User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(57)

57

4 stars

(70)

70

3 stars

(19)

19

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I love how you can build and customize reports. I love how the software allows you to feed the informaiton in and it comes out very easy to use and summarize"

  • "Love how quick and easy it is to use this program . A lot of our major software programs are SAP based and very user friendly"

  • "versatile and specific to your needs so very flexable "

  • Cons

  • "It may be a bit complicated to learn how to use it but once you do it is quite useful "

  • "Some of the commands can be a bit confusing but nothing a cheat sheet can't fix!"

  • "very costly and looks dated at times some a bit complacated but due to needs "

Browse SAP Business Objects Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 144 results

December 2018

Ramesh from Conduent business services

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Good application

Pros

This is good time management tool with simple user interface

Cons

User interface can be modified for more simplicity.

September 2019

Patrick from MTNC

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

SAB BO Administration

Check every the status of all the services. Publish and schedule a report Create a report with Crystal Report Create triggers

Pros

Possibility to schedule a report with different parameter and send it by mail to different user. You can send a report in many format (xlsx, Pdf, etc) Triggers features when you schedule a report

Cons

Administration is not easy, many services to check every day. Consume a lot of Memory and CPU. In case of crash, the reinstallation is very difficult and too long.

February 2020

BARBIE from swgas

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

versatile program

overall it has been a game changer for our company

Pros

Love how quick and easy it is to use this program . A lot of our major software programs are SAP based and very user friendly

Cons

sometimes the layout of things was a little confusing or too cluttered for my taste. i would probably change the layout

January 2020

funda from TED University

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

SAP BO is used throughout the university for employee management and student information system

We use SAP BO both to get students data, employee management, personal applications and permissions. Besides, if we want to have file a problem to be solved by the IT department, it is the system we need to use, in summary SAP is the common software to do almost every task in the university and it is used by everyone from management to students and academic staff.

Pros

The best thing about SAP in our institution is that it is extremely easy to get data from the system as well as doing you own management applications, from having a data sheet about the number of students to ask for annual leave.

Cons

It may be a bit complicated to learn how to use it but once you do it is quite useful

February 2019

Keith from Mockler Beverage Company

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Warehousing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

SAP Business Objects - Watch your wallet

This company has draconian licensing and contract renewal process. They are not willing to work with consumers on any part of renegotiating a contract. For this reason alone I would never recommend this product to a colleague.

Pros

Business Objects has a great number of features. Report scheduling, dashboarding, and data file exports were some of the major features I used in this package.

Cons

Version upgrades are extremely difficult to perform without consulting. Troubleshooting messages tend to be cryptic which makes troubleshooting a laborious and tedious process.

November 2018

Glendy M from Corporacin ISC Bunker Ramo de Venezuela

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Great tool, reliable architecture and very useful

In space, the area that I address is the customer service through this fantastic tool we can keep a real-time control of the requests for services from our customers, assigning numbers of events that link the whole process with the areas involved, from that the service request is made until it ends with the invoicing process of it.

Pros

The scope advantages and the ability to link the data available in our organization by SAP BusinessObjects has allowed us to optimize the administrative and operational processes in a way that allows us to access the correct information.

Cons

I do not have negative opinions of the tool, within the organization has been very useful the use of it.

April 2019

Cheryl from Hoogheemraadschap van Rijnland

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Government Relations

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Good product, but poor support

The applications is good and very flexible. But there is a very complicated licencing system, much like that of Oracle. Be sure that you get proper advice from SAP of your SAP Partner.

Pros

Business Objects has many capabilities, for me, the ease of publication of reports is the most important.

Cons

SAP is a large company, if you work for a relatively small company (700 people), then you have to go through a partner. The quality of these partners varies.

January 2020

Syed Saad from K-Electric Ltd

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Easy to use reporting tool for SAP

Very valuable tool for my department which uses sap modules and finds ABAP reports cumbersome and slow.

Pros

I have worked as an SAP Consultant so I know the importance of reporting for clients. SAP business objects are the best way to quickly design and integrate reporting tools with SAP source systems.

Cons

For an end user, there is limited flexibility when it comes to modifying reports once deployed. I would like some more customization options.

May 2019

Chenyu from Johns Hopkins University

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

We use it for creating internal purchase order

Pros

We used SAP system quite often for purchasing lab items from supply store. And the supply store in University will ship the items basically within a day, so the system is quite efficient for ordering. Lab manager and account manager can also track the spending and let us know the status of the budget.

Cons

I don't have any problem using this system. We have been using this system for a long time.

August 2019

Resul from Ford Otosan

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

BI Tool

Pros

self service reporting function & easy of use

Cons

poor wiev of dashboard & no entegrated solution for data masking

February 2019

Pawan from Medtronic, plc.

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Good for reporting, but a bit clunky at times

Pros

Not very difficult to set up universes (both .unv and .unx) and develop reports, schedule them, etc. So from a functionality standpoint, this tool is good.

Cons

1. It doesn't always behave the way it is expected. For example, I could not modify a report to point to a different table within the same universe (one table points to production schema data and another to test schema data). 2. When modifying a report to say, add a section, the alignment gets messed up and it takes some ninja mouse skills to get the section to appear where you want. Should not be that difficult to accomplish a simple task like this. 3. Sometimes the errors that pop up have a very cryptic message and troubleshooting where the problem is occurring is almost impossible. For example, the query that the system generates runs fine and produces results in a tool like Toad or SQL Developer, but the report does not execute due to some error (ORA-01830: Date format picture ends before conversion). It would be helpful to get some context around the error to help with troubleshooting. 4. Developers don't have the ability to look at basic information about the universe that the report is pointing to (e.g. location in CMS) which makes it hard to know whether the report is pointing to the development version of the universe or the production version.

October 2016

Nagaraju from Teklink International Inc

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

BOBJ is a good option for complex data analysis

Pros : Complete product from Giant Vendor and has a great Echo system, Good for Complex/Huge Data Analysis models, Mass Publishing is a great advantage with this Product as i don't see this much of handy with any other Front end products, Robust model, With Design Studio and Lumira it has gain more strength in the BI Market, Great product to integrate with any kind business model, Cons: Increasing number of tools in the suit confusing customers to choose what for what, Bit Expensive compare to other Reporting products, Recovery is not simple as we think in Failure cases, It requires huge amount of Hardware resources to build a medium/Large landscape, not simple as an end user product for all type of Developments...

Pros

Complete product from Giant Vendor and has a great Echo system, Good for Complex/Huge Data Analysis models, Mass Publishing is a great advantage with this Product as i dont see this much of handy with any other Front end products, Robust model, With Design Studio and Lumira it could be a great product to integrate with any kind business model

Cons

Increasing number of tools in the suit confusing customers to choose what for what, Bit Expensive compare to other Reporting products, Recovery is not simple as we think in Failure cases, It requires huge amount of Hardware resources to build a medium/Large landscape, not simple as an end user product for all type of Developments...

August 2019

Daniel from Sybven

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

SAP BO administrator

Every single client love our SAP BO results overall its a great software for your Business.

Pros

In windows platform its the dream come true, easy to use and too many SAP note supports online, also unlikely failures on your platform and server, Lumira and Web intelligence both awesome tools on reporting, Dataservices its one of the one of the most complete ETL (Extration, Transformation and Loading) on the market with many many opcions its tricky to use but once you understand it its simplify and optimice your Dba activities.

Cons

In Linux its a complete hell in my experience, even with Redhat the Node and server fail almost every week too many eviroment issue even an 2 years Linux administrator as myself ( i know its not so much but anyway) i had plenty of issue and problems to install it, the support and SAP not in this platform its almost 0, seems none try to install BO on linux just myself.

Reasons for Choosing SAP Business Objects

Overall for the Custormer support and Comunity Notes

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Great tool for report automization, analysis and calculation

It's a very powerful tool to download data, however, requires some trainings for users.

Pros

It's intergrated in Microsoft Excel, so I can use all function of Excel on the data download by SAP Business Object. Normally we have to go to the web version of the reporting tool and download report one by one, but with SAP business Object (Analysis Office), we can insert the data source one time, format it, do calculation with it (using all other Excel function). The next time when you need to update the data. Just simply refresh data source in your formatted file. All data are refreshed while your calculation/format are still there. You can even write Excel VBA to load data with Analysis Office. It saves you a lot of time to download all reports based on different filter criterion.

Cons

First, it takes time to load if the data is too bid Second, there is a limit (55 000 lines) on Excel. You can, of course, change the limit, but not everybody knows how to do it (or allowed to do it) Thirdly, the prompts are not so well-designed and user-friendly. I normally have to scroll down a lot to find the filter. (imagine you have 10 different sheet, scrolling down will take long time). Fourthly, VBA and Analysis Office are quite complicated to use and the trouble-shooting is quite annoying.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Makes it easy to build complex queries without knowing SQL, I love it!

I use BusinessObjects every single day, multiple times a day. We are transitioning to start having all reporting come from BO as once the reports are setup and scheduled its "set it and forget it" in many cases. We put a lot of focus on automation and reducing the amount of time spent building custom reports and one-off analyses. So we have built numerous reports to support our sales team, operations teams, vendors, and c-suite that are all easily refreshed and filtered by the users on their own. And our analytics and reporting teams now have time to work on larger scope projects rather than being bogged down by requests.

Pros

I love most everything about BusinessObjects. It's a great way for our employees to self-service in many cases as previously they had no way to get access to larger data sets unless they put in a request with analytics. But now our Directors have access to data and reports at their fingertips with minimal training (they don't need an in-depth understanding of databases or SQL queries to use the software).

Cons

A con that is worth mentioning is that exporting large data sets can be a bit slow. But the ease of use and other benefits definitely outweigh that.

October 2016

Dhruv from Euthenics IT services pvt. Ltd.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Sap business object overall review

Sap business object is very ease to use for end user.there are someR very useful and user friendly tools which can be operate or handle by end user like web intelligence , explorer, lumira etc. In other end, there are other functionality and tools like dashboard,design studio , information design tool. Sap business object is platform independent and robust. Having great features of drill down,dynamic receipent ,enterprise reciepent.

Pros

Sap business object is very ease to use for end user.there are someR very useful and user friendly tools which can be operate or handle by end user like web intelligence , explorer, lumira etc. In other end, there are other functionality and tools like dashboard,design studio , information design tool. Sap business object is platform independent and robust. Having great features of drill down,dynamic receipent ,enterprise recipient.

Cons

Sap business object , for create the universe need knowldge of database and query and fundametals.

October 2018

Raghavendar from Infosys Technologies Ltd

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Unbeatable End to End Enterprize Business Intelligence solution

I have been working on SAP BO for past 10 years across different domanins like banking, manufacture and health care and built hundreds of application on BO. This is my primary skill set.

Pros

1. It is a massive BI tool which can support thousands of reports within the company 2. The security implementation is much far advanced 3. The different tools of the package WebI, Crystal, analytical tools serves/covers all needs 4. Lot of intelligence applied building this software and latest versions 4.2 is much advanced and feature rich 5. It also has ETL tool BODS providing end to end solution 6. It connects to all most all RDBS databases

Cons

1. Platform administration is too challenging 2. software version and patch takes lot of time 3. Too many features sometime confuses the developer and users (till there is scope for user friendly) 4. New release are too late and other side competitor like Tableau are moving very fast 5. Lumira still lacks lot than equivalent competitor tools

October 2016

Trivikram from Capgemini India Pvt Ltd

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Great Front End reporting tool which enhances the business decisions more effectively on the fly

I have been using the tool from past 9+ years for the development of reports to our clients and the improvements to the overall BO product suite over a period of time are absolutely fantastic and you will have a wide range of products in the suite which will cater all your business requirements irrespective of the domain you are in It is highly recommendable to the business who wants a better results,growth and improvements in the areas where they are lagging because the kind of visualizations and stunning dashboards that Business objects provides will give business head a clear cut idea on their improvement areas so that they can concentrate more on improvements and decision makings I have had an experience from various clients in different sectors like Finance,Telecom,Oil and Gas, Fleet and so on where they always gave a positive and really a five star rating about the product feasibility and various options SAP Business Objects provides As a developer and Technical specialist working on SAP BO I had a wonderful experience with the customer support from SAP and also whenever we raise an OSS Message or case about the product functionality the kind of response we got is really great and helped us a lot to solve the customer issues at the earliest It is ultimately a great product which sustained nearly a decade after SAP acquired now due to its tremendous capabilities and improvements in reporting and universe modelling and various versions of product releasing as and when required based on customers feedback Overall I would highly recommend SAP BO to any client be it small , medium and large due to its robust sizing guide lines this will be the best product and also this is one of the world's best reporting tool till date, no wonder after the introduction of SAP Design studio this will become the number one in the space of reporting Also I would like to mention about some of the important reporting tools in the product like WebIntelligence, SAP BO Exlorer, SAP Lumira which will definitely add an advantage to the organizations growth in providing the most thoughtful decisions on the fly to the clients Stunning,Astonishing,Intelligent and Beautiful Dashboards and Visualizations will only be possible with SAP Business Objects!!!!!!!!!!!!!

December 2016

Mohammad from Hitachi Consulting

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

SAP BOBJ BI

One of the best tools from SAP BusinessObjects BI is a suite of front-end applications that allow business users to view, sort and analyze business intelligence data for all integration and reporting management within the diversified organizations. Best features include Dashboards -- Allows us to create interactive dashboards that contain charts and graphs for visualizing data and reports. Web Intelligence -- Provides a self-service environment for creating ad-hoc queries and analysis of data both online and offline. Integration with an outlook for easy extraction and transformation of reports into excel. Good usage fro Business Explorer (BEx) Suite (BEx Analyzer, BEx Web reporting). Highly formatted layout (print focused) Parameterized / dynamic layout Self Service / Freeform Layout Hierarchical awareness Dashboarding & visualization Interoperability.

Pros

Fast, robust and compatible with third party integrations. Scheduling Event: This event is used to run reports or any BI objects sequentially one after the other.

Cons

Development seems bit deep dig process which takes a long time for customizations

December 2018

Sue from Marisoo Art

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Greatest business investment

I've used multiple sections of SAP and throughly enjoyed how each section works so smoothly with the others. It has the added bonus for companies that are global being able to link all business as well.

Pros

Once it's been implemented for the entire company it integrates every aspect smoothly. The ability to link every part of the business is invaluable. From HR to logistics to production, managing warehouse inventory cost saving are realized.

Cons

Implementation can be tricky if the people setting it up dont take the time to learn the business from one end to the other. It takes a team working in unison to develop a fully functional system. I've seem great things from SAP and I've seen a company sinking from a poor implementation.

June 2017

Paul from Vixxo

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2017

Great tool for big data analysis, visualization, and automation.

It frees up time

Pros

Every day I learn something new about the software and I'm always blown away but the capabilities. I dont know that I can pick out one thing I like most although a big one is how it allows me to take reports that to refresh previously would take quite a fair length of time but now that I have built the same reports in Business Objects I have automated most, if not all, of them. And many are even emailed to me at a time which I've scheduled so now that the reports are built, all I do is nothing. Just wait for them to be sent to my email inbox.

Cons

I wish there was an easy way to have my scheduled reports send to SharePoint (if there is a way please let me know);

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

powerful and customizable analytics

Establishing a culture of self service analytics within the organization with initial training and support as and when required.

Pros

SAP business objects is an easy to learn and use analytical tool especially in the context of self service analytics by end users. One is able to re-use the same query and also share the query with other users as well and modify the query at any given time for customization purposes. It is also fast.

Cons

As with any new tool, there is an initial learning curve to get ramped up - however there is fairly good documentation available for this purpose. In addition, need good network bandwidth especially when there are multiple users trying to run queries at the same time

April 2019

Brittany from IFOT

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

Used as Central Management Console

Pros

We use SAP Business Objects in conjunction with Crystal Reports to provide web based links for our employees to run on their own within the constraints of the parameters. I like that it is easy to navigate and sort by file name. The organization of information is clear and straightforward and it is easy to customize how you want to see things.

Cons

I wish there were options to add certain columns to your view. For example if I want to sort by name or last update, I can, no problem. But if i want to get any details on frequency or last time a user ran a report, i have to either go into the settings or run a report.

February 2018

Romer from Fasttrack Solutions, Inc.

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Satisfied but I can still see a lot of rooms for improvement of the products.

Pros

SAP BusinessObjects is a wide collection of softwares that businesses can use to handle different functions such as reporting, business analytics, forecasting, etc. Based on my experience, the softwares are easy to use with interactive graphical user interface. Also, with its point and click functionality, new users can easily familiarize with the system. In addition, the ability to customize the system for more advanced users is absolutely commendable. Few systems are flexible enough like SAP BusinessObjects. The integration of SQL Database Management makes it easier for more advanced users to customize the system according to the company's needs and demands.

Cons

Since the software is mostly Window-based, computers using other programming language might have some difficulty in using the system. The wide variety of functionality also makes it a little bit confusing with new users especially those with no knowledge of SQL syntax.

September 2016

Ben from Day & Zimmermann

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

SAP Business Objects Helping Us Gain Visibility and Transparency

Pros

In my opinion, not all SAP BO offerings are equal, but several are very useful. The offerings we have chosen to utilize will, without doubt, help us to transform our business. The offerings I find most useful for helping our field personnel and leadership get a better understanding of their environment are Lumira, Crystal Reports, Information Design Tool and HANA Studio. The Implementation of HANA is critical for reaching the next level of performance as well. SAP has very good customer service and the free education and learning resources are very useful.

Cons

As with any new product there are bugs and errors. I have been frustrated at times with the newer software and sometimes even the more mature software can be frustrating.

January 2019

Wojciech from Explorer-Consulting

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Professional Training & Coaching

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Advanced business analytics

I create dashboard to present sales information. It's great to be able to do it with "blank paper" and add visual elements connected to externa data. It's easy to build what-if analysis ad-hoc during business meetings.

Pros

I use SAP solutions to create dashboards and visual reports. What I like in SAP BO, that we can create powerful and innovative presentations - from 0 to our vision. I use many of all great options like: - maps - charts - gauges - sliders. Except that, it's possible to add external data and visual elements like shetchnotes and files from other formats. What is very important, reports are interactive, so we can create what-if analysis in easy way, with our vision in out minds. Dashboards can be connnected to external data sources like Excel or databases.

Cons

It would be great to be able to work more without specific informatics knowledge. It would be great to see more options to share final work with others.

July 2015

Robert from Mayo Clinic

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.5

July 2015

I use Business Objects to write production reports and analysis

Pros

Its best feature, in my opinion, is the ease of building reports through its drag and drop interface. We have several data universes which we use to generate the reports. Business Objects makes it quite easy to manipulate the data fields and build professional looking reports.

Cons

My least favorite thing about this product would have to be the lack of download capability in more current versions of Excel. Currently, Business Objects only downloads in Excel 2007 format, which can sometimes complicate pulling millions of rows of data into one spreadsheet. Office 2010 and 2013 are capable of handling millions of rows of data, but B.O. cannot deliver it into those new formats.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Great for Data and Reports

Apart from the Support Service, the Application has been very helpful for our Data Extraction and reports. No problems with the application so far.

Pros

SAP Business objects is great for storage, creation, and reports sharing. It allows us to use real time business data and prepare reports from real time data for making business major decisions. Reports creation could be difficult for the beginners, since there is a long learning curve to master all its functionalities. But once youre there, you realized how powerful this tool is.

Cons

SAP support service is not the best in my opinion. Long response times, and sometimes they dont offer effective solutions to our problems.

January 2018

Ashmit from Boulay PLLP

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Efficient Reporting

Pros

Business Objects is one of the most efficient reporting software out there. It is fast, and its UI design makes use of any knowledge use the tool. It has its own server and file management tool which make using this software more productive.

Cons

To report using business objects, you have to have universes those are needed to be developed by your designers. There is a lack of functionality where the user can directly query off from SQL tables. The updates and patches those are rolled out by SAP are very slow.

April 2019

William from Graybar

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Lots of layers

I've used this platform for years and am proficient at it and because of this I'm a fan.

Pros

SAP in our business of distribution and logistics is very complex and can gather a mass of data. It excels at drilling down to fine detail and tracking of inventory and sales down to number of turns and we use all of this data to drive our business. For this it is a great platform.

Cons

Because of it's many layers and it's complexity it creates an environment where it can be cumbersome to create orders and quotes.

September 2016

Carl from Day & Zimmermann

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

Powerful Suite for all your BI needs

Pros

The best part of SAP Business Objects is it's powerful suite of tools. You can run Analysis for Office for many end users and they are able to self serve whatever they need. You can build out powerful storyboards with Lumira. You can also create standardized formatted reporting with Crystal Reports. That doesn't even touch on Design Studio, which can also be a powerful tool.

Cons

Some of the programs are still not quite as bug free as you would expect from a vendor like SAP. I feel like we still have too many freezes, crashes, and unexplained behavior. However, I will say that SAP is very quick to respond and they are a great vendor to work with.

November 2017

Kris from Boulay PLLP

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2017

Powerful reporting tool with quarks

Pros

You can accomplish a lot with this tool. The use of universes connecting the tables is powerful. I also love the ability to set up email instances of reports - its always helpful when a software can do a routine task for you.

Cons

There have been some weird quarks in BO 4.0. Changes that weve made to a report will work one day and not the next. Its not very friendly for someone who wants to do ad hoc analytical reporting.

August 2017

Irv from Vixxo

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Simple, fast, and powerful software that has been an amazing asset for my team

The main benefit is a great UX interface that makes building queries easy, repeatable, and amazingly quick. The ability to run queries in the background as well as scheduled daily/weekly queries is a major selling point as well. You can act as your own data analyst for a small business without having to manually update your reports.

Pros

Much faster than manual queries and data pulls from our internal software The ability to build off of a saved query expedites all future queries Features including reoccurring queries and running queries in the background so it does not interfere with your current work

Cons

There is a learning curve to understand how to use the queries, so there is some training involved Some of the "result objects" do not pull data but that may be our data sources, not the program itself

January 2019

Ash from Minneapolis Public School

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Data minded Accounting Software

We no longer need auditors to create our own CAFR for us, the cost savings is immense, able to provide quick budget reports to end-users

Pros

Once you know how to utilize the system, the data and information you can obtain and reports that you can set up are endless

Cons

Very challenging for non-accounting minded folks to understand, difficult for beginners to use without lots of support, customer service is non-existent

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

My experience with BusinessObjects at a few institutions has been very positive.

Improved organizational reporting.

Pros

The interface is very easy to use for all audiences, allowing us to empower basic users to run their own reports. The ability to combine database elements with custom script to customize reports is very useful.

Cons

Sometimes the report formatting can be finicky. It is very responsive but can overcompensate for small formatting (size, spacing, etc) adjustments.

January 2019

Prince from EGRCS

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

SQL, BI, Reporting&Analytics

Pros

You have options to upgrade, SAP Lumira is the next amazing product to always upgrade to when you are ready for the next level of analytics and graphical representation of your data

Cons

SAP BI itself is still stagnant in its improvements, sticking on to the traditional functionalities of the product, it has a huge gap between its next level of reporting.

October 2016

Navid from KPIT Technologies LTD

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2016

Best Enterprises Package

SAP Business Objects is a complete package that suits a large enterprises. From designing to visualization and delivering real time reports. This tool is always stands at top.

Pros

Easy to visualize raw data. Efficient in scheduling Reporting Low maintenance Worth for money

Cons

As other BI tools avaible in the market, this also lacks at some features and functionality

April 2017

Brad from SuccessLink

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2017

Non Profits

Pros

It's highly scalable and flexible. We use it to track participants in youth serving agencies. We use it to connect many databases together. It's the best tool we've found in almost 20 years.

Cons

The only drawback is not the software itself, but rather training. We use it in a fairly non-traditional way, but I struggle to find training that is appropriate for our needs.

December 2018

Laurie from Relias

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Business Objects embedded capabilities

I used Business Objects over nearly 10 years at 2 different corporations and generally was able to accomplish what I set out to do with it. Customer Service was usually able to point us in the right direction to resolve issues we ran into. I also like the Universe concept that facilitates combining the business and data layer for self-service reporting.

Pros

I liked that it could be embedded with single sign on with a transactional application in a SaaS environment. This enables companies to build the software they have domain knowledge in and take advantage of reporting capabilities that tools like Business Objects has.

Cons

It can sometimes be difficult to work through navigation issues when embedding the software. It requires someone to understand how to get into the toolkit, which has a learning curve.

October 2017

Joseph from benjamin moore

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

SAP Business objects is east to use tool with Adhoc reporting capabilities, user friendly

Self-service reporting, easy to use, various tools based on use case. lot of formatting and charts inclusion options.

Pros

Self-service reporting, easy to use, various tools based on use case. lot of formatting and charts inclusion options.

Cons

visualizations and dash boards products instability and not mobile friendly , many tools and need to learn various tools for each use case.

July 2017

Shiva from ifox

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

This is a very good transaction level analytical took that can be used in enterprises

Pros

facilitates self service and is user friendly to write queries with basic training of users thereby reducing reliance on central IT. Also data can be exported to excel/pdf etc.

Cons

This product works well when there is a data warehouse and data is regularly uploaded to the data warehouse so that users can write query and generate data from the query.

September 2019

Jill from Freedom Mortgage Corporation

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Business Objects

I use Business Objects every day and get the data I need.

Pros

This product give us the ability to pull reports with ease. Once you have successfully composed a report, you are able to build on the structure as needed.

Cons

Sometimes finding a field can be difficult if you are not sure what exactly you are looking for. With time, this gets easier.

October 2016

joseph from Benjamin moore

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2016

Business objects Review

It is easy to use and presentable in different ways with visualizations. Out out can be shareable in different formats and automatic publishing capabilities. Adhoc reporting easy to use and dashboards design in specific to mobile and tablet is good.

Pros

self data analysis without much technical knowledge and simple to use it.

Cons

Dash boards filtering options and performance when we have huge data could be improved.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Great Front-end

Pros

Using BOBJ has been light years better than previous database front-ends that I utilized, it is full of functions andhas a much more user friendly interface.

Cons

Many of the functions are at a more basic level and require you learning their program to be able to nest them together and get the results you're looking for.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Nice Way to Interface with Data

Pros

SAP Business Objects provides a nice way to interface with data, allowing both power and flexibility through its structure.

Cons

With each new version there seems to be some flaw that needs to be corrected or feature that should be added and at an enterprise level it becomes difficult to continuously deploy the updates.

March 2016

Luca from Intralot

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2016

A great BI suite

Pros

SAP is one of the leading companies in the business intelligence industry. The seriousness and professionalism of SAP is maximum, the products are highly professional and suitable for large companies wanting to establish a comprehensive BI solution structured and well-functioning. Through SAP Business Objects you can independently develop highly professional products business intelligence, creating optimal and detailed reports, dashboards attractive, and OLAP structures by connecting to different heterogeneous data sources.

Cons

SAP Business Object surely is not a product that can be developed by inexperienced users, can certainly be used by intermediate users following a minimum of necessary training.

March 2018

Olayinka from MPI

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

It is an excellent software. It allows many users to navigate through the databases easily

Pros

It allows many users at the same time. It can be easily used with different databases configuration. Easy to learn and use.

Cons

inability to generate graphics such as graphs, charts, etc. Sometimes slow depending on the nature of task. Not for economically ok for individuals or small corporation

October 2017

Brian from Danwor consulting

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

It is a great suite of products

It provides an analytic suit, easy to work and with a great look and feel.

Pros

It has different product for every user type. From excel integration to mobile funcionality. It is very complete.

Cons

It would be better to have a strongest desktop tool to work with webis, etc. the roadmap of SAP BO tool is changing very fast.

January 2019

gaurav from cognizant technology solutions us corp

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Nice tool for traditional reporting

no support for cube based technology

Pros

Nice SAP product which integrates with all databases and connects to different tools for reporting and analytics

Cons

Not good in performance while connecting to multi dimensions and in-memory analytics and reporting, no support for cube based technology

July 2019

Aubree from Protective Insurance

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Business Intelligence Solution for all sizes

Overall, SAP BusinessObjects offers multidimensional data analysis. This allows you to create reports on multiple business parameters from multiple external data sources.

Pros

SAP BusinessObjects allows the company to integrate with external systems, such as SIMS Claims and Microsoft Office and combine data from these for business analytics and reporting functions. There is a drag-and-drop interface which allows you to create custom reports using the perimeters you want.

Cons

The drag-and-drop interface is sometimes difficult to use especially when working with a large amount of data. Once you use this program more, it seems to get easier to use.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 144 reviews