User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(227)

227

4 stars

(140)

140

3 stars

(25)

25

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "Very intuitive interface, the software is very easy to use and allow quick learning of it's tools. It helped me a great deal during my university years."

  • "The tool is very easy to use and requires minimal SQL experience. The tool handles all amounts of data and does it quickly."

  • "Excellent in handling survey data, very good in data analysis and presentation of report, the graphics is fantastic. "

  • Cons

  • "It has few graphic tools, it is limited in terms of the presentation of the data results. It is expensive software but it is worth every dollar of its price."

  • "It has few graphic tools, you have to use other software to make presentations of high graphic content. It is expensive software but it is worth every dollar of its price"

  • "This software is exceptional, the only problem is that it can be a little difficult for beginners. However, after a little practice here and there, you’ll get the hang of it."

Browse SPSS Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 394 results

April 2020

Akshay from byo

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Gets You Results with a Reasonable Learning Curve

I used this software for Market Research related applications and this helped me quickly complete the tests and save them as per how I wanted it. In the projects I used it for, it gave out some interesting results and takeaways which helped in business planning.

Pros

1. It literally covers just so many options of tests, from regression to anova and much more. 2. It's like a one stop destination for all queries related to data 3. Can handle massive amounts of data and inputs

Cons

1. A manual/tips section within the software could have eased my learning curve to an extent. 2. UI/UX can be improved 3. High cost

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Best stats package with the ease of functionality and mechanism.

My overall experience with SPSS has been great and I strongly recommend it. It is very useful in market research and business analytics industry as most research projects deal with descriptive and multivariate statistical approach. I have been using SPSS for last ten years and it has provided very good functionality with each update and version. Overall I highly recommend this software package.

Pros

Very easy to use. High level functionality and easy to perform mechanisms. Fine way of operations. Can run anything from basic descriptive statistics to high level simulations. Easy to import data in different formats (csv, xls, sav, etc.). Data cleaning process are easily executed which includes missing value imputation, data recoding, and data restructuring. Very functional in running multivariate methods like exploratory factor analysis, ANOVA, linear regression, logistic regression, discriminant analysis, and MANCOVA. Most operations are done through interactive dashboard, which is hassle free. Overall it is a great statistical package to run different analysis at a very affordable price.

Cons

It is tedious to do multiple iterations using SPSS. Syntax functionality is low and lines of codes become exhaustive when you run monte carlo simulations. The most challenging aspect is to run simulations with large data sets. The support provided by the support team doesn't extend beyond technical support. SPSS requires add ons for running the simulations which cost extra to the users. Overall it is deficient in running certain simulations.

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

SPSS is Value for Money

I have used it to analyze data collected from market research for the services I offer. I am able to then make informed decisions from the trends I observe through the analyses.

Pros

As a student of the social sciences, I was expected to conduct research and calculate appropriate statistics in order to draw accurate conclusions. I became overwhelmed by the complex nature of these calculations. I was relieved to discover that, in the real world, I was not expected to calculate t-tests, ANOVA, chi-square (and countless others) manually. I remember having several aha moments during my Data Analysis course as we were taught the software step-by-step. This software has since become a mainstay in my personal and professional life. I once used it to analyze upwards of 300 questionnaires and was blown away at how easily and quickly I was able to compare the data. There were 6 demographic questions and I was able to breakdown responses based on each classification. It offers a wealth of statistical capabilities at the touch of a button.

Cons

It is intimidating at first. It is also rather expensive.

Reasons for Choosing SPSS

I never learned to do statistics in Excel. So I wanted to stick to what I knew. I also anticipated comparing large amounts of data, which SPSS does more efficiently.

March 2018

Grisell from Ministerio Público

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Being in the field of Social Sciences is almost a requirement to get a complet analysis.

With SPSS it is possible to collect data, create statistics, analyze management decisions and much more. Gives the opportunity of doing complex analysis and take on prediction models. The capacity of solving problems of applied statistics by brute force or by trying thousands of combinations to finally stay with what is believed to be the best for use.

Pros

The importance of capture and analyze data to create tables and graphs with complex data. Its ability to manage large volumes of data and carrying out text analysis amog other formats. Being able to use the statistical software, with descriptive statistics such as tabulation and crossover frequencies, and correlation tests. The program allows you to take your data and easily create a wide variety of visual effects such as radial boxplots and density graphs.

Cons

In more complex programs you need to have programming knowledge, as well as to make the most laborious calculations. In statistics, often contradictory results can be obtained between different tests. It does not provide the expected results in the expected time. It sometimes leads to unnecessary sophistication by allowing the use of complex techniques to answer simple questions. If the user does not have previous experience using SPSS or if their statistical knowledge is not up to date, it is difficult to understand which options to select. The results reports contain an excessive level of information.

January 2020

Sourav from Panjab University

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

SPSS is amazingly good for my raw data

I am a research scholar and i am doing my PhD. I collect data from the field and it requires processing. since the data is huge, it has to be manageable and understandable insights must be derived from it. SPSS does just that for me.

Pros

ability to process huge amounts of data in short time. easy to use interface.

Cons

no option to search for a specific feature or operation that i want to apply.

August 2019

Diego from DMR

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

A great tool for statistical analysis of large datasets

Pros

After learning the basics of the software it becomes intuitive to use, if you use their guide you can make it through the steps to perform any basic task. It had multiple functions that were very useful for most sorts of statistical analysis that are required in quantitative research.

Cons

There should be a quicker way to change the types of variables of multiple variables in use, and the graphs should be easier to customize.

September 2019

Saurav from Southern Illinois univ Carbondale

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Very useful for statistical analyses

I was trying to run a set of statistical analyses on climatic variables that include temperature and precipitation on a monthly time scale

Pros

I have used quite a few statistical softwares that include SPSS, SAS, R. SPSS was very useful for the climate data that I was working with. I felt it was easier than SAS as SAS involved a lot of coding

Cons

It did take some time to get accustomed with SPSS but that would be true for most softwares out there

June 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Most easiest comprehensive statistical software

I enjoy working with SPSS and learning from its step by step tutorial on data analysis and interpretation of results.

Pros

SPSS is a beautiful point and clicks comprehensive statistical software. Although its name is originated from social science (Statistical Software for Social Science), nowadays it is used in business, health, and environmental sciences. Its companion tutorial is full of examples mostly in the business field. SPSS is integrated with Python and R computing engines, so you can call them directly inside of SPSS. The recent version of SPSS is empowered with many advanced statistical techniques such as Bayesian inference, and spatial data analysis.

Cons

Actually, it is really hard to find an unfavorable aspect in SPSS

June 2020

Awais from Style textile

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Textiles

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

SPSS for Regression analysis and Forecasting

My experianced was good enough while using SPSS. Few function are missing as compare to other software (Like Economics graph plotter and Pie chart etc.)

Pros

SPSS graphics is outstanding, Each and Every activity visible on window.P value always shows Exact relationship between dependent and independent variable. Correlation and multicollinearty can pridict the outcomes of Quantitative event.

Cons

Data feeding is very tough in SPSS.Secondly there are some restraints to pridict heteroscedasticity Exactly. third its not Cost efficient.

March 2020

Sabrina from Centercode

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Simple Analysis

SPSS made it easy to import/export data. Also, there's a great amount of analysis that can be done very quickly.

Pros

SPSS provided advanced analyses in just a matter of a few clicks. It's relatively simple to manipulate data and further that data.

Cons

The UI of this software is a little outdated, but in comparison to the functions and features, this doesn't affect the utility.

November 2019

Carlos from Centro de Salud Santa Ines UCAB

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Analyze the information of your work with this software specialized in statistics.

The use of IBM SPSS by our company has generated excellent results in the planning, management and dissemination of our management as a Health Center. It is thanks to the options of IBM SPSS, that I have been able to systematize, compare and analyze large databases of our patients, offering better solutions to their problems and establishing the statistical data necessary for the evaluation of our activities. Large companies that wish to project themselves and compete in the market, I recommend that they use this software and thus will be able to make the best management decisions according to the evaluation of the data inherent to their company.

Pros

IBM SPSS, is a very sophisticated software that specializes in statistical analysis according to different data and variables such as graphical databases, probabilities, percentiles and so on. The most outstanding feature of this software is that it has many modules, which are the computer language of the software and allow a more exhaustive analysis of the information collected in your work. Among the most outstanding modules we have tables, categories of variables, joint analyses, maps, exact tests, data validation, analysis of lost values. It is a software that, with practice becomes the best tool for database analysis thanks to its file system, which facilitates the processing of information. Another advantage of this software is that it considerably reduces the analysis time of statistical variables, making the productivity of workers is optimal.

Cons

In order to fully manage IBM SPSS, it is necessary to apply certain computer knowledge, which means that not everyone, including expert social scientists, can use this software in its entirety.

March 2020

Arpine from Viva-MTS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Data management and analysis software for newbies and for professionals

I have started to use SPSS when I was a student, now I have 10+ years of experience using it. Thanks to its user-friendly interface it is quite easy for the newbies to get started with the software, and after a while be proficient to use the syntax and optimize the time when managing databases and running analysis.

Pros

The software has almost all the tools the analyst or database manager needs to have. The newer versions also support Armenian characters, which is a huge improvement of the database quality, there is no need any more to transcribe tons of questions and responses. Also, there are tons of tutorials with detailed explanation, also thick books for folks who prefer the old school method. When writing this review, I couldn't assess the support center, and I caught myself thinking that there are plenty of SPSS users out there and once googled some question, eventually many reviews pop up. That is why I have never contacted the support for help.

Cons

When working with large databases, specifically if there are multiple textual columns (non-numeric), the work of the program as well as the computer is obviously slowing down. Another point is that the missing values should be max 3 or a range plus one value. When creating the variable and defining missing values, one should pay attention and set the values so they won't need to do the re-coding.

February 2019

Steven from Modern Metrics Barn

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

A sports car product

I've used SPSS since it was only available on mainframe computers and so I am quite comfortable with the software. I can move data in and out of the system. I use SPSS for evaluation but always move to something else for visualization.

Pros

SPSS is a feature rich product that has evolved to serve professional statisticians. It can do almost everything you could imagine. The new integration with R makes it even more capable. If you are trying to perform advanced modeling it can do it. It accepts data in most formats and can export data with ease.

Cons

Like a sports car, it is not easy. The menu system is not intuitive and options can be fussy. After years of working with it, I sometimes still end up searching for the test I want. The graphics are widely accepted in academic publications but are far behind those for the more commercial press. Tables often must be reworked to meet the standards necessary for any quality report. The software comes in several flavors. This is great for saving money but often leaves people wanting features or tests only available in the next upgrade. Given the high cost of the software -- particularly for business customers -- an upgrade can be prohibitive.

April 2019

Rajah from National Building Research Organization

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Helpful assistant to reveal the insight of the statistical data

Great software to enhance the productivity of the statistical data. providing various tools and functions to reveal the insights of any statistical data.

Pros

I have been using licensed version of IBM SPSS statistics for 2 years (nowadays SPSS 23). SPSS has the capability to handle any statistical data which are in the format of rows and columns. variable view of the SPSS provides user friendly platform to enter the survey data within a structured environment, so it makes data entries easier and faster without having errors in the format. it supports various other format of statistical data such as excel, dbf, csv etc., and also can directly import from another database such as MS Access and postgre sql. Contains all the required tools to maintain statistical and string data (merge, split, query, re code, compare, etc.) thus it recommended for statistical data management and analysis. Integration of python and script platform provides the path for automate the repetitive tasks and support complex statistical functions. my favourable feature of this product (SPSS 23) is the integration of the Geo spatial association rules which has the ability to reveal spatial pattern and predication from the spatial data attributes.

Cons

It is a commercial product, so it would cost reasonable amount to purchase. there are some issues happening during the database integration with other databases. standard of the user help forums has to be enhanced to get most of the usage out of the software.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Criminologist's best friend

The SPSS has been part of my training as a professional, and later I have used it very often in the development of my theses to obtain higher academic degrees. In my profession, it is very useful to process statistical information that helps to make appropriate decisions regarding public policy. So he's my best friend as a criminologist.

Pros

The SPSS is part of the training of any criminologist interested in studying the criminal phenomenon. It is a complete program that allows any statistical analysis to help generate tables, graphs, and perform statistical tests that allow variables to be associated. It is very easy to use and has a very nice interface. Each new version incorporates interesting elements that allow the analysis to be extended, even with qualitative data. I use it very often in research and to present information of statistical relevance. It is the best statistical package for the social sciences. Of course it is used by many scientific disciplines such as sociology and psychology.

Cons

It may seem expensive at first, but the benefits are numerous, and it is worth investing in it. Of the rest I have nothing negative to say.

March 2020

Ingrid from ASCOVIME

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

The life saving software for data entry and analysis

As an epidemiologist, I work with data in the form of numbers on the daily. SPSS is very reliable and the export feature to excel is absolutely great. It generates graphs and that makes the presentation and interpretation of results easier. I was recently working on blood donation at the level of a central blood bank and SPSS was a life saver, working on a population of 2000 blood donors and being able to provide answers on the epidemiological characteristics of these blood donors in order to develop subsequent strategies for donor retention and recruitement was urgent and in the short deadline i had, SPSS was the only software which helped me reach the given ojectives. This is one out of many cases where SPSS was on point.

Pros

First of all the interface is amazing and you can easily switch from variable view to data view. This makes it easy to keep track of your work and progress and make sure the data you are entering is correct. It is incredibly easy to create a data base and insert your collected data. It is simple and user friendly. In the healthcare domain, we work with so many variables and have very large sample sizes most of the time, and being able to sort cases as well as variables makes this app a game changer compared to previous ones I have come across and used. With basic statistical knowledge it is possible for anyone to carry out statistical operations and as an epidemiologist this is perfect for me as I can analyze my data by myself and move on to interpreting the results.

Cons

I believe this software is heavy and it is always slow to start when opened, it takes quite a while and since it is one I use all the time, I have it installed on all my laptops and it always tends to be slow which can be tiresome especially when you are in a rush to carry out an operation to see the results and quickly interprete. Apart from that the software itself once opened is quick and prompt in its responses.

June 2018

Jose from IUTIRLA Porlamar

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

A great tool for the statistical analysis of data for its simplicity and excellent results

Ease and speed in the analysis of large volumes of data, in addition to a wide possibility for the treatment of them in a single software and for a price quote adequate to the results provided

Pros

It is an excellent software for handling large volumes of data, because it allows in a simple way without great technical knowledge to perform from simple statistical calculations, descriptive statistics, data validation to inferential or predictive statistics. It is designed in a simple and user-friendly way since it is not necessary to use complex knowledge to encode data when using qualitative data. In relation to the predictive information that allows to generate is of great support for decision making, especially through the statistical models generated by the data under study, thus allowing the obtaining of models whose level of confidence can reach up to 95% . In a few words, an ideal software for research, mainly in the social area.

Cons

Due to the large number of possibilities it offers for the treatment and analysis of data, it can be quite overwhelming in principle, especially if the differences between each of the analysis possibilities it provides are not clear. This also means that it is necessary to dedicate a considerable time to explore each one of the possibilities that it offers and to see the tutorials offered for the use of the software. Another disadvantage is the quality of the generated graphics, if we compare them with other similar software for the handling and analysis of data that exist in the market, since if we want to have better quality graphics, mainly if we need to make presentations in general we must go to other software.

July 2018

zahra from Alibaba

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

It is user friendly, professional and perfect for those people who need to analyze quantitative data

Working with this software in one of the most important section of my job.

Pros

As a market researcher I should work with SPSS daily. It is a software for analyzing quantitative data.it is easy to import data from other software like Microsoft Excel and analyze them. Also some online survey platforms have SPSS output and you can import data from them to SPSS directly. If you just want to have some descriptive statistics, it is easy to learn, but if you want to analyze data with parametric and non-parametric exams, it is a bit difficult so it is better to take a class about 1 week and learn SPSS fast. Then you will enjoy analyzing data.

Cons

For drawing charts from data, SPSS is not suitable because it doesn't have a beautiful data visualization. Visualization tools for drawing charts in SPSS are few; so every time that I want to draw a chart, I should copy the table of analyzed data on SPSS to Excel and draw the chart.

June 2019

Hilary from Medical Solutions

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Veterinary

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Analyse your dissertation data with spss

Hard to use, but it gets the job done, and you get your results which are reliable and well tabulated.

Pros

it helped me analyse my survey data when l was writing up my dissertation. its simpler that other statistical tools I could import and export data easily from excel to spss l managed to analyse descriptive data and do regressions using a YouTube tutorial. data analysis doesn't take forever, its quick it allowed me to edit, when doing school work one always makes errors, and with spss you can redo as many times as you need to. for basic data interpretetion and analysis spss is the good to go

Cons

its difficult to use, alone you cant unless maybe you are a math and stats guru sadly it doesn't copy and paste tables and charts neatly to Microsoft word, l had to type again if l wanted the analyse data to be on my word documents and that is a lot of work.

Reasons for Choosing SPSS

spss was easier to use for me compared to stata

July 2018

Corey from GSU

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

My experience with SPSS has been nothing short of amazing. I rely on it daily, and am never let down

Pros

SPSS is incredibly user-friendly, which is obviously important when it comes to statistical analyses. More specifically, rather than having to learn a certain coding language in order to run analyses, one can just navigate through the menus while also collecting the syntax from these operations in order to replicate in the future. Compared to other statistical analysis softwares, SPSS is as familiar as can be, and is as approachable as possible. It is easy to teach to others, and it also makes professional and publishable graphs.

Cons

Though a tiny quip, SPSS has a few limitations when it comes to making graphs - for example, if one were to make a stacked bar graph of their data, they are unable to add error bars to it, which, as any researchers knows is incredibly important. Other than that, I cannot say that I have any major dislikes about SPSS.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

SPSS for digital mental health research

I am the Principal Investigator of a NIMH funded study that aims to test the efficacy of digital platforms in delivering cognitive training software to people with psychotic illnesses. Our serves store enormous amounts of data and we leverage the processing ability of SPSS to customize multiple data analysis pipelines. I've used SPSS for almost 10 years now and I must admit that it continues to represent an indispensable tool in my research.

Pros

SPSS Is the milestone of our data analysis pipeline. The software has been increasingly more user friendly release after release, the graphical interface is more intuitive, and the customization options have improved. SPSS syntax is easy to learn, implement, and teach to students in the lab.

Cons

Some advanced statistical functions require syntax that isn't available through the menu options. I find myself sending syntax to colleagues and students in order to accelerate collaborative analytical projects

April 2018

Thomas from Econometric Studios

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

If you're looking for a point-and-click analytics software, SPSS is probably the best one out there.

The software benefits me by offering easy to read and useful tables and charts that don't require tons of time outside of the software to make the tables/charts publication quality. Every reader of my SPSS works loves what SPSS produces.

Pros

SPSS is the most user-friendly statistical analysis and data mining software on the market. The point-and-click interface makes it easy to construct. The ability to create scripts for future automation is nice and its movement into new areas like text analytics and big data makes it more useful. The SPSS output is the best I've ever used for publication quality tables.

Cons

Although SPSS is very user-friendly, its graphical capabilities are sub-par compared to similar software. Because the software is so user-friendly, if you're a more advanced user like myself, SPSS takes more time and has more restrictions to customize the reports and analytical reports.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Industry standard for psychological research

Definitely the standard statistical package in my field (psychology research), and for good reason. SPSS is a data workhorse.

Pros

SPSS is powerful yet straightforward to use. It covers a wide array of statistical analyses and data transformations - functions like automatic recoding of variables or restructuring of datasets can be great time savers. The SPSS syntax is also fairly intuitive, with a low barrier to entry for anyone with basic coding experience. The fact that syntax is automatically generated when using the point-and-click interface is extremely helpful for getting started with creating your own scripts, making future analyses even more efficient.

Cons

The graphing function is serviceable, but not pretty. Tweaking graphs to look decent can be time-consuming and frustrating, and some options are simply not available (for example, showing all data points overlaid on a bar graph of means). There are also some statistical tests not available via the point-and-click interface; you have to know the proper syntax to run them. Lastly, there is of course the price tag - I am able to get access through my university, but I'm not sure it would be worth the cost if I were paying out of pocket.

July 2018

Rashid from Introductory Chemistry, Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Wonderful Analytics tool !

Great analytical and visualization tool!

Pros

Extremely user friendly, you can conduct analysis with or without code, from simple linear regressions to complex neural networks can simply be done with the click of a button through the drop down media. Useful tutorials that help newcomers to the software! This is especially helpful if you have not used the software before. Versatility, this software can open almost any type of data file and output a myriad of files, for example you can open excel, spss files and output graphs as jpeg or png file formats.

Cons

Menus are very clunky and not visually appealing. Some advanced metrics for analysis are not easily accessible, these include SVM, decision trees etc. Extremely expensive! I am not sure how much a full liscence cost but it is worth the cost!

December 2019

Esther from Self-Employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Excellent Statistics Program, But Showing Its Age

Overall, among statistics programs, SPSS is by far the easiest to use in my experience. It offers an extensive set of statistical tests, can import data from multiple outside programs, and walks you through many of the set up steps for the more-advanced statistical tests. However, the interface, while easy to use, is showing its age and isn't always the most pleasant. Additionally, it will often experience freezes when importing data, to the point that the external program needs to be restarted in order to finish the import. If you can get past these relatively minor concerns, however, SPSS is for many users the best option for performing statistical tests, and its cost can be tailored to your individual needs.

Pros

Easy-to-use interface, comprehensive feature set, works with a wide variety of data sources, multiple purchase options for individualized needs

Cons

Often slows down when dealing with large datasets, has a tendency to freeze for long periods of time when importing data, not all statistical tests offered by the software are well-documented or well-designed

Reasons for Choosing SPSS

Better cost and subscription options

June 2019

Brian from Kibabii University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

The Magnificent software for statistical data analysis and reporting :IBM SPSS

I actually find IBM SPSS to be the very best software solution for statistical analysis based on my own personal experience. It has helped me to accomplish much research works by providing me with accurate and quality results within a very short period of time than manually generating all those sorts of techniques like ANOVA, regression, Descriptive statistics and so on. I find it ideal to work with this software solution and I urge other statisticians and researchers to try out this excellent software because this is something that you can not afford to miss.

Pros

I prefer IBM SPSS to any other software product because with IBM SPSS I have all the statistical data analysis techniques integrated into one component. The IBM SPSS is capable of manipulating almost all statistical problems including the recent advance statistics. This is the most accurate statistical analysis tool that provides accurate information such as correlation analysis to individuals or larger organizations for managerial purposes or future planning.

Cons

This software product requires some level of experience and is somehow laborious to use at first. The overall implementation and maintenance cost is a bit costly, but once it fits in it proves to be advantageous.

April 2019

Pedro from Faculdade de Desporto da Universidade do Porto

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

The best Statistical Software for Social Sciences

Without this software, writing articles would be more time-consuming. Data analysis is much easier with SPSS, even if you don't organize your database earlier.

Pros

After a quick cleanup of data with other software, SPSS can import data from multiple file types, and create any variables we desire. It's easy to make quick analysis, deep correlations, rescale variables, create regressions, everything you need to analyze data a create impact research.

Cons

A little information about the software is needed. It's very intuitive, but because it offers many tools (correlation, regression, ...), if you just need a quick analysis (median, mode, and average kind of things) it's not the simplest software. But for those who really need data analysis, it simplifies and accelerates analysis.

October 2018

Cory from The Behavioral Health Workforce Research Center

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

More Intuitive than Other Statistical Packages, If Less Robust

Pros

I've worked with several statistical analysis packages during my time as a health researcher. By far, the one I'm most fond of is SPSS. Its user interface in its latest versions is truly a thing of beauty. Instead of having to learn a new programming language, I can easily work through drop-down menus to perform all the analyses I need. The program is compatible with .csv and .xls files, meaning I can easily dump data into the program, and even edit/clean it within SPSS (though I'd recommend putting clean data in, instead of relying on SPSS to do it - the program can be a little clunky in this department.) For quick and simple data analysis, I recommend SPSS to anyone.

Cons

Some other data analysis packages are free, whereas SPSS comes at a price. It's not anywhere near as steep as some other, similar statistical software, but it is not free. Furthermore, simplicity and user-friendliness comes as a trade-off with functionality. Some of the more nuanced analyses that could be performed in other programs, using more sophisticated programming language, cannot be (or cannot easily be) performed in SPSS.

April 2019

Doriangel from PDVSA Petroleos de Venezuela S.A.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

An excellent solution for data management and information matrices.

Pros

In my profession the collection and processing of data represents a supreme importance, a social worker practically lives of interpreting the data that he collects in reality, to impel strategies and solutions to the problems of the collectivity will depend directly on the quality of the radiography that one manages to take of the group with which one works, SPSS is a tool that taxes to this end, since not only it allows us to process the obtained data but also it offers us an incredible variety of statistical analysis that facilitates the task to us of being social workers.

Cons

Nothing to object to, a wonderful tool, a fundamental part of my work for a long time

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

SPSS still the one after all these years

Academic computing in the social sciences - SPSS is particularly strong in data management.

Pros

I have been using SPSS since 1981 and it is still my go to statistical software as I have progresses from a graduate student to a full professor. Ease of use. Verified and reliable calculations. The SPSS paste function allows users to work in a GUI environment but also permits users to write syntax that can then be reused and modified providing a record of data transformations and statistical procedures.

Cons

The wide range of packages and difficulty in telling what procedures are available in specific packages. Merging files has become unduly complicated.

December 2019

Obvious from Ethical Leaf Tobacco

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Farming

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

SPSS appropriate software for academic and business circles

From my experience SPSS is good when carrying out statistical operations. I used SPSS when doing my Masters of Science in Finance and Banking research. From my experience compared to Eviews SPSS is difficult to use.

Pros

SPSS is a multifaceted statistical package that allows different types of analysis. Statistical package for social sciences (SPSS) enables to obtain statistics ranging from descriptive statistics to complicated multivariate analysis. The statistics menu helps the researcher or business analyst to analyse and interpret data by clicking the drop down arrow under data, analyse and graphs. SPSS helps researchers and business analysts to generate new variables by clicking the transform drop down menu which provides the steps or procedures for generating new variables. The package supports several functions for example arithmetic functions, statistical functions for example MEAN.

Cons

SPSS is not suitable for anlysing time series data and panel data. Does not allows for same time estimation of regression parameters and relationship between regressor or independent variables. Compared to other packages SPSS does not support model development (Structural Equation Modelling). SPSS does not provides model fit indexes to assess how well data or information is represented.

August 2019

PRINCE from University of Zimbabwe

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Academic research help

A useful tool for complex calculations , Various calculations can be extracted from this application.

Pros

At the University of Zimbabwe we have found a reliable solution in the SPSS application for the various researches that is carried out in different faculties. I used the app on my undergraduate research project and my MBA research which produced the best results . Free videos are available online on how to use SPSS and there you dont have to pay to be taught on how to use it

Cons

It took me some time to carefully study and understand how to use the SPSS, and therefore it might took someone some time to understand the different function on the app

February 2020

Jenée from Central Statistical Office

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

For high level analysis

SPSS is a good software to use for producing large quantities of data. It is very difficult to use if you have no training, but once you learn how to use it, it is an asset to research.

Pros

This software is really good for large data sets. For instance when doing quantitative research and working with large data for surveys, SPSS is an asset of going through the data sets in a fast manner to produce results for analysis. It also comes with a large variety of tests that can be used for different types of research you are interested in. I have used up to version 21.

Cons

This is not a very user-friendly software. If you have no training on how to use it, you can manipulate your results or it can be found unreliable because the wrong test was used. If you are not trained to use it, don’t use it because you will only confuse yourself and your data.

May 2018

Ashley from PreSonus Audio Electronics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

It's pricey, but it's SO worth it! I could not have gotten through my thesis without it.

Ease of running statistical analyses. Comfort of knowing my data was safe. Comfort of knowing my results were reliable.

Pros

This software is fast, reliable, and flexible. I used it for my Master's thesis and I actually wound up using it for my first HR job at a drug company. I built surveys for them for patient satisfaction and, eventually, employee satisfaction. Using this software I was able to keep our data safe, gather stats over time, and control for certain variables that might have affected our results had I used something more trivial like Excel. Definitely recommend this!

Cons

The only con I can think of is the price. It can get pricey, especially if you cannot purchase a student copy. My license has expired and I have not yet renewed simply because my thesis is finished and my current employer does not have a desire to see employee stats -- not for that price, anyway! Hopefully I will be able to convince the execs that this is a necessary tool. Perhaps a more extensive trial period (or maybe a discount for the first 3-6 months?) would be helpful. That would allow for plenty of time to gather data and run stats so that my executive team might be able to see the benefits.

September 2019

George Rex from ROC Aire Consulting Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

The Most Advanced and Sophisticated Statistical Package

I started using SPSS back in 2008 to analyse data samples for my friend's first degree project. The version 15 back then that I used was not compatible with my windows vista operating system, but because of the hype and how the product was talked about, I had to find a way around to make that version work on my system. We used a hotfix by the way, so it worked. But I was able to get a good data analysis from a software product which I never thought was possible; something my professor only taught me how to do by hand.

Pros

IBM SPSS is a very popular tool, for that there are loads of available tutorials (both free and paid) to get you started and also pull you out of a usage problem whenever you get stuck. So, its a very strong product with a useful array of learning tools online. I also love the cloud solution (SPSS app on fly) such that you can do your analysis while on the go.

Cons

The software really requires a lot of time to learn and understand its features. It is also very resource consuming and it is somewhat expensive to purchase, even with the available student offer.

October 2016

Samantha from Spring

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2016

SPSS base is a must for market research

I've been using SPSS for a few years now, and I think it's not more than logical that it's the market leader for the segment. It's GUI makes it easy for beginners to work with it, but the understandable and fast to learn syntax makes it very neat to work with for the more advanced researcher. The only pity for the software package is the extreme pricing. I'm now using SPSS Base because of the high price for the more advanced packages, but that also means that I'm missing out on (what I think are) quite standard needs for a researcher, like logistic regression and tables. I've tried some open source packages like PSPP and R, but still SPSS is worth the money, although I think for that amount they could 'upgrade' the base package a little more to include all the basics.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Data analysis tool for professionals

I learnt SPSS as a part of a university course on time series analysis. The interface is easy to use while the coding required some computing knowledge. However, I have been using SPSS in the workplace to carry out inferential and descriptive analysis without any major glitches. It is more powerful than Excel in handling large and multiple data sources but a bit limited in functionality when compared to SAS or R.

Pros

SPSS is a versatile data analysis tool with a wide range of statistical analysis tools. One can carry out simple descriptive analysis as well as pre-process/clean, visualise and model data using GUI as well as code. The interface of SPSS makes it easier to learn as compared to SAS. Data management capabilities of SPSS are a big plus.

Cons

SPSS does not have any major drawbacks other than its price tag. R as a competitor is free and open source. I also found SPSS coding to be less intuitive and graphs/plots rendered to be less 'attractive' than some other analysis packages available.

December 2018

Bill from XR Trading

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Capital Markets

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

High performing and user friendly statistical software

Pros

I liked how IBM SPSS allowed me to perform data analysis on large databases of data. I work in trading, where there are lots of numbers to crunch, different sources of data to manage, and scalability/performance is critical. It generates intuitive simple reports for our traders to view and trade with.

Cons

Compared to Python and R, which are common data analysis languages with lots of library support, SPSS definitely has less features. However, this isn't necessarily a downside since traders are typically less technical, and this is simple to use for them.

October 2018

Binbin from University of Maryland

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2018

Top statistic software

Pros

This is the top statistic software in the universal educational institute and professional consulting firms I believe. It contains almost every statistics functions and models inside, by simply clicking the methods you want you use, you will generate results with a second. The three independent windows help you distinguish the data area, code area, and output area.

Cons

The copy paste function in the output area sometimes ramble and messed up if you want to move your output to other sources. This can be upgrade in the later version of spss for sure.

December 2019

Verda from FDA

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Versatile

Very user friendly and an amazing product. I will keep using it till I am doing any form of sophisticated analysis for my research.

Pros

I love SPSS and have been using it for more than 10 years. I started using in college for my basic analysis such as t-test and ANOVA. Now I run path models and advanced regressions, mediation, and moderations. Highly recommend for any statistician or researcher.

Cons

Some kinds of analysis are not possible, where AMOS, or Mplus is needed. I wish there was a way to add that functionality, especially for unsaturated path modeling and HLM analysis.

August 2019

Kanishka from University of Jayawardenapura

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Very Good and Convenient Software

I have been using this at my university and at work. It has two different tabs. The data tab and the View tab. In SPSS, the output is opened through a different window where it stores all the data in a separate file. I don't have to worry about overwriting any information by accident. This software makes easy for me to analyze the data and obtain the mean, median, standard deviation, Skewness and many more. By using these tools I could compare two types of data sets and get a thorough idea about the situation. This software makes it much easier.

Pros

There are different kinds of tools which make work easy.

Cons

The interface looks older and it takes time to open the software.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Statistical Analysis + In-depth Interpretation, perfect for academia and journal writing

SPSS mainly solves our statistical analysis issues by providing a platform for every stat method there is with an option to create data clusters that are easier to understand and interpret. Very handy in the scientific academe.

Pros

It's great that IBM has developed this product to help everyone in need of statistical analysis. I am part of a scientific research team here in the Philippines and SPSS has been very helpful in our data analysis. Mostly we cover around 10-15 data sets a day involving corals and invertebrates with various statistical methods, but with SPSS, we finish most of it in two days. Great tool for research and can definitely help in journal publishing.

Cons

For beginners, it may seem quite complicated but they will get a hang of it when they start. The should be careful how to apply stat methods though, it can be hard to edit them. But overall, highly recommend. No other statistical software does it like SPSS.

April 2019

Tennisha from Indiana university

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

The most dependable data analysis software

Overall I use the software frequently and have never had issues. I also know that the open forum and customer service is great for getting your problems solved.

Pros

I love SPSS. I know that most in social science learn the basic amalyses using SPSS but the reason is really because of its dependability. I know that I can always find answers on the customer service forum if I need help.

Cons

My least favorite thing is that is not very intuitive. It takes some time to get use to the different possibilities of using SPSS. It would be helpful if there were some daily tips.

February 2018

MILADY from INSTITUTO NACIONAL DE PARQUES (INPARQUES)

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Powerful program to perform statistical analysis with complex data.

It benefits me to handle complex database and throws me the required results in a short time.

Pros

The best thing about this program is the ability it has to work with large databases, with which data analysis, creation of tables and graphs with complex data are made, it includes descriptive statistics such as tabulation and crossover frequencies, statistics of two variables, correlation, among others, in terms of transforming the data that allow us to discover relationships of dependence and interdependence, establish classifications of subjects and variables, predict behaviors in order to help us to make management decisions.

Cons

There is nothing wrong, just that the user must have a high statistical knowledge to use all the options offered by the program, if you have only basic knowledge you can be confused in the choice of the option and also that the result throws a huge amount of information that can confuse the user.

August 2019

Jayden from University of Nebraska - Lincoln

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Extensive and powerful statistics, if you take the time to learn it!

Once you truly understand the workflow, SPSS is a quick and easy way to organize and analyze your data. The issue is getting to that mastery.

Pros

You can do almost anything that you may need to in a data setting. You can compare statistics in a huge variety of different formats, seeing relationships for any type of study you may have to run analytics for. These results are then split into sections on a separate tab, where any graphs or charts you create or organized in a streamlined fashion. These creations are also very easily exportable.

Cons

With any powerful piece of software, there is a major learning curve. Without a class setting, it is very difficult to wrap your head around the various functions and options in a field that already lacks a truly consistent naming convention. On top of this, there are a wide array of very pricey add-ons, making it difficult to know exactly what package you need, and expensive if you make a mistake on this (I had very limited experience with customer service, but getting refunded was quite a hassle).

March 2018

Erika from Escuela Nacional de Fiscales del Ministerio Público

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

This software has allowed me to save time and money, because it is easier to manipulate than microsoft excel smile all for the calculation of descriptive statistics

Pros

The facility to make descriptive statistics and graphic representation of information. In the same way for the management of data base, definition of variables, among other things.

Cons

The handling of the typology of variables generates difficulty, which is different from the theoretical definition that is learned in the university, but the use of the tool makes you get used to the new definitions.

April 2019

Larry F from Alabama State University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Statistical Analysis Made Easy

Pros

When you have huge volumes of data to analyze, SPSS is the way to go. Whether you are a statistician by trade or doctoral candidate just trying look at dissertation data, SPSS is very simple to use. Definitely great for deep diving into research and really pulling to accurate data for presentation.

Cons

The very basic version of the software has a minimal cost. However, as you purchase add-ons to customize it to your needs, it can become really expensive really fast especially for large organizations.

August 2019

Vanessa from Self employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Easy to use but expensive compared with other analysis tools

Easy to use and learn a host of data analysis techniques. The price is definitely a factor.

Pros

SPSS - via the drop down menus - is one of the easiest tools to use when it comes to analyzing data. There are a host of options and the process is quick to learn. The use of syntax also makes the sharing of analysis easy.

Cons

Price - similar data analysis is possible on free-to-download platforms such as R. Also, because of the price, I have found that my collaborators are unlikely to use SPSS and more likely to use other software.

November 2018

Omondi from International Rescue Committee (IRC)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

The Mother of all data analysis softwares

Excellent data analysis software, it is easy to use, fast and efficient. Works impromptu even when analyzing huge sets of data.

Pros

Works best with both qualitative and quantitative data analysis. It also accepts data from other formats such as .xls. The software offers a comprehensive report on the data analysed making the work of the analyst very easy.

Cons

SPSS keeps on releasing a newer version frequently, which renders the other versions out-dated. The support should think about introducing updates rather than newer versions.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Useful but not easy to learn

Pros

They say its "easy to use, difficult to learn". I wish the interface were more user friendly and easy to figure out if you don't know EXACTLY what type of report to run. It would be more valuable to students if they were able to work out what type of report they need for the statistical analysis they would like.

Cons

The functions are often hard to find and the user interface is not super intuitive. For Pros, they are able to find what they need though if they have a lot of experience with the program.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 394 reviews