What are SAS Visual Analytics users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using SAS Visual Analytics software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.28

36 Reviews

5
17
4
14
3
4
2
0
1
1
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Great for building process flows. Easy to use for people with no programming background."
  • icon"It is easy to learn if you have basics SQL knowledge. It is faster than python/R."
  • icon"Easy to use, more features and auxiliary components than you could ever wish for, great customer service and technical support."
  • icon"Only one factor which makes negative about this product is the price, which is really very high. For which Tableau and R can work together for giving the same results."
  • icon"If you are using SQL you miss Moss of the raw power. SAS procs arenot the most I tuitive."
  • icon"As compared to R and python its use is limited. I can do much more accurate analysis with R. Also there is cost factor too."

Jump to:

Browse all SAS Visual Analytics Reviews

  • Have you used SAS Visual Analytics and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 36 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 36 reviews

User Profile

Donald

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

Very powerful, flexible, and works with all third parties we need.

The ability to connect with all third parties (that we use) and merge their data together in one system then analyze the structured information in a consistent and reliable way makes SAS Business Intelligence a very powerful system. The ability to run code that we made 10 years ago is also very nice.

Pros

The ability to connect with all third parties (that we use) and merge their data together in one system then analyze the structured information in a consistent and reliable way makes SAS Business Intelligence a very powerful system. The ability to run code that we made 10 years ago is also very nice.

Cons

The complexity and inconstancy of the product is not always the most desirable. Often times doing similar things requires very different approaches. SAS Business Intelligence has been around for such a long time that different "procs", as they are called in their system, often have extreme variance in syntax.

User Profile

Tapan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2018

SAS BI - Scalable and Comprehensive BI Tool

Pros

It's Visual Data Exploration capabilities to visualize the data and find patterns quickly is amazing. The features such as heat maps helps us understand where most of the traffic for an advertiser is coming from and helps the advertiser to target the customers more effectively. Creating Dashboards doesn't require a lot of technical know how and anyone can start making dashboards. Also, these dashboards and reports simplifies collaboration as different people are able to share their comments by directly commenting on the visuals or charts. Another feature which interests me is that it allows to integrate with other open source platforms like R.

Cons

Such a comprehensive set of features with a brand like SAS obviously comes with a price but I find the price to be over the top for the small and medium organizations. Only a few open source platforms are supported and lot of common ones used by a lot of smaller organizations have been left out. Further, user interface looks dated and needs a facelift to match other players like Tableau.

Sai

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

SAS Misrepresentative Sales Team

We love the software, however our experience with the sales team and return on our price point has been very negative.

Pros

The software itself is very versatile and is extremely equipped for Cloud Based setup and use.

Cons

We are a women and minority owned small business who were extremely excited to become SAS software users in 2021. In spite of the high upfront cost to our small business (we paid $14,000+ for a year or use), we received a notification our software would be expiring less than five months after we had been connected to our technical setup representatives and had the software for less than six months. This was after we had let the sales representative [SENSITIVE CONTENT] know that we were not ready to sign on until Q4. However, [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and his colleague [SENSITIVE CONTENT] stated we would lose our discounts and pressured us to sign stating we would be really helping out SAS' Q3 Closing sales. We started early in good faith only to find out the people to help us get ready for setup weren't even provided to us until just before December. The SAS team stated our original technical onboarding person had an illness or emergency and then we didn't hear back with a new contact [SENSITIVE CONTENT] until about a month later.  Sending an early licensing termination to us for software that the SAS company failed to provide a technical setup contact for until well past the first 60 days is fraudulent.  In spite of our good faith sign up in Q3 based on the SAS sales teams statements, we were left post signing with no support from a technical setup representatives provided to us until two months later. 

Alternatives Considered

Tableau

Reasons for choosing SAS Visual Analytics

Good Cloud Based Setup

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

SAS for data wrangling

I am working as a full-time SAS developer in my current organization. SAS is easy to use and good for data wrangling purposes. If your primary goal if to work on model development I would prefer other languages like python and R which has numerous libraries and free to use.

Pros

I worked as a Data wrangler and data scientist in my current organization. I like the ecosystem and customer support of SAS. It is easy to learn if you have basics SQL knowledge. It is faster than python/R. Preferred over open source if data privacy is a concern.

Cons

The user community is not so great as compared with another open-source. SAS is pretty expensive so companies are now switching to open sources like python and R.

Reasons for choosing SAS Visual Analytics

Data confidentiality. Enterprise version. Customer support

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

My job is to test the best BI software and make sales advice,this program is suitable for the market

It is one of the most intuitive software I've ever tried, very user friendly and very efficient (both usability and ease)

Pros

Excellent visualization tools such as heat maps, all in all is an easy software because it does not require long training sessions (for the front end is very intuitive), everyone can do dashboard autonomously (once the programmer has prepared the cloud data and standard fields). Excellent feature that allows users to share comments directly on the charts (on the Qlik suite is not possible for example)

Cons

It would be interesting to add the tool to create stories, or dynamic presentations (such as power point), obviously the price is high (like the most BI software), so it makes the software suitable only for large companies. The minimum requirements for accommodating the engine on the server are high

kala mallik

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Fishery

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

user friendly software

i came from non-coding back ground so it was very tough for me. when i learnt R, I was worried more and then shifted to SAS. The SAS is very easy to use and user friendly, no need to type every line unlike R software. Easy to analyze the large data, easy to recognize the mistakes and it took very less time to learn compared to R. I would recommend SAS for software analysis and data visualization. This is the best software in terms of analyzing the data expeditiously.

Pros

No need to type every code like R software. sas is helpful in predicting the codes and very easy to operate when compared to R software. Also its very easy to identify the mistake in case if we g wrong.

Cons

there is no cons, easy to start, follow the instructions, user friendly.

Reasons for switching to SAS Visual Analytics

many universities use SAS for analysis, especially biological experiment analysis so i have learnt it.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

powerful tool for data analytics and data visualization

I have a great experience with this tool as this is very easy to use and EDA(Exploratory Data Analysis) through charts are very much effective and attractive

Pros

Coding is pretty much easy and visualization is best. Also, customer support is high and It can fetch billions of records for processing and processing speed is very high.

Cons

Only one factor which makes negative about this product is the price, which is really very high. For which Tableau and R can work together for giving the same results.

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

Powerful but dated

Good stuff. Dated but works. Nothing to brag about, but checks all the right boxes

Pros

SAS is what started the party. It's so much faster than the legacy of Cobol and mainframe based packages. Love the advanced features and the power.

Cons

Licences are expensive. If you are using SQL you miss Moss of the raw power. SAS procs arenot the most I tuitive. And most importantly, newer packages re after 10x or more quicker. Eg. IBM aginity netezza

Piyush

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

SAS Business Intelligence Suite is an extra ordinary software to deal with everythng related to data

It is complete BI suite. You can do everything with Data.

Pros

I am using this since last 8 years and you can do everything with data using SAS BI. I have used it for ETL, reports and for modelling but we can created dashboards and so many other other things.

Cons

Biggest disadvantage is cost factor. SAS is quite costly and small organisations cannot really afford it. Now we have freewares in market like python and R replacing SAS.

User Profile

Jason

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

SAS Enterprise Guide

Great for building process flows for projects and managing data.

Pros

Great for building process flows. Easy to use for people with no programming background.

Cons

For as nice as it is for people without a programming background, it can also be a hindrance for those of us who do. Sometimes the flexibility to do things is not there.

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

SAS VA is very easy to use. Drag and drop interface to create charts and tables.

Better decision making. Getting more from our data. Do not need to think about all the possibilities before publishing charts and tables: let the user decide.

Pros

Very easy to use. All necessary charts are there, and more. It is very simple to add data and then to add more calculated fields. Since data is in memory, everything is fast. You make a change to a filter and your new chart is there. You can start with the Visual Analytics module, and grow from there.

Cons

The security features, which seems more than adequate, are sometimes harder to use. It is not easy to see what amount of storage your are currently using with all the stocked data.

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Its Usable

its has various functions, however, its is not easy to use

Pros

- SAS provides advanced analytics of data in an organization - It can also provide predictive analytics of data - It can be used to monitor money laundering in a financial system - Users can setup alerts when suspicious transactions are identified

Cons

- It is not easy to use. Too complicated for new users to understand without help - Integration to an organisations system takes time

Larry

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

The best of the best

Pros

Easy to use, more features and auxiliary components than you could ever wish for, great customer service and technical support.

Cons

I cannot think of many cons for this product. The only thing that might be considered a con is the server architecture required.

prathibha

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

review

It was okay tool. The data queries built using data builder will break in UI, if you update the underlinig code.

Pros

Free customer support. Reports load fast using Visual analytics, because the data is readily available in the memory

Cons

Installation or configuration can never be fully automated, as it always involves manual steps. Sometimes hotfixes/patches might not come in timely manner

Akash

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

A treat to the eyes while looking upon the pretty dashboards

A better deal in comparison to MS Excel. Also better than Tableau reader but somewhat lesser than Tableau full package.

Pros

It is easy to use and very handy. One can make stunning dashboards using it without much expertise. It is equally good for novice and pro. Data connection process is smooth. Overall 4/5

Cons

Support is not up to the mark. Installation is messy but that is only for single time. Interface doesn't look that good.

Scott

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2017

Incredible

This product is the best there is. very user friendly. and very efficient. The ui is so easy to use. Love this product.

Pros

easy

Cons

Nothing yet, but I will certainly be vocal, if I have a bad experience.

martino

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

I used this platform for some years in my previous work experience as administrator/developer user.

Pros

- a real user friendly tool - wide range of software and different types of installation - great customer support

Cons

- Considering the costs, maybe not so accessible (quite high license price) compared to other statistical software but anyway the quality of the tools is really high.

Steven

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Warehousing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2017

Sas for business analytics

We have been using SAS since the 1980's We like it, but find it pricy for a small firm such as ourselves

Pros

Feature rich

Cons

Tough to learn

Prajakta

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time used: Less than 6 months

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2017

BI with Analytics

SAS visual analytics is a great tool. The quality of analytics is way better than the competitors like power bi, qlikview and others, along with decent visualizations.

Pros

Amazing Analytics

Cons

Can have better visualizations.

Onur

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

SAS : Kind of heavy analytical tool

Pros

It has lots of out-of-box packages. Before open-source era it was some kind of industry standart. It plays well with big data.

Cons

Open source platforms are becoming popular. It's still too expensive. Post-sales support is not good.

Oriol

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2016

Richard

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2017

sas base review

It's really been awesome. As I can remember, I told a colleague sometime back, before I got into SAS that, his problem would have been better solved if i had a package with programming abilities, as he wanted me to do some analysis for him. I found out later when I got into SAS that, it was exactly the package I was talking about. I haven't regretted at all using SAS.

Ovidiu

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2021

Great tool for learning and understanding data analysis

For me, SAS Visual Analytics works best when dealing with big data and need flexibility in analyzing it.

Pros

I like using SAS for its simplicity and the multitude of possibilities it gives when analyzing data and extracting statistics.

Cons

I didn't like that the sessions expire quite fast in my opinion and you have to log in every time after taking a break from your work.

Nadia

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2017

Top software for big data analytics

SAS has a wide range of products, making it kind of complex, but at the same time powerful and adaptive. now they're moving to the cloud, and that it's going to make things faster,and lighter. I 've worked with them for many years, and I wouldn't change. Also service support is more than great here in Spain.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

January 2019

SAS a good tool?

Good tool and should be used.

Pros

The Best thing about this tool is you can almost all sort of analysis even if you don`t have an IT background. Powerful in visualization. Easy to use. Great customer support team.

Cons

As compared to R and python its use is limited. I can do much more accurate analysis with R. Also there is cost factor too. Its price is very high.

Showing 1 - 25 of 36 reviews
SAS Visual Analytics

SAS Visual Analytics

4.28/5 out of 36 reviews
PriceWatch Demo