Statgraphics Centurion

Statgraphics Centurion Reviews

RATING:

4.48

(31)

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.48

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"Very good teaching materials are available of the user. Statgraphics provided well designed free courses to help users understanding how to solve certain statistical problems regularly."
  • icon"The menus are structured to make it easy to find what you're looking for. Highly recommended for the common man who does not have a strong background in stats."
  • icon"Large selection of Statistics procedures, easy to use, graphical facilities for Data understanding, low price."
  • icon"Because our IT rules do not allow us to have admin rights on our laptops, the multiple back-and-forth validation process imposed by Statgraphics frustrates everybody here that tries to set it up."
  • icon"Somewhat clumsy performance when all five of us are hitting it hard. At some times, the program seems to get narcoleptic or confused presenting incorrect output."
  • icon"In the last 5 years I've had many support requests or questions get completely ignored. Very disappointing to a long time user."

Have you used Statgraphics Centurion and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Statgraphics Centurion Reviews

1-25 of 31 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Mario

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2019

My Statgraphics 18 Review

Descriptive Statistics, data recognition, linear regression, logistic regression, ridge regression, discriminant analysis, etc...With all the Huge graphical facilities

Pros

Large selection of Statistics procedures, easy to use, graphical facilities for Data understanding, low price

Cons

Not like SPSS Modeler (Old Clementine) : easy data join and filter from any source; facility to link the mathematical models solutions. You create and follow your own Models flow.

Reasons for choosing Statgraphics Centurion

Really I normally use the Modeler 18.2 with Statgraphics 18 and SPSS Stats Pro 26, each of them give different possibilities, solutions and presentations

Elizabeth

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Textiles

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2019

lots of stat function with good tutorials

The Statgraphics team has been very responsive when I have had technical issues with the software, typically responding to email inquiries within an hour or two. The software tutorials are very good, showing clearly how to set up an analyses and how to interpret it. The backup stat tutorials, explaining the statistics, are excellent as well.

Pros

The software is pretty intuitive and easy to use with excellent tutorials. The thing I like the most about the Statgraphics software though is the brief stat interpretations included as part of the analysis reports. For users who are not stat professionals, the interpretations are very helpful in making sure users understand the meaning of the data.

Cons

Occasionally, one of my files will get corrupted somehow and cause the program to crash every time the corrupted file is opened. The report generator is very bare bones, so exporting the report to a .rtf file then editing it with a standard text editor is necessary to achieve good formatting for printability.

Reasons for choosing Statgraphics Centurion

Statgraphics provided the best combination of functionality and ease of use. The stat explanations built into the reports are what won me over though - they are a fantastic aid for users who are not stat professionals. JMP is a great product, but it assumes a certain level of stat knowledge and users have to hunt for the stat backup explanations. Minitab's user interface is stuck decades in the past, so even though it is very capable, it has a difficult learning curve.

Jim

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Glass, Ceramics & Concrete

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Nice but not the best

Some of our R&D folks still use Statgraphics for trending, control charting, and capability analysis. Once in a great while one of them will try some comparative analysis, but usually they call me for help. Anything DOE or multiple regression related and they come to me for help and I'll use JMP instead of Statgraphics.

Pros

1) The ease of use by non-statisticians is awesome. The menus are structured to make it easy to find what you're looking for. Highly recommended for the common man who does not have a strong background in stats. 2) The Stat-Advisor is a great tool - especially for the non-statistics folks. 3) The dynamic linking of the data to the graphical reports is very nice. The ability to see the impact of new data on existing reports is a great feature.

Cons

1) The installation process is EXTREMELY painful. Because our IT rules do not allow us to have admin rights on our laptops, the multiple back-and-forth validation process imposed by Statgraphics frustrates everybody here that tries to set it up. Often this process takes days to accomplish. 2) Customer support has deteriorated greatly over the last 20 years. I've been a Statgraphics user since the 80's. Back then when you had a problem a simple email resulted in an almost immediate response - often from N.P. himself. In the last 5 years I've had many support requests or questions get completely ignored. Very disappointing to a long time user. 3) The DOE module is the weakest link in the Statgraphics chain. Even in the 80's and 90's when I loved the product and used it exclusively, our Applied Math and Statistics group used JMP for any DOE work because it is just that much better. 4) There is no scripting function or application builder utility. You can save a folio but cannot apply the analyses in that folio to a different data set like you could with a script or macro function.

Reasons for choosing Statgraphics Centurion

Statgraphics was my first statistical software package. I've been using it for over 30 years - back when it ran in DOS. . . When my former employer was bought out the new company was standardized on JMP. JMP training was part of our Six Sigma growth so I learned JMP. Over the years I've seen my customers switch to JMP. I still support the few (less than 10) Statgraphics users in my current company, but anybody who needs to start from scratch with statistics does so with JMP. Our company standard offering is Minitab but it is ugly and lacking in way too many features to even be a serious contender.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Quick and Easy

This software has been my "go-to" package for over 15 years. It is extremely reliable and easy to use. It also offers all the statistical analyses I need for my business.

Pros

Very easy and intuitive to use. Easy to import raw data as well

Cons

Tutorials could use some improvements for non-standard statistical analyses

Reasons for choosing Statgraphics Centurion

Ease of use and history with the package

Reasons for switching to Statgraphics Centurion

Cost and ease of use

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2019

Blows Excel out of the water

Pros

The charting tools are excellent, far better than Excel.

Cons

A bit of a learning curve. You aren't going to get very far if you dont have a solid stats background.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2019

Traer tool

Pros

Youll have a lots of options for analizing data with lots of forms to resume and show the analized data.

Cons

The intarfece could be better user friendly.

Stanley

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Statgraphics software for Facile and Accurate Analysis - for Statisticians and Nonstatisticians

I have used Statgraphics to solve drug quality problems, validate processes, develop sampling plans, assess capability to meet requirements, set specifications, assess process control, identify factors that control outputs, perform simulations, among many others.

Pros

The software explanatory text and graphics with every analysis.

Cons

Software updates appear too infrequently.

Reasons for switching to Statgraphics Centurion

Excel is more difficult to use. Statgraphics facilitates statistical analysis.

Timothy

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Why I chose Statgraphics

The ability to use valid statistics in non-traditional manufacturing environments where your basic X-Bar R charts are not valid. Batch processes. Autocorrelated processes. Non-Normal capability analysis. Statgraphics gives you the ability to analyze and interpret circumstances and manufacturing issues that are not always straightforward or "normal".

Pros

I have been using Statgraphics software in it's evolving forms for many years and have pulled it into every company I have worked at - across industries. There are several features that make this a must have software in every manufacturing environment. It is a powerful package that has all the tools needed for the advanced statistician, but is user friendly enough for those who may only have a rudimentary understanding of statistical techniques and premises. The stat-advisor, confirms the experience of experts while guiding the less experienced with the knowledge of when a statistical technique or method is valid or not, or under what premise the analysis is valid. Statgraphics has helped me throughout my professional quality career to gain knowledge and experience that has allowed me to use these powerful tools to improve processes, reduce scrap, and provide data-based advice.

Cons

Pricey - but worth it. It is less a function of cost and more a function of value.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2019

A complete data analysis software

In research fields, all the experimental results and simulations have to be statistical validated. For a user with no background in data analysis, it is difficult to calculate condifence bounds, carry out hypothesis tests and multivariate analysis. Statgraphics has been very useful to understand the results obtained and validate the approaches we propose by means of statistical methods.

Pros

This software integrates a large amount of tools for data analysis. It permits to carry out univariate and multivariate analysis easily. Also, the StatAdvisor allows the user not only to get the mathematical results, but to analyze them with statistic fundamentals.

Cons

Despite the StatFolio is comparable to Excel Sheets or Google Sheets, the data has to be ready for statistical analysis. In the case of atypical values, or just the user trying to make operations between columns, this software only permits the user to delete or replace values.

User Profile

Vanessa Carolina

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2018

IT'S A ROBUST PROGRAM THAT FACILITATES THE WORK IN THE AREA OF QUALITY CONTROL AND SENSORY ANALYSIS

facilitate to a great extent the fulfillment of my responsibilities and the culmination of my projects.

Pros

That it covers all the functions that I need to embrace in my work area, from the statistical tests to the control charts. Then I can evaluate a large amount of data in a simple way, both in the area of sensory analysis of a product and when performing the statistical control of the quality of a process

Cons

I think that the user interface could be improved a little, making it more enjoyable, and making more dynamic the development of the functions of the program.

Alan

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2019

Applied statistical analysis for the masses

Extremely pleased and satisfied. Our office was, and remains, an innovator by applying statistical analyses (especially regression) to mass appraisal for real property tax assessments. It has also proved invaluable for fee appraisals by determining whether functional utility variables, e.g., car parking, number of baths, building square footage, walk-out basement, etc. provide value in a neighborhood and, if they do, by what dollar amount. That quantitative basis is a very powerful asset especially for valuation assignments where expert witness testimony in litigation is involved.

Pros

Its StatAdvisor which translates high-level statistical analysis into plain English readers and users can digest and use. This was the program's main attraction and selling point over the competition because it would be used by Deputy Assessors who had no background whatsoever in statistics. My Deputies went from complete neophytes to skilled users during our first general assessment. Now, four years later, they are digging-in much deeper given their confidence gained by not being made to feel ignorant or inadequate as they learned how to properly apply Statgraphics' broad range of statistical techniques we use.

Cons

Somewhat clumsy performance when all five of us are hitting it hard. At some times, the program seems to get narcoleptic or confused presenting incorrect output. Deleting and recreating that process fixes the problem.

Reasons for choosing Statgraphics Centurion

StatAdvisor and the ability to have the program's developer, Dr. Polhemus, conduct our in-house training on a consulting basis.

NITIN

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Statgraphics Only Glorious way to do certain stat analyses

Wonderful experience. We use it for drug Shelf Life determination and calculating Process Capability indices.

Pros

Exceptionally superb customer service. Statgraphics is simple, easy to use, and it is very versatile. It provides some features not available in any other software, e.g Comparison of Regression Slopes, QFD Matrix, Acceptance Sampling chart. Copying results into Report Generator is very convenient. Reliability and distribution fitting functions are very elaborate. Result interpretation is very helpful representative is highly knowledgeable.

Cons

Help function used to provide Data Tables. Now I do not have access to data table files. Minitab has TEXT functions such as WORD to extract words . This software does not. Graphic editing is cumbersome. Graphics should provide a foot note of which Data table was used to create results. In SPC command it does not store results of such as UCL, LCL. (Minitab does). It does not store commands used. Do not know if Macro can be used for repeat analysis.

Reasons for choosing Statgraphics Centurion

n/a. We use all - JMP, Minitab as well.

Juan Pablo

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Using Stat graphics Centurion

I have performed all validation analyzes, stability tests, experiment design, and trend analysis associated with the pharmaceutical industry.

Pros

1. Intuitive, integrated and easy to use graphical interface. 2. One-click complex statistical procedures .. And beautiful and customizable graphics.

Cons

The time I have been using stagraphics I have not found any disadvantages

Reasons for switching to Statgraphics Centurion

Stagraphics increases the power to be integrated with R ... In addition, the procedure that allows variables to be adjusted to more than 40 continuous and discrete probability distributions. I have not seen it in any other statistical package

Roger

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Statgraphics for environmental analysis

I used it to check environmental monitoring data for problems and to process other data sets. All the applications were simple and now I have a reputation for being a statistics guru.

Pros

The stat advisor feature explains the results technically but also so that I can understand them. Importantly, those results show whether the statistics I am using are meaningful in ways that I would not normally realize because the summary includes tests on the data to determine if the statistic is applied correctly. This feature also makes presenting the results simple if you just cut and paste the text.

Cons

There is no way that I understand to process data before applying the statistics. A new feature to offer that option using the R language is available now but I don't know R

Reasons for switching to Statgraphics Centurion

Cost

Livio

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Chemicals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2019

Many options do not work well

I have tried to use it many times with large Excel data files of around 1 GB but it has always been a failure and unable to manage this amount of data (big data !!). In particular, the "big data" option that would be very useful never worked despite numerous attempts and requests for support, which after a while stopped "supporting" In practice a good "didactic" product but not suitable for "heavy industrial" use. Quite disappointed even though I occasionally continue to use it

Pros

Great ease of use Quite complete Sufficient documentation

Cons

Many options do not work or work badly Tipically big data

Reasons for switching to Statgraphics Centurion

see above

Response from Statgraphics Technologies

Hi Livio, We are glad you took the time to review Statgraphics and have been using our program for two plus years. The 'Big Data' options you refer to require the use of our 64 Bit version and the data to be in text files, including those of CSV. A large Excel file would have to be saved as a CSV file first then imported. We would be happy to test any specific file you are having issues importing if you email them to us. Statgraphics is committed to resolving any issue brought to our attention by our clients. Many of our clients do use the program for 'heavy industrial' use. We believe once we resolve the importing issue you will continue to use our program. We are unaware of any issue brought to our attention by a client that has not been resolved by our support team. Please contact support@statgraphics.com and we will be sure to work with you directly on this issue. -The Statgraphics Team

Replied September 2019

Jörg

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY