User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(4,244)

4,244

4 stars

(3,355)

3,355

3 stars

(826)

826

2 stars

(120)

120

1 stars

(56)

56

  • Pros

  • "Great Product, very easy to use and very quick to learn. Can do multiple things through this software."

  • "This software is awesome simple to use and beyond easy to teach others to use. Our company loves it so much "

  • "The iphone app was nice and easy to use I enjoyed some of the interface design"

  • Cons

  • "Maybe the apps could be a bit better designed and also have some integrations like "What is the status of this" as Basecamp has, but for the rest, it is awesome. "

  • "It wasn't the easiest to use without some time spent learning it. It also isn't the most beautiful UI. However, it is definitely efficient."

  • "It can be cumbersome, which is a reasonable tradeoff considering how flexible it is. If you're not using it for software development it can also be a bit overcomplicated."

Browse Jira Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 8301 results

July 2018

Sreekumar from BUYBAA SOLUTIONS AND ECOMMERCE LLP

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

The best way to synchronise requirements, roadmap, agile roadmap, scrum, reporting and much more in a single solution

Pros

I have been working in information technology field for more than twelve years. For a long period, I was a big fan of Bugzilla. However in my previous company, when we have migrated to Atlassian Jira, it was a very difference experience. When the entire organization moved more in to agile, the product also changed priorities around understanding customers' problems. The migration was tough as we were not in a position to ignore the requirements from our users. The import functionality helped us a lot and thanks to our engineering team to put huge effort in doing research on Jira. I love the way information is organized across, projects, boards with decent agile reporting capabilities. Being in product management, I have enjoyed the flow of user stories, backlog review, estimation, roadmap and Atlassian Jira's functionality to customize workflow. The transparency which Jira brings to the product management team is a big plus. What we are working on, what is going to come next and when, what is in the pipeline are a big relief to any customer facing product development organization. Another beauty is the categorization of user stories and epics, which helps the product owners to start filtration of issues at the entry level itself. The knowledge handover from product team to other teams collaborating for product success ( Eg:- CS, Marketing) became seamless with Jira. The dashboards are great for monitoring purpose. Finding Jira, an effective and comprehensive solution to ensure that every action in a user story is accounted and traceable across the product life cycle without loosing the goal of delivering iterative and incremental value to customers, as fast as possible.

Cons

I like learning new things. Jira require good learning and is not a very light tool. The user interface act a bit confusing sometime. Setup, project/workflow creation, user management etc. are tough tasks and require brains from Dev ops with good knowledge of agile practices.

January 2020

Usman from EloTouch

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Useful to track software project progress

Overall, I have had a good experience with JIRA. It makes software development easier certainly. But it is by no means a perfect tool. Every team I have worked with that does software development has used this tool, so it is a popular choice for software projects.

Pros

This tool lets you create projects, and subdivide them into smaller projects. This allows for separation of development tasks from product and project management. It has messaging/comments in each ticket that is created, where people can be tagged and notified when their input is required. This makes for collaborative solutions. Informational data objects such as documents, images, zip files, videos can be attached to each ticket to add to the task description. JIRA also has Bitbucket integration, so any software development such as code branches or pull requests are automatically attached to the corresponding ticket if the ticket number is mentioned in the commit message. Pull requests are also automatically linked to the ticket so it is very easy to find corresponding code for a task/ticket.

Cons

JIRA does it's job. The cloud version of the tool can be slow sometimes. The tool does not put dates on every change or addition to a ticket. For example, if you keep making changes to an issue description over time, it does not tag each change with a timestamp or which user made the change . This makes it difficult to track when an addition to the issue description was made, or who made it. Also, in some cases of very large features, the description box can get very convoluted and hard to read. Same goes for message/comment sections where too many people are commenting and asking questions, it gets very difficult to sift through all the noise.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Entry level to management - tool for everyone

Overall Jira is a nice tool which helps to create and track issues and also agile boards are really helpful. I would recommend it to everyone because for basic level you need not to guide anyone (how to use it etc.) entry level people can use it themselves.

Pros

I pretty much like everything about this software. Its UI, features are great. The fields while logging any issue/user story are extensive and self explanatory and there is tool tip too if you wanna know about the details of any field. For eg: you can format the description field like colours bold etc. this really helps while logging defects. This way its easy to understand the user stories too. Secondly, attaching screenshots is quite easy. You can simply copy paste which saves time. There option of upload too but saving files and uploading is on effective utilisation of time I think. You can copy paste the screenshot directly. Thirdly, issue search is good. History is maintained very well. You can search and filters tickets with any field and moreover there is advanced search where you can write a query (its very simple) to search issues. You can add delete columns and can also download an excel or cvs file. This results helped us in creating reports which were in turn send to the higher managements. Another feature which I found very useful is agile birds and dashboards. Its simple to move tickets on agile board and track progress.The sprints are maintained well.Dashboards has a lot of gadgets which you can customise and add. Its give a very clear picture of the whole project and all team members. You can create multiple dashboards.It gives the latest summary of the project which saves a lot of time and effort when you need to share the report with the management.

Cons

There at not much to write in cons section. But I think starting to work with Jira, using bas features, is quite simple but if you wanna use variety of features like advance ones, you need to explore them. Some features are not direct and you need to do the R&D. Like creating dashboards look simple but adding filters and complex gadgets takes time and will be quite difficult to implement in first go.

May 2018

Yaroslav from The American College of Greece

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

More then you will ever need / Tool to handle thousands of problems one by one

Pros

*Functionality The best feature of Jira is a huge number of integrations, massive amount of possibilities, statistics and tricks that you can you inside the platform. There is an integrated tracking, kanbans, lists, sorting direct contact with chat (stride) and feature to work with git right from every task or issue. * New UI Recently Jira got an update, a new chat (Stride, instead of Hipchat) and a new UI for the tasks. I can see that company goes in the right direction to adopt all of it's powers. *Customization Jira, being confusing at first hides a lot of it's features inside most of which you can change and adjust to your business needs. It is a great solution for a big corporation with dozens of departments, hundreds of employees and thousands of issues and tasks daily. However, in all other cases Jira can be a nightmare at this point.

Cons

*Slow Out off all CRM platforms and tools to handle tasks and issues Jira is the slowest by far. Is it initial problem or has it appeared after adopting so many technologies under one roof - I can't be sure. But one thing is clear - Jira is awfully slow. *To many features Yes, it is a disadvantage when it comes to Jira. When a new customer comes to Jira I believe, he is most definitely confused. Especially, if he/she tried ANYTHING else before. Of course, I see that company does a lot to make it easier and more comfortable, but as it is now, Jira is a terrible solution for fast adoption, scary for a small or middle sized team and most definitely not a great choice for personal use. Jira is Huge. If you are huge - great features, customizing, different apps and plugins will help you solve a lot with Jira. If you are just starting or don't have that many tasks and issues and people in your company - you should probable check other options.

January 2020

Senthilkumar from IBM

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Effective Agile business project board

We used JIRA for agile development and testing projects for tracking status. Multiple scrum and agile masters used JIRA, resulted effective outcomes, tracking in a easy way and watch out without a delivery miss. Creating sub tasks within task lead to deep level of monitoring work items, given confident to manage the task items. We have used user stories, back logs, mini sprints, daily hour stand up calls which given target throughput accurately. Used JIRA in the form of test cases, defects, change request types, requirement analysis - all forms of software test and development life cycle along with multiple development tools like dotnet, GitHub, etc.,

Pros

Couple of features below that I really admired the most-Mobile version of Jira board, colorful status tracking with accurate percentage, effective customized workflow modal, quick peek view of tasks in dashboard, search option for any filter, quick catch for getting user by using '@', easy query handling and filters, easier mode of cloning tasks, linking items and referencing, multiple built in report types like bar chart, pie charts, etc., Kanban & Agile flexi boards, vast of plugin support like git-hub, git bucket, zendesk, etc., From the admin point - easy configuration of development tools dotnet, configuring mailing options, deep level view of audit logs, watch list for issues.Couple of features below that I really admired the most-Mobile version of Jira board, colorful status tracking with accurate percentage, effective customized workflow modal, quick peek view of tasks in dashboard, search option for any filter, quick catch for getting user by using '@', easy query handling and filters, easier mode of cloning tasks, linking items and referencing, multiple built in report types like bar chart, pie charts, etc., Kanban & Agile flexi boards, vast of plugin support like git-hub, git bucket, zendesk, etc., From the admin point - easy configuration of development tools dotnet, configuring mailing options, deep level view of audit logs, watch list for issues.

Cons

Sometimes I feel, the JIRA GUI is clumsy to have many things in dashboard, other than that I do not see any specific negative factors to hate JIRA, and it depends on how we use the features for projects.

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Compared to other market tools, it has more features, user friendly, less license cost model

December 2019

bennar from Capgemini

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Jira for test management

As a QA in the team, our project is fully customised for tests, and Jira with Xray so far provides the best test management tool in the market. It makes life way easier, it is better than Zephyr and of course much better than excel sheets, which saves time, energy and money for us as testers and for the project.

Pros

The organisation of tests and the variety of the issue types for testing (Features ,Test cases, Test sets, Test executions, Test plan, bug...) The ability to track the executions of tests and bugs Great adaptability with Gherkin and Cucumber It goes perfectly with ISTQB standards for testing Perfect for both Scrum and Kanban users The great boards and views provided by Jira (followup dashboards, sprint board, ..) The ability to add Xray or Zephir or whatever test plugin that suits you

Cons

Jira users must receive a training before starting to use the software since it can be a little complex to use the software for the first time For testers you cannot execute the same test case more than once in the same test execution It gets more and more difficult when end to end testing multiple applications at the same time

December 2019

Julian from Information Technology & Services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Go Agile with JIRA!

Jira is very easy to use from the user perspective, as well as operating it from the Admin perspective. Overall I personally suggest this product, although its price not being very welcoming, it's definitely worth the money! If you're a very large organization you definitely will want to try Jira.

Pros

Jira is a very good platform for organizing your team and projects using Agile/Scrum or Agile/Kanban. Whichever option you will choose you are covered! With its extensible platform through plugins you will never get tired of Jira. The installation is pretty much straightforward and with latest versions you can also make it HA, for instance on AWS, quite easily.

Cons

Although the product is very mature, feels also like a big giant monolith although its plugin architecture. Also, plugins are too much expensive for just simple features. There should be much control from the Atlassian Marketplace, which should follow more an App Store logic like Apple's or Google's one.

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Jira is way more famous and most of the Agile coaches working in the field, are already aware on how to use and customize it, based to their needs.

November 2019

Prathamesh from Patagonia

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Sophisticated and efficient project management tool

Overall, Jira is a highly agile and effective for multi tasking and multi team project management. For large scale Agile Scrum, Kanban, and Hybrid Agile, Jira is the perfect fit for efficient project management. Training and good support can lead to better understnding for Jira users. A project can be managed efficiently using Jira.

Pros

Jira is an excellent project management tool. It is the best option for bug tracking and agile project management. Multiple teams can use Jira at the same time leading to a lot of integrations. Teams including product strategy, product design, and product development can collaborate together leading to improvement in project. Each team can track their individual milestones, deliverables, and tasks using the filter and search functionality. If you are using an Agile Scrum framework, your daily standup meetings are well supported by using custom views. You can create your own custom views to discuss only the relevant issues of the tasks. This feature is time saving and efficient for a daily ten minutes standup. The other new features that make Jira a must buy are due dates notification, assignment allocation, labels, assigning priority levels to tasks, and developing epic links which displays the user story and the project progress. For Kanban framework users, Jira provides Kanban boards where you can turn on and off features that you want to display or hide from other members. Jira provides high flexibility with features that maintain the tasks and deliverable backlogs and these features are applicable to different frameworks. Sprint planning, releasing sprint, and organizing history is very organized in Jira. It can be used for any type of project management. Customer support is available for Jira, which is very helpful.

Cons

Jira has deficiencies on micro level. For a particular task, if you are maintaining the workflow, it is hard to customize the columns. Jira always displays all columns on a single view, more like a static view without scrolling. This leads to columns being smaller in width with smaller font size text, which sometimes become hard to read. Unavailability of scrolling leads to column being fit in a single screen browser. Pricing is also an issue. Jira is expensive and fits very well in the budget of big enterprises, but many for small sized firms it is a hard pass. Also, limited user excess to Jira makes it challenging to most small size companies. There is a trade off between ease of use and efficiencies. User has to have good knowledge of Jira navigation and customization before he can make the project management efficient. Customer support is helpful, but comes at an added price. Overall, customization, ease of use, and price are the biggest drawback for Jira right now.

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Most team members had a good knowledge about Jira. We do large scale projects and Jira has been proven as the best solution for them. My previous experience with Jira was excellent and I personally preferred Jira over other tools.

February 2020

Marty from PTI

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Very Customizable

Over all its good and easy to use. Takes a bit of work to tailor it to a process and work out ways to enforce people to enter all the data. It's nice and gets the job done.

Pros

The Price is great and its easy to use. Another great thing is that it all works in a browser and we can set every field up in a way to work with our company practices and policies. Its also good with integrating into other solutions that we have set up.

Cons

The way it attaches files to the reports. It's just a jumbled mess of files with no dates and history with out looking into the case and doing some research on the issue. Also the file limit is so small that we can't even attach the files we want half the time and have to point to some other data storage location.

Reasons for Choosing Jira

It's what we were already using and the features were not different to cause a change. Also the updated interface was good for us in the company.

February 2020

Nicholas from Bread Finance

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Overfeatured for our purpose

I am a big believer in product management software like Jira and strongly recommend using something like it, but I think there are other, simpler products that accomplish the same thing with better usability.

Pros

Jira has a ton of advanced functionality around custom fields, linking different objects, analyzing historical trends that has occasionally been useful. It also integrates pretty seamlessly with other Atlassian products.

Cons

I think the product is over-featured for our purposes which can get in the way of its core functionality. We are a small team and use it very simply, and it's not the most intuitive or straightforward UX for that. I have used other tools that I think are a better fit.

January 2020

Nitin from Tara consultancy Limited America

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Test Management Tool

Overall one of the best Free products in industries. Many companies are moving from ALM to JIRA due to cost and effective wider coverage.

Pros

1. Its freeware 2. Easy to customizable 3. Perfect replacement of HP-ALM 4. Easy to MAnage Defects, requirements/User Stories and TestCases

Cons

1. We can search test execution based on Date=today , we need to use > or < operators (its defect in JIRA) 2. Defects cant link to multiple EPIC. 3. No direct RTM report 4. Person must know queries to use the JIRA 5. Performance Issue

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Easy to use Cost Customizable Test Management tool

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Makes most sense for software projects and products.

JIRA is our source of truth for what is inside, coming out and ready to go next in, in our engineering pipeline is. There isn't a better tool out there even for miles and once you are cosy with JIRA, you can't really make do with another tool.

Pros

1) Releases/Versions: Releases allow us to work in parallel on multiple efforts with the same team. 2) Parallel Sprints: Same as releases, we are a lean team and we have to work on Product features and polish/bug fixes simultaneously. 3) Custom Filters: I like these the most!

Cons

They have taken out small pieces of functionality and made them separate products. These products are now paid and for those small pieces of functionality, you have to make extra purchases. e.g. Pages

December 2019

Clemens from Staffbase

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Can't imagine a better way to manage agile projects

The amount of parameters can take some getting used to, especially if you interact with different squads who track differently: but therein lies its power. Jira is always "just" as good as the people who create the processes there.

Pros

The fact that tasks can be organized and prioritized in every structure you can think of. I have used Jira in three companies and it was perfectly tailorable to all their processes. Also, it interacts beautifully with the other Atlassian-tools. Lock-In is no argument because you just don't go with Atlassian if you dislike the way their stuff works.

Cons

Jira really has to stay ahead of its way less expensive competitors (FLOSS-guys, think Redmine). Also, it's weird how I saw some of our partners manage processes with Trello without having too much restrictions: that kind of made me think. You can probably go with a cheaper solution, but for us being a 250+ software-company, Jira was worth the price.

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Because we ended up using both.

December 2019

David from Artlytical Media

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

JIRA is necessary to my everyday organization

I use it every day to organize my workflow. Without it, I would be pretty lost.

Pros

Agile development on Jira is great. The ecosystem allows me to track my time, organize my issues into tasks and sub-tasks, track when things get done, create estimates, and organize complex projects into smaller and simpler pieces.

Cons

The support is pretty ignorant of their user-base on several issues and refuse to add new features that would benefit hundreds, if not thousands. It can be very tricky to migrate, update, or set up. Plugins can cost money and it can add up, though I haven't spent too much at all for the value I received.

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Trello is a watered-down version of JIRA and doesn't feature all of the technical details that JIRA has.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

Indispensable application...but setup is not for the non-tech savvy

When our internal IT Help Desk went down, we were in a bind. We needed something that we could get up and running with very little trouble and start getting help tickets going again. Despite there being a negative view of JIRA due to previous setup by non-technical users (who deemed it too complex); when the Help Desk was designed and implemented by the IT Team, there was very little talk of complication and more talk of how much better things were than the previous Help Desk. We did integrations with third-party collaboration tools and generated workflows and custom forms that made JIRA one of the best additions to our IT toolkit!

Pros

I love the quick and easy setup of JIRA spaces and it's integration with other Atlassian products. There are also a lot of third-party integrations to help fill-in the gaps.

Cons

JIRA is a beast. Plain and simple. Actually that's just it...it's not plain and simple. You have to have a good grasp of what you want from it to make sure you get what you really need. It is not friendly for the non-technical user looking to create a workspace.

November 2019

Kevin from Ladbrokes

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Gambling & Casinos

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

JIRA is the best project planning and organising tool

My overall experience is excellent, it is the best project management software ever. I have used a few others in the past, but there is none that can compete with JIRA. with a integration of slack, confluence, it is very hard to refuse.

Pros

1. It is very flexible and fitted really well with agile development work. whether you are using kanban or standard sprint planning work flow, it supports all of those. 2. It is extremely useful to do project planning and creating stories, they will be saved in backlogs and you can access them with weight, estimate and priority. 3. It is quick to create a bug ticket to track bugs. 4. It is very easy to plan for a new sprint, by adding task, stories from the backlogs, it helps with the total points you want to target for a particular sprint, it automatically sum up the story points and make sure you don't over plan. 5. great report tool to help you analyse the project completion and nice burn down chart as well. To help the team retrospectively go back and review.

Cons

1. It is a big over complex by providing such flexible functionalities. But it is worth the time and learning curve. 2. As a developer, I don't have to pay the bill. But it is not very cheap if you have a large development team, the bills add up quickly.

Reasons for Choosing Jira

very simple task track tool, it probably helps a small agency project that would be completed in a couple months time. With large and complex projects, or bigger development teams, JIRA is the best option out there on the market right now.

November 2019

Shaffick from Appnovation

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Jira...the best out there

The overall exprience has been HIGHLY positive. Jira is the go to software for project planning and coupled with Jira Service Desk and Confluence (which we use at the moment), it is a very truly powerful piece of software. I have tried other ones, but always came back to Jira due to it's widespread acceptance and ease of use.

Pros

Jira is highly customisable, and also has plugins. It allows you to monitor your projects and provided granulated access to individuals. You (or your admin) can set roles for the project and associates those roles to certain activities and then associate the roles even further to individuals. You can organize your tickets in sprints and releases as well as monitor workload and task assignment to your team during sprints (or whatever other form of software delivery you wish to choose).

Cons

Pricing model. Currently, you have a choice of server vs cloud setup. If you have a team that can maintain the server instance, I'd recommend going to server because you have a lot more plugins you can use on server and you can set it up the way you want. The best thing is the licenses are a one-time cost, as opposed to lower, but monthly and forever costs on the cloud portion. The other thing that is to be considered is that the plugins you choose need to have the same level of range for hte user count. i.e if your jira is for 101-250 users, all your plugins will need a license level of the same range, i.e 101-250 users. Something to consider if you are thinking about moving to Jira.

November 2019

Vedarth from Recruiterbox

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

good tool for project management

Collaboration of our team has improved after we started using Jira, the tools helps in planning and identifying gaps while we develop features. The mobile application is really good and one can get work done from mobile app as well. Overall Jira suites our needs.

Pros

Jira is very flexible and can be used for different use cases, eg: project management, issue tracker, road maps etc. It is quite easy to configure compared to other generic project management tools.

Cons

The transition from old user interface to new one, it is very confusing, the UI is not consistent when we visit URLs from email notifications. Compared to other generic tools, Jira is quite easy but still it is not easy to setup, it takes quite a few days to configure the system as per needs. It would be great if there were boilerplate templates.

Reasons for Choosing Jira

JIRA was easy to configure and had all the plugins we needed, it was just plug and play.

October 2019

Steve from FOTF

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

If you tried it before and got confused, it's way easier now

We did an extensive search and ended up with JIRA for project management for my team and for our cross-department projects. We've been using it now with our marketing team for several months, and I had previously used it with product teams (developers), and the overall experience is that it provides the best PM experience for our team of all the options out there.

Pros

They've managed to provide easy to use projects, next-gen, that have most of the power but are SUPER easy to use. We love the new Kanban boards and the ability to turn off features and hide complexity wherever needed.

Cons

The next-gen projects are moving fast, but it feels like at this point you have to choose *either* power *or* ease of use. Classic projects (power) or next-gen (easy) are competing, so I'm hoping they will be able to eventually provide all the power in the easy next-gen projects.

Reasons for Choosing Jira

JIRA was the best combination of price and features.

October 2019

Mikael from Scalable Press

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

The best tool for a product manager

My experience has been great with JIRA and I have setup the product in my last two organizations. In my current role, the entire company has moved all their projects to JIRA. Despite some pesky UI bugs here and there, JIRA does everything that I need and has become a critical piece of my day-to-day work. It's never easy to build a product for product people, but JIRA has found a way to do most of what I need. I only wish the business would invest a bit more effort into their support team, but since many companies are already using JIRA, the internet has become a great substitute.

Pros

JIRA gives me so much functionality out of the box. Within five minutes, I can create a board and invite my whole team to start working with me. It doesn't take long to customize your presentation of work to make it specific to your business. It has become the standard for the industry and with good reason; JIRA gives me everything that I need to track performance and ensure a timely release.

Cons

There are occasionally some annoying bugs that will present themselves, but it's never something that really prevents me from using the product effectively; usually it's an annoying UI bug that looks messy or ugly. For the most part, many of the people that complain about the product just don't know how to use it 'as is out of the box'. The more configurations you try to make, the more problems you can create for yourself. Aside from this, their customer service is quite lackluster and it often takes days if not weeks to hear back from support - usually the bugs are fixed before you even get a response.

October 2019

Marc from Veeqo

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Flexible but not at all fun

Originally we wanted Jira to be the place for Product and Development. But we soon realised that we needed a separate app for the product team instead. So now the product team work outside Jira and only when it's ready for Development will a ticket get created and planned in the backlog ready for a sprint. Jira helps the Product Manager to know the status of features, bugs and tasks and allows the development team to ask questions relating to the ticket in the comment section. That way there is full visibility of the discussions for future reference.

Pros

The biggest strength that Jira has to offer is how customisable the app is. We're forever fine tuning how how development flows are setup and I've never run into an issue where what we wanted to achieve could not be possible. The workflow editor is pretty straight forward once you figure out how to map these to specific projects and features. It also has a mammoth number of apps that can integrate with it, which can greatly help simplify your organisations stack. We use a bunch of apps that connect to Jira such as Slack and Git. The mobile app is pretty good and more simple to use. There's also a new iOS app that you can run on a mac that seems to be a slightly faster and more user friendly version. However, I haven't quite worked out how to tailor the notifications. The search is very powerful!

Cons

It is very slow to load pages and jump between stories. When using this on a daily basis it really gets annoying. When we need to change a setting it's hard to work out where to go. I have to say I've never seen another app quite like Jira which has so many different places to go to in order to change very similar settings. If someone accidentally creates a ticket with the wrong type the only way to change it is to Move the ticket. And I can't seem to change the status of the ticket at the same time. So often an Open bug ticket becomes an Open feature ticket, which really should still be in Draft.

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Although it was more simple to use it didn't have the time tracking and reporting features we needed.

September 2019

Aaron from Masai Tech

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Powerful, enterprise software that might be more than you need

We use Jira as a kanban/agile project management tool in software development. The workflow is well understood by most developers and onboarding new team members into our system is a breeze. It is good at tracking projects and managing sprints.

Pros

As an SDLC management tool it excels. It's designed from the ground up for tracking user stories, tasks, epics, sprints, etc. in large organizations. It is excellent for cross functional team collaboration and really shines in a mature environment that doesn't change frequently or quickly. It is continuously improving and it is obvious that the JIRA team is very proactive and dedicated to staying ahead of the competition in features and services.

Cons

It is overkill for smaller teams or products that are very early in their life. When projects and teams are very dynamic, Jira projects become bloated, cumbersome, and fragmented. This product really is suited for larger, mature organizations that already have strong procedural discipline and rather monolithic approval/decision making. I know it's supporting agile methodology but really it's rigidness is more aligned with waterfall type management.

August 2019

Ajesh from Infosys

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Finest application for the Agile software lifecycle

I use JIRA in all the Agile software development for classification and bug tracking for every user with Dashboards. I am satisfied with the JIRA features but I think JIRA needs to provide more integration towards CICD tools so that user can get more idea about the bug tracking.

Pros

Easy to create Agile dashboards to track bugs in different development life cycle. We can also extract informations regarding the user specific tickets created and worked for any period of time. Also we can attache documents to gives an entire idea about the the bugs and time tracker in comment section provides how much time it takes to fix the bugs. In the software industry JIRA is one of the widely used Bug tracking platform. The idea of classification of tickets like EPIC,Task are very useful to identify the work load needed for that ticket.

Cons

Need exact date and time of the ticket creation and comments when the ticket gets older, right now it describes like the ticket is "created more two weeks ago". JIRA also needs to integration with CICD tools for more information regarding the bug tracking and fixing. JIRA should provide a dashboard for each user how much time he worked on a ticket to track the overall work time and also it will be very easy for the Administrator also.

August 2019

Youness from Insum Consulting

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Jira is the Best Project Management Software

THe best software for project management ever. It's paid, but even for our size of projects, we still love to spend some money on it and enjoy the good project management.

Pros

Everything ! the software is very powerful, it has a lot of options and features: - Scrum, Agility and flexibility of changing flows. - Security setup for every type of users. - A lot of features ( no way to compare it with any other software i know ) - Very simple to use - Sprints support.. - High Availability. - Awesome Designs ( old and new ). And so many other things i love about JIRA

Cons

I wish the cost was a little more less for small sized companies.

July 2019

Cristian from eSilicon

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Semiconductors

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Jira for bug tracking and project management

I highly recommend Jira for a bug tracking tool and especially for Agile software teams. For us it has really made a difference in terms of: team collaboration, Agile methodology adoption, decreased time to market of new projects/new features and on the overall teams' spirit. We have seen a wide adoption for the other departments as well, non software development.

Pros

We used several bug tracking tools in the past but Jira is by far the best one. What I like most: - user friendly interface, provides a nice user experience - Agile SCRUM/Kanban support out of the box - extremely configurable on almost everything - extendable through custom scripting, either built-in or via addons - very collaborative - there are thousands of addons in the marketplace; you can even write your own

Cons

Being so flexible to be configured, the learning curve for admins is a little steep. The price is based on the number of users and if you experience wide user adoption in a big company, you end up in paying more for upgrading to the next tier, than if you would pay for that tier first time.

July 2019

Adam from Dynamic CAFM

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Great for Backlogs and Organizing Software Releases - Bad For Agility

Great software, but I couldn't believe there was no native chat support for assisting with issues. Really Atlassian? Are you that proud of the UI? You shouldn't be... you probably bought Trello because enough people were having a hard time figuring out all of Jira's quirks. Trello is so much easier and faster to get up and running for projects, so that was a good buy. Take notes.

Pros

The backlog and features for managing the backlog with different methodologies such as Kanban, Scrum, or Kanban + Scrum hybrid are very flexible. Planning sprints, releasing sprints, and looking at history of what was done is very organized.

Cons

Cumbersome to setup. Workflows for issues and UI/UX for creating them is not easy to understand. Sure you can figure it out, but it will require a lot of facepalms. It's good for larger organizations with several cross-functional teams, but if you are a smaller organization stick with Trello and checklists for the cards if sub-tasks are needed. The sub-tasks in Jira are just plain awful to work with, and will end up wasting a lot of time for your team.

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Perfect Combination of Customizable, Detail-Oriented, and Easy to Use

Pros

I love JIRA. I use it professionally and personally. Even though it is primarily a task manager for software development, I have found that it is flexible enough to be used for all sorts of projects. It is amazing how customizable it is; you can configure your project settings to your already existing workflow, whatever it may be. While the initial setup can be time consuming, once you have your settings configured, using the tool is a breeze. It takes seconds to create tasks, start springs, evaluate progress, etc. I find that this makes JIRA standout from other task managers. In most cases, if the software allows for detail-oriented task management the process of inputting and tracking the tasks themselves is cumbersome. Entering and tracking tasks should not have to be another time-consuming task! The JIRA web application is also excellent, making it easy to enter or track tasks on-the-go.

Cons

I think there is a lot of potential with Jira's NextGen projects, however, the software rollout has been uneven and often not well documented. I wish this process would have been better thought out to make transitioning to NextGen projects smoother.

May 2019

Patrick from Enforme Interactive

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

JIRA is a Great Tool - for the Right Teams

Pros

The best part about JIRA is how visual the UI is. It is incredibly easy to track down and track through different tasks and sprints without having the hassle of digging through a 90s-style ticket system. My other absolute favorite thing about JIRA is the simple ability to tag individual users basically anywhere. This saves an incredible amount of time due to the way in which notifications are handled in and outside of the system. Collaboration is beyond easy with JIRA.

Cons

Many of the most important features are being deprecated over time, and the customer service component of the software seems ineffective at best. Some of the best features have been removed and the highest priorities on their roadmap aren't those that would severely increase users' quality of life. I think this is part of a growing process that the company is going through, but it does cause some heartache on the regular to think that our business desires aren't being met - even through months of users requesting the simplest of features.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

JIRA- Easy to Plan, Track & Release Project.

Overall, experience with JIRA is just awesome. Simple tool to maintain the team's effort and Project's status on a single page, Project boards. Would blindly recommend JIRA for simple and complex Agile projects. Happy Project Tracking :)

Pros

I have been working on an Agile Project and I would say this is the best tool for the below reasons, * Better visualization of the project roadmap for the team. *Customizable options, Kanban and Scrum boards that can be modified as per the project and fields to be displayed, columns on board for the flow of tickets, etc.. * Easy task allocation and tracking, from both Manger's and team members view. * Allows the user to create/edit respective items, for example making file and screenshot attachments just a click away. * Integration with other apps used by the project is simple. Namely apps like TestRail & Confluence. * Best part is the backlog, which helps to create/track ticket then and there when required and work on it in future. * Viewing logs is easy as every action is tracked. * Easy filtering options and report generation for project statuses. * Filter out tickets release-wise, helpful for regression.

Cons

For the simplicity of the application, I could hardly think of any major negative points. I faced this situation so just sharing it. If the team member is released from a project he/she has no option to request via.JIRA to dissociate from the Project Board/unsubscribe from getting emails related to the ex-project. Inbox gets loaded with all the comments and action performed by the ex-team members.

April 2019

Joshua from Quad

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Jira: An Essential Task Management Application

My experience with Jira has been fantastic. Overall, once a team gets used to the 'ticketing' structure, there are a lot of organizational efficiencies that can be gained. The standardization of ticketing can help teams navigate through areas of need and allocate resources from other projects if ahead of schedule. Jira works phenomenally as a tool to help manage projects both large and small. I have helped test and implement projects that have utilized Jira as the primary project management tool and believe that it is a state-of-the-art solution. Overall, I cannot recommend this service enough!

Pros

I use Jira for Project Management in my occupation. As a worker in a large enterprise, Jira does a phenomenal job of creating a fantastic user experience for both desktop and mobile. I think mobile project management is especially intuitive with this service. Where Jira stands apart from other standard project management tools is in its ability to track issues throughout an entire development lifecycle. Tickets are an essential component to keeping work organized and teams moving forward. The ability to collaborate via comments is unparalleled. Jira also offers extensive add-ons and pre-created templates for those just learning the service. When tracking projects, I never felt overly-encumbered by high learning curves or a clunky interface. Jira allowed me to work with many of the tools I am comfortable with and expand my potential.

Cons

From my experience, the largest pain-point / decision point between my team is on the issue of creating 'tickets'. While Jira is a very detail oriented application, this detail can sometimes become quite cumbersome. For example, the process of creating and resolving tickets can sometimes feel even longer than completing the task itself. Furthermore, it is difficult, if not impossible to close a ticket if you are not the creator. Therefore, project managers need to carry significant oversight as task statuses change. Therefore, tickets are very controversial but also an essential component to completing work successfully on this platform.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

The "Ticket or No Ticket" Debate

It took time to get buy-in from the entire IT department to fully utilize JIRA. However, now that the whole department is all-in, JIRA has truly made our work effort much easier. We now have internal business partners who utilize JIRA to review work status, set priorities, and create new tickets when issues/upgrades present themselves. With an organization our size, I can't imagine not utilizing something like JIRA...not sure how we did it all in the past.

Pros

The best part about JIRA is the ability to keep track of all work being done via tickets. I love that JIRA works for all kinds of styles of work. We work within an Agile environment, with some teams using Scrum and other teams using Kanban. No matter how the team is structured, they utilize JIRA tickets. This is great because there is a single repository for all work being done and we can easily search for tickets across all the different teams. The use of Epics vs. Stories is very easy too. We can keep track of what tickets belong to which effort with ease and show the progress of work through the tickets. We can also easily maintain a backlog of tickets. If two separate people submit a similar ticket (or at least two tickets that reference the same work effort), we can combine those tickets easily so that we aren't feeling overwhelmed with more tickets than actual work.

Cons

The biggest debate among our team members is when it is necessary to create a ticket. JIRA has created a culture of needing to log every little thing, even if it takes just a moment to complete the work. Sometimes, it takes longer to create the ticket than to complete the task at hand. That tells me there is too much reliance on JIRA to report work completed. It causes some in management to show that their department is succeeding simply by the number of tickets completed. But the tickets don't tell the whole story, especially because there isn't a time component to those tickets being completed.

March 2019

Anita from Triboo Group

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

A project managers dream

A very strong tool for development projects, which covers so much more than just project management. Thanks to Jira, you can track issues over the whole development life cycle. Entire project layout is possible with infinite iterations, including planning and backlogs. The variety of collaboration tools involved (like comments) is unmatched by all other tools Ive used. The project progress is easily tracked, plus you can track then across releases. Jira offers full reports on both progress and performance.

Pros

One of the best features Ive found in Jira is the Workflow editor Ive never seen anything like it despite my extensive experience. Some people would say its not even that important, however, for growing businesses its something you cant do without. Lots of task tracking is needed all at once, as you can never predict what necessities will arise in a growing company. Jira provides great help with all these issues. Sprints can be structured across multiple tandem-working teams, taking into account their wishes and preferences either for traditional setups or for newer ones.

Cons

Honestly, one thing that was really off-putting for me was the impressively complex layout. The project list is simply huge, and you have to take some time to grasp the navigation and search features. Perhaps, in the next update the developer needs to add the possibility to tag or somehow categorize or classify projects more clearly to make them easily searchable. Otherwise, it takes a bit too much time. The dashboard is simple, but I dont much like the visualization for reports. You also cant assign tickets to several people at the same time. Only the person who created the ticket has the authorization to close it, which is quite bothersome. You cant create columns or tables, and notes exist only for text input. I would also like to see a feature where you can generate turnaround time for ticket closure in an automatic way using reports. Plus if you have a bad Internet connection, there are issues with loading contents (sometimes the loading even stops altogether).

January 2019

Gabriel from NetRom

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Expensive but extremely effective for project management

In a few words JIRA is a task tracking software that makes life easier when working on a project. Once the initial setup is in place (easy to do for common scenarios ) all is left for an administrator is to manage the list of projects and user accounts. Note that parts of the process (e.g.: customizing workflows) need to be done up-front, since this will become more complex once one or more projects are configured and in-use As for usability, it is one of the best tracking systems I've ever used: as a developer/QA you can easily update the status of your work in a user-friendly way. As a manager, you can always get the overview you need by just opening a screen or a report (most of what you need is in place by default) What's best about it is that as long as it is installed on-premises, it can be used as a central point of information for everyone involved with a project. The fact that it can be integrated with other common software industry tools adds further benefit from this. In the end, I should probably add that I've been using all kinds of bug tracking systems for about 15 years (starting with ancient tools like redmine going through PivotalTracker or VersionOne or JIRA) and almost all of them were either missing features that I deemed important or "spartan" usage/layouts that constraint the usage. JIRA just provides everything that's needed in completing a project out-of-the-box (whether it's Agile, Waterfall or Kanban or whatnot)

Pros

- Overviews & quick access to information - Possibility to integrate with most commonly used systems (it integrates with pretty much all mainstream tools, nut just the ones from Atlassian) - you can integrate it even with continuous integration tools or test management tools (e.g. TestRails) - Security control (everything is fine grained, tools to configure fine-grain access are already integrated - Comes out of the box with the most common work scenarios (client onside/offsite, development only/development + product management, etc) - Reporting (easy to extract the things that matter (whether this is worked hours or development velocity) - Version management (easy to manage what features are grouped in a release, or what fixtures were done for which version) - Workflows can be customized to match just about any real-life usage scenario - Allows for both on-premises (self-hosted) installation and cloud usage. - Configurable dashboards

Cons

- Pricing - it is prohibitively expensive for small companies, although they are making steps to minimize this with the new pricing models (e.g.: a few years ago they started allowing up to 5 accounts per project and unlimited projects, for a fixed yearly fee).

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

A very powerful task tracking system

JIRA is easy to use and great for managing work tasks on a project, however customization options are often only available to admins.

Pros

Our company uses JIRA to manage work tasks. It has all the important features for assigning work to team members, tracking how long each task takes, notifications, capturing comments and hours worked. The tools allows for the flexibility to create your own JIRA ticket types or categories, with any kind of number of input fields. Data fields may be dropdown boxes, tags, values, or free text. Fields inherently have the ability to recognize hyperlinks and add those in once you type out a link, and it also recognizes JIRA links, such that if you enter a JIRA ID tag, it automatically creates a hyperlink to that JIRA entry. JIRA supports Agile development schemes and tickets could be easily tracked through a JIRA Dashboard. JIRA filters are also easy to use. You may use the basic query that provides you with simple dropdown fields for common elements, or you can create more advanced queries using JQL.

Cons

Being a JIRA user can be limiting as you only have the ability to enter data for the fields that are currently configured. You have to go through IT or the admins for any form of customization such as adding/removing/hiding fields, setting what kind of text format is in each field (e.g. plain text vs rich text) and modifying which fields are required vs optional. When you have rich text formatting, sometimes it can be frustrating getting the text to show up the way you want. The workaround for this would be to use the Text tab instead of the Visual tab so that you can modify the formatting tags.

November 2018

Janosch from INVERS GmbH

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Flexible, powerful, simple to use and grows as you go

Jira surprised me as coming across simple yet being incredibly powerful and versatile. It is a full blown Ticket and workflow management tool and it might be too much for small or personal projects. However, not being required to change the ticket system when the company or the team scales or are faced with types of tasks you did not expect is simply fantastic. Keeping software simple, easy to use yet increase its versatility and power is a virtue and Jira is build upon this virtue with care and vision

Pros

Jira is clean and it is simple yet powerful. You can use it for your basic ticket workflows from the get go and expand as you grow or the tasks you wisch to cover branch out. It is easy to customize the ticket views to contain the information you want to use and avoid cluttering. The Workflow editor is one of the most powerful I came across in all my professional career. It might not seem so much of an importance but believe me, when your business grows unexpected necessities will arise and you will suddenly be required to track tasks you never though about. Jira will have you covered and allow you to add different task types which traverse task-type specific phases and have corresponding stati. Also you have all the world of notification and responsibility tracking ping-pong covered as you go. Two further things are woth mentioning: First the Atlassian World (the Wiki Confluence and build system Bamboo and many other products) integrate flawlessly and it actually really makes using them fun. Jira is one of the tools, that make you smile when you are required to use it no matter the task to track, its jus smooth, convenient and above and beyond provides a rich ecosystem for free and commercial plugins even for rather exotic use cases. Also, the license Model behind it scales fantastically. When we introduced it we were a small company with 8 people (we are now going strong towards the 200) and it was critical to keep cost for our tools reasonable. Jira got us covered.

Cons

When we scaled, the License was not as flexible in higher user tiers as it was in the lower ones. Also once upon a time an update went wrong and we had to invest a bucketload of time and brain power to get everything back up to speed. We did run jira on premise and hat some custom plugins so there might be some of the tripwires: In case you use plugins they must be available in the version you wish to upgrade to and this might require some research prior to updates. Also, you can make a science out of the workflow and notification configuration. In case it is not documented well when you do it it might get you into trouble.

November 2018

Miguel from MiAGon LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Managin Technical Projects The Right Way

JIRA has lots of features and functionalities than can take time to master. From most project management applications' perspective, JIRA is one of the most complex to master. But it truly is the most complete in terms of offering development teams all the tools they need. This means that trying to run a fairly large and complex enterprise environment on JIRA might need the addition of a JIRA administrator to keep things organized.

Pros

JIRA offers true Agile support for managing technical projects. Initially developed by developers for developers, JIRA is a powerful tool that captures more than just the project management aspect of any development project. JIRA offers a complete suite of issue tracking throughout the development life cycle. Starting with the backlog and planning, JIRA lets you layout your entire project across as many iterations (Sprints) as necessary. It provides ease of tracking the project progress and offers a host of tools for collaboration such as commenting threads. Projects and their projects can also be tracked across releases, with its release management capabilities, and provide comprehensive reports on performance and progress. JIRA is extremely flexible and offers pre-set templates across all functionalities, and allows you to modify them as neededto fit your team and organization's needs. Unlike some products with rigidity built into them, JIRA allows you to define how your team works. JIRA has a vast number of integrations and add-ons to further enhance its capabilities.

Cons

JIRA is very powerful and very detailed. So much so, that some users often find it quite cumbersome if their development environments are not complex. Essentially, JIRA fits beautifully in any environment, but is extremely robust for enterprise environments, making it perceptively complex in small simple projects.

November 2018

Brian from Einstein Noah Restaurant Group, Inc.

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Collaboration Platform

We are able to use JIRA to create, collaborate, test and deploy promos and emails for my company. I am able to see conversations and other notes from people I don't normally interact with, which can be really helpful in understanding issues that arise or other notes that may have been left out of conversation elsewhere. It's a great tool for us.

Pros

I work for a large clothing retailer that often runs promotional coupons and sends out emails to customers. JIRA houses all of the collaboration for our company in creating and testing these promos and emails. What I like is that everyone, from the communications team to the Quality Assurance Team to the IT troubleshooting team can be in one place to resolve issues quickly. I love that there is the ability to tag other users and quickly get attention to issues that need a fast turnaround (emails and promos are often made within 48 hours from creation to launch). I also really like attaching 'sub-tasks' to a main project; This keeps organization a priority without having to search for every related task associated with a project. Related to this is the ability to attach documents right to any project/task for easy download. You can save searches and filters to your home page. For example, I have a filter for viewing only email projects, and another for promotional information. Once you get results, you can sort by title, date updated and a few other categories.

Cons

At first glance, the layout is a bit overwhelming. You have a giant list of projects, and the search doesn't always bring up what you are looking for. It takes a bit of time to learn how to navigate. I would probably like to see 'tags,' or additional ways to categorize a project so that you can search for it through a few more parameters. For my needs, this isn't too important because of the short lifespan of emails and promos. But I could see other applications needing something like that.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

JIRA usage for Agile projects

Currently, my organization is moving from waterfall model to Agile model (hybrid), JIRA has helped a lot to standardize the reporting of granular project details to be reported as a consolidated approach as to how the sprints within a project are moving forward. JIRA has given the transparent view of how the projects/sprints for a product is moving forward and managing the interdependencies within a project.

Pros

- Manage multiple projects under one project in JIRA and works well for a complete program - Email notification when any changes made in JIRA makes collaboration efficient - JIRA board (Scrum Board) in JIRA and defining specific project JQL to filter the issues in JIRA makes it more user friendly for scrum masters who are managing multiple scrum teams in a program - Automated dashboard creation and ability to create different charts makes it very easy for showing management rpeorting on different scrum teams progress in a sprint - Sprint and version reports (out of the box) which provides burn down charts and which issues are lying in one state for more than a specific period of time helps scrum team to move forward and resolves impending issues - Ability to link issues for dependency and flexibility to define SDLC life cycle for an issue on a board makes it very handy on any type of project

Cons

- No single view is available to see clearly how dependencies are moving forward - There are times when single issue has to be given to multiple people like in pair programming one way is to create sub task but that is not an approach that was liked by scrum teams - There macros / gadgets that comes with the JIRA product are very minimum they should add more gadgest for reporting purpose. - Yes, there are different third party gadgets but sometimes those are not JIRA / atlassian recognized and for enterprise application and corporates using JIRA does not go ahead to deploy those third part gadgets on the server model.

October 2018

Rahul from Open Acess Technology, Mohali

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Business analyst - Awesome tool - Software administration

It's been a great experience using this tool for me

Pros

As a business analyst, I have been using Jira for last 3 years and I think it's the best software management tool around. I have found it really helpful when it comes to providing upgrades to the projector to administer a project in development stages. It's all in one package. It has the board where you can re-protize your user stories in backlog by shuffling through pick and drop feature for the development team through tasks as well as can prioritize issues reported by the customer. You can write the user stories and just need to manage on the board. You just need to monitor the board to track the progress of the critical item and estimate overall progress. Workflow templates are available that can be selected to select the process a team wishes to follow or a path to take to address the release or apply patches on customer system. You can add the workflow by create one in the system and add the additional steps like unit testing, system testing etc as per the team. Another helpful feature that I love about this tool is that I allows integration with multiple other tools that makes it even better. Overall I think it's a remarkable tool that is making the software handling experience easy and simple.

Cons

The only thing that I hate about this tool from atlastian is that it have a lot of the patches applied and part of constant changes. We need to scratch for sometime when configuration have to be modified or any existing thing changed. It takes for a while to get your hand adjusted on the system but when are down it's always good experience using it

August 2018

Muhammad

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Jira is a project management software

Pros

Jira is a task administration programming that is very mainstream among numerous organizations. With an extremely high score of 9.4/10 and client fulfillment at 99% it is as of now one of the best 3 best task administration arrangements looked into on our site. The primary spot in this class is held by Wrike which has an aggregate score of 9.8/10 and is the champ of our Best Project Management Software Award for 2017. You can experiment with Wrike for nothing here. You can likewise contrast Jira and Wrike and see which one is better for your organization. Jira is intended to enable clients to catch, dole out, and set needs to their work. It enables you to deal with the entire procedure of use improvement ensuring that everything is secured, from idea to dispatch. Its straightforward, natural interface empowers joint effort with partners and enables you to take care of business in a viable way. Jira tailors itself to fit to the necessities of the business and gives fantastic help to finish everything. The level of customization enables the product to properly fit distinctive business needs. This product can be utilized by an organization. I have designed JIRA to be utilized by distributing organization, by law office, and obviously, IT organizations. What's more, it was conceivable to make everybody content with what JIRA gives. Despite the fact that occasionally it was difficult to encourage individuals how to utilize it, following multi month or two they couldn't recollect how they lived without it.

Cons

Jira is an amazing programming, however with a lot of capacities comes a large group of devices and assignments to learn, especially for new clients. As of late JIRA refreshed its outline. My clients whine about new outline, I get insane when I can't discover things. Furthermore, JIRA wouldn't like to stop at that and is refreshing its plan further and further. I would truly incline toward that they glance through bugs that were raised on comunity entryway and accomplish something in regards to new highlights as opposed to doing configuration refreshes. It is imperative to realize that Jira gives us awesome help to the client, and their consideration is a need, however ordinarily they don't figure the issue. It is a component to survey in Atlassian. - The prologue to Jira's reality is required to be as mysterious as its interface and execution. Actually it is intricate to fabricate channels and move around in the application when the client is new. - You need to run a right download of the reports toward the finish of the month or toward the finish of the week, the reports are conveyed in spreadsheets, however with an introduction that fails to impress anyone, thusly, when setting the dates they ought to have pretty much days so you can play out the download effectively.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Powerful tool once you know how to configure it

This software helps us to follow the process the team agreed to, and see the progress on issue and sprint level. We manage several projects there. JIRA by itself is a perfect solution for IT teams when it comes to managing projects. Not only you can create issues there, but also you can build workflow this issue goes through. It is perfect to see the bottlenecks of your process. Scrum and Kanban are supported. In case you need some enhancements, there is an add-on market available, where you can find a big amount of third part addons available, either paid or free. Paid once have a trial period during which you can see if this is really what you need for your business. Along with JIRA we use other Atlassian products, such as Service Desk and Confluence. Easy integration with these, makes our daily job much easier. I advice my customers to use JIRA for their business. There are several types available: Cloud and Server. Each one have their own payments depending on the size of the users. However, in some cases price might become an obstackle. In my opinion, this application can become really helpful if it gets into right hands.

Pros

This software can be used by any type of company. I have configured JIRA to be used by publishing company, by law firm, and of course, IT companies. And it was possible to make everyone happy with what JIRA provides. Even though sometimes it was hard to teach people how to use it, after a month or two they could not remember how they lived without it.

Cons

Recently JIRA started to update its design. My users complain about new design, I get crazy when I can't find things. And JIRA doesn't want to stop at that and is updating its design further and further. I would really prefer that they look through bugs that were raised on comunity portal and do something regarding new features instead of doing design updates.

July 2018

Kristin from Hansen Technologies

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2018

Thoughts on JIRA from a non-programmer: Still easy to use

Tracking, organization

Pros

I am a technical writer who used JIRA as my first introduction into working in a close-knit, agile programming environment. I really appreciated the clean design, multiple ways to accomplish tasks, and logical visual representations of concepts. Is something assigned to you? It has your face on it. We had several development teams working in tandem and JIRA allowed for each team to structure their sprints according to their own preferences (some had more traditional set up and others used kanban). As time went on we were able to add more projects to JIRA, after transitioning off of ClearQuest for our baseline fixes, and while there is certainly a learning curve getting established programmers who have used one system of tracking for 10+ years converted to using JIRA, most everyone was able to transition and feel comfortable within a few weeks. Speaking as a non-programmer, I found JIRA to be incredibly useful and easy. Tracking writing and editing projects through development didn't require any specific setup or features and it was all around a great tool.

Cons

While it was great that every project could be tracked from our one JIRA site for my relatively small (30ish people) development team, any time fields needed to be added for one specific team to track something for stories or bugs, it was there for everyone. This led to having rather cluttered add screens that meant for a good deal of scrolling. I know some of this was surely user error, but having a bit more control would be nice. Also, the search function occasionally would just... not work. At all. As adorable as the sad faced little magnifying glass was when this happened, it would be very frustrating to lose functionality without warning. Being browser-based always makes for risk and some days would just be constant checking of if JIRA was up again so untracked progress didn't fall through the cracks.

July 2018

Josemaria from Maynilad Student Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

PM. Agile. Cloud. It works for me!

A powerful, mature, and highly customizable Project Management software that works in any scenario. Best suited to match the dynamic nature of Agile projects.

Pros

As a Project Manager, we have a lot of things to do and think about. Good thing I stumbled upon JIRA. It is a very powerful and collaborative PM tool which supported my PM role in an Agile context. (I was on a standard/waterfall project methodology for years... Agile is rather new to me) It is highly configurable, meant to suit any niche, industry, or user scenario by combining the powers of Kanban and Scrum. You can set up just about any of your workflows, project states, fields, action/issue items, etc, via the default settings (that surprisingly some have worked out of the box), or by easy customization on demand. Data analysis is easy as well. JIRA collects from all data points you set up into a single data hub that is extractable, searchable, and comprehensive (with all your historical data). The core program and its APIs are pretty mature and with proper documentation. Our devs didn't really have a hard time since they were provided with a rich toolkit to begin with. JIRA also comes with its mobile app so that you can manage your projects on-the-go. It is cloud-based via subscription which relieves the admins from the difficult part of infra and server setup. I have not experienced any downtime as of my 1 year use of this service.

Cons

It is cloud-based so you have to make sure you have enough bandwidth provisions to support this (rather challenging for bigger teams working on the same location at the same time). The usual loading times may take longer with poor connectivity. A rather steep price for small businesses to use. Self-hosting JIRA will also make things more expensive (and risky) as the number of users grow.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

I have used Jira both as part of a team of developers and also as a Project Manager managing a team.

Jira helped us to more easily manage multiple teams of software developers and gather feedback from end users for several large applications that we were developing which were at various stages of completion and usability. We were able to use our available resources in a much more optimal and seamless manner, which helped us to complete projects and resolve issues more quickly, easily track the status of specific tasks across multiple projects/teams and monitor productivity at various levels. Ultimately, this allowed us to both reduce development costs and complete our projects more quickly which in-turn increased our business revenue.

Pros

Jira is a very powerful tool for managing teams of software developers working on one, or even multiple projects simultaneously. It is very robust and feature-rich, with features such as setting up/managing individual tasks, coordinating development efforts across tasks/developers to maximize team productivity, managing/tracking issues & bugs, gathering feedback from non-technical users via Jira user stories and managing project backlogs. There in also embedded support for Scrum & Kanban boards, although I haven't personally worked with those features. The custom workflows allow users to setup and manage their projects & teams according to the needs of their business and their preferred software development framework and management style. Jira is a very comprehensive, all-in-one tool for managing smaller teams of only a few people, all the way up to very large teams of 100+ stakeholders.

Cons

Given the robust features and functions that Jira supports, there's a lot of depth and breadth to the software, so it can be somewhat complex and confusing to newer users, especially those who haven't worked much with project management tools previously. For project managers who are leading multiple teams simultaneously, things can get a bit overwhelming because the email notifications and project alerts can quickly start to become excessive, and there's no way to consolidate notifications across projects/teams.

June 2018

Vijayakanth from Financial Software and Systems Private Limited

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Its really a good tool for managing the internal approvals with ease. It is user friendly tool.

We are able to manage our internal approvals effectively. It is really helping to track the status and for expediting the approvals. It works even we are not connected to office network. You can simply connect if there is internet connection available. It helps us to complete cross border approvals easily and reduced manual work and hard copy print outs. It also reduces time for internal approvals and helps to manage even huge volume of internal approvals by the stakeholders. The resources need not run from one desk to the other desk.

Pros

This tool works on a hosted model and can be accessed from anywhere in the world by using internet connection. The web version and even the mobile version (which i guess has been recently launched) is good and can be accessed through click of a button while it is assigned to you. It is has various options like assigning to different users, obtaining their comments, attaching supporting documents, printing the ticket, reports and dashboards which can be customised by the users, option to download, link the ticket with other tickets, etc., The tool has the option to create various workflows as per the requirements of the users. It has the option to alert the users with email alerts and also reminder mails. There is option to close the ticket, clone the ticket, revoke the ticket. The users can customize the reports and dashboards as per their requirement and download the ticket in various formats from the JIRA tool.

Cons

The reports and dashboards does not provide for reports in a graphical way. The tickets can not be simultaneously assigned two or more users. The tickets can only be closed by the creator which is a set back if the creator does not close the ticket once its gets over. The note which is created allows only text inputs. It does not allow for creation of table or column. Turn around time for closure (at each specific user level) of the ticket can not be generated from the reports automatically. This is a big drawback. Also, it takes so much time for loading the contents and if the internet is slow then it does not get loaded at all.

May 2019

Luis Daniel from YCS PR Corp.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Great tool to improve your workflow and project organization

JIRA has honestly made my project management life easier. I can keep track of everything and since everything is so well organized, I can either look into the future weeks and see or organize how my work load will be and in case I don't recall how an issue was solved or who fixed such issue, I can easily travel back and look at the old tickets and archived content.

Pros

I like JIRA thanks to the versatility it offers. The type of boards and features whether it's for AGILE or SCRUM project development or for it's tickets organization and how easily I can assign tasks to myself or other coworkers. Also I like their support desk system since with the portal I created, My customers can report issues through the system, I'll get a notification and get on it as soon as I can, or it'll be created as a ticket/issue and I'll get to it when I'm available. Also I can assign this task to someone else for them to take care of, or if it is related to another department.

Cons

I would say they have improved with the time, but one of the minor things I disliked about JIRA is how slow it felt sometimes. Like if you have a project or board with a lot of issue/tickets, it's takes a lot of times to load, or performing actions on it can feel sluggish, not work or just bug itself. Another thing, that they have greatly improved with the recent re-designs, it's how hidden some features were under a menu (...) menu, when before there was a dedicated button for such important features (moving issues, closing etc). Now, they've changed it but I don't know why they made the change to begin with.

December 2019

Lee from E.C. Barton & Company

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Robust Project Management for Development Sprinters

In the long haul, Jira came out on top as the definitive solution and point of reference for every part of the project. It enabled collaboration across many boundaries and increased communication and efficiency for all parties.

Pros

In one word, scalability. We were able to deploy and integrate our software development team contributions with continuous integration, QA testing, and sprint schedules. Project management of several groups was a breeze. Our teams were across 15 timezones and in-house.

Cons

It has a steep learning curve upfront. I came from Trello and a small in-house team so learning to use JIRA and apply it to a QA team with a remote user, a remote development team, a supervisor for reporting, and in-house developers was a bit of a struggle at first. Up to that point, every task was in Trello and we had no sprint schedules implemented.

Reasons for Choosing Jira

Because Sharepoint isn't designed to do what we needed regardless of intentions.

May 2019

Max from SparkCognition

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

A Good Jack of all Trades Project Management Software

JIRA was originally and still mainly used as our software development tracking system. We integrated it with Slack, BitBucket, Confluence, and TestRail (The last three are all run and owned by Atlassian). We use JIRA as the default master record for events, issues, tasks, etc. It makes planning work for a team easy to do and allows individual contributors to see what needs to get done as well as managers to see what is being worked on.

Pros

JIRA was originally and still mainly used as our software development tracking system. However, it can be tweaked and used by a wide range of teams in the company, not just software development. Finance, Marketing, HR, etc. can all use JIRA for tracking internal projects, tasks and goals.

Cons

If you don't use the out of the box workflows and fields, there is a learning curve to know how to create fields, templates and workflows that work best for you.

Reasons for Choosing Jira

JIRA was used by our previous project manager so we had to adapt it. Turns out that was great and we haven't looked back. We started using it in 2014 fromFogBugz at the time and was a great choice.

March 2019

Mohd from Toronto Real Estate Board

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Jira Software for Agile Team to Track and improve

I have been using Jira for the past 3 years both as an administrator where I manage and optimize its performance and on the other hand I have also creating projects, workflows, screens and users. Jira is very helpful for those organizations also who wants to track their releases whether its small or big, or short term or long term. Jira provides facilities through which users can log in the timeline of their work and invites other developers in the team to provide their inputs. This will make your project to be connected at one place and moreover this connection in now not only limited to companies site Atlassian also offers cloud based solutions too. The best part of Atlassian Jira is they always ahead in the race which gives you more options to expand your creation, I have implmented few projects in Jira where I have implemented full automation of logging the task and reporting it through Jira, and then assigning to right person. This whole process works very easily in the JIRA

Pros

Supports integration to most of the developer's tools Complete freedom to design your own workflow and screens An automated ticketing system can also be generated with its Command line interface and workflow Customer Support is one of the best in the corporate industry Multiple tools have given at user end to make admin changes easily like, Restarting tomcat, re-indexing or integration with SVN, git.

Cons

Expensive for businesses who are medium size Upgradation of the software from one version to another requires real IT skills If you want to keep Jira running smoothly it has the indexing feature to make it faster but sometimes those index gets corrupted and no one can help in restoring those data.

July 2018

Stever Jose from Algeiba S.A.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Control of hours management for services and projects

Have a better control of the hours of each project to measure profitability Have a clear picture of the hours executed by the collaborators, facilitating decision making when mapping a person in other activities. Facilitate the online client that can see the progress of their requests The power of the reports is very good It has an integration with Power BI that we have not exploited yet but it will be the next steps.

Pros

Have an organization in the projects and services provided by the company to measure the profitability of them. The reports modules to measure the speed of the work teams. Have a detailed control by activity for the consumption of project hours For cases of customer service, the power to share the information online and live consumption of hours and progress of the tickets generated to solve events. The customization of fields to adapt them to the functionalities and requirements of the company. The ease of creating reports based on the declared queries. Make a general dashboard for the whole team and that the management line can edit, customize and share specific dashboards with different metrics. The integration that you have with Project Server and Project Server Online of 365 facilitates the administration of projects and the record of hours per activity is reflected in both platforms by the time sheet

Cons

The addon to integrate project Server Online asks to deactivate the module of hours and in my current case is basically the corde of use. so we were willing to sacrifice integration hoping to have a response from the manufacturer that we can do to integrate Project Server Online. If there are several admins and use different languages when one of them creates the types, subtypes or queries, the other user gets complicated when palicarlo because they are created in another language. example task - tarea

Displaying 1 - 50 of 8,301 reviews