-house solution.

Pros

Forget about building and maintaining a data warehouse in-house (with all its ETLs). You can get up and running in just 5 minutes with a lot of pre-built integrations, and amazing customer support. And with it's flexible pricing model, it makes Panoply a no-brainer for both small and large enterprises.

Cons

The web UI/UX needs more work, it can be slow, and there are many features that are only available on request from the backend (history tables, ssh tunnel for connections, etc.). The replication frequency is rather limited (down to 1hr only), and the lack of change log replication is a big cons (e.g. MongoDB chagelog or Postgres replication log).

Robert

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Great service and response time, queries timeout sometimes.

ETL from Mongo to Redshift, ability to integrate with data from many internal tools (Mixpanel, Twilio, ZenDesk, Asana, etc.), running performance-intensive queries.

Pros

I love the service and response time from Alon and crew. They are always on top of it. I also like the materialized views functionality and our custom integration with Twilio.

Cons

I don't like that I can't materialize views in Panoply if I'm not the dbadmin. I also have had frustrations with queries timing out in our data visualization tool, although that's improved recently. I'd also like multifactor auth available in the UI in Panoply.

User Profile

Rory

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

The best managed AWS solution

Pros

For our purposes, they worked out cheaper than an out-of-the-box AWS integration, but they offered ELT and excellent customer support as a bonus.

Cons

They don't have as many ELT connectors as companies like Fivetran and Stitch, but what they do have works very effectively.

Franklin

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

It's great but it's sluggish

Pros

I like that it is easy to use. It is incredibly easy to navigate around. It allows you essentially to browse without using strict SQL queries. As we are trying to integrate the product for use with our non technical team, this is incredibly important. They are not particularly well versed in tech or code or any of the sort, but they can understand panoply. Trying to grapple with SQL data directly would be fairly impossible. Panoply allows us to level to playing field and bring this over to all users and simplify the entire process as well as not provide us with the ability to not expose the direct data that customers are using directly.

Cons

I have not used the product in a couple weeks, but at the time panoply was incredibly slow. Whenever I attempted to use the product in any way shape or form, it took an incredibly long time for it to deliver any data that I was looking for. It was actually surprising how long it would take and I actually spent some time troubleshooting my local network as a result (which I've found not to be the issue). My colleague has since informed me that this is no longer the case, so I'm definitely willing to give it another go, but my impression at the moment unfortunately still stands at this present time.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Good product; among the worst service I have every encountered

Pros

Easy to setup, with minimal technical skill required.

Cons

Tricky renewal process and absolute inflexibility. Charged us for an additional 12 month contract for unused product after auto-renewal. Product generally good, but I would caution to watch billing like a HAWK.

Response from Panoply

Sorry you had this experience. We are always striving to improve and appreciate the feedback.

Replied April 2020

Elana

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

June 2020

Easy to set up and maintain VPC

Pros

Panoply is very easy to set up and entirely obfuscates the ETL process.

Cons

When I had issues with data loading it was very difficult to troubleshoot and had to talk to support many times and eventually also a data architect.

Hugh

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Never worked for us, management incredibly rude and confrontational

I would not recommend doing business with their company unless you have a ridiculously simple use case (for example, our use of nosql databases seemed to be outside their typical use case) and you are OK with their management team being rude and unhelpful. (The support team seems friendly enough but struggles to handle complex cases or smaller ACVs from our experience).

Pros

If it worked for our use case I'm sure the product would be great. However our experience was that there was a lot of promises during the sales process but it turned out that we couldn't actually use the product – for reasons on both sides. They insisted that we pay for it for 14 months anyway though.

Cons

Their management team (someone in the C suite) sent some of the rudest emails I have ever received. When we were unable to use the product because it wasn't able to sufficiently support our use case or have adequate protections for our private/secure data, they went from friendly to incredibly rude and confrontational. They were unable to accept that a customer who got zero use or value from the product (which they'd be able to demonstrate with internal metrics) wasn't likely to love the product or recommend it to others.

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Signing on with Panoply is like getting a whole engineering team's worth of output for cheap

The ability to manage our data in one central store.

Pros

It does something that is sorely needed in the market -- a way to manage large amounts of data in one central store without needing tons of in-house expertise. Getting set up could not have been easier and working with data in Panoply is easy. I have no regrets about signing up.

Cons

Redshift SQL is a little bit annoying, but that has nothing to do with Panoply and their service. It will be interesting to see if they expand to other warehouses in the future.

User Profile

Jacklyn

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

The easiest way to get started with data management.

Was able to stop leaking data and made it easily accessible without going into sticker shock.

Pros

Panoply is easy to use and doesn't require a lot of work to get started. Without a database manager I was able to connect and save all of my data. Able to use SQL instead of crashing my computer for reports and segmentation.

Cons

Organizing folders can be difficult if you didn't plan ahead because you can't select more than one at a time. Also difficult to search for information and it is slow when going in and out of folders.

Teja

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Best Value for Money

We could gain the insights we are looking from various sources using Panoply

Pros

Panoply is the best investment we have made so far. For a company our size(100-200 employees), and a company that cannot invest too much money in BI infrastructure yet, Panoply not only maintains the infrastructure but also provides the best customer support and data architect to gain insights from various sources. I have already recommended panoply to a few of my contacts.

Cons

Restriction on the number of admins to 1.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

Panoply Makes Warehousing Easy for Most Users

Overall, Panoply is a great option for short-term or non-technical projects, but may not be best for more advanced teams.

Pros

Panoply finally offers non-technical users an easy and affordable way to warehouse data, pipe it to the right tools, and not deal with the hassle of new warehouse creation, view generation, or ETL. The interface is intuitive enough to not need support during setup, and data is accurately reflected in the warehouse within hours. Several adaptors to other services are supported out of the box.

Cons

Panoply works well for limited warehousing applications, but if you have technical resources available and/or need good long-term storage, other warehousing solutions may be best. Panoply has many native cloud integrations, but several require 3rd party solutions like Stitch, increasing cost and complexity.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Redshift without the Maintenance

Pros

This is the perfect solution for those who want to use amazon redshift but don't want to manage a cluster. Panoply automagically creates indexes and optimizes your DB as you add data

Cons

The software is still new, so I occasionally run across a bug or 2. These are typically minor and fixed quickly.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Great product for jumpstarting your BI infrastructure.

We were able to get our BI infrastructure up and running quickly and at a good value.

Pros

- Can run Redshift without needing a DBA -- Panoply does it for us. - Access to a data architect for assistance.

Cons

- No alerts for if a job fails. - Limited number of connectors. Have to bridge the gap with other software.

User Profile

Alejandro

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Very easy to set up, connect to our services and consume the data. I love their customer support.

Pros

- Ease of setting up - Simplicity - Customer service is very close every trimester - Integrations to other platforms

Cons

At the begining it was hard to conect to Microsoft Azure and the development of this took time, after this, everything were as expected

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Great for non-engineers

Pros

Panoply has a LOT of connectors to third-party tools

Cons

Does not support common formats like Parquet, making it clear that this was built for non-engineers

Showing 1 - 20 of 20 reviews
Panoply

Panoply

4.05/5 out of 20 reviews