What are SPSS users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using SPSS software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.5

480 Reviews

5
274
4
176
3
28
2
1
1
1
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"I like that if there is an issue, getting technical assistance is great."
  • icon"Simple to start using, with a clear, coherent, user philosophy. The database is easy to build and has good import functionality from Excel and other standard products."
  • icon"I liked about SPSS that it was easy to use and user-friendly. I also like that it works fast and accurate."
  • icon"It’s really frustrating that their new pricing model is so pricey."
  • icon"It's has limited functionality and its not as interactive as other data analysis software I know."
  • icon"If you are not trained to use it, don’t use it because you will only confuse yourself and your data."

Jump to:

Browse all SPSS Reviews

  • Have you used SPSS and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 480 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 480 reviews

User Profile

Akshay

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Gets You Results with a Reasonable Learning Curve

I used this software for Market Research related applications and this helped me quickly complete the tests and save them as per how I wanted it. In the projects I used it for, it gave out some interesting results and takeaways which helped in business planning.

Pros

1. It literally covers just so many options of tests, from regression to anova and much more. 2. It's like a one stop destination for all queries related to data 3. Can handle massive amounts of data and inputs

Cons

1. A manual/tips section within the software could have eased my learning curve to an extent. 2. UI/UX can be improved 3. High cost

Reasons for switching to SPSS

Covers more tests etc as compared to MS Excel.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Best stats package with the ease of functionality and mechanism.

My overall experience with SPSS has been great and I strongly recommend it. It is very useful in market research and business analytics industry as most research projects deal with descriptive and multivariate statistical approach. I have been using SPSS for last ten years and it has provided very good functionality with each update and version. Overall I highly recommend this software package.

Pros

Very easy to use. High level functionality and easy to perform mechanisms. Fine way of operations. Can run anything from basic descriptive statistics to high level simulations. Easy to import data in different formats (csv, xls, sav, etc.). Data cleaning process are easily executed which includes missing value imputation, data recoding, and data restructuring. Very functional in running multivariate methods like exploratory factor analysis, ANOVA, linear regression, logistic regression, discriminant analysis, and MANCOVA. Most operations are done through interactive dashboard, which is hassle free. Overall it is a great statistical package to run different analysis at a very affordable price.

Cons

It is tedious to do multiple iterations using SPSS. Syntax functionality is low and lines of codes become exhaustive when you run monte carlo simulations. The most challenging aspect is to run simulations with large data sets. The support provided by the support team doesn't extend beyond technical support. SPSS requires add ons for running the simulations which cost extra to the users. Overall it is deficient in running certain simulations.

Reasons for switching to SPSS

SPSS has provides better functionality compared to JMP as the dashboard abilities are much better than JMP. SPSS is highly effective when running multivariate statistics methods and the ease of use add upto the value compared to JMP. Overall very efficient and highly functional compared to JMP.

User Profile

Thuffail

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Analyze your data with statistical theories

I used SPSS for research projects in Master of Business Administration. In the beginning data analyzing and learning the use of software was a time consuming process. I understood that this software can also used for organizational data analysis where sufficient data is available. However , the software lacks intelligence to select correct data out of the imported data therefore data cleansing is important.

Pros

Data can be easily imported to the software from data bases and Excel. Once the data is imported the graphical depiction of the data can be used to identify the behavior of data. After understanding the behavior of the data the data can be analyzed using the available statistical models. The most suitable statistical model for the data can be finalized in the process of data analysis. The software has a broad range of statistical models build on linear and regression theories and models. The software is easy to use with an unsophisticated menu driven interface. Anyone with basic mathematical knowledge can use the software for the analysis. An expert in statistics is not needed as data analyzing consists of few simple steps. However , 3- 4 weeks is needed to properly familiarize with the software. Basically four steps can be identified in using this software. First step is importing data , second step is selection of a procedure , third step is selection of a variable for data analyzing and fourth step is generating of results.

Cons

The efficiency of the software decreases when the size of data increases. Therefore, this can be a major drawback when used in the sectors such as health care. SPSS has 2 main windows one depicting data and the other depicting results. Therefore the software is too simple with limited windows. The software is very similar to excel and most of the results obtained in SPSS also can be obtained in excel by complex calculations .This is comparatively expensive compared to the similar software. The data should be cleaned before analysis in order to generate correct results.

User Profile

BELINDA

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

SPSS, The efficient statistical software for analysis

With this app, I am able to analyze data and produce actionable results easily and as quickly as possible. Doing research is easy and quick when you have SPSS installed

Pros

SPSS makes it easier to analyze data and report them to audience with diverse backgrounds. Anyone can use SPSS, even without formal training, because it is not so complex to use. Even if you don't have experience in programming, you will be able to use it. It makes you do analysis in smallest possible time, thus if if you really understand the data you are using. And also know the right commands and inputs.

Cons

In spite of the positive things said about SPSS, It can be a bit costly to use this app as a Researcher. You can really do a lot with this app, however, this can only happen if you really have some understanding of your data and really know what you are doing when running regressions.

User Profile

Grisell

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Being in the field of Social Sciences is almost a requirement to get a complet analysis.

With SPSS it is possible to collect data, create statistics, analyze management decisions and much more. Gives the opportunity of doing complex analysis and take on prediction models. The capacity of solving problems of applied statistics by brute force or by trying thousands of combinations to finally stay with what is believed to be the best for use.

Pros

The importance of capture and analyze data to create tables and graphs with complex data. Its ability to manage large volumes of data and carrying out text analysis amog other formats. Being able to use the statistical software, with descriptive statistics such as tabulation and crossover frequencies, and correlation tests. The program allows you to take your data and easily create a wide variety of visual effects such as radial boxplots and density graphs.

Cons

In more complex programs you need to have programming knowledge, as well as to make the most laborious calculations. In statistics, often contradictory results can be obtained between different tests. It does not provide the expected results in the expected time. It sometimes leads to unnecessary sophistication by allowing the use of complex techniques to answer simple questions. If the user does not have previous experience using SPSS or if their statistical knowledge is not up to date, it is difficult to understand which options to select. The results reports contain an excessive level of information.

User Profile

Slash Marky

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Business Supplies and Equipment

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

Good program to educate.

It is a very powerful software, which is very good to use it in educational centers for students. It has a good price, so it is a good option for independent statistical studies.

Pros

It has a simple and uncomplicated platform when learning to use it. It handles terms that were handled at my university and data can be exported from Excel.

Cons

Visually it leaves a lot to be desired, as in its graphics and its graphics edits are very slow. It should be more compatible with Micrsoft programs.

Reasons for choosing SPSS

spss is a simpler program and my teachers recommended it to start my research.

Thomas

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2021

The ultimate tool for data entry and analysis of large databases!

For more than 6 years now, in our missions of baseline studies, market and impact assessments of projects; after some missions of large-scale information collection via paper and/or digital media, we have always opted for the use of IBM SPSS software as a tool for data entry and/or analysis. It is an excellent tool for data entry because it is easy to use when setting up a data entry mask and it is also easy to use by the data entry agents. We also use it regularly for statistical analysis (PCA, AFM, Student's t test, etc.) and sometimes econometric analysis (OLS, Oprobit, Probit, Logit, etc.). Therefore, it is a very useful software for statistical, graphical and sometimes econometric analyses of large databases.

Pros

Excellent software for entering questionnaires, coding variables and analyzing primary data. Easy to use and available in several languages (including English and French). Its interface is very attractive and designed.

Cons

The software is much more suited to the analysis of survey data and performs poorly in the specification of econometric models of panel data.

Reasons for switching to SPSS

Because SPSS seems to us easy and too practical to use and provides more advanced functionalities than the above-mentioned software (Excel, SPAD, etc.)

Jayaprakash

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Effective software platform which helps to perform statiscal analysis and Structured data entry task

Our organisation prepares insightfull reports and summary statistics with the support of SPSS, it benefits to the productivity of the projects and decision making process.

Pros

I have been using 32-bit version of IBM SPSS statistic software for more than 5 years to perform various statistical analysis and data entry purposes. It is a flexible software to analyze large set of tabular data compares to other products. It also provides the user-friendly platform to set up and carry out the data entries which can help to enter the data from the questionnaire surveys effectively. SPSS designed to support all required statistical analysis for decision making which range from descriptive statistical functions such as central tendency, distribution and shape to certain inferential statistical assessments. Obviously, SPSS software is a great option for statistical analysis and data entries to both academics and enterprise users.

Cons

In order to perform statistical analysis users must have the knowledge in scripting to operate the tools in SPSS (Especially in the desktop version). Cost is another drawback, however there are several options available including monthly subscription methods and academic editions.

Reasons for choosing SPSS

This was the only product which suited the requirement of our organisation 10 years back

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

SPSS is Value for Money

I have used it to analyze data collected from market research for the services I offer. I am able to then make informed decisions from the trends I observe through the analyses.

Pros

As a student of the social sciences, I was expected to conduct research and calculate appropriate statistics in order to draw accurate conclusions. I became overwhelmed by the complex nature of these calculations. I was relieved to discover that, in the real world, I was not expected to calculate t-tests, ANOVA, chi-square (and countless others) manually. I remember having several aha moments during my Data Analysis course as we were taught the software step-by-step. This software has since become a mainstay in my personal and professional life. I once used it to analyze upwards of 300 questionnaires and was blown away at how easily and quickly I was able to compare the data. There were 6 demographic questions and I was able to breakdown responses based on each classification. It offers a wealth of statistical capabilities at the touch of a button.

Cons

It is intimidating at first. It is also rather expensive.

Reasons for choosing SPSS

I never learned to do statistics in Excel. So I wanted to stick to what I knew. I also anticipated comparing large amounts of data, which SPSS does more efficiently.

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

The Only Statistical Tool You Need

SPSS has a learning curve in the beginning but after working out a few kinks, the program allows the user to do all their data needs.

Pros

I used SPSS to conduct my masters research into federal employee retention of millennials. The program was able to handle data points from all 15 federal agencies over 10 years along with 20 plus other data factors. SPSS made it easy to organize the data and execute stat checks on the research.

Cons

There were times where I had to consult an SPSS research guide in order to execute certain formulas. SPSS is a vast program but it can be a little daunting when you first start out.

Reasons for switching to SPSS

SPSS provides more functionality and features than Microsoft Excel.

User Profile

Diego

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

A great tool for statistical analysis of large datasets

Pros

After learning the basics of the software it becomes intuitive to use, if you use their guide you can make it through the steps to perform any basic task. It had multiple functions that were very useful for most sorts of statistical analysis that are required in quantitative research.

Cons

There should be a quicker way to change the types of variables of multiple variables in use, and the graphs should be easier to customize.

Reasons for switching to SPSS

SPSS allowed for better handling of large datasets and more appropriate data analysis.

User Profile

Saurav

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Very useful for statistical analyses

I was trying to run a set of statistical analyses on climatic variables that include temperature and precipitation on a monthly time scale

Pros

I have used quite a few statistical softwares that include SPSS, SAS, R. SPSS was very useful for the climate data that I was working with. I felt it was easier than SAS as SAS involved a lot of coding

Cons

It did take some time to get accustomed with SPSS but that would be true for most softwares out there

Reasons for switching to SPSS

I wanted to use different statistical softwares to see which one I like the most for the data I had

Scott

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

The Best and The Rest

After being introduced to SPSS about 10 years ago I have never used any other similar product. I have even helped colleagues who use a different program with their analyses by saving their data to a USB, using SPSS in my office, and providing them with a hard copy of the results as well as the SPSS input/output data. Typically, they want to know how to get their hands on a copy of SPSS.

Pros

SPSS is a phenomenal resource for data analysis be it for an advanced statistician or a student learning basic research methodology. The program is designed to run very simple analyses (mean, mode, median, SD, T-Tests) to complex theoretical modeling in order to identify and name IV's and DV's. SPSS provides reader-friendly and exhaustive help within the program, as well as live help if needed (which, in my experience is not very often). I love the options that I can add to the output such as graphs, charts, histograms, and what specific data means based on what I want analyzed. Much easier to use that other programs of a similar nature, which means I spend less time asking a colleague in the Math Department if I am using the most appropriate analysis based on the data collected. Also, I appreciate how easy it is to copy and paste tables and images into a text document.

Cons

Until there is a technology that allows one to immediately "download" large and complex bodies of information into the brain, I have little criticism for SPSS. If I am in deep water and do not fully understand what the "Help" section is telling me, I simply step backward until I reach a level that I do understand and move forward from there. Kind of like teaching myself. It is unreasonable to blame a program for my own limitations.

Reasons for switching to SPSS

A colleague agreed to help me with some questions about data analysis and brought her laptop which had SPSS loaded on it. I watched what she did, asked what company made the software, and then got my own. Watching what she did with such ease was a little humiliating and frustrating because I understood what I observed, yet could not get the same intuitive functionality from the program I was using. Additionally, current and typical college students have not been taught to ask questions, be skeptics, think critically, and know where/how to find objective information. As a result, all of my General Psychology classes require students working in small groups to ask a question, refine the question so that it can be researched, conduct a lit review, develop a methodology, conduct the research, analyze the data using SPSS that they download for a 30 day trial, and write an article that adheres to the submission guidelines for most peer-reviewed journals. Without SPSS, I doubt that this project could be completed.

User Profile

Carlos

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Analyze the information of your work with this software specialized in statistics.

The use of IBM SPSS by our company has generated excellent results in the planning, management and dissemination of our management as a Health Center. It is thanks to the options of IBM SPSS, that I have been able to systematize, compare and analyze large databases of our patients, offering better solutions to their problems and establishing the statistical data necessary for the evaluation of our activities. Large companies that wish to project themselves and compete in the market, I recommend that they use this software and thus will be able to make the best management decisions according to the evaluation of the data inherent to their company.

Pros

IBM SPSS, is a very sophisticated software that specializes in statistical analysis according to different data and variables such as graphical databases, probabilities, percentiles and so on. The most outstanding feature of this software is that it has many modules, which are the computer language of the software and allow a more exhaustive analysis of the information collected in your work. Among the most outstanding modules we have tables, categories of variables, joint analyses, maps, exact tests, data validation, analysis of lost values. It is a software that, with practice becomes the best tool for database analysis thanks to its file system, which facilitates the processing of information. Another advantage of this software is that it considerably reduces the analysis time of statistical variables, making the productivity of workers is optimal.

Cons

In order to fully manage IBM SPSS, it is necessary to apply certain computer knowledge, which means that not everyone, including expert social scientists, can use this software in its entirety.

Luca

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

The history of statistics

This is the software that I use the most for my work and, even if at times I have to struggle a little to perform "new things", I always find a way. I managed to automate many many tasks and I have reached a very high level of productivity, meaning that I can click a button, let the computer run all nights, and the morning after I find all the jobs done.

Pros

The ability to perform almost all easy and complex statistical analysys without writing code AND the possibility to automate simple and complex tasks by actually writing code. This software is huge and it supports a very large set of feautures.

Cons

This software is a milestone for statisticians of all over the world. I've been using it for more than 30 years. This means that this software is aging more and more, and perhaps it needs a faster modernization cycle than the current.

Reasons for choosing SPSS

No other products were considered, SPSS doesn't have any REAL alternative. It can be used together with R to satisfy almost all statistical need.

Reasons for switching to SPSS

Less complex to use and faster to achieve results.

User Profile

Arpine

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Data management and analysis software for newbies and for professionals

I have started to use SPSS when I was a student, now I have 10+ years of experience using it. Thanks to its user-friendly interface it is quite easy for the newbies to get started with the software, and after a while be proficient to use the syntax and optimize the time when managing databases and running analysis.

Pros

The software has almost all the tools the analyst or database manager needs to have. The newer versions also support Armenian characters, which is a huge improvement of the database quality, there is no need any more to transcribe tons of questions and responses. Also, there are tons of tutorials with detailed explanation, also thick books for folks who prefer the old school method. When writing this review, I couldn't assess the support center, and I caught myself thinking that there are plenty of SPSS users out there and once googled some question, eventually many reviews pop up. That is why I have never contacted the support for help.

Cons

When working with large databases, specifically if there are multiple textual columns (non-numeric), the work of the program as well as the computer is obviously slowing down. Another point is that the missing values should be max 3 or a range plus one value. When creating the variable and defining missing values, one should pay attention and set the values so they won't need to do the re-coding.

User Profile

Steven

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

A sports car product

I've used SPSS since it was only available on mainframe computers and so I am quite comfortable with the software. I can move data in and out of the system. I use SPSS for evaluation but always move to something else for visualization.

Pros

SPSS is a feature rich product that has evolved to serve professional statisticians. It can do almost everything you could imagine. The new integration with R makes it even more capable. If you are trying to perform advanced modeling it can do it. It accepts data in most formats and can export data with ease.

Cons

Like a sports car, it is not easy. The menu system is not intuitive and options can be fussy. After years of working with it, I sometimes still end up searching for the test I want. The graphics are widely accepted in academic publications but are far behind those for the more commercial press. Tables often must be reworked to meet the standards necessary for any quality report. The software comes in several flavors. This is great for saving money but often leaves people wanting features or tests only available in the next upgrade. Given the high cost of the software -- particularly for business customers -- an upgrade can be prohibitive.

Rajah

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Helpful assistant to reveal the insight of the statistical data

Great software to enhance the productivity of the statistical data. providing various tools and functions to reveal the insights of any statistical data.

Pros

I have been using licensed version of IBM SPSS statistics for 2 years (nowadays SPSS 23). SPSS has the capability to handle any statistical data which are in the format of rows and columns. variable view of the SPSS provides user friendly platform to enter the survey data within a structured environment, so it makes data entries easier and faster without having errors in the format. it supports various other format of statistical data such as excel, dbf, csv etc., and also can directly import from another database such as MS Access and postgre sql. Contains all the required tools to maintain statistical and string data (merge, split, query, re code, compare, etc.) thus it recommended for statistical data management and analysis. Integration of python and script platform provides the path for automate the repetitive tasks and support complex statistical functions. my favourable feature of this product (SPSS 23) is the integration of the Geo spatial association rules which has the ability to reveal spatial pattern and predication from the spatial data attributes.

Cons

It is a commercial product, so it would cost reasonable amount to purchase. there are some issues happening during the database integration with other databases. standard of the user help forums has to be enhanced to get most of the usage out of the software.

Ingrid

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

The life saving software for data entry and analysis

As an epidemiologist, I work with data in the form of numbers on the daily. SPSS is very reliable and the export feature to excel is absolutely great. It generates graphs and that makes the presentation and interpretation of results easier. I was recently working on blood donation at the level of a central blood bank and SPSS was a life saver, working on a population of 2000 blood donors and being able to provide answers on the epidemiological characteristics of these blood donors in order to develop subsequent strategies for donor retention and recruitement was urgent and in the short deadline i had, SPSS was the only software which helped me reach the given ojectives. This is one out of many cases where SPSS was on point.

Pros

First of all the interface is amazing and you can easily switch from variable view to data view. This makes it easy to keep track of your work and progress and make sure the data you are entering is correct. It is incredibly easy to create a data base and insert your collected data. It is simple and user friendly. In the healthcare domain, we work with so many variables and have very large sample sizes most of the time, and being able to sort cases as well as variables makes this app a game changer compared to previous ones I have come across and used. With basic statistical knowledge it is possible for anyone to carry out statistical operations and as an epidemiologist this is perfect for me as I can analyze my data by myself and move on to interpreting the results.

Cons

I believe this software is heavy and it is always slow to start when opened, it takes quite a while and since it is one I use all the time, I have it installed on all my laptops and it always tends to be slow which can be tiresome especially when you are in a rush to carry out an operation to see the results and quickly interprete. Apart from that the software itself once opened is quick and prompt in its responses.

Reasons for switching to SPSS

Mainly because creating a database was a tideous process and data entry was as well given I work on large populations.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Criminologist's best friend

The SPSS has been part of my training as a professional, and later I have used it very often in the development of my theses to obtain higher academic degrees. In my profession, it is very useful to process statistical information that helps to make appropriate decisions regarding public policy. So he's my best friend as a criminologist.

Pros

The SPSS is part of the training of any criminologist interested in studying the criminal phenomenon. It is a complete program that allows any statistical analysis to help generate tables, graphs, and perform statistical tests that allow variables to be associated. It is very easy to use and has a very nice interface. Each new version incorporates interesting elements that allow the analysis to be extended, even with qualitative data. I use it very often in research and to present information of statistical relevance. It is the best statistical package for the social sciences. Of course it is used by many scientific disciplines such as sociology and psychology.

Cons

It may seem expensive at first, but the benefits are numerous, and it is worth investing in it. Of the rest I have nothing negative to say.

User Profile

Jose

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

A great tool for the statistical analysis of data for its simplicity and excellent results

Ease and speed in the analysis of large volumes of data, in addition to a wide possibility for the treatment of them in a single software and for a price quote adequate to the results provided

Pros

It is an excellent software for handling large volumes of data, because it allows in a simple way without great technical knowledge to perform from simple statistical calculations, descriptive statistics, data validation to inferential or predictive statistics. It is designed in a simple and user-friendly way since it is not necessary to use complex knowledge to encode data when using qualitative data. In relation to the predictive information that allows to generate is of great support for decision making, especially through the statistical models generated by the data under study, thus allowing the obtaining of models whose level of confidence can reach up to 95% . In a few words, an ideal software for research, mainly in the social area.

Cons

Due to the large number of possibilities it offers for the treatment and analysis of data, it can be quite overwhelming in principle, especially if the differences between each of the analysis possibilities it provides are not clear. This also means that it is necessary to dedicate a considerable time to explore each one of the possibilities that it offers and to see the tutorials offered for the use of the software. Another disadvantage is the quality of the generated graphics, if we compare them with other similar software for the handling and analysis of data that exist in the market, since if we want to have better quality graphics, mainly if we need to make presentations in general we must go to other software.

User Profile

Ryan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

The industry leader for ages (...and it shows)

Once I learned how to use SPSS to do what I needed it to do, it became an invaluable tool and a critical part of my workflow--indeed, trying to learn other statistical software packages after figuring out SPSS felt a bit like trying to "unlearn" how to ride a bike. It does have its quirks and flaws, mainly surrounding its UI, but these are literally cosmetic.

Pros

The range of statistical tests and techniques available from the get-go in SPSS is unmatched, and there are additional modules that can be added to expand the software's abilities. It becomes relatively intuitive the more you use it, and its export options for the results it calculates are quite robust.

Cons

SPSS is quite intimidating if you've never used it before, and without guidance, it may feel almost impossible to get started with it. Perhaps its biggest problem is its ongoing legacy support for previous versions--in other words, IBM periodically seems to slap a new front end on the software, but with just a click or two, you immediately encounter dialog boxes and windows that look like they belong on a machine running Windows XP (...or earlier!). The overreliance on pop-up windows makes the interface even more dated and clunky. Honestly, IBM should completely gut the software and start over from scratch, but presumably that's too big of a task, which leaves us with this black box that has been coated with dozens of layers of proverbial paint.

zahra

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

It is user friendly, professional and perfect for those people who need to analyze quantitative data

Working with this software in one of the most important section of my job.

Pros

As a market researcher I should work with SPSS daily. It is a software for analyzing quantitative data.it is easy to import data from other software like Microsoft Excel and analyze them. Also some online survey platforms have SPSS output and you can import data from them to SPSS directly. If you just want to have some descriptive statistics, it is easy to learn, but if you want to analyze data with parametric and non-parametric exams, it is a bit difficult so it is better to take a class about 1 week and learn SPSS fast. Then you will enjoy analyzing data.

Cons

For drawing charts from data, SPSS is not suitable because it doesn't have a beautiful data visualization. Visualization tools for drawing charts in SPSS are few; so every time that I want to draw a chart, I should copy the table of analyzed data on SPSS to Excel and draw the chart.

Hilary

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2019

Analyse your dissertation data with spss

Hard to use, but it gets the job done, and you get your results which are reliable and well tabulated.

Pros

it helped me analyse my survey data when l was writing up my dissertation. its simpler that other statistical tools I could import and export data easily from excel to spss l managed to analyse descriptive data and do regressions using a YouTube tutorial. data analysis doesn't take forever, its quick it allowed me to edit, when doing school work one always makes errors, and with spss you can redo as many times as you need to. for basic data interpretetion and analysis spss is the good to go

Cons

its difficult to use, alone you cant unless maybe you are a math and stats guru sadly it doesn't copy and paste tables and charts neatly to Microsoft word, l had to type again if l wanted the analyse data to be on my word documents and that is a lot of work.

Alternatives Considered

Stata

Reasons for choosing SPSS

spss was easier to use for me compared to stata

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2020

SPSS - fantastic platform for running statistical analyses.....at a cost

SPSS is more straight forward to use in comparison to its competitors, but it is more expensive. Open source alternatives such as R are great, but require knowledge in traditional code such as Python. SPSS is more beginner friendly than R. Use SPSS if you can afford it.

Pros

SPSS allows me to work in point and click and also in syntax to run analyses to solve our research questions. I typically run linear regressions, ANOVAs, ANCOVAs, and descriptives/frequencies in SPSS. My favorite part of this software is how easy it is to use in comparison to its competitors.

Cons

I really dislike the price of a license. My company covers the cost of the license so I do not have to worry about it, but I would be hesitant to use SPSS if I had to purchase a license on my own dime.

Reasons for switching to SPSS

Ease of use.

Showing 1 - 25 of 480 reviews
SPSS

SPSS

4.5/5 out of 480 reviews