User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(194)

194

4 stars

(93)

93

3 stars

(7)

7

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(2)

2

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse XLSTAT Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 297 results

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Parag Jyoti from Department of Geology, COTTON UNIVERSITY

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

XLSTAT: the workhorse for data science

XLSTAT can be best described as the software for data science from beginner to advanced levels that can be operated without the need of technical guidance. Sampling, data preparation, exploratory data analysis to building prediction models with state-of-the-art machine learning algorithms generally encompasses a set of requirements: a clear objective, a software with all standard features and algorithms, intuition, technical guidance, and probably, also experience. With XLSTAT, the first one in the list alone is sufficient enough to successfully accomplish the goal; the rest is taken care of by XLSTAT. In the academic milieu, we regularly face the task of explaining students of how statistical models are built from a set of data and their specific applications accompanied by demonstrations in the classroom. This includes even spatial and time-series data. This tutoring approach goes a long way in encouraging students towards a dissertation project involving data-driven modelling. In this situation, undergraduates who only have some basic operational knowledge about Excel spreadsheets are easily drawn into using a data science platform which runs on the already familiar Excel and transforms their data in spreadsheets into powerful and efficient models. This is where XLSTAT becomes the default platform for data science projects. In short, XLSTAT is a workhorse for data scientists with a few simple mouse clicks and visualizing the response in every step as stunning graphics.

Pros

XLSTAT can process even spatial data as raster to CSV converted files and enables to prepare the data just like in Excel. Data preparation is the single tedious task which consumes most of the time in a data science project. XLSTAT has all standard features and algorithms of machine learning software which can be operated by editing simple spreadsheets.

Cons

Not suitable for processing a big dataset with 10 million rows such as high-resolution remote sensing images

Response from Addinsoft

Replied January 2019

Many thanks for your detailed review! It is now possible to load data files which exceed the standard Excel worksheet size. This import method loads data into the computer¿s memory rather than the worksheet. This option is currently available for regression, normality tests and data management tasks but we plan to integrate it to more features.

April 2021

Giovanna from Givaudan

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Food Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

The Best Statistical Software to Sensory & Consumer Insights

Pros

I am a heavy user of XLStat since 2013, and I really like how easy it is to manage and run the analysis once all the essential functions are part of excel, and the statistical tests are easily shown in a very well-organized menu. I usually conduct preference mappings, PCA, cluster analysis, ANOVAs (with all post hoc options), Penalty Analysis, Qui-square, and Panel Check analysis. There are many tutorials, database examples, and videos on YouTube that make possible any new analysis that I may need to access. I feel confident and safe with the software to generate business results and glad for the attention and agility of the sales and technical teams.

Cons

Nothing, I really love XLStat and it is excellent!

January 2019

Marcus from Mississippi State University

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2019

XLSTAT works well for Windows, but not Macs

I thought this software was a great idea, and it works really well on a Windows machine. I tried it several times (several versions) on a Mac, and was always disappointed. The support staff acknowledges that the performance on a Mac is less than on a PC

Pros

It is easy (and powerful) to interface this package with Excel on a Windows machine, but it's disappointingly slow (and crashes) on a Mac.

Cons

This software doesn't work well on a Mac.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Francis from Nephrology Consultancy

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

XLSTAT Basic - A Very Useful Inexpensive Statistical Tool

I use XLSTAT for data analysis I encounter with my clinical research and review work.

Pros

I like its integration with Excel and its multiple array of functions at an affordable price. I have been using JMP and StatView in the past. The former has gotten to be very expensive and the latter is no longer available. For a user requiring basic to moderate statistical tools this program is excellent. It does reasonable charting using Excel's capabilities. I have not tried the charting modules as they are not essential to what I do.

Cons

It took me a while to get used to it. The manual is not easy to navigate. I have looked at some tutorials and found them helpful. Perhaps setting an Introductory course to "Become a proficient XLSTAT user" lets say in 12-24 sessions could be helpful.

Response from Addinsoft

Replied January 2019

Many thanks for your review! We organise a 3-Day training on XLSTAT-Base every spring and autumn. You can check out the dates at https://www.xlstat.com/en/training. Statistics webinar recordings can be also found at https://help.xlstat.com/customer/en/portal/articles/2761028-statistics-webinar-recordings?b_id=9202. Regards, the XLSTAT Team.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Jean-François from Museum National d'Histoire Naturelle

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

enjoy wit XLSTAT

XLSTAT is the only statistical tool I use for all my publications in the frame of quantittive ecology

Pros

Being involved in statistics for more than 50 years, I never found so easy to compute statistical tests and draw figures (more espcially for multivariate statistics) with a statistical program. The main advantage of XLSTAT is that it adds a lot of tools to Excel, now also some procesures from R (still to be extended to ade4, for instance). I recommand it, not only for students, but also to all scientists.

Cons

The price is a little too high, please make an effort to decrease it

December 2020

Tiffany from Memorial University of Newfoundland

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Great Software!

The overall experience has been great. The entire research team that I work with has adapted XLSTAT into our everyday work lives. It has allowed us to gather very sufficient and strong statistic analysis of data.

Pros

This software is very user friendly, the UI is simple and intuitive. There is no shortage of statistical analysis available through this software, and many options per test that ensure you can run the test according to your statistical parameters. Technical support is great. As a premium user, (support does depend on the package purchased) I generally get response within the same day, which is amazing! I would imagine that for less expensive packages it would only be a couple days wait time.

Cons

I have had issues with updating this software. I usually need to uninstall completely and reinstall the new version instead of simply updating. However, this is only a 5 minute process even still.

March 2021

User Profile Picture

Muneeb from Northwest A&F University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

all you can analyze

Pros

It is very accurate and very reliable for researchers.

Cons

sometimes crashes with too much data. Huge datasets require to go to R.

Response from Addinsoft

Replied April 2021

Thank you very much for your review. You can certainly call any R function using our XLSTAT-R and XLSTAT-R Notebook tools. This is a user-friendly interface which allows you to call R scripts directly within Excel or using XLSTAT dialog boxes. Available in all XLSTAT solutions as well as the Trial version. The XLSTAT team

May 2021

Age Impulse from Age Impulse

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Xlstat un outil complet, de qualité avec un service client à l'écoute

Modélisation, Prédiction, Life sciences, comparer des méthodes avec les régressions de Passing et Bablok ou de Bland et Altman

Pros

Après avoir utilisé l'outil en tant que doctorante, je l'ai tout de suite recommandé à l'entreprise qui a effectué ma première embauche. En effet, en tant qu' Ingénieure en Recherche et Développement je trouve qu'XLSTAT est complet et surtout simple d'utilisation. Des traitements de données complexes sont à effectuer pour avoir des résultats de bonnes qualité

Cons

Je n'y trouve pas d'inconvénients en particulier car toutes les fonctionnalités que j'ai souhaité utiliser étaient disponibles et les tutoriels très complets en cas d'hésitation.

May 2021

Athira from IIT Palakkad

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

A good assistant for your statistical analysis

Easy and User friendly software simplify your works and help you in data management and visualization.

Pros

Xlstat is a great add in to excel. it is easy, user friendly and great tool for data analysis and visualization. It helped me a lot in time-series analysis during my masters.

Cons

I didn't find any difficulty with this software. Only thing I have noticed is its cost, for students its difficult to afford.

April 2021

Cécile Annie from Université de Yaoundé 1

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

XLSTAT est Génial

Pros

Une multitude d'analyses peuvent être effectuées avec XLSTAT, c'est un logiciel d'analyses statistiques extrêmement performant. Avec des données bien préparées et présentées, les résultats de l'analyse sont obtenus avec une ébauche d'interprétation; ce qui la rend facile à comprendre et à expliquer même pour les novices.

Cons

Il faut une formation préalable pour bien effectuer les analyses. Toutefois, grâce aux supports vidéo sur internet on y arrive graduellement.

Response from Addinsoft

Replied April 2021

Thank you very much for your review! The whole XLSTAT team thanks you

January 2019

Mauricio from Factulty of Medicine - National University of Mexico

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

I think I'm a satisfied user of XLSTAT

I have used XLSTAT for more than 5 years for data analysis in the field of health sciences (basic, clinical and epidemiological research) with good results. I have tried to recommend the use of XLSTAT to other colleagues, but the cost of licenses and the need to renew the support / update service every year is a major obstacle. I have needed assistance for XLSTAT use several times, and the response of the support team has always been promptly and in a satisfactory way. I think that thanks to the fact that we are already many users of XLSTAT and that it has been several years since its launch -with which the costs of the initial investments have already been amortized-, they could lower the costs of the licenses, in order to encourage users to keep using this useful software, as well as to attract new users to this growing community.

Pros

Being an extension of the excel interface facilitates its use and is relatively simple. The output formats of the results are easy to interpret and to be used in other applications.

Cons

For the same reason that it is a program that opens within another (add-in for Excel, Microsoft), any change in the operating system or in the Excel itself impacts the performance of XLSTAT. Unfortunately, in recent yeas this has happened very frequently, leaving out those who has not contracted the support/update service, since in some cases it is possible that XLSTAT stops working completely. There is a real dependence on the support/update service even for basic operation.

Response from Addinsoft

Replied March 2019

Thank you for your review. Indeed, as an Excel add-on XLSTAT depends on Microsoft Office. Therefore, we have to constantly develop and release new versions to ensure full compatibility with the most recent versions of Excel. This is why, when purchasing a perpetual license, we establish a maintenance contract valid for one year, renewable each year at a reduced rate.

August 2019

Celia from Sense Test

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

XLstat

Very positive experience, I start my deep statistical analysis with Xlstat and learn a lot.

Pros

I like the easiness and very intuitive interface. Clear tutorials on the website with important examples. It is a very complete tool for my daily activity. I will recommend always.

Cons

Sometimes the difficult in reinstall the old versions in other computers

Reasons for Choosing XLSTAT

Is user-friendly, and more intuitive.

May 2020

Wolfgang from Schmerzinstitut

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Research

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Functionality

1.0

May 2020

MAC Implementation

Using the software on a MAC seems to be a problem. If the software would run flawlessly it would be a perfect tool which I could recommend to my students and colleagues.

Pros

Good integration with EXCEL, nice result summeries, much less confusing versus SPSS.

Cons

MAC Book Pro CPU runs often on 100% evn when no calculation is beeing made. It blocks the MAC for several minutes. Error report like: "Variable is a constant" without any helpful information in the help manual how to solve the problem.

Reasons for Switching to XLSTAT

Output of XLSTAT very clear and simple.

Response from Addinsoft

Replied June 2020

Wolfgang, we are sorry for this inconvenience. We'd be happy to help you with the problem you have. Please contact us at support@xlstat.com Our support service will reply very quickly.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

XLSTAT for biotechnology research

I really took advantage for the features provided on the normal version and I will definitly will renew my supscription

Pros

I liked the easy the interface works, and the vast and powerful statistic tools on it. I used the normal version and has enough tools for research in biotechnology. When I tried the premium version I can use several techniques and I really considered to buy it.

Cons

The high price, and the economic version only last one year. I recommended that once your license ends you can continue some of the features integrated on that license and don't block you all access even the free trail.

Response from Addinsoft

Replied January 2019

Thank you for your review! After your license expires, XLSTAT converts to the Free limited version so you should be able to continue using some of its features. If this is not the case, please contact our technical support team at support@xlstat.com.

January 2019

Robert from IKMB

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Highly recommendable for all Excel users in science

Using it for a few years now and cant imagine using EXCEL without it.

Pros

XLSTAT provides basic functionality that is not available in MS EXCEL- most importantly non-parametric tests. Scientists have to understand that the majority of their data is not normally distributed, consequently the tests MS EXCEL contains are not sufficient. While EXCEL is a powerful and often underrated tool, its functionality is incomplete without XLSTAT. To my students I recommend to use at least the free XLSTAT basic version.

Cons

Unfortunately, there is still no compendium of all commands and the corresponding sytnax. E.g. if you dont want every result to be displayed on a new sheet, but rather in EXCEL style in a single cell, you need to use XLSTAT commands, such as "=XLSTAT_MannWhitney(array1,array2,a) - here, a stands for tails, but nobody knows what you have to enter… this is poor. I feel it cant be that hard to add a complete list of commands with syntax.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Bob from University of Gloucestershire

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Superb Customer Support

My research entails the exploration of the data generated by test subjects making high-speed visual judgements. As it has moved through upgrades I have taken benefit of the additional functionality added into the software by the XLSTAT team. Occasionally I have messed up the upgrade or spotted a problem and the support team have been just that - they have provided excellent support and with my ability to get things wrong that has been invaluable.

Pros

XLSTAT has a range of depth of functionality even in its Basic version which is outstanding and the fact that it sits happily on top of EXCEL makes it a winner as far as I am concerned. Statistics has always been lurking in my academic and professional background but just using and experimenting with XLSTAT features on my data sets has allowed me to explore a range of possibilities that would have sent me nuts if using SPSS. An exceptional piece of software and a brilliant learning and research tool.

Cons

Nothing - it has enhanced my research no end.

March 2019

Gabrielle from Northern Arizona University

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Research

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Robust Statistical Package - but not first choice.

Awesome for researchers who are non-R users.

Pros

I am in natural science research, which means I am always looking into finding efficient data analysis options. I came across XLSTAT during my Masters. It was easy to add into Excel ( my main data management software), which allowed me to carry out multivariate analysis and do so with ease. As an excel add-in, this was ideal because it became part of the interface without me having to use different applications. This software definitely enhanced my data analysis at the time.

Cons

I had the free trial - it kept crashing and definitely had some bugs. This meant that I had to plan my data analysis accordingly, which was somewhat limiting for my research. Second to this, I occasionally had some user issues with basic functions like data selections. The advertisements and notices to upgrade were really irritating and deterred me from wanting to do so. Lastly, as I continue into my PhD, I will not be buying XLSTAT because there are more powerful tools out there that are available for free - specifically R. If XLSTAT had the same capabilities but with a more user friendly approach - I would definitely not hesitate in purchasing it.

Response from Addinsoft

Replied March 2019

Thank you for your review. You can certainly call any R function using our XLSTAT-R and XLSTAT-RNotebook tools. This is a user-friendly interface which allows you to call R scripts directly within Excel or using XLSTAT dialog boxes. Available in all XLSTAT solutions as well as the Trial version.

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

The Collaboration of XLSTAT & Excel

After using XLSTAT, I realized it is useful for studying to help understanding of statistics, math, and data in deep. Recommending using XLSTAT if you want to start with Finance.

Pros

Since I started studying at the University with Commerce - Finance major, I have had to use XLSTAT for the Statistics course. The function of XLSTAT was amazing. It could install with Excel and use to calculate with many features associated with Excel. It helped my course became easier than at the beginning. It analyzed and calculated data, statistics, and numbers. Learning more different tools and skills from XLSTAT that could apply to practice and the real world.

Cons

It was hard at the beginning to go through all the instructions to understand how it works and installs it into Excel. It takes time but it is helpful for our works and studies.

January 2019

Martin from Slovak University of Agriculture

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Technical assistence for solving of the troubleshooting of the programme

I use XLSTAT for doing the research at the field of the economic & social science. I use the SW in developing models for revealing the causal relations between the variables and statistical evaluations of samples & data.

Pros

Until recently i really appreciated the functionality and wide array of topics of the programme and its direct relation with excel.

Cons

Ongoing technical hurdles with the programme, which until now have not been solved (after renewing the license), despite of my pleading.

Response from Addinsoft

Replied January 2019

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that technical problems persist. Please send an email at support@xlstat.com and your request will be treated in priority by our technical support team.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Sensory Evaluation in XLSTAT

Our group is responsible for a large number of sensory tests. XLSTAT makes it easy to turn these studies around quickly with the tables and charts it produces.

Pros

XLSTAT makes multivariate analysis a snap. I have been a SAS user since 1982 and use it for some analysis where I need the detailed diagnostics. However, I try to utilize statistics packages that are easier to use when possible which makes it much simpler to instruct more junior scientists how to perform advanced analysis and XLSTAT is really good for this. I make it a practice to check any new statistical package against SAS results and XLSTAT passes with flying colors.

Cons

The only problem I have encountered with XLSTAT is having EXCEL crash n occasion, though this may have more to do with how our IT department has configured our computers.

June 2018

Humberto from Universidad de Oriente

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Excellent experience

Share research results for the constant updating of my knowledge in the statistical area specifically in the processing of multivariate data

Pros

Its interface is very friendly and meets most of the requirements I need for the processing of statistical data

Cons

Actually almost everything I like would not take anything away as they constantly update them and incorporate new statistical tools for data processing.

Response from Addinsoft

Replied June 2018

Thank you very much for your excellent review Humberto C., the whole XLSTAT team thanks you

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Statistics integrated into microsoft excel

I am using XLSTAT for generating PCA plots and differential gene expression analysis for medical research. I found it easy and quick to perform the analysis. Integration with MS Excel and R software were the biggest selling points of the software. However, MS excel interaction may be a limitation with respect to the user friendly interaction with the software.

Pros

The statistical functions are integrated into Microsoft excel is the best feature of this software. It makes it easy to arrange the columns and rows and prepare your data for analysis. Integration with R software is a strength as well.

Cons

The statistical functions are not very intuitive and user friendly to use. The integration with MS Excel is both the software`s strength as well as a weakness.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

XLSTAT The Data analysis Friendly Add in!!!

Having to manually do certain tasks. With XLSTAT the computer does the job so easily. So far the experience has been awesome!!

Pros

The fact that it allows me to customize my excel functions. It allows me to add add-ins that make data handling very much easier. For example i have managed to put in an add in that allows me to merge given excel files without having to individually copy and paste. Once i have my add in added to the xlstat folder i can just click and achieve my stack in one go. Then also i have managed to include another add in that is very useful for classification of my data after i have run my analysis. Simply by just copying the addin into the XLSTAT folder.

Cons

So far it has not disappointed me. I wish to see more of its usefulness

January 2019

siti musliha from universiti sultan zainal abidin

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

THE BEST EVER XLSTAT

XLSTAT help me solving analysis for my PHD thesis that concentrated in talent identification in sports. Machine learning is the best part i found in XLSTAT. Since the application of machine learning in sports is very new, XLSTAT make me easier to run the data and interpret it. Thanks XLSTAT!

Pros

XLSTAT has provided fully solution for my PHD thesis especially in pre-processing procedure, data analysis and visually describe my result beautifully. Besides, proper explanation in each output is really helpful so that my interpretation in writing became easier. In addition, i can found the tutorial for every analysis i needed easily.

Cons

i try very hard to find out the part that i like least about this software. but i cant found it. Sorry.

January 2019

FRANCISCO from GEOMAR

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

XLSTAT in my diary work

My experience is very pleasant. XLSTAT allows me to perform very simple works (graphs like the box diagram) to a little more complicated analysis (RDA analysis) all from the familiarity of Microsoft EXCEL.

Pros

What I like about XLSTAT is its integration with EXCEL, which makes it very easy and intuitive to use.

Cons

Now, the level of compartmentalization in the modules. It would be easier to have a full version with all the analysis options

January 2019

Sophie from INSERM

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Very useful and powerful software in excel environment

I have become used to solve statistical issues for colleagues because it is easy to use and powerful but does not require a special language

Pros

Easy to use but powerful It allows to perform excel analyses/sorting in parallel to statistical analyses. Lots of options are available in the different analysis tools Different packages are available so one does not have to pay for analyses that one will never use. Lots of tutorials are available

Cons

It does not allow to draw nice graphs of the results such as graphpad prism. This is a shame as most of my colleagues in biomedical research prefer Prism just because of these graphs that can be modified and edited easily More tutorials could be added for more complex analyses (such as paired samples eg)

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

A must in the field

I do clinical trials and lab data analysis (and quality control) and am happy with the overall performance. Cut and paste to the reports is easy. Fine tool.

Pros

First, it is not based on an enormous statistical package and the articulation with Excel is most of the time excellent. Second it is very reliable and easy to use (at least if you are a little bit familiar with the field). Third, it does many things and some versions are very complete, enough to satisfy in most cases all your needs. Fourth, you'll find very specialised analysis or tests beside the common ones. Fifth, the value for money is excellent and the accompanying doc is extensive.

Cons

Well, some repetitive analysis are boring, but it does the job.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Nicolas from Hospital

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

XLSTAT is the only statistical plug-in that you need

I have used XLSTAT for biomedical data analysis running various statistiscal tests (descriptive stats, parametric and non-parametric tests, correlation) and using the gene expression and heat map plug-in. I was pleased with ease of use of the software, the intuitive interface and the extensive tutorials that are one clic away. I recommend this software to anyone looking for a powerfull statistical software without the need to learn programming (R or SAS are more versatile) or to download expensive statistical suite like SPSS, STATA or JMP.

Pros

- ease of use - Microsoft Excel plug-in - powerfull build-in features (with various software version according to needs/field) - nice results layout

Cons

- subscription-based software - academic discount is good vs. other products, but overall high price for students

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

XLSTAT

I use XLSTAT Sensory, and I really enjoy it. The software is user-friendly and easy to use, and there is a plethora of resources for all users.

Pros

I really like how user-friendly it is, and how there is a full explanation of how to use each function. I often look to the XLSTAT website for help and it is a great resource.

Cons

The only comment I have is that it would be nice to be able to communicate with a help desk type resource through a chat box- however this feature may already exist and I just have not yet discovered it yet.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Lauren from self employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Great for analysis of sensory science data

It has allowed me to analyse many sets of data for various clients: preference mapping, multiple factor analysis, principal component analysis, sensory panel performance...

Pros

I like the various options for analysis that are not easily available elsewhere - particularly for sensory science applications. Once you get used to the different menus it's fairly easy to use. The tutorials and video support are mostly very clear. The customer service is excellent with very rapid replies and solutions.

Cons

It can be difficult to use the first few times but the tutorials help explain most things and the excellent customer service helps with much of the rest. The plots can be tricky to share and require some editing before use.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Probably easiest statistical tool to use

Pros

I like how the software allows me to do my data analysis with ease, as compared to STATA, which requires a great deal of practice and knowledge in order to use it effectively.

Cons

Some features are of relatively insignificant importance. Also, the display of outputs does not look really attractive to me.

January 2019

Dylan from Simplot

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Food Production

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Great product

Pros

As a system admin its a great app for us. Never fails, no hassle for the users and no service calls.

Cons

The activation process causes a slight annoyance if a machine dies or a user leaves before we get to deactivate I haven't seen an easy way to deactivate the license but its a small gripe.

January 2019

Heidi from Sense of Nambitha Pty Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Use of Xlstats for Consumer Research data analyses

We were looking for an easy to learn and use software that would help us analyses our research data, this software really does this.

Pros

1.Easy of use and easy to train new staff on the software 2.Excellent help files and video 3. Fully automated graphs produced

Cons

There is nothing wrong with the software

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Reza from ARTIC- Hôpital Européen Georges Pompidou

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Impressive software with friendly interface and accurate results

Very good experience for many years, use it on a daily basis.

Pros

I run all the analysis with XLStat and always compared with SAS and R: XLStat is very accurate and reliable for researchers.

Cons

Crashes with too many data. Huge datasets like omics data may require to go to R or SAS.

January 2019

Suzanne from Arizona State Museum

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

XLSTAT has changed my research

I continue to renew my subscription to XLSTAT. I have never needed another stats program since I started using XLSTAT. I have recommended it to many colleagues and students.

Pros

I love that XLSTAT works with Excel spreadsheets. I love the tech support. I love all of the options. When there isn't a specific statistic or graphing option available, I have been able to request it and tech has always provided my request with the new update of the software.

Cons

At times, it crashes a lot when I am running large datasets. Also, the help manual does not always have answers to the questions that I am asking. Finally, it is a bit pricey for students.

January 2019

Briana from Government

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Writing and Editing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Excellent, User Friendly

Overall, I have truly enjoyed using XLSTAT. It has streamlined my research and made my life much easier. I worry about whether I can afford it when I am no longer a student and when I need to expand what statistics I need.

Pros

I rave endlessly about the usability of XLSTAT and the variety of statistics available. I've dealt with countless statistical softwares and they can be incredibly frustrating to use with a very high learning curve. XLSTAT is the exact opposite of that and you don't have to convert any of your data into obscure formats to use it! All formats easily import into and out of excel making XLSTAT the ideal program.

Cons

The only cons are the price tag and the inability to customize what statistics you need most without buying additional premium packages. It is extremely expensive if you aren't a student or affiliated with an organization who sponsors the payment for this program.

Response from Addinsoft

Replied March 2019

Thank you for your review! Indeed, the prices change if you are no longer a student. However,our rates still remain very competitive compared to other softwares. Please do not hesitate to contact us at https://www.xlstat.com/en/contact if you need any information on the prices of the different solutions.

January 2019

Mery from Department of Chemistry

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

XLSTAT is really a user friendly statistical software

I use often XLSTAT software to understand and solve environmental problems. It is essential in my work to treat large multivariate dataset and extract the desired useful information.

Pros

This software is cheap and user friendly. Moreover it works as add-on for Excel and it exploits all its potentials. The figures obtained by this software are easily manageable and transferable in different type of files (doc, pdf, ppt, etc.). The tutorials are clear and exhaustive.

Cons

Unfortunately this software does not allow to perform very important chemometric treatments like, for example, SIMCA and bootstrap validation methods.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Great features, easy to use

We can run all the complex statistical analyses very easily. A must have in our department!

Pros

This software is powerful, yet very easy to use. The user interface is very intuitive and user friendly. The "research" toolbar is also a great feature to quickly find the desired test. The online help centre and tutorials are also a great source of knowledge.

Cons

Nothing really. If I had to pick something though, I would say that it is a shame that tools cannot be bought individually. Sometimes you just need one tool (i.e. Penalty analysis), but you need to buy the full package/module (i.e. the Sensory).

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2019

Great tool for basic business analytics

The software has allowed me to do some really useful analysis for my company while also helping me to visualize my findings for important meetings. I like the software and would recommend it if you don't code and want a relatively simple and inexpensive Excel-based solution.

Pros

I appreciate having access to a number of basic and advanced analytical methods for business analytics. If you don't code, having an easy-to-use Excel-based tool allows you to both analyze and interpret your data.

Cons

It can be temperamental. If not used in a very particular sequence, the software can freeze and either need to be restarted or unlocked by pressing the F5 key. The software is also limited by high-dimensional data. Running a regression with more than a set number of variables may not be possible.

January 2019

Julia from Indiana University

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Great for medical research

XLSTAT is easy to use and understand for people who are looking to perform more advanced statistics. In addition to the software, any question I have had has been easily answered on the XLSTAT website. I have used this program for about 2 years now and plan to continue renewing this program in the future.

Pros

This software has a wide range of statistical tests. Any statistical need I have, I am able to answer my question using XLSTAT. Other programs are very limited in the tests that are offered. I have not had this problem with XLSTAT.

Cons

Very rarely, the software will freeze, and I will lose unsaved work entirely.

January 2019

Ralph from Cabrillo Marine Aquarium

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Great, But Could Always Be Better

Pros

Interface with excel makes it very practical and easy to use. Access to support is great. General statistical package is very inclusive.

Cons

I would like the ability to do ANOSIM and SIMPER. These are the popular/standard multivariate programs used in ecological studies. Presently folks are stuck with primer-e which is very expensive and made for Windows. When I upgraded to a more recent version of XLSTAT, I thought I would have access to these. PERMANOVA (adonis) is not the same. Please consider adding these through you R connection (e.g. vegan).

January 2019

Chenguang from Technical University of Munich

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

A review on XLSTAT from a PhD candidate

Pros

The ease of use; the instruction/manual on the website is very detailed; the technical support response me via email very quickly; the functions meet most of my daily statistical analysis requirement. Especially the power functions in sensory analysis module.

Cons

I hope XLSTAT could develop more multivariate analysis functions, e.g. OPLS-DA, currently, only PLS-DA is available. In addition, it is also necessary to add cross-validation and permutation test of (O)PLS-DA. It would be great to offer more features regarding the plotting function.

January 2019

John from Innospec Performance Chemicals

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Thank You !!!

We added this as an additional piece to our great testing abilities. The statistical format, and the XLSTAT reference, is a good one to point out in the field. It's well known out there so no need to explain some hocus-pocus statistical nightmare to customers.

Pros

Software reminds me of some of the functionality of the older SAS software. As I am used to that sort of thing... for me it's very cool. The environment is friendly looking, EXCEL Look, so it's not too scary and that is good for some of our newer users. Don't think I have used the full spectrum of statistical functions, however, for what we require it's very nice. Output looks very impressive on our reports/presentations. The links to the 'help' notes and examples are great features.

Cons

I would have liked to see an easier way to make it available on more machines in our laboratories/offices. I have it on one machine but I need some help in adding that across groups.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Easy-to-Use Statistical Analysis Software

Pros

While XLSTAT has relatively fewer features than do other statistical analysis softwares in the market, it is very easy to use and can quickly meet your not-so-complicated data analysis. This is what I value most at the software.

Cons

As I mentioned above, it does not have a lot of features. So this should probably be a minus. Also, I sometimes encounter some technical problems with exporting outputs, where outputs are simply nothing other than a blank sheet!

Response from Addinsoft

Replied March 2019

Thank you for your review! You may have look at our Premium solution which includes more than 200 features, ranging from essential statistical tools to more advanced such as time series analysis, survival analysis, marketing tools, simulations, designs of experiments and much more.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Eva from home

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Great product

The only business problem solving was for my class completion.

Pros

User friendly and easy to manage my problems solving for class

Cons

Needs more updated information for different functions areas

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

The best Statistical software I have ever used, and believe me, I have used a lot.

We use XLSTAT to analyse biological data. The software is readily available, easy to install, easy to use and easy to master. It really is the perfect software for the analyses we do at our research group.

Pros

The software is user-friendly, results are easy to interpret, it's an all-in-one software. The fact that it can be integrated with excel removes the need to import data, which is freaking awesome. The other software that I have used require extensive training beforehand, however, with XLStat, the support from the team and webinars were enough to navigate the software like a pro.

Cons

Nothing really. I honestly love XLSTAT.

Response from Addinsoft

Replied January 2019

Many thanks for your review from the XLSTAT team!

January 2019

Vishal from University of Illinois

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

XLSTAT a must have software for researchers

Pros

I like the software integration into Microsoft office tools. This really eases out the way you maintain your data, analyze and create the graphs. XLSTAT been really useful for me to create the interactive graphs in excel itself and modify them the way I want with no further issues or limitations.

Cons

I would like to see an option to directly export the publication quality graphs out of XLSTAT with an option to change the dpi and image size. An inclusion of error bars will make this software even more powerful.

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Iguniwari from World Bank Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Review of XLSTAT - How it saved my PhD research

I used XLSTAT in undertaking the preliminary analysis required for hydrological studies, including, (i) missing data imputation, (ii) trend and homogeneity test, (iii) outlier test and (iv) autocorrelation. The processess where easy and step-wise, compared to other tools that required mastering of coding languaged and data processing in particular formats. It saved me a great deal of time in my Thesis development.

Pros

Ease of use, interpretation of results and accompanying tutorial for easy development of capacity.

Cons

Which the cost can be reduced for early-career researchers in developing countries.

January 2019

Gary from Louisiana State University

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Very useful stats tool.

Over all, very good.

Pros

XLSTAT is easy and largely intuitive to use. The manual and examples are quite helpful. I have found it easy to work through numerous analyses with few glitches or problems. In addition, the computation time is reasonable.

Cons

I was hoping for more utility with the PERMANOVA analysis, but it doesn't work well, at least in a Mac environment. I'm also not a big fan of the graphics, and unfortunately the 3-d package is available only for Windows.

January 2019

Nsikak from Covenant University

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Excellent research companion

I have made XLStat the research companion for my research, and always recommend it to my graduate students for their research.

Pros

The ease of data input and computation is unmatched.

Cons

I do not have any clear reservations about this software.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 297 reviews