Sisense

Sisense Reviews

RATING:

4.52

(362)

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.52

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"The UX and UI is beneficial for those who expect a great quality software."
  • icon"Price was reasonable, less technological expertise needed than for other vendors. Good out-of-the-box functionality and documentation."
  • icon"Ease of use, flexibility, open framework (you get a basic offer which you can customize as you go), backend technology is very powerful."
  • icon"Difficult to understand the error messages. You need Sisense Support Team's at all times."
  • icon"The error message in the elasticube are sometimes a little weird."
  • icon"Embedding visuals is difficult and they don't always work depending on where you are embedding them."

Have you used Sisense and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Sisense Reviews

1-25 of 354 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Ahuva

Company size: Unspecified

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

May 2021

Sisense gets users answers to questions in minutes, which used to take 10s of hours to collect!

User Profile

Brian

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2017

Implementation Was Great, And Support Continues To Be Great. We Enjoy Pushing The Limits

Real-time Internal visibility to operations for account and executive management, also providing similar visibility directly to clients through OEM license of Sisense. We've become dependent on the operational analytics from Sisense for both assessing the success of recent feature updates and prioritizing new features.

Pros

Great experience. We use Sisense both internally and resell (OEM) to our clients. Sisense implementation team did a great job helping us to complete our first use cases, which was a great source of hands-on education. We've been running with Sisense for more than a year and have seen useful new features, design updates, and bug fixes. Their support people are efficient, professional, knowledgable, and just nice people. There have been challenges as we push the limits of functionality, but support from both the sisense community and the Sisense support people has allowed us to push through those challenges. Sisense has a incredibly useful and valuable product today, and I look forward to seeing the product roadmap come to reality. The speed at which we constructed our original solution, and several solutions since, is outstanding. That speaks to the production functionality and performance, and the people at Sisense that have helped us along the way.

Cons

The product does not have the ability to view it's own operational metrics on a dashboard. We pointed this out during our implementation more than a year ago, and this is still lacking in the product. We've built our own functionality around this since, but it should have come out-of-the-box. The mobile experience also isn't nearly as rich as we'd like. They've grown quite a bit there in the last year, but still needs more capabilities.

Carol

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

Powerful Tool!

Sisense helps users get answers they need about data faster and easier than going through the IT department.

Pros

I like Sisense for the ease of use. A user can create a report quickly. Also, using scripts to customize widgets and reports is very nice.

Cons

Exporting of dashboard to use in powerpoint is not as easy as we would like.

Reasons for choosing Sisense

Ease of use, and the support staff is really awesome!

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2022

Powerful tool, not a great fit for everyone.

Overall, our team decided to part ways with Sisense for more flexible and cost-effective options. We can certainly see the value, but perhaps it makes more sense for much larger companies with more staff specifically focused on embedded BI, perhaps as a full department.

Pros

When adopted, Sisense met the criteria we had set out for embedded analytics for our end users and some internal business analytics. The pricing was initially agreeable.

Cons

When exploring options, it was suggested to be low/no-code, which was not the case. As we got the ball rolling, we found their tools and visuals to be powerful, but very hard to customize, format, and match our brand. Support was one of the worst aspects. Many issues we brought up that blocked full deployment were not prioritized and left us seeing it as very overpriced for our use-case and business needs.

Behrang

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2019

Solid Full-Stack BI Solution

Great product, great company.

Pros

The Elasticube is at the core of the SiSense product - it allows an administrator to connect to multiple disparate data sources to create a logical grouping of data. The dashboards are attractive and functional.

Cons

The product is easy for anyone with technical expertise, but non-technical users will struggle to create dashboards.

Reasons for choosing Sisense

At the time of evaluation, SiSense's ability to merge and model disparate datasets through their Elasticube was far better than the competition.

austin

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Periscope was amazing in its time

I was at an adtech company running millions of reads and writes a month and we needed insight into our data. At the time periscope was the most robust option. And whenever a problem happened someone was there to help remediate the issue.

Pros

Ease of use, caching features, and customer support were all top notch. Absolutely nothing to complain about besides the price point. If you are well funded, you will not be

Cons

The price point is very steep if you are a startup or if you wanted to use Periscope for a home project.

Reasons for choosing Sisense

These products didn't exist at the time, but these product would be what I recommend to smaller companies.

Angel

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

User-friendly software that I would recommend to others!

Easy to use and the team will help you for setting up with anything.

Pros

User-friendly! It can integrate with most of the software that my company is using.

Cons

It is not broadly integrated with certain software. No hotline for customer support for urgent issues.

Reasons for choosing Sisense

The interface, good presentation from the Sales team and they can fulfill my needs.

User Profile

Greg

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

Able to get BI up and Running from Multiple Sources relatively easily

Value for money solution

Pros

Able to get a demo up very quickly - basically a full functioning demo product. Sisense is used in our organisation to perform the following tasks: - Bring together data from multiple data sources (mysql databases, google spreadsheets, google analytics, web analytics tools) - Dashboarding - various sales/metric dashboards are displayed around the office on large plasma screens. Individual users also have access to the dashboards. - Adhoc reporting - we also use Sisense to perform adhoc reporting and do data extractions across different sources The product has a long way to establish a single source of truth for our sales data, but to also allow for the quick and timely extraction and presentation of data in dashboards which was previously done in a very laborious way. Once you bring in your data from multiple sources you can use custom SQL language to bring all data sources together. This is a great way of doing things Drag and drop dashboarding Sisense support was also excellent and they were able to provide us with a cloud solution as a one stop shop. Very solid solution for the price. Slick interface.

Cons

Drag and drop dashboards also mean there is less customization of dashboards. Not as flexible as Tableau. If you get your data model wrong the product can hang - you need to self-verify your work. Which you should. Not sure how it performs with truly big data sets.

Julien

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2018

Sisense has been a key component of our marketing product offering for 3 years. Our clients love it.

Pros

The front end of Sisense is what I like the most about this Software. Whether you are designing a Dashboard or using it you can expect and smooth and intuitive experience. From a designer standpoint: the basic charts and features of data visualization are available in the standard tool. Once you are familiar with them, you find the need to take it to the next level. Next thing you know you find yourself leveraging Sisense online resources, adding new widgets, and updating javascript very easily to make your dashboard look the way you want. From a user standpoint, looking at data, drilling and exporting is simple to figure out even without training.

Cons

I have experienced a few limitations with Sisense. When you export a dashboard into an image it doesn't look too good. I find myself taking screenshots instead which can sometimes become time consuming. I've also been a little frustrated with not being to sort data as wanted in ascending, descending or alphabetical order. I experienced a situation where I identified a design flaw for a supported widget and we were asked to financially support the development to fix the flaw. Which we didn't. We still really appreciate the tool and its many benefits overall.

Thalhathul

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2018

Sisense is a great tool! Very easy to learn, implement and explore :-)

Pros

- Integrated data connectors joining multiple data sources and formats - Integrates with external web sites or web applications - Integrates with web portals - Interactive browser-based dashboards - Removes limitations to data size - Use Single-Sign-On to keep a single authentication mechanism - Wide range of widgets such as gauges, charts, and graphs - Can be set up and used entirely in-house - Centralized data hub - Complex business queries without programming or SQL writing - Consolidates, stores, and accumulates data - Data mash-ups - Data unification - Drag-and-drop user interface - Intuitive `script-less user interface - Embed entire dashboards or individual widgets - Enables to deliver interactive terabyte-scale analytics - Exports data to CSV, PDF, Excel, Images and other formats - Eye-grabbing visualization - Filters data by dropping fields on the canvas - Handles data at scale on a single commodity server - Identifies critical metrics using filtering, calculations

Cons

Managing the elasticube was little difficult as it sometimes hangs while performing various activities.

Naveen

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

May 2016

Amazingly easy, fast & powerful. Great for focused insight creation & deployment. Mobile friendly

Sisense distinguishes itself from an increasingly crowded marketplace with a phenomenally easy to use, fast, seamlessly integrated product. Its Elasticube server/database provides a single point ETL, Data warehouse and semantic layer rolled into one. Building a usable data model is a cakewalk compared to other products out there. Transparency and flexibility of the model is outstanding. You can easily see underlying data, create custom calculation fields using traditional SQL, preview data at will, and make changes quickly without worrying about "breaking" the data warehouse. Sisense Elasticubes accommodate multiple concurrent data sources from a variety of database types including traditional, cloud and big data. Not to mention, you can join on key fields even from Excel and CSV flat files. You may run into some slowness based on data volumes and refresh frequencies. Installation is a breeze. Download the package from their website, tweak your installation parameters and let it go. No additional scripts or components. No additional servers to be set up. This is a single machine-install that uses every drop of juice your server can provide. Make sure you choose upper end of processor and memory specs. Sisense's single web interface for designing individual visuals (charts, graphs, tables, etc) and dashboards is a pleasure to use. Whether you prefer building bottom-up or top-down, this is a truly easy interface to use as master. Filtering capability is remarkably well developed and scope/type of filters can be regulated without leaving the web page you are on. Visuals look great as they are, but if you want to tweak the look/feel and behavior of individual charts, all you need is a working knowledge of Javascript. Their website is remarkably rich with customization scripts, plugins and API libraries for most applications. If your company uses Unix based servers, may be a challenge to use since primary install package is Windows. Your mileage may vary with their scalability and governance architecture - for purists and traditionalists their approach is not "conventional". I think they have eschewed clustering for a different approach. Confirm if this works for you - especially if you expect a growth in volume/users/complexity. Fidelity of report export format and scheduled report emailing need some polish. I hear the newer versions have fixed these issues. If these are important to you, check first. Definitions of Enterprise Class vary.

Yossi

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2019

Great dashboarding tool, very easy and quick to implement

Within months we have implemented advanced management dashboards over multiple business domains such as Cross-Company KPI's, Sales & Forecasting, Technical Services, HR, etc. We have managed to shift the extended management into daily business reviews of streamlined terminologies and KPI's.

Pros

Time to implement ; Visualization ; Self explanatory for users ; Pulse functionality ; Great Customer Success and Support team ; Available ecosystem of add-ons ; Constantly evolving & improving

Cons

Missing some basic functionalities (but for some there are available add-ons and solid roadmap) Very easy to ramp up and implement the basics, but getting tough on the advanced analytics concepts (can be mitigated with an additional DWH layer)

Reasons for switching to Sisense

Had an obsolete implementation. Wanted to start from scratch, rather than improve an existing model.

Brahadesh

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2017

Sisense - 360-Degree Product

The support team was great and customer success manager Shimon was great to work with. He was listening to our requirements was helping us to navigate with the product and escalating to right people for fixing very critical issues.

Pros

Sisense is one of best Product we have been using for last 1.5 years. This product has features of HTML 5 portlets, REST API, Widget Customisation, Best UI experience, Integration to your systems using SSO, AI and Bots Integrations, Modern IOT, Sisense Bulbs, R-Integrations, Data Mining Models, Facebook & Twitter Social Data Integrations. Very easy to implement into the environment. In a traditional warehouse, it takes years to implement BI solutions. This one took few days to implement the solution.

Cons

They still need to Explore on Data Lake Scenarios. Few Features needs to scale up in terms Sisense Apps. Drill down is not available and few reporting features like exporting to excel and emailing to non-sisense users are not available.

Evan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2018

SiSense Is A Solid BI Solution. Implementation Is Easy And Dashboard Performance Is Quick.

Implementation was easy and dashboard performance is quick. Being a true end-to-end BI solution has its pros and cons depending on the scope of your needs, but overall I have been very satisfied with my choice to go with SiSense.

Pros

Many BI solutions require significant infrastructure and/or IT resources to administer/manage its implementation. SiSense does not require this, and its ease-of-use, speed of performance, and broad feature set will satisfy most BI needs.

Cons

Pricing based on user discourages widespread adoption. There could also be some improvement in the front-end/UI feature capabilities, with less reliance on custom plug-ins and scripting.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2019

BI tool review

Very positive, it responds to our basic BI requirements. Customer support is very helpful and responsive

Pros

Ease of use, flexibility, open framework (you get a basic offer which you can customize as you go), backend technology is very powerful.

Cons

Very basic UI and out of the box visualization features, Elasticube is an outdated tool, no support for languages other than an old SQL version with limited functions supported.

Reasons for choosing Sisense

Ease of use, backend robustness and performance, data integration capabilities, support

Anil

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2022

Data Visualization with Sisense

Sisense is powerful tool and I used it for data management for my customers.

Pros

Sisense is powerful tool for data management, you can visualize your data with this app.

Cons

It has many feature to use but there are things to developer should improve.

Reasons for switching to Sisense

Domo is essential tool to use for data management.

Andrew

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE