User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

3.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(15)

15

4 stars

(13)

13

3 stars

(3)

3

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "Easy to use, more features and auxiliary components than you could ever wish for, great customer service and technical support."

  • "Coding is pretty much easy and visualization is best. Also, customer support is high and It can fetch billions of records for processing and processing speed is very high."

  • "I am using this since last 8 years and you can do everything with data using SAS BI. I have used it for ETL, reports and for modelling but we can created dashboards and so many other other things."

  • Cons

  • "Only one factor which makes negative about this product is the price, which is really very high. For which Tableau and R can work together for giving the same results. "

  • "Open source platforms are becoming popular. It's still too expensive. Post-sales support is not good."

  • "- It is not easy to use. Too complicated for new users to understand without help - Integration to an organisations system takes time"

Browse SAS Visual Analytics Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -18 of 32 results

July 2018

Donald from Agriculture Financial Services Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Very powerful, flexible, and works with all third parties we need.

The ability to connect with all third parties (that we use) and merge their data together in one system then analyze the structured information in a consistent and reliable way makes SAS Business Intelligence a very powerful system. The ability to run code that we made 10 years ago is also very nice.

Pros

The ability to connect with all third parties (that we use) and merge their data together in one system then analyze the structured information in a consistent and reliable way makes SAS Business Intelligence a very powerful system. The ability to run code that we made 10 years ago is also very nice.

Cons

The complexity and inconstancy of the product is not always the most desirable. Often times doing similar things requires very different approaches. SAS Business Intelligence has been around for such a long time that different "procs", as they are called in their system, often have extreme variance in syntax.

January 2018

Tapan from Criteo

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

SAS BI - Scalable and Comprehensive BI Tool

Pros

It's Visual Data Exploration capabilities to visualize the data and find patterns quickly is amazing. The features such as heat maps helps us understand where most of the traffic for an advertiser is coming from and helps the advertiser to target the customers more effectively. Creating Dashboards doesn't require a lot of technical know how and anyone can start making dashboards. Also, these dashboards and reports simplifies collaboration as different people are able to share their comments by directly commenting on the visuals or charts. Another feature which interests me is that it allows to integrate with other open source platforms like R.

Cons

Such a comprehensive set of features with a brand like SAS obviously comes with a price but I find the price to be over the top for the small and medium organizations. Only a few open source platforms are supported and lot of common ones used by a lot of smaller organizations have been left out. Further, user interface looks dated and needs a facelift to match other players like Tableau.

April 2017

Steven from KOM International

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Warehousing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Sas for business analytics

We have been using SAS since the 1980's We like it, but find it pricy for a small firm such as ourselves

Pros

Feature rich

Cons

Tough to learn

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

SAS for data wrangling

I am working as a full-time SAS developer in my current organization. SAS is easy to use and good for data wrangling purposes. If your primary goal if to work on model development I would prefer other languages like python and R which has numerous libraries and free to use.

Pros

I worked as a Data wrangler and data scientist in my current organization. I like the ecosystem and customer support of SAS. It is easy to learn if you have basics SQL knowledge. It is faster than python/R. Preferred over open source if data privacy is a concern.

Cons

The user community is not so great as compared with another open-source. SAS is pretty expensive so companies are now switching to open sources like python and R.

Reasons for Choosing SAS Visual Analytics

Data confidentiality. Enterprise version. Customer support

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Powerful but dated

Good stuff. Dated but works. Nothing to brag about, but checks all the right boxes

Pros

SAS is what started the party. It's so much faster than the legacy of Cobol and mainframe based packages. Love the advanced features and the power.

Cons

Licences are expensive. If you are using SQL you miss Moss of the raw power. SAS procs arenot the most I tuitive. And most importantly, newer packages re after 10x or more quicker. Eg. IBM aginity netezza

June 2018

Piyush from Department of Revenue- Wisconsin Lottery

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

SAS Business Intelligence Suite is an extra ordinary software to deal with everythng related to data

It is complete BI suite. You can do everything with Data.

Pros

I am using this since last 8 years and you can do everything with data using SAS BI. I have used it for ETL, reports and for modelling but we can created dashboards and so many other other things.

Cons

Biggest disadvantage is cost factor. SAS is quite costly and small organisations cannot really afford it. Now we have freewares in market like python and R replacing SAS.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

SAS VA is very easy to use. Drag and drop interface to create charts and tables.

Better decision making. Getting more from our data. Do not need to think about all the possibilities before publishing charts and tables: let the user decide.

Pros

Very easy to use. All necessary charts are there, and more. It is very simple to add data and then to add more calculated fields. Since data is in memory, everything is fast. You make a change to a filter and your new chart is there. You can start with the Visual Analytics module, and grow from there.

Cons

The security features, which seems more than adequate, are sometimes harder to use. It is not easy to see what amount of storage your are currently using with all the stocked data.

August 2017

Larry from Oklahoma State University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

The best of the best

Pros

Easy to use, more features and auxiliary components than you could ever wish for, great customer service and technical support.

Cons

I cannot think of many cons for this product. The only thing that might be considered a con is the server architecture required.

February 2017

Scott from TD Canada Trust

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Incredible

This product is the best there is. very user friendly. and very efficient. The ui is so easy to use. Love this product.

Pros

easy

Cons

Nothing yet, but I will certainly be vocal, if I have a bad experience.

December 2018

Jason from REVPAR International -- Hospitality Advisory & Asset Management

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

SAS Enterprise Guide

Great for building process flows for projects and managing data.

Pros

Great for building process flows. Easy to use for people with no programming background.

Cons

For as nice as it is for people without a programming background, it can also be a hindrance for those of us who do. Sometimes the flexibility to do things is not there.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

My job is to test the best BI software and make sales advice,this program is suitable for the market

It is one of the most intuitive software I've ever tried, very user friendly and very efficient (both usability and ease)

Pros

Excellent visualization tools such as heat maps, all in all is an easy software because it does not require long training sessions (for the front end is very intuitive), everyone can do dashboard autonomously (once the programmer has prepared the cloud data and standard fields). Excellent feature that allows users to share comments directly on the charts (on the Qlik suite is not possible for example)

Cons

It would be interesting to add the tool to create stories, or dynamic presentations (such as power point), obviously the price is high (like the most BI software), so it makes the software suitable only for large companies. The minimum requirements for accommodating the engine on the server are high

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

powerful tool for data analytics and data visualization

I have a great experience with this tool as this is very easy to use and EDA(Exploratory Data Analysis) through charts are very much effective and attractive

Pros

Coding is pretty much easy and visualization is best. Also, customer support is high and It can fetch billions of records for processing and processing speed is very high.

Cons

Only one factor which makes negative about this product is the price, which is really very high. For which Tableau and R can work together for giving the same results.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Its Usable

its has various functions, however, its is not easy to use

Pros

- SAS provides advanced analytics of data in an organization - It can also provide predictive analytics of data - It can be used to monitor money laundering in a financial system - Users can setup alerts when suspicious transactions are identified

Cons

- It is not easy to use. Too complicated for new users to understand without help - Integration to an organisations system takes time

July 2017

Akash from Cognizant

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

A treat to the eyes while looking upon the pretty dashboards

A better deal in comparison to MS Excel. Also better than Tableau reader but somewhat lesser than Tableau full package.

Pros

It is easy to use and very handy. One can make stunning dashboards using it without much expertise. It is equally good for novice and pro. Data connection process is smooth. Overall 4/5

Cons

Support is not up to the mark. Installation is messy but that is only for single time. Interface doesn't look that good.

July 2017

martino from Generali

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

I used this platform for some years in my previous work experience as administrator/developer user.

Pros

- a real user friendly tool - wide range of software and different types of installation - great customer support

Cons

- Considering the costs, maybe not so accessible (quite high license price) compared to other statistical software but anyway the quality of the tools is really high.

January 2017

Prajakta from binghamton university

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

BI with Analytics

SAS visual analytics is a great tool. The quality of analytics is way better than the competitors like power bi, qlikview and others, along with decent visualizations.

Pros

Amazing Analytics

Cons

Can have better visualizations.

May 2018

Onur from BluTV

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

SAS : Kind of heavy analytical tool

Pros

It has lots of out-of-box packages. Before open-source era it was some kind of industry standart. It plays well with big data.

Cons

Open source platforms are becoming popular. It's still too expensive. Post-sales support is not good.

August 2016

Oriol from SAIMA Solutions - The Business Analytics Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2016

February 2017

Richard from AFSC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

sas base review

It's really been awesome. As I can remember, I told a colleague sometime back, before I got into SAS that, his problem would have been better solved if i had a package with programming abilities, as he wanted me to do some analysis for him. I found out later when I got into SAS that, it was exactly the package I was talking about. I haven't regretted at all using SAS.

April 2017

Nadia from Sabadell

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

Top software for big data analytics

SAS has a wide range of products, making it kind of complex, but at the same time powerful and adaptive. now they're moving to the cloud, and that it's going to make things faster,and lighter. I 've worked with them for many years, and I wouldn't change. Also service support is more than great here in Spain.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

SAS a good tool?

Good tool and should be used.

Pros

The Best thing about this tool is you can almost all sort of analysis even if you don`t have an IT background. Powerful in visualization. Easy to use. Great customer support team.

Cons

As compared to R and python its use is limited. I can do much more accurate analysis with R. Also there is cost factor too. Its price is very high.

September 2016

Henry from Canadapost

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

2.5

Value for money

2.5

Customer support

3.5

Functionality

3.0

September 2016

Prepare dashboard and reports for ongoing campaigns

Pros

The analytical power of the multiple options linked to different modules

Cons

It is expensive and the product itself is far from the top ones on its category. the graphics look like created in excel and the interface is not the most user friendly.

October 2016

A from Brigham Young University

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

October 2016

SAS is a Great Tool, but Lacks Compared to Other Products

SAS is a great statistical software tool, but really lacks compared to other software out there. I find R and Python to be just as easy to use and are available for free. Looking at cost, R is superior to SAS.

February 2017

Olayinka from Education

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Excellent with no objection

This software is excellent in relation to every segment of business intelligence. It covers every aspect of our business and provides the opportunity synergize.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

SAS

Pros

Easy to use, interface, powerful and effective

Cons

Very high price, need more cheaper package s

December 2016

Prabh jot from The George Washington University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

SAS Visual Analytics

I use SAS visual analytics tool and it is really handy. It offers a lot of functionalities like analytics which is limited in other BI Tools.

Pros

Great for analytics

Cons

There can be improvements on the analytics front.

February 2017

Barry from Equitable Life & Casualty

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Capacity for Huge Data Sets Good for Actuaries

SAS has the capacity to handle large amounts of data from disparate sources and process that data seamlessly. Data sets of one billion records can be handled routinely by SAS. Further, the power of SAS's statistical tools is invaluable for actuaries that require a Business Intelligence tool to go beyond the 'sales by region' data visualization to provide predictive modeling functionality.

Pros

The commitment to quality and innovation by the SAS organization that stands behind the product.

February 2017

John from CIBC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2017

Cheers to a great product!

I have not used it, but it's a great product. It will be less development time for organizations, and benefit to all users.

January 2017

saj from NJTPA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

Best BI product

SAS has many software tools for many different purposes.With so many products available beyond base SAS, the match between their product line experience is great.

Pros

Ease of learning. Provides easy learning mechanisms for people with knowledge of SQL.

Cons

SAS has decent functional graphical capabilities. However, it is just functional. Any customization on plots are difficult and requires you to understand intricacies of SAS Graph package.

February 2017

Swapnil from California State University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

February 2017

Not a great product

There are many visualization tools in the market far better than this product. they should make it more user-friendly. For instance, Tableau works best for visualization with easy drag and drop solutions.

Pros

Easy to use Sas data sets for visualizations

Cons

Not user friendly

May 2018

Abhaysingh from School of accountancy, W.P.Carey, ASU

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Smart Analytics with SAS

It's must learn software for management, and supply chain students.

Pros

This software is widely used in the industry. It has numerous sets of analytic tools which are used to accomplish various goals in IT industry.

Cons

The most important drawback is, this software is not free. It's very renowned tool but its certifications are really expensive.

July 2017

Mark Angelor

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017