User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(30)

30

4 stars

(8)

8

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Good customer support Continuous improvement on the features "

  • "I like that even a non-technical person can use the product. And that the licensing model is perpetual!"

  • "1. Never crash 2. Easy to use and set up 3. Able to support complex reporting logics 4. Fairly fast 5. Good support "

  • Cons

  • "They documentation was not great although in recent months documentation has taken a full overhaul and is getting better each day."

  • "The outputs can differ between formats. This can be a little frustrating but, it can be resolved easily with a little manipulation of the template. "

  • "You need to tweak the template a lot to get a pixel-perfect output for both Word and PDF. "

Browse Windward Studios Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -12 of 38 results

January 2019

JC from Nature Conservancy of Canada

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Happy with Windward

NCC has been using Windward products as the reporting component of our land information system for over a decade now. It has always worked well for us, and we're planning to continue using it following a major system upgrade this coming year. Customer service and tech support has been great over the years, so we're pretty happy. Their developers have been responsive to requests from us regarding certain features, which is really nice.

Pros

Integration into Microsoft Word is great. Very easy connection to our corporate SQL Server databases, and report authoring is very intuitive. Our developers have no issues working with the engine component either.

Cons

We've had no real issues with the software suite since we acquired it.

Response from Windward Studios

Replied January 2019

Thank you for the nice words and we love having you as a customer. And you've had some great suggestions for us for features over the years.

September 2019

Clint from NCMIC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Meets all our needs

Pros

The Windward report designer has many features allowing our business analysts to create the report/document templates need for our business. Also, the Windward RESTful engine is very easy to implement and integrate with other systems. Windwards support is excellent as well.

Cons

Needs better support for JSON data sources.

Reasons for Choosing Windward Studios

It had everything we were looking for in a document generation solution.

Response from Windward Studios

Replied November 2019

Hi Clint; Thank you for the very nice review. On your request for additional support for JSON datasources, please email me (david@windward.net) to give me specifics. Or you can make suggestions at http://ideas.windwardstudios.com/ We're always working on improving the product. thanks - dave

June 2015

Gary from Electronic Learning Arts

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

June 2015

Combine hundreds of MS Word reports, tens of thousands of lines of code, a report in seconds!

We're thrilled to have found this product! We recently finished a large PHP project and used Windward Reports (Autotag and Javelin Rest Services) as the reporting engine. Much of those reports employed some very large and complex scenarios. "Many" logical branches (If, Case, Loops). What the reporting package didn't have, we were able to create and add in the form of our own C# custom functions to fill the gap to handle everything from JSON Arrays to specialized functions to manage complex English linguistics. The ability to create a live report (WYSIWYG) right within Word, use styles and native MS Graphs lets Windward reports really shine through! You'll love it! While we built our reports upon one data source (MySQL), the package itself easily handles dozens of data types to import and work with. The speed at which we are seeing these reports generate is also worth noting. Extremely fast considering the number of iterations for the number of calculations. Autotag (the report designer add-in) also allows for variables to easily get passed into the reports and lets you create PODS to share variables and data you've used between users and designers. The real magic though is their fantastic support team backed by some A1 developers. What we didn't understand, Windward always explained to us and if something didn't work in the product, support made sure we had a work around or the product itself was able to perform at the required level. If you're looking for a reporting solution that backs onto Microsoft Office, can be built in as a service to run independently or from a user workstation (Autotag), I highly recommend you check out Windward Reports before investing time in other products! Of course, every rose has a few thorns and Autotag is without exception. We did find a few things! 1. Expect a learning curve. Debugging a report or figuring out why a report might not run can be challenging as your reports grow in complexity. 2. Graphs do not always appear as they should when output into PDF and other formats. However, Windward is addressing this now developing a new PDF engine to output with. 3. If you use a lot of complex formatting and styles, expect some challenges and minor nuances.

August 2016

Rob from Interface Clinical Services

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2016

A great piece of kit

I have been using Windward for nearly 2 years now and it has been the root cause of us being able to achieve what we set out to do. Needing to eradicate a number of repetitive Excel based reports, Autotag allowed us to build robust templates and improve our reporting ability and have greater control over our data.

Pros

I love the fact that it sits in Microsoft products so easily. I feel this helps reduce a lot of the burden of learning a new piece of software as you are halfway there through your knowledge of programmes such as Word and Excel.

Cons

Like most reporting software there are a few nuances that need to be understood to be able to work around them, but ultimately there are only a few of these and they generally aren't of a critical nature.

April 2019

Denis from UL LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Public Safety

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

The best Publishing tool

Great experience working with Winward. Very responsive team, They really care about your experience. Most of the time I am dealing with very complex situations and they never brushed me off. Great product, great support and I see that product is changing all the time to evolve to better and better version.

Pros

I like the ease of implementation to most applications on the market. It is very intuitive to use within well established Microsoft office Desktop applications like Word, Excel and Power Point. Most of the time Admin Users don't even need programming background to get started.

Cons

Like any other products bugs come up once in a while but Winward Customer Care team along with developers are doing superb job handling each situation with exemplary attitude.

Response from Windward Studios

Replied April 2019

Thank you very much for the wonderful review

January 2019

Christopher from Financial Apps

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Awesome Service for Report Generation

The experience has been excellent! Support is superb!

Pros

This service is easy to use. I have worked with windward for nearly 2 years now and each version gets better. They update nearly every 2 weeks and the integration with Word and Excel makes it easy to create reports with some advanced Microsoft Word features such as Charts.

Cons

They documentation was not great although in recent months documentation has taken a full overhaul and is getting better each day.

December 2019

Bert from Primark Stores Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Very useful tool to create business documents

Creation of complex business documents, from various database datasets.

Pros

Full features of Word with rich set of rendering features, especially on variable sized, multidimensional arrays.

Cons

Initially the online documentation was somewhat difficult to navigate

Reasons for Choosing Windward Studios

Rich features, JSON based Rest interface, on premise model, licence without volume restrictions. And not to forget, excellent support.

January 2019

Xen from MNF Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Awesome Product

Implementing Windward to manage our invoicing and customer communications is a breath of fresh air! Unlike XSL templates, anybody can easily create and update templates using the Report Designer. It is a piece of cake – it didn’t require me technical knowledge or even a formal training… just applied simple logic and it was like something I’ve been doing for years! As a portfolio lead and business analyst, I’ve seen quite a lot of applications/tools that end up making the business adjust to satisfy how the application works. But not Windward, it is an application that adjusts to work for the business!

Pros

I like that even a non-technical person can use the product. And that the licensing model is perpetual!

Cons

Having the Report Designer integrated with MS Office is a PRO. However, it is also a CON because of MS Office's limited design capabilities.

Response from Windward Studios

Replied January 2019

Thank you for your incredibly nice words. And I agree, using Office as the design tool has both large advantages and some disadvantages.

November 2019

Ruben from Digital Marketing

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Great tools to manage documents

Pros

I've been using windward studios for over 7 months now. i was having problem on how to edit my documents and customize it, however with winward studios i've been able to do my job in a very effective way. it also helps me create templates easily.

Cons

N/a i didn't find anything in particular that i did not like, beside a bit more tools on templates creation, like pictures, backgrounds, and formats

February 2020

HALEH from AC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Windward Studios

I use this tool (Auto tag) weekly to design reports and have different outputs such as *.docx, *.xlxs, ...

Pros

This is a powerful tool to design and generate a word, excel, pdf, ... reports and connecting to different data sources such as JSON, XML, SQL,...

Cons

Totally I haven't found any negative point with this tool which has stopped me working as I can generate different reports based on my data

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Enabling Technology making document generation easy

Pros

1. The ease and speed of the design of our document and report templates. Directly from our Office (Word, Excel, Powerpoint), we have our analysts designing the templates. 2. Linking to numerous data sources and enabling of ODATA querying. 3. Wrappped as a webservice can be used by any 3rd party system in your organisation to become your universal document and report generation system. 4. Bring reporting capabilities to legacy and new systems.

Cons

Documentation could be updated for even more improved guidance in more complex templating and integration projects

Response from Windward Studios

Replied February 2019

Thank you for the nice review. And we are working to improve the documentation even more - there's (always) a lot more we can do with it.

January 2019

Robert from Cotiviti

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Windward document generation

The purchase of the software was straight forward. Software and licenses were easy to install. Windward software is as advertised. Support is great. Windward recommended a professional services vendor that delivered as well as the Windward product. I strongly recommend Windward as a document generation solution.

Pros

Windward design studio has put the ability to develop new documents in the hands of operations, and frees engineering resources. The engine delivers output as promised. We have not seen the engine struggle to produce everything sent that way. The support is great. We encountered our barcode was custom and needed Windward support. They responded quickly, worked through the issue and after a few attempts solved the issue, quickly.

Cons

Support was responsive but encountered a barcode issue that required multiple attempts to solve. It is a reality of software, but is the only con I could provide.

February 2019

Suresh from Regalix Inc

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

A powerful tool for automating the doc generation.

We use the Java engine to generate docs (PDF & Word) through a web application, and it's quick and straightforward to implement. Overall it's a great tool to create automated reports for web applications.

Pros

Good customer support Continuous improvement on the features

Cons

You need to tweak the template a lot to get a pixel-perfect output for both Word and PDF.

Response from Windward Studios

Replied November 2019

Hi Suresh; Thank you for your very nice review. I understand your desire to get pixel-perfect output easier. Unfortunately on that we're all at the mercy of Adobe Acrobat & Microsoft Word. thanks - dave

March 2019

Ed from Otis Elevator Co

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

AutoTag templates -

Superior service. Originally, the engine server failed to generate document output for our AutoTag templates. Windward analyzed and found that an exception was being thrown: "please see 'v16 RD exception received.txt'." They resolved the issue quickly with a patch and later added the fix to an updated formal version of the engine. The support team member helping me was very helpful and courteous. I have found the tag tree very helpful since it allows me to copy and paste code from other tags. I can then make some quick modifications to that code to suit the tag I am currently working on.

Pros

The tag tree is very helpful for making quick modifications to the coding. The wizard is very handy in creating code for the tags.

Cons

More complex coding is sometimes easier to modify manually, then view in the wizard.

Response from Windward Studios

Replied November 2019

Ed - thank you for the very nice review. And I agree, our support team rocks. I'm very proud of them.

June 2015

Will from Personalis, Inc

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

June 2015

Powerful and smart reporting system

I've worked with a number of different report tools. Nothing I've seen comes close to Windward. I'm only bummed I didn't find them 2 years ago. I make complex report outputs that need to pack in a lot of data, and communicate complex results graphically. My biggest issues with other systems are overflow, brittleness, and overall template hell. With Windward, I'm no longer getting pages with large empty patches. Editing in Word, I get to leverage a ton of power that's built into Word. Not every permutation you can think of in Word works properly, but so much of it does, that you can pretty much do any graphic layout. Word makes styling tables and whatnot a breeze. And you can leverage things like font/paragraph styles, which is really great. It's super easy, intutive, and flexible. Bottom line for me - in 5 days, I was able to generate a beautifully branded template with full-bleeds, nested tables and loops, and fairly complex conditionals. This new template was a substantial improvement on my previous report templates using other systems. And I did it in a fraction of the time. That's the product, but the customer support also deserves some serious kudos. Whenever I've had any issue, they have been super on top of it. Their response has been immediate and they're actively developing to meet my stated needs. When the issue has been tough, they've offered work-arounds until their team gets the issue fixed. I'd highly recommend Windward.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Template design made easy

Windward studios is an interesting product if you want to flexible yet sound template making without the help of IT. The support team reacts very quickly although they can not always accommodate.

Pros

Windward offers the possibility to let skilled users create and maintain templates for their organization without the help of IT, unless new data input is needed.

Cons

We had some issues with license pricing being far less attractive in an otherwise beneficial technical setup, without change in number of users.

Response from Windward Studios

Replied January 2019

Thank you for the very nice review. On your comment about the pricing, we have now switched to subscription pricing which both delivers a lower price point and allows you to easily adjust your pricing month to month to match your needs. Please let me know if this does not address this issue for you.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Review for Windward Java Engine

We need to create commercial quality operation reports. Windward is a perfect fit. It reduced our report development time a lot. The support is very good.

Pros

1. Never crash 2. Easy to use and set up 3. Able to support complex reporting logics 4. Fairly fast 5. Good support

Cons

1. Need to use Word/Excel to build the report, no web based report builder for Java Engine. It can be a good thing, as most of our reports are in PDF, Word or Excel format. 2. It doesn't have built-in JSON format, we have report data that are in JSON format.

Response from Windward Studios

Replied February 2019

Thank you for your very nice review. On the JSON issue we do support JSON datasources (added about 3 years ago). Please upgrade to version 15 or later to see this functionality. Again, thank you for the very nice review.

May 2016

Rob from ICS

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

May 2016

Winward Autotag - a great piece of kit.

Pros

The product is great. Much easier to grasp than other reporting tools as it embeds itself with Microsoft programs such as Excel and Word. The support network provided by the vendor is second to none. They have regular training videos and webinars to keep you updated and ensure your maximising the product as much as possible.

Cons

The outputs can differ between formats. This can be a little frustrating but, it can be resolved easily with a little manipulation of the template.

June 2016

Ben from Active Documents Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2016

Powerful reporting to improve your products or services in a snap

We replaced a self built reporting system in our SaaS product with the Windward solution, when we were struggling to find another solution which could do the same. The engine integrated with our data sources in a snap, and AutoTag allowed us to replicate the reports quickly. We now have a hybrid system, which sometimes has to use our older reporting engine (for very specialised reports) but uses the Windward engine as much as possible.

Pros

Integration was quick and painless, and the ease of building new templates with Autotag has really taken the pain out of rolling out new reports for customers.

Cons

Nothing really, the costs can look high, but talk to Windward to see what other options there are. And it really is worth the money.

November 2017

Erik from theTradeDesk

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Powerful product which is constantly evolving and growing.

Pros

Powerful tooling, with easy to use wizards to help you select and preview your data. Hides the complexity of data selection and document generation.

January 2019

Tomáš from Unicorn

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Templates

Pros

The easy of use and marking engine for templates.

Cons

The missing libraries for processing of pictures from cameras.

Response from Windward Studios

Replied January 2019

Thank you for the very nice review. Can you please tell us more specifically about what you mean by "processing of pictures from cameras?" We do have fill bitmap support so I assume this is something in addition to that? Please post your suggestion about this (and anything else) at http://ideas.windward.net. thanks - dave

February 2016

Brent from FPX, LLC

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

February 2016

Great product, beautiful output, fabulous support

Windward AutoTag is one of several tools that we use to produce data-driven proposal output for a wide range of customers. While other tools may be more powerful in their near-limitless extensibility through incredibly complex JavaScript, AutoTag is the only solution that produces meaningfully useable native Office output. While other tools build documents that from a technical standpoint can be opened in Word or Excel but are difficult bordering on impossible for users to modify because they're built as a series of nested tables (Word) or spreadsheets pretending to be page layouts, AutoTag lets us build templates that output documents that truly behave like native Office documents. If you add or remove text in Word, the content reflows like a real Word document (because it IS a real Word document). If you change values in Excel, totals and discounts (for example) recalculate automatically. It isn't the solution to every reporting need, but it's a valuable addition to our toolbox and stands alone when native Office output is required.

May 2016

Gerald from PSC Group

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

May 2016

Perfect Tool for creating templates and documents

Pros

If someone can use Word, they can use AutoTag. It is very easy to build a templates and use them right away. The vendor has a fantastic support team. They answer simple questions for beginners and they strive to understand your particular business problems and needs for your more complex

Cons

There aren't detailed error messages coming out of the RESTful engine. When a report isn't generated for any reason, the same generic error message is returned.

November 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Windward is a great product to use

Pros

It is the best reporting tool I have ever seen. One of the best tools they have is the document generation tool that allow to generate you report out of any data source you have and in any format you want. In addition to there autotag template design which is really awesome.

Cons

They need better marketing experience to show more what they really have, They have many features and tools they need to show more about it. In addition from time to time they need to make changes to there website so The user when accessing it he can tell that they are doing more new stuff.

November 2019

Adam from Self Employed

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Beautiful Documents made Easy

We love the simplicity of making templates in Word, and if we need to make changes its as simple as opening, editing, and re-saving the template. The hardest part is the configuration but it only has to happen once and it was easy to find help. We produce a lot of dynamic content that has strict brand guidelines, other tools did not respect the layout, colors, and image quality. This is the first tool we found that can meet all our needs.

Pros

I think the designer is the strongest part of Windward. Template creation is easy and I can re-use my styles and branding from other Microsoft Word documents. Its nice that I don't have to relearn a new tool and when Ive gotten stuck the customer support is very responsive.

Cons

It takes a little bit of technical skill to get the database configured.

May 2016

Amit from PSC Group

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

May 2016

Great for quickly developing tagged templates

Pros

Windward AutoTag is easy to use, especially the tag wizard to quickly tag content in your documents from various data sources, XML, SQL, etc... The vendor is great and always on their toes when it comes to replying back with open tickets or updated releases.

Cons

Vendor, no issues. Product, some inconsistencies in PDF vs Word output, just need to do some extra formatting on the templates to get them to look similar when outputted.

November 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Enterprise Reporting

Quick to use but powerful and customizable. Easy to integrate with a nice API.

Pros

Really great people behind the scenes who are willing to help and knowledgable about how to best utilize the software.

October 2014

Paul from Mid Atlantic Captial Group

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

October 2014

Best Customer Service Ever

We are not a large client to Windward, but they always make us feel that way. Every time we have a question or suggestion, we get an impressively timely response. Even things that other vendors might charge us for, if Windward feels it would improve the product, they roll it into the next release. Their service greatly exceeds that of vendors we pay seven figures a year. From a product respective, it is exactly what they advertise. A Microsoft Office design environment for enterprise data. And the server engine makes Crystal Reports look like a dinosaur from a speed perspective. The major downside I've seen has been in the server pricing which only has a "per core" option. This has caused us to have to engineer our datacenter / redundancy design differently than if we did not have this constraint.

October 2014

Anil from CodeObjects

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

October 2014

Powerful form rendering engine

CodeObjects is a cloud based SaaS solution for insurance process management that goes beyond the core of policy, billing, and claims to include all the ancillary functions. One of the ancillary services that we provide is document generation and we use Windward for this. Before windward we were using an Adobe based document rendering engine. Switching to windward helped us with the following: - Reduced the time it takes to create document templates by about 80% - Reduced the time it takes to configure complex form generation rules by more than 80% - On an average our customers were able to learn the windward tool by about 70% faster compared to the Adobe product. Overall it provided a great advantage to us in this competitive Landscape.

February 2016

Martyn from Interface Clinical Services

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

February 2016

Great reporting software once you figure out the niggles

Been using the Autotag software for nearly a year and a half now. Of which we use it extensively for fixed reporting. It isn't necessarily an easy to learn reporting system as it is pretty much bound by the restrictions in Microsoft Office. Furthermore there are a number of niggles which you need to learn to work-around to use it. However once you have done you will be using a reliable, fast and powerful piece of software for all your fixed reporting needs. Not to mention the great support which Windward offers!

March 2015

Jim from High Line Corporation

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

March 2015

Excellent Product for Technical Report Writers

We've been using Windward Reports for well over 5 years now as the main reports tool within our Personality product. As the development piece (AutoTag) is a plug-in for Microsoft Office tools it makes formatting simpler if you know how to do so in Word/Excel already. We've created some incredibly complicated reports with this tool and our technical people find it easy to use but we don't find it as an end user reporting tool. Highly recommend it for companies looking for a new tool to create their company reports in.

October 2014

Jason from White Clarke Group

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

October 2014

Fast, fast report / PDF generation for production environments

I'll start with the only con, it isn't cheap - but then cost is relative - we compared with other similarly scalable products and then, well, it looked much more favourable! If you need to generate multi-page PDF documents in fractions of a second based on simply tagged word documents and some data to fill in the blanks then these are the people to talk to. Windward Reports does much more - but even for this it is worth the cost. Support is great, the team is very friendly too.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

A great way to answer clients' customization requests without (almost) any dev work

Pros

Before windward, we had to constantly say no to customization because of lack of man power / time in our development team. Now we can delegate this work to our service team.

Cons

I wish they had a version of the server engine which could be installed on Ubuntu and work with NodeJS. We instead used a tomcat server + Java

Response from Windward Studios

Replied January 2019

Thank you for your very nice review. On your desire for a version of the server that runs on Ubuntu, please suggest that at http://ideas.windward.net. If it gets enough votes, we'll implement it.

October 2014

David from PSiDEO SA

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

October 2014

PSiDEO's review of Windward Solutions

PSiDEO has been successfully collaborating with Windward Solutions for many years as well as using Windward's products in its own solution with satisfaction for the same period. Additionally to performing products, Windward has also supported PSiDEO's activities by being open and flexible with its business models and negotiation schemes to ensure both companies business operations and needs are met in a collaborative and efficient way.

July 2015

Jim from PCI

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2015

Great solution for integrating word templates into business process

We use Windward to in a business process that generates correspondence by merging data in various forms with Word templates. We have hundreds of templates and generate thousands of documents. It is all automated. It works great when you need to do this as part of a greater business process. I would highly recommend this product.

May 2015

Ted from ButtonIntel

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2015

Easy to use, learning curve minimal.

In the set up we had a few questions on some very detailed modifications and the customer service was amazing!!!! It was very easy and turn around time on customer request was the best we have experienced.

October 2014

Monique from Interstate Service Group, Inc.

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

October 2014

Big Data Analytics

The AutoTag add-in our analytics team uses for reporting has significantly improved our analysis productivity and helped us to view metrics which aid management in making better data-driven decisions.

September 2019

Denis from Fundrock

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

User friendly and good 3rd party integration

I like using Windward. I like the drag and drop features, it connects easily to our database and integrates well with 3rd part apps like Office.

Pros

It integrates well with Office and it is beginner friendly to understand how the logic works.

Cons

I would look more documentation for intermediate to advanced users.

Response from Windward Studios

Replied November 2019

Denis - thank you for the nice review. On the documentation issue, please take a look at https://ohana.windwardstudios.com/ We completely rewrote the documentation. And we are constantly adding more advanced use cases. On the drag & drop - I agree, that is a super useful feature.