All XLSTAT Reviews

1-25 of 382 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Parag Jyoti

Verified reviewer

Research, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

XLSTAT: the workhorse for data science

XLSTAT can be best described as the software for data science from beginner to advanced levels that can be operated without the need of technical guidance. Sampling, data preparation, exploratory data analysis to building prediction models with state-of-the-art machine learning algorithms generally encompasses a set of requirements: a clear objective, a software with all standard features and algorithms, intuition, technical guidance, and probably, also experience. With XLSTAT, the first one in the list alone is sufficient enough to successfully accomplish the goal; the rest is taken care of by XLSTAT. In the academic milieu, we regularly face the task of explaining students of how statistical models are built from a set of data and their specific applications accompanied by demonstrations in the classroom. This includes even spatial and time-series data. This tutoring approach goes a long way in encouraging students towards a dissertation project involving data-driven modelling. In this situation, undergraduates who only have some basic operational knowledge about Excel spreadsheets are easily drawn into using a data science platform which runs on the already familiar Excel and transforms their data in spreadsheets into powerful and efficient models. This is where XLSTAT becomes the default platform for data science projects. In short, XLSTAT is a workhorse for data scientists with a few simple mouse clicks and visualizing the response in every step as stunning graphics.

PROS

XLSTAT can process even spatial data as raster to CSV converted files and enables to prepare the data just like in Excel. Data preparation is the single tedious task which consumes most of the time in a data science project. XLSTAT has all standard features and algorithms of machine learning software which can be operated by editing simple spreadsheets.

CONS

Not suitable for processing a big dataset with 10 million rows such as high-resolution remote sensing images

Vendor Response

Many thanks for your detailed review! It is now possible to load data files which exceed the standard Excel worksheet size. This import method loads data into the computer¿s memory rather than the worksheet. This option is currently available for regression, normality tests and data management tasks but we plan to integrate it to more features.

Replied January 2019

Greg

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

XLStat Review

XLStat is a viable alternative to other established programs that have a less than stellar reputation for support.

PROS

Easy of use, ease of installation, and amazing tech support

CONS

Help menus are good but could be improved.

Reason for choosing XLSTAT

Less expensive and provided better options in an education context.

Reasons for switching to XLSTAT

I needed a viable program that offered support for students.

Brittany

Food & Beverages, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed January 2019

Good features, poor reliability

I used the sensory package for a sensory analysis class I was taking. Compared to other programs available, XLSTAT makes things easier (compared to R, for example) with less of a learning curve. A lot of the test options are easy to find and get started with. However, some subtleties are difficult to find or change for certain tests. In the end, XLSTAT is easier to learn than other programs, but constantly crashes, making it unreliable.

PROS

Ease of access for many commonly used tests.

CONS

Glitchy, spontaneous crashes; some features are "clunky" or instructions are not intuitive

Douglas

Research, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Prices need to be lowered.

PROS

Multivariate analysis and practicality in data analysis.

CONS

The price needs to be lowered or for old customers to have more discounts.

Iceta

Farming, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

XLSTAT the easiest way to do some statistics for your company

Every statistical analysis is done with this software in my company !

PROS

Easy to use, the customer service is really fast, and the price is very attractive

CONS

The errors sent by the computer of the software do not help much sometimes on the error of our analysis.

Reason for choosing XLSTAT

Because of the simplicity of the software compared to R-Studio

Fatin

Higher Education, 501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

User friendly

I really like using XLSTAT it makes my work easy compared to other software that I've used before.

PROS

This software is equipped with step by step tutorial on running your statistical analysis which really help if you are a beginner. The data visualization is also fantastic and can be done with only several clicks.

CONS

Although the subscription plan of XLSTAT is much lower compared to other statistical software, it is still a bit expensive to researchers/educators from developing countries.

Reasons for switching to XLSTAT

The problem with data insertion, software features, ability to edit graphs and the layout of the results

Celia

Research, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

XlSTAT on the daily work

I'm woking with consumer and sensory data and it solve me a lot of problems on my daily work tasks.

PROS

ITs easiness to work and the tools diversity.

CONS

Some menus like text analysis. It works good for english text but for other languages no.

Reason for choosing XLSTAT

IT's easier to work

Min Jeong

Food & Beverages, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

easy to use

Overall, it is perfect software. I'm willing to use this software after I graduate.

PROS

when ANOVA is needed to test, I've never seen such an easy software as Xlstat. Also, since we can adjust the figure using excel, it is so convenient software.

CONS

it might be helpful if there's some software for metabolomics tools. There are only few of options available, but i was wondering if we can use the volcano plot.

Valeria

Environmental Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Easy, quick, convenient and sufficient, also saves time!

Best part of my job, as it saves time for me on a busy day and I can manage the workload or heap of work as I know with stats analysis I am covered and then I can worry about other things,.

PROS

Graph illustrations, error bars, and descriptive stats.And, ANOVA is the best function ever, everything you need is there!

CONS

So far have not encountered any hardships as the support and IT team or assistance is always there to assist one.

Vesselina

Research, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

XLSTAT recommendation

PROS

Effective and easy work; various options for data analysis

CONS

While I appreciate all the software's features, I would prefer an option for obtaining a multi-year license.

Mauricio

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

I think I'm a satisfied user of XLSTAT

I have used XLSTAT for more than 5 years for data analysis in the field of health sciences (basic, clinical and epidemiological research) with good results. I have tried to recommend the use of XLSTAT to other colleagues, but the cost of licenses and the need to renew the support / update service every year is a major obstacle. I have needed assistance for XLSTAT use several times, and the response of the support team has always been promptly and in a satisfactory way. I think that thanks to the fact that we are already many users of XLSTAT and that it has been several years since its launch -with which the costs of the initial investments have already been amortized-, they could lower the costs of the licenses, in order to encourage users to keep using this useful software, as well as to attract new users to this growing community.

PROS

Being an extension of the excel interface facilitates its use and is relatively simple. The output formats of the results are easy to interpret and to be used in other applications.

CONS

For the same reason that it is a program that opens within another (add-in for Excel, Microsoft), any change in the operating system or in the Excel itself impacts the performance of XLSTAT. Unfortunately, in recent yeas this has happened very frequently, leaving out those who has not contracted the support/update service, since in some cases it is possible that XLSTAT stops working completely. There is a real dependence on the support/update service even for basic operation.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review. Indeed, as an Excel add-on XLSTAT depends on Microsoft Office. Therefore, we have to constantly develop and release new versions to ensure full compatibility with the most recent versions of Excel. This is why, when purchasing a perpetual license, we establish a maintenance contract valid for one year, renewable each year at a reduced rate.

Replied March 2019

Betsy

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

XLSTAT is Outstanding and EFFECTIVE

PROS

Too much to note here. Probably that it is so inexpensive that I have never had any pushback when purchasing one of a dozen or so licenses I have had over the years.

CONS

I don't feel like answering this and I can't find the code easily enough to change the rule, so I'll just say having to answer this question.

Reasons for switching to XLSTAT

$300 or $3,000 - pretty easy battle there.

Emmanuel Oladeji

Food Production, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

xlstat application to scientific application

I am using the software to analyze scientific data. My overall experience is good but solving the problem of big data will make better.

PROS

Modelling Data feature, very easy to use.

CONS

I have it very difficult to analyze big data using XLSTAT.

Reason for choosing XLSTAT

Cheap, fast and user friendly

Reasons for switching to XLSTAT

Very expensive and not user friendly

Mark

Biotechnology, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

XLSTAT gets me through the day!

Sample size and power estimates are easy in XLSTAT. The exercise compels non-statisticians to pay attention to the statistical considerations at the earliest stages of clinical trial design and protocol development.

PROS

Sample size and power estimates are easy in XLSTAT. The exercise compels non-statisticians to pay attention to the statistical considerations at the earliest stages of clinical trial design and protocol development.

CONS

Add a calculator for Cohen's d and Cohen's h so that I can easily estimate standardized effect size for experimental agents from published articles. For Cohen's d, provide the option of entering either SD or SE and N, because one or the other, but not both, are reported in journal articles.

Reason for choosing XLSTAT

Although sample size and power calculations are the main use, XLSTAT allows me to explore and analyze datasets, and use statistical tests that are unavailable in MSExcel.

Wolfgang

Research, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2020

MAC Implementation

Using the software on a MAC seems to be a problem. If the software would run flawlessly it would be a perfect tool which I could recommend to my students and colleagues.

PROS

Good integration with EXCEL, nice result summeries, much less confusing versus SPSS.

CONS

MAC Book Pro CPU runs often on 100% evn when no calculation is beeing made. It blocks the MAC for several minutes. Error report like: "Variable is a constant" without any helpful information in the help manual how to solve the problem.

Reasons for switching to XLSTAT

Output of XLSTAT very clear and simple.

Vendor Response

Wolfgang, we are sorry for this inconvenience. We'd be happy to help you with the problem you have. Please contact us at support@xlstat.com Our support service will reply very quickly.

Replied June 2020

Martin

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Technical assistence for solving of the troubleshooting of the programme

I use XLSTAT for doing the research at the field of the economic & social science. I use the SW in developing models for revealing the causal relations between the variables and statistical evaluations of samples & data.

PROS

Until recently i really appreciated the functionality and wide array of topics of the programme and its direct relation with excel.

CONS

Ongoing technical hurdles with the programme, which until now have not been solved (after renewing the license), despite of my pleading.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that technical problems persist. Please send an email at support@xlstat.com and your request will be treated in priority by our technical support team.

Replied January 2019

Hussam

Medical Practice, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

XLSTAT is Excellent!

Excellent

PROS

It is very user friendly. Anyone with basic understanuser-friendlyding of statistics can use it.

CONS

Visualization can be improved to help display the results of statistical analysis. I also like that in some parts, an explanation is provided to help interpret the results of the analysis. I encourage doing this more and if possible to all inferential statistics.

Reasons for switching to XLSTAT

XLStat is easier to use.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE