TIBCO Jaspersoft

TIBCO Jaspersoft Reviews

RATING:

4.21

(26)

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.21

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer Support

3.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4


Pros and Cons

  • icon"The ability to integrate with different databases and the ease with which I can easily connect makes it great for me using the software. It can also handle huge database record simultaneously."
  • icon"I provides lots of features you can think of. In short is ease the job of Java developers to create gorgeous reports."
  • icon"It also has the ability to create HTML 5 charts."
  • icon"Once you start tinkering with parts of the package and removing features. Its very difficult to get back to square one."
  • icon"Reports will function well on in Jaspersoft and not function on a server. The error output is cryptic and requires decoding."
  • icon"Ineffective documentation from Tibco makes learning the software a challenge if you are not an explorer. Drillable datasets are impossible."

Have you used TIBCO Jaspersoft and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All TIBCO Jaspersoft Reviews

1-24 of 24 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Babatunde

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2021

Good reporting software for smal and medium company.

Good for reporting in real-time because it has helped us quite a lot in decision making. I am able to design and deploy reports easily without requesting for support.

Pros

The ability to integrate with different databases and the ease with which I can easily connect makes it great for me using the software. It can also handle huge database record simultaneously.

Cons

The manual designing is a little difficult when you are trying to create different fields and more easier when you can use the XML. If you are not a programmer, it will take you some time to use the XML. Additionally, you need to deal with the unused columns or rows when you export your report to excel.

Reasons for choosing TIBCO Jaspersoft

Initially we had it free and was able to test and found it fit for purpose. Also, the pricing was within our budget.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2020

Business Intelligence Tool that's neither Intuitive or Intelligent

If you need a bare bones BI tool, this will work. On a rare occasion I am able to create a report that is visually appealing, works on the server, and exports well. It takes way more work and time to produce a professional grade deliverable in Jaspersoft than it does in any other BI tool I have used.

Pros

This software is very customizable in terms of the output formats. Scheduled report delivery is very easy to accomplish on their reporting server. It also has the ability to create HTML 5 charts.

Cons

The design interface for report creation is atrocious. Very clunky, not intuitive, and dated especially when compared to other tools available (MS Power BI, Tableau, etc.). It is maddeningly picky when it comes to formatting. Reports will function well on in Jaspersoft and not function on a server. The error output is cryptic and requires decoding. Exported reports will look excellent in one format and awful in another. Ineffective documentation from Tibco makes learning the software a challenge if you are not an explorer. Drillable datasets are impossible.

Reasons for choosing TIBCO Jaspersoft

It is an opensource product.

Charlton

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2022

Japersoft excellent for experience people that uses access

Jaspersoft is a good program and there can still be a big change in the customer support as well as the interface for beginners

Pros

I like the easy convert from data to the charts and the quality that it is done with is impeccable.

Cons

The fact that if you enter wrong information it is not easy to fix.

Reasons for switching to TIBCO Jaspersoft

Case I was looking for something smooth and fast

Tom

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2018

Best report layout designer on the market.

I have been using Jasper Studio (iReport) and Jasper Server for the past 8 years and have really enjoyed the capabilities it offers and the ease of use. Continuous improvements have been made to both the designer side (iReport/Jasper Studio) and the report delivery side JasperServer. I would definately recommend you checking them out.

Pros

* Easy to use * Flexible scenarios for report grouping * No cost level available for simple deployment and use * JasperServer has ability to automate delivery of reports.

Cons

* Hard to find support forums (as a community/free user) * Custom data connectors present a challenge I haven't overcome for automated delivery (SQL reports are easy)

Robert

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

3.5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4.5

March 2015

Jaspersoft - A well rounded contender in the BI market

Pros

We've been using Jaspersoft in lieu of SSRS for several years now. The software is updated regularly, new features being added with every release. Jaspersoft supports a large number of data sources, including MongoDB. The support for their product is top-notch. We receive responses to our cases within minutes and most issues are solved shortly thereafter. On issues that we were not able to resolve, it was escalated to be fixed/included in the next software update.

Cons

Being a JAVA application, it was a bit tricky to embed into our .NET application. There's supposed to be easy ways to integrate, but none of those worked with our custom authentication. Unless you are using the approved and documented authentication methods, integration will be quite a bit of work, including custom JAVA classes, etc.

Carlos Hugo Martin

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2022

Experience with TIBCO Jaspersoft

It is used to generate inventory and status reports for monitored devices.

Pros

The query generation tool is easy to use, allowing you to generate complicated queries. The ability to configure so that certain operations are performed on the server and not on the database.

Cons

The generation of reports and dashboards with the factory tools is very limited, having to develop the dashboards using the java programming language. Which can only connect to relational data sources like Oracle, MySQL, etc.

Nathan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

Best Open Source Reporting Framework

I've found their reporting solutions to be reliable and versatile, I've integrated Jaspersoft into many projects over the years.

Pros

Ability to achieve highly customized reporting solutions without having to make concessions. Jaspersoft provides open source solutions for reporting and hosting of reports. (Along with premium versions with advanced analytics.)

Cons

It can be a bit quirky, and integration of the Java programming language is somewhat un-intuitive. It also has a fairly steep learning curve for new comers.

Nives-Marie

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2021

TIBCO Jaspersoft Review

It's been mixed. Sometimes the built in functions do not work with the application I am publishing the report in. Learning java has been frustrating,

Pros

It is a pixel perfect report designing tool. It is very easy to design a descriptive report. I like the spreadsheet page layout.

Cons

The learning curve is steep. It's platform is java based which can take a non expert a longtime to figure out. Not a lot of chart options.

User Profile

anthony

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2018

Simple yet powerful reporting tool.

Jaspersoft help us to create reports which data source are come from different databases with ease and without worrying on display capabilities.

Pros

I like the most on this software is the ease of you. It is very easy to understand the user interface. With it you can easy understand the flow on how to use it especially when you have experience on using other reporting tool. Objects are dependable to display what you need. Filters is very flexible. it is also capable to connect to other many sql servers such as MSSQL, MySQL, posgres and many more as long you have a driver.

Cons

i don't like on this software is the looks. it is very corporate. This is because today's users are looking for fancy looking softwares.

User Profile

Román Josué

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2019

The best Reporting Tool for Java Developers

Sometimes the most difficult part to create custom reports using Jaspersoft Studio, is actually to write the query that will fetch the data. After that, building the report is mainly drag-n-drop, write some Java code, setup properties and parameters, and make your report ready.

Pros

This software is one of the best choices to create reports if you are a Java developer. All you need to know about is Java and SQL for the queries. It integrates with many databases, and I personally have used it with PostgreSQL and it works well. The reports you create from scratch are fully customizable, and can include the elements you need: labels, tables, images, ... I like a lot the subreport element, as it allows to create even more complex / nested reports, in which you usually follow a master-detail model. In addition, you can use the Java libraries to integrate Jasper reports into your Java application, either Desktop or Web, this will enable

Cons

Some features or properties are not too intuitive, which is understandable if we think this is a tool for developers. Even though, it would be nice to have a more intuitive GUI.

Monica

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2017

Good tool compared with other tools in the market

Pros

The report designer is very easy to use The tools provided in the GUI interface allows technicians to create in a fast way solutions end users analyze data.

Cons

In the version we use in our company (5.2) the Java usage is a con Dashboard Designer is very limited.

Waqas

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

Best Report generator of Java Application

It is one of the great report generating application used with Java Application. Though the learning curve is very difficult but once you master it then you will love this application.

Pros

JasperSoft is one thing that comes in mind when we require our Java application to export data in visualization and state of the art format. I provides lots of features you can think of. In short is ease the job of Java developers to create gorgeous reports. It also provide function to create template of the reports that can be filled by data obtain from the database on the fly by the Java Applications.

Cons

Well it's learning curve is very hard due to little documentation is present. Integration with the application is also difficult and if you integrate it than you can create many reports with minimum code.

Kate

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2018

Can be powerful, but still contains some sloppy bugs for being as old as it is

If you need a pixel perfect reporting engine, Jaspersoft is going to be one of your best options. For those kind of reports, there are a lot of great features and you can do a lot. That being said, I think they got lazy because they had significant market share and could charge an arm and a leg for it for a long time, and now there are other competing systems coming out that are slicker and cheaper. Hoping that Jaspersoft gets back into a growth phase and cleans up the system while making their prices more competitive.

Pros

Powerful features Easy to jump between editing design or XML source Preview within app works relatively well

Cons

Still finding sloppy bugs in designer years after release Pricing is extremely high compared to more recently launched systems that are definitely stealing market share Some long-requested features have gone unaddressed.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

Tibco review.

I like this software unique ability to dive deep with analytics.

Pros

I was impressed by the software ability to give me detailed analytics that were actually useful daily.The software takes a bit of time to grasp how to use it to full functionality. I was very impressed with the help and support menu on this software. I had no compatibility issues with this software.

Cons

I think the menu layout could be adjusted to improve user productivity.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2022

Decent capabilities, but not without problems

Pros

Jaspersoft is a decent tool that works well when it works. Ease of use and deployment capabilities are good. Can easily develop reports, templates and dashboards. Generally user friendly

Cons

OK tool, you get what you paid for. Product is not without issues and can be frustrating at times. Some functionalities are limited and issues take longer time to get fixed.

Monica

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2017

Great quality right out of the box!

I really enjoyed my chance to work with Jaspersoft. I thought the software was robust with lots of possibilities.

Pros

A quick get up and go reporting solution right out of the box. If you're turn around time is quick - this is a great option.

Cons

Once you start tinkering with parts of the package and removing features. Its very difficult to get back to square one.

User Profile

Arthur

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY