User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(10)

10

4 stars

(7)

7

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Started using this software a few months ago, and its shear power is amazing. The number of things the user can do with this software are amazing"

  • "Very comfortable to use especially for a beginner and since it can be supported in any platform and excellent form of teaching.Makes machine learning easy"

  • "1- Friendly interface, robust software operation 2- Easy to learn 3- It support several data types"

  • Cons

  • "A bit pricey to acquire but worth it at the end and it can consume a lot RAM sometimes your computer freezes"

  • "Graphic plotting capabilities compare to R is low, I think this important feature that make RapidMiner stronger."

  • "It is very costly. It is hard to share the data with someone else. "

Browse RapidMiner Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -31 of 19 results

August 2018

Rashid from Introductory Chemistry, Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2018

Great tool for data analytics!

Great data analytic and visualization tool!

Pros

No coding skills needed! Rapidminer is a GUI tool that you can connect boxes on a canvas to conduct data anlysis, this serves as a great introduction to data analytics. Free for students! You can get a provisional liscence with a dot edu account. This is a great perk of the software. Data analytics and data visualization tools are available within the software with a plethora of other features!

Cons

Very buggy! The software tends to crash often, this is especially more common with things such as neural networks etc. Limitations of some versions! Even with the student version there is a limit of 10,000 rows of output, so if you are trying to do analysis on a 12,000 point data set , 2000 points will randomly be omitted.

June 2019

Maynard John from De La Salle University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

The data scientist's swiss knife: Fast and Easy Machine Learning through RapidMiner Studio

Overall my experience with using RapidMiner was great. It allowed me to rapidly try out different machine learning models and compare each result with one another. It also allowed me to conveniently address my workflow without having to write code. It is a great tool for students and people without a strong programming background. Its well documented functions and strong community addresses what ever questions I had with the processes.

Pros

One of the daunting requirements for data scientists and data storytellers is learning a programming language such as matlab and python and writing code for their tasks. This is on top of having to analyze and learn complex algorithms needed for the task. This can be a time consuming problem, especially for those who are not adept at programming. However, this is now a thing of the past because of RapidMiner Studio. This is because RapidMiner features are drag and drop visual interface which makes all the difference. Data preparation to the final output and visualization is as simple as dragging blocks of your workflow into a canvas and connecting them altogether. RapidMiner Studio also has most of the machine learning models used in the academe and the industry. One of the difficulties when dealing with code is tweaking the parameters of these models but because of the visual interface, you could simply click on the process and update this. RapidMiner is also well documented. Each of the processes has their description, input, output, and parameters well described. Tutorial videos as well as blogs are available on their website. And finally, RapidMiner Studio has a community of data scientists that can help you when you have a question.

Cons

What I found to be very inconvenient is that the application crashes at times. This may be a problem limited to my own machine. Aside from this I found that the application seems to hog my computers memory and cpu resources. This may be because the application is running on Java (VM). This may not be a problem for people with a higher spec machine. I also found that the application lacks collaboration features which may be something that they could improve on in the future.

March 2019

Ambreen from pafkiet

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

Userfriendly Interface for ETL

It's a good platform while applying predictive analytics on any dataset with a user friendly interface to have the true picture of the future.

Pros

Visual workflow designer is the best part for predictive analytics. I really like drag n drop interface for generating models. Prebuilt templates are quite useful.

Cons

It's not always free. You need to purchase it if you wana work with more than 10000 rows. Its processing becomes too slow (almost hangs) while working with terabyte or petabyte of data. Sometimes, it becomes difficult to handle hundreds of models available.

April 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Great for Predictive Analytics

Pros

Fast at reading many kinds of databases. Various add-ons

Cons

It is very costly. It is hard to share the data with someone else.

February 2020

Roberto from Cloudwork Orange

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

I never had guessed that Data Science software was so easy

As being an old time user of data mining project using open programming languages, I found extremely useful all the features of Rapid Miner. Form preparing the data, creating predictive models and potting them in a visualized presentation.

Pros

The easiness of use, the support team, the video tutorials of the company, the career certification program, the visualization module has been upgraded, the integration capabilities to R, Python and Hadoop.

Cons

Actually the only complaint I have is that the sw didnt make it in the "LEADERS" quadrant of Gardner.

November 2018

Khurram from University of Alberta

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Excellent tool for Data Mining

Pros

Started using this software a few months ago, and its shear power is amazing. The number of things the user can do with this software are amazing

Cons

Sometimes, while handling big data, like having large number of examples and attributes, it takes a lot of time. The cumulative time increase, when the user is optimizing manually different attributes based on the results

October 2018

parinaz from University of Alberta

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Easily do your data mining

Pros

I learnt how to do data mining with this software. I can only say it is perfect even for new learners. When I started data mining the concept itself was new to me and I did not want to do complicated programming to do my data mining. That is why I chose RapidMiner. It is so easy to use and it provides lots of hint how to use each icon. I really prefer RapidMiner if I want to get my data mined faster and easier. Highly recommended.

Cons

The help section was not %100 complete. It has many explanation but examples are not good explained.

May 2018

francis from AFRICA CENTER FOR WOMEN INFORMATION COMMUNICATION AND TECHNOLOGY

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Its simplicity enables one to do data science and the best part is you can customize as per need.

Pros

Very comfortable to use especially for a beginner and since it can be supported in any platform and excellent form of teaching.Makes machine learning easy

Cons

A bit pricey to acquire but worth it at the end and it can consume a lot RAM sometimes your computer freezes

February 2020

igor from UM, EPF

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Solving difficult problems with easy solutions

business predictions, for instance short term default prediction using 4 different models in a few hours.

Pros

enough variety fast learning curve reliability vizualization

Cons

still searching, but if I have to write something: some add-ons are not free

November 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Fairly straight forward analytics

I'm using the basic version but was surprised to be able to easily analyse my small data set and identify a few interesting trends very swiftly. Usually I'd do basic analysis manually with SQL and gnuplot, but can see myself using to Rapidminer more in future (not something I thought I'd say)

Pros

Provides a surprising array of different analytical templates from to off. Very easy to get up and running, an online tutorial videos quickly show how to use the different analytical reports.

Cons

I always prefer free versions of software to be open source, but that's perhaps being too picky. Learning curve.

November 2018

Emad from University of Alberta

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Toward sophisticated data analytics :RapidMiner

I use RapidMiner for data analytics, data mining, classification and clustering in construction management.

Pros

1- Friendly interface, robust software operation 2- Easy to learn 3- It support several data types

Cons

Graphic plotting capabilities compare to R is low, I think this important feature that make RapidMiner stronger.

February 2017

Yehia from Queen's University

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Great tool for Proof of Concept purposes

I used RapidMiner a lot for doing proof of concept of some machine learning models before going to the production. It is really easy to construct a machine learning workflow, including loading data, features selection and cleaning, applying machine learning models and visualization. Sometimes, RapidMiner does not work well with big data as it requires a lot of memory to process the data. However, for me, it is the best tool yet to do pre-production experiements.

Pros

Easy to use. Perfect for non-technical users. RapidMiner includes a lot of Machine Learning libraries and algorithms. Easy to construct simple and understandable machine learning workflows

Cons

Does not scale well with the big data. Some visualization techniques are ambiguous.

November 2018

navid from metu

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

do you need to analyze the data?

Pros

I had a big data set I should analyze and didn't have any clue about data mining that's where I was introduced with rapid miner and I analyzed my data in less than a day. so I can just say its so easy and pretty simple and perfect.

Cons

I couldn't find any instructions and manual as a guideline for using it.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Best bang for your buck analytics tool, but only for Windows

Pros

This tool is basically identical to Alteryx, but substantially cheaper - making it a better value pick

Cons

This tool only worked well for my teammates who are in Windows....anyone who was using Mac had consistent issues (even after reinstalls), making it hard to pick for a team that uses both Windows and Mac

December 2016

Howard from University of Puerto Rico

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Very fast work and excellent presentation of results

I combined RapidMiner with R and it is a wonderful tool. It is the best in the market to build useful information from the result of data ming process.

Pros

Easy of use, fast, really nice presentation of results.

Cons

The expansion through code is not easy. It has a lot of functionalities but in some locations you got stuck and need to implement in other way.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great tool to enter with Data Science Analysis and Machine Learning

I used Rapid Miner in a certification of Big Data and Machine learning. It was tremendous support on the first stage of this courses

Pros

Graphic tool with lot of Predictive tools . Support Python code Support easy and complex of data sources Great tool for beginners and experts

Cons

Needs a good computer to support the engine. Output Graphics are not the best and I used excel to improve my presentations

March 2018

Melissa from Joyce Meyer Ministries

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Rapid Miner is a fantastic tool for machine learning!

It allowed us to do predictions on our data without having to be an experienced Data Scientist

Pros

It's so intuitive and easy to use. You can have a machine learning model built in just minutes and the price is great too! The best thing is that I don't have to be an experienced Data Scientist to work with this too. It's a great tool at a great price and very easy to use compared to other tools on the market!

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

RapidMiner Data Modelling

Pros

Easy to transform data and model easy to use machine learning algorithms Options for feature customization

Cons

webservice is difficult to use the GUI is not aesthetic

July 2019

Dimitris from University of the Aegean

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Good but demanding

I used Rapid Miner as part of a data mining lab at the university. It was pretty amazing what can be done with just a few clicks.

Pros

It makes data mining extremely easy even for beginners. Has many ready to go mining methods and drag and drop design.

Cons

It is very resource hungry. Makes memory full after a while. Despite its ease of use, it is also easy to get lost with so many features.